TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Here’s the exact transcript of Angela Merkel’s comments in Brussels

“It will not be a retroactive direct capitalisation. If recapitalisation is possible, it will come for the future.”

HERE ARE THE WORDS, directly from the source, that Angela Merkel uttered in Brussels earlier today – and which have caused a flurry of diplomatic activity across Europe this evening.

The comments came towards the end of a press conference with German reporters in Brussels. It is common for individual heads of government to conduct a national press conference, separate to – and often clashing with – the official conference held by Herman van Rompuy and Jose Manuel Barroso.

This time, Merkel’s conference did not clash directly with those of the European leaders – but did, coincidentally, happen to take place at the same time as that of Enda Kenny.

Merkel had spent the bulk of the conference discussing the agreement of EU leaders to lay the legal foundations for the new Single Supervisory Mechanism – the new pan-European banking supervisor which must be in place before the ESM bailout fund can contribute to the recapitalisation of banks.

The chancellor had pointed out that the new regulator would take some time to establish – and made the point that even the recruitment of suitable staff would take a considerable time.

She was therefore asked whether her apparent lack of urgency on setting up the new regulator was connected to the fact that she must herself face the electorate in September 2013 – around the time that the ESM could have to chip in with a rescue for Spain’s banks.

The exchange below took place in German, but the English translation given is the one added to the live international broadcast by the translation services of the European Council.

Oliver Grimm of Die Presse, Vienna. Madam chancellor, there are a few voices here and there that say your reticence on the time plan for the banking union has something to do with the elections in Germany taking place next year.

Is this simply a malicious sort of slander, or does it have something to do with you having to… if the banks have to be capitalised, explaining to the German voter again why they have to cough up to the money? Or are you actually completely free in your mind and the elections have no role to play in this at all?

No matter what I’m going to say, it will probably not be the right answer by your senses.

I haven’t even thought about this before you said it.

I mean, the Spanish banks have just undergone an evaluation process. They have capital requirements of which we have heard, now, for the first time specific figures.

The banks have some kind of programme under which the banks can be recapitalised – the Spanish banks, that is – and Spain has to ask for these tranches.

It will not be a retroactive direct capitalisation. If recapitalisation is possible, it will come for the future.

So if the banking supervision is in place, then we no longer have any problems with the Spanish banks. That is my hope. Because already in 2012 I have decided on a programme of recapitalisation of Spanish banks.

I must say it’s completely far from my mind, this kind of idea.

Let me tell you again: two to four hundred people are needed into what is a completely new institution, who on the 19th of October don’t even have a legal kind of basis. It’s not even on the horizon for the time being.

Nobody can ensure me that this will work better than anything we have in place right now. If we were to throw these people into this authority as of the 1st of January, I mean, it’s [as] clear as the day*.

* The exact phrase used by Merkel here was ‘klar wie Kloßbrühe’, a German turn of phrase which literally means ‘clear as dumpling broth’, but has been translated by Oliver Grimm himself as ‘plain as a pikestaff’, another colloquial phrase.

Read: Merkel rules out backdated ESM help for bailing out Europe’s banks

Read next:

Comments (103 Comments)

• What ????

• One word !!! Bitch

• Germany is an easy scapegoat, they got history but in fairness they are only doing what we would do with their extra clout, saving their own asses. The real enemy is the oligarachs who control the banks and the major corporations and especially the group who control the ECB. “Give me control of a nations currency and i care not who makes the laws” – Rothschild. It is no surprise to see the ECB coming out of this crisis in the strongest position. They call the shots now, politicans are just middle managment. Take the power of printing money away from private institutions and we’ll be half way there other wise we are f**ked.

• Anngela, she’s a fine lookin woman. If i wasnt a married man, welllll, I’m telling you!

• @killian It is people like you that allowed themselves being screwed over and over again that make sure nothing will happen in this nation for at least another decade.

• I was watching CNN to day and could not believe what I heard .The US government spent less getting the Motor industry , AIG , laymans brothers that we have bailed out the Irish banks .That is just out of this world .We get so use to the word billion !!!!!!

• I hope now that someone we respect (our president, perhaps) stands up and tells us that the emperor has no clothes. The jig is up. Europe does not love us the way we expect the whole world to love us. I only hope now, pathetically, that we refuse the e.u presidency in some sort of a symbolic passive-aggressive hissy fit. :(

• he doesn’t deserve the honour of that title in my eyes. what about end-its enforcer dodging tax in Portugal. so by your logic he has no right to express his opinion? or are you Phil hiding behind a fake name. do your self a favor and keep it closed. thinkin the sun shines out of their arses. cop on man.

• You don’t get to decide, Stephen. The people of Ireland made him Taoiseach. Of course you know better than the people of Ireland, don’t you?

• Enda just got bitch-slapped. Again!

• The questioner Oliver Grimm of Austria’s leading newspaper Die Presse reported on Thomas Pringle TD’s case on the ESM last week. The case starts on Tuesday in Luxembourg. When he met Mr Pringle in Brussels last week he was struck at how little mainstream party political support the case seemed to have in Ireland.

It’s never too late to do the right thing. Ask the obvious question – Why is the Govt paying over €1,270,000,000 – and promising another 10 billion – to the ESM? First payment Tuesday.

• “On the Road Again”

• As with the other Merkel/ESM thread, I’ve just deleted a large number of comments which were either off-topic, interpersonal slagging matches, or (mostly) both. This isn’t a place to discuss who does what in their private lives. Please try to keep your discussion to the matter at hand – and please play the ball, folks, not the player!

• What is the point in being part of union if the leaders of the union renege on their word. The government needs to grow a pair of b@lls and tell the rest of the EU, no more. The Irish people will no longer shoulder the burden of the biggest bailout in history. If legacy debt for Ireland cannot be agreed , we will not pay another cent and the whole single currency will collapse.

• mike 19/10/12 #

It’s time for Germany to leave the euro.

• How many people believe their taxes pay for services in this country? Is it not in fact the creditors who receive our taxes?

• mike 19/10/12 #

She only represents one country. It is also the view of a number of economists that the euro has a better survival chance without Germany. As a euro devaluation would benefit the majority of euro countries.

• Resel 19/10/12 #

She’s the magaret thacher of Europe

• We need to stop being complete mugs and force this government to start saying No to Europes strangle hold and start putting our own people first.. better late than never.

• How will Kenny and noonan spin this, me thinks Eddie Hobbs has the real truth. #

• so killian you must be JP mc manus biggest enemy so. enda must have his bullying trolls out in force tonight :-D

• I’m sure you mean the Taoiseach, Stephen.

• Paddy you appear not to understand the principle of civil disobedience, whereby citizens oppose unjust laws by standing together and jointly taking an illegal protest action, risking the legal consequences to themselves in order to highlight a greater injustice.

This is not your common or garden secretive tax evasion, as is practiced by those with no love of the common good. This is a public boycott, carried out with a view to adding to the common good.

Do you think the unjust and immoral Jim crow laws in the US south, or apartheid in South Africa could have been ended without massive campaigns of civil DISobedience, which first broke the law (which led to protesters taking their just punishments) and ultimately BROKE the unjust systems of laws concerned.

• Isn’t it funny how anyone who offers an articulate, alternate argument is a troll? Truth rt?

• Truth hurt.

• articulate, alternate argument run that by me again Killian cause I missed that bit?

• @Paddy, I pay ?1000+ a week in paye tax, (52% on most of my wages) I’m not paying the ?100 house hold charge.. am I a leach or can you see it’s a point of principal as lot’s of us have paid thousands in stamp duty..

• #ShaneO’Donoghue… What point of principle is that? This country is broke. It’s making a loss year on year. It has massive debt. Like it or not the Government has no choice but to reach into our pockets and take the money out. Whether its a household charge or not, that money is coming out of our pocket. The whole household charge campaign is a SF orchestrated pantomime. I don’t want to pay it either- but such is where we are after the mistakes of the Celtic Tiger years. As for stamp duty, you pay road tax, but you pay tolls I presume and VRT on your car. Double taxing is nothing new. There’s nothing off the wall worse about the household charge than many other taxes we have to stomach. We’re in a really bad place. It’s wrong at a hundred levels. But stomping our feet won’t change the fact that things are going to be a whole lot tougher over the next ten years. The household charge isn’t even the tip of the iceberg.

• Well lets kick the Germans out then.

• mike 19/10/12 #

yes. they only want to keep the euro as an export market.. But they block most recovery plans that non invested economists recommend. They can’t have their cake and eat it. If Europe stopped importing German exports they would change their tune quickly.

• Martin + Mike
      How is it that Merkle has or thinks she has so much power ? It has always amazed me that even tho Germany is only one country ,she has so much power ! .Maybe the Germans should go, or maybe we should leave the euro ourselves and go it alone like Iceland and Britain.

• that is as clear as mud !

• What is really scary is how it is that Angela Merkel can now stand up and make a pronouncement like that and nobody even bothers commenting on the nerve of her to presume to declare EU policy as though she is the President of the United States of Europe. It’s now tacitly accepted?!?!?! When the economic tsunami has subsided, this might be the most worrying legacy of the entire crisis.

• But sure Killian , This is exactly what we have been saying all along , and it is only now you are saying it ….What kept you ?

• Resel 19/10/12 #

Well said

• As you don’t pay your taxes and therefore don’t pay the full amount for our elected representatives, you have no right to comment and I place no value on your contribution. That’s why.

• Aw Killian
      Don’t be like that now that we are in agreement that Kenny is so wrong ….
      I reckon , you are just so bl**dy angry that Kenny has let you down again AND that you paid the house hold tax ,but I think you do ”place value on my contributions” . You see , I have never lied or changed my position on this government , I am not afraid to say what I think , and I am usually not wrong in my understandings or assertions .

• Killian, by your logic the irish nation haven’t paid there fair share to Der fuhrer Merkel and so should collectively shut up, as far a she’s concerned. There In lies the truth. We are irrelevant now in the big federal state. A welfare spoonger if you like. Well done Yes voters.

• I had to read it to be sure that Enda and Co. have and it is clear that they have, Completely twisted and distorted the reality of the situation ,again.It is in black and white and they are fools to their own cause.Nobody could claim there is any ambiguity in the statement. ‘For the future’ Is as clear as need be as far as recapitalisation retrospectively = bail out part two……

• Lads the country is rightly fu**ed now. Last out turn off the lights.

• It is as expected not a surprise to see that Enda Kenny was true to form, Wrong again in his analysis of the financial developments in Europe. Michael Noonan,ominously quiet, also wrong.As finance minister you would at least expect him to be at the forefront of the ongoing ‘retrospective recapitalisation’ issue that would save this country billions in the long run. Would it really? you have to ask. Has Merkel indicated a yet unidentified strategy change and is playing for time to revise the current tactics or is it as most suspect dead in the water.Whatever her private thoughts are now it does not appear likely that it will happen soon.The people of this country deserve better than we have got from our team in Europe and that too seems unlikely to happen.Outplayed, outgunned call it as you will.
    We are looking at a budget just weeks away. There will no doubt be adjustments to that sometime in the new year. As the next budget bites and the new taxes take their toll it will become harder and harder for people to live from week to week. We have been experiencing little compared to what has to come by way of hardship.It applies to those on 60,000 a year as much as those eeking out a meagre existence on social welfare.We are all in some kind of debt and its relative to our incomes and that is a salient fact that should be taken on board by all.We have all read of how some members of the gardai are struggling to survive on salaries some would dream of earning. 50,000 a year seems a lot to many yet when 20,000 plus is going on mortgage repayments and all those other expenses you incur when you are working.Nurses, Firemen, Ambulance drivers and the list goes on. How the hell could it be true that these people are now struggling to get by in a way that is not so dissimilar to those on welfare and pensions.
    We are here due to the greed and incompetence of those we entrusted our national wealth too. Where are they now? Sitting high on the pigs back ,sporting a look of complete indifference to the people who voted them in and trusted them.Here we are now and it seems that those that we trusted to help us get out of this endless ,soul destroying crisis are no more capable of doing anything than those that got us to where we find ourselves today.Now the grim spectre of an election looms ,Grim indeed because we have no options left. How soon it will take place is hard to say. Personally I do not see this present Gov. getting much further than April or May. Before they knock on our doors we should all take the time to decide what the issues are and choose the promises for them.
    There are some good men and women in the Dail,Scattered across many parties. Its not going to be easy, but someone somewhere had better learn to lead. Because right now we have nobody. I am seriously challenged to think of how the next gov will be made up.SF…Okay. FF…Coalison possiblities. FG…Out I reckon. Ind…keep very few. Most should go ,they have proved to be less than useless. Lab…The make the number up stooges I like being an optimist. I find pessimism depressing at times.

• Enda Kenny is like the Mayo team go to the final day and then let everyone down,it is time to off load Kenny and co.

• to all the pro euro dummies, thanks a lot guys!

• Frau Merkel seems to be only referring to Spanish banks in that statement? It would be a big mistake for Irish German EU relations if Ireland were not to benefit from retrospective recapitalisation having done the ‘decent thing’

If appears that you have to act like a total delinquent in order to get the EU are to pay attention. Is that the lesson they want to impart?

• im amazed at the amount of people who are shocked at todays events. our gov lied to get into power and have lied to us ever since. time we got up off our arses and told them enough is enough. there is a protest march on 3 nov against cuts to child benefit at parnell square. that would b a start to get out in our thousands and demand to be listened to. we need to get up and do something cos if we dont it will always be the same crap

• Merkel did her job and represented the best interests of her people throughout this process, it’s a pity at no point did any of our representatives think about following her example! We have been played into a corner where every option equals years of economic hardship. Time now to either shut up and pay up or default and start again.

• I’m more peeved with the Germans and the ECB than Enda or Noonan. Lets face it no matter who we send in there they were not going to get this deal with the German election looming. If Merkel is prepared to gamble on the future of Spain and possibly the euro then she certainly couln’t give a toss about the Irish and their problems.

• Vy?

Vy vould ze Germans vont to bail us out when Enda ze prime minister hass salary equal to Fraü Merkel – and only equal on account of her recent pay rise.

Vy could it be ok for a Irish county manager to earn 30% more zen ze Spanish PM – who ve are clearly now going to ‘elp

Ze bailed out AHH I B has 8 hundred 61 persons earning ofer 100k per annum. Does AHH I B have 8 hundred 61 Spanish PM’s I ?

I can see the Germans point of view. They’d be off their heads to offer us a deal when we have so many snouts gorging at the tax payers and Irish lenders trough. Give Merkel a bit of credit. She might just save this country

• You need help Pádraig.

• a blind man on a galloping horse could see it coming.Why is everyone so shocked.

• I reckon Dame Enda will be ensuring the introduction of a “KY Jelly Allowance” for the current and upcoming Taoisigh in December’s budget.

• We should never have stayed neutral in ww2. No thanks at all now for dev sending the nations condolence to dem deutchen volke. And never mind us allowing all the German industrialists invest here in the 60s. And all the Mercs and Beemers and VWs we buy. Not another pound of butter will we give the ungrateful bastards.

• go away let’s join our UK brothers dump them back to strling go away no to Europe controlled by germny

• I wonder if our fine Men & Women in Leinster House had of spent the last 18 months actually tackling the overspend and maybe even paying lip service by slashing their own overinflated salaries, would their European counterparts have been more pro Ireland?

• “Now what is the message there? The message is that there are no “knowns.” There are things we know that we know. There are known unknowns. That is to say there are things that we now know we don’t know. But there are also unknown unknowns. There are things we do not know we don’t know. So when we do the best we can and we pull all this information together, and we then say well that’s basically what we see as the situation, that is really only the known knowns and the known unknowns. And each year, we discover a few more of those unknown unknowns.”

• I’m still trying to get over the 6-1 scoreline last week.

• That said, TIME TO STAND UP, TAOISEACH!!!!!!!!!!!

• Should’ve gone to Specsavers, Padraig!

• WE pay – ground tax, water tax savings tax, tax on our pension, church tax, tax for the new countries (East Germany), rubish collection from household, road tax, dog tax, tax on monies gained (through Lotto Win, testament, Inheritance) God I could go on…..but nobody complains or goes on strike. We just get on with it – but always have to pay for the other EEC countries who can´t get their act together. A country cannot exist without taxes!!!. But I can understand the Irish – once you have something you do not want to give it up. But you are a member of the EEC and you have the Euro so stop complaining and get on with it.

• John 20/10/12 #

Surely it’s time for us to stand up for ourselves and tell Angela and co where to go. What astonishes me is that Germany are getting away scot free with their part in creating this mess. To support the reunification of Germany interest rates had to stay unrealistically low in the nineties to allow Germany cope with the reunification cost and support their economy. The rest of Europe (incl us) supported them in the process and that economic stance was the seed of the Celtic tiger leading to the Irish bust. The Germans were the biggest authors of the Euro because it suited THEM. The resulting banking integration meant that money was too freely available and boy are we suffering now as a result. Enda (or someone else) needs to tell them to get lost and be ballsy enough to say we will go it on our own if we have to……. There is an argument for us doing so and if he even threatened it, it would scare the sh*t out of them all….Because it would kill europe and send germany into a mother of all recessions. We are living beyond our means and paying this debt back is not helping us get back on our feet………….Enda – stand up for us (and yourself) and go tell Angela to get stuffed!

• It looks like the French are concerned may rise to the occasion and take a stand for us. Shame on pathetic Kenny and his band of pompous fools.

• Sigh !

Add New Comment