TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

‘Where’s the humanity?’ – prominent theologian says Cardinal Brady should resign

Fr Vincent Twomy says Brady “has unfortunately lost his moral credibility” over the 1975 abuse inquiry.

A FORMER DOCTORAL student of Pope Benedict has said Cardinal Seán Brady should resign over new allegations regarding clerical sex abuse by Fr Brendan Smyth.

Smyth was jailed in Northern Ireland and then in the Republic for child abuse and died in prison in 1997

Brady acted as notary during a 1975 church inquiry into abuse. One victim who accused Smyth of abuse provided the inquiry with the names and addresses of other children at risk.

However, BBC’s This World recently reported that the parents of those children were never informed of the risk they were in. The programme said that two of those children continued to be abused by Smyth.

Brady responded to the allegations by saying he acted properly at the time, but said that he had no power to stop Smyth and that he had no awareness of the impact of abuse on those who were abused.

Speaking to RTÉ’s Prime Time, theologian and former doctoral student of the Pope Fr Vincent Twomy said that he believed Brady should resign in the wake of the revelations. He said that given the damage done by Smyth and the repercussions of his actions, “one way or another the Cardinal has unfortunately lost his moral credibility”.

“There’s a sense of Greek tragedy about all this. In the Greek tragedy people do things intentionally doing the good thing, but in fact they do some awful, dreadful things as a result of their actions – and they have to pay for it.”

Twomy said the main issue was Brady’s focus on ‘his duty’ at the time of the inquiry:

How is that this legalistic approach, this preoccupations with law, ‘I’ve done my duty therefore everything is ok’, what’s behind that? Where’s the humanity? The imagination that actually can’t realise that these children have suffered so much?

The theologian said that although Brady was a relatively small cog in a big machine at the time of the inquiry, but he’s “the only one that’s left and therefore in a sense, represents that situation”.

Tuomy also said that being the Primate of All Ireland is “a different position altogether” and for the good of the church, Brady should step down.

Anybody affected or distressed by the current focus on child abuse can contact Connect Counselling for free on 1800 477 477 (and from Northern Ireland 00800 477 477 77). Opening hours are from 6 to 10pm Wednesday to Sunday.

Abuse survivor: Without courage or integrity Cardinal Brady failed and it is unforgivable >

Tánaiste suggests Cardinal Brady should “not hold a position of authority” >

Read next:

Comments (48 Comments)

• When the Conservative forces turn on you, you should know the game is up.

• I know nothing about this man, what he’s like, other than the damming and disgusting cover-ups and bullying tactics employed by him in the 70′s in relation to this. I have a theory though that he is screaming to step down but the boys in Rome are pressuring him to stay on because if he goes … where does it end? It’s rotten right to the top. The tightest boys club in the world. Deck of cards. if it’s not going to go now, it’ll go soon enough.

• That is very interesting Garvan and I agree with you, they are now protecting the Pope as he too was involved with covering up for pedophiles while he was a priest himself. If Cardinal Brady goes will the BBC turn their attention to the Pope and why he done nothing, after all it was him who dealt with the Vatican mail regarding the abuses.

• David 04/05/12 #

More calling for his resignation but that’s an internal situation within the organisation, and I no longer care what they do. I’m furious with this impotent Government who say they can do nothing, despite him being patron to 90+% of schools. They’re saying something like ‘oh it’s terrible but what can we do?’. DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. Charge him, remove him from state positions, ensure he has no influence in child protection, assess whether he has pro offending attitudes…do something Enda but don’t hide behind your office.

• @David Thinking of the physical and sexual torture that this organisation perpetrated on children – much of it with the connivance of the State – and all the Government can do appears to be a bit of finger-wagging. And, to be honest, I don’t expect the Government to show any backbone on this issue.

• If the government were even semi-serious about this issue, instead of using it as a preen post, they would be recinding the taxpayers’ liability imposed by Micky Woods; whereby compensation of E1bn got transferred to US instead of the church…same old scam, WE pay for THEIR crimes…bankers and temples…a long history of symbiosis. Again, no change of policy, no democratic accountability, just a change of shirt.

• The Catholic Church in the U.S. borrowed more than $400 million from Allied Irish Banks to compensate American victims of clerical sex abuse. The huge compensation sum was paid from loans to the Church from the now state-owned Irish bank in 2007. The $400 million borrowed was used to compensate clerical abuse victims in America and led to AIB becoming known as the Vatican’s banking arm in U.S. legal circles. Also this huge loan meant that the Church in America didn’t have to divest themselves of too much of their huge property portfolio.

This disgusting story has barely garnered any headlines in Ireland!

• What is going on in their heads that they can even think about hanging on. They’re a warped bunch. There should be a statute where if they are found guilty of crimes like this that they are out of their position automatically and tried in court within a week. State laws have to start taking supremacy. Catholic church unable to deal with this issue adequately

• One legal approach that might be considered would be to render anyone proven to have failed to protect children unfit to be a patron or manager of a state funded school. In taking such a step, the state would not be interfering with church policy or dogma, simply establishing its own interest, and the interest of the citizens, in the protection of children during their time in state education.

The burden of proof for such an “unfit” judgment, should not be required to meet the standard o a criminal court, but instead should be pitched at whatever level would be considered sufficient for legal dismissal in an employment situation.

• These priests in years gone by were subjected to regimes in seminaries and religious institutions that had one goal only: to instil loyalty and obedience to the church at all costs.
    Some of these men went along with that trend more than others. To swear a 14 year old child to secrecy having questioned him in as explicit a manner as this boy was shows that Brady had taken this idea of loyalty/obedience to almost cultish extremes.
    That he seems to live in a different moral universe to the rest of us is because he actually does.
    His morality ,and that of those like him, is dictated not by common decency but dictated by a hierarchical undemocratic secretive institution.
    A pox on it, and a pox on him.

• mcbab 04/05/12 #

Picture the scenario if Brady had been a married priest going home to his wife and telling her what had happened. I would bet pots of money that she would have had him act in the way he should have done without hesitation. Also if he had had children of his own he surely would have looked at them and known exactly what he should do.

• Cardinal Brady needs to ask himself a simple question- would I be Cardinal today if I had done what any conscientious civilian would have done ie. warned the parents of the children officially or even anonymously who were under threat from Smith? There are many decent enough people in organisations where such politics and hierarchy exist who put personal ambition and preferment above moral duty and think there is nothing wrong with it.

• @David above , in the north there is an agency called the historical crimes commission , covering events that happened in the north, from 1969 until now ,not just ” terrorist ” crimes, i think Brady could be arrested and questioned, as a lot of children from the north were affected by abuse perpetrated by smyth and that would not have happened if Brady had done the right thing and notified the parents of the abused

• @ lochinvar56 Paradox or Irony! – It seems that British Justice is going to do for us Irish survivors where Irish Justice has abysmally failed. I know in the North there’ll be no Indemnity Deal like the one Fianna Fail and 18 Religious Orders signed up to. The effects of that Indemnity deal was that 800 abusers – most of them clergy – will not face justice and survivors were betrayed again by Church & State.

• The church is supposed to be a beacon of morals and ethics. The church’s ‘head honcho’ here in Ireland has NO morals. Cardinal Brady is pulling the church down from the inside. Good man Brady, you undercover Atheist.

• @ sid above , on lynch mob here , just advocating the law should go after the people involved

• What difference will it make if Cardinal Brady resigns or not ? It will be the same corrupt filthy organization, personally I think Cardinal Brady should be made responsible for his actions by the authorities in this country his resignation from his “position” is of no consequence.

• Why isn’t this guy helping the police with their inquiries? Indeed why aren’t the police raiding this guy’s palace and confiscating his files?

In 2009 both the Ryan & Murphy Reports exposed the widespread facilitation and coverup of the physical and sexual torture of thousands of Irish children by clergy – no prosecutions have followed. No assets were seized. The Criminal Assets Bureau hasn’t been called in.

You might ask: “What is the Dept. of Justice doing?”. Well, actually, 2009 was a very busy year for the Dept. of Justice. Almost 15,700 people were prosecuted for not paying their TV licence or for defaulting on fines.

• In 1997 the Government changed the law so that the cover up or failure to report crime was not an offence:
      http://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/change-in-the-law-means-there-is-now-no-criminal-offence-for-failure-to-report-crime-290234.html

• @ John. It’s a thread running through independent Ireland. Church & State conspire to endanger children.

History of Neglect of Paddy Doyle’s site

http://www.paddydoyle.com/a-history-of-neglect/comment-page-1/

Hopefully the list will be updated to include the years from 2002 up to this year.

• Yes indeed Andrew. A thread of abuse, scandal, lies, whitewash and cover up that leads right to the doors of Leinster House, and the institutions of the state. Of course it is also relevant that the people of this country were hardly blind to what was happening and were happy to accept the authority of the people that carried out these crimes in their name and with such arrogance as to hardly conceal it.

• In my experience the only people opposing Church authority were the children in the Institutions and the women in the Magdalene Asylums. No politician – or political party – intervened on our behalf. RTE even visited and filmed a few Industrial Schools (in the 60s) and never remarked on the obvious neglect of the children and the decrepit state of the institutions. In one particular institution a child died after RTE’s visit – due to the horrific conditions in which he – and over 200 other children – were forced to live. The Dept. of Health carried out an investigation and the result was kept secret … one of the recommendations was that the institution be immediately closed because of the ‘grave situation’ in which the children were forced to live. Needless to say it wasn’t closed. The Dept. of Health did, though, remove those children who were there under their remit but left all the other children to continue suffering. The Department’s reason for removing those few children was a ‘fear of scandal’ if any more of them ‘succumbed’ to the conditions.

• Brian 04/05/12 #

The fact that he is still in his position of power is a crime itself. This wouldn’t happen in other countries. He would have had to go long ago. The fact that he is still there shows that Ireland is not dealing with the serious problem that is the Catholic church.

When it comes to lies, deceit, arrogance and pure greed, the Catholic church takes some beating.

• Everybody on here is complaining about Cardinal Brady and the church, but yet people rushed to call themselves Catholics, when the census came out. Why on earth did people do that? We, as a people, have empowered these self righteous, insensitive men, by rushing to worship at their feet. Surely, people know this? We need only walk around any city or town, on Sundays, and we will see empty churches and tiny crowds leaving masses. Yet, we are all still Catholic?? Pull the other one! If God exists, why is a question none of us can truly answer, do you think he/she, or it, are an integral part of an organisation that has hidden child rapists, silenced children’s pleas and wilfully moved predators into African and South American communities, knowing that they would inevitably reoffend? This organisation does not respect anybody, except it’s inner circle. We should demand the implementation of our laws, and stop letting these little men influence our lives and the lives of our children. Catholicism will never regain any bit of credibility, while it continues to pretend like it did nothing wrong, and only a ‘few’ strayed. What are people holding out for? A liberal church? That’s called Protestantism folks! We all know that, and these ageing men in Rome are already taking steps to retreat into fundamentalism, so as to prevent the next generation changing the rules.

• @Kenneth Church authorities have failed abysmally and while people have the choice to label themselves ‘Catholic’ I bet if they were to give an opinion on Church authorities I bet they wouldn’t describe THEM as ‘Catholics’. There is a disconnect between these Church authorities and the people. It is up to the people, who describe themselves as ‘Catholic’, to wrest control from the people who have enabled abusers in their ranks. It’s a sad fact but despite Ferns, despite Ryan, despite Murphy, despite Cloyne and despite the latest revelations about the head-honcho of the Catholic Church here not ONE priest has resigned in disgust.

A biographer of Ratzinger said, on his elevation to pope, that he would leave the church ‘Fewer But Truer’

That’s the serious answer to your post.

On whether there is a god or not: Wouldn’t an Almighty Being & Creator of the Universe design a better set of ears!?! I mean really …. just take a look at the variety of ears in circulation …

• John Milton could have wrote these lines to describe Brady…”To reign is worth ambition though in hell. Better to reign in hell than to serve in heaven”.

• No matter what anyone says there are a lot of people who would still kiss his ring !!

• im not religious but perhaps one option for the Irish Catholic church would be to separate from Rome and weed the dinosaurs.

• He had no idea of the impact of the abuse……… wtf…… to even utter ghst sentdnce

• http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/05/02/father-kevin-lee-catholic-priest-secret-marriage_n_1472494.html An Australian priest admits to being in a relationship and gets removed the same day, seems sex has to be with an underage unwilling participant screaming with pain and fear for the church to sanction it

• should have been ” no lynch mob here “

• While there may be a small number of “good priests”, why is there such a disproportionate number of inhumane monsters in the Catholic Church? and just as bad, people like Seán Brady who try cover up the crimes of paedophiles?

Not very “Christian” if you ask me.

• By excluding women and treating them like second class citizens the church signed its own death warrant a long time ago as it became a haven for all kinds of strange men.
    Brady should resign and women should be ordained and current priests should marry its stupid otherwise.

• Cardinal Brady is neatly illustrating two long-suspected truths.
    1) that in order to advance within the Church it is necessary to hand over both one’s conscience and one’s intelligence to the hierarchy.
    2) that the Catholic Church is neither democratic, nor inclusive, nor subject to any concept of human rights or of the sovereignty of nations.

• Doesn’t take long to round up a lynch mob here while there is no getting away from the facts I’m just wondering are all the people that are so vocal here going to go forward and question the position of the guards and ministers for justice and the legal professions role in all of this as we know from the inquires that they and also not forget the media namely rte where left wanting in all of this or are they going to remain the untouchables in our society

• You’re forgetting Sid that in those times the Church reigned supreme, if you as a Garda or other lay person stood up to them it wouldn’t take too much to find yourself or one of your daughters in a Magdalene Laundry, plus the whole country was indoctrinated, an anti-Church minister would’ve been kicked out of the Dail double quick. I don’t think it was really until globalisation that we became aware of the reality of the Church’s evil. It’s an interesting question whether or not we should blame the lay people of the time for letting the Church run loose, but even if you do blame them, the Church’s crime is far bigger.

• AS you may know we have a Royal Commission in Australia to investigate the church , schools etc.
    first major arrest made last week, retired priest with around 400 charges made against him, at present he is sitting in a cell.
    it is the start of years of bringing to justice for the crimes hidden by the church and others who knew what was and is going on.
    its a start !

• Cardinal Brady should stay put. He has put in place excellent child protection policies, much stronger/robust than the states. In the last number of years 200 children have died in the tender/loving ” care ” of the Irish state, partially during Kenny’s & Gilmore’s watch. Yet not a single head has rolled. Where does the buck stop ?. As for Martin McGuinness – we all know the human rights afforded to the missing during his watch. Hypocrites, one & all.

Add New Comment