Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 20 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

‘Magda’ says Irish Independent story was ‘completely not true’

Tra More beach in Donegal (File photo)
Image: Wikicommons

THE POLISH WOMAN at the centre of a controversial article which purported to describe her ‘wonderful’ life on the dole in Ireland has spoken out to say the description of her views was “completely not true”.

The woman, known only as ‘Magda’, told RTÉ Radio One’s John Murray Show this morning that the article in yesterday’s Irish Independent – based on an interview she gave to a Polish newspaper – had shocked her and said her real life is a “completely different story”.

The article said that ‘Magda’ thought that life on the dole was like a “Hawaiian massage” and said she had told the Polish newspaper that Donegal is a “shithole”. Labour senator Jimmy Harte reacted to the article by saying he would pay for the woman’s airfare to return to Poland.

However, the Polish ambassador to Ireland said in a letter to the newspaper that the article contained ”many inaccuracies”  which “could have been easily avoided if only the Polish article had been translated correctly or its content presented in a more objective manner.”

The original article in the Polish newspaper Gazeta Wyborcza revealed that while the 36-year-old did claim social welfare, it was not a situation she enjoyed.

‘Magda’ told The John Murray Show on RTÉ Radio that she had been told by friends of the controversy the Irish Independent translation of the article had caused.

At first I was completely shocked. You don’t know what to think. How is it possible for anybody to publish something that is just not true, completely not true and it’s not just misinterpretation, you know, or mistranslation – it’s just a completely different story.

She said things had been added to even the Polish version of the story but said most of it was about her actual life in a town near Letterkenny in Donegal. ‘Magda’ said that when she read the Irish Independent article she was “very worried”.

“People here, they know me well and they would know that this is not me,” she said.

The trained nanny revealed that she has lived in Ireland for the past six years and has been on the dole for the past year-and-a-half having previously worked in a hotels, hostels, and waitressing.

The thing is that jobs are scarce here. It is difficult, especially as I don’t drive so I can’t go to bigger towns.

“The other thing is that I worked in the hospitality industry and qualified as massage therapist and that’s something I wanted to do for a really long time and I decided that’s an option to start my own business, to do what I really want to do.”

‘Magda’ said that she has done a number of FÁS courses to help her set up her own business which she hopes to set up by Easter.

Of her actual lifestyle on the dole she added: ”My needs are not very high. That is in the article, I really try to live as cheap as possible. I don’t spend money on clothes, cosmetics, going out to the pub.

“I don’t have money for that. I have money for basic survival and that’s okay with me.”

Waitress told: ‘Go back to Poland’ after description of life on the dole in Ireland

Polish Ambassador responds to Irish Independent’s ‘Magda’ dole article: Full text

Read Next:

Comments (93 Comments)

• Cyphers Magee 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I read both articles, the indo one yesterday and the revised ‘true’ version. Not much difference between them in all honesty. Just another welfare scrounger leeching off the hard-pressed taxpayer expecting a free ride.

• JustDieter 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Resist from seeking attention my unlearned friend, at your age, you merely look foolish and insecure

• Réada Quinn 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

You’d want to adjust your BS antenna Cyphers. It was obvious to anyone with a brain it was a fantasy. One concocted as fodder for the imbeciles to keep them distracted from the big picture.

• John Brennan 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

“I have a big problem with being unemployed, I don’t want to live at the State’s expense and for that reason I use this assistance to allow me start up my own business” – Not what I think of when I think “welfare scrounger”.

• David O' Leary 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

While your comment clearly shows evidence of a well thought out, balanced and intellectual mind, has it occurred to you Cyphers, if that is your real name, that it is quite possible for the people of the country to be out of work and need social welfare for basic things like, oh I don’t know, food and shelter?

There is a very distinct difference between people with a desire to work, such as ‘Magda’, and the ‘spongers’ you refer to who couldn’t be bothered changing out of their PJ’s while paying a visit to the social welfare office.

But of course you knew that right?

• Declan Carroll 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

She’s been on welfare here in Eire for 2 years. 2 years !! Time a limit on claiming welfare was introduced. Glad the mess re the story was cleared up but a foreign national on welfare for 2 years. C’mon, folks !! “Scrounger” does come to mind.

• Madge W. 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Cyphers- reading with understanding is not an easy thing :)

• Michael Cuthbert 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Ah the true Declan returns: “foreign national on welfare for 2 years. C’mon, folks !! “Scrounger” does come to mind.” Reason and light? Woooosh…

Report this comment

No, Michael. U got it wrong.

Report this comment

Forgot to add to last reply that I apply the same argument to Irish nationals doing the same abroad. I don’t agree with Irish nationals doing the same, either. Past & present.

• Report this comment

I actually agree that there was not much difference, and I also don’t think alot of people actually read it at all, just used it as an excuse to show off their PC lifestyle, or so they think.

• Razy Fellah 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

k

• Razy Fellah 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Im a foreign national living in ireland.I really am shocked.
      I wouldnt really call myself a law follower or a 100% example citizen. But how do people get away with writting shit like this. True or not true.
      I am in college in ireland. Ive lived here for over half my life.
      I understand where all the fuss is coming about but cmon. Really? Livin the life on 70 quid a week.
      Just another way for our beautifull government to f*ck with our heads ahahhaha.
      Blame the minority to get richer of our tax money rather than to give more away.
      Poor attempt i must confess.
      Ohh and…
      Cyphers Magee.
      Your talking a load o s**te. Just coz a forener cant find a job dont mean that he dont have the option to stay here to try get that better opportunity that in his or her country they may not get.
      You cant classify everyone to what u want to just coz you want to go on yahoo and talk all this nonsense,
      Ye there is blood suckin leechers that come here an stay on the dole all their life. BUT there are also the majority that work an probly pay more tax than you ever did.Make a life here and integrate into the community. Have you ever worked in some of the jobs that foreign nationals do. NAHHH bet ye didnt pal. You dont really have a clue do ye? You just stumbled upon a story where you found a lil window to feel important.
      Bad news for people like you buddy.
      The world advanceswhile youre goin backwards buddy.
      Hate that.
      Good luck.

• JustDieter 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Magda I never believed it for a minute my lovely, we should do coffee some time x

• TheJohnMurrayShow 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

You can isten back to Magda on rte.ie/johnmurray

• Eileen Gabbett 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I heard it and Magda seems a lovely person and as normal
      and driven as the rest of us .Good luck to her for the future :)

• Susan Daly 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Hi guys,
      We had indeed embedded that link to the show’s site in the piece. But I’ve also since embedded a link directly to this morning’s show now too so that people can definitely find their way there. Great show this morning – thanks a mill,
      Susan Daly,
      Editor, TheJournal.ie

• John Mulligan 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

sorry John haven’t been able to listen to you since that crap interview with that crazy English IRA woman

• Conor Kirwan 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Pathetic really that two hacks would go out of their way to tarnish one person’s reputation with such lies. I see neither of the writers has yet had the balls to apologise!

• Tim Henchin 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

It’s the Independent. If you weren’t capable of making up stuff and have experience in tarnishing reputations or lying, then you wouldn’t get a job there.

• Paul M Brady 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The editor in chief is hardly known for directing his journalists towards fair and balanced reporting

• Reg 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

There are a few reasons why I would never pay money to read the Indo or Sindo. This story has just added another reason to this list.

• Report this comment

The story was an example of how Irish Media has been spewing propaganda and social welfare bashing for decades. I have seen these stories and more all of my life.

It reminds of something I heard years ago.

You may lie to your family. You may lie to your friends. Should you be allowed to lie to a nation?

Paul Joseph Goebbels would be proud of politically motivated journalists in the long established Irish media. They have been getting away with it for far too long. Maybe we need new laws to control politicians and their special relationship with the media.

Thankfully this sort of media is presenting reasonable Irish People with a more informed voice with the ability to shoot this propaganda down.

• Thomas Mc Carthy 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Chypers hopefully for you yea don’t get made redundant. How might your ego manage that one?

• JustDieter 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Apparently this ‘Cyphers Magee’ is a proud Thatcherite, Reaganite, Pro-Israel, opinionated conservative catholic and a passionate devotee of ‘fracking’

I think we both know what we are dealing with…a clown.

• Nuala Brennan 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@JustDieter Indeed, he is a clown .. looking for a circus. He may, though, find one – if a report in today’s IT is anything to go by:
      “” Asked if speaking out in favour of immigrant rights would have a positive or negative impact on their support at constituency level, only three TDs, or 4 per cent, said “positive”, 36 per cent replied “negative” and 58 per cent said it would make no difference. “” http://t.co/gP05iP06

• JustDieter 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Racism and ignorance exist, in some form, wherever people exist. It is an evolutionary carry over from our times of tribes and persists in even the most educated of minds and even more so in times of economic hardship. That said, in all my travels, I have never encountered a more warm, friendly, welcoming people than the Irish. Racism in Ireland is not a problem and not prevalent in Irish society, regardless of how the media portrays it. It reminds me of how one red topped Sunday Irish toilet paper sensationalizes crime and gangs in Ireland, it is incredible! To read this particular Sunday paper one would think Ireland is worse than Iraq and that Dublin’s suburbs are akin to the dark streets of Columbia or killing lanes of LA. If this poll/survey is to be believed, Nuala. I think the figure we must concentrate on is the majority of 58% that do not care, because in reality the majority of Irish people do not care for creed or color.

• Cyphers Magee 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Thomas, was made redundant before, emigrated, washed dishes, anything – didn’t languish on the dole for 2 years expecting others to stump up for my ‘lifestyle choice’.
      JustDieter – I am all those things and I stand behind my views, every one of them. You can argue your case, or in your case just resort to name calling.

• JustDieter 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Oh no, you misunderstood me. I am not name calling in any derogatory sense, I do actually believe you are an absolute clown.

• Greg Bourke 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

“You can argue your case, or in your case just resort to name calling.”

“Scrounger”

Pot meet kettle.

Report this comment

Correct re name calling, Cyphers. We all have different opinions on all issues & we all have the right to reply with our own opinions. Resorting to name calling & ignorance reflects the person replying. As the saying goes “I do not agree with what you have yo say, but I will defend your right to say it”. Resorting to personal attacks, name calling & the like reflects the person making such comments. Good natured banter in getting one’s view across will do nicely thank u.

• John Murphy 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

You’re right Dieter. The cooperation and respect that the Egyptian and Irish people had for each other during the terrible fishing tragedy in West Cork was an example of how real Irish people respect others that come to live and work with us. We will share the good times and help each other in the bad times and make this country a good place for everyone to live and work in.

• Réada Quinn 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Yeah Cyphers. Your type prefer to keep the claim of namecalling all to yourself. Clown!

• Eileen Gabbett 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Good manners cost nothing !
      Having an opinion costs nothing and
      accepting each others right to express that opinion costs nothing .
      I was well entertained with all the comments on yesterday’s article
      and also with the speed in which The Journal corrected and continued
      with the correct version..
      oh the sound of silence from certain contributers ,after the corrected version came to light…..Hmmmm! :)

• Joe Sixtwo 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Hugh thank you for revisiting this story. There are issues here that need to be addressed ; Unethical reporting, urban legends, discrimination and overpaid senators that do not even take the time to check sources of information before beating the populist drum.

• JustDieter 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Hear,hear!

• Thomas Mc Carthy 03/02/12 #
      Report this comment

You the man Chy, fair play to yea and so what. Like your the only Irish person that has done that. A lot of people don’t have that luxury to get up and leg it when the going gets rough, people have obligations in Ireland, family, kids etc. probably would have been better if year stayed gone for everyone we got enough tossers already here.

• Thomas Cooke 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Was the Irish “version” of the story an incitement to racism? An article printed in such a prestigious paper that is clearly not true and leads to a widespread outrage against any person or group is a very very dangerous incident.

• gingerman 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The indo is the best newspaper by far for wiping your ass with. I find the same day edition the most absorbent.

• Gerard Murphy 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

There was more than a translation error going on, there was an agenda against immigrants, the unemployed and the social welfare system.
    This agenda needs to be investigated, and serious sanctions against those behind it in the Indo.

• Norman Hunter 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

All compliants to The Press Council of Ireland.Yesterday’s story was a disgrace.Senator Harte has a few questions to answer.I wonder will he resign? maybe he should take that flight he was so willing to pay for.

• Daisy Chainsaw 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I see the Indo have deleted the original article from the website. Sad attempt at sweeping it under the carpet. Thank goodness for social media and websites like journal.ie challenging them.

Report this comment

I’m sure she is nice, Eileen. However – why stay in a country on welfare for up to 2 years ? Smacks a bit of scrounging to me. Why didn’t she return home ? Why not travel to another EU country ? Why stay here ? Why not indeed. I’m glad the mess re her story was cleared up, but she doesn’t impress me much now I have to say. Let’s stop fawning over her, inviting her out for “coffee” & ask why we, the Irish taxpayers, are paying a foreign national welfare for that length of time. Time limits on claiming welfare ought to be brought in. There needs to be a cut off point. The Indo has a lot to answer for, too. Their “reporting” was disgraceful. On the other hand, it has highlighted an issue that has to & needs to be discussed.

• Brian McKnight 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The article yesterday and today’s correction couldn’t be more different. The theme and tone of the articles are polar opposites.It is appalling Journalism and the person should be fired!
    It doesn’t take much for people to show they are racist in this country and Journalists have to be careful..
    The state has a welfare system and that is that. Being racist and wanting fellow Europeans not to get the same as the Irish on the welfare system is a disgrace, these people paid their taxes too. The system is wrong, the welfare system, it is too generous and encourages people to not accept lower grade jobs.The systems in other European countries are better, I believe in France you get almost your full salary (up to €71000) the first year, a reduction of it the second year and by year three it is very little. this encourages a person to re skill and reenter the workplace not become a sponge on the system. Here if you have kids and the choice is a low paid job or no job, there is no choice because the benefits outweigh the job.

• Morgan sandford 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The country was happy enough during the boom to have foreign workers come in and do the menial jobs, this lady did work for many years here, she made it her home, same way us Irish have done over the years in the UK and US, why because of a global economic crisis should she leave the place she has worked in and made a home in because she was made unemployed? She is doing courses and building her skills again like many others have had to do. I know many Irish who have been on the dole since they were 18 and are now in mid 30′s, maybe concentrate on actual long term unemployed who remained that way even when there was work in abundance instead of one case where the person being ridiculed just happens to be polish.

• Peter 66 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Irish people hide their true feelings very well. Irish people hide behind radio phone in’s & comment sites like this where they can act . Irish people are bent over the kitchen table & sadly Irish people will do nothing about it only whinge & moan & fight amongst each other, keeping the old divide & conquer rule alive & kicking.An old irishman I met while I was travelling gave me his opinion on irishness “put two Irishmen in a locked room with a fiver & only one will walk out “. I never believed his observation, now I’m not so sure.

• Réada Quinn 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Peter. Come on. No way do I believe that. I believe that we actually pull together more in times of crises. Certainly there are the loud voices of those that try to instil dissent but on the whole we are a warm hearted nation.

• Peter 66 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Réada, unfortunately Ireland as I know & loved it is no longer. We fucked it up & when I say we I mean all of us, we all played our part. Our nation is like a headless chicken running around bouncing off walls & it’s only a matter of time before it collapses completely. Everyday we are bombarded with bad news , sad news & lies. Our young are becoming our biggest export again just like the 80′s. I love this country because it’s embedded deep in my bones & its history deep in my heart. Nobody in power excites me & anything I have heard from the young pretenders bores me. The people that I admire in this country are the people that go against the machine & take the consequences, unfortunately none of these are in government.

• Réada Quinn 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Peter. I share some of your sentiments but we have great young people coming up. Trust me. There is a change coming. As Dieter likes to phrase it – an awakening – but he’s a romantic, a bit like ourselves I think. Don’t ever lose hope Peter. There’s no tax on that…

• Peter 66 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Réada,I agree with you that hope & our amazing young people are all we have left Hope we can hold on to, I’m not so sure of our young tho’. Teenagers of today have done nothing to deserve the choice they face after their education, stay & payback what is been swindled from them or leave their family & earn a living elsewhere. Your positivity is welcomed & warm.

• finbar m 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

When most ppl from other EU country’s leave Ireland weather they have been on the dole or not take there PRSI with them it goes into the country’s fund were they came from so when ppl say they paying for pension in Ireland that’s not true people should check the rules of the EEC befor they comment in here ,,,,,

• Luke Piskorski 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I wonder if the same would be said if this person was Italian, or Australian or from Jupiter.. Ah the Polish, they always get screwed dont they lol, we have it in out blood it seems

• Madge W. 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I have the same feeling. We definietely dont deserve this… Many lovely, understanding people but many cruel in opinions as well in this country…

Report this comment

I disagree with u, Luke. The same opinions would be applied to anyone including us Irish. People are entitled to air their opinions however good, bad or indifferent. I’m sure Polish people have similar opinions on this & other issues, Madge. So – I don’t agree with the “poor us. we’re being picked on” attitude. If what I hear is true, many Irish in Poland are being turned away from jobs simply because the are Irish. If that is true. Many, including us Irish, need to drop the “victim” status, speak up for oneself & deal with it.

• Matthew Callan 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

There is an absolute world of difference between the two articles. You are obviously either A. Trolling for attention or B. Genuinely intellectually challenged.

Report this comment

Even IF the article was true.. Who cares! My neighbour Paddy has been on the Dole since 18 he is 32 now hasn’t worked a day in his life, lovely lad.

Report this comment

And that is equally annoying. My attitude towards him would be just as vocal. He deserves to have his dole stopped & compelled to work. Or to work for his dole cleaning up & maintaining his environment, assisting elderly people or help the odd farmer work his land. No reason such a person should be on welfare that long, Luke. He makes me just as angry.

Report this comment

You are perfectly correct. There was an article i read not sure where, today maybe even independent , the Irish farmers were asking the govt for help for their spring season to help with harvest, because they simply can’t find anybody… I completely agree someone that is on the dole and capable of working should be required to help out, whether cleaning the streets, helping out with elders, community centers etc etc. A lot of people that are on dole are not uneducated, some of them do have very valuable skills, and experience where their communities can surely use… Now i dont expect them to help out for 40+ hrs plus overtime. But i think its reasonable say 20 hours a week

• Stephen Lowe 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

How gullible and naive are our politicians if they believe what they read or see on the news?

• gingerman 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

@peter1966. I agree only one Irishman would walk out. The one who volunteered to go to the bank to break the fiver so they could split the proceeds. Never to be seen again…

• Pilib O Muiregan 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Im Irish and have been out of work for the past 18 months like this woman. Ive a box full of letters from jobs ive applied for but still no work. The fact she has done courses with the aim of setting up her own business is something that many Irish will not do. As for the people calling limits to the dole in.this current climate this is not possible. You look at the amount of people umemployed and look at the amount of jobs availible. It dont add up. I sincerely hope those who used the word “scrounger” and those who are calling for a limit on the dole lose their job and then come back.and tell us its possible.to.live on 188 a week

• Fiona O'Sullivan 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I agree. Currently there is 1 job available in this country for every 26 who is unemployed. 26 won’t go into 1 no matter how hard you try. So the 1 is the lucky one who got the job and the other 25 revert back to their “scrounger” status that they have been labelled with. It is unfair. There are over 440,000 unemployed at the moment. It is no good coming out now and saying we must tackle the social welfare bill as realistically there is nothing that can be done about it. Not until the Government find some way of increasing employment. And that doesn’t look like it is going to happen soon. The people who are defrauding the benefit system are a minority, a bad minority, but a minority all the same. Yet all of the good people, who worked all their lives, paid all their taxes are now being tarred with the same brush. These people want to work. We cannot just wave a magic wand and magically reduce our social welfare bill by targeting the people who are on it through no choice of their own. As for the Magda story, people still on here claiming she is a scrounger because she is on the dole 2 years. The girl is trying to re-educate herself so she can open her own business. Clearly this education takes time too? Or would you prefer she just bugger off back to Poland and open her business there?

• Robert Hogan 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Now that the Indo has deleted this fantasy piece, they can go back to doing what they do best, stirring up irrational hatred of the public sector….

• Val Kearney 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I hope the Independent is going to be held accountable for this. They acted in a way that was completely reckless and irresponsible. A lot of people were sucked in by the sheer arrogance of the what the woman supposedly said (myself included) before the truth come out. I would at the very least expect them to print a full page apology to Magda and sack whoever authorised the article (and I don’t mean who wrote, I’m talking about the editor that gave instructions to write total lies to the journalist that wrote it).

• Phil Quinn 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Declan an Irish person on the dole for 14 years from age 18 is “equally annoying” to you as a polish person on it for 2 attempting to set up her own business?

• Report this comment

What a load of rubbish. I can not believe what I am reading here.

Report this comment

d

• Lukasz Windak 02/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Some people have to get real!!!!! I am a Polish national living in Ireland for the past 5 years; I have recently changedy job having worked for one of the banks for almost five years. When I started looking ( i mean looking) for a job, I had 5 interviews and 3 job offers within 3 months!!! I cant stand people saying there are no jobs out there, the fact is the dole in this country is way too high to make people move their asses and start looking! 188 a week+rent allowance+med card for watching daytime telly as opposed to 300 on the minimum wage when u actually spend the money on coffee, transport, lunches, etc. we had a case study in college and a family with two kids are better off on the dole + benefits than working for the minimum wage – only in Ireland! :)

• Report this comment

Hey Folks its the EU, Ireland scrounged from the EU purse for 30 years and now you want to kick out the people who weren’t Born here if they happen to become unemployed in a country that is going down the tubes as a direct result of the Ignorance I read in some of the comments above. Lets invite all the unemployed Irish in Brittan and Australia back here to live the lavish lifestyle on the dole with no hope of finding work because for every job on offer there are 26 people unemployed (do the maths geniuses). If half the country including immigrants hadn’t left in the last few years the unemployment figures would be more like 600,000.

• Report this comment

@Lukasz You work in the banking sector I am not surprised you found a Job so Easily(but that is another discussion). Look at it like this, if All the unemployed people in Ireland were to find a Job tomorrow that would mean that someone magically created 420,000 Jobs overnight. How do you think that is possible?? Just Curious

• Lukasz Windak 02/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Mark, how will you explain the fact that 3 Deli places next to my office were looking for staff and found it very difficult to get people in? I can understand and agree that in remote areas jobs are scarce but in Dublin or other big cities there are plenty of them, some people just work for the likes of Tesco, McDonalds and Spars. My main point is that until there is a time limit on dole payments – say 12 months in Dublin and 24 hours elsewhere, there will be no incentive for the unemployed to make an effort and start looking for jobs. Loads of people I know are on Jobseekers Allowance and send like one CV a week just to have something to show to the welfare. Unfortunately, being on the dole is a lifestyle for some people

• Report this comment

@Lukasz yes I would agree with you if there were enough jobs available for the 430,000 unemployed but the fundamental fact is that there are not, there are 13,000 jobs available at any time.. Even if there are a few deli places available and nobody wants them .probably because the only people who can afford to take a minimum wage job are single people sharing rent and expenses with a group of other people. Not Families who have real expenses. What do you think would happen if the 430,000 unemployed had no social welfare ?? 1. the money they spend i.e. 100% of their money, keeping shops and businesses in business by the products they buy, would dry up and so small business would die, adding more to the disaster that is the economy. 2. the people who are renting their houses to unemployed people , who cant afford to pay their mortgage without their government sponsored tenants would all go bankrupt in the morning and the banks who are holding their mortgages would have to deal with the effects of that crash and beg the government for even more social welfare to save them again. I know it all sounds very simple to say “cut social welfare” , if it happened the economy and all the white collar jobs would be gone overnight

• Report this comment

@ Lukasz . I personally would love to see it happen because then prices and wages would plummet and things would become affordable so a real economy and not a fictitious financial market economy would be born out of it , with more equality and more possibility for people to get back to basic entrepreneurial skills and free exchange which would benefit the vast majority of the people and not just a few government sponsored non productive scroungers at the top of the pile. The kind of socialist system we live in today where the so called Capitalists are capitalists until they fail miserably and then suddenly they become socialists and expect to socialize their losses, is a system which is rotten to the core , not just in Ireland but in all of the western world. The unfortunate victims of Unemployment ( Not Including the ones who just don’t want to work of course) are being used as scapegoats for the Real Social Welfare Recipients in the corporate world

• martin dorgan 03/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Typical Independent take on issue .recalling a famous interview that Sun Ind. done with Casey in South America which lasted two minues and Sun Ind ran a two page spread for two weeks running based on 2 minute interview with the rest pure conjecture .

Add New Comment