You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Michael Moore on US television earlier this week Peter Kramer/AP/Press Association Images
here comes trouble

Here comes trouble! Michael Moore gets set for Irish visit

The controversial author and filmmaker will unleash his new stand up show live in Dublin next month. Plus: five of his most controversial appearances.

OSCAR-WINNING FILMMAKER, author and the ‘most hated man in America’, Michael Moore, is coming to Ireland.

These will be his first live performances since 2002 this October – and they include a visit to the Grand Canal Theatre in Dublin.

On 17 October he will bring his new show, Here Comes Trouble to the large theatre.

Moore has been nothing less than a controversial figure in America for the past decade, and following his speech at the Oscars in 2003, he found himself in hot water.

After receiving his statuette for Bowling in Columbine, he launched into a tirade, saying: “We live in a time where we have fictitious election results that elect a fictitious president” and ending on the note: “Shame on you, Mr Bush. Shame on you! And anytime you’ve got the Pope and the Dixie Chicks against you, your time is up! Thank you very much.”

In a recent article in The Guardian, he described how he faced death threats, trespassers and had to hire nine ex-Navy Seal security guards to protect his life.

Michael’s new show, Here Comes Trouble, is based on the book of the same name that is released on Monday,  and he describes it as an ‘anti-memoir’.

We have gathered together some of Moore’s most controversial moments, which give a flavour of what to expect when he visits Dublin:

• His Oscar speech

• Moore demands an apology from CNN’s ‘biased reporting’ on his movie Sicko:

• Bill O’Reilly vs Michael Moore

• Moore tells Larry King that ‘this is the end of capitalism’

• Was Osama Bin Laden’s death worth it? No, says Moore, as he clashes with US TV host Elizabeth Hasslebeck.