TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Nine men arrested in Limerick over dissident republican activity

The men are all being detained in five Garda stations across the county.

Roxboro Garda Station
Image: Google Streetview

NINE MEN HAVE been arrested in Limerick this morning as part of an ongoing investigation into dissident republican activity in the county.

The arrests were made as Gardaí carried out a number of searches across the city and county.

The men, who are being questioned at Roxboro Road, Henry Street, Mayorstone, Newcastle West and Askeaton garda stations, are all aged between 30 and 60.

They are being held under the provisions of Section 30 of the Offences Against the State Act and can be detained for up to seven days.

Read next:

Comments (36 Comments)

• neo1 15/10/12 #

2521 is that a Sligo name

• Kerron – what I have a big problem with is that some people , who were never, or who are no longer members of the Republican Movement, pretend to be and dress up in “uniforms” and conduct “punishment shootings” & beatings in the name of Republicanism.
    They have murdered , robbed , smuggled and are involved in extortion and drug dealer protection in Ireland !

Organisation like Continuity , Real , Eirigi etc, are all fictitious groups & could never represent Republicanism, in my humble opinion!

• IF they are guilty, I hope they go away for a long time.

• They won’t go away you know

• Guilty of what? being Irish Republicans?

If they are put away, it wouldn’t be the first time people are being persecuted for their political convictions and being jailed by both failed states on this island

• Guilty of being terrorists. Don’t act the fool.

• leave the dealers alone lads ! chase dissidents its easier

• Same people Chris, allegedly.

• “Guilty of being terrorists”

send the Garda on a swoop of the next NATO conference then. The actual terrorists of this world are drone-bombing Asia and Africa on a daily basis.

• We are not talking about NATO. Plenty of people agree with you on that but we are talking about Irish terrorists that the gardai have jurisdiction over. The same people who like to murder pregnant women. Remember them?
      If that’s the best argument you have Kerron, then there is no point us having this discussion. It’s childish and immature.

• The best argument I have? The definition of terrorism is the crux of the whole argument.

Why brainwashed spivs decide to follow the definition of a terrorist (e.g the UK, and by proxy its neo-colony here, calling the IRA such) laid down by states that are in fact terrorists is beyond me.

On the one hand you admit that plenty of people would agree with NATO being defined as terrorists, yet on the other you call a national liberation movement (the IRA) who took on one of the NATO powers (UK) terrorists. Can both be terrorists somehow in your warped logic? or is it that anyone who commits violence is a terrorist?

You throwing about the term terrorism without thought on its actual definition of terrorism is what is immature, as is your use of a tragic death for point scoring.

• Yeah, I have warped logic. While you support people who murder women, children and Gardai. The people of this country don’t, and never will, support dissidents.
      You can spout as much crap as you want, that won’t change. Just look at the “huge” numbers eirigi get at their rally’s. All 20 of you’s in your track suits and Man U jerseys.

• I loon should walk in to the Garda station and make a complaint. Not on this sit please.

• Well said, O’Loon.

• What’s a “dissident republic”?

• Remember who won our freedom was Mick Collins blood guns and the IRA not pompous airbag politicians. W/o the RAs the Republican Nationalists would be fek’d! The laws changed not the peeps. The need to train here behind the frontlines. UP AYE ARE AY TAL.

• People need to ask if the Garda have made any progress in their “investigation” into the murder of Alan Ryan (whatever his faults, does he still not warrant equal treatment under the law?)

They seem to be able to pursue and capture large sections of the Irish Republican communities in Dublin, Limerick and Cork in reaction to Free State power being challenged in Donaghmede, yet the gangs who sparked the conflict walk free

• lol good comeback.
      That would be the relative authority you presumeably dont recognise, being an organ of the failed state.

• That’s a bit rich now isn’t it when the man who was with Ryan when he was shot, by his own admission, wouldn’t even cooperate with the Gardai in the first place. Ye can’t have it every way.

• haha, I meant the Journal.ie site mods

I also don’t recognise them. Up the Continuity Cyber Republic!

• What so witnesses not co-operating gives the Garda carte blanche to drop the investigation like a hot potato?

Witnesses don’t co-operate in a variety of different incidents of crime, it happens all the time! But I’d say the Garda were all too happy to use that as an excuse to shrug off serious commitment to catching his killers

• Kerron – Irish Republicans voted in overwhelming numbers to accept the terms of The Good Friday Agreement .

These dissidents are no longer Republicans of any ilk , in my humble opinion.
      Some are resigned from the Republican Movement, who chose not to recognise the merits and obvious potential of preserving life and having an all Ireland settlement .

Calling oneself a Republican and acting in reality as an extortionist and propagator of gangsterism , does not qualify I’m afraid.

• That’s fair enough Eddie. If people are involved in such activity their credentials as Republicans are in doubt.

The point though is that many of those being arrested are not involved in such activity and are only scapegoats and easy targets because of their politics

• Kerron, you are right, just because an eye witness to a murder wont co-operate with the Gardaí does not mean that the case can be dropped, but if at every turn the Gardaí are met with silence what are they expected to do? Pull information out of thin air?

Also, it is unlikely that Gardaí making arrests in Limerick would be investigating Alan Ryan’s murder in Dublin, that would more than likely be dealt with by Dublin based detectives.

Anyway,it is the job on AGS to protect the state and the people within it, arresting those involved in an illegal organisation part of whose aim is to destroy this state would be part of their remit. It is called crime prevention and protecting good,innocent people in this country.

• Kerron

This is not the Free State. This is the State.
      You need to grow up and realise that we all stopped playing Mammies and Daddies and Cowboys and Indians and Soldiers when we were somewhere around ten or eleven years of age.
      Join the big people’s world and participate normally and fully. It’s much more fun than pretending you’re someone of importance when the opposite is the case.

• Paddy what does that even mean? just a load of empty crap.

“join the big people’s world”. I live in the real world. It’s one where any objective analysis of this Twenty-Six County state shows it as a failed and corrupt entity, and that entity is protected by a political police force.

Well CorkLanger at least we agree that the objective of these groups is to destroy the state. The only question I’d be asking you, is what is so f-ing great about this failed state that is worth protecting??

• The guy with the name in irish should walk in to the Garda station and make a complaint. Why people changing their name when it suits them like the Quinn’s daughter in law who uses her maiden name now that the Quinn name is dirt. Do these people claim the dole with both names! It should be illegal to have 2 names. A lot of women use their maiden names for all sorts of reasons but I doubt if any of the reasons are well intentioned – simply to deceive like the terrorists.

• actually a member of the only dail that represented all 32 counties gave the cira the authority to represent the one nation as government….anyone who is a traditionalist republican (follows the the standards set by this dail in 1919) is a true republican….provos etc are traitors to this cause….not all traditionalist republican commit acts against society in much the same way that for example the GAA is not a drug gang when a member is caught with any drug.

• @Patrick that is just a ridiculous statement. The Irish people are renowned for their conservatism but basing 2012 political views on an event in 1919 is sheer lunacy, and you know it. We live in the 21st century the past is gone its time to move on. The absurdity of that kind of logic is comical and to base a political ideology on it makes it even more preposterous.

• its not really….all irish political parties are all from the civil war and irish politics is still divided along that line….Im just saying what a republican is and what is not from what history has recorded….its not my beliefs (I dont even live in that country)….if anything provos and sinn fein to use the word dissident correctly are dissident from 1986

Add New Comment