TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Latest opinion poll shows rise in referendum support

The latest Red C poll shows 6 per cent more people plan to vote ‘yes’ in the Fiscal Compact referendum on 31 May.

Image: Photocall Ireland

THE LATEST OPINION poll on the forthcoming Fiscal Treaty referendum shows  a slight increase in the number of people planning to vote ‘yes’.

According to the latest Red C poll for the Sunday Business Post, 53 per cent of the poll’s respondents said they plan to vote in support of the treaty – up 6 per cent on the last poll.

The Red C poll also shows that 31 per cent say they intend to vote ‘no’ (down 4 per cent), and 16 per cent say they are ‘undecided’ (down 2 per cent).

If the undecideds are excluded, the poll shows 63 per cent support for ‘yes’ and 37 per cent for ‘no’.

Minister Simon Coveney, Fine Gael’s director of elections, said that “while the poll is encouraging, we are in no way complacent”.

“Fine Gael looks forward to redoubling its efforts to make sure that the people are fully informed before they vote in this important referendum on 31 May,” he told TheJournal.ie.

Campaigning

Out on the campaign trail today, the Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore told journalists that a ‘no’ vote could see the political turmoil of Greece repeated in Ireland.

Meanwhile, RTÉ reports that Socialist Party TD Joe Higgins said that the turmoil Greece is experiencing is a result of austerity and said that the treaty is becoming increasingly discredited.

Left-wing MEPs to campaign in Ireland against Fiscal Treaty >

Martin calls for Taoiseach to meet with president-elect Hollande >

Read next:

Comments (204 Comments)

• Hey folks, thanks for all the comments on this issue.
    I just want to note that some comments have been deleted from this thread for their aggression/personal attacks on other readers, so please refrain from that.
    Thanks,
    Susan

• Just home from a farewell party for my youngest brother. Yes/No……I wish he would be here to vote.

• I bet 10 years from now you will be doing well to find someone who admits they voted yes. Why, because thus whole mess is an orchestrated crisis to lead the lambs to …..

• Yet again the Yes side resort to insults upon the opposites intelligence. And all this written by a man whose party have done more damage to this country than the British ever did, a party who have been the biggest failure to their nation in global history, a party steeped in corruption. Yes, a spokesman from a party who was led by Bertie Ahern for 2 decades is now telling us all what common sense is about. Back to sleep there Stephen, perhaps you’ll make more sense when you’re dreaming!

• VOTE YES if you want no change (i.e. to prolong payments of bankers debts & continue ludicrous public sector wages for the next 20 years)
    VOTE NO If you want bank debts to be written off and the IMF to trim the fat from our public service

• You might actually believe gilmore if the same people hadn’t spent the last year telling us when greece got the writeoff of debt, missed their targets yet got more money etc. that Ireland is NOTHING like greece. We all remember it. TOTALLY different. Difrerent causes, different solutions, different situation, so ignore the debt writeoff greece is getting blah blah blah. Even mentioning the two countries in the same sentence to a governement TD was met with an arrogant quip that the two situations are nothing alike.

Now, all of a sudden, amazingly, the same people are telling us that the only difference between ireland and greece is a referendum vote?

Thats all the governement and the yes side have, dishonesty, scaremongering, blackmail and threats.

• as i said here before enshrining a economic ideology into ours or anyone’s constitution is lunacy.

Also we were originally promised a deal on the anglo promissory note before this treaty.
    We havent gotten one and if there is a yes result we sure as hell wont get one.

I think the general public do not understand the gravity of the debt burden the PN will but on us and that unless we get/got a deal on the PN then we are finished.

Regardless of the scaremongering the next budget income tax WILL rise. There will be further cuts. This is only the begining.

This decade is now a right off imo.

• Jesus Christ what is wrong with people !!
    Take a stand folks…ffs

• I am taking a stand going to vote yes, have not been given a good reson not too and name calling and abuse definitely wont change my mind , because thats all that usually all that happens when i say this

• Fair play Joe. Vote whatever way you feel is right, and do not stand for the bullying and attempts to guilt people into voting one way or another. We need to be able to discuss the actual treaty without resorting to childish nonsense.

Having read the treaty, I will be voting “No”. That is my decision as it stands at the moment, but I have no doubt some people will have a go at me for having my own opinion.

• It’s funny how accurate the phrase “what goes around comes around” is. In 2009 it was up to us, although unsuccessful when we were forced by the government to vote twice, to let the voices of the millions of Europeans be heard who were refused a vote. Now it is up to Francois Hollande to scrap this crippling, double dip inducing treaty that provides little opportunity to grow.

• I’ve decided to put me own posters up in me area.
    Me bro is goin to do the same round his place.
    Won’t look flash, will be on A3 paper
    written with thick black marker,
    then laminated and cable tied above the yes posters.

When I get the first one up
    Ill take a picture and show yis.

• Interesting comments, I am voting no after reading and still reading any information on the treaty it to me is a bad treaty. It means more cuts I’ve the ESM is passed and set up all countries will have to pay in to it, they have set the limit to 700billion (I think that’s the right figure sorry if I’m incorrect on exact amount) each country will be told to send money and you have 7 days to do so. This amount is subject to change as it will have to increase if more is needed. The ESM will be immune from any accountability no one can question or make a case against them! That to me is a huge red flag and judging by our elite honesty and other countries I do not thrust them. Do you Then the 3% rule on budget deficit which comes in to effect in 2015 for us we even if things improved can not reach that target so we will face harder cuts and if you can not adhere to these rules you will be penalised and if they do not like how you are doing it they will come in and do it for you. Some parts of the treaty are not set in stone and are subject to change, with the French president wanting changes is a small example of this, I think a no vote is not a vote on leaving the EU but one that we can go back and get a better deal. This treaty = more cuts on top of the cut. Planned in budgets

• 3 NO vote from the people who have a vote in this house and another NO vote from the youngest who wished he had a vote

• Pete, please tell your youngest that his wishes are appreciated and valued, even though he is not eligible to vote yet.

• And the no voters, Gerry Adams, Joe higgins, That Murphy fella, Richard Boyd Barrett, Mary Lou Mac, Nigel Farage UKIP.. 6 great reasons to vote yes.

• Dhakina’s Sword….My youngest is 17 and brains to burn……but see’s no future for himself or his friends in this beautiful country of ours if this so called treaty is passed……….

• and as of tonight you can add Declan Ganley to that list!

• I don’t know what to say to you Pete, other than to wish you and your family good luck. These are certainly interesting times as Confucious would say. I don’t know your personal circumstances, but it might not be a bad idea to discuss the various options available to you with your family. All I know is that the captains of our ship are drunk at the wheel. That’s my opinion and I see no change coming soon. It’s not for me to say, but I would never critisise someone for leaving a sinking ship.

• If everyone watched David McWilliams video on the treaty they would vote NO. He knows what he’s talking about unlike the schoolteachers who run this country. Watch the video and take note of what happened in Boston in the 80′s. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oAR0VRLRGHE&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• 6% increase isn’t a slight increase

• Just who is asking us to Vote Yes? I would prefer to play the ball and not the man but because of numerous attacks by all parties on Sinn Fein and the no side I have been left with no choice.

Fine Gael – Lied on many levels to get into government less than a year ago. The party contains Brian Hayes and Leo Vradkar whose distain for their fellow countrymen is evident every time they speak in public. 2 years ago they told us Lisbon would bring recovery and jobs. The country is now at its highest ever unemployment level and has never been further from recovery in our history (7% decline in last 1/4 of 2011). This is also the party that Michael Lowry was a member of when involved in various incidences of corruption and fraud. Also contains ALOT OF YES MEN, like David Higgins and Lucinda who would prefer to talk out their rear that use their own noggin.

Fianna Failures – Their last three leaders have been Charlie Haughey, Bertie Ahern and Biffo. Bertie Ahern, the biggest conman this country has probably ever seen, lead this party for nearly 2 DECADES!!!!

Labour – Labours Way or Frankfurts way. Need I say more?

• mattoid 13/05/12 #

“I’d prefer to play the ball and not the man…” but I’m going to play the man anyway…
      Nobody on the no side seems to want to play the ball. I’m leaning towards the yes side but could be convinced to vote no if I heard any realistic arguments. If someone could actually answer questions like the one posed elsewhere in this thread (how do the no side propose we’re going to close the deficit?) it would go a long way towards swinging undecided voters.

• So voting yes isn’t playing ball no ones say don’t pay just keep odds even. You are voting to tie one hand behind your back. Turkeys voting for Christmas!

• Honest question guys, whats your personal experiencs of colleagues/friends etc. in relation to the referendum? I work with a reasonably diverse group of people and have an equally diverse circle of friends. I would reckon on about about 6-7 out of ten of them are voting No. This is about what the online polling is showing at but WAY off the red c poll.

Whats your personal feedback like?

• Jerry 12/05/12 #

Makes no difference what way we vote we are only a small country germany could not care less , we are small fry in the scale of things very small fry

• That is exactly a reason why our vote does count. The larger countries will just disregard the requirements of this treaty as has been seen with Spain while forcing the smaller member states to pay crippling fines.

• Well, funnily enough, that has been happening up until now. The larger member states just managed to exit the agreement and do their own thing without a problem. This treaty is here to plug that loophole and puts us all on an equal footing – something we have been demanding for a long time. Plus now, its no longer “Germany and France” bossing us about. The French have a new president who seems more thinking our way, and while he has back peddled a little since his election, which I hope will further work in our favour. Greece is a goner by the looks.

The tide is turning away from the big bosses, and to a more equal sharing union which is exactly what we are voting for. The treaty is not giving us restrictions we have not had before – they were just easily ignored and simply inadequate, but we voted them in as its better than nothing. Now they are being improved, and its a welcome improvement.

We risk being completely removed from the ESM (European Fund) if we did actually Vote No, but other options (including an alternative offered by the EU, which is unlikely) are much more severe – higher interest rates and stricter terms. After all our complaining about the EU Bailout, demanding write downs and better interest rates, why would we just leave for another loan provider who are going to screw us even more? Just so we have more of a reason to complain and make demands? Yeah, like they are going to give a shit.

Safe and more stable Ireland if we vote Yes. The figures stack up in the Yes side favour while the No side cant even get their figures to begin with.

• Kevin,
      Does the concept of sovereignty mean anything to you? Your notion that we would ever be on “an equal footing” in Europe is simply deluded.
      Europe needs us as much as we need it at the moment and our own Gov is complicit with the EU in threatening us in order to enshrine ongoing austerity into our constitution.
      You talk of us demanding write downs and better interest rates, when did all this happen? I missed it.
      Our Gov is not willing to stand up for this county or it’s sovereignty, but I for one will be voting no because I have no interest in preserving the status quo for the elite at the expense of people like the “goners” you mention in Greece.
      Vote No.

• Yeah since when did a few million people ever mater to Germany. Votes No means that we get free Train passes to happy camps in Poland

• Nice to see that all the scare mongering the government is doing is paying off… Hopefully people will see this treaty for what it is and give two fingers to the government and brussels and vote NO!!!!!!

• funny thing is, out of all my friends and family and my boyfriends not one person is voting yes…looks like the scare tactics are working on some though if we are to believe this poll

• Enshrining the dictat of any foreign power in your constitution is tantamount to treason. This is a good read….

http://www.davidmcwilliams.ie/2012/05/07/lets-talk-about-germany

“Germany doesn’t want a United States of Europe; it wants a Federal Republic of Europe, based on the model of the Federal Republic of Germany. Constitutionally, it doesn’t want an American-style republic, but something much more like Germany. It also wants this with the minimum of fuss.

The reasons are simple. It wants to do with banks what it couldn’t – historically – do with tanks. It wants a Europe that looks and feels democratic, but in which Germany really rules the roost and makes the final decision in all the big calls. This it will achieve by financial dominance.”

• I’m voting No. But some people will get scared and Vote Yes and the treaty will be passed. VOTE NO!!!

• scary how many people are being scared into a Yes vote. wee bit pathetic also.

• Yeah – pretty depressing.
      If the “stability treaty” is passed I wonder how long after the 31st of May until the complete collapse of the Euro….. not long probably.
      I hope people who are voting YES at least realise this treaty wants “convergence” of policies and that it is a further stepping stone toward a United States of Europe.

• Agree, my parents went from no to yes because of the esm scare tactic.

They don’t know the full extent if it or why now is a time to take a stand and not enshrine austerity into our constitution.

It really saddens me that the Irish will go this way without a whimper.

There are leaders and there are followers. The majority are followers and don’t have the strength of their convictions. Just saddens me.

No to the end.
      D

• @ Dave you’re so wrong. Accept that whatever the Irish choose is democracy at work. Don’t assume that the yes side are voting for something we haven’t looked into, I know what I’m voting for.

• Do you really Rob, because Hollande has stated that he will refuse to ratify the treaty in its current form, making changes likely. So do you REALLY know what you’re voting on?

• Some of the “yes” voters are probably intending to vote yes because they want to stay close to Europe, because they want to keep the euro, and because they don’t like some of the wilder antics of the people campaigning for a no vote.

I’m voting no because I’m pro-Europe. The EU has done a great deal for Ireland, and has helped us stand on our feet as an economically independent country. However, I believe the present policy of austerity is going to kill the EU stone dead.

We can see this in the reaction of other countries, including even Germany. The fiscal compact is not the solution to the crisis and should be rejected. Don’t vote yes just because it has an EU stamp on it.

• its not been scared into voting yes its been bullied into it im voting NO anyway

• lol……….. scare tactics working……………. but then Paddy hasn’t known his/her own mind since Easter 1916.

• Nobody rang me to ask…..! I’m voting No :) red sea me hoop lala….! More like red herring…!

• I wouldn’t take too much stock of polls at this stage, all they are is an assessment of voters intentions. Whether they actually vote on the day is an entirely different matter.

The Yes side will struggle to get numbers out to vote whereas the No side are much more passionate about this topic and will vote in droves. The result on the day will be closer than any of the polls reflect.

And now that Ganley has entered the fray we finally have a right wing voice who is against the treaty. Ganley is a good debater and talks sense and will put the cat amongst the FF/FG/Lab pigeons.

• I personally think that not only the poll results should be published on websites and in the media but also a bit more information (for example what percentage of calls did each county get and what percentage was each age group) nothing majorly specific just so we know where exactly the opinions are coming from

• Why? A yes is a yes and a no is a no. In any case let that up to the political parties.

• simply because we dont know exactly how accurate the polls are until we know how much of a variety there is in them, for all we know a good number of people could all be in a certain age bracket or from a certain place therefore not giving an accurate poll result

• Well,I for one, can tell you that I’ve been surveyed by phone on several occasions. You could check with Red C to find out the criteria they’ve used.

• I have already checked to find out what criteria they use but it still doesnt tell me how accurate their poll is because basically theres no way of finding out any information about the people they asked, all it tells me is how they conduct the polls and thats not alot of good when I want to know things like where are the people from and what age they are

• Vote NO because i dont think its good for Ireland, but this government is constantly BULLYING.

Eamon Gilmore has said the current situation in Greece paints a clear picture of what could happen in Ireland if the country does not vote ‘Yes’

• the people of Ireland never learn. don’t have a backbone and deserve everything they get.in general we have tunnel vision and never see the bigger picture. even voting for something that will be irrelevant in a few months time.

• Unfortunately most of the disaffected won’t vote at all, majority of those are probably no voters. So the arses that vote for Lowry, Flynn and Aherne will carry the day. Should be compulsory to vote with a € 1000 fine fir not.

• no it most certainly should not be compulsary to vote people died to give us a right to vote fining people for not voting is not a right to vote.And i no some people will say not voting is excersising that right but at the end of the day thats your personal choice but you should definately not be forced to vote

• Totally agree Holmes voting should be compulsory …

• Surely you can exercise your right not to vote by writing an objection on the ballot paper and spoiling a vote. Some constituencies at GE11 had turnouts of below 45%. So could you argue that a higher proportion of the said constituency don t want public representation.
      My second point is that if as you say people have died to give you the right to vote then get off your fat arse and respect their memory by voting.

• I think I would prefer 60% who make sure they are somewhat well informed on both sides rather than getting individuals to go into a booth and play “pick-a-box” to avoid a €1000 fine.

• An interesting quote from Sir Patrick Moore, astronomer and former WW2 pilot whose fiancée was killed during the conflict. ” We must take care. There may be another war. The Germans will try again given another chance. A kraut is a Kraut is a Kraut. And the only good Kraut is a dead Kraut. A German general said to me at the end of the war: ‘ You won two wars, you won’t win the third. And that’s the economic war.’ I hope he’s wrong…” I read this quote in the Sindo. No context was given, other than he apparently said it during the week. It sounds eerily prescient though, doesn’t it.

• I got distracted during that post and had meant to add, that I don’t agree with the blatantly racist tones inherent within that quote. I remember David Trimble saying as much regarding Catholics in 1995, or so. His words, equally unacceptable, were along the lines of ” The only good Catholic is a dead Catholic”. This was said in a jocular fashion in the back of a cab before the peace agreements had taken hold. Nonetheless, regardless of bad taste and personal grievances, the third world war being fought on economic grounds, as opposed to military grounds, is thought provoking to say the least.

• If this Red C poll said the No side was ahead, nobody would be questioning it. It puts SF at 21%. Is that a conspiracy too? People appear to be making a reasoned choice between certainty V the unknown. Those of you saying its the yes campaign scaremongering need to wake up. Just turn on your TV and see what two fingers to austerity is doing in Greece. If ever you needed to know what a NO vote could do, Greece is it. All Sinn Fein have left is “Soverignty”. And we know what they’re prepared to do for that. I prefer food on the table myself…

• Red C poll? Rigged. Gan Amharas.

• I like people who,
    Post comments like me,
    It makes them look like
    They’re writing poetry.

• Seriously, who are the people who get polled? Its just that I dont know anyone voting yes and I’ve never met anyone who has ever been surveyed for these things…

• Id have said 6% was more than a “slight rise”! Its a good result nevertheless and shows that more people are simply looking at the facts and making their own call without listening to the fear factor the No side are trying to drill into the voters and understanding what the treaty does and doesn’t do.

Stick to the facts. Back them up. Show your figures. Point out the lies from the No side with facts and accurate figures that actually add up. This is what bring confidence to the voters. The voters want to know facts and figures before they believe any argument from any side. This is exactly how people should vote – and not just listen to the Yes and No camp alone or vote No to express anger at the government. Make an informed decision based on facts and figures.

• If this poll is a true reflection, then I’m truly ashamed to be an Irishman! With all that’s happened in the last week or so, the majority of Irish people are still going to vote yes! That being the case, then we deserve to be governed by pompous fools like Kenny and Gilmore! A nation of self centred cowards! At least the Greek people have balls!

• Kevin, if you just replaced No with Yes in your post I think you’d find a more accurate portrayal of the truth…

• Kevin.
      Thats pure horse sh*te.
      I know of one person who tells me she is going to vote yes, she isnt stupid but she actually cant say why other than she has been terrified by the government to vote for the treaty. She doesn’t understand it and neither will she listen to what it is about.
      All the scaremongering is from the Yes side.
      I have a degree, I can read for myself and Im not a radical of any sort, so stop assuming (you and Robin etc) that anyone who wishes/decides to vote NO is an idiot.

• I wonder how many of the No voters have actually read the treaty instead of learning about it from Sinn Fein’s telephone pole posters? From the comments here and elsewhere, I’d imagine few, if any.

Still, Good to see common sense prevailing all the same.

• Robin, your comments are naive and immature. Everyone has an opinion and the majority are making the decision with the best interests of their country at heart. For you to say it’s common sense to vote yes shows an enormous lack of understanding of simple economics on your part. There are a few vested interests with selfish motives driving the yes campaign, that’s a fact, companies availing of 12.5% corp tax, ministers who want an MEP pension as well as a TD’s etc etc. I am not a Sinn Fein supporter, not a left winger and have read the treaty and I still say no thanks to it. So please keep your prejudicial remarks for the exit polls on the 31st of May where they will be more welcome!

• Maybe they read Nobel Prize economist Paul Krugman’s take on it, he calls it the European economic suicide pact. Maybe they have seen how the Spanish Consv. PM Rajoy, is openly ignoring it. That the German parl. does not have the votes to pass it and on and on and on.

or we could descend to your level and say all the Yes voters are only doing it because they saw it on a poster, and Cathy Walsh is a no voter and she has smelly feet, so everyone else is voting yes.

• Well said Diarmuid. Sick of people who object to this treaty being labeled as uneducated, ill informed SF supporters.

• It seems it’s only the No voters who are continuously hijacking almost every article (regardless of topic) on the Journal to spread their word. Red thumb away!

• Completely agree Diarmaid. It seems that if you oppose the government in this country you are automatically a SF / ULA supporter.
      I’ll be voting No … and just for your benefit Robin, I am not a SF supporter nor a ULA supporter.

• I read it and I don’t see the benefit of it for Ireland. I’d say there is more people that haven’t read that will be voting Yes.

• Ohh go back to Politics.ie Buckwheat!

This is a comment section and people are entitled to give their opinions. Nobody is “hijacking” anything!

• Diarmuid, thanks for taking the time to reply and thanks too for labelling my comments “naive and immature”!

I note your reply doesn’t address the treaty and instead suggests it’s the little more than some weird conspiracy.

I rest my case about people thinking about this treaty in terms of telephone pole posters :-)

• I agree 100% Diarmaid,
      sick of some of the yes men
      saying or implying those of us on the No side
      are either too stupid to have read it or we are SF.

• David 12/05/12 #

Well said robin. Was never going to go down well with the crowd of nah sayers on this site though.

• Well robin if you read it, you would vote know, unless of course your IQ is in parity with the lying blue shirt.

• Oh just give it a rest Robin will you please! “No voters are stupid / ye’re only voting no cause sinn fein said to / Me and my pals from Trinity know way more / sher you think money grows on trees” . I’ve heard it all pal. I, as many people who know me would contest to, would lean slightly to the right of centre, have read arguments from both sides, love my country despite all the crap that has gone on, want a secure and stable future for me kids and have read the treaty. I have also read the treaty as well as having studied basic economics in college, don’t remember alot of it mind you, but for you to accuse me or any No voter that we are being led by telephone pole posters smacks of arrogance being written by a sneering keyboard warrior. Such arrogance does your cause no favours, but then again you seem to fit in well with Brian Hayes, Lucinda etc. Try listening to people and having a nit more understanding and respect for peoples opinion before boarding your delusional high horse next time round!

• Actually Diarmuid Constantin Gurdgiev Trinity Economist is also saying to vote no

• Dear Robin, your not very clever if you think everyone who is going to vote no is a Sinn Fein supporter….. I for one always makes my own mind up and it won’t be based on what I’m told I should vote…. We all know the rich like yourself will lose way more than the rest of us if there is a no vote…

But one more thing I predict no matter what way that this referendum ends the croke park agreement will be put in the shredding machine within 2 months of it ending….. So all you public sector workers out there wake up don’t blindly vote yes to this insane treaty…. You heard it hear first you have been warned…. Do what’s right for the large majority of people in ireland – have some sense please vote no

• Good observation Cormac, I stand corrected, however, I think you see my point ;)

• Constantin Gurdgiev and Anthony Coughlan both of TCD.

• Eddie Hobbs succumbs to SF Referendum posters.
      ” Fear will drive the Yes campaign as assuredly as anger will drive the No one. Politically its that simple. But what of the economics? Pure horse sense tells us to stay out of this Fiscal Compact simply because it cannot work. Ireland’s economy cannot carry the national debt, the internal debt like the Public Sector pension liability mountain and the vast scale of private indebtedness. How can increased taxes and further cuts ignite growth when both personal and Government spending are in decline?To believe that exports can carry the day anymore is delusional, not without domestic economic recovery. Austerity isn’t designed to create growth, it is designed to bring the fiscal deficit back into balance. That is incompatible with growth. Still Eurozone policymakers talk the language of austerity, not growth and now wish us to vote for it.”

• @robin
      Take your condescending attitude somewhere else. I’m not SF or any of the rest of those aholes either.

I wouldn’t trust a politician as far as I could throw their gout ridden corpses.

I’ve read every scrap of anything that I could get my hands on. Listened to every debate on radio.

I’m voting no because I feel on balance it’s not the best thing for the country.

D

• This is getting retarded now. I won’t be voting but if I could I’m inclined to a no vote. This entire thread has been insult after insult.

@Dave ” Well robin if you read it, you would vote know, unless of course your IQ is in parity with the lying blue shirt.”
      Fantastic reason for voting no there.

@Diarmaid
      Oh just give it a rest Robin will you please! “No voters are stupid / ye’re only voting no cause sinn fein said to /Me and my pals from Trinity know way more / sher you think money grows on trees”
      Quotation marks are used for something somebody actually said.

@mojorise
      ” . We all know the rich like yourself will lose way more than the rest of us if there is a no vote…”
      Ass_u_me

@Sean
      The only sensible arguement

Its going to be difficult either way so lay off the insults and debate this properly please

• jimmy 13/05/12 #

Sinn fein are the only decent political party in Ireland ! They have INTEGRETY and backbone they’re not like the other corrupt, incompetant, hypocritical, and cowardy ”leaders” Don’t believe the trash in your tabloid about SF. When it comes down to it SF are the ones who will stand up for us. Thumb up down i couldn’t give a shti

• If people vote yes and then down the line,as predicted by the no side, nothing changes, I hope those who voted yes shut up and blame themselves because it will be you lot who are to blame.

• I still don’t know anyone who’s ever been involved in a redc poll. Where do they find their representive sample? It does seem odd that the poll indicates a surge in support for the treaty but a decline in support for the both government parties, again, and a rise in support for Sinn Fein again.

• This post by Paul is the perfect No promotion quote. As you said TT this is clearly in black and white the negative impact of the treaty. I find it hilarious reading comments above from Pro Treaty people saying the no side are engaging in negative scaremongering with no facts. As TT has just quite rightly pointed out, all we have heard from the yes side is “what if” and references to calamity and how we’ll end up like Greece (Gilmore) and how this is a treaty on membership of the Euro (Kenny). Both are infactual lies with no basis in reality. On the flip side the no side are dealing in reality. If this treaty is passed we are indefinitely handing over our economic sovereignty to unelected bureaucrats who never have to spend a day living here, being sick here, growing old here, raising children here or dying here. That is a fact. The people controlling our pursestrings wont even be Irish. Now, if you guys think that’s sensible, I truly give up on this nation.

• If we vote NO it won’t be accepted anyway! This is Irish Democracy. Horrible thing to say but Niece, Lisbon……and they still want more

• Twill pass here, more is the pity. I think though that it’ll never see the light of day in the real world though.

• I think so far the way the campaign has evolved in the last two weeks I’m not completely surprised that the YES vote is up.

So far the YES side has kept to a simple consistent message. Irrespective of whether people actually believe it or not it is a message that is based generally in hope saying to people that things will be better if they vote YES. Now some sections have thrown out the doomsday scenarios on voting NO but in general the tone of the message from the YES side is upbeat.
    The NO side on the other hand has generally played on the negative side of the argument, especially on the economic agenda. Again irrespective of whether people believe it or not, its not a message of hope encouraging people to line up behind it. The NO side would probably say they are being realistic about the economics of the treaty but in order to engage people you have to give them something to invest in and so far they haven’t done that.

I think the NO side need to change their tactics in the next few weeks if they are to have any hope of clawing back the support they require. In particular they need to offer a vision of Ireland’s future that is better by voting NO. There may be a lot of people yet to make up their mind or willing to change it but they need to have a reason to do so. So far that hasn’t been part of the NO message.

I also think there has been a little bit of complacency on the NO side in their campaign based on the way previous European referendums have gone. However this isn’t like the last few European referendums where lots of issues were thrown into the mix thus allowing a broad NO base to form. Instead its a very narrowly focused debate on economics and so far the NO side have tended to be the side reacting to the agenda instead of setting it as they did previously.

• Succinct and cogent analysis. I think we are all sick of austerity in this country and the NO side are fixated with the phrase. Much of the electorate are jaded as a result of the seemingly endless negative economic forecasts and are looking for a more hopeful message. SF etc. need to relent on the whole ‘ austerity’ message and give people a more tangible reason to support their campaign.

• Why do so many people see balacing the books as a bad thing, if we want to live in a true democracy we must pay for certain things and have a proper tax base. Paying a property tax and paying for water is part of that tax base. If the Greek government (along with most western governments) had not been buying votes for the last 2 decades or more and people actually paid tax like most democracys they might not be in this state, the fact of the matter is western Europe has been living beyond our means for the last few decades and it has caught up on us…every government in Europe are borrowing more than they take in.. it’s now time to live within our means even if it’s for the sake of our children. thats what this treaty is all about. How are the left going to close the deficit?

• How can you possibly talk about true democracy and vote yes at the same time.
      Unreal

• Do you have any opinions of your own or do you just comment on other peoples posts?

• Thats it? Thats ur answer?
      Sorry there Karl but that is just lame,
      no not lame, a better word would be limp.

• Give me one good reason to vote no, something realistic please?

• Realistic?
      Now in all fairness how can I possibly know
      about what you consider real.

Anyway Ill try.
      The is nothing democratic about handing over more power
      and control to fewer and fewer people who YOU do not elect.

Its yet another layer of elite(dont really like that word, but it will do for now)
      Its another step in disempowering average citizens
      both here and in Europe.

You say “How are the left going to close the deficit?”
      Really, do you think we can close the deficit by borrowing more?
      It doesn’t make sense.

• I am very curious, how they can continue they way we are without cutting anything, they seem to be against cutting anything always refering to the working man when infact the far left get their votes from people that never worked. Joe Higgins, RBB and that Murphy fella whose name escapes me now, none of them have ever worked or contributed to the Irish economy i their lives, they are like leeches living off the poor tax man

• You asked me a question,
      but your last post made no reference to it at all.
      Whats up with that?

• Karl, i have to laugh,
      its 40 minutes since your last post(confession)
      and you have 8 thumbs up and zero thumbs down.
      Hillarious! the aul back channel button got pushed, eh?
      Ya silly wee sausage ya. It’s sweet in its own way.

Whenever you get a chance, in your own time of course sir,
      you might share your thoughts on my response to your question.
      Muchas grassy arse

• Joseph McGee, your a likable lefty..there is a first for everything I suppose.. I still have not heard from one left leaning person how the deficit can be closed? I am intrigued! it seems easier to crack the enigma code than getting a realistic answer about the economy from the left.

• Left? Me…
      Im not so sure about that.
      I find it hard to put meself into any ‘bracket’ these days.
      I’m not soft, 6 years in the army, pensioned off due to accident,
      I realise im not hard, how many comprises have i made,
      so TBH i dont see meself anywhere.

Are you going to answer my question or not.
      If your not, its ok son, just tell me to fook off,
      at least that way id respect your upfrontness,
      and not waste me time time any more.

• Karl, I’m voting NO. That doesn’t mean I don’t want to see the books balanced. It means I don’t want to rip up the constitution to let a foreign power decide how to balance the books for us. I don’t know how I’ll be able to shake hands with a yes voter, thinking all the while the treasonous f##ker willingly signed the country away.

• Paula 13/05/12 #

Karl dont be a dope, answer the question

• Karl you have the ability to earn €100 only this may grow or shrink in time but that’s all you can earn this week. You have a choice you can feed your family or pay a bank (that may or may not have lent you money)

What do you do? Feed your family of course.

Now enter the constitution altered by the fiscal treaty. This says you must pay the banker and starve.

And if you don’t you will be fined an unlimited amount.

Economics, stability, bond holders, jargon the bottom line is really simple vote No

• Red C has proven to be the most accurate at forecasting results of elections in the past.
    SF only oppose this treaty because it keeps them In limelight . Nothing to do with rights and wrongs of issues as os evident by a lack of alternative. This thought is reflected in recent rise in party support

• Well, I’m delighted and I hope the no side lose even more heavily. If you’re wondering why I’m gloating specifically here, someone here at the Journal revoked my access today in the middle of a discussion with “no” side folks.

I’m back this time on Twitter and while I may be blocked again, I’ll just set up another account.

These are low, mean tricks, folks.

LOW AND MEAN.

Are ye a news website or a propaganda website?

• Interesting point but reality must be getting home to people. Sinn Fein are offering the same banter with no solution. They treat the fiscal treaty as a parochial issue,thinking everything can be changed to suit their manifesto which is nonsense anyway. What will they come up with for the remainder of the campaign

• Form an orderly queue on the 31st and please everyone vote a resounding YES so that we can build for a prosperous future for everyone.

• Form a queue at the airports if this is passed.

• Please explain how keeping to a maximum deficit of 0.5% is going to lead to a prosperous future for everyone when the interest we pay on our money supply is far higher than 0.5%? Can’t you see that this requirement mandates a shrinking economy?

• Nucky,
      for a properous future for everyone???
      HA HA OOOhhhhhhh haha……
      You’re either a comedian or a tad deluded!

It’ll be a prosperous future for a few alright.

• A mixture of growth and debt forgiveness. We will be back to 4% growth within 3 years and we will have an orderly default of most of our banking debt.

• @tom I don’t see how consistently spending over 0.5% on a current account deficit (note the structural deficit doesn’t include 1 time infrastructural spending) will allow us to balance our books, real growth doesn’t come from the government consistently spending more than it takes in, it comes from the private sector.

• Most Scandinavian countries keep a structural deficit of below 0.5% and they’re doing pretty alright for themselves!!

• limofax 12/05/12 #

You’re bang on there Dave. It just goes to show that social democratic governments work

• So basically Nucky you think that when we are bound legally more to Europe, the crowd of bureaucrats that tied banking debt on a concrete block of the Irish states feet, to save German banks, you think that they will feel philanthropic all of a sudden because we changed our constitution in line with orders from Germany. That’s why you’re voting yes? Can you just clarify that for me?

@David – When are the Yes side going to accept that this treaty is not about living within our means or bringing down our debt and more about having unelected bureaucrats who don’t have to live in this country, raise children in this country, grow old in this country, get sick in this country, be taught in this country, die in this country decide what WE DO with OUR TAXES! This cannot be undone, it’s irreversible. You are happy to have unelected bureaucrats be in command of the economic sovereignty forever without ever stepping a foot in our country. If you are, you would want to seriously address your love for your nation and everything this country stands for.

We may be in a spot of trouble everyone, we may have seen better days but for God sake, please do not fall for the petty arguments and ramblings of the yes side, a side who have lied to get into office only 12 months ago, a side who had Bertie Ahern at the helm for nearly two decades, a side who has ulterior motives. Please do not sign away the economic sovereignty of our great nation at the behest of a few multinationals who’d leave this country if they could do business somewhere with a lower tax rate. Love your country and respect your forefathers and I say this as a centre right advocate and not a Sinn Fein supporter. This time round Sinn Fein are looking out for Irelands future!

• I agree limofax

• The stupidity and gratuitous cynicism of the ‘no’ proponents on this site is just depressing. I feel like uninstalling the app.

• The stupidity and gratuitous cynicism of the ‘no’ proponents on this site is depressing. I feel like uninstalling the app.

• Encouraging to see the continued growth in the vote for stability, investment and common sense.

• Vote yes for jobs & lots of em!

• Until a more credible option than sinn fine or the socialists comes up with ideas on how to run this country a yes vote will prevail.

Fine gael are far from perfect but who else is there?

• Hahahahahaha, your hillarious Jimmy, Sinn Fein and integrety in the same sentence, great sence of humour.

• I agree we need full protection on children’s rights, and for their voices to be heard, I will be reading the treaty very carefully, from words to word to make sure no gimmicks is coughed up that will endanger the child, I do not trust this bloody government to do the right thing for any child, France’s Fitzgerald was responsible for a few deaths of children who were a care home, and the lost of a childs life to me is like loosing my child who died, cot death, but I really sincerely care about the future of any child and well being, as I was brought up in a residential home and it is no joke, horrible experience, so I understand children, and when they seperate from their parents, it’s like everything died before you, going into a strange place, not knowing anyone, trying to cope with everyday life in care and feeling isolated from the ones you loved and may never see again, I was only 3 years old when I lost both my mum and dad , who were in a car crash, I was staying overnight with my auntie and boy i remember two Garda knocked on my aunties door and came into the hall, I thought it was my mum and dad, but it wasn’t, I sat on top of the stairs and I heard the Garda telling my auntie that my mum and dad were in an accident and that my mum had died on her way to the hospital, and that my dad was on a life support machine, I ran down the stairs and sobbed my heart out, I cried for days, so the social workers allowed me to live with my auntie, then my auntie two weeks later had a stroke and died and a social worker took me by the hand and off into the car to a residential home where I stayed till I was 15 years old then I was kicked out and I had a choice, hostel or a flat, I choosed my first home in a flat on my own and we t to school, so I do understand and I will not sign up for any dogy referendum that does not protect the children of the future, I have two twin girls and I love them so dearly, I would give my life for them,

• The NO campaign’s biggest problem, despite the assumption that the Irish electorate is stupid & won’t see through their attempt to inexplicably link the Treaty to painful cuts, is the arrogant & incessant complain/ assumption that all those voting YES have been “scared” into voting YES.
    Anyone I’ve canvassed, voting either YES or NO, has said that they’ve read the Treaty & made their mind up accordingly.
    The more the NO side gets gimmicky (complaining about the Govt’s leaflet while misquoting economists on their own OR complaining about the Taoiseach not willing to debate on TV while Gerry Adams refuses to debate Micheal Martin!), they more ground they lose.

Indeed, the NO side has been doing some rather not-so-subtle scaremongering of their own!

• Paul, ‘painful cuts’ are enshrined in the treaty. In Irelands case a ‘yes’ vote necessitated 5-6 billion in EXTRA cuts in 2015 to reduce the structural deficit from 3.5% to 0.5%, and the a further 20 YEARS of cuts beyond our control which will be etched in our constitution via the 1/20th rule.

This is not scaremongering like the ‘what if’ tactics manufactured by the ‘yes’ side, this is in black and white.

• This post by Paul is the perfect No promotion quote. As you said TT this is clearly in black and white the negative impact of the treaty. I find it hilarious reading comments above from Pro Treaty people saying the no side are engaging in negative scaremongering with no facts. As TT has just quite rightly pointed out, all we have heard from the yes side is “what if” and references to calamity and how we’ll end up like Greece (Gilmore) and how this is a treaty on membership of the Euro (Kenny). Both are infactual lies with no basis in reality. On the flip side the no side are dealing in reality.

• Test

• I wonder how many people have actually read the treaty, rather than learning about it from Sinn Fein’s telephone pole posters? From the comments here, I’d say few if any.

Good to see common sense prevail all the same.

Add New Comment