TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Parents should have been warned: Cardinal Seán Brady

Catholic Church leader apologises to abuse victims and says he regrets “very much” that parents of children at risk weren’t informed.

Cardinal Sean Brady.
Image: PA Images

CARDINAL SEÁN BRADY has made a public apology to the victims of sex abuser Brendan Smyth.

A BBC programme recently revealed that a child who had made allegations of abuse against Smyth had given a Catholic Church inquiry the names and addresses of other children at risk. It transpired that their parents were never warned about the danger facing their children from Smyth. Cardinal Brady acted as a notary during the 1975 inquiry.

The revelations sparked a spate of calls for Brady’s resignation from victims of clerical abuse, from other priests in Ireland, and from members of government.

Today, Brady told RTÉ News that the parents should have been informed.

Brady was attending a pilgrimage this weekend in preparation for the Eucharistic Congress, which Ireland is hosting this summer.

The events of the last week and the events of 37 years ago featured repeatedly in his thoughts during the pilgrimage, he said, and “it brought home to me a new realisation once more of the enormity of child sexual abuse.”

“I once again want to apologise to all victims [and] those who have suffered.”

He also apologised directly to Brendan Boland, who said he had given the inquiry the names of other children at risk. Brady also offered to meet Boland to offer his apology in person.

The Primate of All Ireland said that the parents of abuse victims should have been informed. ”I regret very much that they weren’t,” he added. The fact they weren’t informed led to further pain and trauma for the children, he acknowledged.

He said he felt let down himself that Brendan Smyth wasn’t curtailed from abusing again, which he said he thought would have happened. “But we are now where we are – we must concentrate on the present and make sure that such terrible events never happen again.”

Responding to calls for his resignation, he said he’d heard the calls for him to step down, but that he had received “many many calls from people who want me to stay”. He said he would leave if the Holy See offered any suggestion he should do so.

Brady never offered his resignation to the Vatican – Catholic Church >

‘Where’s the humanity?’ – prominent theologian says Cardinal Brady should resign >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (76 Comments)

• Does this man realise the damage that could have bee avoided had he done “The Right Thing ?

• “We are now where we are”. A phrase reserved for use by those who have f@cked up, but have managed to convince themselves that they are absolved of responsibility for their inaction.

• So he thinks he can repeat his apologies again. I’m sure it’s so comforting for those who were abused to hear. He’s hoping it’ll all blow over, no honour whatsoever. Doesn’t he realise that by not resigning he’s just adding to the shame of the church. My God man just go!

• mattoid 08/05/12 #

Its sweetly ironic that that the attitudes of him and other senior clergy in trying to protect their church are actually destroying it.
      The church is crumbling before their eyes. There are none so blind as those who cannot see.

• ….and why weren’t they told ?Why was that boy not treated with respect ?
    This is just more of the same BS we have had to listen to for years .
    The man is wrong . He is hosting the Eucharistic Congress this year ! So what , I am sure there are many others in the Irish Catholic church who can host it just as well. Get out Cardinal Brady .

• He kept his mouth shut, never rocked the boat and got promotion after promotion! The whole system he represents is rotten and always has been

• “But whoever shall offend one of these little ones who believe in me,
      it were better for him that a millstone were hanged about his neck,
      and that he were drowned in the depth of the sea.”

Matthew 18:6

Enough said I think.

• I confess to Almighty God , to you my brothers and sisters, That I have sinned through my own fault , Through what I have done AND WHAT I HAVE FAILED TO DO………… Enough said !

• If an Irish political party had committed blunders of a an equal nature they would have been ousted in no time.
      What is it with catholocism that makes them survive such grotesque circumstances?

• This creep has absolutely no intention of resigning! He still feels he did not wrong. He still believes that there was nothing wrong with having a minor in a room full of men making him, yet again, to keep a secret!!!! from his own f . . king parents! Brady is a sick b . . t ard! He wants to be the ‘centre’ of this eucharistic Ccngress and there is no way, over his dead body that he’s going to pass it on to someone else.

• hbenroe 07/05/12 #

What is he hanging on for,he has nothing to gain in doing this, he is only hurting the people that have already suffered even more. This is cruel.

• Stray Mutt
      We are trying to get rid of the political parties that have sold us out , but they too wont hear us …But that is for another thread , I take your point tho, that people in power do not listen to the ordinary person because they in power have come to believe they are always right whether they are church or state…..

• It’s taken the best part of a week of intense pressure, scrutiny and criticism for him to come out with this, but no retraction of the statement last week that today he would act exactly the same.

Ladies and Gentlemen……may I present…..the catholic church.

• The times were different? Like that justifies anything! Child abuse is child abuse. End of Story.

• Dave 08/05/12 #

This is an absolute disgrace. The man is obviously completely institutionalised and completely out of touch with reality. As previous commenters have pointed out, children grow up. Also mentioned is the outrage felt by a parent if it were their child that was abused subsequent to this inquest in which Brady was a ‘notary’.

He should have resigned two years ago when it was discovered he made two children sign gag orders following their abuse. This adds insult to disgrace.

As a Catholic I can solemnly say this man does not represent me. Such arrogance that he would only assent to the Holy See’s wishes, and not those of the Irish people. He did what he did, and that cant be changed, but to try and forget about it, and self rightously

• Dave 08/05/12 #

proclaim no wrong done is to spit in the face of those abused, and consent to the wrong that was done.

He lacks humility, respect and decency. He doesn’t care care about the people, despite what he says. His actions, and inactions speak volumes.

• Look folks,

1. This arrogant sod is NOT going to resign.

2. Rome and its dictators are going to back him to the hilt. If they don’t – it would be an open admission that they were/are wrong!

3. Any addressing they did wrong would also call into question their cannon laws over state laws.
    NOTE how they deftly have avoided not saying they were wrong not to inform Garda or Police. They are hoping this one issue will quietly go away. If they allowed Brady was to resign, they would be partly admitting that they wring to use connon law to take precedence over State laws.

• Parents should have been warned…

Police should have been told.

• I don’t think the cardinal should resign at all. I think it would be hypocritical of the catholic church in Ireland to have at its head, a person who has always had the protection of children in mind. It is appropriate that the leading representative of the catholic church in Ireland is a person who failed to protect children from a rapist. I would commend the catholic church in Ireland on their honesty in how they represent themselves, having the cardinal remain in office even after we discover he failed to protect children from a rapist. I look forward to ignoring him, long into the future.

• Absolutely Stephen Good.
      Long may he remain as the leader of an organization that represents 84% of the people of this country. 84% of the population who are happy to associate themselves not just with the failings of Brady but with the whole deceitful organization by stating their religion as Roman Catholic on the 2011 census form!
      Like yourself I don’t give a rats ass whether he resigns or not as I am not a member of this rotten religion but I do wish I could avail of the basic rights of education, health, civil and state law without the interference by him or his followers. Further to that any children in my care I’ll protect my self by keeping them clear of him and his like.

• A fine line of thought Stephen, thoroughly agree

• Brady was interviewed by the Vincent Browne show and he kept saying he did the right thing in taking his information to his Bishop and today the process would be the same. He clearly cannot see a world outside the church and sees the catholic church as self regulating. He said Smyths order should have had him confined to his monastary. Really, not arrested then? Confined? The church are clearly reluctant to bring in outside agencies of the state.

• Could this latest admission of ‘regret’ by Cardinal Brady be a lead upto his resignation? Right now that is what will suffice. Of course the parents should have been informed that their children were being abused.

• If I was a parent to one of those children and found out that my child could have been saved from abuse, that an adult knew what was happening but said nothing to me I genuinely think I would want to physically harm that adult, I would be so angry and upset. This is not even close to an acceptance of responsibility, its lets forget about it. The man hasn’t a clue of the implications abuse has on children in the long term. He should be ashamed of himself.

• To Niamh Byrne
    I agree with you Niamh I don’t think cardinal Brady will *ever* fully comprehend the damage that has been done.

• @Lynne tunney

Stop going to mass altogether! Going to mass is just encouraging savages like smith and many others that are still there doing it. How people could sit at brady’s mass on Sunday and not feel guilt and not feel for those children that were raped, again and again and again and Brady knew! Shame on these parishioners!

• So basically his response to all this is “sorry about that, my bad”. Disgraceful. Morally bankrupt the lot if them.

• If the BBC had not exposed these facts he would have taken his dirty secret to the grave! Makes you wonder what else they are hiding !!!! For far too long people have been afraid to stand up to the church. They have been conditioned to think they are evil and have sinned. Rather like a cult methinks ! THEY are the evil ones !!!!

• Stop putting money in the collection plate at mass if you want the Catholic hierarchy to sit up & pay attention. Calling for the resignation hasn’t had much success so far. Money, however is something the Catholic Church understands very well. If you want to donate, do it direct to the charity of your choice but *stop* putting money in the church collection plate.

• Too little,too late

• The church sees it’s congregation as monetary units. Nothing more.

I’m not religious by any means but am moral. The two aren’t mutually exclusive as some people would have you think.

The truth is the church is a middle man that inserted itself between a person and their relationship with their god irregardless of creed for the most part.
    It’s even written in black an white in the bible, for what it’s worth.
    The truth is, these guys are irrelevant. All of them. That’s what the conversation should be about. No amount of hats, gowns or palaces can change this.
    Please wake up.
    D

• Resign now,get off your power trip,take your big mansion,lifetime pension,and go.

• I wish he would shut up and wake up to what he has done . He and any other clerical slime ball that’s involved should stop questioning the intelligence of right minded people . Anybody that has a smidgeon of support for this slime or the man with the pointy hat in Italy should really examine their importance in a civilised society ..

• He wishes the parents had been informed!!!!!!!!!! Surely he might have been able to do something about that!!!!!!!!!!
    I cannot understand how this man remains in his position or attracts any public support.
    The mind boggles.
    If the catholic church wants to survive in any form in ireland the rank and file members have to insist this collaborator and apologist for child rape and abuse is removed from office. As excuses go “I was just following orders” hasnt really worked well with the general public since the Nuremburg trials.
    IN THE NAME OF GOD GO!

• Throw the f*****r in the joy already and see how he gets on there

• What a revolutionary pilgrimage he must have been on… ‘it brought home to me a NEW realisation…of the enormity of child abuse’.
    …chill out everybody, the penny has finally dropped.

• I am sick to death of Brady and his ilk just F€€k off And resign and Foe Gods sake would Alan Shatter as Minister for Justice grow a pair do his job and arrest Brady and company and jail the lit of them and give them life.How many lives have they destroyed by their CRIMINAL BEHAVIOUR for god sake they raped and buggered children

• Well said,i feel ashamed to be catholic and irish with this guy still there,its so embarrassing to this country,deeply embarrassing it makes us look so backward,he says he will only go if pushed by the holy see,brady if you have a decent bone in your body and really want to apologise to the victims step down now,then hand yourself into the psni,but you wont do it,you red hat wearing gombeen,you have also been implicated brady in the abuse of minors urself,JUST GO NOW!

• He is a tit!

• If they allowed Brady to resign, it would be a part admission that they were wrong also in allowing their org’s connon law rules to superceed the state laws of not one country but two. So they are saying nothing – not even saying sorry to the state for (a) breaking state laws in not revealing crimes of a serious nature and (b) not saying sorry for allowing their rules to have sway over national laws.

Instead they are doing the usual of giving a meek apology for what they even have to be forced to acknowledge and little more. They still won’t pay the money that is owed (750 million) to many and to the state which by their not paying in compensation, has to be left to the state (thats you and I) to further cough up while they continue to get richer and ask for more money in their collection plates every week!

• The man should resign. I do accept that times were different the and it wouldn’t have been easy for him to go to the Gardai and would they have done anything? However, that is a seperate issue. We have people before planning tribunals for doing things that were of the time but we still recognise wrong doing. There can be no getting away from the fact that he held back on information that could have prevented further abuse. I don’t think he would ever have wanted that to happen but I think he needs to ask himself now the question ‘What would Jesus have done?
    The catholic church needs to be more spiritual and less religious.

• They still won’t admit – although it is now well known – that they lied to one, possibly two police forces of two countries when they were asked if such inquires had even taken place!

They are not apologising for that either – and remember these lies they made, came from a church that even now dares to preach to us of morals! One top religious org that is sick in double standards!

• is céard faoi na gardaí?

• It’s always refreshing to see footage of the faithful on the box. I’d give it one generation, maybe two, before the numbers accurately reflect that the RCC congregation can no longer fill a garden shed.

I do so look forward to the day when Ireland puts this miserable excuse for science fiction behind it. The rest of the world looks on whilst our now infamous religious leader Sean Ryan make us collectively look like we condone what he did and in doing so he brings a rather special brand of shame to our nationality, he is after all STILL the most senior representative of the Catholic church here in Ireland, which incidentally makes up the bulk of true believers here in the land of make believe.

Times come for a new passport. Don’t mind being associated with the large scale consumption of alcohol, but I would prefer not to be associated with a country that tolerates the cover up of child sexual abuse.

• Mic 08/05/12 #

Why do they tolerate such failures in the system . protect who and why ,welcome to
    The men’s only welcome club . Really when things r so black and white why do we still see grey . R faith and organized religion still the same ?

• It’s all about the soul count,Ireland is lost to the Vatican for now, so best to focus on other continents. who knows Europe may return to the church in a few hundred years. Why change, they have played the game for 2000 years. they will survive this along with other scandals….pretty resilient global operation the catholic church. why let the teaching of god get in the way of this religion….

• We are talking about an organisation that has shown itself over the past years, decades and centuries to be ruthless, amoral and criminal. Brady is doing it great damage. The logic is unpleasant, but it means that he should stay on to do more damage.

• I think it’s quite ironic that what he has tried to cover up is the greatest sin. If he really is a man of God does he not question his judgement day, how can he defend his actions? An apology at this stage is pathetic after countless more children had been harmed with his nod, in ignoring it.
    Fr Gerard McGinnity PhD was the Dean of Maynooth and spoke out against abuse there, he was demoted to a parish priest because he would no tolerate the church’s sins… good to see every priest isn’t as corruptible. Brady just wanted a promotion, well congratulations.. look what you have become!

• What’s that Brady? You say you’re sorry, well, not to worry old boy, priests will be priests eh?

• 37 years too late – you must still resign !

• Brady mea culpa get out FFS!dirty filthy clergy

• I personally hope Brady never resigns as every day he stays in power he is pushing more and more people away from the vile cult over which he reigns.DIE BRADY, SMITH AWAITS YOU IN HELL.

• I’m amazed some people contacted him to show their support that he should stay. If you believe his claims that is. The church will always remain a force in Irish society so long as people support it after such revelations. Says it all really!

• the above post was a joke, it was posted on behalf of the silly people who think the church can do no wrong , and who are notably absent here , because they know that their days are numbered

• Graham hes not in hell,smyth is in ballyjamesduff and brady is in armagh and benedict is in rome!!!

• I doooooont belieeeeeve it!!

• cardinal Brady done what was right at the time he should be let stay and administer to his flock

Add New Comment