TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Poll: Are you happy with what government has achieved so far?

The Fine Gael/Labour coalition is two years old this month. How do you think they’ve done?

The Ministers in the 31st Dail receiving their seal of office at a ceremony in Áras an Uachtaráin (file photo)
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

THIS MONTH MARKS the two-year anniversary of the current government.

The two years since March 2011 have brought a number of ups and downs for the coalition partners of Fine Gael and Labour.

Ireland is still in recession, unemployment remains high and thousands are behind on their mortgage, to name just a few of the challenges that remain in 2013.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore believes that there have also been plenty of positives, and that Ireland has been brought to some semblance of stability in the 24 months that have passed, both financially and socially.

So today we ask: Are you happy with what government has achieved so far?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (219 Comments)

• Sick of hearing “we taken tough decisions” and that other old chestnut “we have a job of work to do” not to mention if I hear “clearly” or “as you well know” at the start of a sentence again I will freak out. The direction this government is heading is not the one the people choose and certainly not the one we want.

• Actually, the people did vote for austerity. They voted for FG and Labour who both stated clearly in their manifestos that they pledged to reduce the deficit in line with the EU/IMF targets as agreed by the previous government of FF and the Greens. Therefore if you voted for FG, Labour, FF or the Greens you voted for austerity! The main difference between these parties was the ratio of tax increases to spending cuts. FF promised 2:1 cuts to taxes, FG promised 3:1 cuts to taxes, and Labour promised 1:1 cuts to taxes. So I think people are getting what they voted for. Either that or they didn’t read the party manifestos or listened to debates.

• You forgot “brass neck” in relation to anyone who questions them.

• Completely agree with ignoreland. We’re getting what we voted for, which is why FG were recently polled as the most popular party in the state.

• All the manifestos are here if anybody wants to check to see what they voted for when they picked a certain candidate. http://michaelpidgeon.com/manifestos/byelection.htm

• No I am not happy. The people of Ireland are not happy either. There is a song I heard on 2FM this morning, a song by Jack Carey, DJ Carey the hurlers brother. Powerful words that maybe we all need to hear, it made me angry

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=edfNeMIm2Jk

Im sick and tired of the lies this crowd in government are telling us, more fool me for trusting them

• Had they done nothing else, and I mean nothing else other than get unemployment to a level around half of its current rate I would say they had been a massive success! They have sat idly by and watched it grow despite massive emigration and pointless job bridge courses to massage the figures! Ultimately they have failed, and miserably so!

• I have achieved better erections after 15 pints!

• And how would one go about that Ted? We can’t invest in creating jobs as we’re borderline bankrupt, so how would they do it Ted?

• Ryan'O 07/03/13 #

A real comment Paul, from a real citizen not that of a trumpet blowing fg party member.

I commend you for your honesty agree fully.

• Using there “manifesto” as a excuse for what we voted for is all well and good, however what happens when a party member blatently lie’s to the electorate for vote’s? this is mainly the problem, while they stick to there manifesto excuse while in office, when they were campaigning for the election they blatently lied to secure votes! This to me is what angers people more than anything else, FG and Labour both played on the publics fears after the FF/green disaster promising the earth moon and stars while on the campaign trail yet when they got into power it was suddenly this is our manifesto!

There needs to be some accountability to the public for lieing to get into office, in any other state body, civil service/ semi state body application form there is a section that you must sign aknowleding you did not give false information and a warning that failure to disclose the truth will result in dismissal, yet a TD does not have to disclose the truth apparently when applying for his job..in essene a TD campaigns for his job in the same sense as anyone else would apply for there’s, yet a TD can lie/cheat his way into his job without any accountability to his employers..the Irish people. also at the moment there is not really anyway to get rid of them either if they are found out to have lied..hell afew of them have even admitted to lying to get voted in.

System needs to be changed and there needs to be a way to remove them if they are not doing what they have promised should they get into power. they should also be held accountable for any promise’s made on the campaign trail.

• Yet again, more whinging and no solutions.

Propose a way we can get out of this mess without the government making tough decsions or SFU.

• Sorry Derek, you clearly don’t know what a manifesto is. It is what they say they will do while in government if elected. So following the manifesto is the opposite of lying, it is keeping their promise.

• people beware there are paid goverment hacks on here.

• 87,000 People left Ireland last year looking for work! When the tide of emigration has turned then we can start to be happy. The only parties I go to these days are going away parties.

• When those people return they will have skills and experience that will benefit Ireland. Skills and experience they whould not have had they not left.

• ‘when they come back’ one of the most cynical comments i have seen in here to date

• You’ve lost me. How on earth is it cynical to think emigrants will return home?

• They don;t have the skills required to fill the jobs on offer. There are quite a few jobs available for people… unfortunately there has been the need to import people to fill them.

• What about the property tax that Fine Gael representatives promised on the doorsteps of the Irish citizens would not be introduced! And please don’t bother using the good old “it’s the last governments fault” line as so many FG supporters use! The last government are not in power now and the FG labour coalition are only showing themselves to be a bunch of liars and cowards who have no respect for the working class people of Ireland!!

• @Andy, I do know what a manifesto is, you seem to have missed my point. What happened to elect me “I won’t close Roscommon A&E from Enda or Not another Red cent from Leo, or we won’t cut childrens allowance from Labour..namely Gilmore and Bruton. these are some of the lie’s told in the lead up to the election in 2011 all 3 of them have happened. Roscommon downgraded, money paid and childrens allowance cut.

These were mentioned simply because they were issues that people wanted to be assured about by possible candidates and so my point stands they lied to get into office preying on people’s fears after what FF/greens had done. They either stick to there manifesto on the campaign trail or they should be held accountable for not doing so.

If I go for a job as a bricklayer and say I can do it then get the job and can’t should I be dismissed or should I be allowed to do a job I lied to get for a couple of years..its that simple. They got a job based on lie’s told in the run up to the elction, people voted for them on fate and a belief that they would uphold there election promise’s, I know I am one of those people, had a face to face discussion with Joan Bruton for nearly 10 minutes in the run up to election 2011 where she assured me that Childrens allowance would not be cut if Labour got into power, where she said Labour would help distressed Mortgage holders, where labour would create jobs ect ect..Childrens allowance has been cut, Mortgage holders are now in a worse situation than before with new tax’s and the only jobs created have peobably been overtime positions at the passport oiffice to process all the people emigrating.

• attempting to put a positive spin on emigration, says it all really

• Manifestos are important precisely so you can hold governments to account for what they’ve pledged to do. And they’re important in shifting emphasis away from local issues to focus on what a party says they’ll do should they get into power. So if people actually read them, rather than voting for a person on the basis the perks they’ll get for their local area, I think we’d have a much better political system as we’d have a much more engaged electorate. Leo Varadkar was called out almost immediately when he said ‘not another red cent’ as FG then came out and immediately clarified his statement by saying ‘not another red cent… other than what was agreed upon’. I remember Vincent Brown that very night deriding what he said, so I don’t think you could say that was a promise. As for “Labour’s way or Frankfurt’s way” what does that even mean exactly??

And I am definitely NOT a government hack. I’m just somebody who is frustrated by people complaining when they got exactly what they voted for. And I’m somebody who’s frustrated by Irish politics in general.

• “attempting to put a positive spin on emigration, says it all really”

Ironic comment of the day.

You clearly don’t understand the meaning of the word “cynical”.

• and if i hear “We have agonised over this” in relation to disability cuts or “we want you to know we care about the difficulties you are in” vomit, vomit.

• @Dennis

“They don;t have the skills required to fill the jobs on offer.”

Massive sweeping statement there. You seem to be saying that all emigrants are unskilled, which is impressively arrogant from someone who doesn’t understand apostrophes.

Plenty have emigrated because the same opportunities – in terms of options and desired salaries – for their skills are almost or entirely non-existent in Ireland.

• sean 07/03/13 #

We now live in a country where family cannot afford to have both parents working,
      .theres plenty of tripe from the blueshirt brigade about how the countrybis break, bankrupt etc
      Yet is costs tax payers in excess of €50m pa to fund politicians salaries, expenses, pensions
      Political advisors,
      Yet county councillors are still allowed to claim in excess.of €20m in expenses alone
      Yet we still have a gov jet ,
      Can spend €70k on wine ,
      And well the senators, quangos and and high paid layers on mgmt, consultants ,advisors, executives within the ps and hse
      yet we still give FAS €1bn a year in funding
      for little or no return ,
      €680m in foreign aid
      Can spend €7m rebranding the SW,
      Yet we can still allow all the major corporations get away with paying just 3-5% corporate tax ………….its suppose to be 12.5%
      still pay bankers obscene salaries and bonus,s

the only people broke in this country are the ordinary decent people ………..dress it up any way you like ,these are the facts ,queue the spin masters

• “You seem to be saying that all emigrants are unskilled”

He said nothing like that. Read the rest of the conversation before commenting and wasting everyone’s time.

• I think people need to accept, whatever their personal views, that polling shows the Irish people, overall, continue to support what could broadly be called “pro-Austerity” parties. Even two years in to this program for government, 58% of voters polled would vote for a ‘pro-Austerity’ party. Only 20% would vote for Sinn Fein – the only alternative anti-austerity party.

Now, people can disagree with that 58% — they can think that 58% are crazy even. But they have to accept that they exist. Those opposing austerity, if they want to be serious about it, need to stop thinking and acting as if they’ve already won the public argument. A lot of energy by campaigners goes into yelling at the government parties, and very little into persuading the electorate of the rightness of their arguments and that needs to change if they want to accomplish anything.

• Once again our political spin masters piss on us and tell us it’s raining. With regard to offering solutions that differ from the current policy and yet may offer success I have a one word answer, but strangely it’s a word not often heard in these discussions. “Iceland”

• We could have done what Iceland did before FF guaranteed the banking debt, but after that it was too late.

http://www.dailypaul.com/257243/how-is-iceland-doing-now-after-going-after-corrupt-bankers-and-politicians

• @Jimbo, it’s never too late to do the right thing.

• @ Andy, to be honest the manifesto’s are a tad disingenuous. What they promise is based on guestimates and conjecture with some pr massaging thrown in for a happy ending. If parties were honest they wouldn’t say what they will do but what they hope they will be able to do. The real puzzle for me is why people are so shocked when politicians break their promises. Like thats something new? When was the last time a political party honoured its promises to the letter? Next time simply accept that almost every promise they make is total bs, always has been so why change now.

• I don’t know who is worse. The deluded or the detached.
    We have been lied to,treated with distain,driven to poverty to pay for fat cat’s,familys forced to split up due to emigration,suicides due to poverty and the stress involved, blatent disregard.. Oh I could go on and include the total incompetence of elected ministers .
    The sad thing is that these paracitical liars have support !!.
    Says a lot about the supporters.

• Well said Mike.

• Mike you never seem to be off this website. Full time doom and gloom merchant

• You’re free to emigrate. FG are doing what they were voted in to do. Read there manifesto, they haven’t deceived or lied, only labour have. Roll on 2016 and a fresh new FF/FG coalition!

• Good man Andy. The spokesman for our government, that’s exactly their political policy isn’t it ‘You are free to Emigrate’!…enough said

• Andy, you epitomise everything this country is turning into.

^^^^^^^

This is the blatant arrogance and disregard to the Irish people that FG have to offer.

• Andy you maybe right, FF FG ,
      This government
      In health a lack of an obvious direction
      In justice, distain for the guards
      Agreed to pay the prison officers and firemen double time for Sunday while paying others less
      Positive, they have improved relationships with Europe ,

• do not worry people this goverment will get what is coming to them they people of this country are starting to come out of the coma.

• I’m not sure how much more the people can take. Gardai are protesting, nurses, teachers, unemployment is going through the roof and emigration has become part of Government policy. I am not a member of supporter of any political party. I am father and husband, a normal guy who always worked hard and paid my taxes. I believed our leaders, I trusted them, I honestly was naive enough to think that because we employ them to represent us that they would do their best and wanted the best for us. I was fooled, I am a fool to have believed the spin, the lies, the media sound bites, the promises. I have lost my job like many others and I have to leave my country, I doubt I’ll ever return because it seems that the political elite and bankers have destroyed it beyond repair, not just for my generation but for my children also. It breaks my heart to leave, I deeply love Ireland, it is my home but a home without a real government, laws, accountability, leaders. I still follow Irish events and listen to the radio on the net, there was a song on 2fm this morning that brought tears to my eyes, Ive seen it on a few forums also. Its the closest thing I’ve heard that captures the true story, the traitors and the lives they have destroyed. They dont give a **** about us and never will, they care about their pensions and huge salaries, Ill tell you one thing they wont ever know the worry of the esb bill coming or how they are going to afford food for the week.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=edfNeMIm2Jk

P.S FF are topping the polls again? How can we expect change if we keep doing the same thing over and over again.

• Lets not forget FF put us here.. They toook our jobs! FG / LL are only trying to help Ireland out.. And if you don’t like Ireland then you can geeet ouuutt!

• not to mention the assaults on disabled people, sick people and elderly care benefits and allowances. please go to my ’causes’ petition ‘stop the irish government attack on disabled people’. sign and share. thank you.

• @Andy Duggan…… I wish you would emigrate and stop deriding people for having an opinion

• “If you don’t like it, then emigrate”

That’s the other side of Bertie’s:

“If you don’t like it, then commit suicide” (paraphrased)

My oh my, what tough men we have in this country, and what contempt you have for your fellow citizens.

• Oh andy… You are either being paid to come out with this tripe or you really are a gombeen .
      I hope it’s the former rather than the latter.
      “emigrate”…. Classic reply alright.

• @billy …. I don’t think that is any of your concern.
      If I decide to be online for 24 hours then so be it…. Try not loose too much sleep over it.

• 53% “I don’t know”. ah jeez yiz have me laughing again.

• Fear and ignorance. Fear of standing out and then being picked on and ignorance of the fact that they (the 53%) hold the real power. That what they want is important and achievable, and most importantly, all they have to do is demand it.

• This government promised a new era. They gave one to us. Instead of doing the secret deals for their pals in secret they are doing them in the open. There are no ordinary citizens on state boards, they are instead full of the usual crones.
    The primary health centre list has a questionable provenance.
    As for the finance acts, they have imposed no losses on the people who made bad investment decisions, their losses have been imposed on us itch crippling rising taxation ang swingeing cuts to services and payments. None of their friends have suffered a wealth tax which is in Minister Noonans words a broadening of the tax base.
    It is no wonder they are doing badly in polls.

• I don’t think tax giveaways are possible in the situation the country is. Most people realise this I hope, but it does make me angry to see the government heaping all these blanket stealth taxes (not so stealthy, come to think of it) on people regardless of their circumstances. People on middle and low incomes are put to the pin of their collar while high earners feel very little effect from these taxes.
    The government have gone for the usual sitting target of the ordinary man and woman while leaving the very wealthy and those on high incomes virtually untouched. I will be voting for an independent candidate next time round.

• They have achieved nothing other than heaping misery on every household in the country. They haven’t delivered on anything they promised us. Complete and utter liars who should never see power in this country again. Cut after cut for everyone but themselves. Greedy shower of wasters. You can blame FF all you want but it’s this government who are introducing all these cuts to be the bestest boys and girls for our masters the Germans.

• Every household? Really? Heaping misery?

This is why some people are so surprised when polls come out, and why some people can’t understand why there’s so few people taking to the streets.

There is a large number of households in this country that are still doing just fine. Sure there might be a little less disposable income, but it’s not as widespread as you think. There are still lots of people employed, there are still lots of people buying stuff. It’s just that it’s not as widespread as before.

Think about a couple, both working in good jobs, with no children yet, or grown up children that don’t need any public services, have private health insurance provided by their jobs etc. They are either looking forward to retirement or building their lives and saving for a house. How hard have they been hit? Not very. What do you think they’ll objectively think when the next election comes around? They won’t be thinking ‘lets give SF a chance’ and they won’t be thinking ‘lets give FF another go’. They’ll be thinking: “hmmm. I’m not happy with this lot but they’ve insulated me to a point so far’

• Come ere boy. You’d want to wake up and cop yourself on. Take off the blinkers and open your eyes to see what’s going on in this country.

• So Rónán, do you agree with the above poll? I can’t tell from your comment (an excellent and unbiased one for once on the journal, I must say).

• @Ronan, I think you’ve hit the nail on the head there.

If a new government formed, comprised of the sort of mentalities that are posting on this forum spewing irrational venom, I would be on the first plane out of here, bank accounts cleaned out and property sold. Yis can kiss my taxes goodbye.

The current crowd in power have created some stability and ‘misery’ (i.e. in addition to Irish people natural sense of misery) , for those who are at the sharp end, has been less than it would otherwise be.
      If the global economy warms up, and it will, we will get to benefit from that – rather than being a rogue EU state, gone bankrupt, shutout and being made an example of as what happens to a elective defaulter.

• I don’t know many people like that. The usual conversations revolve around being stretched to the limit, emigrating or trying to get work

• Ronan, yes there are a large number of households that are doing just fine …..
      BUT …. those households are outnumbered by those who are struggling financially. There has been a huge surge in depression in this country manifested as a result of financial worries.

• @ Jason & Aurilton – obviously there are people in serious difficulty and that is sympathisable. However there are some who need to tighten there belt and accept the realities of the situation. Maybe you can’t go on a foreign holiday this year or get take-aways every week.

The majority are struggling but coping at the same time. They understand the good times will return but till then they need to put the head down and carry on.

• Andy Duggan is trolling again. What a surprise

• Ray, if everyone agreed with me my opinion wouldn’t change. I am not trolling, just contradicting the bizarre statements made by the dissatisfied socialists.

• Andy – the reality is that many belts just won’t tighten anymore. Foreign holiday … ha ha ha, take away …. hee hee hee!! I’m sure the good times will return, but that won’t happen in my lifetime.

• If you’re not a socialist, you’re a troll apparently. Surely the comments section is to encourage debate? Excellent, well reasoned comment from Rónán.

• censored 07/03/13 #

Maybe Enda and Rabbitte are the best trolls? They certainly know how to get a reaction

• @Pat Linehan,
      I can see what’s going on around me, and I can see that some people are really struggling, but it’s you that has the blinkers on. It’s not as widespread as you think. Ultimately, the country is divided into haves and have nots. There’s a few less haves and a few more have nots, at the moment, the haves are still doing alright. *Some* may be up to their necks in property, but many of those have good incomes.

@Andy Duggan,
      I find it hard to agree or disagree with the poll. The government haven’t achieved as much as I’d like, but there is a stability of sorts, partly in spite of them, and partly because of them. I don’t like how the government have gone about their business. They are picking off chunks of voters that are unlikely to vote for them (again?) anyway. Instead of sharing the pain equally they’ve targeted blocs of voters that are already disenfranchised. Even within the public sector they have found a way to put the burden on a few.

Rightly or wrongly, as Arbitrasure has implied, an important factor in establishing stability is the preservation of as much of the middle class as is possible. This is the real driving agenda behind personal insolvency, debt forgiveness, deals on BTLs, preservation of the ‘family home’ etc. The middle class will drive any growth in consumer spending and internal demand, i.e. the middle class must thrive again to support an internal fluff economy to give crappy jobs to the have nots. So to protect the middle class, they will be let shed their BTLs, stay in their family homes, and they will reignite some level of spending in the economy. This is being painted as the banks being forced to do deals with the struggling/coping classes, which they will, but they won’t be let off nearly as much as the middle class.

For the record, I don’t agree with all this. I would rather rebuild a fairer society. But I don’t agree with doing that based on taxing the productive taxpayers out of existence, so I won’t be voting for those offering it on the basis of such populist notions. Neither do I agree with protecting those in the middle class that have gambled and lost, but there’s no way you can be selective in doing deals.

How many people are struggling? Look at the polls.
      - 68% in the last poll would still vote one of FG/FF/Labour/Green.
      - in 2007, 86% of people gave first preference to FG/FF/Labour/Green/PDs

In theory, 18% have left the main parties. How many people enduring ‘misery’ are supporting the establishment in the polls? You can probably knock off a few % for those ideologically supporting independents now.

Yes, the struggling class and coping class have grown, but not to the extent people seem to think. The middle class will, unfortunately for our society, continue to be protected, and forgiven, in the hopes that they will drive a new domestic economy when things pick up.

How are the government doing? People are putting a whole lot more faith in their power to change things than they really have. I’m not defending them, they could to a lot better in terms of fair burden sharing, but that’s not on the agenda.

• and Paul,, you say no to your kid,, you tell them its toast for dinner,, i worked all my life, and hard honest worker,, come to tralee, we have 120 shops closed on our main st,, 2nd hand shops galore,,, and go to any shop no one buying unemployment is rampant,,, i would sweep the streets as a job,, i would do anything,, do you know what its like to be home, all the time,,, i have volunteered, but now getting so down in the dumps over my home,, and banks will do squat,, now if i had credit card bills they would,, sorry i dont have one, and go offf on holidays,, then they will help you,, but since i am honest and only spend what i have i am penalized,,, great country

• Conor 07/03/13 #

Maybe move from Tralee to where there is jobs?

• will be moving into my car,, and move anywhere i want after my daughter does exams,, may even park outside dail,,, i will never again own a home at my age,, i will be getting out of tralee, but kids have to have some stability that is only thing holding me back,,, just a real bad time at the moment,, but i will move on,, and something good will happen someday

• Yes they have achieved a lot BUT they have reneged on the reforms – W E DO NOT NEED 166 TD s costing the tax payer circa €340,000 each a year on salaries, allowances, travelling expenses, pension contributions, TURNING UP FOR WORK ?????? money (€63 a day each) amounting to over €10,000 PER DAY! And that is only the tip of the iceberg! They d laugh looking at this knowing they get so much more e g secretarial allowance which is usually kept in the family! Money for this money for that – what they get (NOT EARN!) is OBSCENE!, That s my rant for the day!

• Define what they have achieved thus far? It’s indistinguishable from what any other party would have achieved, and thus, in absence of any real differences or progression, certainly in a positive sense, how can anyone begin to incur satisfaction or happiness towards them?

• I think someone was at the thesaurus this am.

• UcantHandleTheWords ?

• Is that right, Maeve? Jump into a time machine, there….put Sinn Fein into power two years ago and come back here and explain how their policy of default and throwing two fingers at the EU has left us better off. Then go back again, same exercise and magically gift Cowen & Co. another two years in office and show to us all how we’re better off. Because the 15 years they had leading up to the election worked out so well for us. Maybe it’s the ULA we should have put in? Good news for pot smokers and tax evaders in the South East- but the country as a whole? Not so sure. You’re guilty of “magic wand” syndrome, you expect things to be instantaneously fixed. You think things haven’t gotten better fast enough? I promise you one thing. They could be a whole, whole, whole lot worse.

• Ryan'O 07/03/13 #

Kevin can see the future but not the present. Funny how a Fine Gael man manages to do that.

Blinkers on I see Kevin.

• @ryan- I see the present. And I’m proud of the recovering Ireland, I see. The Ireland that the rest of the world can see but which the likes of you is strangely oblivious to. So who’s wearing the blinkers?

• Ryan, why is it that anyone who agrees with some government policies is “blinkered” or “sheeple”? It would seem to me that the people who view themselves as the bearers of some higher knowledge are the ones least likely to question their own views on a matter.

FG have been making progress on restoring the economy. That is a positive, and given the heap of sh!te that they were handed by the FFers that is an achievement worthy of praise.

• I don’t think anyone can be in government and actually be as stupid as the shinners look. Their manifesto was designed to appeal to the ignorant masses and they could only get away with suggesting it because they knew damn well they would never have an opportunity to implement it.

This country would be utterly screwed if we defaulted. Imagine the austerity if we would had zero bailout money. No money to pay public servants. No money to pay pensioners and social welfare recipients. Enormous taxes… it would have been a disaster.

• I meant in the Dail, not gov. Obviously the shinners are not and never will be in government.

• censored 07/03/13 #

As opposed to … ? Just saying. I think it’s pretty funny how people claim disaster will fall on us if SF is elected. I mean, have you been paying attention?

• Paul so every body that reads the Journal is on the dole ?

• Ryan'O 07/03/13 #

Or a shinner….

The delusional spewing against anyone who critiques the muppet show.

When all else fails throw a few insults. It’s the FG way.

• The majority can’t talk rationally. You can’t talk about anything without bringing the bankers into it. Plenty of personal insults thrown around. Plenty if evidence a high amount of spongers or people that feel they’re owed something. I lost my job 2 years ago, I’m glad I didn’t moan and spout the doom and gloom that prevails as the norm here. If you want something to happen for yourself, do it yourself. Only exceptions for real legitimate cases. I think commentary on the journal represents the worst in Irish people.

• well said billy, if the same old people spent less time on here moaning ireland would be a happier place thank god there all keyboard warriors. dont think i could listen to some of there stuff in public

• Tell you what, Ryan. Take a look at any thread about SF or the IRA and tell me that the Journal isn’t heavily, disproportionately populated by Shinners. As is your way, in this instance reality seems to carry no weight in your moaning.

• It’s kinda difficult trying to have a constructive argument with out bringing the bankers into it…………. They are the catalyst, not only in this country but worldwide. Propping up useless banks has lost us our sovereignty .

• What is the ‘plenty of evidence’ you mention?

• Ryan'O 07/03/13 #

I’ve news for you Kevin

I voted FG in…..worse mistake on my part. So what does that make me a moner-gealer.

Back under Enda’s wing.

• SF have 20% of the polls at he moment
      So you think that there’s more that 1 in 5 sinners on the journal?

• More like 1 in 2 commenting….

• LOL the journal turned me into a shinner. Honest, I didn’t know I was one before but it turns out that must be what I am :D

I think they’re onto something here. The journal should patent this amazing mind altering technology.

(btw anybody who criticises FG, or displays any semblance of national pride/self respect is apparently “a shinner” according to some – or a troll)

• The only thing they have achieved is the ability to antagonise and depress a nation. Roll on voting day.

• Yeas, and they’ll be put back in with FF as coalition partners. Opinion polls don’t lie – the electorate agree cutting our lavish overspend is necessary.

• Ryan'O 07/03/13 #

We voted FF out for the very same reason we’ll vote fg out. There’s not a snowballs chance in hell that the FFGoff party will get in.

FF will romp with the technical group or SF.

There is no way they would even tar themselves with FG……your doing all their dirty work for them.

Roll on the next election and we will see.

• Ryan, FG and FF have near identical platforms and neither of them could be further away from SF’s if you fired them to the moon.

While personal animosity would make an FF/FG alliance unpalatable to both, it’s the only workable government that could arise if an election was held tomorrow.

• I should add that that bloody depresses me, by the way.

• FF FG coalition, we will have unleashed the devil on us poor souls.
      Reading that sent a shiver down my spine.
      Please NO
      We have done nothing to deserve that kind of suffering and torture

• Am I happy that IO have been consistently lied to – back-stabbed – robbed of money – have my right of expression curtailed – have my family downgraded in services – have my wife robbed of revenue – have my water/home/media services charges – have been threatened and terrorised into submission?

Hell NO!

Shame on Labour (TRAITORS TO THE PEOPLE) and shame on the Blue Shirts looking after the rich yet again!

• Frankly I couldnt give a shite any more. It is what it is. I’m happy until I read the newspapers.

Have a nice day,
    Adebayo

• As a self employed person in the west, Im not seeing any much ” stability”
    In fact from where i am sitting the economy looks to be in absolute disarray and showing no signs of improving with more cuts every day ..
    It looks like this recession aint gonna end anytime soon, when ya hear the ministers in the Dail saying they are gonna stretch out debt repayments until 2030 while going back to the markets to borrow more un payable monies from god only knows who…..
    GOD HELP IRELAND.

• This government have looked after the super rich while lining their own pockets. They have driven 2 generations from the country and destroyed the public service and the private sector piece by piece for the people who have to stay.

• Im so sick of them blaming all their tough decisions on the last government. At the end of the day they are in power they are responsible for the decisions made. Their PR budget must be through the roof with all the spindoctoring going on

• There is a huge amount of idiots in ireland if they think or are not convinced this government is a joke.

Wake up people are you really all that f*ck*ing thick ?

• Not too hard to predict how this poll is going to go.

No free money + no McCreevey-style giveaway budgets = angry electorate

• Bondholders paid regardless +

Illegal prom notes converted to sovereign debt +

The financial rape in the guise of tax=

ANGRY ELECTORATE!

• A group of cub scouts could have achieved what they supposedly negotiated. Credit card politics, spin & arrogance beyond belief is how I view their achievements….

• Ryan- interest rates reduced, medium term loans converted to long term, very low interest loans, our reputation reestablished, unemployment turning the corner, the economy growing and the second bailout, the one you said was inevitable averted as the Troika sent packing by the end of 2013 and economic sovereignty restored.

• Ryan'O 07/03/13 #

Lies Kevin, speculation at best. The reality is something quite different.

Do you have any more special advisors scripts to read out.

This is a public fourm…..with comments from the public, yet you mock those that critique the governments lack of progress.

Public sentiment and reality is something this government choose to ignore.

It doesn’t come scripted to boost international reputation, far far from it my friend.

• Kevin, and maybe the biggest strike seen in this land of ours, maybe not, but what an un-necessary gamble to take

• @kevin
      Fairytale comment & in my opinion only a brainwashed contributor could make such a head up their ar*e statement. The governments press office will be very proud of you even if they are having a little chuckle reading such sh*te.

• John
      I thought people were saying that this Government are no different to the last one and voila you come out with the idea that the electorate will be angry because there are no giveaways to sway their voting.
      Isn’t that what this Government promised?

• @ Benny – Anyone who disagrees with you is a government stooge? Typical persecution complex there, and the kind of nonsense that people with their fingers in their ears use.

• @dennis
      Absolutely not & as for the persecution complex you mention ? Words fail me!

• Ryan- ignoring public sentiment? Damn right they did. FF playing to the gallery & dishing out populist policies and vote winning handouts, that’s what got us here. I voted FG in to fix the country, not to keep their seats or get reelected.

• @shay- you should’ve talking to self serving Unions about strikes. The Irish worker is best served by a solvent state.

• @benny- instead of name calling, feel free to contradict anything I said. Name one untruth. Over to you.

• Dennis- don’t forget trolls. We’re automatically trolls for applying an analysis deeper than: it’s all the Governments fault.

• @ Kevin
      It was actually Leo varadker who said we would need a second bail out. Unemployment turning a corner ? Tell that to the thousands upon thousands of people leaving the country. I could list a page full of election promises that were complete untruths but ill give you one from each government party. Student fees will not be raised & not another cent for the banks. Have you ever heard Enda’s opposition speech to the property tax or Gilmore going on about labours way ?. The promissory notes have been converted to sovereign debt as has Anglo’s & that my friend is the achievement of this government…. Max out the credit card, simple..

• Kevin, it’s not unions that are threatening strike, it the members of those unions who see a lack of compassion, and fairness from this government
      Respite care grant,
      Hit people working shift to basic Pay under65.000, while leaving 9-5 alone
      Agree to pay some staff double time for Sunday while not paying it to others,
      Like I said, strike may or may not happen, but if it does FG will have caused it

• @benny- I asked you to correct anything that I listed as a Government accomplishment that was a lie. Instead, you ranted away about election promises which suggests you couldn’t contradict what I said. Try again. Over to you.

• @shay- No. FF will have caused it by bankrupting the Irish Republic, leaving an empty kitty for paying employees of the State.

• @kevin
      Sorry I didn’t want to be rude but your comment was pure spin & if you are deluded enough to believe what you write then who am I to burst your bubble. I don’t support a political party so I don’t really understand your loyalty but I respect it. You paint a picture of Ireland that I do not experience at present & the corner that you suggest we have turned with growth & low interest rates has little to do with the present government, it has come as a result of the terrible financial pain & suffering & mass emigration of irish citizens. FG/LAB promised change & transparency, do you seriously believe they have given us both of these ? The problem with Irish politics is party loyalty & party bullshit & you seem to have feathered your nest bang in the middle of both.

• No Kevin, FF caused bankruptcy yes, but not the respite grant issue, or the attack on frontline staff, guards and nurses and those doing shift , while leaving 9-5 alone
      FG and labour are directly responsible for how they implement the cuts they deem necessary.
      Blaming FF is lame at this stage

• @benny- so two attempts later you’re still unable to contradict a single point I made. Just rabbiting mindless rhetoric. That’s the thing with people with you. Once you get past the populist rubbish there’s nothing there.

• @shay- it will be lame to blame FF when there’s not a €160b debt hanging over the country. FF must love people like you- devoid of the capacity to differentiate or analyse. Content to just blame “the Government”, irrespective of who they are.

• Kevin, sad reply from you, if you read my contributions you will see I was specific in what was said,
      This isn’t government bashing, it’s acknowledging, unfairness in This governments approach

• Well, if you count paying off unsecured bondholders at the behest of the vulnerable – continuing to sign away our natural resources which could be leveraged against some sort of policy that might give people back their lives, the 0 jobs created, the continuing self absorption of government wages, pensions and allowances from the public purse, inept ministers, the lies, the property tax and the water charges and the tens of thousands of people forced to emigrate, then yes, I’m absolutely ecstatic with the performance of the government.

• what they have acheived, here goes.
    driven the young ppl out of ireland to look for work,
    taxed us, where we have no money to spend back into the ecomony,
    protected the rich, robbed the middle class and poor.
    blckmailed unions into agreeing with the new croke park deal( protects rich once again)
    hit us with property taxes, water charges whats next the air we breath.
    honestly they lied to us to get into power( isnt that right enda kenny)(it is wrongfully unjust to tax someones house)

• the rich get richer and the poor get poorer!

• At the risk of sounding like someone with Tourettes. parasites PARASITES parasites

• Sibhs 07/03/13 #

I’m not happy with the lying muppets but I’m sure they’re happy with themselves, why wouldn’t they be, with their high wages, expenses and their removal from what is reality for the rest of us.

• understaffed frontline garda, nurses, firemen, paramedics now having there pay cut again.
    no movement on the X case
    property tax
    water tax
    increased fees for 3rd level students
    more money payd to bondholders
    no progress on upward only rent revews
    no end to golden handshakes for snr civil servents
    immigration

• Aidan 07/03/13 #

Need an unhappy or livid option

• more people need to take to the streets instead of just sitting back and take whats thrown at them! giving out and moaning wont solve a thing!

• The day of the biggest swindle in politics. When we believed the lies and then they stabbed us in the back broke every single promise they made. Time to pull these wasters out on the street.

• I hit yes by accident. I don’t know what happened, but anyway. Discount one yes.

• Are you yes and dont know people for real. A bottless shower of principle changing ,yes men that haven’t a spine between them .

• Well they’ve managed to be thicker than Fianna fail

• no difference from the previous shower of criminals white collar c rime is at all time high in this country and its business as usual , all this goverment has done is pile more illegal debt on to the backs of the people plus two hundred irish people leaving every day what would the state of our unemployment be if they had no where to go .

• Such rubbish. Unadulterated rubbish. Do you boys ever read what you write?

• Ryan'O 07/03/13 #

How so Kevin?

Are fine gael not continuing with FFs policies and that of the troika?

They may as well be the same party for all the difference they show.

It’s one of the reasons why FF are back up in the polls….

• Ryan… the damage was done by Fianna Fail. They made banking debt into national debt. Defaulting on National Debt is a LOT more damaging that letting the banks fail would have been. FF were hoodwinked by their cronies in the banks and Fine Gael have been forced to make do with that situation.

I know a lot of people would like to see our government unilaterally reject payments of bondholders but that would end our line of credit from the ECB. I 100% agree that we should not be paying those failed investors, but I hope that a diplomatic and inclusive solution can be found.

• No write down of the private banking debt of failed investors and this Government did not even seek such a write down. Instead, they enshrined this debt into our laws, making it sovereign national debt. A significant burden which will affect generations to come. We are carrying the can for the EU and this Government has dutifully bowed to the every whim of Europe. For this alone, they have failed.

• To Paul Nolan, anger is rising all over this country and iti is not about freebies but about value for money. This government compounded what the previous government had done and are selling off this country bit by bit. Really hope you are one of the elite who might get out of this with something in the bank because when this country is bankrupt it will be the middle class who suffer most, the working class and unemployed of this country are used to coping.

• if people dont know if they are happy or not then its no wonder we keep voting in ffg over and over, not much hope for ireland to cop itself on

• Ha.hahahaha.hahahahahaha.ha

• 52 per cent say i don’t know. Is it any wonder this country is full of incapable people. They can’t even decide on a simple poll.

• Reducing the number of TDs should be top of the agenda. 50 would be plenty as 4 or 5 seem to be managing the country now. The councils and senate should be voluntary and reduced by 50%.

• I feel lied to. I believed FG when they said they would address all that was wrong with Politics in this country by bringing honesty to the table. What we got were broken promises! “Not one red cent” really rings hollow now! What I find more worrying is the fact that Mr Kenny is almost a recluse n feels he doesnt need to inform the public of any decisions “Europe” are making for us until it suits him to do so…Arrogance!

• Seems to be an awful lot of don’t knows. If people are so unsure then that’s a pretty big indictment of the Coalition too.

• To be honest, I think it’s more of an indictment of the poll options. Few will be 100% satisfied or unsatisfied with any government’s performance. A lot of the rest will vote “Don’t Know”, I suspect.

• No

• DO NOT VOTE FOR FG OR FF IN THE NEXT ELECTION. VERY SIMPLE.

• what’s not to know? promised reforms never materialized, non of us feel any better about our situation. or any national pride.

• To be honest I would say that I’m not satisfied. It seems apparent that they are only out for themselves etc. What annoys me is people complaining about it. If you voted FG/Labour and now feel cheated, I would argue that it is your fault for the property taxes etc. If you honestly believed that politicians who were ‘brought up’ sitting in opposition to the previous government would do anything different (ie look after themselves) then you are very naive. We need some sort of super computer, a fancy abacus or maybe a wooden drinking bird of some kind to run our country efficiently.

• happy as a man who thought a cat had done its business on his pie, but it turned out to be an extra big cat business (and not a blackberry….)

• They are a shower of bastards. All they are interested in is getting their pensions. Anyone who votes for FF LAB or FG need their heads examined. They spineless idiots in power are about to pass a law at the end of this month allowing the banks to repossess 1000’s of homes, most of these houses will sold at a massive reduction leaving the ex home owners with enormous debts due to negative equity which the rat bastard bankers will peruse. This country needs a revolution. Hope they rot in hell

• No I am not !!!!!!!.

• ha this is the journal of course there not happy. the only way the people on here would be happy would be if they were handing out free money….or should i say more free money?

• Peter 07/03/13 #

Que the rage :-D

• @paul

I agree

Its a moaners nirvana, without any alternative solutions being offered

• i love to see them crying on here its always so funny and always the same peopel im sure old man frank will be around soon to give us all a speech

• To be honest, as an FG supporter the 49% unsure is fair I think. The electorate has every right to withhold judgement for a while yet. At least there are people out there willing to wait & see if the efforts of this Government bear fruit.

• what a stupid statement ” the only way the people on here would be happy would be if they were handing out free money”, it is a perfect example of just how stupid and blind the fg supporters that comment on here really are, so before the economic collapse, everyone that was working was unhappy?

• @Paul Nolan – Firstly, you clearly DON’T like to see the people on here moaning/crying or whatever you put it down too!
      Secondly, as a private sector employee with no gripe with public sector employees (that FG/Labour tried to stir up) I have never got or received this ‘free money’ you talk about?
      Everyone is laying the price for it now!
      If it’s the Jobseeker’s Allowance or the ‘dole’ as some would put it that you suggest is free, then you should really think twice about your comment(s)
      People are out of work because of betrayal, lack of honesty & lack of resources/jobs.
      FG are the ones saying that they are getting people back to work. That they are.. On CE scenes where desperate people who want to work and have worked earn an extra €50 on top of their Jobseeker’s Allowance which I believe is €186!? They then work 40+ hours a week as a ‘work experience’ term in order to earn €236 PW.
      With this, I see the easy way out for both business’s and the government who have people working round the clock for so little.
      That again is betrayal and lack of honesty.
      FG/Labour have done very little as far I can see. They’re rats line the rest of them, but only this time around, they aren’t as cunning because they lack wisdom, attention to detail and hard hard balls. (Excuse me)
      So enough of your FG show of strength. I’m watching everything this government is up too!

• i believe the likes of paul nolan, vincent dolan, kevin shaw, littleredthumbs etc are actually sf supporters, they come on here in the guise as fgers and portray their awful characteristics on purpose to paint fg in a worse light, dont worry lads, we already know they are a shower of elitists, you dont have to act the part for them

• I see the galers are out early, laughing at peoples misery.
      Reminds me of the failers before them.
      Your Masters may have their nests feathered but you young guys, you have nothing but a party to rebuild.
      That makes me happy!

• Kevin. Any Government taking over the shambles that FF and Greens left were always going to be on a hiding to nothing. The real issue is the barefaced lies that we’re told by FG and Labour during the election campaign. We were told that not another cent would be paid to bond holders for starters, but instead of refusing to pay the anglo/ irish nationwide debt, this crowd actually converted it to sovereign debt.Then we were told that they had a five point plan to create 100,000 jobs, and two years later unemployment would actually be higher, if it wasn’t for thousands of people emigrating. Labour promised us that child benefit wouldn’t be cut under any circumstances, and of course they’ve cut it twice already. So how can anyone be happy with liars and cheats calling the shots? We all know that they were put in a very difficult position, but they couldn’t fail to win that last election. So therefore barefaced lies weren’t even necessary. Pat Rabitte has even admitted they lied their way to power.

• Scarr 07/03/13 #

Stop being such a whinger Paul.

• Only thing is theres none for pure stupidity
      Ah well!

• this is all so much fun u guys same time again tommorow?

• Free money? That’s what every FG TD and his cronnies get every year for the rest of their lives.
      Pity the free money they get comes from the blood an tears of the Irish people.

• Chat tomorrow Baldy!

• every graduate in the country gets free money as their courses are subsidised by the working people that never had the opportunity, a modicum of gratitude would sit well instead of this sneering thats typical of the fg supporter

• Paul Nolan how dare you make such snide remarks. That shower of FG and labour are no better than the land lords that brought our country and its people to its knees in the past. How long will it take them to start charging for day light coming into our homes. They are bullies and to make it worse they just laugh at people’s misfortune, how dare they keep hounding people already in hardship. We have a very mean spirited crowd in control at the moment. They are Anti compassion and anti families, they are so ARROGANT and they get away with it.

• It is mad to think that so many people do not know if they are happy or not. Are they waiting for someone to tell them.

• @terry- the Government is telling people that the sacrifices being made now will yield dividends. People are reserving judgement to see if they deliver. That seems eminently sensible to me. More sensible than the hoards on here stamping their feet like petulant children every time there’s a cut.

• Here is an alternative for you little red

PAY YOUR OWN GAMBLING DEBTS!!

• The only good thing to come of this last government is Stephen Donnelly we need more politicians like him!

• And there you are. Moaning about moaning.

• Paul, look forward to they day you end up as desperate as some of the rest of us!

• censored 07/03/13 #

Paul, since your generation (and your kids) are paying for the free money all I can say is …. thanks!

• Scarr 07/03/13 #

I think they’ve done well in terms of attracting new jobs but very poorly in terms of any of the promised reform. It’s all been window dressing at this stage and cronyism / nepotism still seems to be rampant.

• Two years in and nothing, NOTHING, has been done about the mortgage crisis. One in eight are now in arrears. People can’t afford their mortgages and now the property tax is coming….. Nothing to help out Joe soap, just new ways to tax them.

• With their huge salaries and pensions I don’t think any politician from any party really gives a crap about anything we think. It’s all a big game to keep them busy until the next election.

• This Government is appalling! It cuts payments to invalids and at the same time the HSE donates E250,000 to a “charity” to promote threesome sex to teenage.see today’s Sunday Independent. Fine Gael gave a pre-election commitment that it would NOT legislate for abortion yet it plans to introduce pro abortion legislation by July 2013. Fine Gael TDs should revolt. You are going to lose your seats after the next election. Enda’s personal attach on the Catholic Church – the closing of the Vatican Embassy- the deliberate intention of Government to stop Catholic Teaching in our schools is unforgivable! Shame on Fine Gael. You will not be in the next Government unless you change your ways!

• Does it matter?

After all they think they are doing a good job.

• Are you serious?

• Who said yes????!!!!????

• This Government is appalling. It withdraws aid from the less well off the invalids and at the same time donates E250,000 to a charity promoting threesome sex advice for teenagers. How sick can this Government get? See today’s Sunday Independent ” teens get tips on threesomes from HSE funded site – sex with two other people can spice up your sex life!” Crazy! Sick! Sick! Enda reflect on what your Government is doing before Fine Gael get wiped out at the next election. Paddy Power now are giving Fianna Fáil good odds for leading the next Government. Fine Gael has the highest number of TDs in Dáil Éireann since its foundation – yet Enda is about to write off the party at the next election. He gave a pre election commitment that Fine Gael would not legislate for abortion yet he plans abortion legislation by July 2013. He closed the Vatican Embassy – what an insult to all practising Catholics in Ireland? Who does Fine Gael represent in Government??? Answer please?

• Should Beppe Grillo (5*) run candidates in the next Irish Election?

http://www.beppegrillo.it/en/

• Any comment made by both parties always has to include “the previous government” which gets on my nerves,we all know Fianna Fáil made some mistakes but at least while they were making them we had money in our pockets!!!

• Reg 07/03/13 #

“Some mistakes” that’s the understatement of the century.

The fact that they doubled public spending in a ten year period on the back of taxes on money borrowed from abroad has been a catastrophe.

• Beans on toast !

• Who are the 6% who answered “yes” to this poll?
    Have govt TDs been block-voting here?

• Well, 35% of voters polled have said they’d vote for the current government parties again if the election was tomorrow, and 18% of voters in a different recent poll said they were happy with the government performance. So the Journal poll is actually showing less happiness than the general population (probably due to the stark ‘yes/no’ options on offer).

No conspiracy theory needed.

• Happy…. About what exactly????? Riding the working class people bare back…. Yep they are very good at that! They achieved nothing but pain and heartache! They fecked up this country and filled their own pockets and expect the working class people to pick up the pieces, we have debts coming out of places where we never thought possible! They are all flying off to New York, DC, for Paddy’s weekend and various other places around the world to promote Ireland! People know where and what Ireland is, and what we can do as a nation, industry etc…..free fecking holiday is what they are gonna for! Jesus I’m so angry! Will NEVER VOTE again!

• Every sent I save will be used to get me and my children out of this country of docile sheep. I’ll never look back.

• In all fairness I don’t think any other government could of done better, maybe on a few things but not a lot, ask the same question next year

• No, this Government has managed to make the failings of Fianna Fail actually look good. The only real achievement on their part is the further alienation of the bulk of the population: Which can be construed either way.
    The stability they talk / boast about is a no-brainer unless one has No Brain. They the Coalition have managed to strengthen the utter contempt for Government held by the electorate. The results of which will be felt for years to come through increased criminality, anti-social behaviour and a break-down of public morality.

• To answer your question journal.ie,I am happy with what the government have achieved so far.

• Of course the Government of any given era has a bearing on the individual, some more so than others…but barring exceptional circumstances where Governments openly oppress their publics, the individual is left to their own device to a large extent.

This is a quote from another commenter from a different news website, but I think it seems apt on this page.

I’ll probably shouted down on here, or called a sheep or government advisor etc. because of this comment.

I’m now finished with TheJournal.ie because of the comment section and how annoying it is, I know I don’t have to read the comments, but I always do at one point or another. I’ll get my news from other sites.

• With the obvious and only choice of lie’n, duplicitous, retrograde urinate rs ,it is surprising that the Majority felt it had the right to wrong. !!

Add New Comment