Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 14 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Maynooth students continue occupation of Fine Gael TD’s office

Updated at 9.45pm

MEMBERS OF the Maynooth Students’ Union who are occupying the Naas constituency office of Fine Gael TD Anthony Lawlor in the latest escalation of the wider student movement against fee increases and cuts to third-level grants are refusing garda requests to leave the building.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie from inside Lawlor’s office, the Maynooth SU’s president Rob Munnelly said the students had come equipped with a chemical toilet and enough food for a week.

Munnelly said they want Lawlor – and all government TDs – to commit to protecting student grants from cuts and to not raise fees.

He said that he and his eight SU colleagues have also brought sleeping bags and are prepared to stay until they succeed in their campaign – or are forcibly removed by the gardaí.

Fees Protest

Munnelly added that student unions across the country have been making thousands of phone calls and sending emails and Twitter messages as part of their campaign, but that the campaign is escalating: “We’re left with absolutely no choices – it’s come to this, which is occupying a TD’s office”.

He also said that the group has been receiving strong support from other students by email as well as from people on Twitter and Facebook.

Lawlor’s staff told TheJournal.ie this afternoon that they did not feel threatened by the students but were reluctant to leave the office as the students warned them that they would not be allowed back in again.

Lawlor could not be reached this evening for comment. A number of gardaí are at the scene.

Nine Galway students were arrested earlier this week after occupying the constituency office of Brian Walsh TD.

Read: Students arrested after occupying Fine Gael TD’s constituency office >

Read: Students briefly occupy Department of Jobs in fees protest >

Read Next:

Comments (106 Comments)

• Martin Mc Cormack 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

little fascists

• Naoise O Cearuil 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Everything going well so far, VP Maynooth SU #stopfees #savethegrant #maynoothstudentsunion

• John Murphy 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Well done folks! An example to us all.

• William O'Brien 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Well done Maynooth SU!!

It’s fantastic to see young people actually start to take a stand over the education funding issue.
    Keep up the good work guys and do not fear the Gards.
    Solidarity from Free Education for Everyone Galway.
    xXx
    Forward the revolution!

• Kenneth Sheehy 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Since when is fighting back Fascism? The last contributors whimpering acceptance of his lot stands as a damning indictment of our society. If more people had fought back when Fianna Fail we’re destroying this state we wouldn’t be as badly off today. These students are right to fight back. Free Education For Everyone. Let the arm chair critics be damned.

Report this comment

Free Education for Everyone. Nothing less.

Report this comment

Free for everyone, an amazing concept. can we assume some other life form is going to pay for it?

Report this comment

Believe it or not The people of Ireland democratically voted in this lot, (myself not included BTW). however as a democrat I accept the decision of the people. As opposed to a handful of miscreants using bullyboy tactics akin to fascists and zeolats all over

• Lorcan Myles 02/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Free education – education system free from user charges, paid for through general taxation . It’s not really a difficult concept to understand.

• Report this comment

William, serious question: At which point do you think free education should stop? PhD is technically another level of education, should the state pay for those fees as well? Would free fees for those who cannot afford it and a sliding scale up to full fees for those from affluent upbringings not be fairer and economically, make more sense? It would be an actual case of redistribution of wealth no?

What ever decision the government takes re: fees, it is essential that it commits to maintaining it current funding levels irrespective. Having been through one Irish University and two UK unis as well as working for a time in a third, it’s all too apparent how far behind Irish Uni’s are in terms of facilities, attracting world leading academics and attracting foreign students.

Report this comment

Education is a right that should be afforded to everyone regardless of economic position.
      The only barriers to education should be ability and demonstrated dedication to the course you want to pursue.
      Education benefits all of society and should be absolutely encouraged.
      And yes, further than having PhD’s provided for free I believe that students studying for PhD’s should be paid for the hard work they do furthering their field.
      To answer your question, I believe that free education should stop when the ability or dedication of the applicant wanes.
      Equal opportunities to education unhindered by economic positioning is nothing but beneficial to all of society as it enables for social mobility and the most efficient development of new ideas, technologies, business and empowers the people who are most suited to the benefits education gives them.

Knowledge is free. No man hs the right to hold back the development of the human race as a species by conserving and marketing knowledge that should be in the public domain and freely accessible to all who wish to access it.

Report this comment

Education is a right that should be afforded to everyone regardless of economic position

spot on, it’s a right, not an entitlement, just like food clothing etc,

I dont think anybody is suggesting banning 3rd level education , now that would be a diminuation of a”RIGHT”

Report this comment

William, serious question: At which point do you think free education should stop

When William is finished freeloading

Report this comment

Martin, I am studying my second degree, the first I financed myself and have repaid and the one I’m finishing next year is paid through BTEA. I am also on the student union which is an unpaid voluntary position that I put a very large amount of time and work into and have achieved a lot since I started back in July.
      My final year project I am currently working on in regenerative medicine is a project that is literally worth millions to the university and to the tax payer in this country and is likely to be published. The work I do at college currently by far outweighs by several times the cost incurred by the tax payer that keeps me from drawing the dole.
      I campaign for free education because I believe that young people today should have the same opportunities that I had. If fees were brought in next week it wouldn’t affect me personally in the slightest as I have already benefited from 5 years of undergraduate education. Children and young people alive today should be able to do this also.
      I would like for you to please clarify why this makes me a freeloader.

Further more, please tell me what you have done to promote a more equal and fair society recently.

Report this comment

god on ya,,, i hope you reap the rewards of it all, and appreciate what other peoples tax helped you achieve.

IDEA: how about a tax on graduates in employment , ringfenced to help defray the costs of future graduates, seeing as one of the points of it all is to earn more money to pay more tax to help society.

about 2 hours ago i filled my humble jalopy with fuel which cost 60 euro, half of which went towards making society fair, EG, paying your tutors and berties pension etc etc,

And other than playing stormtrooper what has your contribution been

• Alan Vickery 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Good to see the younger generation finally doing things like this, just maybe they’ll be an inspiration to us all.

Keep up the pressure……..!!

• Martin M 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Is occupying the new planking?

• Lorcan Myles 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Quote:” the wider student movement against the reintroduction of fees”

Christ on a bike, every time – fees already exist.

They’re €2,000 – the second highest in Europe.

• Terry Turner 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Best of luck to the students, however even hunger strikes will not sway this government. Enda is not for turning!!

• neuromancer 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

There’ll will no one in Mantra tonight, so!

• Réada Quinn 02/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Well 8 less anyway. Wish the occupation was in Maynooth. I’d bring them down some sandwiches. Don’t care about how much fees should be – just thrilled to see someone doing something.

And addressing it to FG. Sick of Labour being the cannon fodder.

Report this comment

Have any of the occupiers party political affiliations

• David Higgins 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Clear trespassing of private property here. Hope the Guards are in swiftly.

No amount of grievance with politicians gives justification for breaking the law.

Where does it end? Do we assault our politicians if we don’t agree with them, maybe just kill them?

• Philip Slattery 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

All I can do is laugh at this it’s purely a PR stunt long after the horse has bolted. I was on the streets about 4 years ago protesting fees and the SU did something but no a lot. Back then was the time not now. B4 anyone comes back at me I support free eduction but don’t think at the moment we can achieve it with wud u rather pay 2,000 a year in reg fee or 10,000 a year in fees. Show me where the cuts can be made other then where they are looking now

• Avril Brennan 02/12/11 #
      Report this comment

A PR Stunt? All i can do is laugh at you.every student in Maynooth knows how hard Rob and the rest of the lads have worked, not only this year but last year to stop the government bringing in higher fees. Maynooth SU are doing a brilliant job supporting the students in the college and they wont give up with out a fight. Fair play to them.

• Pearse Corcoran 03/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Fully agree, defintely a PR stunt, where were all these sit in protests last year? I got involved with SU protests and it was infested with Fianna Fail hacks, the horse has bolted lads and we need money from somewhere because the standard of the college system right throughout Ireland is seriously declining.

• Randy savage 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Is this not Burglary?? if someone came into my home or business and unlawfully remained there i would take swift action.

• damien chaney 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I hope lawlor wasn’t to put out, you know the way our politicians hardly turn up in the dail because “it’s not all about dail sittings I do endless hours of constituency work”

• Bazza 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

In fairness, it’d take more than a few spoilt brats to put Tony Lawlor off.

Incidentally, spotted him in Tesco about an hour ago doing his shopping, looking relaxed

• Naoise O Cearuil 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Gardaí outside, still holding on, follow on twitter #stopfees

Report this comment

http://www.thejournal.ie/government-tax-take-is-e500m-less-than-we-expected-294930-Dec2011/#comments.

on 2nd thoughts,, yeah we can afford it, just borrow another billion

• Report this comment

live blog from inside the office catholicmaynooth.wordpress.com

• Jayniemac 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Oh shut the f up Martin, you do my nut in.

• Alan Vickery 02/12/11 #
    Report this comment

some of the comments here is why this country its in the state its in.
    at least they have the balls to stand up to the government for what they want and believe in. most people making smart arse comments here can’t say that.
    Let’s hope this spreads not only to other students but other sectors.
    Its taking way to long for us to fight back as a nation.

• BJ 03/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Fight back?!? We only recently had an election! If people wanted a vastly different change in direction they’d have voted for it… But they didn’t… We have what we voted for…

• Alan Vickery 03/12/11 #
      Report this comment

People did not vote for this, they voted for change, to make things better. Instead they got a bigger mess and a government with no backbone to protect its people. The very people who voted them in. Its a real case of “thanks for the vote now screw you” . I’m pretty sure that people would not have put them in power had they known what they where going to do. So my point is. if your vote fails, take it to the streets.

• David Conroy 03/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Ok, so we will not take it from the students, we will get it from the oap’s or the disabled. Heaven forbid should we take it from people who never lifted a hand to do a days work or criminals or retired politicians !

• 03/12/11 #
    Report this comment

just out of interest why are public sector workers not doin this too? not complaining just interested.

• Solo 03/12/11 #
      Report this comment

…because the public sector worker has not felt the pain yet. Q:why do you think the unions are soooo quite?..A: because they know how good their members have it under the CPA and are keeping extremely silent for fear of boat rocking!!

• Mark Neville 03/12/11 #
      Report this comment

The public service haven’t felt the effects yet? So net losses to earnings of between 15-20%, longer working hours with less resources equals not feeling the effects yet? In education alone there have been 2,500 job losses as a result of raising the pupil:teacher ratio since Jan. 09 with another on the way in the next budgetThis is coupled with new entants starting on 17% less than those who started before Jan.11 and with worse a worse pension. And before you become predictable and mention what’s happening in the private sector, there’s no need. Public and private alike are getting royally screwed by this administration and their predecesors.

• Report this comment

Im a student i dont “freeload” I work myself to the bone to pay back my CU loan that i took out for college. My college hours are 9-5 mon-fri and my job is sat-sun! My father has worked all his life to support his family and he’s a public servant with pay cut after pay cut. He doesnt complain he just gets on with it. I never ever ever asked my mother for her visa to pay my fees and I really think @Martin’s comments are distasteful and frankly theres no need for sarcastic snide remarks. Student life is most certainly not all drink and partying im not complaining about it at all I love it but please dont paint us all with the one brush!!

• Martin Mc Cormack 03/12/11 #
      Report this comment

You bear an uncanny resemblance to Yvonne Ni Sluaghaidh

• Jingles 03/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Did they miss the toy show? #toyshow #stopthefees

• Blanaid Aughney 03/12/11 #
    Report this comment

The fact is, (in relation to me) as a student of NUIM, I could not afford the bus/train fares to attend the protests against higher fees and grant cuts (ironic?), over the past few years. Some people really don’t understand how difficult it can be for students.

• RP McMurphy 03/12/11 #
    Report this comment

..and not a word from Lawlor or has the Scully debacle muzzled all FG in the area for fear of vote losses…perhaps Mr Lawlor is too busy on the farm (now that farm prices are good again and the TD salary is less relevant) or backslapping and glad-handing in Kavanaghs or Haydens, to deal with petty problems such as voter dissatisfaction. I will be wiser with my vote next time.

• Frank2521 03/12/11 #
    Report this comment

John Bruton is one of the biggest landowners or farmer in the country and wants as many jobs as possible for himself. If he were a true patriot he would give up his salary now as a result of the crises we are in. Why not protest in his office which is his house during elections and everybody is welcome – like the rest of them once elected the gates are shut.

• RP McMurphy 03/12/11 #
    Report this comment

ah R

• Report this comment

approaching the 13 hour here now rest of the guys and girl our sleeping. but we’re holding on in here

• Sean C 03/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Like most other taxpayers my income is falling and my taxes are rising but these students want me to continue paying for their education. When they graduate, at best they’ll feck off to Australia and Ireland will get no benefit, at worst they’ll end up as lawyers or doctors and charge me exorbitant fees for their services while living a lifestyle I can only dream of. What’s in it for me ? Apart from the EU no country in the world provides third level education free ?

• 03/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Education is a right and should not based on class and privilege of parents status. If we can’t invest as much as possible in our children’s education there is little hope of dreaming of a better lifestyle for them.

That being said, as a graduate who is on a gap year in Australia, I am not entirely against low fees. Fees fund the universities and create a financial incentive for the student to try harder.

But I am very against the introduction of fees in this context. They are not increasing the fees because it makes sense, they are doing so to pay off the mistakes of bankers and investors. No student, or anyone for That matter,should pay for this. Our students are the ones who will get us out of this mess!

• Sean C 03/12/11 #
      Report this comment

I agree that education is a right and should not be based on class or privilege. Being in Australia you’d be aware of the HECS system where third level education is available to all but must be paid for by a levy when you graduate and start earning the big dollars, so what’s wrong with that ?

• The problem there is, firstly there are jobs available but, it’s way too stressful and sudden cultural change to go through college with the burden of leaving it with a large financial deficit and no security or guarantee of a job afterward.
      I’ve gone through college on a scholarship scheme whereby I went to a company abroad to sponsor me to do my course, they paid expenses including fees, course costs & a monthly bursary & in return I can sign a contract with them afterward for a job or go to a similar company in the industry. This I believe is the way forward in our education, make the likes of arts degrees for post grads who want to & can afford to pay for it in their own time later on & we will get this country back on track much quicker

Report this comment

Food a nd clothing are rights also, do you propose that we should all get them for free?

You seem to get Rights and entitlements mixed up, it’s all a legacy of the tiger

• Silent P 03/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Two candidates go for a job interview.. Both have a degree from NUI Maynooth. One also has a criminal record for trespass and criminal damage. Which one will get the job?? I wonder…… Oh and there goes the visa to Oz or USA too.

• Evelyn Fennelly 03/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Get real, they’ll be given cautions at max. Uncle Sam won’t ever know a thing about it.

And anyway, fair play to them for taking the risk!

• Silent P 03/12/11 #
      Report this comment

They will only get a caution. That true.. But wrong on the visa part. US embassy enquire if applicant has ever been arrested before even if never convicted. Know the facts before you encourage well meaning kids to screw up their future before it’s even started. Protest by all means, yes, but breaking the law is foolish. That’s advise not condemnation.

• Eileen Gabbett 03/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Well done to the student Union Maynooth . Keep the head and stay relaxed ,You have support .

• I take issue with a quoted comment the idiot SU president Rob Munnelly said on radio justifying this protect, using the woes of “a student being homeless during the summer” and then comparing another who “lives on a boat on the canal” as the same context. He & the occupy protestors are obviously scraping the barrel for publicity. Living on a boat is awesome & maybe the homeless student was doing a social experiment for their dissertation or an actual tree hugger, you never know with Arts students..

• holeymoley 03/12/11 #
    Report this comment

What about getting some unemployed carpenters to build a few mock facades of government TD constituency offices and put them outside mountjoy/portlaoise etc. Then we tweet all the crustys and the “what do we want… When do we want it..now” brigade tell them theres a protest and problem solved they lock themselves away and they even bring their own jacks!!

Report this comment

Have any of the occupiers party political affiliations???????????????????????????????

• Ciara Leena G 03/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Yes, yes they do. Some of them are members of the three main parties, and some are members of none. Does that answer your question sufficiently, or would you perhaps like to add on a few more question marks and see if you get a better response?

You seem very irate about the occupiers. Have you nothing better to be doing with your time than waging a one man war against them in the comments section?

Report this comment

thank you for your prompt reply. which parties do they support and why dont the non affiliated ones get involved and get their views and grievances dealt with through the democratic system, ???????????????????????????

Irate not a bit, i’ve been through a lot. more amused by the innocence of it all really.
      As for something better to be doing, Touche

Report this comment

How come your not occupying Labour party offices?

• AMurphy 03/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Nonviolent opposition all the way!…keep it going lads…nothing even remotely illegal!

Report this comment

How come you’re not occupying labour party offices?????????????????????????????

• Report this comment

seriously martin what is wrong with you! your comments are horrible so you’ve been through a few things havent we all. At least these students are doing something it might not work but fair play to them!

Report this comment

Not a thing wrong Yvonne, thanks for asking. I gather you disagree with some my comments. thankfuly mostly what i’ve been through has been surmountable. From your resume above , I think you and your family are exactly what this country needs more of, people who pay their way and more, to subsidise others less fortunate and also some a lot more fortunate but lazy or greedy who expect everything to be handed to them for free, but generally free means somebody else pays. I would reckon that you dont have the time to go out performing political stunts on behalf of budding politicos, who are only too willing to tar all students as being of a like mind to themselves.
      The very best of luck in your endevours.

Report this comment

why are you not occupying Labour party offices??????????????????????????????????????????????????

Add New Comment