TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Drug users warned about ‘brown powder substance’ after Kinsale deaths

Gardaí have confirmed that a product containing MDMA and PMMA may have been a factor in the recent deaths of two men in Kinsale.

HSE image of brown powder substance known to contain MDMA Ecstasy and PMMA
Image: HSE Communications

THE HEALTH SERVICE Executive has issued a warning to drug users in Cork, urging caution over taking a brown powder substance known to contain MDMA and PMMA*.

The caution – directed at both drug users and health professionals – has been given after Gardaí confirmed that the ecstasy product may have been a factor in the recent tragic deaths of two young men in Kinsale.

The HSE advised that the misuse of drugs carries serious health risks particularly when other drugs, including alcohol, are taken in combination.

The bodies of Michael Coleman and Liam Coffey, both 22, were found in a house on Abbey Lane in Kinsale at about 6.30am on Sunday. Four people have since been arrested in connection with the deaths. Three have since been released without charged and files are being prepared for the Director of Public Prosecutions.

The HSE South said it is alerting medical professionals in the region, as well as community and voluntary groups working with drug users. It is also liaising closely with the Gardaí on the matter.

David Lane from the agency’s Addiction Services said there are a number of practical steps that drug users can take to prevent an overdose, such as understanding when tolerance is lower, by not mixing drugs and avoiding unfamiliar supply sources.

He added that if someone gets into difficulties after consuming a substance, it is critically important to get help immediately. Symptoms associated with PMMA and MDMA include high fever, rapid heart rate and agitation.

*Methylamphetamine and Paramethoxymethamphetamine

Earlier: Fourth person arrested in Kinsale deaths investigation>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (91 Comments)

• Firstly there is a correction to be made to the article. MDMA and PMMA stand for methylenedioxymethamphetamine and paramethoxymethamphetamine respectivly. Neither are methylamphetamine as claimed in the article.

MDMA is the drug which is known commonly know as Ecstasy and is relativly safe and well researched when compared to PMMA. PMMA is an analog of methamphetamine which can be produce by similar means from a much more widely available natural precursor and so is much cheaper to produce. It is a very toxic drug which commonly causes serious hyperthermia and potentially death. It is added by unscrupilous drug dealers instead of MDMA.

People are going to use drugs one way or the other and so all focus should be on harm reduction and preventing anymore tragic deaths.

If someone encouters an unknown drug sample they should perform a reagent test if possible. A simple test such as with marquis reagent can’t instantantly indicate the drug composition of illicit pills or powders. These are easily available online and are among the best options.

If a reagent test is not available users should try find their pills on a harm reduction site such as pillreports.com. There users can view other peoples review and test results from others.

If you have any doubt about a substance, be safe and don’t take it.

• Hi Donncha, That was the description and terminology given to me by the HSE. Will check with them.
      Thanks
      Sinead

• You’re spot on Donnacha.

• People should really look at this from a harm reduction point of view. Regardless of whether you think of all recreational drug users are “junkies” (their not) or that MDMA is completely harmless (it isn’t), peoples lives are on the line here.

This PMMA adulterated batch of MDMA doing the rounds is potentially fatal and if one person’s life can be saved be getting some factual harm reduction advice then that is a good thing. These tragic deaths are a product of drug prohibition, where drugs can be sold by criminal without any standards or guarantees of purity. Two otherwise law abiding and productive citizen are now dead for consuming a substance (MDMA) which would almost certainly have been safe if it had been produced and sold in a legal, but regulated manner.

I am really curious who down voted my comment? Not a fan of facts? By all means comment and promote a sensible and informative discussion.

• Donncha, don’t worry about a couple of red thumbs. For a 20:1 ratio I’d expect it’s people hitting the wrong one on their phone. It happens with my clumsy thumbs sometimes. The Journal should really allow you to change your vote once it’s hit…

• JayK 11/09/12 #

Worrying lack of understanding of the drug by the HSE. I wonder where they thought the ‘D’ in MDMA came from if it stood for methylamphetamine. Different substance altogether.

• see drugs.ie:

Methylenedioxy-N-Methylamphetamine (MDMA),also know as ‘Ecstasy’, and Para-Methoxy-N-methylamphetamine (PMMA).

• Drugs are bad spent many years of my life using them and I include drink it that. and all I ended up with was a fueked head and a life that was fairly worthless. off them few years and off drink aswell and still have many side affects That’s my feeling and I do believe the first few years were great had some great times off my head but once it takes over its a nightmare a no way out nightmare

• I’ll agree with you about the drink. I have been drinking like a luny on the weekends for 16 years and now I have stomach ulcers for my troubles. I’ve finally seen that I was addicted to it and have put an end to it. I don’t think most of the country realise how much of a grip it has on them because they only drink on the weekends!

• ‘Know the one that’s one too many’ Good general advice. Applies to any substance.

Glad to see some practical advice in the article. Just say no is a failed strategy, so we should educate people on realities.

Mixmag was criticised years ago for running a guide to safely consuming ecstasy but a bunch of people learned a lot about water over-consumption and other aggravating factors in drug related deaths.

Don’t go swimming drunk at night is good advice. Should we educate people about water safety or just call anyone that drowns an idiot?

• I think what people get annoyed about is attitudes such as Diarmuids (above there) that always seems to take away any personal responsibility for people putting that filth into their bodies

• What’s wrong about my attitude? Ppl take drugs for a variety of different reasons, to escape their everyday life, because they’re curious, because they hang around the wrong ppl etc etc. just cause I think the “era stuff them” attitude is inhumane and stupid doesn’t mean I have “an attitude”, it means I care about other ppl regardless of their good or bad choices or good or bad backgrounds, learn a bit of humanity. Two young men have died!

• Sorry I wasn’t attacking you personally but people have to take responsibility for their actions. When junkies get caught for robbing someone they always get lighter sentences because of the attitude of the poor little junkie. Where was the humanity when junkies mugged me when I was in my teens?

• I understand that and I am sorry to hear you got mugged in your teens, must have been terrifying. What I can’t understand is ppls blase attitude to life. Some above posters are pretty much saying f anyone who takes drugs, they know the consequences, forgetting the fact that some ppl have had awful lives, some ppl are living in awful poverty, some ppl hang around with the wrong crowd, some mad a bad decision and are now hooked and some are just basically curious. Saying stuff them cause they took drugs is a more disrespectful attitude to life to have than the “junkies” they claim to despise! Ppl take drugs, it’s about time we all accepted that and tried to help those who do get into difficulty, not spit on their graves!

• Fair enough but from living in the inner city I honestly believe the half of them are probably beyond help or probably don’t want it. You ever try to give a coffee/tea and a sandwich to junkie? We’ll leave it at they weren’t to happy that it wasn’t money.

• But sher of course they didn’t want it, you ever offer a Mars bar to a smoker instead of a fag after they jump off a long haul flight?

• Smokers can usually hold down a job and buy their own. Most people bumming smokes in town are our friends again the brass monkey.

• Felix do you honestly think that the only group suffering from drug addiction are the junkies you see in Dublin city centre. There are doctors, solicitors, teachers, guards that take drugs at the weekend, some of them are addicts, some of them overdose too! Don’t cod yourself into thinking that the only drug addicts you encounter on a daily basis are the ones on the city centre boardwalks!

• What’s the world coming to when you can’t trust a drug dealer to uphold your consumer rights and operate within health and safety regulation.

• With all the comments, and some of them silly, please don’t lose sight of the fact that two young people are dead, and family and friends heartbroken, grief is the same whether your rich or poor, please someone learn from this

• http://dancesafe.org

It’s an American organisation founded by one of Microsofts original founders that sells test kits so people can test their drugs to make sure they are not cut with something dangerous. You can also post them samples and they will test it professionally in a lab and post the results online.

• poor guys. rip.

• People have been taking all sorts drugs for centuries, it’s human nature to want to explore new feelings, mind alterations etc., every weekend the pubs are packed with people drinking alcohol (Ireland’s favourite drug of choice), so why do people rant on as if they expect things to change? Human beings aren’t suddenly going to change their ways. The real problem here is that the majority of relatively safe drugs (MDMA, Cannabis etc.) are sold by criminals who do not give a flying fcuk about your health & wellbeing. Until the powers to be realise that their current drug policies are useless, these terrible tragedies are sadly going to continue.

Legalise, educate, regulate & tax would work for most people and proper rehabilition & recovery is required for those who develop addiction problems.

• If the drugs people take dont come with a batch number, expiry date, product information leaflet, all in a tamper evident packaging..you be better off not putting it inside ya…

• Sadly there are more people addicted to prescription medication and legal medication than the big bad illicit ones! I have heard of numerous ppl being addicted and overdosing on solpadeine for example, one girl in even died from that accidental overdose!

• That doesn’t necessarily mean anything – there are drug recalls on a semi regular basis, between being found to be harmful or the wrong drugs being put in the wrong packaging.. You can’t assume to be safe and sure just because it comes in a fancy packet :(

• What don’t understand is this. If a recreational drug sold last weekend was cut with a highly dangerous substance why are we not looking at more deaths? Surely more than two people purchased from this batch. And before people call me stupid I know very little about the recreational drug scene, thankfully.

• I’ve been prescribed Xanax (among others) for treatment of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. I try to avoid taking them unless absolutely necessary once I realised I had begun taking them ‘just in case’ a panic attack might come on. I’ve taken quite a few illegal substances in my youth but the most addictive of any substance was Xanax.

• Abby 12/09/12 #

@ Anthony

That’s a good point. My theory is that there was not a ‘bad batch’ of MDMA going around but that the individual that sold the substance to the young men actually ground up dodgy ecstasy pills that contained PMMA. People can identify the amount of MDMA in an ecstasy pill by the imprint on the pill so that if low-purity pills are in circulation they are easily identifiable. Consequently, the dealer may find it difficult to sell those particular pills which contain PMMA. I reckon the dealer had some pills left over and ground them up to make this substance. MDMA usually takes the form of off-white crystals as opposed to the brown powder we see here.

• Abby 11/09/12 #

MDMA in moderation is virtually harmless. PMMA, on the other hand, is a nasty adulterant that has killed many people.

• I used to take MDMA or “E”s in my hay day, but the funny thing about it was I used to shit my brains out on them.
    Ps. Drugs are bad for you!!

• sara 11/09/12 #

Here’s a very practical step you can take to prevent overdose: don’t take drugs in the first place, ever or at all!!!!!

• Sean 11/09/12 #

Now where, tell me, is the fun in that?

• The fact really is people are taking chemicals that they have no idea what is in them.

Its clear people will take the drugs either way. I for one think that regulation is the only way to avoid fatalities.

If these people could by regulated doses produced in a proper lab with known potency and chemical contents they’d still be alive. Whether your pro or anti drug i dont think you can argue with that.

• The fact really is people are taking chemicals that they have no idea what is in them.

Its clear people will take the drugs either way. I for one think that regulation is the only way to avoid fatalities.

If these people could buy regulated doses produced in a proper lab with known potency and chemical contents they’d still be alive. Whether you’re pro or anti drug i dont think you can argue with that.

• Ok that’s going to fix the amount of people who suffer with addiction in this country.

• Don’t do drugs kids! It’s that simple. And if you do – be prepared to face the consequences…

• bob 11/09/12 #

I seen more and more young people with ‘bags’of coke in recent months,not wraps! The market is been flooded with cheap drugs at mo.they’ll be more deaths like this to come judging by the quaintities around.

• I found this whole thread highly entertaining giving the circumstances! I’d just like to thank all of the people involved above ^

• @adam You are obviously immature to think drugs are fine. No need to have such a foul mouth

• keano 11/09/12 #

Every time some drug user OD’s there’s always the “legalisation & regulation” argument.
    Legalise heroin ? Legalise Cocaine ? Legalise E ? legalise Hash ?
    Legalising & regulating the drugs these 2 young lads took may very well have saved their lives, but how many more would die from prolonged use ?.
    Tobacco is the worlds biggest killer, Alcohol 2nd ….. Both Legal.
    How many people’s lives are wrecked by alcohol? tobacco smoking? does legalising & regulating these work ?
    Why would anyone assume legalising any drugs save lives ??

• Can we not at least stop people dying?. Seems a bit harsh death

• Ya. Heroin on its own is fine as well. Its just the lsd, coke, ecstasy and drink that U take with it that causes da problems. Bad batch. Tough shite!!!!

• Is it true that people on prescription drugs are selling them on the street?
    Also, why are there SO many chemist shops in Dublin?

• Why warn anyone. Shouldn’t be using drugs in the first place

• MDMA is on the streets of London around 7 years now, many people have died from the drug. It is a pure form of ecstasy. It was mainly on the gay scene in London clubs. Now it is everywhere. Alot people take MDMA with liquid G or ‘G’ as it is known on the streets. Together they are lethel.

• In January 2011, the Norwegian Broadcasting Corporation reported that Norway had seen 12 deaths related to PMMA over the course of 6 months. In March 2011, Dutch media reported that there had been 4 deaths in the province of Limburg since November of 2010.[9] In April 2011, Icelandic media reported the death of a young woman that may have been connected to PMMA.
    In 2011 alone, 4 deaths were recorded in Scotland as a result of ecstasy tablets which also contained PMMA.[10]
    In January 2012, a number of ecstasy-related deaths in Canada in the previous year were linked to PMMA overdoses

pmma at 100 mg does not give psychoactive effects, which people desire but increases heart rate immensely and blood pressure

PMMA has been found in tablets and capsules of the MDMA sold as “ecstasy”. A number of deaths have been attributed to tablets sold as ecstasy that contained other substances, such as PMMA’s structural analog, PMA. Death can occur when an ecstasy user believes they are consuming recreational doses of MDMA, when they are in fact consuming a lethal dose of another substance with similar effects. PMA is of particular concern because it not only causes a release of serotonin but also acts as a monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI); if it is used in combination with MDMA or another MDMA-like substance, serotonin syndrome can result.

this info was provided by Wikipedia

its sounds to me like pmma is designed to kill people,

“drugs are for mugs”

• Damocles 12/09/12 #

The only stimulant people need is Jesus.

He died for our sins, y’know?

• Currently in Ireland guys there is a drug epidemic amongst young people. I’m not saying that drugs have not always been there, I am saying the current situation is infact worse than ever and it is the smalll towns like Kinsale that seem to be experiencing these drug hits. It has become a must do.

. I’m young and I have an active social life. Over the last few months I have seen a rapid change in the night life in the town of where I am from due to young people taking drugs. Young people as young as 15 are first off illegally inside our local Night club being sold alcohol and secondly completely whacked off their face on whatever is the best hit that week. It was predicted just before christmas 2011, that our town was goin to be hit with a drug epidemic and the facts were indeed correct. the guards have made so many raids on houses over the past few months and the drugs being found and the amounts have been shocking.

It started off with Pills which were a fad among young people for a couple of months, or as they are known amongst young people ‘Yolks’. certain dealers in the town bring them in but after some time the batch brought in is gone until a new pill is coming which is deemed better than the last or so the dealer tells the customers. However from this pills were not as big and the next fad for the following two months in 2012 was cocaine. When bad batches of this were circulating the town and the good pills were not to be gotten, every youth turned to MDMA. and that is the current drug that is giving them their kick. If this like cocaine gets damp in anway it is immediatley putting a person at a high risk of death.

We all think when it comes to anything in life ‘that won’t be me’ or ‘what happened to him won’t happen to me’, we could never be more wrong. Two of my best friends died from drugs and it was completely recreational. They were not drug abusers but what ever they were given was a bad batch and it could happen to any of us.

But one question is, would these incidents happen if alcohol wasn’t involved?

Add New Comment