TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Apology is ‘fundamentally important’ as Magdalenes meet Taoiseach today

Members of the Magdalene Survivors Together will meet with Taoiseach Enda Kenny this afternoon but another group has sought clarification on the purpose of any meeting.

Members of the Magdalene Survivors Together group speak to reporters after the publication of the McAleese report last week
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

WOMEN FROM THE Magdalene Survivors Together (MST) group are expected to meet Taoiseach Enda Kenny later today as the director of the group said that an apology on behalf of the State is “fundamentally important”.

Steven O’Riordan said that the five women meeting Kenny today do not expect a private apology at the meeting but do expect an “unreserved apology” from the government when the Dáil debates the content of a recent report next week.

The McAleese report, published last week, found that the State was involved in committing over a quarter of the women who were recorded as having worked – without pay – in the laundries to the institutions between 1922 and 1996.

The State’s involvement in the incarceration of more than 2,100 women in the laundries was expected to an elicit a formal apology last week but that was not forthcoming as the Taoiseach and ministers said time was needed to consider the content of the 1,000 page report.

“We need to repay the women for all the work they did in the Magdalene Laundries,” MST director O’Riordan told Newstalk’s Breakfast programme this morning.

He said that having the meeting today was “the right thing to do” and he said that the Taoiseach needed to realise the “enormity of what he is about to achieve” if and when he does issue an apology.

Another group representing survivors, Justice for Magdalenes (JFM), said that it needed clarification on the purpose of the meeting, its format and the agenda as well as what guarantees will be given to protect survivors from the media before it decided whether or not to meet the Taoiseach.

A statement issued last night said: “A written communication is received from An Taoiseach’s office clarifying the issues raised above, JFM will in turn contact survivors and allow them to make their own decision regarding a meeting.

“If survivors decide to attend, JFM will make itself available to facilitate this.”

O’Riordan said that he understood the “apprehension” of some of those affiliated to the JFM group but said that his group had received assurances from the government about the meeting.

A group of five women from the MST group will meet with Kenny at 2pm today.

Lisa McInerney: Magdalene atrocities happened because society allowed them to

Read: Howlin says State ‘must acknowledge Magdalenes and make amends’

Plus: This is how the world reacted to the Magdalene Laundries report

Read next:

Comments (16 Comments)

• kenny let the country down, every country knows he did not apologise, he made headlines in every country, what a disgrace to the Irish women that suffered under the Irish government, he is only thinking of payouts, how many the government put in there,, what about children that were put in there by family, is there any concern for how these kids were treated,, each and everyone of those women that were in those laundries, deserve an apology, deserve some compensation, even a head stone on their grave if deceased, we are supposed to be human beings caring for one another, and praying things like this do not happen again, which we cant as it is still going on to children in foster care, 215 kids died under care,,, we do need to back this as a united people ,, and if kenny wont apologise i pray someone from some party will,, or should have

• the state is now the same as the legal system that is a secrete society with power beyond truth and honour but is for self in said ,,,,to be independant…… what dictatorship and theres no OMBUDSMAN even though the troika made it part of the bail out.the whole thing amounts to genocide and treason.An apology is easy but its the meaning therein shame on the lot of you gardai,judges,p.s., state and church. R.I.P. to all those that died at the hands of the state/church incasaration over the years

• Kenny should hang his head in shame over his failure to acknowledge the hurt , misery and humiliation forced on these women and his failure to offer a state apology . Nothing he can say now , in my opinion , would be genuine . I understand these women want a form of closure but if I was one of them I would tell him where to stick his apology if there is one forthcoming .

• So he is wrong for not apologising and acknowledging AND anything he says now is no good. How can he do the right thing so?
      I don’t think your comment helps the Survivors’ cause.

• @ an apology this is forced is NO apology !!!!!!

• This is about the only useful decision he has made as leader of the state. An apology from the state is an admission of financial liability for everybody who was treated harshly in the progress of Irish History. He has already expressed sympathy and apologised on a personal level, so i miss the point of why an official apology is needed and its clear that it about financial gain.

An apology will open the floodgates for billions in compensation for every schoolchild of 50 years ago to claim and indeed every person who was treated harshly in state run institutions. Lets look to pay for our future and not our past.

What happened in the past in every country in the world was inappropriate by today’s moral standards but at the time it was completely acceptable. In 70 years time will the ex prisoners of mountjoy and St Pats etc. look for compensation for the what might be deemed as inhuman conditions because we have a different prison and justice system.

• @ Niall Boylan @ Night
      Of course the survivors deserve a state apology and compensation from the state as well as the cathoic church. The state inspected the laundries under the factories act, and done nothing about the SLAVERY that was going on.

The laundries were awarded state contracts and the state sent girls and women to be enslaved by the nuns. If you don’t see how the state is partly responsible I’m afraid you have a bit of a comprehension problem.

Their most basic human rights which the state had a duty to protect were actually violated by the state itself.

• What’s Kenny going to do? Quote more statistics? I watched the ‘man’ on RTE player last week. He comes across as a rather bewildered mediocrity showing all the signs of having a puppet master’s hand up his backside. Here is a chance for him to start redeeming himself and acting like a statesman. Don’t hold your breathe.

• mcula 11/02/13 #

These are ladies traumatised, isolated and scarred by physical & psychological torture. It is both stunning & shocking that individual human-beings who are personally tasked with representing all inhabitants of Ireland (past, present & future) are apparently seeking survivors of their countrywo/men’s torture to genuflect one-more-time to the leaders &c. the personages of the state of Irishry, before taking definitive, pro-active action to lesson their continued anguish.
    As for “…d’cat ate me homework, Misas…” style-excuse for members needing time to read… a report?
    What about your Irish Bank Resolution Corporation Act 2013… : all of you heard about it the same day it became your children’s legal code? Enacted by these same individuals with such sudden & swift speed that there is as yet no official translation available on the pages of your Dial Eiré houses of parliament.
    They’re not talking about a translation into the English language either. They mean the language referred to as “thé official language of Ireland” by the Republic-of-Ireland diplomats here at the offices & buildings of the European Union at Brussels & Strasbourg.
    Sad in itself, but also because your previous governor-politic there in Ireland also had a tendency to undertake deplorable acts of public unkindness precisely coinciding with the times we now know they had gotten themselves into very deep & difficult waters elsewhere in their duties.
    Riling the hell out of national sentiment and citizens’ emotions has always been deemed by ministerial bigwigs as ‘useful’ at placing the attention of public consciousness in any place other than that their governors and ministerial masters were failing themselves. As Irish now know from the ominous era of your dead Lenihans: some matters can never be ‘put right’, because life isn’t a game-of-golf on the banks of Lough Ree.

• Kenny is a coward and a disgrace for continuing to simply not stand up n the Dail and apologise on behalf of the state for their involvement in the crimes that were committed.
    An absolute disgusting coward who has no shame.

O’ sure he will say sorry in dark quiet corners where he cannot be heard – but its in same type of darkened quiet corners that many an abuse was done.
    Because Kenny is still bowing to his faith and Rome and for sheer politic reasons – all of which he’s putting ahead of the abuse victims got – he has so far slithered off from the Dail without saying one simple word on behalf of the state “Sorry!”

The disgusting man cannot even do that.
    He is a disgrace to our nation and Labour should be ashamed to be associating with him.
    (No wonder they are going to be absolute trashed at the next elections!)

• Failth to Rome??? Are you for real?? Enda Kenny made one of the most attacking speeches ever made against Rome a year ago!!! This is a 1000 page report which i know the people commenting on here have not read!!! 11000 women… 9000 put in by their families!!! I want all of them to stand up and apologise!!!!
      Once the report is read and a dail debate held, Mr Kenny will i am certain issue a full apology on behalf of the state..
      Lets call a spade a spade… This is just another chance to abuse Kenny…. Simple as that… and be careful now… becuase this kind of media driven b******t might just return the real ‘bad guys’ (FF) to power….just when the country is starting to recover…

• Kenny read from a speech that was written for him none of the words he spoke that day were his and we now know he always reads from a script that is written for him

• You know this for a fact ?? Or is just more of the usual bile and hatred you spit out…

Add New Comment