TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Israel confirms it held mysterious ‘Prisoner X’

Israel has confirmed it held Ben Zygier in solitary confinement on security grounds and said he later took his own life but few other details are clear about the alleged Mossad agent.

Prisoner X or Ben Zygier
Image: Screengrab via Foreign Correspondent, ABC

ISRAEL HAS CONFIRMED it jailed a foreigner in solitary confinement on security grounds who later took his own life, as Australia admitted today it knew one of its citizens had been secretly held.

The man, identified by Australian media as Mossad agent Ben Zygier, known as “Prisoner X”, died in a secret prison near Tel Aviv in 2010 in a case Israel went to extreme lengths to cover up, imposing media gag orders.

Tel Aviv broke its silence after the Australian Broadcasting Corporation said the man was a dual Australian-Israeli citizen and reported that he was a spy for Israel’s intelligence agency.

“For security reasons the man was held under a false identity although his family was immediately informed of his arrest,” Israel’s justice ministry said.

The man was found dead in his cell and a judicial inquiry ruled he took his own life, the ministry added in a statement, although it did not reveal his identity or the charges against him.

“Following an extensive investigation it was ruled six weeks ago that it was suicide,” said the ministry. “The prisoner was held in jail under a warrant issued by a court.”

But other details of the case remained under a gag order, leaving local media obliged to quote foreign reports.

Australia knew of his detention

Australian Foreign Minister Bob Carr initially said he only became aware of the man’s incarceration after his death, but on Thursday admitted the government knew of his detention at the time.

He told a parliamentary committee the information was gathered through intelligence channels.

“They provided the name of the citizen, in relation to serious offences under Israeli national security legislation,” he said, adding that Canberra sought assurances that he was not being mistreated.

He said at no stage did the government receive any request for consular support, adding that he would determine Canberra’s next step after receiving a full report from his department into the case.

“With the benefit of that full report, I’ll determine what representations to the government of Israel are most useful,” he said.

The story first emerged in June 2010 when Israel’s Ynet news website briefly ran a report about a prisoner being held in top secret conditions whose identity and alleged crime were not even known to his jailers.

The story was quickly taken offline and a complete media blackout imposed, but it resurfaced on Tuesday through Australia’s public broadcaster.

Israeli media did report that Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu had on Tuesday called an urgent meeting with top editors to ask them to withhold “publication of information pertaining to an incident that is very embarrassing to a certain government agency,” Haaretz newspaper said, in a clear allusion to Mossad.

Shortly afterwards, three MPs raised questions over the issue in parliament, effectively sidestepping the censor in a move that forced a slight easing of the reporting restrictions.

‘Something serious must have happened’

While Israel has not revealed the charges, The Australian newspaper suggested he was detained for treason.

It cited Israeli Army Radio as saying: “Why was he interned? The suspicion is because of treason against Israel.”

The newspaper’s foreign editor, who interviewed Netanyahu last year, said for a Mossad agent to end up in jail something serious must have happened.

“If a former Mossad agent has ended up in an Israeli prison, this can only indicate that something has gone terribly wrong,” Greg Sheridan wrote.

The Sydney Morning Herald reported that Zygier was being investigated by Australia’s overseas espionage agency ASIS, which suspected him of using his Australian passport to spy forIsrael.

The Herald said he was one of at least three dual Australian-Israeli citizens who emigrated to Israel in the past decade whose cases were probed.

It said that in each case the men used the passports to travel to Iran, Syria and Lebanon — countries that do not allow Israelis to enter.

When the newspaper confronted Zygier in early 2010, he angrily denied he worked for Mossad.

“I have never been to any of those countries that you say I have been to,” he said at the time. “I am not involved in any kind of spying.”

- © AFP, 2013

More: Australia orders inquiry into mysterious ‘Prisoner X’ case in Israel

Read next:

Comments (70 Comments)

• Nothing Israel does ever surprises me. They boast of being the only democracy in the region but in reality it is fascism. Its human rights record is a disgrace. They dont give a damn about international law or the UN. Its justiciary are complicit in its state sponsored terror. They dont comply with nuclear anti-proliferation treaties just jail the whistle blowers. Time for the international community to abandon Israel like Zimbabwe. Even Mugabe woukdnt have the nerve to behave like it.

• Not very long ago , a survey carried out in France asked people, among other things,who in their opinion would start the next world war. The majority of young people said Israel.
      As a response the Israely Government sharply critisized the French Government and media for not informing their citizens properly.
      Not much room for critical self reflection there, im afraid.

• @ Padraic,

Wonderful. A survey ???.in France ??? Better get the nuclear shelter stocked up then

• One law for Israel and another for the rest if the world.

• Exactly. Syria, Lebanon, Iran, Egypt murder their own civilians by the hundreds & you don’t hear a word of criticism from our concerned anti-everythingers, but just the slightest whift of controversy about Israel & there is a deluge of mis-informed at best & downright racist at worst criticism. Israel is different alright.

• Abandoning Israel would be like handing over Zimbabwe to Mugabe given everything we know now.

• I think that part of the reason that people are so critical of Israel is that we expect more from them. Jews have helped create European enlightened liberalism, partly because of their own wretched treatment. The fact that they run Israel in such a way that shows that truly, they have learned nothing from their collective experience is what frustrates people. Like it or lump it, we just don’t look at Muslim countries and expect them to be wonderful promoters of human rights.

• As the closest example of what democracy looks like, you can see why Israel’s neighbours aren’t impressed.

Suicide? I wonder was the result of the impartial investigation “Car Brakes Failed” or “Freak Hunting Accident”

• B Lowe 14/02/13 #

I agree with you Ian.
    Check out ‘Roadmap to Apartheid’ – a great DVD which exposes the propaganda which Israel portrays to world.
    No one should be surprised by this. They regularly arrest Palestinians and hold them for years without even charging them with anything. Total and utter disregard of a human beings basic human rights.
    The sooner Israel rejects zionism and embraces the one state solution the better.

• itll never do that even though they dont even want a 2 state solution on the 1967 borders because they still build settlements on occupied land and send in their soldiers to protect them.

• Mick 14/02/13 #

B Lowe,

Thanks for the DVD suggestion, perhaps you could recommend something a little easier to access?
      Any YouTube or Daily motion videos?

With thanks

• @ Mick,

I think perhaps a video on maybe ‘ getting a life ‘ might be appropriate

• Weirdo

• Mick 14/02/13 #

@Josh

That piece of advice coming from a guy with a Spock Avatar?
      Glass house and stones comparison comes to mind.

• @ Mick,

‘But not as we know it’

• B Lowe 14/02/13 #

Your right Ian. Israel currently has circa 4,000 soldiers protecting 200 to 300 settlers right smack in the middle of Hebron if memory serves me right. The Israelis there are subjected to Israeli law and the Palestinians there are subjected to an equivalent Israeli martial law. This is despite the fact it is feeling within Palestinian territory.
      Israel probably treats its dogs better than fellow human people. A disgusting country (under current rule).

• B Lowe 14/02/13 #

Re Mick.
      I don’t know regards YouTube or Daily Motion. Maybe somebody can provide links. The Israelis propaganda machine is great at taking down links under threat of litigation.
      The dvd I suggested (Roadmap to Apartheid) is just the most recent one I know of Re Israel /Palestine. They ship international. Got mine for €20 I think all in.

• There’s a site called top documentary.com. If you don’t find the one you’re looking for I’m sure you’ll find others to keep you busy. http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/watch-online/

• B Lowe, I’m not a great fan of what Israel does in the West Bank and in Gaza, but can you tell me why Israel would embrace a one state solution? A one state solution would see Israeli Jews reduced to a minority in that land with Palestinian Arabs forming the majority. Considering the majority of Palestinians view all Jews with contempt and wish for the imposition of Islamic law, you are suggesting that Israelis embrace the concept of being reduced to second class citizens. A one-state solution was proposed in the mid 40s – the Arabs refused. A two-state solution was proposed in the late 40s. The Arabs refused and proceeded to attack the nascent Israeli state (which at that time still had no predetermined borders). In 1949 the current internationally recognised borders were established – albeit by ceasefire and without recognition by the Arab countries (which is why Israel does not recognise these borders). In 1967 after several Arab countries attacked Israel and lost, Israel gained more territory. Israel proceeded to offer these territories back to their respective countries in return for peace. Again the Arabs refused. Finally peace was achieved with Egypt in 1982 when Israel handed back the Sinai. In 1994 peace with Jordan was achieved when it handed over territory to that country. In 2005 all of Gaza was handed over to the Palestinians and in 2008 95% of the West Bank was offered to the Palestinians. Again the Arabs refused.

I don’t think you understand what Zionism is. Zionism is simply the belief in the return of Jews to the Middle East and the establishment of a national territory for Jews to protect them from the violent anti-semitism which was and still is rampant in every single country in Europe (including Ireland) and the Arab world. It does not refer to the size, geographic boundaries or governance of such a state. Many prominent Arab and Persian politicians in the first half of the 20th century were ardent Zionists and proceeded to expel and ship many of their countries Jewish populations to Palestine. Do us a favour and please separate your contempt for Israeli government policies from Zionism, Judaism and Israelis.

As an aside, if you like to voice your disgust at Israeli’s occupying Palestinian land, why haven’t you voiced similar concerns about the Han Chinese in Tibet or Uyghur, about the Australians occupying former Aboriginal territory, about the Americans and the Canadians (heck, about the entire American continent), about the Polish after World War II occupying former German territories, about the Irish and the desire of many to “segregate” Travellers, etc. Why is it always solely about Israel? Could it be that perhaps, after all, it is simply a reflection of anti-semitism? Because if it was simply about justice you would be screaming about other injustices too.

• I’m not a great fan of what Israel does in the West Bank and in Gaza

Ah now, I’d say you are.

• @ Petr, that is probably one of the most stupid and pointless comments I have ever received. Personally, I am in favour of a free and independent Israel within the pre-1967 borders living side-by-side with a free and independent Palestine. The Israeli government’s policies of encouraging and/or facilitating the building of settlements in the West Bank and Golan is, to me, deplorable. But what I also find deplorable is the way many Irish people look at the situation in the Middle East as if it were simply black and white, and fail to educate themselves on what is really going on. Is the government of Israel guilty of human rights abuses? Yes. Is it guilty of flouting international law? Yes. But it is not the only one, as many here seem to believe, and it is far from being the worst offender. It is quite apparent from the comments in this section that many Irish seem unable to differentiate between Israel, Israelis, the Israeli government, Jews and Zionism.

• Brian — Perhaps I picked you up wrong. Anyhow, the source of all the misery in Palestine is a result of the Israeli occupation, so it is perfectly right to place the blame at Israel’s door. Suggesting that Israel’s victims must share some blame is repellent; a bizarre, and deeply immoral, liberal meme.

This short quote from the blogger Hugh Green sums up nicely why many people find Zionism appalling:
      -

There is nothing sensational about this: there is no ‘pure’ racism, and many -perhaps most- states engage in all manner of racist practices, including Ireland and other EU states. It is just the case that Israel is a flagrantly racist state.

For a Palestinian living in a refugee camp, whose family was expelled from its home by Zionist forces in 1948 and who is denied return to the site of her home, suffering blockades, bombardments and checkpoints while American Jews from Brooklyn are free to go and live in Israel as citizens, this racism is blatantly and painfully obvious.

• The man got a conscience and couldn’t live with himself, or they couldn’t let him live with himself.

• Where’s jimmy mcfiddle and his 2 hour old twitter account to tell us the “real” version on how Israel is just tops!

• Oh he’ll be along. Just running a little late this morning. Israel is a shinning light, they made the desert bloom, the drop Peace Bombs on Gaza from their Fighter Jets of Love. . . and if Palestinians die, well that’s Hamas’ fault don’t ya know.

• As I’ve said before. We constantly criticise Irish government policies here but that doesn’t make us anti Irish. I am Irish. I protested against apartheid but I am not anti white. I am white. So criticism of Israeli government policy is just that, a political opinion, not to be confused with anti semitism.

• Rogue state.

• Bloody hell! We’ll have the words ‘blood libel’ thrown about next. Wake up in Kiev or Albuquerque one morning, decide you wish to live in Israel and because of your belief in a particular ancient myth This ‘democratic’ state allows you to kick some Palestinians off their land to facilitate you.

• Not everybody wants to hear facts in relation to the middle-east but FYI those who do.

In 1948, the land could have been split between Jews and Arabs as was suggested by the League of Nations Partition Plan.
    The Palestine Mandate region was populated very sparsely prior to WW1. Only after Jewish immigration and the establishment of agricultural communities brought employment did Arabs from Egypt, Transjordan, Lebanon and Syria come to get work. Refugees are those who lost their home – i.e. approx 6-700,000. Their families are not refugees and did not ‘know the land’.

The Jews said yes, the Arabs said no and went to war. They lost. They went to war again in 1967. They lost again and with it, Jerusalem and the Golan Heights. They went to war again in 1973 and lost again and with it, the Sinai and Gaza.
    Israel has handed back the Sinai, in exchange for peace with Egypt and has moved out of Gaza. There has been no peace with Gaza – just continuous missiles and terror attacks.
    The clock cannot be turned back, but the Palestinian Arabs could have infinitely better lives than they have now, but not if they continue to hit at Israel.
    Things cannot be the same as they were in ’48, ’67 or even ’73 – the world has moved on. The Palestinian Arabs can either accept that and decide to change their lives, or they can continue the ‘struggle’. Only they can decide.

Of course after the 1948 war, all Jews were banished from Jerusalem by the Jordanians and their holy places destroyed, not to be reinstated until 1967. Israel allows access to all Musilm holy sites in Jerusalem.

I feel very sorry for innocent Palestinians. They have crap lives and the worst possible leaders in the world, who not only steal from them, keep them in poverty and under threat of torture and worse, but actually take their children for use as human shields, or suicide bombers.
    And did you know that under an Arab League policy, formulated in the late 1940′s, Palestinian Arabs living as refugees in any Arab state, cannot have a passport, citizenship, meaningful employment or in many cases, health care or education? They are the lepers of the Arab world and are treated appallingly by their ‘brother’ Arabs including filthy rich countries like UAE, Qatar & Kuwait.
    Strangely enough, Palestinians living in Gaza and the West Bank, have better healthcare, education and life expectancy than Arabs living in the surrounding states.

• Love the trolling cOmments and zero
    Moderation, Seems the Journal will have made its daily “web hits ” and boost its advertising revenue.
    Over 4,000 read this article already.
    Strange really I wonder if a man committed suicide in a Chinese prison would their really be any interest or even an article

• Of course there would be no interest. The Chinese can flout human rights abuses without worry, simply because they are not Jews and there is an economic interest. The Chinese can do no wrong, but if an Israeli sneezes in the direction of an Arab, suddenly it’s all out attack on Israel.

• Mr. Hipster

You spend your time dispensing positive propaganda about a state that issues menus of rights to those under its control on the basis of what religion they are; something all decent people will find reprehensible. So don’t go lecturing others about sinister biases.

• I assume Mr Tarasov that by Mr. Hipster you are referring to me. Perhaps you should open your eyes and read some of my commentary on Israel. I do not dispense positive propaganda about Israel. I have mentioned before both the positive and negative aspects of Israel, unlike yourself who seems to think there is nothing positive in Israel at all and only positive from the Palestinians. I have also mentioned my distaste for what the Israelis do in the West Bank, Golan and Gaza and to non-Jews, both on this article and many others, and not just on this site. It is also quite apparent that you know absolutely nothing about the situation in the Middle East other than what you have read from the IPSC and red topped rag newspapers. Your own arguments might be better served if they weren’t so full of hyperbole, bias, stereotypes, sweeping statements and inaccuracies.

• I wasn’t talking to you, Brian, you eejit.

• Read the attached article which has more insight into the background of this case. Whatever happened, if the guy was involved with Mossad and was accused of trying to sell them out then the consequences would have been known if he was caught. You feel sorry for him, his family in Australia and his wife and kids who are now fatherless.

Apparently he himself changed his name to Allen so he could travel under his Australian passport in countries like UAE, Iran etc.. Not justifying it but the intelligence world is murky no matter what country you are from.

http://www.jpost.com/NationalNews/Article.aspx?id=303267

• Since 1948 when the State of Israel was recognised by the UN, Palestinian Arabs have increased in number from approx 800,000, to approx 7,000,000. Is that a genocide? They seem to be doing ok.

The HAMAS administration in Gaza seem very capable of getting 100′s of rockets through the “blockade” yet complain that they can’t get medicine & so on there. Strange???

Every death that occured during the last Gaza conflict is a death that could have & should have been avoided. Israel has one of the most powerful military machines in the world. Why would Hamas continue to antagonise it by firing rockets at its civilians unless they wanted a reaction?
    Hamas deliberately and cynically engineered this conflict as a way of diverting attention away from its allies activities in Syria and Iran. It fires missiles from within inhabited civilian areas specifically to invite retaliation that will cause casualties. Those casualties are then held up to the world as examples of Israeli aggression, and those who want to find fault with Israel are given a cause to promote

• Jaysus boys one at a time there I only have 15 minutes break from the Zyklon B processing line

• Great to see the Anti Semite brigade out in force this morning. Don’t know what you do on a day with no new Israeli atrocity, You must be poised at your keyboards, thumb over the exclamation button ( no doubt painted in fluorescent highliter) kitted out for action full of umbrage smell of damp and the latest clichéd anti Israeli phrase

• @ Johnny & Peter,

See my reply to Mick above

• Were you a fan of Apartheid South Africa too perchance?

• Aaand there it is … Anyone who criticises the Israeli government and the Zionist ideology is an anti-Semite . And even though Arabs are Semitic we the commenters are special anti- Semites who only hate all Jewish people.
      I would have thought from your profile pic you would start name calling in a more logical manner.
      But then anyone who defends israel’s contempt for everyone else not kissing Zionist ass could not risk thinking logically .

• Oi, criticising the Israeli governments actions is not bloody anti Semitic. Sick of ye always jumping on “oh the poor Jews” bandwagon. Two different entities.

• @ Petr,

‘ Perchance’ Now I wonder what type of person would use this word in everyday speech ?

• Nice try.

• Oh no…. I think somebody didn’t get any Valentines day cards this morning… Cheer up, Josh. Maybe next year…

• @ Ruari,

Giving you a green thumb for that one

• I was waiting for the anti Semite card to be played.
      People can’t have an opinion?
      Or is it just racists and anti Semites that have an opinion.
      Yea big clown

• Yes Ciaran
      Waiting …. for about three weeks since the last Israel story….. Apple found in Israeli orchard….. Enough to set you all off. Look at the story ‘ Israeli kills Israeli’ I thought that that would have made you all happy but no… You’ve all been waiting poised for three weeks

• B Lowe 14/02/13 #

Josh.
      People who are anti Jewish are few and far between. I certainly am not anti Jewish or anti all of the Israelis people.
      What I am against and it is simply impossible to defend, is the actions of the Jewish state. There actions speak volumes and they have zero respect for fellow human beings.
      The UN should de arm the Israelis and place all Israeli people in in Israelis prisons who have committed and are commiting crimes against humanity.
      People should boycott any goods from. ISRAEL. I never purchase something from that totalitarian state.

• @ Tom O Brien, Took the words out of my mouth. Some of my best freinds are Jewish. Great people. The one has nothing to do with the other.

• Not poised at keyboard but ready to respond at call & beck of the always impartial Irish Palestinian Solidarity campaign. Of course their solidarity with Palestine doesn’t extend as far as criticising the Syrian army who have killed more Palestinian civilians in the last 6 months than Israel has in the last 6 years.

• Oh the highly predictable Israel = Apartheid comment. Israel is about as far from Apartheid as is possible. Musilms & Druze can & do vote, serve in the military, act as judges, serve as police, are represented in parliament, in academia & represent Israel in sport etc. Get your facts right before you use blatant lies to spread your bigotry.

• @ Thomas,

seeing as your poised and ready any chance of a bacon butty then ?

• B Lowe, do you own a USB flash drive? If you do you better get rid of it – it is, after all, an Israeli product. Do you have PC anti virus software on your PC? Better get rid of that too as it is also an Israeli product. Do you use IM software? Better stop that too as that is also an Israeli product. Oh, and by the way, most Palestinian produce is labelled as Israeli, so boycotting Israeli produce will only harm the very people you claim to stand up for.

• Good man Tom. Took you a while to get in. Spilled your ovaltine over your fingerless gloves then?

• You fellas show form a site of your own. Guys like me could throw in a comment and get you all frenzied up. It would be a bit like counselling, You know, always good to get it out, a problem shared and all that. Now what could you call it though. I think somewhere in the name should be Sad Bstards

• I would have thought spy agency would have an issue with their spies being dual citizens, no?

Add New Comment