TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Let us know: What do you think of the Budget?

So now that we’ve heard the entire Budget, what do you think? Was it better or worse than you’d expected?

Michael Noonan presenting the Budget folio earlier today
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

So that’s it – we now know the full details of Budget 2012. But what did you make of it?

Some of the details that came out today included details on who’ll have to pay the Household Charge; the 25c hike on a packet of cigarettes; the tax increases on fuel; and stimulus plans aimed at first-time buyers.

So what do you think? Was it was bad – or worse than – you feared? Or maybe you’d been prepared for worse after all those government ‘leaks’ which never actually materialised? Is there any one area that’s going to affect you?

Let us know in the comments…

All the latest news on Budget 2012 >

Read next:

Comments (82 Comments)

• rfeer 06/12/11 #

A spineless budget, they should have introduced a higher tax band on incomes over say 100k.
    Likewise stop paying out child benefit to households earning over this amount.
    Review social welfare entitlements i.e a parent working/living here and claiming for children they may have in other countries.
    Spend money on a joined up system whereby they enter your PPS No. and they can see if you’re working, on dole, getting rent relief etc. Plug a hole in the hemorraging social welfare sys and there would be no need for such drastic cuts.
    And remove the perks of retired TDs, phones cars etc.

• @rfeer, ah but you assume the left hand knows what the right hand is doing within the confines of Leinster House and it’s departments but the truth is they haven’t a foggiest clue how to do anything and most of them have been in their too long to see the wood for the trees.

• When they took €88euro from the disabled young adults who were getting €188 a week, that made me sick to my stomach. And then likes of Bertie on his €3,000 euro per week pension getting a cut of 80euro. I hope Enda Kenny that you are mighty pleased with yourself because that decision is disgusting. SHAME SHAME SHAME

• I agree all this crap about us all in it together and nobody can escape the cuts.Well they did escape the cuts the same politicians escape the cuts…..we really are the lowest of the low when we reduce the disability allowances on those who would never be ever get a job due to sever disabilities fking low life Enda Kenny and Eamonn Gilmore.Least you can sleep easy can always look in the mirror and keep blamimg the other shower…but guess what we are sick of this one trick pony excuse.at least the last shower had the decenccy not to take from those in society who cant fight or speak up for themselves.but we will wait cause we are getting closer and closer to civil strife

• I have to agree Siobhan I think that’s the most disgusting cut I’ve ever seen €188 to €88!I’ve started a new job an have a daily round trip of 300km so the diesel hike and 2% vat increase on top of that will hit me hard but it’s still nowhere near as bad as the disability cuts!!!

• todays tv3 afternoon show stated it costs an average of 5.5 m euro per TD , of tax payers money to fund their pensions ……………………. cowan 54yrs …………………bertie well under 65 yrs
    big savings to be made if they did’nt get a pension until the same age as the rest of us !!!!!!!

• Apart from VAT and motor increases I’m not affected, however I’m appalled that the elderly, lower paid and disabled are once again being screwed royally. At least the airlines will be making plenty of money, if only on one way tickets

• @ magic Kelly. No it wasn’t just today I that I decided that I’m ashamed to be Irish that was a long time ago. Today I can honestly say I feel like I wish I wasn’t born. Never mind having to look at my son tonight and know that he looks just like jus great grand father who fought and died for this free Ireland. I never voted for this party. Or the last. Iv worked since I’m a teenager. And only lost my job last year so iv never relied on hand outs. Iv paid my taxes. I’m taking care of a child with downs syndrome. C.P, Epilepsy, severe brain damage. He can’t eat, drink, walk, talk, or even hold his own head up. He’s fed through a tube. And needs nappies. And what did this shit head minister say on rte news at 6 last night? I’ll tell you. He said disabled or not. He should be out there getting training and employment like every other teenager. Talking about our government been out of touch with the people. This speaks for it’s self.

• It’s a crying disgusting shame Jeanette………………how they can sleep in their beds…

• I hope that anyone saying that this is a “good” or “fair” budget, or that cuts are absolutely necessary, reads your story, Jeannette, and thinks about what it’s going to mean for people.

Absolute disgrace.

• Well said jeanette, they say young disabled people should be out working when this.is just not a possibility in a lot of cases. The government are a bunch of thieves. Best of luck to you and ur family, hope you can weather this storm.

• Jeannette….it’s people like you who are the unsung heroes in my eyes….working day & night selflessly to care for your child….life is difficult enough without having to beg for entitlements for you & your son. It makes me sick.

• very easy….their kids well protected disgusted to hear that prick howlin yesterday evening retort that disabled or not they should go out and get training….well minister some groups such as st michaels or cheeverstown do train people with disabilities but you put paid to those services by cutting their grants and were are these jobs that are supose to be out there….unless you were employed by fine gael and get a €37k pay rise and a job in the public sector as an advisor on jobs…were would u get it a person who never create a job gets a job as a jobs advisor only in ireland…it is time people stood up to this shower before we have four more of these german budgets….we should march and bring serrvices to a halt….we gave no government party a mandate to target the disabled children and adults in this state….they are the only people that can genuinely say we did not cause this mess it was the so called intelligent people of this state that destroyed our country….they should not be allowed to destroy the weakest of the weak now

• I must say I expected worse, having said that this death by a thousand cuts that’s been ongoing for some time now does make emigration seem more and more appealing every time.

• What strikes me most is the “death by a thousand cuts” approach that has left the worst-off in our society more impacted than the better-off, proportionately speaking. A thoroughly unimaginative and unfair budget.

• As a lone parent of a severly disabled 16 year old. This budget has cut our soul. I have 3 children. 16,15,10, so I’m cut on child allowance. Fuel hikes. Back to school allowance. Etc. Nobody seems bothered about this budget but the carers. Enda and his party havnt the balls to take anymore from the general public. But the will come in the back door and take from the disabled. Family’s, elderly and most vunerable. I’m ashamed to be Irish today.

• Only today? It took you until today to be ashamed to be Irish? I guess the whole YES to Lisbon, people throwing away their Sovereignty, Independence and prostituting the economic futures of our country and kids to the EU/IMF and banks went right over your head up until now?

Did you vote for Enda and his 5 Point Plan

• May god forgive them
    Taking from the very people they should be looking after god help them poor families with children who depended on the disability allowance
    It nothing short of discrimination against people with special needs

I have said it before
    SHAME ON THEM

They have stooped so low

• FF lite. Not a jobs budget. No imagination and a lot of bull shit spouted by Howlin, J. Bruton and Noonan. No interest for the Irish citizen here I guess our ‘leaders’ were to busy tugging their forelocks in the direction of the EU/ECB/IMF to consider us.

Taking money from the disabled and cutting the fuel allowance makes them the lowest of the low.

• Aydo 06/12/11 #

Doesn’t really affect me.

Except having to pay more for stuff with less.

• Not in the least bit surprised. When it’s the high paid writing the thing it’s obvious that the low paid etc. are the ones to be hit. Have a question though if Patrick Nulty votes against it, he will be the only member of the labour party to actually vote in line with labours stated policies. If so why wouldn’t he not be the only TD to retain the whip?

• They say road tax going up in different tax bands. But what are the tax bands for cars registered before July 2008. Tax bands are on the Co2 so what’s the increase older cars.

Maybe they’ll get 1 or 2 of the potholes fixed with the extra revenue.

• Noonan, Nama and Co gives away ‘Prime” Irish property to faceless American Property Speculators (some who may have been declared Bankrupt 3 or 4 times in their lifetime).

Nama and The Irish Taxpayer Owned Banks give ex Bankrupt Faceless American Speculators large Mortgages to purchase The ”Prime” Irish Property on ”Soft Terms”.

Meanwhile the banks that are owned by the citizens of Ireland lend Zero!! to their loyal Irish customers who have supported them over the years.

Then these Faceless ex Bankrupt American Speculators who are funded to the hilt by Irish taxpayer money decide to asset Strip these ”Prime” Irish Properties bleeding every cent out of them…..They may even
    Re-Mortgage them for twice what they are worth with the help of The Irish Taxpayer owned ”Banks”.
    This leaves the Irish taxpayer with nothing more than, more debt!!

Meanwhile our ”Great Irish Leaders” continue to Persecute and Torture Innocent Irish families and business’s subjecting them to a life sentence of
    Bankruptcy!!
    Bad Credit Ratings!!
    No Funding!!
    High Taxes!!
    Immigration!!
    Isolation!!
    And Finally!!
    Suicide!!!

DISGUSTING!!!!

• FF DeJaVu

• Motorists getting priced off the roads. Hard to agree with cuts on items and services such as hearing aids and special needs education. We had to cut but surely other areas could have covered special needs and such. How much are we spending on embassy’s does anyone know?

• I favor the policy of economy, not because I wish to save money, but because I wish to save people. The men and women of this country who toil are the ones who bear the cost of the Government. Every dollar that we carelessly waste means that their life will be so much the more meager. Every dollar that we prudently save means that their life will be so much the more abundant. Economy is idealism in its most practical form.
      Calvin Coolidge

• Ah here, Seán, are trying to say that people on low to lower middle income should be thankful for these cuts?

• Niall, I think the quote is selfexplanatory.
      Coolidge acknowledges the fact that the burden of the state is borne by working people.
      The more profligate and wasteful the state is, the greater the burden is on working people.
      The more prudent and efficient; the burden diminishes.
      I can’t find the part with salary brackets in it.

• I think it’s pretty self-explanatory too Seán. The income brackets are relevant because these are the people who are primarily affected by the budget. For me, cuts and small government are not necessarily prudent or A Good Thing in and of themselves, nor do they necessarily breed “efficiencies”. Especially given the form they’ve taken in this budget.

• If you accept Coolidges premise that those who toil bear the cost of government, you might appreciate his point the government has a duty to minimise the burden it places on working people.
      In that light is the government justified in continuing with:
      Bondholder bailouts
      Bank bailouts
      Maintaining 800 quangos
      Pouring money into one of the most expensive and poorest performing health services in Europe
      Maintaining pay levels to one of the highest paid civil/public sectors in Europe
      Nama

• But you may or may not accept that the State has a duty to respect, vindicate and facilitate certain basic rights for all of its citizens, regardless of their colour, creed, or wealth:

The right to health, the right to education to the best of one’s ability, the right to to decent housing and adequate food – essentially, the right to a life of dignity, and the opportunity to fulfill one’s potential.

Service delivery in these areas is the fundamental function of government, and should remain the priority, regardless of any budgetary concerns. Everything else is fair game, but mindless cuts in these sectors are, to me, unacceptable. Do you think that cutting from the HSE is going to magically make it “better”?

• The state has been providing services “regardless of budgetary cocerns”. That’s the problem. All government expenditure is provided ultimately by taxpayers.
      You may realise someday that all taxpayers are not wealthy. Even people on benefits pay taxes via VAT, excise etc.
      Many taxpayers would like to be able to provide for their own families especially when the public finances become unsustainable because the state tended to show no regard for budgetary concerns.

• How is cutting part time workers dole incentivising employment – for many of them its not going to pay to work anymore.

• Other than the VAT going up 2 percent I am good. Last year I lost 12 euro per month, this year 0. I am singe, tenant and no children. We dont get hit by these budgets. I am sorry for anyone else, I guess I am lucky again.

• Deirfidh mé arís “what a load of liathróidí”

• What “beggars belief” is that the public sector somehow thinks it is beyond reproach. I’m a part time worker, with a small child who has to make up the time, when my child is sick, my minder is sick, or, in the last year, when my father was dying. So now I’m faced with holidays owing to me and they now want to deduct the days that I took off for my father’s removal and funeral! Would that ever happen in the public sector????

• In a word no, and I am not one for public sector bashing.

• Nope in the public sector they can fall back on their sick days allowance…..Heard Gilmore on the radio this morning saying that the government signed up to Croke Park and you must honour what u sign….Funny i could have swore i saw Ruari Quinn sign a declaration that student fees would not go up….now i wonder what did happened to that signed agreement eamonn.Oh yeah that is what we call a lie in the real world…..Gilmore also said in the same interview that we have to put europe first and have the euro sorted and Ireland second…..Good to know how hard they are fighting in Europe to have these bond holders burnt..public sector will never be touched or reformed by the politicians as they too are public sector…. turkeys dont vote for xmas

• Beyond reproach? What the hell do you mean by that?! The public sector had a very significant pay cut in the 2010 budget as well as the pension levy. This has amounted to a loss of approx 30% of take home pay for frontline public sector workers. And yesterday it was announced that we would lose 5% of allowances & 10% of overtime. I haven’t seen one comment by a public sector worker complaining about this and yet you see fit to attack us for being “beyond reproach”?
      You may sneer at yesterdays alterations to our pay, consider them insignificant, no less than we deserve. For many of us, however, these cuts will mean the difference between struggling to pay our mortgages and being unable to pay our mortgages.
      For future reference, please educate yourself on the difference between public sector and civil service. Most of the bitterness on this site which is aimed at public sector workers actually refers to practices, “perks”, and entitlements which are commonplace in the civil service, NOT in the public sector.

• I think the point is, Deirdre, that it shouldn’t be happening in the private sector either.

• Good budget. I would have liked to have seen a sugar tax and a wealth tax though. Making the same in January as I will make this December.

All in all the government are doing very well against all odds. I was prepared for much worse.

• Expect Budget 2012 will cost me about €300 almost entirely on VAT. So only a fraction of the hike compared to last years budget (1/5 or 1/6).

• ditto. Expected worse…

• I’m pretty much untouched by it as well, give or take VAT, maybe some other small charges I haven’t factored in.

I could have afforded to pay a little more, and I wouldn’t have minded it.

I’m worried about what this is going to mean for those who are already on the brink, my fear is that it’s going to be the budget that drives thousands of people into poverty, that’s a huge problem for all of us. Never mind the effects what the reduced spending power is going to mean for shop owners and the economy as a whole.

• I don’t mind it. Nothing out of the ordinary or what hasn’t been introduced in other European countries..

• It’s because of people like you Danny with the “i don’t mind” attitude that they will continue to take take take and know they can get away with it easily

• Maybe because I lived in Poland, where average monthly income is at some €1000 a month, VAT goes up to 25% next year, and somehow people live and these days complain much less than here. I’m sorry that I can’t complain…

• Thats it Danny. I pay a shitload more taxes in the Netherlands so Ireland is still good for me. Other than that the retail prices are way too high. Retailers should be ashamed of themselves, they are the ones milking the people in this country.

• From the Sopranos to the Westies same old same old

• It’s time to stop this public sector bashing!!! A large number of public sector employees are not on huge saleries as the media likes to portray. Many of the public sector are on modest incomes and they work very hard for what they earn. There is no doubt that It is very difficult for those in the private sector. There is no denying they have taken a serious hit. but it time to appreciate the hard work many of the public sector do…remember the guards, the nurses, the ambulance crews, the doctors, secretaries that send out appointments and type much neede letters etc many of these people are working in very difficult situations on a daily basis. Sometimes abused or injured when trying help people in need! but we still try to help! We ARE taking some of the pain. We have taken considerable cuts. Many of us are stuggling to pay bills too and at the same time we do realise we are lucky to have a job. We cant all be gotten rid of or the country would be in a bigger mess. The next time you feel like slagging the public sector think about having no ambulance service, no nurses, no doctors, no guards etc!!

• David 06/12/11 #

It’s the closest thing you will get to a giveaway budget in these austere times! Good to see they are starting to reward the worker and incentivise employment instead of social welfare. The opposite of which is what FF did for far too long.

• Why couldn’t they have brought in a change to the pensions for the politicians that they would have to be…oh let me see…PENSION AGE 65! in order to get their pension. Or why didn’t they bring in changes that would mean Pensions for past ministers would be means tested. I’m sure Bertie is still charging for this “presence”. They are quick enough to means test the rest of us when they want to.

• David, as above, I’m interested to see if you have any comment on this:

“A family with three children on €150,000 p/a down about €1,020 p/a, family of 3 on Social Welfare down about €1,070 p/a”

• David what planet are you living on? I work an average of 15 hours a week, this is all the work I can get! I’m now down €28 a week before vat etc. if I quit my job I can go back to full dole plus rent allowance! Now where is the incentive to work there?

• David 06/12/11 #

@ Niall – What’s your point? Who’s contributing more? Tax payers can’t be expected to endlessly fund social welfare increases and not be entitled to anything back themselves in my opinion.

• David 06/12/11 #

@ Adam – There is an incentive for you to get a full time job.

• So, the same cut for a family taking home around €20k at a push as for a family taking home €150k is fair, is it?

• @ Niall, what is your take on the VAT?

• I think that the budget as a whole is an utter disgrace. It’s about hitting the most marginalised and powerless with the bulk of the cuts, and leaving high earners essentially unscathed.

The VAT increase is going to be counterproductivve – it’s will depress the economy by reducing demand, and will disproportionately affect those who can least afford it. Same goes for all these flat rate measures, which cost the same to everybody regardless of their income. Of course, most of the revenue measures have had that character.

• I was actually to the fairness of the VAT because its the same for the rich and the poor. So VAT for someone making 150k/a is the same for the person on welfare. But nobody seems to mind that.

• If I take home €20k, and I have to pay, say, €300 in extra VAT in a year is about 0.015% of my income.

If I take home €150k, it’s 0.0002%.

That’s 75 times as much, proportionally. Still seem fair to you?

That’s without even starting on other cuts.

• Agree with that analysis. I’m a middle income worker with young kids. I’ve only really been hit with VAT, property tax and increased motor tax. Ill comfortably survive. I have sympathy for anyone one welfare, especially anyone who can’t genuinely work, however, I believe people have to start accepting they can no longer be owed a living by the State. It seems a process has begun to wean people off welfare and encourage them back into work. I’m not a right winger but im fed up listening to people complaining about cuts to their state handouts like it grows on trees and is a birth right to them.

• @david the point I’m trying to make is there is no full time employment for me! When I lost my last job I went straight out and got a few part time hours in my local bar. I had to wait 9 weeks for social welfare ( including 1 1/2 weeks just for an appointment to submit my form) I meanwhile had to pay my rent, esb, bins etc. from what little savings I had. I hate being on the dole, I’d love a full time job but I paid my way during the good times but I’m being screwed in the bad because I try to support myself!

• Where are the jobs going to come from? Where are people going to get funding to start up their own businesses?

If you can answer that, maybe this “incentive” argument might hold some water.

Way I see it, if we wanted to “wean” people out of a “welfare culture”, that should have been done when there was full employment, not at a time of chronic unemployment.

• @ Niall. YEP. It is fair. Only a communist would try to punish success. If the family on 20k wants more money they better be prepared to work for it.

Some amount of whingers on here who think the world owes them a living. Get off your backside and work for it if you want it.

• David 06/12/11 #

@ Niall – I think you need to brush up on your maths. The person earning 150K doesn’t take home that much. They pay a hell of a lot of tax out of it. And if you “take home” 20K p.a you will not be paying €300 in extra VAT in a year despite what the tabloids are telling you. People weren’t weaned off social welfare when there was full employment as should be the case so it has to be done now. We are where we are and we have to fill the deficit a right the wrongs of the past.

• David, I specifically said a person taking home those amounts, it’s a hypothetical example. another point is that SW money generally goes straight back into circulation on living expenses, so benefits the economy as a whole, where those on high incomes earn so much in excess of ordinary living expenses that much of there earnings can tend to be taken out of circulation.

Daniel, so, asking people to bear the weight of these “adjustments” according to their means amounts to punishment now, does it?

Think it’s pretty naïve to assume that hard work will inevitably lead to a higher income, also. Especially seeing that, at the moment there aren’t jobs to be had, or funds to start up businesses.

There’s a sense of entitlement operating in this country, not just among those on social welfare – we all have obligations to the wider society. Will be a pretty dismal place to live in 5 years time if we lose sight of that, as appears to be happening.

• @ Niall, apparently I didnt explain myself clear enough. I meant VAT is an unfair tax because its the same for everyone, for the rich and the poor. But no one seems to talk about VAT. Funny, I got 8 thumbs down for saying the same thing as you with 11 thumbs up. Shows that the people have no idea what they are talking about.

• Fair enough, chief – was surprised at you saying VAT was “fair” alright, but that’s how I read it.

• We all need to accept cuts must be made! We are in a bad way as a result of past mistakes!!! We need to accept whats happened, learn from it and make a better future for all of us. What’s needed is a bit of balance. People need to realise that money can’t be handed out at a level that creates a disinsentive to look for work or take up jobs. We cant keep give money and getting nothing back! On the other hand we have an obligation as a country to look after the vulnerable in our society. This could be any one of us at any stage!!!

Add New Comment