You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AS IT HAPPENED

AS IT HAPPENED: Remembering the Easter 1916 Rising

The flags, the colour and the pride – follow everything that’s going on here.

ALL ACROSS THE country, people are remembering the events of 100 years ago as the Easter Rising kicked off the most tumultuous periods of recent Irish history.

We’ll kept you up to date on everything that happened across Dublin – where most of the official commemorations took place – and what you were doing in other areas of Ireland.

Good morning and happy Easter to you.

We’re here today to remember everything that happened in Dublin’s city centre 100 years ago, just before the Rising kicked off on Easter Monday.

It’s Sinéad O’Carroll with you for the day. Please get in touch and let us know how you’re celebrating the occasion.

The parade kicks off at 10am and it promises to be a pretty spectacular event with thousands of Defence Forces personnel involved and an unimaginable amount of preparation.

And they’re not done yet.

Our reporter Catherine Healy is out and about, catching some of the last-minute rehearsals.

If you’re still planning to get into the city, be aware that most of the roads are closed to traffic and everybody is being urged to take public transport (except for the Luas as the drivers went ahead with their strike action).

But, seriously, avoid bringing your own car. You’ll definitely regret it later.

stuck-in-gridlock-gif

The main Sunday Parade begins at 10am at Stephen’s Green, proceeds to the GPO and then ends at Bolton Street at around 3pm.

Here’s the route: 

PastedImage-46639 See bigger version See bigger version

With the Flags for Schools initiative – where the Defence Forces delivered a tricolour to every primary school – children really got into the commemorations.

We’ve received countless videos and photos from teachers across the country, showing off their pupils projects.

The latest comes from St Joseph’s NS Tullamore. This pretty cool photo the culmination of serious organisation and a good drone camera.

PastedImage-88688

And here’s the video:

Tom McDermott / YouTube

From Catherine Healy who is still at the Royal College of Surgeons.

PastedImage-67223

“This is where it all kicks in just a few minutes, outside the RCSI. Looking at the building today, it’s hard to imagine it housing an Irish Citizen Army garrison back in 1916. The ICA’s second in command, Michael Mallin, and Constance Markievicz were stationed here from the Tuesday of Easter Week until their surrender.

The RCSI is one of the few rebel-held buildings to have largely escaped significant damage during the violence. You can still see the bullet hole marks near its entrance from where I’m standing, though.

“I thought today was meant to be horrible but it’s really nice.”

“Give it time.”

“Oh yeah.”

Riveting weather chat amongst reporters here. What is the story though?

Met Eireann says that today will be “cool with a mix of bright or sunny spells and heavy showers of rain and hail, some of them prolonged in places, with a risk of thundery downpours”.

Windy in most areas, especially in Munster and much of Leinster, with fresh to strong southerly winds, veering southwesterly, but winds mostly moderate in the north and northwest. Maximum temperatures just 7 to 10 Celsius.

Passage East in Waterford has already seen some impressive hailstorms, according to reader Albert Cavallari.

PastedImage-39918

And we are GO.

Here’s Siptu’s contribution on Liberty Hall.

PastedImage-90165 Defence Forces Defence Forces

The flags of five groups that took part in the Rising – the Irish Volunteers, the Irish Citizen Army, Cumann na mBan, Na Fianna and the Hibernian Rifles – in position and set as the parade begins.

There really isn’t that many people around yet though…

The Sunday Independent has reproduced its report from 1916, with taglines of “Week of Horror” and “Thrilling Tales of Battle”.

Hearing the national anthem for the first time today – in the Stonebreakers’ Yard at Kilmainham Gaol.

There’s also a bit of a Mass happening there.

[Insert obvious joke]

Dougals Rabbit / YouTube

Sky News is also covering today’s events:

“Ireland is commemorating the centenary of the Easter Rising against British rule with the largest public event in its history,” it says.

See the video here.

27/3/2016 1916 Easter Rising Centenary Celebration RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

Taoiseach Enda Kenny’s first appearance was at the formal State ceremony in the Stonebreakers’ Yard where 15 the leaders of the Rising were executed between 3 and 12 May 1916.

Meanwhile, the flag carriers have arrived at Dublin Castle – the site of British rule in Ireland for so many years.

Morto for this person.

As always, the Irish abroad haven’t forgotten about the important days.

These lads are celebrating in Tongariro National Park, New Zealand.

PastedImage-82496

Thanks to Brian O’Connor for sending in the photo. Have a good one!

The Defence Forces are on Snapchat and worth a follow for the day that’s in it.

Maybe we could all rate their drills like this?

PastedImage-59202

More from our reporter Catherine Healy who is following the parade:

White lilies outside City Hall, a century after the building was seized by the Irish Citizen Army on the first day of the Rising. Dublin Castle next door was left alone but a policeman was shot dead at the castle’s Cork Hill gate, right behind us here, by Sean Connolly of the ICA. Connolly himself was later killed after being shot on the roof of City Hall.

PastedImage-69525

Bertie has been spotted. And he’s not in the cheap seats.

PastedImage-17904 Susan Daly / TheJournal.ie Susan Daly / TheJournal.ie / TheJournal.ie

That picture taken in front of one of the VIP stands on O’Connell Street.

PastedImage-88350

TheJournal.ie has published a number of accounts from people whose first-hand experiences contributed to the rich patchwork of testimony that chronicles the events of 1916.

One from an unnamed nurse details how the hospital she worked in had no gas, electricity or sterilisation equipment.

“Tuesday was the first day that any wounded were brought. Nine of these were detained and the rest were treated and discharged. One of the badly wounded, Margaret Nolan who was a forewoman in Jacob’s factory died that day, as did also James Kelly – a schoolboy who was shot through the skull.

“Another schoolboy John (Seán) Healy aged 14, a member of the Fianna whose brain was hanging all over his forehead when he was brought in, died after two days. Another man, Patrick Harris, died also on Tuesday of laceration of the brain.

Lucky visitors will have the best view on the street when the parade proper reaches O’Connell Street.

RTÉ’s Áine Lawlor went to great lengths to get the story today – making this young lad take off his warm GAA jumper to show off his 1916 t-shirt.

What follows is the best two minutes of TV we’ve got today.

By far.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Other highlights from RTÉ’s chats with parade-goers included the kid who said that he’s learned the names of all the signatories AND how to spell them.

• Thomas MacDonagh
  • Thomas James Clarke
  • Seán MacDiarmada
  • Pádraig Pearse
  • Joseph Mary Plunkett
  • James Connolly
  • Éamonn Ceannt

Not a mean feat, in fairness. That’s a lot of fadas.

Carrying the national flag is Lt Gearoid O’Briain, great-grandson of Cathal Brugha.

PastedImage-69456

Here’s Cormac Fitzgerald‘s view from North Frederick Street. The crowds are really out now.

27/3/2016 1916 Easter Rising Centenary Celebration Com. Pat Kelleher with a copy of the Proclamation of the Republic RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

We’re under way now at the GPO and it’s all looking very impressive.

Scenes from O’Connell Street:

There’s the Taoiseach now inspecting the guard opposite the GPO.

Meanwhile, the President has arrived.

Huge pride being felt around the city right now.

People looking forward to the reading of the Proclamation and *really* looking forward to the fly-pass.

The inspections of the guards all went off without incident there.

Luckily everyone’s shoes were shined, ties straight and buttons sparkling.

Ah yes, another bit of Mass here at the GPO.

Dougals Rabbit / YouTube

Fr Seamus Madigan says a prayer for all those lost their lives and fought for Ireland in 1916. He has been the head chaplain to the army since last September.

He hopes for peace and reconciliation in the century that stretches before us.

Children have come forward with a piper band to lay daffodils.

Before the children came out, we heard some powerful words from Fr Madigan.

Some beautiful music from the Defence Force’s Number 1 Band and Band of 2 Brigade under the baton of Captain Feargal Carroll.

The Proclamation is being read by Captain Peter Kelleher now.

He is from Douglas in Cork and joined the army in May 1999. He has served overseas three times, two of which have been as an officer.

His grandfather and granduncle were both members of the 1 Southern Brigade old IRA in West Cork. Both served during the War of Independence. He gave his wife his grandfather’s War of Independence medal on their wedding day as a token of all he owns.

His granduncle was shot and wounded in a confrontation with the Black and Tans and died of sepsis from the bullet wound while evading capture.

Captain Kelleher is doing a very impressive job here of reading the Proclamation.

Goosebump moment as the entire crowd is silence.

This will certainly be a moment to remember for these kids.

Hopefully we’ll have a better quality video of the Proclamation reading soon, but this will give a sense of how moving it was.

We’ve had a minute silence, followed by more music from the army bands at the GPO.

Next up, the tricolour will be hoisted to full mast and we’ll have Amhrán na bhFiann and a fly-past.

Hard not to get VERY patriotic during that upbeat version of the national anthem while watching the fly-past.

Here’s a rough version in case you missed it (along with some spontaneous, unintentional commentary).

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Our editor Susan Daly managed to capture this view of the fly-past which gives a better impression of the power of the moment.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

parade

The parade continues now as 3,000 troops make their way across the city. It’s expected to continue until 3pm.

Nothing quite like a rendition of Danny Boy to get the emotions stirring.

*cries*

A beautiful shot of Una O Callanáin at the Stonebreakers’ Yard in Kilmainham Gaol earlier today following the private wreath-laying ceremony for the 15 leaders of the 1916 Rising who were executed there.

She takes a closer look at the memorial wall where her grandfather Michael Mallin was killed.

27/3/2016 1916 Easter Rising Centenary Celebration RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

Captain Peter Kelleher – who read the Proclamation – is a pretty popular fella right now.

PastedImage-87772

Here’s that reading of the Proclamation, in full.

*waves tricolour*

It’s not all shiny shoes and music for our military…

PastedImage-85351 Susan Daly / TheJournal.ie Susan Daly / TheJournal.ie / TheJournal.ie

We’ll have a collection of great shots from today for you soon but first this from Keith Gordon Photography – a shot of the original proclamation that is displayed in the main foyer of Leinster House.

PastedImage-46828

Also, everybody is DELIGHTED the rain held off.

Pats on the backs, all round.

A few things we missed out on earlier.

This family.

*applause emoji*

Veteran pride

PastedImage-36406

*heart swells*

Gardaí on segways

PastedImage-7230

Never gets old.

Proof in the comments section that even the most cynical were moved today.

PastedImage-45549

Those ponchos though.

PastedImage-35004

PastedImage-43797

As the official events wind down, we’ve collected some of the best images of the day for you here.

And here are a couple of more favourites…

1916 Easter Rising commemoration Niall Carson / PA Wire Niall Carson / PA Wire / PA Wire

Ireland Easter Rising AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

That’s it from us today.

We hope you enjoyed the commemorations – whether you were on the streets or cosied up in front of the telly.

We’ll be back tomorrow for more coverage of what’s happening around the country as the anniversary celebrations continue.

Happy Easter/chocolate eating.

Slán go foill.