TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

McGuinness blames Gallagher’s undoing on ‘lack of credibility’ – and not RTÉ

Commentators and candidates should respect the democratic decision of the electorate, said the Sinn Féin politician.

Count day during #Aras11
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire/Press Association Images

SINN FÉIN’S MARTIN McGuinness has commented on the row that is currently raging between one-time presidential hopeful Seán Gallagher and RTÉ.

McGuinness said that it was Gallagher’s “lack of credibility” and not the treatment he received during a presidential debate on by RTÉ’s Frontline programme in October which cost him the presidency.

However, he did concede that RTÉ should not have broadcast a tweet which incorrectly claimed that Hugh Morgan would appear at a press conference the following day.

“The tweet had nothing to do with the Martin McGuinness presidential campaign and RTÉ could have checked this with any of a number of representatives of my campaign team who were present in RTÉ on the night. They didn’t do this,” he said, adding that the broadcaster was negligent in failing to broadcast a corrective tweet from the official Twitter account.

In a statement issued this evening, McGuinness said: “None of this however takes way from the fact that Seán Gallagher had legitimate questions to answer.”

The facts are that Seán Gallagher did solicit money on behalf of Fianna Fáil and was deeply involved in the culture of money buying access to politicians. It was Seán Gallagher’s lack of clarity and credibility in relation to straight questions on these issues from myself in the course of the Frontline debate which was his undoing.

McGuinness added that he is proud to have run in the presidential election and the part he played in the campaign.

“The electorate made up their own minds about who they wanted for president and I fully respect their democratic decision. I think all candidates and commentators should now do the same,” his statement concluded.

Gallagher has called for a full public inquiry into reports that RTÉ producers changed a question prepared by an audience member so it would be more hostile towards the candidate.

Earlier: Further regulatory process over Gallagher complaint is ‘not a matter for RTÉ to decide or influence’>

Seán Gallagher calls for inquiry over new RTÉ Frontline claims>

Read: Seán Gallagher’s statement in full>

RTE failed in obligation of fairness to Sean Gallagher, says RTE Board>

Read next:

Comments (71 Comments)

• Once again we see our national broadcaster for what is is, sub standard, making stupid mistakes, and like kevin reynolds when sg gets his compensation, it will be picked up by the tax payer. I wonder how much the tv license will be next year.

• Another enquiry?? Here we go again. A waste of time. Let Gallagher pay for it..

• Will people ever let it go. Michael D is our president now.

• Does all this change the fact that he collected an envelope and then went on to lie to the people of Ireland while campaigning to be president of Ireland on the issue & and regardless of who exposed him he was exposed.

• Mr Gallagher it is time for you to shut up and grow up . You lost this election yourself . In future ,learn to be honest in all your dealings , do not treat people like fools , take advice that is being offered.

• There seems to be this idea that this doesn’t matter because a) we don’t like Sean Gallagher or b) he would have lost the election anyway.

So, for argument’s sake let’s agree to both. He was douche who would have lost anyway.

The question remains – did RTE either deliberately or through negligence damage him as a candidate? If they did, it doesn’t matter what we think about Gallagher – RTE would have hugely and disgracefully interfered in an election campaign to the detriment of one candidate. It would be a complete breach of their duties and their charter, and everything else is just irrelevant.

They have massive questions to answer here.

• I think that’s a very fair question. It’s just a shame that it took a total charlatan and opportunist to bring about the circumstances in which it needed to be asked.

We can but hope that it is addressed in general terms, and without any monetary gain to that absolute cretin.

• You have to take into account that Gallagher was front runner in the polls by a long shot and this was bound to put him under greater scrutiny. I’m not sure that Gallagher was treated any more harshly than David Norris was when he was leading the polls. So you have to view the fairness of it in that context. I’m not defending RTE’s actions but I don’t think you can infer that there was a concerted effort to favour one candidate over another. For me it was the questionning by Glenna Lynch followed by the confrontation on the radio the following morning which exposed Gallagher’s true character.

• I agree with John, it doesn’t matter what we thought of Sean G, The issue is what RTE wanted us to think of Sean G. Their mask has slipped more than ever, lets see what way Labour and Pat Rabbitte is now dipicted by RTE in the near future now Pat is at the helm. Also what kind of coverage will RTE give to the ratifying of the ESM treaty next week when Enda stupidly rushes it through before the fiscal treaty referendum, and by doing so make it ridiculous for us to say No, as we would not be able to access our own contribution to the fund. RTE will find a way to defend Enda or ignore the subject entirely.

• Agree 100% The only post that makes sense! And Martin playing the Angel is hard to stomach!

• Totally agree, however i see this is being “managed” by the media as some form of sour grapes by SG to avoid the real issue.

• I’ve followed this story for a long time, followed the discussions both partisan and non partisan. Whatever we think about the candidates, no press medium is entitled to use false or misleading information to further it’s ends. Apart from the direct damage to the persons concerned they have damaged a very precious commodity in a democracy, a free non partisan and honest press, this action cannot go unpunished just like the Murdock empire is experiencing.

• Well only a true dyed-in-the-wool Fianna Fail-er could be this indignant about being caught out. Take it on the chin Gallagher. Martin McGuinness is 100% correct; it was his own lack of credibility that lost him the Presidency, not anything else.

• SMcB 11/03/12 #
  • jimbo 11/03/12 #

Ha gallagher just has to get over it sick of this thing now

• I agree.

• I would also agree but with a caveat – the media also has to respect the electorate and their right to be informed rather than misled. It was a very dirty, acrimonious campaign that saw allegations made about candidates that later had to be retracted on several occasions, and the particular parties in the media responsible for that kind of irresponsible mudslinging should be called to account.

Why is there no proper regulation of media in this country?

• CMD 11/03/12 #

McGuinness supporting s democratic decision. That’ll be a first !!

• Well, if you knew that at the time, Graham, perhaps the rest of us did as well. Still, sometimes bad things happen for good reasons. Imagine if Gallagher was president now.

Let ‘em on…

• There is no getting away from the fact that Seán Gallagher was Fianna Fáil’s bag-man. The Tweet is only a distraction. When the curtain comes down, it’stime to get off the stage Mr.Gallagher. Take your beating and move on. You repulsive, horrible little man.

• BLAH BLAH BLAH SEAN GALLAGHER BLAH

• Is there no end to this at least the rest of the runners up appear to have moved on.
    Enough or this will become like nice Lisbon ect keep rerunning it till gallagher gets elected.
    GO AWAY SEAN re join FF or continuity FF (present gov) and put your self before the people at next local elections 2014

• The Fianna Fail Trojan Horse was stopped at the gates of #aras11 by the people. The crowd gathered & blocked the entrance. No use trying to blame the road the people took to block the entrance.

• Well done Martin you “did the state some service” to quote one of Fianna Fails most patriotic of servants.

• He fixed the road!

• @Michael cuthbert is that a sarcastic answer or are you serious?New Zealand privatized their state broadcaster why can’t we?

• Okay, let’s take off the tinfoil hats for a moment, and look at this as a whole. Bearing in mind that RTE is quite capable and proven in terms of biased content, of course. Let us not forget the years of soft FF interviews, dissension headed off at the pass, and all that sort of thing.

Some people are saying, whether out of genuine concern, or out of other motivations, that this thing should be looked at objectively. And you know what? They’re right.

So let’s do that. There are two key instances that have driven this chain of events;

Firstly, the tweet. This was quoted by Pat Kenny on the night-verbatim, as originating from the “Martin McGuinness for president twitter account”. This was a clone account, set up almost simultaneously with the official MMcG twitter account, which carries a very similar name; @McGuinness4pres being the infamous one which was quoted, and @Martin4Pres2011 being the official twitter account. They both look identical, and carry the same profile details. The tweet in question is still up, incidentally: https://twitter.com/#!/McGuinness4Pres/status/128585281522761728

The person who set up the twitter account at the heart of this is known to a number of journalists, having PMed them using the account to prove his ownership. So, there we are.

Now, leaving hindsight aside, what was the motivation behind either setting up the account, or posting the tweet? At a guess, initially, it was either a result of crossed wires within the campaign (in which case one of the accounts would have been retired) or sheer mischief. My money is on the latter, most likely coupled with a nice dollop of boredom. With regard to the tweet itself, the poster may well have hoped for an on air mention, given the implied provenance of the account, but I doubt that in his wildest dreams he could have foreseen the impact.

Dipping back into my own partiality for the moment-I was delighted to hear the tweet read out, and positively ecstatic at the jarring beneficial effect it had on Sean Gallagher’s memory, but I doubt the (so far) anonymous tweeter ever thought it would have hit home so hard.

Anyway, we all know the outcome. MMcG has said, quite correctly, on a number of occasions that there were a number of SF people present in Montrose that could have confirmed the provenance of the tweet. Obviously he could have not done so on air himself, as he was out of the loop at the time. Even before The Frontline went off the air, a number of journalists elsewhere had copped the fact that the tweet was not official.

So, is it a grand conspiracy? No. Simply a matter of a researcher dropping the ball. But we can’t leave it there, in all fairness. Two parties had the opportunity to redress matters subsequently, and they both happened to meet in PK’s radio studio the following morning. Neither Pat, nor Gallagher mentioned it, and both had plenty of chances to do so. I don’t know why the normally briefed-to-the-hilt PK didn’t do it, but, thanks to an RTE documentary after the fact, and his utterances on the morning, it was clear to all that Gallagher seemed more preoccupied with squaring up to Fionnán Sheehan in the studio, falling over himself to appear caring by commiserating on the sad death of an off duty Garda the day before, and castigating Glenna Lynch, to raise the matter himself. One wonders, given that he seems so worried about it now, and that it was common knowledge well before he went on the Pat Kenny show that morning, why he didn’t do so either then, or thereafter, until the election was over.

Secondly, we have Jody Corcoran, and his article of this morning. You need to google this guy. No, seriously. He is about as unbiased as Himmler in a synagogue-and I apologise for being facetious, but his FF credentials are both impeccable, and a matter of record. He’s also a keen follower of that Independent journalistic style-of using “one” word “quotes” to make “anyone” say “anything”.

Read the article here: http://www.politics.ie/forum/news-comments/183784-article-gallagher-seek-full-proper-inquiry-following-sunday-independent-revelations-over-frontline-presidential-debate-11.html

He has come up with this audience member, who has, slightly akin to the wedded chap in the proverb, commented in haste, and repented at leisure. Pat McGuirk went on The Frontline, having had numerous prior contacts via email with the research team, and, while he is being quoted now as an admirer of Sean Gallagher, told SG on air at the time that people were sick and tired of hearing about jobs, and asked how many of his oft quoted hundred jobs were still there? Obviously a diehard supporter then.

He then, having gone through some to-ing and fro-ing as regards his question, which was framed by RTE based on his emails, and suggested to him simply as a read through for fluency alone on the night, went before the cameras, went home, thought about it, went to bed, got up, went through his day, thought about it again, and then took the time to email RTE and thank them for having him on, and for the general experience of participating in a live debate.

The fact that he has surfaced now is based more on his acceptance of a reporter’s flattery, and his own vain wish to get on the front page again, than it is in any factual bias on the part of the state broadcaster. And I say that as someone who recognises good work when it arises, from RTE, but as someone who is no fan of their ongoing establishment structure. Any organisation that gives Joe Duffy and Derek Mooney full editorial control, and almost a million a year between them must be seriously broken.

As it seems is this whole crusade on the part of Sean Gallagher. He is cute enough to know that many people don’t like RTE, but that doesn’t mean we have to tilt at windmills just because he, ironically, sees them as hulking giants.

• Most people don’t realise that pat Kenny is not directly employed by rte, very few of their more prominent stars are. He is employed by his own production company who are contracted to make certain programs. These different production companies can employ staff at much lower rates than rte would ever be allowed to pay and use mostly undergraduate slave labour so handing over editorial control to a company like these would not be in the best interests of rte or the licence paying public.

Derek mooney is the highest paid broadcaster currently directly employed by rte.

• By jaysus that was long winded.

• alan 12/03/12 #

why can’t we just celebrate the fact that we don’t have an ignorant fianna fail bagman for a president?

• Despite what happened sour grapes Gallagher was proven to be a liar and a liar is not fit to be president, he can go back to being a Donald Trump wannabe , who cares

• Shane 11/03/12 #

Credibility?? Matting mcguiness really?? U are kidding me! Pot kettle.

• Ye are all missing the point, we should expect more from our national station!! Absolute Shame on them, whether or not your happy that SG got slaughtered!!!

• You are absolutely right, we are entitled as taxpayers that there is absolutely total transparency in this publicly funded organisation. It seems that many comments are based around political bias towards or against some of the candidates and not the real point i.e our national broadcaster manipulated the debate and therefore caused a change in the public perception of a candidate based on false information. PS not everyone missed the point see above.

• @ Thomas
      I’m sure you meant based on a false source of the information. Big big difference.

• mcbab 12/03/12 #

Paddy. You have hit the nail on the head. That is the bottom line. Well done.

• Mc Stout has a TEAM – Jesus help us. Is it the same team that planted bombs in Omagh or any number of other locations? They are normally called phsycopaths or terrorists.

• Get over it, Frank. On second thought, don’t get over it. Blame them. They’re why you’re so miserable, Frank. You can always blame those murdering terrorists for all your pain. Live a life of blame and pain, Frank. God bless you.

• The dissident Real IRA planted the bomb in Omagh Frank. Not PIRA.

Your kind of rhetoric plays right into their hands tho. Why give peace a chance when no one is willing to forgive. I’d say Ronan Kerr’s mother really appreciates your particular kind of hatred.

• Aleo 11/03/12 #

Well said, Frank. Let’s hear Mr McGuinness deal with all the questions he has to answer, starting with the murder of Jean McConville by cowards and thugs.

• omagh. mmg???? fool

• U need to leave that stuff in the past also unless u can prove that Martin had something to do with omagh bomb then please let’s us all know. Good man now jog on

• True Réada. The PIRA would never have done anything like that. Nor could they be held responsible for the RIRA fellas cutting their teeth in the PIRA before ’94.

Oh, wait though…

• I know Michael. But you’ve never seen me writing hateful language towards the Brits who started this mess either. I don’t call everyone in the Paras or the regular British army phsycopaths or terrorists. Some of them might well be as some in PIRA were but I just think we should move forward and start forgiving. Truth and Reconciliation. Both will be difficult but both will be worth the effort.

• Ha, yeh. Thought it was Diarmait Mac Murchadha, King of Leinster, and Richard de Clare, Norman Earl of Pembroke (Wales), that started it.

Might take a while so…

• Ha yeh yourself Michael. I was only going as far back as 1972 believe it or not and the resurgence of the PIRA after the events of Bloody Sunday.

But Ireland has never been short of sleeveens out to earn a quick buck. Mé Féiners we call them.

• exactly, martin and his cronies hijacked the election, sein fein serve themselves and not the people of ireland.

• 12/03/12 #

Would BAI investigate what RTE studiously refuses to report. Further details by searching in Google for ‘Common Informer Hanna Windle TSB’

Cheers

Le Enfant Terrible

• mcbab 11/03/12 #

Shut up snake eyes. Don’t care what you think.

• Well he should know, shouldn’t he?

Add New Comment