TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Occupy Finance: Sit-down protest against bondholder payout

Have you spotted other protests today against the payout of €1.25bn to Anglo Irish bondholders? Send your pics to us.

THIS IS THE scene outside the Department of Finance on Merrion Row in Dublin this morning. The sit-down protest is highlighting the payout of €1.25bn today to senior, unsecured Anglo Irish bondholders.

If you have spotted a protest against today’s protest – or indeed, are part of one – send your pictures to us at tips[at]thejournal.ie.

The images below are from Laura Hutton in Photocall Ireland.

Occupy Finance: Sit-down protest against bondholder payout
1 / 7
  • Department of Finance, Dublin

Read: Protestors descend on former Anglo Irish Banks in Galway and Dublin>

Government to pay €1.25bn to Anglo bondholders today>

Column: Today, we’ll pay €1.25billion to bondholders. This must be stopped>

Troika warned ‘a bomb will go off’ in Dublin unless bondholders repaid>

Read next:

Comments (90 Comments)

• Oh ffs. Why so many? Why not just one? Typical Irish. All over the gaff. I’m on my way in. I’ll send a few pics… :-)

• Great. It’s about time we had pics of Réada Quinn on the site. You know the email to send them to… ;)

• Hi Susan. I’m a patriotic kinda girl so I couldn’t disgrace my country by sending in pics. I’m sorry. :( But I’ll give you a brief story of how bad it was.

We spent a while outside Anglo but there were only about 20 there so we headed off to An Dáil. There was a good crowd there from our western seaboard. (Thanks be to Jaysus someone’s awake.) They were protesting the septic tank charges and Household Charge. Met Joan Collins and saw Joe Higgins there too. I didn’t ask for autographs, wouldn’t like to embarrass myself in such esteemed company!

Decided to go round to Dept of Finance and there was a total of 5 there, so headed back to Anglo.

Abandoned and alone by this stage I got talking to a few of the “hippies”. They were truly lovely. While I was there a guy with his briefcase went to enter the building and the guy to whom I was talking said not to bother going in as the bank was broke. His curt reply was “No it’s not”. With the purse of the irish citizen at their disposal -how right he was! :-(

• Réada
      Well done to you . I had every good intention nof going in but alas a medical condition I suffer with prevented me….I am so disappointed that I couldn’t. You are so good to have made the effort . I am curious tho why people are not demonstrating more. Are we so brow beaten , defeatist, afraid ? and if so ,why?
      Or do we just not care?
      Well done again :)

• Well done Reada! Thanks for the account of your day. The smug reply from ‘briecase man’ was pretty much reflective of the attitude of his counterparts on the journal. Hope you had time to drop over to temple bar for a well earned rest and a coffee!

• Nah John. Temple Bar’s just too pretentious for me. I booked into the Shelbourne instead! ;)

• Some great company to be found in the horseshoe bar I believe.

• Them were the days John …:)
      The Horse shoe bar is a bit further along the road in Ballsbridge.

• Hi Reada. Were we, the rts substation action group invisible? There were 50 of us concerned citizens protesting against the “bully-boy” treatment that Eirgrid calls consultation. An independent report commissioned by minister Pat Rabitte, has been published re; the ongoing debate on Undergrounding power cables v Overhead power lines. This has come up with very interesting findings. Before the independent report, Eirgrid has been telling the media that undergrounding cables cost 3 to 5 times more than the traditional (same technology for 40 years) overhead power lines. The report states that the difference is about 2% more expensive. That sent Eirgrid scurrying to try and explain to TDs why they’ve been telling the irish people lies for the past how many years. What else have they been lying about??? Is this starting to sound like a very familiar pattern of behaviour we’ve seen from semi states in the last few years….FAS anyone? They’re planning on spending 4billion on our electrical infrastructure. None of the projects have been cut like schools, hospitals etc..No regulation. Full funding, and no accountability. Another fine irish mess and the taxpayer won’t even suspect a thing. Questions must be asked. They’ll hide behind the “we need these projects to protect jobs, investment etc blah blah…12m spent already in 8 years trying to get planning for north-south interconnector through meath..all wasted trying to bully ordinary people through the high courts..where are they now..back at square one …8 years…12m spent..suppose there’s one thing we know for certain in this country and that is…it’s very easy to spend taxpayers money.

• Hi Dave. Were you outside the Dáil? I didn’t get in until lunchtime. Had I seen such a beautiful dog as you are I would remember. Fair play to you though for getting out. I thought apathy was dead in Ireland. Unfortunately it seems to be alive and well. Good message for our joke of our government. Plenty more purses to raid. :(

• I was there, Reada. Suprised you didn’t hear me barking. Lucky for Ray Niland and the rest of the 600k a year Eirgrid fat cats they didn’t show their faces…i could have turned from my gentle natured great dane self into a frothing at the mouth attack doberman.!! 2 years we’ve been trying to draw the publics attention to Eirgrids shenanigans….meetings in community halls etc,etc…might be starting to get a bit of traction on the issue now though, the Dreadful treatment of Theresa Treacy at least alerted the media to what they are like. Long road ahead i suppose….’ould dog for it though!!

• Dave. Next time I’ll bring my chocolate Labrador. She’s raging about this government too. Baying for blood she is. ;)

• Réada
      You could be on to something there
      I have two pooches who hate what is going on in this country too.
      The possibilities are endless .. :)

• Hey I’ve a springer spaniel! How about we set the dogs on the flockers!

• Meh. Nobody seems to care. Astonishing! How many operation theatres closed recently? Beds? Special needs facilities? House hold charge? Septic tank charge? USC? Meh. Meh meh. As long as we stand by, we deserve no better. Fair play to all taking a stand. I admire them.

• Fair play to them. Everyone moans about the Gov then when some people actually try to do something they moan about that!!

• I support em. At least they’re trying not like the majority taking it up the jacksy as usual.

• At least they are out there and not sitting on their jacksies reading about it.

• As someone who has spent time at the camp and with them protesting u couldn’t find a bunch of nicer, geniune people who are very knowlegeable about what is going on in Ireland and the world and who love their country very much. Wish i could be there with them today but i am trying to keep a retail business going in these dark times. To the naysayers show a bit of compassion please, for these protests are for your benefit too.

• Nice to see some people actually doing something

• I wonder do peple who comment on this page only do so from a work P.C as all commmentary seems to go dead @ 5pm Makes 1 think doesn’t it ??

• At least some people are prepared to take a stand.

• Are those chess-players stuck to the cement barrel? What happens if they have to go to the jacks?

• Pictures say it all. Guards chatting away to themselves. One reading the paper and two others who brought the cemented barrels playing chess. Exciting stuff. You never know. A protest might break out.

• Bring on the revolution and the overturning of the combined D4/Gombeen elite that has ran us since independence.

• need to look a bit further than D4 I’m afraid.

• Yeah revolution is the answer , the multiple needless innocent civilians killed in the crossfire should thin out the dole queues & send the economic immigrants packing too
      We’ll be back on our feet in no time

• The tone of your post suggests you think we’re in a better position now?
      What happens in two years time when we have to pay back over 20 billion?
      How do you think the budget that year is going to look?
      You’re kidding yourself if you think you won’t have to take the pain, you just need to decide if you want to take all the pain, or push some of it back to the people who caused it to begin with.

• We pay out 1.25billion to faceless parasites called ‘bondholders’ and as a result push the most vunerable in our society right to edge where their very lives are in jeopardy and what do we do to show our outrage yep We sit down. What are these superheros going to do next lie down?

• I presume this was an overwhelming success & the big bad faceless bond holders have been denied the 1.25 billion
    Or maybe the folks who work in the dept of finance just got the day off
    (at the taxpayers expense )

• Lol tin neville fg is the irish fascist party Injoy

• tribal warfare – fighting amongst ourselves – that’s how we have always been, and the attitude of “I’m alright”.”I got me job”….”if you don’t like it here you can leave” – I left in late 80′s and came back in mid 90′s – the only difference now is we have social media to spread our begrudgery, back biting and doom around even more.

I am staying this time as there is no other choice, but will do my best to make a difference and keep positive.

fair play to anyone who makes a protest – I suggest getting email campaigning as they are noticing it – 32,000 emails sent over IrishSOPA, and there is now to be a proper debate. Very easy to contact all members of Oireachtas VIA http://contact.ie/ Also you can send emails about the debt.

Bombard them and stand up – if we all do it ,it will make a difference.

• All 3 of them.

• Why are those girls covering their faces?? Adds to the stereotype of “trouble-makers”.

• The same tree-hugging, drum-beating rent-a-crowd that turn up at everything.

Encouraged by Rich Boy Barrett et al

• Gav 25/01/12 #

Here’s a comment for all those people being accused of not doing anything by not being at the Occupy protest. If you work hard, care for people close to you, care for your community and are actively are trying to improve your personal economic situation,Then you are valuable, vital member of Irish society. Never mind the government, bondholders, greedy bankers, if you want to change the world, start with yourself.

• what people need to learn is that the parties and their sucker uppers are the ones who are in collaboration with the moneychangers who are destroying our civilization. We can perfectly support ourselves without the parasites who call themselves bankers etc but of course are in this world to do nothing but suck the blood of the people who could be doing their own thing and supporting themselves without their bloodsucking royalty and those who crawl like slime to their masters and create absolutely nothing but words and wigs and high viz bullying

• Lol It is funny to watch the hi viz people smiling and thinking they know more (in their ignorance) the time when the lie becomes the truth and the truth becomes the lie sounds familiar Charlie or his son bertie come to mind and of course this will be the most important thought when you hang up your hi viz jackets girls

• When you’re on the dole you must be seeking and be available for full time work. How can you do that when you’re having a sit in at the Dept. of Finance? Take away thier dole.

• idiot comment, do you know that they are unemployed?

• Well either that or they are independently wealthy, which one is it?

• Dave 25/01/12 #

Shift workers perhaps? Not everyone does 9-5

• robert, wouldn’t be concerned with danny-boys comments,
      tho until u get to know his form he’s irritating.
      once u ‘get’ him, well… don’t want to hurt his feelings, so
      i better not say anymore.

• These people didn’t protest when Bertie et al were making a mickey of everything. They only protest when their own lifestyle is affected.

Where were these lazy gobsheens when bad decisions were being made? In their 4×4′s happy to look the other way.

• oh god no…
      robert, speaking of irritating individuals….

Hi Tom, hows membership of FG treating u these days?
      Still right there with big endas 5 point plan, no doubt.

• :)

Joseph,

FG membership might not suit me feiners like you, but after some contrition we might accept you.

Wrt jobs, I’m hiring and one contributor here even gave out that he had not seen the ad and why didn’t I go out of my way to get him. Right, just what a company needs to succeed, a cribber. lol.

• tom, for the record im not a feiner.
      re. joining FG. I’d rather shoot meself in the face
      than being associated with ur party after seeing the ‘job’ they’re
      makin of it. Fluckin deluded liars.

i saw that interaction weeks ago that u had with job thingy.
      u’ve clearly got a short memory. what don’t u go back and look at what he said.

how much mileage will u try get from this “Look everybody,, i’ve got a job to offer, but look at all the gimps who think they’re fit to work for me”
      tom, please….c’mon son!

• I’d rather you shoot yourself in the face too Joseph.

• Im sure you would danny me aul pal!

but please don’t worry, as ill never ever ever ever be joining
      Continuity FF u needn’t needlessly waste any more
      of ur precious mental energy…..
      god knows how u need it :-)

• Put the gun down Joseph. Step away from the gun!!!

• Joseph, what is wrong with being in a position to offer jobs?

• Ah now Tom, Joseph is just looking after the interests of the work shy crusties and all-day pyjama wearing citizens of Ireland… having a job on offer threatens that way of life. Your availble job directly threatens his occupy the sofa movement!

• nothing at all tom.
      except u made such a big deal of it weeks ago,
      and in ur typical egotistical way u misinterpreted another mans post,
      u went to try rip into him, giving him a hard time,
      only for him to point out to you that he wasnt looking for the job.
      and here u are back again waving this job about.

why dont u put a link up to the article where u and him discussed this job.

• slying off work there danny to keep up with the journal.

not very productive of u, hope the boss doesnt know.
      or let me guess…. u work for urself….

• reada,

i’m goin way down south, way down where i can be free……

and away from Yes Men who it seems couldn’t muster one testicle between them all.

• Joseph, on the contrary I wasn’t making a big deal. I was showing that there are jobs out there, especially in sales and IT and that these jobs will go to those who want them most. If you really want a job get IT Development skills.
      If you want a sales job development sales skills.

• Ah lads, get on with life would ya!

• Can anyone answer the following

What are their politics ?
    What solutions do they offer apart from aspirations towards a vague unattainable mediaeval utopia ?

Where do they get the money to fund their activities , where does it go, do they publish figures ?Are they a registered charity or political party ?
    are they campaigning for financial transparency while being decidedly non transparent themselves ?

“have some compassion this protest is for your benefit”
    Some people believe that paying the bondholders is “for our benefit ” too.
    So should we also have compassion for them ?
    Didn’t think so

Im sure they mean well but they are not representative

If these guys are the saviours of Ireland im afraid we are truly fucked

we’re not left with much of a choice I’ll admit but for my money I’ll always choose the democratically elected representatives over the guy sitting in the street with his hands glued into a barrel

• holy jasus,
      the #occupy movement don’t ‘own’ this protest.
      im going in later and im not affiliated with them.
      im going in because im totally opposed to us the public bailing out
      private banks, and in particular this payment due to be paid, or already paid today.

u think its a fine idea for citizens to pay private banking debt??

• Robert, if they are truly unemployed and therefore on benefits then they are “not available for work” and their benefits should be stopped. One rule for all as they say themselves.

Add New Comment