TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Man charged over burglary at Minister Alan Shatter’s home

A second man is in custody after being arrested in Dublin yesterday afternoon.

Gardaí at the home of Minister Shatter yesterday
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

A MAN HAS been charged after the home of Alan Shatter was burgled while the justice minister was away on a St Patrick’s Day trip.

The man in his 20s is due to appear at Dun Laoghaire District Court this morning over the break-in, which happened on Sunday night at Shatter’s home in Dundrum, south Dublin.

Meanwhile a second man is in custody after being arrested in Dublin yesterday afternoon. He is currently being held at Blackrock garda station under section four of the Criminal Justice Act.

Shatter is currently on a trip to Australia for the St Patrick’s Day festivities. He has been informed of the break-in.

It’s not known whether anything was taken.

The Irish Examiner reports that a security review is currently under way after the break-in. It is no longer standard procedure for ministers’ homes to be given protection from uniformed gardaí.

More: Man arrested over burglary at home of Justice Minister Alan Shatter>

Read next:

Comments (23 Comments)

• Yes the guards were quick on the scene, yes the guards arrested someone quickly but give it a break on thinking its because the house belongs to a minister. It says in the news that the burglar was disturbed by an alarm and a neighbour witnessed the burglar and identified him to gardai a short distance away. The guards happened to be patrolling nearby and were just lucky. But don’t make that bit of luck into something it’s not. The fact its a Ministers house is irrelevant but that’s the only reason it made the news. It was just another burglary and he got caught. No doubt ye’d be happier to hear no one was caught.

• Gerard you house was broken into by a well know criminal herein lies the problem.
    Almost all crimes are committed by a scumbag with multiply convictions. Lock these people up and give decent people a break.

• Gerard 20/03/12 #

Typical idiots making idiotic remarks on this site, the guards catch 2 burglars and somehow the guards are still in the wrong. My house was burgled approx 2 years ago, guards kept me well informed on what was happening, about 6 weeks after it happened they got a fingerprint match to a well known burglar in my area and the lad admitted 14 more burglaries, he was charged and got a prison sentence, but as some previous comment mentioned, maybe the nay Sayers would be happiest if nobody was caught which would give more opportunity to slate the guards?

• I wonder if they be so fast with charges if that was my house :)

• I wouldn’t wait for the garda I shoot the b*****ds before hand then call them !!! And maybe an ambulance

• We had a complete psycho try and smash though our door, quite similar to Jack Nicholson in the Shining, I rang ’999′ and didn’t see any Gardai for 8 hours. The Psycho cut himself trying to get through our door, left an almost empty bottle of gin behind, Gardai took fingerprints and blood samples when they finally did arrive, that was two years ago, we have heard nothing since. I did complain to the Ombudsman and someone was reprimanded. Swift justice depends on your postcode.

• Ciaro 20/03/12 #

and Minister Shatter had at least 2 forensic experts in the house along with 2 unmarked detectives cars and a marked garda car outside. Seriously, you wouldn’t get this service unless you were murdered!
      Its pathetic.

• Gerard 20/03/12 #

I have no doubt Keith, unfortunate thing is, from what I hear people will be lucky to see a guard at all for alot of lesser priority calls as there are physically no guards to attend these calls anymore and things ate gonna get a whole lot worse too, this country is screwed when it comes to crime!

• Ben ben 20/03/12 #

Paddys day trip to australia? I’m sure that was beneficial to us taxpayers. Nice work if u can get it…

• Really hope they got something on him. He has to have left a trail somewhere.

• jimbo 20/03/12 #

You have to laugh at the speed of this case,if that wss me or you we would be still waiting on the garda to arrive.
    The fact that they arrested a second man too makes you wonder..

• Maybe he admitted his crime after his first interview!! Maybe CCTV showed him caught in the act making the decision to charge him a quick one. Did that not cross your mind before having to put out the conspiracy theories??

• Getting your house robbed is very unsettling and frightening for many. Not to be wished in anyone.

Though if we pan out a wee bit we are still waiting for the baron robbers of Anglo to be rounded up. Luckily our government has decided that its pretty stupid to pay public money on private debts incurred by an organisation that is being investigated for the biggest fraud in the history of the state.

That €3,100,000,000 that was to be taken out of our collective wealth can now be put to good use instead of being burned. At last a Justice minister with a sensible take on justice.

Meanwhile back on Planet Earth……….

• He shouldn’t have been in Australia in the first place, and if he had been at home he wouldn’t have been robbed, even though I think that a burglary is a very stressful thing to happen to anybody. The guards were so quick to arrest a man for breaking in to a minister’s house, and it is a pity that they are not so quick to a.rrest Fitzpatrick and co from Anglo.

• Eh I don’t know where you have been but Fitzpatrick has been arrested, twice, the difference in compiling a fraud file of that nature and a straight forward burglary file are huge, in fact there is no comparison so perhaps learn your facts before making such comments

• Gerard 20/03/12 #

You should try to keep up a bit, Sean Fitzpatrick has been arrested twice.

• If people read between the lines, it is displaying the amount of anger out there in the public.

I won’t speculate on the case, but what I will watch for if the people in question are tried and charged, will be the sentence handed down.

@Ritchie & Gerard, just a quick one note, where is David Drumm at present? That’s right, in the USA declaring bankruptcy and no official move to extradite him to answer serious questions about his role in Anglo.

Don’t berate your own countrymen & women for what is generally seen as an injustice. And if I may, what I find offensive is the Powers of Investigation that Oireacteas members want to pass and the stick being used to pass it is that unless passed, it will take a very very long time to get satisfactory answers to Anglo, despite the fact that it is already being dealt with by the fraud squad. We have then the judiciary to deal with the case as is the due process.

On topic, I do not see the logic of having no visible presence on a senior Ministers residence when he/she is on official engagements for the State abroad. I think the majority of citizens could live with that.

• jimbo 20/03/12 #

@Richie Quigley eh why did it take over a day to arrest two people then? Did you think of that? We have a jim corr on board folks….

Add New Comment