TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

In pictures: Occupy protesters descend on Pearse Street Garda station

The protesters, whose camp outside the Central Bank was cleared this morning, were demanding that their belongings be returned.

PROTESTERS FROM THE Occupy Dame Street movement descended on Pearse Street Garda station in Dublin tonight.

Around 50 protesters staged a protest outside the Garda station having earlier assembled outside the Central Bank on Dame Street where their camp had been taken apart by gardaí earlier this morning.

The protesters were believed to be at the station to request their belongings back. Earlier those who had been camped outside the Central Bank since last October claimed that all their belongings had been taken by Gardaí who moved in at 3am this morning to clear the camp.

Gardaí said tonight there had been no arrests and that the protest has now moved back towards the Central Bank. Gardaí, 40 of whom surrounded Pearse Street station, are following the protesters and there are traffic restrictions in the area.

Here are a selection of photos from the earlier protest:

In pictures: Occupy protesters descend on Pearse Street Garda station
1 / 25
  • Occupy Dame Street

John Boland, centre, confronting a Garda while stand outside the Central Bank. Photo: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland.
  • Occupy Dame Street

Outside Pearse Street Garda station. Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland
  • Occupy Dame Street

Members of the Occupy Dame Street camp march through College Green this evening. Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland
  • Occupy Dame Street

Marching down Westmoreland Street. Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland
  • Occupy Dame Street

Photo: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland.
  • Occupy Dame Street

Pictured protesters drape the tri-colour over what looked to be bank cars. Photo: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland.
  • Occupy Dame Street

Trinity College Dublin students showing their support. Photo: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland
  • Occupy Dame Street

The Occupy Dame Street protestors gathered outside the Pearse Street Garda station demanding the return of their belongings after the camp outside the Central Bank in Dublin was dismantled in an early morning operation. Photo: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland
  • Occupy Dame Street

Photo: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland
  • Occupy Dame Street

Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland
  • Occupy Dame Street

In pictures: Gardaí prevent Occupy camp regeneration

Central Bank requested Occupy camp’s removal on garda advice

Poll: Were gardai right to remove Occupy Dame Street camp?

Occupy Dame Street camp removed from Central Bank base

Read next:

Comments (262 Comments)

• Much as I think it’s important to protest, where was their action all those months ago when they started out and genuinely represented the 99%? It’s important to protest, but at the same time, Occupy Dame street just became a convoluted demonstration against everything.

Posters against austerity, the EU, fracking, taxes, RTE and god knows how many other different messages all protesting something different, and completely out of touch with the general public (almost the polar opposite end of the scale to the political elite), they stopped representing the 99% when they started mindlessly posting signs like that.

The Wall Street occupation was a symbol of something, Dame Street seems to be something which doesn’t reflect the 99%, as a hard working young guy who genuinely wants Ireland to recover, I can’t say that I agree with them. People should protest, but this was turning into a mindless shantytown.

• That’s funny. I never seen that many people outside the Central Bank compared to the Garda station….oh if there’s drama the mob will descend.

• RE pic 4, I love the guy protesting against the 1% and yet holding a €1100+ Mac in his hand. Priceless.

• r fin 08/03/12 #

Why didn’t they take their belongings with them last night when the guards showed up? Maybe because alot of them were actually occupying their beds at home??!

• They don’t represent the ’99%’. To be fair, occupy dame street has become a haven of dreadlocks, hemp ponchos and crockery-come-drumkit stacks.

There’s a certain type of people willing to live on the streets for moths on end. People who are just rebelling against anything that crosses their path.

That type of people is not synonymous with recovery.

• There will be an endangered snail in dire trouble at the next construction of a road/site soon, they’ll be down there chaining them selves to a tree, or in fact just hugging one. There’s a saying for socialites that they would be at the opening of an envelope, applies to these crusties regarding a plastic protest

• having been laid off in december 2011after 30 years of working does that mean im a krusty or as some people here have said a waster,i support occupy

• Fair play lads ….4 murders in the last 24 hours and your taking the guards time up with this shit

• What’s with the tricolours? Did Celtic just win something or have Rangers gone into liquidation?

• Look at the resources wasted here
    rounding these people up?? Send In the social welfare officers with the question ” and your pps number is????

• At what point will it dawn on them that They’ve achieved nothing since October, nor will they ever achieve anything by sitting on their arses outside the Central bank all day and sleeping in their own beds at night. Its time to leave, regroup, learn from their mistakes and come back again to fight another day.

• They scratched my car with their antics… Do they know how hard it is to get Obsidian black respray on a Merc??

• Good reporting Journal keep up the good work.

• Krustys try occupyin a desk

• Occupy me hole.

• This protest has achieved nothing, the ‘crusty’ anti everything mentality turns most people off & they were a bloody eyesore. If they want to make a difference how about donating their time to a good cause instead of wasting it? The Greeks achieved little despite the violent protests. As an earlier poster stated “4 murders in the last 24 hours & gardai have to deal with this? A joke. The businesses in the area were suffering as a result of their presence yet there was always a notable absence of protesters when there was dole to be collected. No doubt the protest started out with the best of intentions but it devolved into a farce. They’ll just have to find another way to ‘fight the austerity’

• B7584 08/03/12 #

I have no problem with a protest. I have no problem with an Occupy protest IF it was having an effect. If there were 10 or 20 new people joining it every day, if dame street was FULL of tents then it might show that there was increasing support for the protest EXCEPT there wasnt, there was no acceptance of it. For godsake the people who were supposedly running it werent even there most of the time. Stop kidding yourselves, you dont represent 99%, you infact represent 1%. Ironic, huh?

• I went down there earlier and I was looking at them. To tell you the truth I got the impression that Boland fella was just a out and out scumbag along with most of the people with him waving the tri-colours.

• From what I hear he & his buddies are the reason why a lot of people have left the camp
      They’ve a very broad sense of what a “peaceful protest ” is too.
      You won’t hear that in the ODS dispatches though…

• If you look closely in the pictures most the fellas are wearing their adidas tracksuits with pride and sparkling white reebok classics….amazing the amount of scum that gets involved in protests against gardai. “Here Devo are ya goin to the boozer or wha.” “Did ya not hear whacker those smelly bastards from inside town are goin ta the cop shop in Pearce st to wreck the gaff.” “Nice one pal let’s go!!!!”

• My toddler does what that guy in picture ten is doing when he doesn’t want me to pick him up- arms straight up in the air and arch back!!

• Time to bring out the water canons.

• Will they ever give up!!!!

• Shower of wasters

• “If you’re not careful, the newspapers will have you hating the people who are being oppressed, and loving the people who are doing the oppressing.”
    ― Malcolm X

• What difference are the occupiers making? None. All they are doing is wasting the gardai’s time and taxpayers money.

• They want their litter back? It’s in the local landfill, go have a look for it there.

If I left anything on the street I wouldn’t expect it to still be there months later.

• Why publicise the antics of these yahoos with so many pictures?

• Would they all go home and do something that will actually make a difference…Gobsh1tes the lot of them

• The entire Occupy movement have to be the most pathetic bunch of protesters that have ever attempted to use the Right to peaceful protest.

They don;t have a leader, they don’t have an objective. Their reasons for protesting are mostly just populous waffle e.g No IMF, sovereign bla bla bla.

Articulate a specific objective for your protest and you might actually get somewhere. And try not to look like you’re enjoying it so much

• They’re mostly unemployable people anyway, the state of the economy has little effect on them as a whole.

• Is that Ming with the bicycle? Maybe he brought some turf on it!

• Tools.

• Anyone else notice that they are all really ugly?

• Just reading through these comments makes me sad. I keep thinking of Lincoln’s words “a house divided against itself cannot stand.” (Lincoln was quoting the bible btw)

• What an embarrassment (pic 7). I thought Trinity students were more educated than that!

• Tossers! Get off the streets and look for a job!

• Dame st was a typical Irish protest. They were taking it in turns like shift work. Stay there a few hours and then get relieved and head home to the mammy for some dinner and a shower and get the clothes washed and then back to dame st for another few hours! Hardcore lads… Hardcore

• why is it only dirty krustys that are protesting? The same clowns that are claiming dole for the last 10-20years

• Scarr 08/03/12 #

Because everyone else seems to be busy bitching and moaning about the government on the journal and doing naff all protesting because you’re all talk and when it comes to actually going on a protest, be it on a weekend or not, you’d rather sit at home playing xbox than go out and voice you dissent at the bad decisions the government take on your behalf. But just keep your head in the sand. Keep taking the medicine. But whatever you do do t cause a fuss. The “fighting Irish” what a joke. A hard few fought for what freedom we gained, the rest of us were hiding under our beds.

• @ scarr, no, we live in the real world and have jobs and responsibilities, never play xbox, but you probably live in that virtual world. This has nothing to do with patriotism, and no I do not bitch and moan about the goverment. What would you know about the fighting Irish, by the sounds of it just out of nappies

• B7584 08/03/12 #

Go on Scarr, tell us about the chem trails & flouride thats dumbing is down.

• Because everybody else has given up – see above for examples.

• Scarr I agree with you 100% fair play.

Rick do you know all these people personally? How do you know they are on the dole let alone be on it for 10 -20 yrs? Love the way you all seem to be well informed about each and everyone of the protesters and their circumstances. If they were the so called lay about yous seem to think they are, they wouldn’t be out in dreadful weather trying to save your sorry asses.

• Your man with the macbook (pic 4) seems to be doing badly. Poor guy.

• Protestor has no job – Should not be allowed protest, should get job, dole scrounger etc….

Protestor has job – has money to buy shit, malcontent, hypocrite, should not be allowed protest, etc etc….

• After reading most of the posts on this topic, we really deserve everything we get. Wait till we need the 2nd bailout. If I was a bit younger I’d be out of this kip. People try to protest peacefully and their called crusties, ugly, unemployable and more. No wonder there is so so much corruption in this country. We really like getting it up the ass.

• skeolawn 09/03/12 #

Well said.

Not sure what’s really eating these people. Attack the protestors, not the problem.

• Great comment Fergus.
      Looking at these comments has really been a eye opener for me.
      As you say Fergus about the 2nd bailout,there will be a lot more people then Occupy dame street marching the streets.
      Most of the people here don’t seem to understand that the worse is yet to come,few more billion to be taken out of our budget,we won’t get money from the bond market next year meaning bailout number 2,meaning more cuts and more austerity.
      Cuts on the Old,The disabled,the poor and the mentality ill while ex minsters and advisors get 100k in pensions or in pay.
      I would love to hear what our forefathers that fought and died for our country would say about the mess were in and the greed that still exists in our country.

• Ken 08/03/12 #

Glad they’re gone, eyesore on the street, nothing productive came out of their being camped there.
    I’m all for protest, this however, stopped being a protest a long time ago. It was a farce.

• It’s the same few faces in all the above photos. Certainly not representative of society. They do indeed have a constitutional right of assembly, but now that they have exercised that, can we, the majority please have our steets and public places back from these sponging opportunes?

• That occupy protest lost its impact in week 2. The only thing those people are demonstrating is the ability to live like vagrants!

• Hirsute bunch aren’t they……

• It’s hard to believe the tone of some of these comments. Whatever about the hygiene or appearance of the Occupy people–or even the details of their demands–it was an important symbol of opposition to the sell-out of the Irish nation by successive governments. It would have become a crucial symbol in the context of St Patrick’s Day with the attention of the world’s media focused on Dublin (which is presumably why it had to be closed down fast). It’s hard to believe people don’t see this. Let’s recap briefly on what has happened with two successive governments (first FF/GP and now FG/Labour): the economy in ruins, health and education decimated, mass unemployment and emigration, the collapse of private pensions, large numbers of families in negative equity with little prospect of a way out, families torn apart, the middle class squeezed to the bone, the loss of economic independence and the ongoing erosion of political independence. Meanwhile, the mega-rich, the bankers, senior civil servants and politicians continue to prosper, largely untouched by the devastation. The Occupy movement, for all its faults, was the one symbol of opposition to all this. Now there is nothing, apart from the rump Left in the Dail (who will presumably go down the same route as their Green and Labour predecessors, in the unlikely event of their ever obtaining power).

• Wow: the comments on this article are an eyeopener. What an outpouring of hate. Where did you lot creep out from?

• Total morans. They lost public support months ago as witnessed on many surveys, some on this site.
    They just dont want to go back to normal life life and are actually disrupting the city for us all. I would actually fall this behavior selfish and self-serving now.

• Scarr,what didthe Occupy people do except sit on their arses outside the Central Bank, waiting for the revolution to come to them. They give genuine revolutionaries a bad name.

• Great to see their slum gone, they were making the place look untidy. Today was the first time I actually saw ppl there instead of a bunch of empty shaks. They looked like a mixture of hippies and addicts. I hope they’re not counting me in their 99%.

• They ought to be sent home to mammy and daddy with fines for littering and illegal dumping… Raise some €€ for the country from those who contribute nothing yet have the nerve to protest how other citizens taxes are spent… I’d rather my taxes buy an ivory backscratcher for a bank exec that be given out as a beer and pot grant money

• Ba ba sheep , who follow what they re told without question , at least the protesters are trying something , it’s better than cynical smartassed opinions on the journal being expressed with no backbone to back it up .do something or say nothing ( talk is cheap )……………

• Lucky we are not living in Texas. Everybody carries guns in Texas……

• Yesterday i heard on the radio one of the occupiers saying that “occupy” was not a protest – it is a process.
    So does that mean the occupiers are processors as oppose to protesters. :-)

• Wow what a shower of hippies. I work long hours every day to pay for their dole. And they are protesting against what exactly? They appear to be posing for the camera probably trying to appear edgy amongst their student peers. No sympathy. Get a f**cking job you bloody wasters.

• Stefanovich…yeah sure give out about the people who are raising important issues…if your looking for real welfare ‘Spongers’ just check out the Banks, the IMF, ECB, Unsecured bond holders…sucking the life out of Ireland…whilst cancer patients die due to lack of services….its amazing how short peoples memories are….and how easy people suck up the corporate media witch hunt against the 240,000 people who lost there jobs through no fault of their own….wake up man and smell the coffee man

• Well said Ibhar, I just don’t get most of these comments. These protesters got out there and tried to do something for their fellow man/woman and all they are getting is abuse, I’m totally gobsmacked by the whole thing. They all seem to have a gripe about people being on the dole and not for the reasons they should have a gripe about which is thousand upon thousands of people have lost their jobs through no fault of their own but through the bad management of this and previous governments. Yet they sit smugly in their jobs and think everyone that is unfortunate enough to have lost their jobs are lazy scrounging lay abouts, I really hope for their sakes that their jobs are as secure as they seem to think they are ( and I really do) because some day someone like themselves could be calling them the same thing and then they will see how hurtful and upsetting it is to be called something you are not. Either way it doesn’t come into it if the protesters have jobs or not they are out there doing something about the dreadful state our country is in.

• Well Said Stefanovich with all their hippy rubbish. Pepper spray should be deployed like a fire extinguisher.

• Their belongings ha ha ha did anyone see my cardboard box and my soy and lentil sandwich

• Let’s also conveniently forget that the protest existed for nearly 6 months without any hassle at all from the Gardai and that the camp was dismantled with no resistance , no teargas , no arrests .

Of course I’m a sheep & Because I disagree with their methods i am therefore an enabler of financial terrorism , fracking , taxes , israel , mubarak , shell , globalisation etc

but isn’t it odd that less than 15 people were there when the eviction took place & yet a herd of 60 odd turn up to have a crack at the cops?

• Do you know what? What they are protesting about is absolutely correct, I would be protesting also if I didn’t have a job but those without jobs should be out protesting… we do not protest enough in this country.. so stop being so fucking cynical that people are actually doing this rather than posting on a bleeding website usually with a fake name or else you negate the right to be fucking whinging about gov policy when you do it from the safety of your armchair where fuckers like Sherlock simply ignore it and stay the course!

• I do not understand why more of the unemployed are not protesting everyday . These people did no harm to any one , they were peaceful and they were doing something.

• Brendan,I agree with public protest and civil disobedience,if necessary. But these Occupy people were in the wrong place.their message incoherent, apathetic and didn’t resonate or gain the support of the general populace. They concentrated on tactics and ignored the strategy.

• @chelseajoe The general populace do fuck all in the way of protesting, itts the majority who are apathetic. and while I would not have went with their approach its better than the rest of us who appeared to have rolled over.. and I mean appeared.. as this Gov is not listening to us and still seems to think that outside the walls of Leinster house we are incapable of any constructive feedback that they should take on board. regardless of the fact the people giving the feedback are probably out of work and have a degree in the field they are talking about. Rather than a former teacher or some cunt who used to own a garage in the sticks but is seen to be affable.

• Brendan I agree with you on all but one point, people who are working can be out their protesting as well, people who are lucky enough to have jobs can be out on days of for a couple of hours assisting those who are are unfortunate enough to have more time on their hands. We have to stop this business of them and us we are all in this together.

• maura 08/03/12 #

Nice to see Trinity students studying for exams. Especially since the tax payer is funding them.

• I am just off to bed but noted how over the day the comments have changed . Seems the crusties and shinners are on fire here tonight ,while this morning it was those who work or study commenting telling these 99% of pointlessness to move on get a job ,up skill .

They don’t work I recognise a father and daughter in the photos who I know have been to live on Dame Street. They spend ther lives between the Israeli Embassy on a Thursday and Friday,Rossport and up until today Dame Street. So exactly what percentage do they represent. They are professional protestors.

• The head Garda in charge of investigating banking fraud has retired and been hired by one of the banks he’s investigating.

The new head of the Department of Finance is the former CEO of a corporation that facilitated the illegal activities of hedge funds, and was fined around $16 million for doing so.

We are chattel or livestock, in a society run by bankers for bankers.

Whatever you do, folks, don’t protest. In fact do nothing, and the banks will make sure we’re fed and watered in a manner which will optimize their profits.

Welcome to Ireland 2012.

In four years we can hang our heads in shame at the degree to which our spinelessness has shamed us in the eyes of our forefathers.

• a rag tag bunch of criminals and wasters who are at home with illegal drugs and prescription medications. hopefully many will be arrested and charged for littering and partying Dublin streets for so long.

• Looked at some of the posts here and I see Ireland is dead and gone. Some people got off their arse and protested doesn’t matter what they were protesting about but at least they got of their arse and did protest about what is happening to our country. Some of you will be pitching up at your local TD’s clinic and might even feel lucky if he or she is on the governments benches to whine about your lot and the TD will nod wisely and say I’ll sort you and off you will go with a warm feeling and think X has my vote next time around. Middle Ireland has found a real fear some who protest and get dispersed and the real fear is they come back.

• Fair play to them like them or loathe them they stood up to be counted and voiced what every citizen of the western world who’s been affected by the recession has been giving out about

• i went out to work to provide for my family, i do not have a choice to fart about the place and do nothing, sorry protest!

• paddy arnt you lucky you have a job? will it take you losing ur job for you to realise they are protesting against the state of the country that means many cant get jobs, or are you one of those idiots who believe 450, 000 people are just lazy rather than a much smaller number are greedy?

• They didn’t stand up for me. I welcome protests that makes sense, I might well join some of them. I don’t support ODS as they don’t have any alternative and they are asking for things that don’t make sense or are not even happening.

• @ Paddy: For every one of those people there how many more do you think would like to be there but cant because theyre in exactly your position? They cant be there, but would like to be.

3.8 million people go out to work every day in Ireland. And if they contnu to do so without challenging how they work, where their taxes go to, or where the profits from their labour go then NOTHING WILL GET BETTER.

Someone has to shout stop first.

• @Eoghan, There is only 2.2 million in Irelands labour force and 14% are unemployed, If you cant get that right throws the credibility of your argument out the window

• Stats wrong, mea culpa.

When one replaces 3.8 with 1.8 the argument is still as strong as ever. Nothing will change, unless people begin to down tools and argue for a better way forward. Which in the view of the occupiers, was a far less capital dominated economy.

• the attitudes of some people on here its no wonder Ireland is in a mess.

• Haha, loving all these comments.

• The intolerance, judgemental, attacking posts here are pretty sickening. Do you guys understand Intolerance ? Racism ? Stereotyping ? Abuse ? Highly opinionated people who knock everything and everyone. But put nothing constructive forward themselves. And seems apparent that they know nothing at all about the people or the movement and are proud to display that ignorance. The guys who actually caused the problem love this, when they have ordinary people attacking each other, kinda lets them off the hook, doesn’t it. ? I respect people who take a stand for what they believe in, even if I don’t share that belief. I have no real respect for people who knock them and give their power away continously, propagating the behaviour that got us into this mess. We can do somethng about this. If you don’t agree with what the people in Dame Street were doing, fine. No need to construct a whole load of ‘Enemy images’ around them. And what about getting up and doing something yourself with all that energy you put into posting here ?

• Fair play to them, better than most of us who complain yet do NOTHING.

• I absolutely loathe these bunch of disgusting wasters. There has been two double murders in this country in the past few days and these pointless losers are taking up all this time and attention. How quick they were to abandon their original protest and go camp outside the Garda Station to demand their trash back. And what the hell was their original protest even about anyway, did they honestly think that they were going to achieve something by sitting aimlessly and pointlessly on one of the city’s busiest streets whilst busying themselves doodling posters?? These fools have gained nothing but contempt from the people and government alike. I hope the Gardai get the water cannons out and blast these dirty scruffballs back to whatever bar stool they slid off of.

• Are those clowns from the Ivory Coast? The Irish flag is Green White and Orange, not Orange, White and Green. How many of them are claiming benefits? Anyone that is there on benefits should have their payments stopped until they at least try get a job. Rant over.

• Their camp was symbolic. It doesn’t matter if they represent 99% or not. The fact is, the occupy dame street protesters were standing up for something they believed in, in crap conditions, through freezing weather and after 6 months they get mostly abuse, derisory comments and ridicule. That’s deplorable. And it does make me ashamed to be Irish when I see that attitude….

• If they were all offered jobs in banks tomorrow they’d snap them up!

• after 30 years working and now on the dole does that make a krusty::( or as some people here say a waster i support occupy

• agent 09/03/12 #

Occupy Dame Street more like occupy a barna shed. Good one, fair play to the 9 crusties who stayed in the shed for this length. Maybe now they will shag off and occupy their own lives and stop creating an eyesore of a shanty town in the capital. Bloody disgrace the amount of unstable head the balls that were loitering within the confines of the wooden waste of time wonderland. Gardai and council should’ve acted quicker to dismantle the problem but better late than never. Well done to all who eradicated those roaches….

• Good to see a lot of the people that are constantly bitchin about the government and the situation in the country bitchin about people that are protesting. I see a trend here. Heres a idea, maybe if we protested more our debt burden wouldn’t be as much. Worked in Greece but i forgot we don’t want defaulters written across our heads. Sometimes u wonder if we deserve everything we get.

• and just what does their appearance have to do with their political views or civil right to protest??? …

• Typical modern ireland shown in these comments.. they are protesting against a govt that is messing with everyone and all you have to say is the usual “oh dey should get jobs look at de state o dem” you “people” are the reason those clowns in charge get away with eveything, becasue they can rely on this attitude against anyone who tries to protest. “fighting irish” hah! more like “do as you are told and hate people who speak out irish” you feel superior and make ur little jokes about people on the dole when we should all be on the same side! the way this county is goin ull all be standing in that que sooner or later then see how you like being called “work shy”. no wonder NOTHING ever changes in this country when ur so quick to turn on each other. you make me sick

• I’m guessing you’re a teenager Joe. You’re full of passion but you do not yet understand the world unfortunately.

• Ray D 08/03/12 #

@Joe Maybe with a stronger grasp of the English language, you too may come off the dole queue.

• Well joe if you don’t like this county you know where the airports are!

• Boohoo for you Joe. Unlike you, some of us have responsibilities which we Can’t just abandon at the drop of a hat just so we can sit on our holes all day and do nothing constructive.

• First of all, I do not know where to start with your grammar. Secondly, I come from a very, very working class area, so i might know a “Dole” cue when i see one. Do you want my personal opinion on these protesters? They have lost sight of what they are supposed to be doing. Rudderless, like a lost ship in the night.

• Ray D 08/03/12 #

@Leslie If you’re going to be a grammar Nazi, at least put the effort in yourself. It’s queue not cue.

• I agree Joe.. Some of the comments and opinions here would really make you sick..

• Joe
      I agree with you too . I don’t like those comments either ,but you stick to your beliefs and you will go far.You have your principals.

• @Joe, I agree with you. Don’t let the b**tards grind you down.

Some real patronising twerps commenting here. @Jimmy, if anyone needs to find their way to the airport it’s you.

• Well said Joe, i hope their are a lot more people out there like you.

Peter I am not a teenager and I think I know the world to some extent and if Joe is a teenager well good for him as he has hit the nail on the head as to what a lot of people on this site are like.

Also how do you all know these protesters are on social welfare ( not that it matters one bit) as every one as far as I know in a democracy has a right to be heard. They also could be people who have been one of the thousands that have lost their jobs in the last few years through no fault of their own.
      Yet they are out there protesting for every man/woman of Ireland that is being thrown into desperate poverty by our so called government. I know it is time for them to upgrade their campaign as it did not get the notice they needed but at least they are trying unlike many (not all) Of the coach protestors/whingers that are slagging them of. I, as one of the people of Ireland who they are trying to help want to say a big THANK YOU.

p.s If I was Enda Kenny and was reading all these remarks from a lot of yous, I would be sitting here with my usual smirk of contempt knowing I had a lot of you (mindless drones) in the palm of my hand.

• Well said Breda C S >
      I enjoyed your post and agreed with every word .

• Thanks Breda, my thoughts exactly.

• And tell me what exactly have they achieved or will achieve???????

• Wellfor a start ,they have achieved 225 comments on this thread . …
      They are good people

• wah! did i hit a nerve? judging by some of the responses i think i did. peter. im not a teenager i just have principles. i think dictators and corrupt govts the world over would love it if everyone was of the opinion that “grown ups” dont speak out or protest! when skeolawn says “patronising twerps” i imagine he is referring to your comment. care to enlighten me as to how the world works? or does “young grasshopper need to find the answer within himself or some sh*t like that? @Ray D: is that the secret? superior english skills? some well then some clases for me and the other 450,000 are in order id say. problem solved! @Jimmy im gonna keep this simple for you jimmy: I LIKE this country. It is my home. That is why i CARE what happens to it. Why do you think those people are protesting? becasue they hate ireland???? no, becasue they care too. your not that stupid are you? but yes i probably will have to leave as will thousands of others but were all just lazy arnt we so its fine. As for you Tomarse (no fada on my keyboard) i wasnt asking for sympathy i was asking why you turn on people who are not in exactly the same boat as you while the real enemy sit back and laugh at you. Good for you you have a job, that dosnt make you superior to these people, it means your lucky you still have one. and yes you cant drop everything and join em, but why the bitterness towards them? you could always quit ur job and go on the dole if their lives are so easy. Thank you breda and the others nice to know not everone in this country has these opinions

• Joe
      Take a bow .
      Very well said , Good for you .
      Several thumbs up !

• :)

• After being forced immigrate to work in numerous countries over the last two years In my spare time I took part in many Occupy protests in many cities….I must say it’s great to see the efforts put in by these great Irish people.

Some one has to stand up to what the elite in Ireland are doing to us…they are criminals. clear an simple…..the public here are so negative towards the Occupy movement here in Ireland. Its obvious to me from the comments that the public here just don’t get the concept that all the other occupy protests and 99% in other countries have grasped-

THE CONCEPT: If Occupy fails then EVERYONE IN IRELAND has lost against the Bankers, The Elite, the lying Corrupt Politicians. They want you to fail, they want you to blindly obey so that they can continue to rob you and destroy everything you value.

Don’t take it from me the world of Academia and many respected economists have wrote about the present state of the world. Anonymous tells us about it, so does Wikileaks, this is no theory.

This is Occupy, its suppose to empower YOU ..the COMMON MAN/WOMAN, the INDIVIDUAL, this is a mirror of you, this is YOU standing up for yourself and your communities…if you fail today, your supposed to get back up and brush yourselves down and continue. If you don’t like what the people in Dame street are doing, don’t just MOCK ..get involved and change it yourself for the better and keep the idea alive!

We all have no choice…its Austerity and poverty for you and your kids otherwise!

• We should all be on the streets protesting at the governments willingness to drop the slacks everytime they meet an EU official. The EU is doing a nazi/vichy pisstake on the eejits from the bogger island on the edge of western europe !!!

• What a stupid comment. I Don’t recall Brussels setting up concentration camps throughout the country so as to exterminate as many Irish people as possible. Things are pretty bad at the moment, and this Government is quickly becoming a farce, but such over the top comments are disgusting and an insult to those who lived through an actual Nazi regime. Grow up!

• seriously… is that actually equating the Nazi regime with a recession… it’s not just wrong at so many levels, but also just ignorant of how Europe and economics actually work.

I really think this economic crisis has honed our talents at amateur dramatics…

• Pretty much on the button with the Nazi/Vichy comments. Petain rolled over less quickly than FG/Lab. And look how quick the French are trying to exploit Greece, trying to force them to spend billions buying French frigates even though the government can’t even look after its own people. The EU imposing puppet leaders on Greece and Italy, yet some people are totally blind to what is happening around them.

• To my learned friend, Dr Treacy, do please submit your treatise on European economic theory. Bear in mind history’s remarkable habit of repeating itself and then consider why Frau Merkel and Sarkozy decide in advance the outcome of all multilateral discussions. Expand on why loans funded by German pension deposits in German Banks must be repaid when those same institutions quite obviously failed to adequately price risk into the equation. Expand on why Anglo is repaying bondholders with my tax dollars when those same bondholders purchased at discounts of 30% and more. Both public and private debt has been socialised by order of the ‘Troika’. Is this the culmination of modern macro economic theory: just screw Joe Public for the money.

• Go and say that to a world war vet or to a Jewish family who’s relatives suffered at the hands of hitler. Moron!!! Anyway off the point here….

• These derogatory comments about Irish protesters are making me ashamed to be irish..

• ok I don’t think some are getting the point. I’m not saying i agree with the austerity measures, increased tax and loss of jobs, bad decisions being made on our behalf. I’m not glad to see mass emigration and families in negative equity. But this was a poorly executed protest from the outset. It should’ve being called ‘put a tent on dame street’ not ‘occupy dame street’. They weren’t lobbying for anything in particular. It was all very vague, pretty much ‘Im not sure what we’re asking for but make it better, sure 99% of the people want things to be better’ with absolutely nothing to contribute. At the very best all they did was hinder tourism with that eyesore. Maybe they should (all 50 of them) sit down ( in one of their houses preferably) and come up with a game plan. Then come back with a view of what exactly they want the government to do and use some organisational skills to get the people behind them.

• War is peace. Freedom is slavery. Ignorance is strength.

• These people occupied the best location in Ireland for publicity of their cause, bang smack in the heart of the Capital city, not somewhere in the middle of nowhere not in the Wicklow hills or the Hill of Tara or somewhere in Sligo Mayo Kerry or Clare where no one would have batted an eye lid but they had a place in our Capital city and where welcomed by the Central Bank to protest peacefully, which they did, but they lost their focus and made the camp into an eye sore halting site, it was disgusting walking past everyday and changed my opinion of their reasons to be there. Then you had their indecision of what they where protesting about ..Bankers, Sopa. Fracking, the Government, Developers, Bin Charges, IMF, ECB, Shell, Nama, UN, Israel, Iran, Iraq, Syria, basically every week they wanted this that or the other to get sorted yesterday… I think they will learn from their mistakes.. Otherwise you do not speak for me….

• Think I remember Dublin ppl chucking rotten vegetables at the ppl who started the Easter rising ,,, laughed at them to …I don’t live in Ireland any more ,,,but a least there is someone trying to do something about Ireland and it’s bent people ,,,if more people got off there arses and protested a bit more my be there could be a better Ireland ,,, as for that arsehole who told jo to go to a airport il meet you there on my why home put some manners on you!!!!!!!

• Jesus those gardai are eating too many bacon rolls.

• Over 400,000 people are on the dole now. I say most of them are occupying their beds instead of looking for a job. People who dont bother to look for a job are just lazy and low lifes

• Every photo shows a heavily tatooed methone user. Nice one media, we get the idea that they are all scum and have no reight to protest. Ok got it.

• The ginger Guy Fawkes in the hoody should have been lifted ages ago, save all the clowning around in so many pics.In fairness the Guards allowed this ‘protest’.All those blocking footpaths n roads should have been directed to move away.refusal = arrests!

• Sorry Bagpiper….. Fascist scum like you are not needed in modern Ireland…your obviously an enlightened person

• Why do protestors look annoying ,, the american ones didnt ,, irish smellys letting the side down

• mike 08/03/12 #

Occupy Dame Street Phase 2. To be continued.

• Dirty shower of crusties. Absolutely pointless “protest”. Great for lads to piss around all week and grab their dole at the end of it! Good riddance.

• Heres a head line ,Gardai take over from greyhound and clean up.

• There’s a bangarda in photo nine that unfortunately resembles Jabba the Hut.

• When they had them that close to the cells they should have locked the knackers up .

• Many of the bog standard ‘hippie’ comments are from vested interests such as financial workers, status quo merchants, certain conservative media outlets, PR companies and right of centre political parties. Essentially they are anti protest because their way of life depends on inequality.

• past.

• “joined and helped” are you for real joined and helped what?? what cause what ideas what imagination what change, helped clean up, helped wash their hair, helped bring them a cup of tea, helped tie fences together, helped clean the shit they left behind….. no thanks they did not speak for me if they spoke for you Kerry best o luck to ya….

Add New Comment