TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Poll: Should gardaí have the power to check mobile phone records of drivers involved in crashes?

What do you think of new proposals put forward by the Road Safety Authority?

Posed by model.
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

THE HEAD OF the Road Safety Authority has said the gardaí should be able to check the mobile phone records of people involved in road crashes, so it can be establish whether the use of phones was a contributing factor to an accident.

Noel Brett said it should be normal practice that all drivers’ mobile phone records be sought following any fatal or serious collision, in order to crack down on the illegal use of phones while driving.

Research by the RSA conducted last year revealed that between 39 and 45 per cent of drivers admit to using their mobile phones at least sometimes while driving. However, concerns about data protection have been raised in response to the proposals.

We’d like to know what you think: should the gardaí be given powers to check the mobile phone records of drivers involved in crashes?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (100 Comments)

• Until we see how they plan to determine whether or not the device was being used ‘Hands Free’, even if that is just by having the phone planted on the dashboard and the speaker on, can you really vote yes or no? It’s hard to vote when we don’t know all the facts.

• Hughie 21/09/12 #

I’m just home from Florida and a case there was reported on the news this week. A guy crooked the road and went head on into a car killing two. In court his phone records were used. He was on a 1 hour journey and in that time he sent 50 texts and made 2 phone calls also. He was convicted on dangerous driving. So I think it’s a good idea.

• If its true that the emergency services are exempt from the law of driving while on the phone, what driving course did they go on to make them safe drivers while on the phone. Also has this been passed by the RSA and by the HSA Or are these drivers equipped with a third arm ?

• The reason gardai and emergency services were exempt from the law defines the device as a hand held communication device. The above use hand held radios so needed to be exempt.

• Never mind the drivers on their phones, i’m with Alan Shatter :- pilots using their iphones to land at dublin airport

• Yes, absolutely. However they should also crack down on a phenomenon that seems to be unique to Ireland and related to this issue – people pulling into the hard shoulder on motorways to make calls. Between Dublin and Cork you’ll see up to 20 people doing this at various times and it is utterly stupid and dangerous. What happens if a truck has a blow out or a car breaks down.. they would go straight into the back of them! The hard shoulder is there for a reason. Buy a bloody hands free kit! Dopes.

• Torpedo 21/09/12 #

Yes it could rule out or rule in a possible reason for the accident. We could finally get definitive answer to the reason accidents happen.

• I’ve seen many examples of this with drivers,also I’ve seen the police at it in cars!!..lead by example chaps and buy a Bluetooth device for your car,more enforcement is required..

• It’s a no brainer. I’d have thought they would have been granted this power years ago. There’s not a day goes by that I don’t see someone driving with a phone stuck to their ear. When
    someone in front of you veers out of their lane, it’s almost guaranteed they’re on the phone.

• Well if they had that power 3 months ago, it would have saved me no end of trouble. I was stopped at the exit from my estate to the main road, as a car approached from the right. As he got closer to me I could see he was on the phone and then he suddenly tried to make a left hand turn into my estate. No braking, no indicator and ended up slamming into me. The guards arrived and i told them he was on the phone at the time and he denied it. The phone was lying on the passenger seat at this stage, however the garda could not consider it, it was my word against this cretins. If they had the power to check, he would have been banged to rights. I would totally support giving them this right to check.

• Aisling 21/09/12 #

Yes, absolutely. If the person was using a hands-free kit surely that would be obvious because the equipment would be in the car, or on the person, and could be checked at the time of the accident. (Presuming of course they were using this equipment, which is another matter.)

Overall though, why shouldn’t the Gardaí be given this power? It makes sense, and may encourage people to go hands-free or not use their phone at all while driving.

• The kop 21/09/12 #

well if phone records are to used…then they will need someway to check if the radio station on the car was changed..if a cd was recently put in to cd player….if the driver was smoking… opening a wrapper on sweets/chocolate….day dreaming…putting on make-up! ( i’ve seen several times to my horror ) ..men shaving….
    the list is endless…. and these are just a few things that people do while driving on a daily basis….

• Absolutely not.

What if it shows a phone call was received but the driver was on a hands free or Bluetooth earpiece that the Gardai didn’t realise was being used. That person would be labeled as the cause of a death.

• I think they might do a little bit more investigation than that, no garda is going to go “oh they got a call, thats them at fault”. They would also look to see if there were bluetooth headsets, handsfree kits, etc in the car.

• Research has shown that using Bluetooth does not reduce the probability of having an accident. People in conversation for longer than 9 minutes on Bluetooth have the same risk in being involved in a collision as someone holding the handset. They showed that the person became less aware of their surroundings and environment causing them to get distracted by the phone conversation. Ever see a person in conversation using their hands as a way of expressing their words? Same principle applied to research,

• The question isn’t “should mobile phone records be considered incontrovertible proof of guilt regardless of circumstances” it’s “should the gardai be able to check them as one piece of evidence among many others”

• To all the people helpfully pointing out that mobile phone usage while a person is driving may not be evidence of a crime, you badly need to reread the article.

Noone was suggesting that guards should have the power to query a person’s mobile phone records, immediately find them guilty and lock them up. What was proposed is that guards should be able to query mobile phone records as one piece of evidence among many over the course of an investigation.

The fact that phone records might not be conclusive under some circumstances doesn’t detract from the fact that there are many circumstances under which mobile phone use could be proven, unequivocally, to have distracted the driver and could be a vital piece of information when determining the cause of the crash.

• http://www.journal.ie needs to remove the ‘on the fence’ option on its polls – it’s either ‘yes’ or ‘no’ – why would you want to canvas the non-views of the ‘don’t knows’?!

• Marian, I put I don’t know because while I think it’s a good idea in theory, I am not sure how it would work in reality. You would need the exact time of a crash to compare it with a sent text or call time.

• It’s standardised research methodology that such an option be included. I could rant on about internal validity and reliability and various other measures of reseach quality and trustworthiness, but I won’t.

Simply put “the world is not simply black and white”.

• Some people like to see the results of the poll without making a yes/no decision and the only way to view the results is to vote. I think it’s better to not view the results before voting so the leading view does not sway a persons decision.

• I agree with Gary. It would be virtually impossible to determine the exact second of an impact to see if it falls in between the start to end of a phone call. Even if it was caught on cctv, the cctv clock would have to sync exactly to the phones time. A few seconds out and there would be no case.

• Fair comments – the exact timings etc would need to be established – that’s a given.
      As to black and white – of course there is no such thing Patrick but with only 3 options there is a statistical probability that many people will opt for the ‘don’t know’ button just because they don’t agree with the ‘yes’, ‘no’ extremes. My suggestion is that maybe ‘yes’, ‘no’, ‘sometimes’ and ‘in special circumstances’ might have been alternative options to the potentially vague ‘don’t know’

• Marian – ‘I don’t know’ is a valid answer to many of the polls that the Journal ask. Calling it a ‘non-view’ is idiotic.

A high level of don’t knows in the responses indicates that the question being asked is not clear cut.

• I think the gardai should have access to phone records. for arguments sake we should assume that data could be taken from the phone confirming if a wireless device was used. As for determining the exact second of the crash, I think that is a null argument. If it can be shown that the driver was making calls or texting while driving throughout their journey it could be used as a sort of “character reference”

• Valid point Shanners. But Say for instance you were pulled in to the side of the road on a call, finished that call then pulled away and slammed into a car 10 seconds later. Under this proposal you’d be convicted. You talk about a character reference, but you where in fact abiding by the law. Its legally very fragile and no judge would convict on it.

• @ Patrick your right there is black and white & 50 shades of of grey

• Because sometimes questions can’t, or shouldn’t, be answered with a “yes” or a “no”

• Of course they should have the power.

Supplying car chargers to each Garda is something that should have been done long ago

• well said Gary ….

• Shanners 21/09/12 #

@Joe, that is certainly a valid point and a grey area. If a driver can account for his journey, time he left, where he stoppped to talk on the phone etc, it should be possible to validate *most cases based on the timeframes involved. Like anything else, if there is reasonable doubt then it should not count.

A lot of comments talk of drivers stopping on the hard shoulders of motorways. Simple and harsh solution – not a valid excuse. Look at including this as using a phone while driving. This would force drivers to leave the motorway to find a safer spot to speak on the phone.

i find the results of the pole incredible that over half drivers are against this. If you don’t use your phone while driving you have nothing to worry about, if anything it might help you avoid liability!

• Shanners 21/09/12 #

Joe, If you were off your phone at the time of the accident then the person you were talking to would be able to confirm this. If you ended with “…. bye” you’re good, if you ended with “…. oh sh**ttttttttt”, you’re not so good..

• @ Shanners..true. :). I think the probably the best solution is 8 points for using the phone while driving to stamp it out. And avoid the “oh shit” moment.

• Rob Hunt 21/09/12 #

What if I crash while using the hands free kit built into my car? There are too many grey areas to open this particular can of worms.

• Shanners 21/09/12 #

Rob, there’s no law against using your hands free kit. Wouldn’t be held against you. HUGHIE, a few comments down, has a prime example of how the information should be used.

• Dec Rowe 21/09/12 #

Im not sure I agree with you in that one Marion! :)

• Well said Patrick. Any chance you can write to the Examiner about their awful polls? Ever noticed that they put a reason with the ‘yes’ and ‘no’ options? The reason they propose usually has nothing to do with you answering one way or the other

• I have a blue tooth that lets me take calls when driving and Siri lets me dictate texts (all be it dodgy texts) without using my hands so I can’t see it it working out but I voted yes because the Gardai should have the powers they need to investigate all circumstances leading up to a crash. If u can’t decide yes or no then take the time to consider it further. If u still can’t decide then I don’t want to hear your opinion. On November 10th u will be presented with Yes or No options. There will be no’Maybe’ or ‘Not Sure’ boxes. At the end of the day this pole won’t be used to enact legislation.

• A driver could be on Facebook or the Journal for that matter.

• I agree in princible but they would have to be able to determine if the driver was using bluetooth/parrot or some handsfree device.
    Otherwise it would not be acurate.

• Hughie 21/09/12 #

Crossed the road. Not crooked.

• They already have the power to do it for serious injury accidents. A phone record would not be sufficient evidence of any offence in minor accidents so what is the point. Let the insurance companies and civil litigators so their own investigations.

This is just the RSA trying to divert attention away from the fact that roads are in terrible condition and likely a bigger contributor to traffic accidents.

• The rounabouts I drive on going to and coming from work are in excellent condition, the only reason I see for idiots driving out in front of me is the phone glued to their ear.

• I’m happy for you. Your roundabouts are not representative of the overall state of the roads in Ireland though. You blame the phone for poor driving when it’s likely the driver has poor judgement and doesn’t pay attention anyway. What does it matter if they were on the phone or not at the time? It’s not like they can use it as a defence to bad driving nor is it evidence of someone being in the wrong.

In this country a person can drive a car with no licence or insurance or seatbelt while on the phone but if they are rear ended the other driver is in the wrong. That’s the reality of our system here.

• I think that the problem is not poor judgemnet, its coming into a junction while holding a mobile phone in one hand, trying to brake, change gear and steer with the other hand while concentrating on the conversation. but hey, lets blame the state of the roads.

• What about the poor driver who accidentally called someone in their pocket or the person who said to their passenger – will you text someone for me. While it may be helpful in a case, the phone records of someone could never be used as substantial evidence.

• Of course they should be able to have access to phone records to check out the cause of accidents , especially in the event of serious injuries and or fatalities.

• What if, like in many cases, the passenger answers the drivers phone for them? Surely because the phone was in use at the time doesn’t mean the driver was the person talking on it.

• Surely there is something they can do regarding individuals that were on their phones when driving.a member of my family was killed by a driver on his phone yet records were never checked despite the gardai knowing this so I have first hand knowledge of how dangerous driving on a call can be.

If the possibility to use phone records is a option then it should be looked at

• I have to laugh! Every time I see a Garda car there always on the bloody mobile!

• you can get a Bluetooth kit installed in halfords for less than 60 quid. Just make it compulsory and include it in the nct. No need to be trawling through phone records.

• phone records wont show if the call was hands free or not, so its pointless.

• Non starter coz like most situations in Gardai these days…theres not enough resources available to do all this testing.

• If there’s a time and date recorded when airbags deploy, then check phones log. Simple

• let them start with the five people who are holding up the investigation at anglo irish bank who refuse to hand over their pass words first.

• This was tipped to be one of the advantages of a common charging and data connection across all brands of mobiles that the EU proposed (and that Apple just blatantly ignored with their new proprietary connection).

Cars could then be produced with universal docks and hence universal hands-free systems. Sense; it makes some.

• There is no doubt that taking or making calls while driving causes accidents. There is no excuse for doing so. If there is a crash then all efforts should be made to ascertain the cause. If relevant information is not available then an injustice may occur. PS I saw a driver on a mobile phone with a wad of A4 notes on the steering yesterday WHILE driving!!

• Yes.

• These articles are turning into a ‘load of Polls’. The Journal never publishes the results of these data collections. Seems like they have a lucrative little side-line going selling on the results to interested parties. Big business advertising runs the world.

• now, today, 22nd, they are asking us to do a poll about a poll. “How will you vote in the referendum?” Wouldn’t mind so much if The Journal told us what they were up to with all these polls, but they just keep stum and give us ‘the mushroom treatment”

• Mobile phones should be checked especially in case of fatalities in crashes and I for one very stupidly always thought they were!!

• No. The Road Safety Authority and every other expensive, unelected quango like them, want to control every aspect of every citizen’s life. Next they’ll be lobbying for the development of mind reading machines so they can tell if the driver was daydreaming before an accident. Ridiculous nanny state control freakery as usual in this country.

• Yeah, the feckers, what are they thinking trying to see if someone was breaking the law when they caused a sewrious accident. This sort of thing should not be allowed, why should somebodys complete stupidity be investigated if it caused serious injury or even death to somebody who was driving along minding their own business and doing nothing wrong. Bloody qunagos.

• When I hear the words “Road Safety Authority” I have to laugh. This is the joke organisation which has made it almost impossible to overtake traffic on the N4 between Kilcock and Kinnegad by placing double white lines in the centre of the road even in places where it is perfectly safe to oveertake. The reason? To force people on to the TOLLED M4. The last time I looked the toll was €2.70 for a car, and the time gained was only about 9 minutes. Tens of thousands of motorists are refusing to pay this extortion every day including large numbers of big trucks. One slow driver can delay up to 30 vehicles for many miles, leading many frustrated drivers to overtake in unsafe places. The RSA is a quango whose main purpose is revenue collection on behalf of the Troika/EMF led government and they couldn’t give a damn about road safety.

• I agree with that principle, a lot of people aren’t picking up on the privacy issues. same with smoking laws in cars, I dont smoke, but i still think to ban it in cars is insane, just because as soon as they’ve banned that, next it will be food then talking to a passenger theyl want to ban. you have to draw a line somewhere.

• It would be very hard to police. The exact second of impact would have to be known to see if it falls into the call time.

• Not that difficult. Studies show that the distraction is a factor for a few minutes after the event so the earlier arguments of knowing the exact second are rubbish. Having said that, other people in the car must be a bigger distraction. There’s only so often you can make up the answer to “daddy, what’s that over there?”

• that’s ridiculous, calls made with hands free or on speaker phone which is legal would show up, what a silly thing for them to do, clearly not thought through properly at all

• All new smart phones have built in motion sensors, if sudden changes in motion were recorded it would be very easy to compare the time of this with usage on the phone #problemsolved

• All new smart phones have built in motion sensors, if sudden changes in motion were recorded with would be very easy to compare the time of this with usage on the phone #problemsolved

• @gerry mcguiness Gerry I have read your comments and you make a lot of sense in what you say,however I just bought a new smartphone it’s a Sony “go” now I press the mic icon and tell it to call one of my contacts it brings up the name and I then press ok, I then start to drive with both hands on steering wheel and I can talk away no Bluetooth or phone cradle so where does a Garda go with that ? Btw I never drive and hold a phone at the same time and neither should anyone else including the emergency services technology has taken care of that.

• @ Grainne, I agree, but the debate is on it as a possible way to furthur look at causes for an accident, not as the primary piece of evidence. Types of phone, other equipment for the phone in the car etc, etc would come into play. Its use as part of a full investigation would be great, and if a witness gives evidence that they saw them on the phone it is a method of backing up that assertion by being able to access the phone records. As another way of putting together the puzzle it should happen. All the people screaming about data protrction, what the hell could be so important on your phone that the gardai couldn’t see it, unless you’re breaking the law.

Add New Comment