TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Immigrants bear brunt of recession job losses, study shows

The unemployment rate among non-Irish nationals is now significantly higher than for those born here.

People queuing at a social welfare office in Dublin
Image: Photocall Ireland

IMMIGRANTS WORKING IN Ireland have been hit significantly harder than Irish nationals by job losses since the beginning of the recession, according to a new study.

Total employment among immigrants has fallen by 40 per cent, against a figure of 10 per cent for Irish people, data in the report from the Integration Centre reveals.

Currently, the unemployment rate among non-Irish nationals is 18.2 per cent. Among Irish nationals it is just under 14 per cent.

However, the two groups have almost exactly the same employment rate at 59 per cent, suggesting that proportionally more non-Irish nationals of working age are part of the labour force.

The report found that 45 per cent of non-Irish nationals hold a third-level qualification, against 32 per cent of Irish people. However, among 25-to-34 year olds the figure is almost the same, at just under 50 per cent for both groups.

Around 16 per cent of non-EEA immigrants aged 16 or over have acquired Irish citizenship. Citizenship applications doubled in 2011, with 16,000 processed against roughly 8,000 in 2010.

The report found that participation in sport was significantly lower among immigrant communities. Sport participation was measured as it is considered one of the benchmarks of social integration.

In a statement opening the report, Integration Centre CEO Killian Forde called on the Government to introduce new measures to aid social integration.

Integration is a process. Contrary to popular belief it does not happen organically with the passing of time. Structures need to be put in place by government which ensure the social cohesion and future success of Irish society.

Read: Killian Forde writes for TheJournal.ie – ‘Ireland is sleepwalking itself into a colossal mess over integration’>

Read next:

Comments (41 Comments)

• Considering that most if them arrive here without a job, I’d say this stat is skewed and an attempt to fuel a fire of racist slagging. Cop on journal.

• Ireland was one of three counties to accept without restriction accession countries citizens to build the Celtic tiger, much like the UK took commonwealth citizens in the 1950s which resulted in ethnic racism. The people were used to build the state and do jobs “beneath” nationals but in time it became home. Many of us in our minds still live the tiger years, we have been robbed, belittled but not adapted. Many non nationals like in the UK were treated poorly, paid less; we are no different, although we think we are.

• As a person who does accounts & payroll for a living, I have never seen a situation where a non national received less on an hourly rate than an Irish person. However, I have never seen a non national who was on a single persons Tax Free Allowances & Credits, it was as though no single non nationals came to Ireland.

• Well Maria, I can tell you, as a person whose partner is a immigrant he has a single persons tax free allowance and credits, i can also say the same for any of our friends that are single and immigrants, there was also a few court cases taken against employers who were paying less to a immigrant than they were to Irish, while I’m sure most employers pay the same irregardless of race, there are a few out there that dont…and you cant from a small precentage of immigrants that youve dealt with that no immigrant was on single tax free allowance

• “45 per cent of non-Irish nationals hold a third-level qualification” – depending on where those qualifications were attained they may not be fully recognised in Ireland (not worth the paper they are printed on to an employer). I’d like to see the % of non-Irish nationals that hold third-level qualifications that are fully recognised in Ireland. I think that would paint a better picture.

• You can buy a third level qualification in many countries around the world.

• As an employer I have found that a lot of these third level diplomas and degrees are of questionable origin and in fact have got used to seeing Africans producing American University degrees as evidence of their scholastic abilities, only 1 week ago a friend of mine interviewed a Nigerian lad to work as a kitchen porter and although having little english was able to produce a masters degree in biophysics from the state university of Kentucky , although some may have honest credentials many have not which would lead one to question both the identity and qualifications of those concerned

• We came across a few bogus third level qualifications here in London, and i know some other companies did to. We have to do so many checks because of this.

• The English level itself isn’t proof in itself, though. As a resident assistant in Edinburgh, we had a lot of master level students who passed degrees but didn’t necessarily have a high standard of conversational English.

• A relative of mine was interviewing candidates for a job in a large company some years ago, during the boom years, it came down to two people, both immigrants and both had degrees. His colleague was keen on both. One was an Eastern European girl and the other an African man. My relative decided to question them again about their degrees, the girl got hers from some bogus crowd in Eastern Europe she attended over several months and knew next to nothing about what she was supposed to have a degree in while the African man couldn’t remember exactly what he had a degree in naming a different degree than the one in his CV. Neither got the job.
      Surely for a report like this to have any meaning and to carry and weight there must be no question of it being impartial, as this report was carried out by the Integration Centre that isn’t the case here. I’m not saying they were biased but its a bit like Ógra Fianna Fail investigating Fianna Fail, they have to be removed from what they’re reporting on.

• Listening to taxi drivers you’d think natives were the ones being discriminated against.

• Does this mean people will have to stop blaming immigrants for unemployment?

“They took our jobs!”

• And our women!!!

• There are jobs that Irish nationals won’t ever do coz of being either lazy or greedy. Thank god those immigrants are filling low paid posts that locals won’t ever do. Else I guess there would have been a crisis. And as for women, I don’t think they are being snatched by those immigrants. Guess its the women own will to go with the immigrants. And the reason for that is maybe those who choose this path are most probably disgusted with the locals. Well, who knows why!!!

• All those red thumbs!!! Hmmm
      Guess I’m right. No more comments. All the proof lies in the thumb-downs :-)

• So cal thing you are wrong there iv worked in Germany 1 I must have a medical insurance befor I go so if I’m sick I’m not draining there system 2 I will not get the dole !!!!! And when I leave I transfair my PRSI to Ireland and so do other eu ppl do the same so please do not put me down for being honest in my comment!!!!!!!!

• Finbar, you are deliberately missing the racist point of your comment. Why not apply your logic to ALL people on the Dole, rather than only non-nationals? By inference, you are saying, we should be driving the non-nationals out of the country… These are the same non-nationals that came here to serve us sandwiches, beer, clean the toilets when the Irish thought themselves above all that.
      Are you saying that we should also apply the German religious tax here also? And please, if you wanted to get welfare in Germany, you were fully entitled to it. Transferring your stamp to another country, is entirely your own decision. I am just a bit sick that you would even consider this. Why don’t you stay where you are, if you lose your job (i am hoping you don’t by the way). We don’t need people coming over here hunting for welfare. You won’t get it here anyway. You have to have paid stamp in this country for 2 consecutive years to be entitled to get welfare, so no matter what tricks you try and pull, you wouldn’t be able to wangle it.

• There’s plenty of African kids on sports teams actually! Also look at what http://www.sari.ie do.

• Does this mean the Irish are now happy to accept the remedial work they recently wrongly believed was “below” them?

• Cal were did I make a racist comment I pointed out what the lads I worked with had left when the work ran out I pointed out what we need to gain employment so do not call me a racist the word is used to quick in this country and I’m sick of fools like you using it

• A lot of immigrants have already left, the equivalent of “lads” you’re talking about. Others made Ireland their home, brought or had children here, met their spouses or partners; you can’t expect them to up and leave every three years according to economy ebbs and flows in different countries.

• Cal yes I have many many times and when the work is over you move to the next one I’m only back from the uk 4 weeks and will be gone again many others doing the same the construction work is finished there that’s the way it’s been for so many befor and befor I get all the red thumbs I am not on tge dole here or any other country

• But is that not the point ,,, when the work runs out you move on ,,

• Finbar, have you ever emigrated? I have.. I worked in England and the US. While in England, i did end up on the Dole there. I was living there, it was my home at the time. Are you saying, i should have returned to Ireland instead of signing on the Dole in England? That is so hypocritical, its laughable.
      Comments like yours are so inherently racist. When the work becomes available again, people will work. Until such times, anyone who qualifies for welfare, should be allowed to avail of it. In order to qualify for benefits in this country, you must have contributed at least 2 years of PRSI. That means, the people claiming welfare now, have also been contributors to our society when times were better.

• @carl…. yet another person using the word racism/racist towards another person when there is no need. people need to educate themselves regarding racism and what in entails and who is and who isnt… every tom dick n harry is calling some one a racist in Ireland today… the over use and exploitation of the word and its meaning is going to blur the lines and make true acts of racism some what less shocking… Cop on Ireland..!

• Cal! Didn’t see anything remotely racist in what was said!

It’s simple, people who emigrate for employment tend to me transient! They travel for employment! Just because you chose to stay in the uk even without employment doesn’t mean that’s what a lot of people who emigrate do!
      I myself have lived in the Gulf and the UK and moved to wherever the work was!

• Not necessarily – some are migrant workers, but others just want to move and settle with their families, just like the Irish often do in US, UK, Australia. Not everyone is young and single with no commitments.

• mel 05/06/12 #

I know Irish lads working in Poland on new motorways and when the job is over I don’t think they will be staying on….. Why would they go back, 800month on welfare, rent allowance,children’s allowance happy days!!’

• as a foreign national….not workingbin the building industry……I do not notice a reduction in foreign co workers….. might it be that this due to a high ammount of east europeans who worked in building and construction

• The article makes a good point about sport and integration. Correct me if I’m wrong but I have yet to see an African player on a county team yet their physique would suggest they could be pretty dam good at GAA if they played.

• There are some young African players coming through the ranks in club teams in my area. Generally speaking though, I would think young people from African backgrounds would tend to prefer soccer. Nonetheless, it is great to see people from a variety of different backgrounds taking part in our games. Give it a few years and I’m sure they’ll start getting onto county teams, I look forward to seeing one them lift the Sam Maguire or Liam Mac Carthy.

• In all fairness we shouldn’t be moaning about the immigrants and non nationals being here, how many Irish emigrated all over the world?

• Any to you point ppl are leaving Ireland in there thousand Irish ppl you got sit in the airport on a Sunday and meet the ppl leaving wives kids behind and then call me a rasist

• veloc123 05/06/12 #

What happend to freedom of speech TheJournal.ie…?

• A non national can work here only so long as they fulfill the criteria of the employers. Rather than crying and posting racist comments , take a hard look at why are the non nationals here ? Is it ‘cos there weren’t enough Irish to take those jobs , (let alone qualified irish)….. Was it because the irish had emigrated ?!?!?!

• finbar m 05/06/12 #

Gas another one shooting with out think read what I said the lads as in Irish lads left London because there was no work that’s wat I said you point out differently not me

• Finbar, simple question for you …. to clear up any misconception. Do you think ALL people on the dole, should leave Ireland in search of work? If you do, then i cant call you racist. If you think that only Non-nationals shoudl leave, then you answer my point very poignantly.

• The point I made is most of the ppl I worked with moved on ,,, 20 billion on S,W a year you come back and ask me the same question when your tax is 55persent or more everyone is giving out about house hold charges water rates no money for hospitals 20 billion a year think about it

• John 06/06/12 #

It’s wonderful to see that we have so many open-minded, diversity-loving people in this little country of ours. I probably won’t live to see the time when we all mesh into one and became an entirely multi-racial nation, but I can dream of it. Racism, sectarianism will be left behind, it will be a veritable utopia. All European countries will become like this and it’s for the better. As white people we need to evolve, have multi-racial children and leave our incrediblly racist past behind.

Keep up the great work Mr. Forde!

Add New Comment