TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Poll: Were gardai right to remove Occupy Dame Street camp?

The structures erected by protestors at the Central Bank plaza were removed in the early hours of the morning by gardai and Dublin City Council. Do you agree with that action?

The plaza at Central Bank this morning.
Image: Susan Daly/TheJournal.ie

GARDAI DISMANTLED THE Occupy Dame Street camp at around 3.30am today. Aided by employees of Dublin City Council, the officers removed all trace of the structures which had been erected by protestors since last October.

As shown in our pictures, taken during rush hour this morning, only a number of protestors and a similar number of gardai remained at the plaza in front of Central Bank.

Do you agree with the removal of the Occupy Dame Street camp?

Poll Results:

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (213 Comments)

• Its a win-win I think, the occupy people save face and get an easy exit strategy and those that wanted them gone get their wish.

• Those in the camp were preparing to try and build it up again with the improved weather rather than looking for an exit. The timing of the eviction was probably for the same reason.

• Ross 08/03/12 #

The real winners are the likes of Seán Fitzpatrick, Ahern, Lenihan, Cowen etc etc, who are always conveniently considered untouchable.

There were a multiple of Guards on this, compared to investigating Anglo. Better to remove this camp that risk multiple convictions in a well resourced and backed investigation of the wholesale corruption of the FF/Anglo years.

• Insightful comment colm, totally agree.
      The Gardai have handle this one very well. No violence on their part this time.

• Actually now that we are hearing from the people who were there it seems there was significant Garda violence in terms of stamping on hands, twisting arms, throwing people to the ground etc. More people were thrown to the ground this lunchtime when they attempted to put a tent back up. Turns out that relying on the Garda press office for an accurate account of police violence is exactly as reliable as you might expect

• Ross i could not agree more ,this country is in a death grip with organised white collar crime and those people that gave you thumbs down for speaking the truth should be ashamed of yourselves , do we want a country with no law because that is what we have one law for us and another law for the political elite.

• @ Ross

And the occupy group were going to make them more touchable? I’m sure you don’t believe that.

Each offence has to be treated separately. The camp had to be dismantled.

Cowen etc will get their comeuppance in some way. Might not be publicly hung drawn and quartered like you want but they will.

• Some deeply unpleasant comments being posted here.
    Probably no harm, I suppose, to be reminded just how badly
    our education system has failed us in so many cases.

• i cant agree that the protesters should also be removed, despite the fact i see their exercise as futile and annoying, i think people should always have the right to voice objection, the structures on the other hand, should never have been allowed in the first place, i cant understand why they were allowed as long as they were

• Agree completely

• Ross 08/03/12 #

Whether they are protesting in vain, at least they’ll be able to say when this country finally goes down the toilet that at least they objected, while everyone condemned protesting, refused to take any action, refused to call for justice or wholesale reform of the state that robbed them blind and forced their children abroad. Frankly most of the people in this country are lazy, apathetic bums, that deserve everything that is coming to them now.

• @Ross I agree with the sense of the first part of the argument… people should be commended for standing up to be seen and peacefully challenged what are many dodgalities in the system.

However I disagree with your analysis of the majority Irish people… I think 800 years of Oppression from the British (who would torture and kill in public those who stood up), and from the Church who disempowered people to think individually, have resulted in the placated reactions we see to many of the problems and disgraces we have faced recently.

• @Ross So… their method of protest was naive, inflexible, and ultimately ineffectual but at least they’ll have earned the right to tell us all where to go if we mention we’re not happy with the way things are? Viva la Revolution!

• @R.P – yes agree about the structures and peoples right to object and protest however if that gets in the way of the public going about their daily business in a safe and peaceful way then I don’t support them. I’ve heard quite a few stories of people being intimidated and accosted by the protesters from the occupy group. Not on.

• It should be pointed out, the camp and structures are gone, but unlike in the US, the protestors were allowed back in afterwards. It’s not like they were hauled off to jail. Nothing to stop them starting again (apart from perhaps they can’t be arsed, too much bother?) if they have the courage of their convictions. It’ll be interesting to see if they do restart.

I think any accusations of the Gardai being heavy-handed aren’t justified here, compared to how other occupy movements ended up being treated!

• The Gardai didn’t take it upon them self’s to remove the camp, title and tone of the article highlights the ignorance of system in this country. So who ordered the Gardai to remove the camp?

• They claim to represent the 99%. The results of the poll don’t share their opinion .

• louise 08/03/12 #

Everyone has the right to protest, but really did any one listen to them? They should have camped out side the dail or in these politicians front gardens, not a camp out on dame st

• I’m dissapointed because I will have nobody to give out about now ;-)))

Its about time the waste of time was removed . And if they try to return they should be arrested .

• naillateshow
      Sure didn’t you say you’d foot the bill for removing them. Hope you honour that statement with cash

• Yes niall how about donating that ammount in the clean up costs to a reputable charity or a cause.

• The law is that the generator of waste pays…let’s bill the occupiers for the cleanup,

• We had a skip company and 30 voulenteers arriving from radio station earlier this morning but sadly or happily the council did the job for us . Thats the first time Cupid choose to actually speak to me . Ahh I’m touched Cupid !

I have since spoken to Liam on air and have spoken to him numerous times . He has been the is a guiding force for the movement and I think he will make a difference , maybe not today or maybe not tomorrow but he will .

I was there today at 6pm to watch what happened at the meeting and sadly once again it was hijacked as the whole dame street movement has been from sometime ago by people who have no idea what they are talking about . There were kids as young as 12 standing with banners , which I personally believe is wrong . One kid climbing the trees and in a very dangerous situation . One of the protestors taunting the Garda , who were only there to keep the peace and don’t ask me why the Garda didn’t take him in as he certainly deserved it .

There was maybe 100 people there and from what I could see most were there purely for entertainment and maybe 40% were supporters . Occupy is a an awareness and doesn’t need the visabilty that was today . Many of the people that were there had no idea what it was even about . We interviewed two 17 year olds who were taunting shop owners along Townes street and asked them why they were doing it and they just laughed and said because they had nothing better to do . So I told them to f**k off home and get there schoolbags ready for the morning.

Good luck to Liam in the future and one or two others who seem to genuinely have a passion but as for the rest them , stop wasting our time .

• skeolawn 09/03/12 #

Yes Niall, now that occupy is gone you will have nobody to give out about. Everything is just fine.

• Perhaps in their downtime between now and whenever they pop up again they can figure out what the fuck they actually want….

• Perhaps they could use this downtime to get a job and contribute to society

• What do you do to contribute to society Richie? Work and pay tax to pay the bondholders?

• You seem to believe it’s some sort of conspiracy anrchist group Laura. “They” is just normal people, disenfranchised by the system and the bankers bailouts.

There is an idiocy abroad in Ireland, people complain about bailing out the bankers and speculators, then complain when people stand up peacefully.

‘They’ didn’t want anything as a group, it was made up of individuals who each had their own perspectives. I think they as a group succeeded in modelling a new leaderless movement: peaceful, democratic, and community based.

• were they removed with no resistance?

• “Aided by members of Dublin City Council”… are you sure? Actual Councillors helping to clear away the structures?

• Mixed feelings to be honest about the removal of Occupy Dame Street – have no time for professional protestors and legitimate commercial life being disrupted in our capital however we need someone to advocate for Justice and Fairness in our global and national economic/political systems. People who found them an irritant missed the point. Non violent protest in our country brought us Catholic Emancipation, the Land League and Civil Rights to the North. Not trying to say that the Occupy Movement belongs to such august company – but there are parallels.

• There is no profession of protesters. No charter. No rules.
      If there were perhaps this one would have had a bigger impact than it did….. It was good that happened, imo, but the impact could have been bigger.
      Any of the ODS people going to set up a Professional Protesters’ Body?

• Irish people are so bizarre in the way they think. Yesterday people were opposed to Ministers flying around the world promoting Brand Ireland saying that they were on a jolly, now we want protestors about the financial situation removed because they won’t look nice when we are watching the parade and then vomiting on the streets on our national day.

The Occupy folks have hit the nail on the head regarding a reform of the way the corporate world works. It’s not serving society as it should. We have people commenting here every day giving out about the financial situation and playing the blame game with the usual suspects (that they voted for) and yet no sign of actually doing something about it. At least the occupy people have and it’s informed protest.

• nail on the head Brian!

• That’s rather missing the point, Brian. It’s really that Irish people want to deal with these important issues seriously and are opposed to the use of these important issues for egomaniacal grandstanding that’s purely counterproductive to the resolution of those important issues of reform.

This rhetorical fallacy that one either thinks Occupy Dame Street is a great idea OR one is little more than sheep unable to see the need for banking and economic reform, strikes me as the type of ‘with us or with the terrorists’ argument that I’d expect off the likes of George W Bush.

• Agree with Peter.
      The ODS protest was good for time.
      That time is over.

• @ Peter, sorry mate, you’re simply reducing a complex issue to a simple one to make yourself look clever. Firstly, you are merely slandering the majority of protesters by saying they are doing ‘egomaniacal grandstanding’; this says more about you than the protesters i fear :) you’ve also created a false generalisation from a minority example: those saying ‘either you protest or you’re a sheeple’ are in the minority, and anyway may only be said by people in moments of anger, who would say else if in a clear state of mind.

So, you based an argument on defaming people. Well, let’s look at some facts instead. ODS went out in the freezing cold and peacefully protested against the plurocratic empoverishing of our nation. They modelled a new way of protesting… one that let’s individuals speak for themselves, thus learning from previous failed models where leaders appear and end up making careers out of it. No violence, shouting or threats… unity in diversity. They are heroic and should be commended.

• Conor, I’m responding to remarks that were made. It’s hardly ‘defaming’ or ‘false generalisation’ to respond directly to an individual’s remarks! Does everyone involved in ODS think people are either with them or the ‘enemy’? I don’t know but I doubt it. All I can do is respond to the remarks put in front of me and point out the fallacies within them.

As someone who has participated in a number of protests for various causes over the years, I can honestly say the problem is not with protesting itself but with the ODS protest in particular which couldn’t have been designed to more ineffectual if it had tried and which only real purpose seemed to let the individuals involved feel better about themselves. I actually know people involved in various Occupy movements around the world and it has to be said that while the global movement overall was a great idea, well executed, the Occupy Dame Street movement in particular was hamfisted and incompetent.

• Davey 08/03/12 #

I’m glad they were moved out. It would be awful if a political protest marred what is otherwise the scariest fucking day in the city centre all year.

It’s good to know that the front of the central bank will be available for fighting and vomiting by the usual kick-off time of 11am.

• Richard 08/03/12 #

First of all, the poll question indicates an identification and shared concern with the forces of the state on the part of the Journal. Imagine if someone posed the question ‘Was Hitler right to invade Poland?’ The identification with one party (Hitler – a concern with him acting in the right way) and a lack of concern for the other side would be obvious. But we are so conditioned to believe that the police are somehow on our side, even though when push comes to shove the police will protect wealth and power, that when we see this question posed we assume it to be a perfectly natural question.

So what then of the other side in this question- the Occupy Dame Street camp? Well, politically I would not have been in agreement with everything they did or said. But nonetheless they were making a public statement that what is happening in Ireland -the fact that the country’s fate is determined by unaccountable unelected powers, the fact that the natural resources are being squandered, the fact that there is no real democracy since elections change nothing and we have a political class that only represents itself- is, for them, simply intolerable. And in doing so they have shown admirable perseverance, resilience and solidarity. But regrettably there are far too many people, whether out of fear, or out of identification with wealth and power, who do tolerate the situation, and who would prefer spouting spiteful authoritarian garbage about the protesters’ supposed laziness and lack of hygiene (such a concern with indolence and hygiene, by the way, is common to fascist formations everywhere) to submitting my of the questions raised by the protesters to any deep discussion.

I’m not surprised that the Gardai got sent in to clear them out. The last thing the government and the interest groups it serves wanted to see was some sort of incident indicating that all was not well with Europe’s star pupil in the austerity crisis at the time the world’s attention -or rather that rather small part of the world that actually gives a toss about the place- was focused on Ireland, on St Patrick’s Day. What does surprise me, however, is the outpouring of nihilistic and callous hatred towards the protesters, on this thread and elsewhere. It’s an indication of a deeply authoritarian and depoliticised culture, of craven subordination to ‘the markets’, and it will only bring the people of Ireland more misery than they might ever have imagined.

• All the same – shame it is back to being a boring dull concrete square again. Maybe they could replace it with a Goth camp to liven it up.

As bad as that one opposite the Olympia. Hideous square that one. No one sits there anymore. Just a load of concrete blocks, a few bins and a load of bikes. Dublin doesn’t do public spaces, that is for sure.

• What where they achieving? Besides causing an increase in leaflet litter? Achieved nothing, inspired no one. They hopped on a band wagon of people in other countries thinking they could achieve so much when in truth, very few people give a sh*t.

Colm’s comment is right, its a win win. They get to scurry away in the night claiming to be the victim and the big bad Gardai who came and blew their house down, while by the looks of this poll, the people get what they want and the hippies are gone.

• Well said Danny! That sums it up really

• Actually for quite a while they were very successful in radicalising people, educating people, and getting people to be more open to critically thinking about whats being done to them.

In the recent past, not so much, so yeah they shouldve left by now.

As for hopping on a band wagon, I definitely prefer people hopping a band wagon to stand up for themselves rather than the one to denigrate and insult those who do.

• Danny Murray,
      The ODS protest has (according to RTE) been the longest camp in the occupy movement. The movement has undoubtedly shown the displeasure at the unfairness of society be the people of many countries. Those who occupied should feel proud to have been a part of a global movement that, for a short time, shook things up.
      I agree with Eoghan that it stagnated and should have ended sooner. As for inspiring people, I think you’ll find a fair number of column inches dedicated to the Occupy movement across the world.

• They inspired me, taking a peaceful stand, sleeping rough through the cold of the winter, trying to encourage people to think for themselves and not just follow what the media tells them.

Sorry Danny, you have failed to read the poll correctly. At this time, 35% of people are glad it’s gone. That’s a strange sort of majority my friend.

• @Conor, you got your facts wrong, in total, at present 66% wanted camp gone, that’s a majority

• Indeed I did. Sometimes you ‘remember’ what you want to huh. Thanks Michael

• 15 people. considering how many were there a few weeks back it shows how fickle the protesters are in their cause.

i walked by it regularly and they people who were trying to force leaflet into my hand were always english krusty looking folk who probably needed somewhere to sleep after being ran from the glen of the downs or any other area of protest.

Viva the establishment! well done to the Gardai and the City Council

• The low numbers do not represent ‘fickle’ protesters, they represent a protest not working & in-fighting. The lack of any progress & structure was why I left, but that does not diminish the cause.
      It strikes me the number of people here are using words like ‘hippies’ and ‘krusties’ to describe people involved. Pray-tell, what have ‘hippies’ got wrong? The global warming thing? The ‘love is the answer’ thing? The ‘be self-sufficient’ thing? The ‘its not about money’ thing?
      The same name-calling is used for the likes of Ming Flanagan and Mick Wallace, despite them both having a mandate from people to represent and being very clear and logical in the arguments they put forward.

Politics is *meant* to be about policies, but you’d prefer to see optics…… are you happy with the current situation? Do you like having a well dressed puppet government and eroded democracy? At least the puppets were suits and cut their hair – because THAT is most important of all.

• not everyone can be there 24/7 some people have kids and lifes to lead around there attempts at expressing there beliefs

• I represent a group of society called ‘the middle’
      We do not speak out very often but perhaps I should explain to you how it works.

I have a job, i appreciate how lucky i am to have it. Every month I pay lots of tax. The rich do not pay as much tax and stay rich, the poor get benefits which are from my contributions. I am ok with this, its the system. its been the system since before I was born and looks like it will continue for a long time.

Protest to me is a futile act, as is striking. if you want to make a change you have to work your way into the decision making position. Its harder to do but you are more likely to get a result. a strike or protest is the easiest thing to do, its the ‘its my ball so im not playing’ attitude’

the world is a difficult place to live sometimes, thats life.
      the country is in a poor economic state, theres no short term fix and we are being made pay back huge loans that are not our fault individually, but are as a nation. thats just the way it is. I dont like it but its what we have to live with at the moment. the imf will not go, we will not default and we will not return to the markets for a while yet. thats just the way it is.
      you can camp where you like, protest what you want but it solves nothing, and 15 people in a shack on dame st will not recoup €80bn worth of our debt.

us people in ‘the middle’ believe in solution minded approaches. we understand that we have very little money to work with at the moment so instead of throwing our toys out of the pram, striking, having marches etc, we work, be creative and find ways to increase what we have and what we can get rather than give out about what we have lost.

Viva ‘the middle’

• I would suggest to go back to the drawing board and be a little more creative than accepting something just because you were born into it, maybe this is why your Content to contribute to poverty, or add to the 80bn Debt you have no Intention of repaying. Just by some magic force the middle will rise up and Set up camp outside wall street to Highlight the inadequacies of a system, then abscond and leave it for the poor and then just to add insult to injury suggest that Protest doesnt work. This is pure and simple greed in all its fundamental flaws. Do not insult the concept of creativity by seeing justice in your system.

• Firstly,I think you’ll find that most people who get labelled ‘hippy’ or ‘krusty’ are from a similar background to yourself. In fact, I have found the more ‘out there’ they are, the more money is in their families. I too am from a ‘middle’ background – but learnt in my youth that some things are more important than money and I have since been marginalised within society.
      Second, to say protesting doesn’t work, is just false. I am pretty certain that protesting & strike are the reasons for a stronger social conscience in Europe. The US doesn’t have that history, so has weaker supports for the poor and the worker. The elderly people in Ireland know how to protest properly – they do it right – and they successfully won back rights that were going to be taken away by FF in 2008/9.
      However, protesting needs a critical mass – and despite it being enshrined in our constitution, and despite opposition being crucial to democracy – we Irish prefer to moan in a pub or emigrate, than *do* anything to solve the problems in our country.
      Thirdly, I don’t think *anyone* is suggesting that there is a quick fix. Personally, I would suggest the opposite. There is no patch-work solution. It’s a complete and utter overhaul of the system that is required. However, I now feel, that I need to prepare for the system to completely break, because it is only when that happens that people will apply themselves to come up with a solution.
      I appreciate the fact that you work and I hope you get well remunerated for your trouble. However, it is the Irish ‘middle’ that was determined not to look at the problems that were self-evident during the bubble. It is the neo-liberal policies (i.e. the lack of regulation ) that was voted in consistently by the ‘middle’ that caused this current situation.
      I also want solution based approaches. However you can only solve a problem by defining it clearly. Furthermore, most TV-economists have agreed that this government and the last are doing crazy things economically. Should we not listen to them?

• skeolawn 09/03/12 #

That’s why it’s called the squeezed middle. With this level of spinelessness you can expect more squeezing.

• @aidoroch The middle. That wouldn’t be the same middle as Mussolini’s “terza via”, would it?

• Sadly, bankers and government probably just laughed at the demonstration. It’s a nice idea but usually achieves very little. I agree it was better to do something in protest rather than nothing, but it probably only had the effect of cementing the protestors feelings of solidarity against the state. The powers that be don’t care, as was ably illustrated in the recent queuing thousands at the Job Expo in Dublin whilst the F.F. lackeys were happy as pigs in shit patting each other on the back at the Ard Fheis.

• So what did they achieve Rory. Nothing Absolutely nothing that will make a bit of difference. The bank was an easy target. If the have any balls what do ever they will move there protest to government buildings. But that’s not really trendy enough for them. The vast majority of people in that do called camp lost little or nothing after the banking collapse which is why the public font take them seriously. There a joke. Have you spoken to them. I have and not one person at the time could give a soiled and unified target. Complete waste of a promising movement

• I’ve been a tourist in many different cities around the world. The sight of protesters has never, EVER, put me off visiting a place or spending money there – if anything, whether I agree or disagree with their motives, they add a bit of colour and interest to a place. I think it’s pretty pathetic that they have been moved on this week, just to save face in front of the tourists.

During the 1978 World Cup, the Argentinian junta leadership erected boardings to hide the slums on the outskirts of the cities from the visiting media and fans. During the 2006 Asian Athletics games, Qatar did something similar to hide the labour camps from prying eyes. This smacks of similar levels of insecurity on behalf of the Irish authorities – let’s sweep the protestors under the carpet and pretend we’re a good little happy shamrocky society for all the dollar-laden visitors.

• I’m all for free speech and the right to protest, but these protesters were just taking the piss. They should have been removed after a reasonable time (days perhaps?).

/* From CitizensInformation.ie */
    Public order offences in Ireland
    ——————————————
    Wilful obstruction

Under Section 9 of the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act 1994 anyone without legal authority or reasonable excuse, wilfully prevents or interrupts the free passage of any person or vehicle in any public place shall be guilty of an offence. The penalty for this offence is a class E fine.

This section was created in order to protect the constitutional rights of the individual to pass and re-pass on a public highway. While the Gardai have no power of arrest under this Section they can invoke the powers of Section 7 of the Act and direct any person to desist from the obstruction in question. Failure to comply with that direction is an offence.
    /* end quote */

• Interesting.
      Guess it could be applied if the Central Bank Plaza were a public space. However, it belongs to the bank, which is why the Gardai had to ask the bank to ask them to remove the protesters.

• Poor reasoning bothyhead, so anyone that protests without permission is ‘guilty or an offence?’ I think you might find that a protest is a reasonable excuse for blocking the street. It definitely is under a subjective interpretation anyway.

• So the 99% is really about 25% according to this poll.

• Back to occupy mammies couch.

• Well no, that’s clearly what you’re doing (occupying mammies couch) whilst these guys are slogging it out.
      I did agree that the camp be removed as it is an eyesore and more times often near empty, but I feel this will bring solidarity once more to the occupyers, and they may come ‘hadn’t in their large numbers once more.
      I also spoke to some of these guys when it first kicked off in order to educate myself rather than labelling them ‘crusties’ ‘tree huggers’ or ‘hippies’ and found them to be very intelligent, passionate and above all loyal! Now that’s Irelands problem today, is Loyalty!

• Their cause is noble, but acting out urban Bear Grylls is pointless.

• mike 08/03/12 #

Seem funny to me how we are disgusted by peaceful protesters. But no outrage against Corrupt bankers and politicians been let off free. Suppose thet allway will while the people are like sheep.

• While we all, attack the protest or each other? The Politicians go unchecked, the bankers are roaming free and the Irish suffer. It brings a tear to my eye, I feel so proud to be Irish! :(

• About time – why did it take so long?

• Yes, I think the Central Bank should be removed, and the structure along with it.

• You may not like Occupy, but forcing out a protest movement so we can present a nice,cheery non-protesting face to the world is pathetic. People say Ireland never protests etc. but say nowt when at least a symbolic gesture of protest is swept away so some majorette troop from Texas can march by in peace.

• Yeah, Ruairi… because St. Patrick’s Day is the only reason they got rid of it!

Seriously, Paddy’s Day is just an excuse – this waste of space should have been “swept away” months ago.

Good riddance to it.

• SMcB 08/03/12 #

St. Patrick’s Day brings tourists to Ireland from all over the world. So you want to say good riddance to them too???

• I would say if you had a tribunal into this incident of the deployment of gardai, the commentators against the occupy Dame street camp, and political nepotism. We would find that there all related.

• Ruairí 08/03/12 #

Yes, Niall, I believe that St. Patrick’s Day is the direct reason it was removed this week. Anyone who thinks otherwise is deluded.

And as for the rest of your Jeremy Clarkson-lite Daily Mailism, well….nuff said.

• Right, Ruairi…

So it was nothing to do with the fact that the Central Bank finally actually asked the gardaí to assist in moving them on?

It was nothing to do with the fact that the presence of the occupiers there was made illegal by the fact that the owners of the property on which the camp was set up were no longer willing to tolerate them?

Let’s say, for example, someone set up a few tents in your front garden and created an eyesore… would you not tell them to get lost? And would you not get the authorities involved if they didn’t get lost?

But no, of course, it’s nothing to do with that, eh?

It’s also nothing to do with the fact that, for the past 5 months, these people have cluttered up a public space with their messy and unattractive eyesore of a camp in order to continue their confused, leaderless and ineffectual so-called “protest”, and in doing so disturbing the peace, causing a public nuisance, damaging the trade of local businesses, and achieving absolutely nothing positive in the process?

Nothing to do with that either, no? No… clearly, as you say, it’s all down to St. Patrick’s Day… Riiiight….

• Ruairí 08/03/12 #

Niall, I never said it was the only reason, clearly they had a reason to do it, they didn’t go and knock down the Porthouse Pub or Trinity College, I accept that they had grievances with the Occupation, and I never implied anything otherwise,I am fully aware people did not want them there from the start, but the upcoming parade was the direct reason for doing it at this very moment.

• I’m disappointed they’ve been removed. They were the only organisation that planned a protest outside Anglo when the last payout was paid to bondholders.

It’s a pity we worry more about being perceived as clean and tidy for our St Patrick’s Day visitors than the corrupt banking system worldwide.

• for me the pity is that they didnt get enough ongoing support, the media hold a lot blame in that, they persisted in this false theory that the occupy movements have no core unity of purpose, which was completely untrue, what they want is simple, separation of corporations and state, govern the people for the people, not the banks

• There are plans for a march. Keep your diary free. It’s the last day for registration for the Household Tax, it’s being held in a NAMA property and it’s pay day for bondholders. Bit of a hat-trick waiting to be scored… ;)

• So it’s back to utter complacency and passivity then… typical.

• In the case of the Occupy Movement the people protesting harmed no one, except for the image of the central bank. This is what what needs to be focussed on instead….Central Banks and their practices….not the Gardai and their actions. They don’t act on free will. The Occupy Movement, as small as it was, was highlighting the spindoctors in government and the thieves in banking.

The Gardai are a business and not a service folks! As in all countries, the police forces are a business (enforcing what seems to be an infinite, and unquestionable, amount of ‘laws’ which create revenue for the courts and legal industry) and also a service for those that drive the capitalist agenda. They will hastily intervene when it suits the capitalist agenda of whichever puppet party clowns around in the Dail, but they are not to blame here.

Behind the political puppets are the REAL government. Those that own and control the central banks, and in turn the commercial and retail banks. The fact that I found this worth writing about is due to the fact that the removal of the Occupy Movement raises a very interesting question. One that has nothing to do with the Gardai.

The Central Bank(s) are the masters of the big pyramid scheme we call ‘banking’. It is so big that people refuse to believe it. It’s one big game of ‘musical chairs’ with the inherent design to create loss when the playmaster (Central Bank) calls it.

In the case of the Occupy Movement, as in all similar cases of ‘eyesores’ to the government, the Gardai are merely given intructions to follow, and are thus paid therefore. It’s a job that doesn’t seem to require much of a conscience to perform. So, no I don’t agree that this has much to do with the Gardai really. It’s what behind them that needs to be questioned. This is where most people’s apathy seems to kick in. Further investigation will reveal the REAL problem behind Ireland’s current socio-ecomonic problem. Between the banks, the government, the catholic church and global corporations, who now OWNS IRELAND??? It’s not the people. The recession was designed to take the land from the people and distribute it to corporations via sales at knockdown prices. We don’t want to face the fact that we have been ‘SOLD A LIE’…..what would this say about us personally?

The financial institutions are responsible for the recession the world over. They control the supply of money and contract it at will for their benefit and to the people’s deficit. Most people are completely unaware of this. They are made to believe, via the politic spin trumped by the ‘bought and paid for’ media. Booms and busts are CREATED. They are not an economic phenomenon created by the ‘free market’.

I think this a great opportunity for the citizens of this country to ask themselves what the small number of Occupy Movement were protesting for??? I think we need to thank those 25 (or so) protesters for opening a can of worms that might take some courage to investigate, but will make a world of difference to our collective future if we do. This is way more important that blaming the Gardai for their removal.

• Anyone know when the Gardai are moving the shower of ….. in Galway? I want to make sure I have enough tea and bickies for the guards!

• I think, even in a small ineffective way they reflected the feelings of a lot of people even though they couldnt get the general population involved in their protest

• Haven’t read all the above posts, my opinion is it was a peaceful protest. However funny how Varadkar was on the radio talking about it yesterday and then this. I reckon the assh*le picked up the phone and sorted it. That man just doesn’t do it for me.

• They’re only doing this so the world doesn’t see Ireland on St. Patrick’s Day full off Occupy protesters. They couldn’t have been arsed dealing with the hassle of moving them before.

So to sum up.

They should not have been moved, they have the right to protest for as long as they want.

The Gardaí are really bad with dealing with these situations and stick their heads in the sand. They need a kick up the arse and a lot of lobbying in some cases to get anything moving along.

• of course they where. you made your point. time to get a job!

• about time, hope the protesters go home and get a proper job, it annoys me to them farting about the place and i struggle to make ends meat!

• What “Occupy Dame Street” is currently doing is being called “provocation”. This movement does not represent 99% of Irish population.

We all are pissed off with Fianna Fail’s creating and then handling of the crisis. FG are not that better.

But we support and love Ireland, and we do that by working every day, or looking for a job every day.

However, 15 bums living in unsanitary conditions on Dame street won’t help the matter either.

Get a life.

• These are unfortunate times we’re in, we do not have free speech, and the constitutional right to protest peacefully has just been pissed on by the Irish government too, and for what? The national day of Pride. Gotta love the irony! I wonder how many ppl if asked would either turn up at the parade with political signs instead of stupid irish flags or have a mass boycott of the parades, what in the name of God are we celebrating?????? The fact that we are known the world over for being a bunch of happy-go-lucky, witty, welcoming drunks, or the fact that we are also now internationally renowned for being a bunch of cowardly pussys, wayhay! ; ) And trust me when i say it saddens me to say this but i feel we are a nation primarily made of all talk and no action, all bark and very little bite. When the shit hits the fan we run or bow down and we’ve been doing that for a long long time. Not enough ppl with balls and a want for proper truth and justice in this country! I will be very happy to eat my words if I am proved wrong but best of luck to the Galway or Dublin Occupy camps in trying to get decent support and protection from the general public. That said they have done a fantastic job over the last few months, put our camp in Limerick to shame ; ) and to anyone else who cared enough to get off their arses and make some noise against the disgusting level of corruption and greed which seems to have cemented for itself a fine position in modern culture, ye should be damn proud of yerselves! Occupyyyy! xxx ; )

• Well said Mairead im looking forward to heading back up on Saturday you can really spot the brain-dead sheeple of this country before it used to make me angry looking at your comments all i say now is shame on the lot of ye for accepting corrupted bankers developers and the con man that run this country BIG SALUTE TO ALL THE DAME STREET PROTESTERS See ye all soon .

• Winston 09/03/12 #

Your comment is typically of the self-righteousness that the general public have become accustomed to, and sick of. Just because a large sector of the public do not agree with your ideas or form of protest don’t automatically denigrate their intellect by assuming that their stance hasn’t been rationally formed.

• @Winston

The intellect or otherwise of the “large sector of the public” is irrelevant. Their collective action is what counts. Their collective action, in the eyes of the world, has been, as usual, to drop their kacks and bend over for the man with money in his hand… Some “intellect”!

• I have no problems with protestors.

But Occupy Dame Street became a joke: they started protesting about everything (SOPA, fracking just to recall few).

This camp was smaller but “inhabited” more people than when they started. The structures were annoyance to general public not to the bankers they were protesting against.

So, good riddance to the camp.

However, I’m for the right of a person to protest. Protestors can stay if they’d like to.

• agreed, those professional protesters that seem to protest every single issue they can find, really piss me off, if i was protesting they would be the last people i would want involved, the protest loses all credibility with them in it

• and that’s one of the biggest reasons for getting rid of this camp. What was the aim of the protest? What end-state would make the protest go away on it’s own? It was poised to become a permenant fixture (literally) in Dublin. That’s not what the right to protest is for. You can’t use it as a shield to justify building a shanty town

• A large force of Garda and council workers deployed at 3.30am to clear a long running protest camp that has caused no significant problems for anyone but only one forensic accountant on the team investigating what happened at Anglo. Something that destroyed the lives of a significant percentage of the population. Certainly tells us whose interests those in power protect and that the Garda will ‘just follow orders’ even if they are individually included amongst the 99% of us who have been screwed over.

• Well, if you swapped ‘em over and had one forensic accountant cleaning out the camp and a large force of beat gardai and road sweepers going over Anglo’s books, you wouldn’t really get much done on either, would you?

• THats great binaary thinking there Peter, you should stand for election

• Actually, Mark, I was just pointing out the ‘binary thinking’ on Workers Solidarity’s part. The number of gardai and cleaners needed to clear out the Dame Street site and the number of forensic accountants needed to audit the books of a bank are completely different things. Workers Solidarity can’t just imply that resources spent on clearing out Dame Street would be better spent at Anglo without having someone point out how silly a thing that is to say!

• Wow…..1% dont care and 4% dont know…..For those of you who dont seem to know what they actually want. Start here:
    In 2005-6 City Group reached the conclusion that the USA (and the UK and Ireland) bastions of Capitalism were not in fact a Democracy but a Plutonomy.
    In fairness City Group do say “We should at this point make clear that we have no view on whether plutonomies are good or bad, our analysis here is based on the facts, not what we want society to look
    like.”
    So you decide: (Plutonomy n. is rule by the wealthy, or power provided by wealth).
    Or as city Group say “plutonomies, where economic growth is powered by and largely consumed by the wealthy few”….. “Often these wealth waves involve great complexity, exploited best by the rich and educated of the time.”
    The banks wanted to know how thwt could end up “RIDING THE GRAVY TRAIN” – and “WHERE ARE THE PLUTONOMIES”?

Page 22: “At the heart of plutonomy, is income inequality. Societies that are willing to tolerate/endorse income inequality, are willing to tolerate/endorse plutonomy. “

By the way, that means they know your stupid enough to put up with this or at least not bother finding out.

Page 3: “To continue the top 1% of households also account for
    33% of net worth, greater than the bottom 90% of households put together. It gets better(or worse, depending on your political stripe) – the top 1% of households account for40% of financial net worth, more than the bottom 95% of households put together.”
    Read Page 24 on “Is there a backlash building”

In fact when you read the lot and couple this mentality with total lack of regulation. Credit default swaps Derivatives etc and ask yourself once again: Gosh how the F*ck did the arse fall our of the world economy”? You get the answer.
    But I guess a lot of people seem happy with the fact that your government bailed out a corrupt banking system and now your society has less and less social care, wages for police, teachers etc. If you enjoy the austerity these global financial institutions have brought on you then go right on ahead scoff and Don’t know or don’t care.

This is the cancer in Capitalism that needs to be removed. That is what they are protesting about. Now you know, do you care?
    http://wexfordrebelalliance.files.wordpress.com/2011/08/plutonomy-1-1.pdf

• @B.keogh you still haven’t got it yet have you. There are over 400,000 people unemployed in this country. and around 13,000 jobs available .A lot of the unemployed are highly qualified with years of experience and they cant find jobs because there are none. People who make such comments can only be assumed to be living on some gravy train in some insulated reality. When you loose your job and you will, if things continue as they are without any kind of resistance to the crime being committed by Banks and Government , I hope you will then learn the real meaning of your ill informed Judgement and discrimination. Tell the 2,500 AIB staff who are about to be laid off to go get a job , and tell them to go for something productive that adds value to humanity this time

• B7584 08/03/12 #

Cheerio cheerio cheerio!

• People have a right to protest, that’s fair enough. However in a country where a children’s hospital can’t be built on the site of an existing hospital then surely a poorly designed makeshift structure with no foundations can’t be allowed in the city centre.

• When I asked the Scottish guy how he proposed we cover the cost of running the country if we kicked out the IMF/EU he said to ban all offshore accounts. The guy is an idiot, and Occupy Dame street has gone beyond a farce. They’ve wasted an opportunity to provide a radical political arm for Irish people.

• If their protest was a waste of time, then so be it. At least they can say they did something unlike most who are so afraid of change that they are willing to pay to prop up a failed system rather then do something about fixing it…

• People like you are the problem with this country and your attitude of not giving a sh#t about real issues. Go back asleep sheepie

• Aarum 08/03/12 #

Article heading makes it read like the gardai as a body themselves decided to remove protestors, it should read were the council right in removing protestors, I think yes but I hope they are back after St. Patrick’s day bigger than ever, perhaps outside the homes of those bankers responsible aswell??

• It saddens me to hear so many people being dismissive of the occupy movement. Theyre standing up for their, and your rights. And are entitled to do so.
    The fact that they were removed like that just goes to show that we need to do something. Should we sit down and take it just because someone is sick of looking at the encampment?

• These structures have been removed as they are an ‘eyesore’ ? Yet ministers being driven in flash cars, earning obscene salaries & breaking paycaps for their assistants, creating austerity for the people of this country and paying billions to bondholders , are not an eyesore ? ? Think about it……

• Quite telling that despite the obvious truth in what your saying 2/3 of people unlike it. It’s quite remarkable how sucked into neo-liberali ideology people were under the Celtic Tiger to the extent that even five years after the crash they still fall for going for the handful of harmless protesters rather than the powerful wealthy elite that screwed them over and is laughing at them now.

• SMcB 08/03/12 #

What’s your alternative to austerity? As you are aware, even if we didn’t pay another cent to a bondholder (inc Anglo), a budget deficit would exist. Pray tell how would you balance that without outside assistance??

• I’ll say it again…..there never was a ‘real’ Celtic Tiger’. The Irish were all conned just like the Brits under Thatcher. Those people that already had wealth fared better than those without. The ‘ ordinary’ people of this country having in effect been told that they’ve never had it so good, another bit of political-speak, were suckered into buying new cars, bigger houses, or home improvements etc; to take on bigger mortgages and credit loans to pay for these things. Not real money but credit. A combination of naievity, greed and a misguided but understandable belief in what politicians were saying. The banks and building societies elevated house prices to ridiculous levels and were all too more than willing to give loans at frankly unpayable return levels. It’s NOT that the people of Ireland were thick, just that politicians etc, were such good CONMEN!

• Yes, Lets allow everyone with a permanent marker and a piece of plywood to ruin the aesthetics of the city. While we’re at it lets just default on everything, ignore the trade consequences, plant a few money trees in the phoenix park ride away on our unicorn.

• @Brian, that’s the most lucid comment I’ve heard from anyone about the occupy movement, the goals are more realistic

• @gavin and brian Before you leave on your honeymoon, hear this: Iceland told them where to go, and they are doing better then us now. Ireland needs lions, not worms. You obviously fail to understand the fiscal mess were in, because things don’t seem that bad. That’s because we still are possessed of many state assets and talented and trained people. Soon the assets will be sold and the most skilled and motivated people emigrated.

And the rest of you, when you come back to earth, will still be paying germany and co interest on loans, from your taxes paid on your new german style minimum wages of 4 euros an hour.

• @ William.

For me and quite a few others there was a celtic tiger and I’m not living on credit either. I have one loan, my mortgage. I’m not saying I’m rich or anything I’m just saying that I was and still am able to pay my bills and thankfully am still working. If more people lived within their means a lot of the hardship stories we hear of wouldn’t exist.

People didn’t need 120% mortgages….didn’t need half the stuff they bought. Yes they bought what they wanted and thought they needed without pressure from the banks etc. It was a materialistic greed and a one upmanship mentality. We became a nation of snobs and pretentious pricks very quickly.

However when money was cheap and people could afford to pay it back then why not? You can’t always live in the future or have the benefit of hindsight.

We weren’t the only ones to suffer this fate.

• @Conor, Are you calling me gay as a put down, that doesnt seem very liberal or tolerant of you!! Anyway, Iceland was a different case altogether, its like comparing apples and elephants. Also this lowering of earnings might not be a bad idea if it lead to the country being more competitive, on the state assets front I dont believe they should be sold as they earn money for the state, but they should be earning more, they are run inefficiently and just pay the people at the top huge wages like everyone at the top in the PS and Semi-states

• My comment it towards all you fools that sit on your arse doing nothing and have the gaul to condemn those who are brave enough to try something.

• howzat 08/03/12 #

Were they been paid unemployment assistance if so were they available to work or do they know what work means other than smokin and talking all day long

• I don’t know what “work” means can you please define it.
      Try as I might I can’t come up with a suitable definition……. or is that too much work for you?

• Typical diffensive response Howzat, to throw it out there every occupier did nothing but sit around and smoke all day. Alot of ppl involved in the movements worked full time and gave up all of their spare time to the movement in an attempt to raise awareness and wake up this largely dormant nation. I myself worked long hours full-time for two companies in Limerick. Slept in the camp most nights during the week and either went straight to work from the camp or got up early to go home, shower and change before going back into work. I then spent all of the weekends there, dealing with the public, organising and running marches, dealing with the local media, setting up our website, blogging, as well as doing all night security and dealing with the abuse which that naturally entails. The other members of our camp were either also either working full time, students, mature students with families who were concerned about their children’s futures, retired, or a large part of those just out of school or college who CAN NOT get a job in Limerick (26,000 unemployed in a city of around 96,000!) And believe me when i say there are NO JOBS. I myself have done 8 years in college, have 3 major Design awards under my belt as well as alot of experience over the years. I was over 2 years looking for a job, including interviews up north and the nearest i could get was of course one of the fantastic new job-bridge schemes where you work full time for an extra €50 a week. This is not the position I would have envisaged myself to be in at this stage of my life, but this is the way things are. I cannot get a decent job in Ireland but due to having put myself through college in Dublin the college loans which ensued do not leave me with an option to leave. And so we have it the vicious cirlce alot of ppl find themselves in now. What have you done for your country?? Put yourself out much?? Or let me guess you’d rather criticise others ans their efforts from the comfort of your armchair. Admirable!

• They came like a thief in the night. Everybody watch your backs, it could be your house they come for next.

• Hugh O’Connell they flushed the wrong toilet. I drove past that area a few days ago and was surprised at how little obstruction they were causing. I didn’t see any junkies compared to my previous visits to that area a few years ago.

• I think it’s a shame that the protesters were removed – i can understand why the structures had to be taken down, but they are there for a reason. And in fairness, if they’ve been there since October, they deserve to be there, and to be seen. The crafty tyrants in the Dail probably didn’t want them putting a dampener on the Paddy’s Day celebrations, which is just idiotic. The protesters belief’s and voices of dissatisfaction should be louder and more important than the governments desire for an eye-pleasing Patrick’s Day parade. I hope they’re back stronger than ever afterwards.

• To be honest, I hate online snide remarks bashing stuff like this as much as the next person.

But with this case in particular, I really don’t know if they were even there to protest anymore.

Your know what would have been real funny, if the government/fas moved in and offered them jobs.

• @ Adrian: How do you know they dont have jobs? I occupied in cork for 3 months and balanced that with my 2 jobs perfectly. As did many many others.

• I honestly don’t think they were there to protest anymore, I think they just liked causing a nuisance. I went down to have a chat with a few of them and see what they were like because everyone was just saying they’re just “hippies”. When I got there, there was just a couple of long haired scruffs, doing a bit of wood craft and wearing them slippers that have the five toes on them. That’s when I made my mind up that these people don’t represent me because I’ve never even seen these type of people even in a bank or working a nine to five. When I think about it the only place I see them is in Goa or atop the mushy mountain at the full moon party.

• Are the council seriously stupid? I mean unbelievably thick?

They remove the Occupy Dame Street camp forcibly and against the wishes of the occupants in order to IMPROVE their image leading up to St. Patrick’s Day! These elected representatives may not be familiar with the internet or newspapers, but they really need a crash course in not looking like gobshites in the media. Do they honestly think this will happen without international attention?

• Haven’t all the major international occupy camps (St Pauls, Wall St etc) been removed without much of a big deal? Besides, judging from the reaction on this site, the protesters (who numbered what, 15?) did not have much public support any more. 99%? more like .00009%!

Lets not lose perspective on this – a bunch of crusties were allowed to occupy a major civic space for 6 months, and they did feck all with that opportunity. This was bound to happen.

• I hate to burst your bubble but a quick scan of the international media seems to indicate that no-one really gives a shit. What were you expecting, Sky News, CNN, BBC to come down and see 15 crusties being told to piss off home? They have much better things to be doing.

• I didn’t think it’d be major news!

Just pointing out the hypocrisy of strongarming hippies out of the way to “improve our image”.

• Without bringing wheelbarrows to the camp i believe it is their Intention.

• Democracy???

• No mention of NAMA’s new hires on the Journal in the last couple of days Susan?

• why does this add up to only 97%

• Seems to me the majority of people are opposed to OSD .I think a one day protest is ample for any group to make a point, but occupying a city street is well OTT. I listened to local traders who are already struggling to pay their bills , the last thing they needed were a group of anarchists camping on their door step, The country is certainly in a mess, I dont know the answer but one thing I do know is a group of tree-huggers will not solve the problem, anarchy will only make a bad situation worse.

• I have been around the Central Bank area a few times lately and I didn’t see any problem with the Occupy Group. Are these people that are staying away from the area (as they must be as the businesses in the area are struggling because of this and not the fact that the economy is f**led because of the banks ) that up there own arses that they can’t stand to see normal people simply searching for equality in our society…. Sounds like this situation says more about society then the occupy group

• http://www.rte.ie/blogs/european/2012/03/07/anglo-promissory-notes-dilemma-enters-critical-phase/#more-146

just saying………….

That’s just one private business without a operating license……..

• Barry 09/03/12 #

Occupy Waterford camp was cleared this morning apparently, (I’ve not seen it to confirm), reports are that no protesters were present when the Gardai started the clean up and as of around 8am this morning most of it is gone.

• If the plaza is the property of the Central Bank and the Central Bank requested that they be moved, then yes. Otherwise no.

• These structures were less than 16 storeys and well away from the quay. An Bord Pleanála were looking the other way. It was so colourful. The bank will be next…

• Goodbye to the peasants. You tried and failed and did little other than obscure the view for the rest of us.

• Scum government need to keep the place looking clean for there pi$$ up advertisment day.
    Cann’t have the world seeing a people uprising….not that anyone off this island cares either way,every government is stocked with bottom feeders why should ours be any different??!?! .

• We have a fairly minor protest against the impoverishment that is being visited on the people of this country and especially on the most vulnerable and we see it and is participants described in the most unpleasant terms. What some of those commenting need is moral and economic education. I seem to recall that when this encampment was established that there was some public discussion about the legality of its location. It emerged that the plaza is owned by the bank who decided to let it be. However it also was mentioned that the laneway beside the plaza is common ground.

• The structures would’ve destroyed an area of tourism on one of our best tourism days in the year frightening tourists off, we should lock up all the protestors until the events are all over for daring to threatening to do such.

• Vincent 09/03/12 #

They should take their dole money off them . And If they don’t like it they should be sent to Canada to work.. Loads of workers needed there . They were probably same new age hippies moved on from Glen of the downs in wicklow… Where to next?? Dirty layabouts.

• D O C 08/03/12 #

Crowd of wasters. Get off yer backsides and look for jobs.

Add New Comment