TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Immigrants should have right to vote, say half of TDs surveyed

There was also an increase in TDs who said that racial incidents are more prevalent since the economic downturn than when asked last year.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

ALMOST HALF (48 per cent) of TDs say in a new survey that immigrants should have the right to vote in General Elections if they have lived in Ireland for at least three years or more.

That is an increase of 32 per cent on last year’s results, according to a new survey of TDs carried out by Millward Brown Lansdowne and co-authored by The Integration Centre.

The centre said that the survey reveals “positive progress” in TDs’ attitudes to immigrants’ rights.

Of the 166 TDs in the Dáil, 71 agreed to participate in this research, which was a 43 per cent response rate. A spokesperson for the Integration Centre said that wasn’t a disappointing amount, and would be the general response rate to surveys

Survey

The survey is a follow up to one carried out in 2011 and reveals that more than half (52 per cent) of the TDs surveyed claim to have spoken about immigrants’ rights in the Dáil, an increase of 22 per cent  on the previous year.

Nearly half (48 per cent) of TDs think that the Department of Justice is not the appropriate department to have responsibility for integration, which is up from 34 per cent the year before.

When it comes to racial incidents, the number of TDs who feel such incidents are more prevalent since the economic downturn has risen – from 38 per cent to 45 per cent.

Three quarters of TDs believe that immigrants have an important role to play in the recovery of the economy,  a number which is similar to last year.

When asked about rolling out integration strategies, opinion was divided. The answers showed that 39 per cent believe it is the responsibility of national government to take the lead, versus 37 per cent who believe it is the local authorities who should take responsibility.

Killian Forde, CEO of The Integration Centre said:

Generally, these results indicate positive shifts in the opinions of politicians towards immigration and integration policy. These findings, especially when compared to last year’s, indicate that political thinking around immigrants and integration has improved since last year.

He added:

Notably a number of the changes seemingly desired by politicians could be implemented without cost to the state. Given that these changes are unlikely to cost the exchequer, should they not be put in place? The Integration Centre would like to take this opportunity to invite TDs to a presentation on these findings in the Dáil, where a debate of these issues will take place.

The full results of the survey will be presented to TDs in Leinster House on November 15 at 11am for review and discussion.

Read: Dublin’s Joint Policing Committee opens its door to migrants>

Read next:

Comments (65 Comments)

• Just so we are clear, as it stands:

- All immigrants can vote in Local Elections
    - All EU immigrants can vote on Local & EU Elections
    - All UK immigrants can vote in Local, EU & General Elections.
    - Only Irish citizens can vote in referendums.
    - Irish citizens who are not living in Ireland cannot vote in any election

• libby 06/11/12 #

What about emigrants?

• Only citizens should have the right to vote,
    In ANY Country, only those who have achieved or earned the right to citizenship , should have the right to vote .

• I’d have no issue with this but I would prefer it to be 5 years resident and they would need to have contributed to the country, i.e. have worked and paid tax during that time.

• Someone who is just 3 months into this country should NOT have the right to vote.Immigrants shoult be dealt with just like in America.

• And emigrants too!

• Paul C 06/11/12 #

Why should emigrants have any say in how the Country is run? Genuinely interested to fathom how someone can hold this bizarre view.
      I absolutely don’t want someone in Perth or Dubai voting in Irish elections.

• Ireland is one of the few democracies in the world that do not allow voting for those living outside of the country. Interestingly another one is Greece. Essentially the view is held that citizens of a nation are citizen regardless of where they live, hence they should play a role in how that nation is governed. The idea that we are one big global community.

Irish ex-pats still have rights under our constitution but have no representation. Many countries e.g. France, set aside small number of seats in parliament that are for emigrant voters. That way they still have a voice, albeit small and largely symbolic. It would seem to me to be a good solution for Ireland.

• Paul C 06/11/12 #

Interesting Stephen, thanks. I respectfully disagree however.
      I find it truly bizarre that people who haven’t contributed to a society should seek to be afforded the opportunity to have a say in how a Country is governed.
      Your passport should be enough of symbolic gesture as it doesn’t affect others. Voting does.

• It’s a bit harsh to say emigrants never contributed to the country. I lived 28 years in Ireland before I left 2 years ago. I made more of a contribution in that time than than many people. No one is suggesting votes for grandchildren of Irish people who never set foot in the country. Or for some who left Ireland in the 1950’s and who has long since taken up citizenship. We are taking about the recent emigrants who grew up here, worked here but no find they have to move away rather than stay on social welfare.

Just to illustrate how crazy the system is: Even Irish University students on a Semester abroad are denied the chance to vote. They cannot vote in elections that determine their University fees, grants etc.

• Even if you are on a career break as a teacher you cannot vote abroad. I think people who move abroad gain perspective and make very positive suggestions for improving Ireland and helping people get out of negative mind sets. The negativity, anger, bitterness and resolve to not change is evident in Ireland. The lack of positivity or willingness to give people opportunities is stifling.

• Paul C 06/11/12 #

Stephen, when you contributed to Irish society you were given a vote.
      You are no longer contributing financially to the State (as far as I’m aware) so that’s where it has to stop as far as I’m concerned. No representation without taxation if you like.

Short term leavers, (your university example) of course they should be given a vote. If you’re a resident then I’ve no problem, not matter what your nationality is.
      It’s the barstoolers giving out about “how bad it is back home” and who’ve no intention of returning I’ve a problem with giving a vote to, not a college student leaving for 6 months.

• @Paul C, the true term is ‘no taxation without representation’ – it was corrupted in later times to suit a political stance. Having said that, Irish citizens abroad are not exempt from taxation (eg the property tax), so that whole area is out of kilter anyway.

• What about the Irish Emigrants, who had to leave because of the way their Country was Governed? Present Irish passport holders in other Countries should be able to vote in Elections, they might elect someone with a brain and keep the present tossers on their toes!

• Did the survey ask the TD’s if emigrants should be allowed to vote?
    What would be wrong with giving everybody who lives on the island of Ireland a vote. So what if they vote for Sinn Fein, would they not be entitled to vote for whoever they like.

• I am in Ireland 33 years married with Irish woman why can’t vote pay tax for what? Why?

• should have citizenship to vote, tds should worry about irish abroad right to vote first before commenting on immigrants

• I moved to Ireland when I was 18 and have been living here for 10 years. Went to an Irish University, paid my registration fees, paid tax, volunteered, have my home and friends here. Never once have I looked for social welfare and even if I did I wouldn’t be Irish enough to receive it. I also studied Irish politics and keep up with all the relevant issues. So why shouldn’t I get to vote on issues which will affect me as much as an Irish passport holder?
    On the other hand I get to vote in general and local elections back at home, through online voting. However I choose not to use my vote because I am not familiar with the political parties and current social issues.
    It’s very hurtful to see all these silly comments above, about immigrants only being on welfare, not contributing anything to the Irish society and so on. I am sure these people would love to hear and see comments like that in Australia, Canada or anywhere else.

• I think there needs to be a distinction between citizenship and residency…

Yeah I agree, all residents of the country, regardless of birthplace/citizenship should have the right to register themselves on the electoral roll and vote…

I’m in Australia now and while I keep up to date with politics in ireland I’m not convinced that irish citizens, migrants living overseas should have the right to vote – what constituency would I vote in? Would i vote for the TD for cavan/monaghan? How would they take into account my needs?

If there as suggested migrant seats for TDs in the Dail, how would they engage and represent how ever many million migrants? i would feel too removed from the situation to give an informed opinion. They would seem too removed from me, my views, my background, my current situation…

If we continue the logic that citizenship extend the privileges of residency then you could argue to extend the medical card to Irish citizens overseas? I could come home and get my eye test, my hearing test, I could register my daughter for all her health checks,… And extend the right to a pension, travel concessions when we’re at it…

• Totally agree.

• You have the right to vote.10 years is long enough.

• I sm sorry but non Nationals including new EEC members from Eastern Europe should not have a vote until either they marry an Irish citizen or buy property in Ireland.

• Why shouldn’t Immigrants have the illusion of choice too?

• OK, as a citizen, and a taxpayer, why can myself, and my family not vote in National (Presidential & Referenda) elections, I live in the second city, pay my taxes to Dublin PAYE but at home have no say in who decides what my tax euro are spent on, remember the Boston Tea Party.

• It came out the UK New Labour government as policy admitted large number of immigrants to the UK to bolster their support base.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/law-and-order/6418456/Labour-wanted-mass-immigration-to-make-UK-more-multicultural-says-former-adviser.html
    43% is not half either.
    No surprise to see Killian Fordes name here mentioned once again. Its a laugh that he calls himself a CEO. It would be like you or me setting up some office somewhere, getting a few quid from Atlantic philanthropies or whomever and using Useful Eejits in the media as a vessel to berate TDs for their lack of interest in my own personal crusade on X.

Allowing foreigners to vote here would eventually mean the end of the Irish as a self governing people, Ireland would just become a propositional nation, not a homeland for Irish people.

• Stupid, insensitive comment. Immigrants also contribute tax that is needed for the welfare by all people in the country. I’ve worked here 4 years and never claimed a cent.

• I dont understand the idea of equating voting rights with taxation. A civic right and a patriotic duty is not something that can be measured materially. Very few will want to defend the right to pay tax but surely to stand up for county and democracy.

• well good job you arent in government!

• Are people who emigrate not contributing to the economy by not staying and being a burden on the social welfare system ,I’m sure a lot of people didn’t want to leave but had to.

• I live here for more than 8 years. I’m engaged to my Irish partner. I’m very much interested in Irish politics and all the changes happening here. Ireland is my home. I don’t know how many times I gave out about the fact that I can’t vote in any referendum or General Elections which are as same important as the Local ones and the EU ones. I play an active, contributing role to this society and I believe that whoever has a residency of more than 5 years should be allowed to vote. Why 5 years? Because I know from others experience that around 5 years being in this country people actually decided to stay here. The others are only migrant workers, they wouldn’t really plan any further future with this country.
    It is ok for the Government to ask me to pay taxes but it is not ok for me to vote for Government which would lower my taxes.
    I think Ireland is still backwarded when it comes to assimilation and coexistence but I, for one, work hard to take an active part in this society.
    So I’m in full support to change the legislation and allow people who don’t hold an Irish passport to vote.

• Emmet 06/11/12 #

We should get these new state of the art electronic voting machines…. Oh wait…. Casting my vote on Saturday morning before heading for the airport

• allan 06/11/12 #

It will be a cold day in hell before Immigrants can have the right vote in Ireland given the racist attitude of its people, This would incite a serious outcry beyond the child benefit cuts protests a while back.

• I don’t believe the survey. TD’s do not disclose their opinions so freely like that.
    And even the few TDs who would comment would first want to put it through their party whips.

So either Millward Brown or the Integration Centre, or both, are telling a Whopper:-)

Add New Comment