TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Mary Davis reiterates independence and defends quango payments

There are reports today that Mary Davis was appointed to three state boards by FF ministers, and paid almost €190,000 in total. She says she has no political affiliations.

Mary Davis
Mary Davis
Image: Photocall Ireland

PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE MARY Davis has reiterated that she is an independent candidate with no political affiliations.

Media reports today reveal she had earned nearly €190,000 sitting on state boards.

A report in today’s Irish Independent details how Davis, who was also managing director of Special Olympics, was appointed to three boards by Fianna Fáil ministers.

Last night during the Late Late Show debate she said “I am totally and independent candidate. I have no political affiliations”. This morning she told RTÉ News that she was appointed to boards and organisations by various different groups and people, and that some of those appointments were by the particular government of the day.

Davis also said that she had nothing to hide and that the figures had already been made public.

The Irish Independent reports that it obtained the figures from independent sources, and that she received €188,400 sitting on the board of Campus and Stadium Ireland Development/National Sports Campus Development Authority between 2000 and 2010, the DAA between 2004 and 2009 and the Broadcasting Commission of Ireland from 2004 to 2009.

Poll: Who came out on top in last night’s debate?

LIVEBLOG: The presidential candidates’ Late Late Show debate>

Catch up on all of the TheJournal.ie’s coverage of the race for the Áras

Read next:

Comments (35 Comments)

• I find it particularly galling when she goes on about the virtues of volunteering which she gets €150,000 for the Special Olympics gig.

• Bye bye Mary

• Stadium Ireland was a super-sized Bertie vanity project during the height of the Celtic Bubble. Symbol of all that was excessive and vulgar with political culture. Given the widespread scepticism and scorn directed at it – recall McDowell’s put down down of the project – it is reasonable to conclude that Bertie’s quango board only had people appointed to it that shared his vision. Did Davis publicly dissociate herself from the bling cost of the project? And as for the DAA. Best analysis comes courtesy of Michael O’Leary. Just how much debt did the DAA pile onto airports, raise costs for operators and sanction expensive White elephant projects?

• She makes herself out to be an all loving champion of all those downtrodden….. This "lady" couldn’t walk in the shoes of most hard working, non paid volunteers out there. People who give so much and would be mortified if people commended them for it. Could you honestly compare her to anyone of the people who volunteer on the homeless soup runs in our cities?…of course not!!!

• Quango queen

• Thank you WILLYNCH WELL SAID

• Toureag 01/10/11 #

Double standard…..pls this way to exit door!

• Fianna Fail’s hidden candidate. Thought they’d slither something in behind our backs.
    The game’s up boys!

• She would airbrush this shote off!!!

• Goodbye Mary . Quango Queen

• Her posters should now read:
    Cronyism at Home.Embarrassment Abroad.I’m running as a stealth Fianna Fail candidate.

Mary Davis is the epitome of all that ruined this banana republic : cute-hoorism, gombeenism, double-standards, hypocrisy, cronyism, crassness, venality, grasping social climbing, nouveaux-riche cretinism, cosy alliances with Fianna Fail and the media, intellectually vacuous and bereft of any idealogical principal other than naked rapaciousness.
    Only in Ireland do people enter politics as a career move and boast about “charity” work that they get paid a salary that put’s them in the top percentile of earners.
    I was naive for thinking that the Special Olympics was pseudo-charity work. €160 grand? Wow. I am in the wrong business.

And all that extra cash for doing sweet FA for the Bertie Bowl, which was an uncompleted project?!!! At least McGuinness has a track record in getting the job done.

In one of her pictures she is posing with Nelson Mandela.

Does she know who he is even or anything about the ANC’s struggle against apartheid? What was she doing to stop apartheid? Was she showing solidarity with the oppressed by boycotting South African products in the ’80s? Was she giving a voice to the striking Dunnes Stores workers who heroically refused to handle produce from apartheid South Africa at great personal cost and physical harassment from the Gardai?

I somehow doubt it and if she did not then it is cynical opportunism on her part to post with a picture of Nelson Mandela on her website as if she played a role in the supporting the ANC struggle.

Whatever you may think of them, we can all agree that David Norris, Michael D Higgins and Martin McGuinness all valiantly supported the struggle against apartheid and they have every right to post with Nelson Mandela ( who sanctioned a bombing in 1983 that killed 19 civilians, if you read his autobiography) but Mary Davis has no reason to.

Her cynicism for trying to get a few votes stoops lower folks.

Look at the way she is exploiting these poor mentally challenged kids in this picture, who are emblazoned with Vote Mary Davis stickers, who obviously have no idea what presidential elections are or probably even who she is, yet she calls them “supporters of her campaign” on her Twitter feed.
    How utterly cynical.
    Remember, these were the kids she greedily profited off when she was doing her “charity” work and getting paid €150 grand a year during the Special Olympics.
    http://www.twitpic.com/6qy6yy

Thankfully the people of this country have had enough and I don’t see people voting into the Aras The Quango Queen, Mary Davis or Ireland’s Sarah Palin, Dana or the higher-functioning autistic that is Gay Mitchell.

David Norris, Michael D or Marting McG are the only ones with sufficient levels of credibility and integrity who would be fit for the Aras as is increasingly clear during the course of this campaign which is just “a raffle for the high paid dinner-eating job”

• Jobs for the lads, I’m feckin’ sick of it. What have the DAA, the Special Olympics and the BCI have in common? Nothing. But someone should be paid over â

• There’s a big difference between (self) portrayed altruism and 150 grand.

• I would like to add that all the Developers in the Galway tent were totally Independent as well that is why the got all the Top Contracts that were going and look what happened since its a pity that Mary could see that in time???.

• Bye Bye Mary Indeed!

Up to her neck in Fianna Fail jobbery!

No letter trail back to that one I bet!

• We get exactly what we deserve. We elect these people who have the same values as Mary(Quango) Davis. That is the political way in Ireland, the way people het on to councils, State and semi State boards etc is not democratic it is corruption.
    Just look at the Healy Rea’s and John O Donahue. Pat Hickey Olypics, John Delaney FAI. All these guys have to have so many votes which they lobby for and bingo they are in.
    I bet John Delaney will take over from Pat Hickey. It’s our system.
    Bottom line it is set up to suit Mary and all the rest of the candidates.
    For the average citizen to expect
    local Councilors like the Healy Rea’s to vote for people with integrity would be miraculous – they vote for those that reflect their own values. The same goes for the senators. All greasy politicians who are self serving.

• She also took Berties Shilling

• She shook Bertie’s hand.

• your missing the point garrath.

• Special K might take a few of her posters off her hands after the election…

• She needs to back doing her garden or whatever it is she does

• Another Fianna FAILure crony and parasite who is now looking to feather her nest further with another tranche of tax payers money, easy street in the Aras! Most people are now seeing that the ‘Dennis O’Brien’ candidate is nothing more than a FF stooge and queen of the Quangocracy! The last thing the country needs now is FF leftover sitting on the throne!

• Snake in the grass…

• FF wannabe ,

• She’s just another freeloader , surprise surprise

• I’ve read most of the comments here and can’t understand something. If someone does a job should they get paid for it. Mary Davis has never hid that she did these jobs and yes she got paid. So what if I can earn 200 or 300 million. I should be allowed do so as the last time I checked we live in a captilist society and not a communist one.

• Ok so when Norris was hoping to get FF to vote him into run where were everyone giving out. At the end of the day he would have been their candidate.
    Course she got paid. The head of every charitable organization get paid. What you think an organization the size of special Olympics can be ran on a volunteer basis. Course not. Also staging an event like the special Olympics (first time it was staged outside the US) was huge, and very well ran.

Add New Comment