TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

In full: 1 in 5 TDs claimed more than €50k in expenses last year

34 TDs in the 31st Dail claimed over €50,000 in expenses from the Oireachtas last year – here’s the full list.

Fine Gael TD Noel Harrington who topped the list of expense claimants
Image: Fine Gael via Flickr

ONE IN FIVE TDs in the 31st Dáil claimed more than €50,000 in expenses in 2011 according to new figures from the Houses of the Oireachtas.

The highest claimant was Fine Gael TD Noel Harrington from Cork South West. He was given over €53,000 in expenses since last February’s general election.

All of the TDs who received over €50,000 live outside of Dublin. The figures cover the period from polling day in the general election on 25 February through to 31 December 2011.

Fine Gael TDs make up 14 of the 34 Dáil members who received more than €50,000. Eight are from Fianna Fáil, six are Labour, five are Sinn Féin and one is Independent.

All 34 live outside of Leinster and are entitled to claim higher amounts because of the costs involved in travelling to the Dáil in Dublin’s city centre.

Dáil members are able to claim a travel and accommodation allowance to cover the cost of travel to and from Leinster House, as well as accommodation in Dublin if necessary. TDs – but not Ministers – can also claim for constituency travel. Instead, Ministers and Ministers of State are allowed to claim their travel expenses from their individual departments – which explains why they appear towards the lower end of the Oireachtas expenses list.

All of the highest claimants live at least 180 kilometres away from Dublin. Noel Harrington, who represents Cork South West, lives more than 360km away from Leinster House – the farthest of any TD.

Under a new system introduced in the wake of various expenses scandals, TDs can choose each year whether they want to claim expenses on a vouched or unvouched basis. TDs who choose to vouch for their expenses must submit receipts to show how they spent the money and are entitled to a higher rate of expenses.

All of the TDs with the highest amount of claims vouch for their expenses.

The 34 TDs who claimed over €50,000 in expenses last year:

1. Noel Harrington (FG) Cork South West: €53,714.95

2=Arthur Spring (Lab) Kerry North/West Limerick:  €52,447.09

2=Jim Daly (FG) Cork South West: €52,477.09

3=Michael Moynihan (FF) Cork North West: €51,808.09

3=Joe McHugh (FG) Donegal North East: €51,808.09

3=Charlie McConalogue (FF) Donegal North East: €51,808.09

3=Pearse Doherty (SF) Donegal South West: €51,808.09

3=Áine Collins (FG) Cork North West: €51,808.09

4=David Stanton (FG) Cork East: €51,179.23

4=Jonathan O’Brien (SF) Cork North Central: €51,179.23

4=Dara Murphy (FG) Cork North Central: €51,179.23

4=Michelle Mulherin (FG) Mayo:  €51,179.23

4=Michael McGrath (FF) Cork South Central: €51,179.23

4=Micheál Martin (FF) Cork South Central: €51,179.23

4=Ciarán Lynch (Lab) Cork South Central: €51,179.23

4=Joe Carey (FG) Clare: €51,179.23

4=Pat Breen (FG) Clare: €51,179.23

5. Pádraig Mac Lochlainn (SF) Donegal North East: €51,174.19

6. Jerry Buttimer (FG) Cork South Central: €50,645.30

7=Brian Walsh (FG) Galway West:  €50,540.23

7=Patrick O’Donovan (FG) Limerick: €50,540.23

7=Colm Keaveney (Lab) Galway East: €50,540.23

7=Sean Kyne (FG) Galway West: €50,540.23

7=Sandra McLellan (SF) Cork East: €50,540.23

7=Tony McLoughlin (FG) Sligo North Leitrim €50,540.23

7=Tom Barry (FG) Cork East: €50,540.23

7=Timmy Dooley (FF) Clare: €50,529.23

8=Niall Collins (FF) Limerick: €50,225.80

8=Michael Colreavy (SF) Sligo North Leitrim €50,225.80

8=Ciara Conway (Lab) Waterford: €50,225.80

8=Mattie McGrath (Ind) Tipperary South: €50,225.80

8=Michael McNamara (Lab) Clare:  €50,225.80

8=Derek Nolan (Lab) Galway West: €50,225.80

8=Willie O’Dea (FF) Limerick City: €50,225.80

The TDs who were paid less than €50k in expenses and why>

Meet the only TD in Ireland who claims NO expenses>

Read next:

Comments (90 Comments)

• I drive a lot for my job in the community sector,my expenses are around 400-500 a month. 50,000 a year is disgusting. Who checks their receipts etc?

• Hmmm flights from cork to dublin plus hotels easy towards 1k a week. Anyway we put them there.

• Do you pay to keep an office in your constituency with all the attendant costs, heat, power, insurance, etc? That might be why your expenses are lower.

• Add in Const. office, meetings, phone bills, hotels, It’s quiet easy to do 50k.

What they should get rid off is the unvouched expenses, do an audit of all expenses and limit people to that.

There are about 7000 individuals who received 85 bn in tax breaks for pensions over the last 15 years. Some individuals would have received write off’s equal to all the expenses here added up.

Drop these by 10k, then we are going to be in line with most other countries and we can move on to the real issues.

• Desmond, as far as I understand, there is money to run an office and employ a secretary other than these expenses which are for travel,food, laundry and other things

• John. Here is the link that describes what the allowances being claimed cover http://www.oireachtas.ie/ViewDoc.asp?fn=/documents/members/20102527-2.htm&CatID=168 As you’ll see it covers, inter alia, travel, subsistence and office expenses, including rental, power, comms,etc.

• Thanks, great link :)

• You’re welcome :-)

• They are claiming over €50,000 a year when their already on a salary of over €100,000 for what????

Yet every time they get the chance their cutting our money down bit by bit but its alrite so long as they swan around without a care in the world.

A joke of a government!

I mean enda Kenny spent 25000 e in a pub on “expenses” in one night. Give the citizens of Ireland €25000 nd I guarantee it wouldn’t be wasted down the pub.

And if we don’t get these people out now and change the way the system works, once their there over 2 years they can also claim pensions of over 100,000 even though the pension age is 65.

The hole system needs reform nd first thing is for these shower of hypocrites to be told to F**k off as they done nothing but gave us empty promises, then done nothing but introduced a load of taxes charges etc etc.

A working Irish citizen lives off approx €35,000 a year and ye have the cheek to tell us that this budget will be the toughest ever, we,re hearing the same line since 2008 but we don’t see ye taking any payouts.

The wages and expenses of the dail are absolutely fukin ridiculous, I wouldn’t mind if they were actuali working for the people but their NOT, why don’t they pay the debts of the banks themselves their making 3 times more than what we do.

Yet we are just leaving them come at us with everything and bearing the brunt of it.

They will have us back in the times of the famine while they swan around with their ridiculous wages even though it is not the people of Ireland,s debt.

They make me sick.

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• It’s really sickening to see our elected Politicians claiming expenses like this while Ireland itself is on it’s knees.

These are the very same politicians who have or will condemn us to austerity for possibly the next 20 to 30 years. Their Motto is ; Do as I say, not as I do!

Do they not comprehend the fact that they are making more and more people sceptical about politicians, or do they just not care?
    It’s immoral to get paid these amount in expenses and no amount of rationalising can change that fact!

The unfortunate thing about these expenses is that it is only the tip of the iceberg. The Independents also claim over E40,000 ‘Leaders Expenses’ as well and a lot of the others get extra pay as well as their salary by ‘Chairing’ Public Account Committees…..This can be an extra 20K to 40K.

Also, you have MEP’s, Senators, County Councillors, Local Councillors and Government appointed Quango Members also claiming enormous expense as well.

I could go on, but it is too depressing a subject to dwell on, but come election time, I for one will be asking my local Politicians to explain how they can justify these enormous expenses.
    In the meantime, I will be Emailing them to let them know how I feel about this issue!

Isn’t it a pity that they couldn’t take a leaf out of Eamonn Mahonys book, but then that would be too much to hope for!!

Well done Christine on another excellent article!

• Just an idea:
    In the australian outback pupils don’t physically go to school because of the distances involved.
    Instead they are in communication with their teacher via two way radio.
    Picture the dàil convening via the web rather than having to assemble in one place.

• D Burns 02/02/12 #

Well for some isn’t it?!!! We’ll all be canvassing in the next general election after these revelations. I know that girl Ciara Conway from Waterford. She is in my constituency at home and i’ll tell you something, if there was work in the bed, she’d sleep on the floor!!!

• No. The sad trust is that people will not. Been at demonstrations where there wasn’t 50 people protesting at the bailouts or Anglo etc etc.

These are going to cost us the equivalent of 2,000 times this each year, every year for the next 20 years at least. That is the equivalent of someone owing 35,000 losing the plot over 17-50.

If they are reformed, then they will still only come down 10-15k. If people want to improve this ensure that everything is receipted up to a cap. Reform them alright, get rid of the foolish ones like laundry etc etc. The higher expenses here are in line with the Bundestag, less than the Westminister ones and a hell of a lot less than Frances.

• Allow Politicians to travel for free on Public Transport. Give them a free travel pass but no travel expenses. It wouldn’t be long before you see an improvement in the Rail and Bus network in our Cities and towns.

• Are we honestly supposed to believe they need €4,160 on average tax free a month for expenses? I mean I am all for being paid expenses for genuine reasons like travel and overnight etc, but over €4,000 a month and that doesn’t deduct for the months they are off when they SHOUDN’T be claiming!

• Very surprised to see Willie O’Dea up that high given that I spotted him buying his evening meal in Burger King on baggot street on Tuesday night.

• pagan 02/02/12 #

Maybe when the next election comes around ill stand for a dail seat.After all its money for nothing and there’s no questions asked about expenses.So add on 90,000euro dail salary to the 50,000 euro expenses and you get 140,000 for doing feck all.But sure as enda keeps telling us,the countrys broke.Shame that dosent apply to the dail.
    Only in Ireland would you get this crap.

• Remarkable that so many incur the exact same expenses. Could it be they are claiming maximum allowances rather than recouping legitimate expenses?

• This indeed does look very fishy, bet they are claiming the maximum allowed under the unvouched system!

8=Niall Collins (FF) Limerick: €50,225.80

8=Michael Colreavy (SF) Sligo North Leitrim €50,225.80

8=Ciara Conway (Lab) Waterford: €50,225.80

8=Mattie McGrath (Ind) Tipperary South: €50,225.80

8=Michael McNamara (Lab) Clare: €50,225.80

8=Derek Nolan (Lab) Galway West: €50,225.80

8=Willie O’Dea (FF) Limerick City: €50,225.80

• how many of these useless twats claim extra by being on committees etc ?

• Jeez…Noel Harrington claimed just under 3 times my annual salary. When I think of it like that it just makes me sick, these people are robbing us blind. I do an often thankless, hazardous and sometimes vomit worthy job and that prick sits on his arse all day claiming ‘expenses’.

• Probably about to get red thumbed into the ground for saying this, but they key sentence for me is “All of the TDs with the highest amount of claims vouch for their expenses.” If those living furthest away have the highest expenses then at least that seems logical.

I still think that every TD should instead be issued with a free public transport card for the duration of their term though.

• Brilliant idea. This year it costs 4500 for 365 days use on all CIE services. The only thing is that areas like Cork South West are so sparsely populated they don’t have frequent services so it would just be a waste on those, they need a car to get around down there, whereas my own (Dublin South Central) is a 5 seater and only the distance between Heuston Station and Ballyfermot, where a car is more of a hindrance than a help.

• This really is sickening to read: I mean if expenses cover travel, accommodation, food, drink and phone….what is the salary for??

• No end to this madness they fuck the poor workers over and are laughing all they way to the bank

• €50k not bad!!! for driving up to the dail the odd day to sit in comfy leather seat and listen to a bunch of clowns ramble on like children or cut some sick child’s special needs assistant.
      From what I see on oireachtas report they have a right laugh up there slagging and shouting but doing feck all in reality.

• What a shower of filthy f***ing leeches. Jesus Christ and to think of the pay cuts and extra taxes imposed on ordinary people and more to come…….it’s time they ended this f***ing political gravy train. I feel unwell reading this.

• The country is nearly broke people are suffering terrible hardship and these f***ing leeches are still on the gravy train.Have they no shame.They get paid enough without expenses.

• I wish I was fortunate enough to earn half of that! College education, professional job, 2 years full time, 1 pay cut, 2 temporary lay offs, unprofessional salary, just shy of 16000 a year, time to jump ship on this country! I truly have had enough.

• Great country over €1200 a week just in expenses for these fucking useless arseholes

• Thought sinn Fein said they would only claim average industrial wage?.

• Socialist Sinn Féin?!

• Rob 02/02/12 #

Niall Collins FF LIMERICK has the EXACT SAME expense claim as Willie O’Dea FF LIMERICK….

Hmmm…… something smells……. FISHY!

• couple of problems here – the expenses are 4 times too much and theres too many TDs AND senators in such a small country- JOKE!!

• The feckin gobshites getting all that money whilst I work 18hr days on me farm they sit on there fat holes

• 3=Joe McHugh (FF) Donegal North East: €51,808.09 — pretty sure he’s a FGman Christine

• Re: supposed difference between FG and FF. What’s the difference? Outside of Ireland, nobody understands the difference. Another example: What we call ‘cute hoorism’, the rest of the planet calls corruption.

• Are these guys for real? Why the hell can’t the government purchase a few houses in a ghost estate for these cronies instead of them wasting more millions of tax payers money. Shame on these people elected to represent their constituents and all the bad press they will get now will most likely go unnoticed.

• Did they not put themselves in these jobs? Bad enough to be paying what us the tax payer pays them but to pay them for their pleasure of doing what they have already been paid to do is just sickening. Those expenses are far more than what the average public servant will get in 30 to 40 yrs working and many travelling more than 100 miles every day and night to work. Not only that but their pension will be less than half those expenses per year. So very wrong and unjust

• Why don’t we all refuse to pay our household charge until they scrap the laundry allowance and reduce their expenses by at least 60%. Send a mailto:philip.hogan@oir.ie

• It’s sickening to see so many of them with ludicrous expenses. I like the suggestion of giving them a travel pass. I don’t know what’s worse, my surprise at the amount of money claimed in such a short space of time or the fact that it doesn’t surprise me that the new TDs in Galway are just as bad as the old crop that they replaced. Then again, an Irish politician with a spine is like a fish with a bicycle, they wouldn’t know what to do with it.

• shame on galways newly elected tds,is this what new generation politics is about,Galway East Labour party must be cringing with both candidates involved

• This is bloody scandalous our TDs should be ashamed of themselves didn’t take them long to jump on the gravy train Why can this not make headline news on our television and radio just shows who is looking after who in this country . No sign of austerity hitting our comfy TDs anyway.

• The story below this on the main page sums up this rock.

• absolutely disgusted that the TDs from my area ( Cork South West) are 1 & 3 on this list.

I expect my text to each of them protesting the ambulance cuts in West Cork was a complete waste of credit then!!
    Never mind lads, I’ll make sure that I mention this to each and every neighbour/friend/aquaintance/anyone I get talking to in the local shops EVERYBODY etc. Ye better make hay whilst the sun shines lads, cos ye will NOT be voted back! Disgraceful – absolutely disgusting behaviour. Enda is in Bantry tomorrow – Be there if you can.

• In fairness, Cork South-West is further from Dublin than any other constituency, you’d expect them to have the highest expenses.

The problem is more the regime that allows the expenses to be so high as what individuals claimed.

• Sheila, its not like we had a great choice last time, twas the three we got or christy lamh or the man with the beard. that’s the problem with politics. the politicans just do not inspire.

• You don’t have to pass an interview to run, just get in with big party buddies. A good 40 per cent of them in the dail are pure bigger morons.

• No Sean we didn’t have much choice but it’s desperate that their number 1 & joint no 2.

And Chris SW Cork isn’t next to Dublin but they get – what – something like 92k a year – it’s over 100k between them; and essential services are being cut – beds in Clon hospital; the ambulance service etc etc

Npw we know why Magda from Donegal appeared yesterday.

• sorry the figures in the middle bit sounds a bit confused; Their TD salary is something like 92k each annually and then between them they claim over 100k in expenses!!!! That’s obscene.

The 300k approx that they cost us in expenses and salaries alone would be better spent on a the ambulance service which is at least OF service to the people of W Cork.

• Got it now they only claim average wage which is 33k plus 50k = 88k a year. Phew I thought they were having us for mugs!!

• Can we not get them one of the many Nama hotels to stay in, saved a few quid there

• Why do they get paid to travel to work?? Surely the cost of getting to work should be covered by themselves as they chose where to work. I dont get paid to get to and from work – I get expenses to go to and from meetings, etc but I certainly dont get paid by my employer to travel from my house to the office.
    Why should our TDs?
    Ah yes, it is the age old saying – Do as I say, not as I do ???

• The Truckers are having the Blockade on 22nd Feb..I am not a trucker myself,but I can understand how this recession,and all the Vat and taxes is having on them.Petrol and diesel has jumped in price,yet the barrell remains the same price.My road tax has gone up dramatically,yet the roads i drive on have not changed in years.I am fed up paying tax after tax to line the pockets,and pensions of greedy people..Enough is enough,time to stand up.Every day another cut back,or tax,yet their wages and pensions are not touched.There will be nothing broadcast about this march on Tv,because you can bet they dont want their huge salarys threatened.So it is entirely up to us to spread the word about,and take to the streets to show them we have had enough.

• Dermot Murphy
    Everybody try and share this with as many people as possible.We have a chance now.so lets all take it.Show these greedy fuckers we have had enough.

D-DAY – BLOCKADE DUBLIN
    ‎22 February at 08:00
    Like · · Share · 49 minutes ago ·

• Wonder what the senators claimed in expenses? Im sure its a lot more than what “Magda gets in sw. And harte had the cheek to spew out what he said about her. I think all these politicians should be sent to outer siberia and left there, and flights paid for out of their pot of expenses

• no more expenses, or cap it at 10 grand, bullshit, we pay their wages, their pensions, and pay for them to eat, go stay in a hostel, cheap hotel, 50 euro a nite, they are their, its all bull , and they know it, but will keep taxing and taxing the regular joe, enda go back to school, thats the pay u deserve, they keep jobs open for politicians, so our young teachers can go abroad or work part time, they keep pensions, let them keep their professional pension but no pension from government, we will see who politicians are, and i aint labour but would vote for the man who took no expenses, imagine all that expense money going into our schools, our hospital, how many people could live off that,, why do we see it and no one else, i really think ireland is a joke and have not even started to pay for our debt, they are not business people, they are money grabbers, and get smacked around the ear by the germans and french, what foolish looking people we are, and leaving them in government, wow,,,

• The politicians are just doing their bit in telling young people to feck off from the country.

• Dermot Murphy
    Everybody try and share this with as many people as possible.We have a chance now.so lets all take it.Show these greedy fuckers we have had enough.

D-DAY – BLOCKADE DUBLIN
    ‎22 February at 08:00
    Like · · Share · 55 minutes ago ·

• People didn’t get up off their arses when the last Govt. signed over 85,000,000,000 to protect a business that it didn’t own.

They haven’t down tap over having to pay 2000 times these expenses a year for the next 20 years, more than all the income tax we take per annum.

The real kicker will be if the Govt. put a 10 euro charge on every one. That’ll get to people in this country motoring, being each foistered with a couple hundred thousand in liabilities doesn’t register with them or they don’t give a shit.

It’s a very sad truth.

• you got to love these guys

• I obv meant 83k mugs pa!!

• Noel Harrington is my local TD in Bantry. I am disgusted that he is claiming that amount of unrealistic expenses.

As I have said already elsewhere: This expense system, like the HSE’s and actually every public sector expense system, is archaic! It is open to abuse and totally unrealistic. For the love of logic and common sense this is a golden opportunity for reform. When public vs private sector arguments are made I usually shun them. But for f*** sake this definitely one where public sector falls down against the private sector.
    This would be an easy thing to solve with a private sector vouched / approved expense system model.
    The fact this archaic ridiculous system still exists tells it’s own tale.

• These Bastards should be paying their travel expenses out of their salaries. When I travel to work I pay my own expenses out of my wages, these gits expenses are more than I make in wages for a year.

• If you are a businessman and have a Revenue Audit – all expenses must be properly vouched and must be “wholly and exclusively incurred in performance of business activities”
    Unvouched expenses are never approved or authorised by the a Irish Revenue. All TDs should now be subject to Revenue audit . We must have a level “playing pitch”.How many TDs have been subjected to Revenue Audits? Time for change and transparency in out political system.
    Michael Noonan should change the tax laws to force our elected politicians to operate with honesty. Any TD found to be fiddllying his/her expenses should be suspended from Dáil Éireann without pay for a minimum 6 month term. All expenses overpaid and Unvouched should be refunded to the Irish Taxpayer!!!

• Brian Walsh is FG, not Lab.

• Harrington OUT!

Add New Comment