TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Minister Hogan jeered at by crowd in Carlow

The Environment Minister was the focus of protestors against the Household Charge in Carlow last night – and a local councillor has described their behaviour as “scurrilous”.

Minister Phil Hogan
Image: Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland

A CROWD OF protestors against the Household Charge gathered outside an event where Environment Minister Phil Hogan was speaking in Carlow last night.

One local councillor, Fine Gael’s Michael Abbey, spoke out against their behaviour, which occurred as the Minister was opening a new museum in the town.

He said he believed those protesting were not all Carlow natives – “they were there for one reason and one reason only – they were there to attack the Minister.” While he noted that “their protest is something we all agree with”, he described their behaviour as “absolutely scurrilous”.

Cllr Abbey said the behaviour was intimidating to a group of young children who were waiting to play music at the event.

Whatever your sympathies and whatever your views on the right or wrongness of the Household Charge, there is no excuse for this. It was a great Carlow occasion and we had waited for so many years for our own museum and there was a wonderful facility which had been put in place. In no sense were they hell bent on doing anything other than causing the maxiumum of disruption.

Cllr Abbey said that he supported peaceful protest but not the behaviour he saw last night. He said that for the people who put so much into the opening of the museum, “it was very disappointing for them; they didn’t have a chance to enjoy it”.

Deputy Joan Collins, who was not present at last night’s event, is opposed to the Household Charge. She told TheJournal.ie today that she would not have a problem with protesting, but did not condone some of last night’s behaviour:

In general you would have a go off the minister but I would not condone people using bad language. But I don’t know what happened there.

Minister Hogan’s press officer said he did not believe Minister had plans to comment on last night’s events.

- Additional reporting by Hugh O’Connell

Read: Estimated 890,000 have paid the household charge>

Read next:

Comments (100 Comments)

• 24 years living in Carlow and we are finally a city :) yay!! When did that happen :) genuinely pleased me to read that :)

• Mr Phil Hogan:
    Refused solidarity wage cut of €4k

Treathened every citizen in the Nation with a criminal act of stealing there data from ESB.

Household Charge is a ultra right wing tax which goes against the Irish peoples wishes of being taxed for income or consumption

Under his administration of the household charge the public badly informed. Were given very few avenues to pay. Recieved no invoice and treated with contempt.

Didn’t pay service charges in Spain himself.

Crude sexual insults of fellow female members of the house.

Enda this guys 15 minutes are up time to put him out of our and his misery. This guy lacks the qualties needed to minister of this country.

• @ Jack Dermody

Hear, hear!

• Progressive property taxes are found mostly in liberal European countries. They’re very left wing in fact.

• Well said Jack.

• @David Higgins,

Normally, I would not have a problem having to pay another ‘tax’. But I do feel I deserve respect in a way that the Bull should have done some kind of interview on the TV/radio and explain what his intentions were and are going to be. For example, if he told me that this was “a registration fee, but sadly that’s all it is, because, unfortunately, I’ll be charging more for the real tax next January, thank you all for understanding”. I wouldn’t have been happy but I’d try, try and find the EUR100 from somewhere and worry about the ‘real’ tax in January.

But, as usual, the arrogance and disrespect that Hogan and the rest of them show me and the whole of Ireland is not acceptable. I would not allow my children speak down to me like that. They were very well reared. They weren’t dragged up like Hogan +.

I don’t know what happened in Carlow, but if some did use awful language in front of young children that was wrong. A silent protest would have been my choice, it might have frightened the bjasus out of him more!

• Dave 12/04/12 #

David – the household charge is a flat tax, not a progressive one. You lot need to get used to this reception because you are going to get it every time your party members step out in public until the day we run you out of office and consign you to the political history books, just like the prior occupants of government buildings. I voted FG last time round – but your party lied to us at a time when we needed their honesty and integrity, and we will never forgive you for it.

• I think that any party that thought a property tax was going to be acceptable in a country like Ireland is completely out of touch. Progressive or not. I would raise taxes on income but, with our history, this was never going to go down well. Out of touch with their people. Government FAIL!!!

• A new museum in the city???

• “Sometimes the law defends plunder and participates in it. Thus the beneficiaries are spared the shame and danger that their acts would otherwise involve… But how is this legal plunder to be identified? Quite simply. See if the law takes from some persons what belongs to them and gives it to the other persons to whom it doesn’t belong. See if the law benefits one citizen at the expense of another by doing what the citizen himself cannot do without committing a crime. Then abolish that law without delay – No legal plunder; this is the principle of justice, peace, order, stability, harmony and logic.”
    ― Frédéric Bastiat, The Law

• Hogan should count himself lucky all he has had to endure is someone swearing at him. He’s lucky he hasn’t been dragged kicking and screaming out of office along with the rest of his cronies. These politicians hold the citizens of this country in such contempt and people are quick to condone swearing. Let’s get real here people it’s time to start playing fire with fire and lets start standing up to these bullies and show them they have no place in public office. We want people to represent us, to stand up for us, not to bully us and treat us like dirt. Come on a bit of realism is required here.

• Should have thought about that when you asked the traitor to open your museum, Samantha Brick would have been a better option.

• Of course it was a Fine Gael councilor! Of course the protesters were not from Carlow!!!! So what are you saying, that the Carlow people agree with the ‘registration fee’? Don’t be silly man. Yes, maybe there were a few that might have gone too far and maybe, said things they shouldn’t have, but these people are angry.

What did the ‘bull’ expect, a welcome?

• Minister Hogan, you and your party mislead the people during the last election with regard to what your policies would be. Both FG and the Labour Party canvassed on a burn the bondholders, not a penny more ticket. At the time it was obvious to everyone that either FG or an FG/Labour coalition would be in power. It was also obvious to you and your colleauges that you either would not or could not burn bondholders or default in any way. Put simply the people were lied to for political gain. While this practice has been de rigeur in Irish politics since the foundation of the State we were and still are in a national crisis. By acting as they have your party have shown a total disregard for the people of this nation. Not, I would add due to your current policies but rather by your manner of getting elected. Do not expect respect unless its earned, sincerity is subject to proof and your government have proven nothing but the insincerity of their promises. The trust of the people has been lost by this government. It no longer has the right to govern.
      And if you are angry at the actions of those protesters ask yourself why they acted like that. And if you think they went too far then look across the sea at Greece and be thankful for the forebearance of the Irish people.

• Politicians try to mis-direct our attention on the reactions of people, painting them as wrongdoers and thus avoiding the underlying cause which is where our attention needs to be.

• Seriously what does Hogan expect? A brass band? He should know by now everywhere he goes he’s going to be heckled! He should have thought about protesters when he agreed to open the bloody museum after what he’s done to the Irish complying tax paying people of this country! Enough nails in our coffins thank you!!

• Oh poor Phil Hogan, better get used to being spoken to by angry people, expressing their frustration, at HIS FAILURES. Another inept gombeen, thankfully identified as useless by the Irish people and soon to be discarded and forgotten.

• delighted hogan got a nice and appropriate welcome home to carlow.

• FG Councillor Michael Abbey would want to cop himself on and turn his attention to his own party for their flagrant disregard of the Irish people. More than 50% of Irish homes refused to pay this charge! They have no mandate to carry on with this fiasco.

You bet there were people from outside the county ready to voice their destain towards Phil Hogan.

I’ll have to see some bruises before I believe Phil Hogan was attacked. The way the FG delegate walk through the protesters at the FG Árd Fheis was covered by the media was pure spin and lies! If we ever needed evidence that RTE is a mouthpiece for government propaganda we saw it on film. Talk about staged. Several FGers decide to walk through us the protesters? Followed by a TV crew? Do they think we’re stupid?

Your answer!

• Not to mention the fact that Mrs FU two fingers wasnt filmed by RTE or any of the newspapers. I have asked the Journal if they could verify this photo, but as of yet they have not given an answer. I was standing right in front of the FG delegation as they passed through the crowd and yes they were jeered and heckled but the only pushing that was going on was by cameramen trying to get a good photo.

• My answer Reada? Yes I do think that the government thinks we’re stupid – we voted for them, and FF before that!
      And how do we show that we’re not stupid? By not letting them polarize the electorate into a position favouring them in the upcoming vote on the fiscal compact. The cynical ploy to manipulate the media, that you so perceptibly describe, is to promote a negative view of the anti house tax people who unsurprisingly will form the majority of no voters to this financial straitjacket (the outcome of which is more important in the long run than the house tax.)
      It is incumbent that the anti household charge campaign manage itself very carefully over the next few weeks so that more and more people (whether they have paid this charge or not) can see the justification of their ways if not the result of the fiscal compact referendum will favour the government :-(

• John. Myself and Anne and Susie et mas are all going to Galway this weekend. And when we’re finished we’ll have The West Awake. And with The West Awake – you’ll see FG/Labour Quake! :D

• Yahoo! Behave yerselves, remember Big Phil’s watching and waiting to get yiz all into trouble and then spill the beans!

• Ya coming John?

• Would love to. Unfortunately I have to tread the mill wheel :-(

• David 12/04/12 #

Oh look, they’re all joining up and getting a life for themselves. Off to Galway for the weekend. Hope ye don’t get lost now out there with all the darkness and wild country people and stuff.

• We will of course behave ourselves . In fact I am going again with my family , and meeting up with others there. It should be just as good a protest as the last one . Just on that point tho , At the Dublin protest there were two women I saw hand young men placards to hold saying their arms were tired ….. but the placards read anti HHC campaign slogans, a deliberate attempt to cause trouble ,and I do not believe either of these women concerned them selves with the presence of children there either .So I will ask every one to be careful on saturday and don’t be duped to react .

• David
      You should come along too ?

• Dave 12/04/12 #

Anyone getting violent needs to be gently pushed towards the Gardai. Dont let the provocateurs score a moral victory.

• Does no one think it problematic that the FG cllr’s opinion took up half the article while the only person from the anti-hhc side interviewed was Joan Collins who said she wasn’t even there? It would have been great to hear both sides of the story.

• While I don’t agree with swearing or insults even though we all get frustrated and about sometimes, I don’t know if half of these people understand what a protest is! It’s supposed to disrupt! If all protests were to be scheduled to cause minimum hassle, what’s the point? People are desperate to illicit a response because so far, they’ve been ignored.

• Yes yes, thats right blueshirts. It’s not the education cuts, increase in classroom numbers, increased poverty, austerity and new taxes thats hurting our children, its protestors using bad language. I don’t recall any of the people on here doing the whole ‘will somebody please think of the children’ act when inda and noonan handed our money to wealthy gamblers.

• Just to mention everyone is invited to the protest at the labour convention at the weekend in Galway by the way. Could be small amount of bad language and some anger, but its all in good spirits and directed at the source, really nice people at these protest and great banter – Don’t let these liars and heartless people bring you down!! ‘All hail then to the mob, the incarnation of progress’ as James Connolly said. Join the Campaign Against the Household & Water Taxes protest march from Eyre Square (Galway) to the Labour Party Conference in NUIG. Assemble at 1pm, in Eyre Square this Saturday, April 14th. And just to mention the campaign against the household tax is a boycott and as such any protests by the campaign are peaceful and friendly..although we are all individuals and some are more ‘passionate’. No-one at any protest has caused any trouble. And this rubbish is only out there to split people, stick together and do what is right. Enda Kenny said once ‘ it is morally wrong, unjust and unfair to tax a person’s home’…Morality hasn’t changed and I would agree with that statement if people are going to have to pay for service then they should get those services and everyone who receives those services should pay!! A lot of changes need to take place in this country. Starting with the removal of these dead political heads, with the same ideas, business as usual for the same cronies – if you want change, you’ll have to go and make it happen, don’t expect others to do it for you. Don’t complain – Campaign!

• I was there and I called them, them being the FG cllrs. Pat Deering and Phil Hogan Scum and that is what they are..scum of the earth! There was no shortage of Gardai yesterday I can tell you that – where are these Gardai when actual people, not mere shells need them. I’ve no time for lap-dogs and party puppies. What they are doing is contrary to the interest and the will of the Irish people. And they are – pure SCUM!

• Never mind jeering, get the eggs out.

• What If the Money that is being poured into Failed banks and shipped to foreign bondholders was instead used to invest in Our economy and so create jobs (preferably export driven) instead of the financial services parasite sector. Maybe then the people who have been rendered unemployed with no hope of finding work ,as there is none, could be removed from your list. That would only leave an Inefficient black hole health service, Overstaffed inefficient government departments and the massive pension and wages bill attached to them, Education, pensions and overpaid politicians to deal with. You make it look as if social welfare is a major factor, it is indeed significant but only trails behind the others I have Listed.

P.S. Might be worth looking at the reason we need to borrow from foreign banks in the first place to have accumulated this debt. We are awash with resources (which have been given away) and land etc. We should be one of the wealthiest countries in Europe but of course that would mean we would need to create a real economy which benefits all the people and not a financial services sector economy which will only ever benefit a few. FF FG LAB are no different from each-other, same people different label.The political party may change at election time but the Genius Civil Servant Advisers and their Banker Bosses Don’t ,neither does the fact that these people have forgotten who they really should be working for.

• Heavens, wouldn’t somebody, anybody, save the children (insert emotional ‘sob’ here), our little ones, from the flagrant evil of this out-of-control, blood-thirsty lynch-mob?

• Get used to it Phil, in fact, expect for it to get worse.
    A politician upset by unparliamentary language?
    In other countries there is barricades and barbed wire outside their parliaments because the citizens have had enough and are protesting strongly.
    I just can’t understand why us Irish have allowed ourselves to be destroyed by our own politicians and by foreign powers such as the Troika and there has been no serious civil disturbance.
    Anybody in this country who does get involved in demonstrations are quickly demonised by the media and other commentators as left wing loonies, thugs, rowdies, Shinners etc.

• jimbo 12/04/12 #

Ha Hogan you deserve it.lol…..

• The protestors are the real patriots.

• i am wondering if the event organisers were after planning so well and putting so much effort into it as claimed, then how on earth did they think of asking hogan to open it for them!?? also… where did all these politicians arrive out of giving out in the news about the use of language…. where the hell were they yesterday giving out about the 1.5 billion that was stolen from the Irish people by the robbers in Lenster house to pay a debt we don’t owe?!????

• It’s good to hear some form of protest taking place , scurrilous behavior , they have some nerve to call it that . I’ve been in oz for the last 4 yrs and gone from irl for over 5 got out before it went bang luckily , but every time I talk to anyone back home all I get is a sure what can you do sure you know what their like , it sickens me and when my ozzy friends ask me about the situation in Ireland and I tell them they can’t believe there’s not big protests . Every week there’s plane loads of Irish landing here and heading str8 to bondi junction on the piss , I guarantee there would be a protest in bondi junction if all the pissheads couldn’t get into the tea gardens where most of them leave their wages every week . We’re the joke of the world .

• O’ keefe, you talk some shite!
    Anyway I’m against the house charge and all for peaceful protest but there’s a time and place I feel this was not it!

Even after the opening ceremony would have been better if these people wanted to protest. The only ones upset were the young children who attended to play music at the opening and nothing positive was achieved!

Yes people are angry and upset including myself but some self respect dignity and consideration for the children attending wouldn’t go a miss!

A bad call on those who invited that Gob shite in the first place also.

• The tea gardens posted the most profits of any pub in oz last year thnx to the Irish well done lads keep up the good work while the locals have set up a commitee to follow the Irish around with cameras at the weekend to catch them pissing in gardens and running amoc it was even featured on a 60 minutes programme .

• Sadly fine Gaels main promise previous to the election was to not increase income tax so plenty of stealth taxes and cuts to come thanks to that.
    It’s the right of people to protest I agree with that even though I might disagree with the reason for the protest, however calling those who paid it or agree with it names such as “spineless” is a bit disrespectful. Politicians are public representatives so
    I ain’t too bothered by phil hogan being heckled tbh. The tax is a left Wing tax it will be changed from a flat tax to a proper tax in the next year or two the government has said this. Property is wealth and so they tax it is what the idea is.
    The bailout is merely a loan our current cuts and taxes are to balance the books. The reality is that we spend more then we take in, on a note of the protest are ye going to support labour delegates who put forward a motion to introduce a third band of tax for the wealthiest or are good policies and issues going to be ignored now?

• john 12/04/12 #

Ireland is BUST. Almost one euro in every three is being borrowed to help fund Social Welfare, Health, Education, Infrastructure, OAPs. Putting it in a nutshell we are borrowing €18 billion just to help fund these. Its called the BUDGET DEFICIT. Its ther problem that the protestors are running away from. We are BROKE. Its about time people get it before its too late. Of course the protestors could always move north of the border where the charge is €1500 and where SinnFein is in power.

• we are broke because we are being force to pay private company’s debt. (ie the banks, politician’s pensions, special advisers wages that break the agreed pay caps & the many law firms that made a fortune on pointless tribunals that have done feck all to punish those responsible for screwing up the economy)

all the household tax is there for is to make troika and the german’s happy… services in ireland will still remain crap as they always have been.

• How did you manage to go from this article to having a lash at SF lol some people I tell ya

• john 12/04/12 #

For the record I am not Irish. However i am resident here for the last twenty years Here are the facts:
      Fianna Fail has left a National Debt of 170 billion euro and a budget deficit of 18 billion. The country is spending 52 billion euro to pay Social Welfare, Health, Education, OAPs etc. and only taking in 34 billion. It is BUST. It is borrowing 18 billion ANNUALLY to fund these. If it were a business it would be liquidated.
      The banks were bailed out since 2008 from the Pension Reserve Fund and BORROWING not from taxpayers money. There is simply not enough taxpayers money to even fully fund Social Welfare, Health, Education, OAPs etc. We have a huge BUDGET DEFICIT problem. If it is not cut Ireland will sink. Also remember the IMF/EU brought in by FF will not continue to fund us without tackling the DEFICIT.
      The HARD LEFT and SINN FEIN are DODGING the DEFICIT problem. There is an 18 billion euro ANNUAL: deficit problem as well as a banking problem.
      It has to be dealt with.

• Correct John, I’m glad someone around here gets it

• @ John you said the bail out came from state pensions reserves and BORROWING

who paid in to that State pension reserve in the first place? thats right tax payers

who is paying the interest charged on the “BORROWING”? thats right tax payers

why are we paying pensions to corrupt bankers and politicians? Why is “special advisers” getting paid more than the agreed pay cap while schools and hospitals get their funding cut?

• mcbab 12/04/12 #

Good idea john. Let them go north instead of west this weekend.

• StemC 12/04/12 #

Yeah £1500 pounds in some places but on average you pay £700 so let’s not be melodramatic.and you get free healthcare, education, bins etc…. And a proper local serviceWhat do we get for ours?? You can go on about us being broke all you want but people are broke as well. Not just the State. And we want to make sure we get value for our money. Services have been slashed anyway and what’s to say the govt won’t slash funding again next year even if 100% paid the charge?

• Funny….. politicians always get left out of the list of who is paid, I wonder why?

• Their behaviour does not enhance their case one iota, in fact it achieves the opposite effect. Peaceful protest yes – mob law no.

• john 12/04/12 #

Fianna Fail has left a National Debt of 170 billion euro and a budget deficit of 18 billion. The country is spending 52 billion euro to pay Social Welfare, Health, Education, OAPs etc. and only taking in 34 billion. It is BUST. It is borrowing 18 billion ANNUALLY to fund these. If it were a business it would be liquidated.
    The banks were bailed out since 2008 from the Pension Reserve Fund and BORROWING not from taxpayers money. There is simply not enough taxpayers money to even fully fund Social Welfare, Health, Education, OAPs etc. We have a huge BUDGET DEFICIT problem. If it is not cut we will sink. Also remember the IMF/EU brought in by FF will not continue to fund us without tackling the DEFICIT.

• Denis 12/04/12 #

Susshh John, you are supposed to pretend that if the banks weren’t bailed out we’d be increasing spending on everything and giving everyone free money and rainbows.

Don’t worry though SF and the ULA have the answer, burn the bond holders and then ask them to lend us 20 or 30 billion a year until the place is really bust.

• Very simple, non emotional detached look at the situation. Business-like. So assuming this was a business, what would be the outcome if I took the money, bought few holiday homes, spread cash about in few accounts, swiss of course, then you paid for it? We want blood, we, the taxpayer will without a doubt be paying this debt for a long time, our children too. So give us a bone, any jail time? Maybe someone gets their pension cut?…. No? Nothing? Maybe we should just roll over and take it? Alot of people are angry, expect alot to go against the grain

• censored 13/04/12 #

I’m not sure what point you’re trying to make, but it seems like you’re putting this forward as an excuse for the ineptitude of FG.

If this was a business we’d be negotiating a solution with our creditors.

Don’t forget that in return for creating this situation, all of those involved have been rewarded with enormous pensions for life. FG/labor will be similarly rewarded for keeping the screw turning.

• It’s so dissapointing that people have personalised this, Phil Hogan was obliged to bring in the charge as per the bailout agreement. Sure, it could have been handled better but it’s not like he woke up one morning and decided that he was going to introduce a charge / tax because it was going to make him popular. You can be sure that if it was a minister from any other party they would be intoducing it as well, SF have done exactly the same thing in NI and are quite happy to hide behind the DUP up there for cover. It you haven’t paid the charge yet grand, you will be paying it eventually.

• mcbab 12/04/12 #

I am going back to Broadsheet. Prefer the vibe on there, you lot are getting way too virulent and nasty. All this hate you spew is way too personal. You are inciting violence in my opinion.

• Protestors shouting bad language infront of children and ruining an occasion that had very little to do with the minister. Just another day for the looney left in Ireland.

• mcbab 12/04/12 #

I agree with your comment David. They let themselves down again. What a bad example to set to their children.

• It is not looney left to oppose a ultra right wing tax… I don’t condone swearing but it was probably no worse than what Mr Hogan says about his female colleges when playing golf.

• @Jack Dermody

You’re forgetting, there are two rules, one for him and one for us! the electorate, the tax payers, the unfortunates on job seekers, the minority …. and so on.

• Some mothers do have them

• At this stage David, FG/LAB might as well get used to getting this type of reception. While I do not agree with foul language in front of kids, FG have proven themselves to be spun from the same cloth as FF only with a different ‘leader’…(I use that term very loosely) They lied their way into power and have even now just over 12 months into office been shown as more of the same crap we have come to expect from all the political parties in this country.

• Without the left there would be no right david. You and the likes of you need the left. Sorry to rain on ur parade.

• Spot on David, a torchlight procession and book burning would have been more appropriate

• Mentioned in another thread people are getting angry, very angry I’d expect to see more of these protests when any government minister is out and about in Ireland opening stuff.

• Did i see a picture of a fine gael candidate recently giving two fingers to a group of protesters. What scurrilous behaviour.

• @David Higgins, see from your twitter you are a young FG and in Trinity. You have no idea about the real world except what you read in books or Shite you are swallowing in there. Also this does not even affect you yet, but will when you are out on your own eventually and start paying proper grown up bills!

• @Caroline Molloy

Why, oh why in the name of God, would one burn books?!

• Gerard 12/04/12 #

You’re a young student with little or no sense young David, a little bit of real life experience will do you and your peers absolutely no harm, now run along young man and do some more studying.

• As usual, people are lashing out at the wrong people. FG have no choice but to find money anywhere they can thanks to to scoundrels that left the country in shite. Ye people have awful short memories.

• Actually most voters have long memories Stadler. I remember what FG and Labour said they would do before the election most of all which they have now turned their backs on. I remember and will look to high light at all times their lies and attempts to blame others for what they are doing. Continuity FF have been in power for 14 months the sooner they are removed from power the better. They have shown themselves to be the other side of the coin to FF. All the same just interested in power for themselves and nothing else. They have turned their backs on the people of Ireland in favor of the banks and bond holders.

• @Sheila, Facists shouldn’t lecture the left on protesting
      #irony

• My dogs farts if released at a national level could not possibly attract more displeasure than the utterances of this profoundly gifted individual.

• Dave, I would consider myself more right wing than your beloved Fine Gael and I would have taken part in that protest last night? Am I looney left too? Stop making immature comments like that, you only prove peoples point, that FG are arrogant bluffing morons who seem to not have a clue what they are talking about unless they’re insulting someone.

• Now they are the bullies. Ignore them Phil

• I am a civil servant my daughter is a civil servant my wife is a civil servant and my son is going to be a civil servant, we are all dependents of the state for a living (big bucks go into our houses from the taxpayers for no return) and when we look at the people through the glass that protects us from their anger we just laugh and go on a break

Add New Comment