TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Norris and Dana lobby councils to support their presidential bids

South Dublin County Council is the latest to confirm it will debate a motion to nominate Senator David Norris as both he and Dana Rosemary Scallon lobby for last-minute support.

Dana launching her presidential campaign on Monday.
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

Updated 21.05

SENATOR DAVID NORRIS and former MEP Dana Rosemary Scallon are making last ditch attempts at being on the ballot paper for the presidential election next month.

Having both seemingly failed to get enough support via the 32 independent members of the Oireachtas, both are now making last-minute pleas to county councils to nominate them, needing the backing of four by 28 September in order to be on the ballot paper.

This evening, TheJournal.ie has learnt that South Dublin County Council has called a meeting for Monday at 5.15pm to debate a motion to nominate Norris. The motion has been backed by more than five county councillors.

In Roscommon, TheJournal.ie understands that there is a motion being put forward to nominate Scallon, as well as a separate motion to nominate Norris at a meeting of the county council on Monday at 2pm.

Yesterday, Norris secured the backing of Fingal County Council and is now seeking support from a number of other councils with motions to nominate him also set to be put forward at council meetings in Carlow, Kilkenny and Laois in the coming days.

Carlow County Council will meet on Monday to debate a motion to nominate David Norris, TheJournal.ie understands.

Meanwhile, Kilkenny County Council will meet this Saturday at midday to debate a motion put forward by Councillor Malcolm Noonan to support Norris, something which one other councillor described as “very surprising” indicating there may be little support for nominating the senator.

RTÉ radio reports that the council will also meet next Monday to debate a motion to nominate Scallon.

FF support

In Laois, Fianna Fáil councillor Brendan Phelan told TheJournal.ie he is proposing that the council nominate David Norris believing “he should be given the opportunity” to run for the presidency.

The motion is on the agenda for meeting of the council on Monday at 11am, along with another motion to support independent candidate Mary Davis, who already has sufficient support to be on the ballot paper.

Longford County Council is to meet tomorrow at 2pm but it is understood that no motion has yet been put forward to nominate anyone at this stage and it is likely that the meeting will be adjourned due to the recent death of a former councillor in the area.

In Offaly, a previous motion to nominate Seán Gallagher has been withdrawn at the request of the candidate who also asked Carlow, Donegal, Longford, Waterford and Roscommon county councils to withdraw their support in order for other candidates to possibly secure the nomination.

One councillor there told TheJournal.ie today that there would “absolutely not” be any motion put forward to nominate Norris or Dana and this was confirmed by the chair Danny Owens this evening.

In a statement issued this evening, Gallagher said he was attempting to show leadership by allowing councils who had already chosen him to nominate another candidate. He has already been nominated by Clare, Cork City, Leitrim and Meath County Councils.

He said: “The emergence of Dana Rosemary Scallon as a potential candidate and the re-emergence of Senator Norris poses questions for the political process.

“I would hope that Mary Davis would follow my lead and constructively assist the two other independent candidates by ensuring that the process is inclusive. I would also appeal to Fine Gael, Sinn Féin and Labour councillors to facilitate other candidates.”

Meanwhile, in the Oireachtas Norris has the best chance of securing the nomination but it appears likely he will fall short of getting the 20 signatures he needs. So far he has 14, including himself.

Waterford’s Independent TD John Halligan announced this evening that he has signed nomination papers for Norris after being “inundated with calls, texts and emails” from constituents urging him to reconsider his decision to withdraw his support.

Independent Senator Fiach Mac Conghail tweeted this afternoon that he has just signed Norris’s nomination papers.

Dana has support from one, four Oireachtas members are nominating Martin McGuinness, one is supporting Seán Gallagher, four TDs and senators have indicated they will not nominate anyone, four have told TheJournal.ie they have made no decision whilst the opinions of the remaining five TDs and Senators are not known.

Earlier: As Dana and Norris’s presidential hopes fade, who’s supporting who?

Earlier: Fianna Fáil not supporting any presidential candidate >

In full: TheJournal.ie’s coverage of the Race for the Áras >

Read next:

Comments (57 Comments)

• The more candidates in the race, the more debate, the better for democracy. Hopefully, councillors will reflect on the democratic deficits of the current nomination procedures and give those still seeking a nomination a slot on the ballot paper. It is rather dismaying to see the three main parties in the Dail lock up their votes when clearly the public mood is for greater choice.

• I firmly believe Dana’s only entered into the race to try and block Norris getting a nomination.

As such, it really becomes a two horse race and since more of us are tolerant of bad poetry than murder, you’d have to assume Michael D will win.

• Exactly what person or organisation, in your opinion, would conceive of machinations so nefarious and devious as to employ the political talent of Dana to ‘block Norris getting a nomination’?

Why not just let Norris keep opening his mouth that’ll pretty much secure the same end result?

As for the word ‘assume’ … well I’m sure you can figure where that comment is heading.

• I believe those are the intentions of the woman herself. She may be a religious zealot but she couldn’t be stupid enough to think she stands a chance of winning if she managed to get her name on the ballot sheet.

So, I ask you, what other motivation could someone who considers Mr Norris’s sexuality to be an abomination have for entering the race shortly after he re-enters it other than to attempt to deprive him of some nominations?

• Your on the ball!!! Dana is only in the race so as to split nominations so Norris doesn’t cross the line. She has already lost in Presidential, European and Dail elections, if she lost a Local, she’d have a Grand Slam!!!!

• Sorry Oisín you lost me as soon as you wrote a sentence with the wotds "Dana" and "talent" in it!

• I don’t know which is more disappointing, the farcical nature of this campaign, or the moronic quality of these comments.

• As with everything political in this country in the past 10 years, this presidential race has decended into absolute farce, and in my opinion has damaged the reputation of the Office of the President of Ireland. It’s depressing.

• Can’t we just leave Mary McAleese in? I know you can’t technically but we’re not exactly the most constitutional people…

• Jason, find out what a paedophile is first before you start accusing people of being one.

• Why was my comment removed? Am I not allowed to express my views as any of the Christians are allowed to express theirs?

• I hate it when people suggest that anybody who doesn’t support David Norris is doing so because he’s gay. I couldn’t care less what his sexual orientation is but anybody who has suspect opinions regarding sexual abuse of a minor, in my eyes should never ever be elected to high office, be it The Presidency, The Dail or The Seanad. If a Catholic Priest wrote a similar letter on headed Parish notepaper as David Norris did he would be lambasted in the media from all corners AND RIGHTLY SO but for some unknown reason when David Norris tries to justify his actions it seems to be OK with a large number of people. I am totally puzzled I must say, maybe somebody would try explaining why David Norris’s actions are so acceptable to a seemingly large number of people, I wait with bated breath!!!!!

• Mary, I’m with you on this post! Personally I couldn’t give a rats arse what anyone’s sexual orientation is, but don’t agree with letter he wrote, no more than I agree with letter Gay Mitchell wrote and he’s a right wing Christian…really it’s just a joke at this stage!

• Beyond caring at this stage ..

• Jesus Wept, are you for real? Where have you been for the last 35 years?

• Clearly Gallagher hasnt got a clue about the constitution or the law: once a council formally nominates a candidate, neither the council nor the candidate can rescind the nomination. Sounds like sour grapes by Gallagher when the majority of councils supported Davis instead of himself or Norris.

• marty for president!

• Have the tea and buns ready Martin is on his way to the big house in the park…

• Who’s for the house in the Park? Would it really make any difference other than giving some people "one upmanship". Vital appointment for the countries wellbeing or an Expensive handshaker!!!!!

• Brian ask David Norris to explain what a pedophile is,if he can’t tell you I am sure his long term lover from Israel will fill him in on all the finer details.I can’t understand how someone who has been raped and interfered by a pedophile has not spoken out about David Norris’s campaign for the President.He is guilty by association with Ezma his former lover.He wrote his letter of clemency to the Israelis whilst he was still living with this man,but he failed to disclose to the Israelis that he was in a relationship with this man at the same time.How honest is this,how could you trust a man like this to be our next President.Colm O’Gorman who founded the Group One In Four has not made one comment about David Norris,he knows what effect rape has on under age children.He has spoken as head of Amnesty international about Gay Rights and yet he has failed to speak about defending the rights of that Israeli boy who was raped by David Norris’s lover,what rights had that unfortunate boy have against the likes of Ezma etc.I contacted One In Four organisation and asked could one of their representatives speak out about the abuse of young people by pedophiles in the light of a person who is ,and was in such close contact with a pedophile,I was told to contact the Israeli embassy if I had a problem with David Norris running for President.We really need to protect our children,especially the vulnerable ones in our society.What democratic right have innocent children if some sex predator decides they want to violate their innocent bodies.Think about your children and their future in our secular country.Where have our values gone.?David Norris also gave one hour defending the poet O.’Searchaigh at an Oireachtas meeting when he was involved with having under age sex in Nepal.He said at one stage that he barely knew O’Searchaigh.This is another lie.

• There’s a new Lemsip being launched this winter, it supposedly helps with the nausea effect one gets from being exposed to too much Dana.

• All those ‘hoping against hope’ for Norris – I have found his whole campaign very illuminating, for very different reasons from what you might think: the fact that a supposed large section of the Irish people could still support a paedophile-promoting presidential hopeful is either untrue or very disturbing, especially in the context of all the hypocrisy surrounding attacks on the church.

What a mad, mad circus this race really is – a murderer of 1800 people (no doubt put a hood over the head of some unfortunate victims himself), a gay activist on behalf of paedophilia generally and a convicted paedophile specifically, a chat show host called Gay, a politician called Gay, a turkey called Dustin – I mean Michael D., Labhrás who declared he’s in then he’s not, FF who said they will but maybe they won’t, ‘cos our leader says so, and poor Dana upholding the voice of reason but laughed off by all the knowing media-ticians who tell us how it is….

I think I’ll go back into my cave….

• McGuinness will be president so these two may as well just go on early holidays and save themselves the time and trouble of trying to get nominated.

• mart_n 21/09/11 #

Spoken like a true Gay Mitchell supporter, Colin.

• So if you don’t support Norris then you are a troll. If you do support him then you can come on here and whinge all day about how it’s so unfair that he’s not in with a chance of becoming president. Of course the fact he supported a statutory rapist has nothing to do with it. What rock will the Norris supporters crawl under once McGuinness is president?

• I’m afraid Norris is done. Perhaps there is an office he can run for in the new Palestinian nation?

• God I hope not , it would be a sad day on Ireland If he because our countrys leader

• Hello. Could someone please tell me why Ireland is so obsessed with who is going to be the next president? Every newspaper I pick up in Ireland, it is front page news, yet from what I understand the post of presidency in Ireland is the highest paid in the world but has has absolutely no political power. Your present president visits almost 20 counties every year staying in 5 star accommodation and shaking hands, servants and a mansion yet she is still paid more than the president of America which is a real job…why?. Considering all that is happening economically in Ireland, I would have thought that Irish people would be more passionate about other matters. I am utterly bemused

• Well Angels, in that case you know nothing about the Presidency of Ireland. Indeed the office receives a disgustingly high salary, but the President does have powers. The President is the Commander-in-Chief of the Irish Defence Forces as well as the last port of call for all pieces of Irish legislation. If you do not understand what the role of the Irish President is I would suggest you learn about it first before condemning it.

• Hello Brian, I may be a woman but I do understand it. Lets break it down and make it more simple for you, comparing apples to oranges here. President of Ireland does not have the power or influence over Ireland that the President of the U.S. has over the US for example. That would be the Taoiseach the Enda Kenny guy. The Taoiseach holds similar power to that of an American President (in Ireland). The President of Ireland is comparable to the British Queen Elizabeth. Titular head of state without any real power, just a figurehead of sorts, meets and greets, travels the world and smiles. Remember that I am comparing a real president of a country with 320 million people and fifty states to one of small island of 4.5 million people or the size of the state of Maine or maybe the city of Manchester.

1. President of the United States $400,000
      2. President of Ireland $433,000

Now whilst I suspect Brian that you will retort with some PC nonsense about how many ‘plastic’ powers your Irish president has, she/he does not have executive functions. The Constitution, however, envisages the Irish President as more than a ceremonial Head of State. It gives the President certain powers that make the President in effect the guardian of the Constitution. The reality is the President normally acts on the advice and authority of the Government. Keep your patronising and condescending tone to yourself Brian, you might just be made look silly.

Once again, could someone explain to me why Irish people are so obsessed with a president that has absolutely no influenced on their life or country. An professional actor could do the exact same job for one quarter of the salary

• So Louise Norris supported a statutory rapist. McGuinness supported an organisation responsible for the deaths, maiming and "disappearing" of myriads of civilians, Mitchell supported a right wing fanatic murderer, wow what a choice! I say Kermit for the Ã

• @Louise

0/10. Stop trolling. troll.

• For one thing Angels the President represents our country and raises it’s profile abroad. You could Google the info as well. What puzzles me is that you seem to be so against our Presidential Office when you are Spanish I presume. It makes no odds to you and yet you slag off our head of state. I’m no expert on Spanish Government but I’m sure I could find plenty to keep me occupied with starting with Franco.

• Angels – I don’t actually think Brian mentioned anything about you being a woman? First off, I don’t see the relevance, surely after having two women presidents the idea that a woman couldn’t understand the role is moot… Secondly, The office of the president is very much like the queen, and the general idea is that she/he defends the Republic and the constitution from bills or acts which conflict with it. While generally they do go on the advice of the government, there are times when bills have been halted by the office and sent to a council of state for review.

It’s very much a cultural role, and I think part of the understanding as to why we’re so passionate about it is that. It really does signify the Republic and is meant to be above politics (even if this race shows otherwise). Most of the candidates have pledged to give their salaries to worthy causes. The idea is supposed to be that the president represents the people of Ireland as a whole, rather than the government of Ireland which represents the affairs of the people.

Quite frankly, the country is returning to some stability economically and we’re beginning to see growth it’s about putting our best foot forward on the global stage, no matter who we choose. We’ve had an amazing run with Mary Robinson and Mary McAleese who really did us proud, as well as many other distinguished people. And without meaning to sound condescending or patronising, I think you should read up on the history of the office, as well as how people in Ireland generally feel about it, before condemning our attention of it, and the office itself.

Also, Ireland is way bigger than Manchester…

• Sorry if I seem like Im slagging off anyone, I am not. What I don’t understand is the obsession with a role that is virtually a non entity in itself and does little or no good for you or your country. How a small island with a population of 4 million and a huge debt pays such a huge salary to someone for shaking hands and smiling is something I honestly do not understand. Once again, why not pay a good looking actor to do the same for one quarter of the price? Can you please explain to me why the Irish president gets better paid than the president of the United States Of America, and why Irish people accept this, seemingly embracing it even. I would also like to know some how your present president has justified her incredible salary and lifestyle, what did she do for Ireland that was so amazing other than smile, shake hands and stay in 5 start hotels?

• Yes Manchester is close to 3 million, Liverpool is 4.7 million so ill compare Ireland to Liverpool. My mistake…why does a president with no real power or 8influence over the governing of a small island of 4.5 million people get paid more than the president of America? Why do you as a people accept that and indeed seem to defend it?

• Heh, sorry – I’m a numbers freak. Liverpool has a pop of 400k and Manchester is about the size of Dublin – Ireland is about twice the size of Wales.

We defend it because historically and culturally the role is very important to Ireland. As an independent nation, we’re proud of our history and the offices which were given to those who helped win it for us.

Also, in terms of debt America is in probably worse situations than we are when you consider its debt levels when compared to ours. While we’re managing our debt, theirs is spiraling out (eg. having to raise the debt ceiling and a series of failed jobs plans, whereas Ireland has benefited from interest rate cuts and stricter oversight policies, even though we may not admit it)

Most of the candidates have already made their positions clear on the wage; Norris will not take most of it, instead will create a fund for innovation and youth business. McGuinness will only take the basic wage and the rest will go back to the state, Gallagher doesn’t even care about it, the others i’m not 100% on, but overall the topic in terms of who we elect is rather a moot one at this point.

• @ Ciaran lol You got me….can I use London? )))

With all due respect how can you guys be so proud of your history if you gave away your sovereignty and independence to the EU in treaties etc, a sovereignty your people fought for over 800 yrs to win? No president and her/his 5 star holidays or hand shaking will ever get that back sadly, that5 is the legacy your future generations will never forgive you for.

Anyway, I just think that regardless of what the successful candidate says they will do, the salary should be reduced to the average industrial wage, its absurd to think your present president earned more than the president of America for doing little or nothing!

In addition to her salary, President McAleese also received over €3 million in expenses, €1.2 million since 2006 alone in tax-free presidential allowances. These, according to a spokeswoman were to cover ‘justifiable’ expenses, such as state dinners, foreign travel and hotel accommodation, while on official business. This on top the €335,000 per anum she go for years, so much that even her husband could retire and travel all over the world with her smiling and nodding his head :)

Her pension alone will be €150,000, a lot of money for staying in 5 star hotels, shaking hands etc. Her salary and expenses would feed thousands of families up and down the country, or indeed fund a lot of consultants positions, pay for special need teachers etc. In fact, the levels of remuneration set for the taoiseach, ministers, judges, top civil servants and heads of universities in Ireland are crazy compared to other much bigger and richer countries, including the United States.

But a more fundamental question arises in regard to the presidency, do you need it? You have a small island, with big problems and your broke. No handshaking or smiles will change that, think about it…the Irish president does nothing worthy of the millions he/she receives. Its 2011, you don’t even have a true nation or independence anymore but you do have a lot of people who need help, people on the edge.

By the way one of your previous presidents Mary Robinson is an amazing woman, expect her to some day receive a Noble peace prize for her work in Africa.

• Angels – you come from a state which has as its head of state an unelected patrilineal monarch and which previously had as its head of state a dictator in General Franco. I do not expect you to understand what it means to have a Head of State and guardian of the Constitution which we, the people, elect. You compared our President to the Queen – that is entirely wrong. The Queen of the United Kingdom does not have the power to refer bills or legislation back to the Government of the day. Our President does have that power and the office of the Presidency has done so on numerous occasions. Our President is paid about $430,000 per annum – a figure which is far to high in my mind – while the President also receives about €40,000 per annum in expenses. The cost of the President’s Civic Duties is roughly €320,000 per annum. The total cost of the Presidency, including maintenance of the Áras is less than €4 million per annum. The cost of the Queen in the UK is approximately £38.2 million per annum, while the cost of Queen’s Civil List is approximately £14 million, giving a total cost of £52 million per annum (and that doesn’t even cover the cost of her official residences). In comparison, the US president receives $400,000 per annum as well as $50,000 in expenses. However, the total cost of the Office of the President of the United States is approximately $130 million per year – on top of which each former President gets $3 million per year for the rest of their lives to cover salary, security and expenses.

Regarding what our President does: well the President is responsible for the appointment of the Government. The President appoints the Judiciary. They convene and dissolve the Dáil and Seanad. They sign bills into law. They are the Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces. The President has the Power of Pardon. The President can refuse to dissolve the Dáil. The President can refer a bill to the people for a referendum. They can refer a bill to the Supreme Court to test constitutionality. They can enforce a time-limit on the discussion of bills amongst many other responsibilities. In comparison, the Queen of the UK has no legislative power, unlike our President. Instead legislative power is vested in the Crown in Parliament and only upon the advice and consent of Parliament. The Queen has no Judicial power, unlike our President. The Queen, like our President, appoints the Head of Government (Taoiseach in Ireland, Prime Minister in the UK) and can dissolve the Government. He/She is also the Commander-in-Chief of the British Armed Forces. But that’s it. He/She has no other powers. And not only that, but he/she is unelected meaning the people have no say in the matter.

Considering the Seanad has 11 members appointed by the Taoiseach, our President plays a very critical role in constitutionality of all legislation from the Government.

You mentioned the President of the US – may I remind you that Ireland is a Parliamentary Democracy. The US is not. The US is a Presidential Democracy. The House of Representatives and the Senate over there have far less power than than the Dáil and Seanad have here. Instead, power is vested in the President rather than the institutions below it, unlike here where power is more equally spread.

You stated I commented in a patronising and condescending tone – I would suggest you re-read what I wrote. It was in no way patronising or condescending. You launched an attack on one of the cornerstones of our democracy with false information. You then went on using false comparisons (comparing salaries rather than the cost of office), stated the President has no powers (when they actually do), used incorrect figures to back up your statements about the size of Ireland, and then you mentioned the President’s pension but failed to compare it (IRL – €150,000, USA – €2,215,000). I also don’t see how you being a woman has anything to do with anything as you insinuated.

• Louise as someone who would support Martin’s campaign I disagree with your comments. It will help enrich Irish democracy if the people are given a wide choice. It’s for the people to decide.

• Oh my goodness Brian thats much too long too read, I just read the first two sentences to be honest….you take the presidency far too seriously. The Irish president gets paid too much, is a joke, has no power and just travels the world like a God on tax payers money, shaking hands, smiling, staying in luxurious hotels and talking nonsense about ‘building bridges’ to everyone. The best job in the world, by far !! End of story….thanks for taking the time to write all that stuff though, good lad xx

• I take the Presidency seriously because without it the Government would have no accountability. Without the President the Government could introduce any legislation it wanted to, and we in the public would have no say. You say the President has no power – you’re completely wrong there. Is it overpaid – yes, I agree with you that it is. But just because the position is overpaid that does not mean it is not important. The fact that the position even exists is a deterrent to any Government attempting to thwart the democratic process. Some people have been spouting lately that the position needs to be abolished – the same abolition of the Highest Office in the land led to the rise of Hitler, Antonas Smetona, Karlis Ulmanis, etc. The countries where these people came to power (Germany, Lithuania, Latvia) had democratic systems with a president with a similar position as that of Ireland. The President was abolished or merged with the Head of Government and dictatorships arose with the inevitable result of discrimination, state-sanctioned murder, race laws, etc. All of this happened during a similar time of economic uncertainty, where banks had collapsed and states were subjected to massive debts. Unemployment dramatically rose. Any of this sound familiar? May I remind you that the fastest growing political movement in Europe lately is that of the Fascist right, with the likes of the neo-Nazi NPD in Germany receiving c. 10% support in Germany, the Front national in France, the BNP in the UK, Jobbik in Hungary, and Geert Wilders’s PVV in the Netherlands, amongst others.

• Brian you need to get out more, nothing you write (Too long to read) will change my opinion x

• Well to be honest Angels, I think if you know nothing about the President, know nothing about the culture surrounding the Presidency, and if you are completely unwilling to read or learn about the role of the Presidency in the Irish democratic process, then I don’t think you’re entitled to your opinion. As far as I’m concerned, if you know nothing about a topic then you do not deserve an opinion. Of course if you read up about it and still didn’t agree, then that would be a different kettle of fish. Regarding your comment “you need to get out more”, perhaps I could suggest to you that you need to think for yourself, and stop letting uneducated opinions drive your knowledge, or in this case, complete and utter lack of knowledge.

• I think Brian you will find that Angels is a troll, there are a few of them on here. People who create false profiles because they have such outlandish ideas that people ignore them and that frustrates them.I mean for someone who knows nothing about the President she seems to know quite a lot if you know what I mean.

• haha a troll??? Because like most people who aren’t Irish, think its ridiculous why such a small island has then highest paid president in the world! A post that has no real power and is a joke. How intelligent you are, I bet you cant wait to vote eh ))))) Brian is a nice guy, he is passionate about his president..very sweet

• Hmm frustrated, I suspect adult men who passionately defend someone a president and get very upset about it writing very very very long paragraphs would be the definition of frustration. I wouldn’t be surprised if you both cry at night over the presidency. Do you guys even have a job? If so how can you spend hours here every day writing about your love for the best job in the world? Relax guys, get out and have a walk :)

• Oh dorris please go back to the Congo …you might have a chance over there.Ireland has closed the door on the likes of you.

• I want a man who I know is a committed Christian, a moral man, a man of character who knows what is right and wrong. I think that most people will agree and I look forward to Gay being elected and stopping the rot in this society that threatens us all.

• I think that the majority want a country that is not a byword for sin and will support a man who has stood by his faith and belief, when it was not popular to do so and cost him. That is a living Christian and a leader we need.

• Grow up! The last thing we need is some bloody christian type pontificating from the Aras. Thankfully, Mitchell has as much chance of getting a bj off a nun than he has of getting elected president of Ireland!

Add New Comment