TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Poll: Should people be helped onto the property ladder?

Do you agree with the Government’s plans to boost mortgage interest relief? Let us know…

Image: woodleywonderworks via Creative Commons/Flickr

AS PART OF Budget 2012, the Government has decided to boost mortgage interest relief for first-time buyers getting into the market next year.

Finance Minister Michael Noonan also announced changes to mortgage interest relief offered to existing homeowners.

However, some have expressed reservations about the scheme. Economist Ronan Lyons told TheJournal.ie that it could risk causing further problems within the country’s banking system by making the cost of borrowing “incredibly cheap” when the root problem was not the cost of credit – but the lack of it.

And, while the move will be a bonus for struggling homeowners and an incentive for first-time buyers alike, Noonan has also warned that all mortgage interest relief will be phased out by 2018.

Today we’d like to know – do you think it’s a wise move to encourage new buyers onto the Irish property ladder?

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (82 Comments)

• It’s more like the property pogo stick than ladder.

• Ah here let’s not fall uni this trap again! As a homeowner myself who bought during the boom can we stop with this pressure that we all need to be on the ladder! Why can’t we be like the continentals happily renting our entire lives????

• As a person that was thinking of buying a house next year this has made me nervous. Why? because this will keep proces artificially high has people that were waiting for the market to bottom out will now run out and buy. Whats to say if i buy a house next year and get the interest relief , that the year after the market won;t keep in it’s decline for a few more years.

I don;t see how this is a good idea. Short term. Maybe, but it seems very short sighted to me.

• I’d say if you can find a house that looks like it’s a fair price, and you can get the owner to knock another 20% off the price, you might want to consider buying. Otherwise I wouldn’t bother for a few years.

• If you want to be Stressed for the next 30 years buy a house. Its a seesaw
    not a ladder.

• Is this another kakhanded attempt by government to artificially inflate the property market? We know what happened last time gov. facilitated a false property boom. It appears this administration does not, or does not want to, acknowledge the mistakes that nurtured this economic crisis. In the last 5/6 years attempts by gov. to seemingly aid the mortgagees of this country has repeatedly profited banks and developers! To anyone considering buying as a result of this incentive I would advise to tread very carefully! I’ve a feeling this incentive will lead to another round of negative equity holders……….. Let the market find it’s own base.

• 3 more austere budgets on the way,euro in crisis,property taxes on the.Rents have a floor under them only because of rent relief.Veiwed a house in 08 price 280,000 same house now negiotable at 170,000 will pass on the details location etc to anyone that wants but the price is still high at that.What gives you the insight William that prices have bottomed out because i don’t see the evidence.

• We should have learned by now that the property ladder is part of a game of snakes and ladders. Any assistance or incentives to enter a market, any kind of market, will lead to a distortion. Assistance provided by taxayers is grossly unfair. Why should a low waged tenant susidise someone elses capital purchase?

The housing market should be driven by affordability alone and it will then find it’s natural level. The same can be said for rent tax credits. It falsely enhances affordability and thus drives up rents.

Phase out all mortgage and rent susidies and let property find it’s natural level. The pain has and is being sufferred, lets make sure we get the gain.

• Peter, “low waged tenants” pay so little tax that it’s ludicrous to suggest they’re subsidising anything. The people carrying the weight of the financial melt-down and the austerity process are middle income earners, not the low waged.

• damian 08/12/11 #

Using the term “ladder” in the first place was a problem. Makes people think that if they don’t buy they are left behind….

• Whats the worst that could happen?

• Well we need to be careful, otherwise we could end up with a financial collapse, and end up having to bail out the banks. That would be terrible

• I have thought about this for awhile. Why should I pay off someone else’s mortgage by renting ? i have seen plenty of houses and apartments that you can mortgage for as little as €350 a month in Dublin over 35 years. If you can afford to pay more a month knock that down to 25 years. i work to hard to see my money just going in to someone elses bank account and not seeing anything for it.

Renting would be an option if the prices fell by 30-40 %

• Reg 08/12/11 #

Daniel – a large part of a mortgage is rent. The banks just call it interest!

• Ah yes, the “dead money” argument.
      Though given how well most people on the ladder right now have been treated by it, “dead money” should stop referring to rent and start referring to negative equity….

• €450,000 – about the average asking price of a house in South Dublin in 2008
      €280,000 – about the average asking price of a house in South Dublin today
      Difference = €170,000

€28,800 – The amount of rent I’ve paid in that same 4 year period.

Dead Money? I just saved nearly €150,000 (not including the interest) by not buying.

• Well Daniel. S’pose you get a roof over yer head…

• Anyone that is considering buying a home for themselves should house prices have not bottomed out despite what so called experts say.They are bias and have a vested interest as does the Government.Also the future of the Euro is not secure and of it collapses house prices will suffer as an indirect result.If i was in the market again i would wait at least a year.Keep updating your info with your broker or bank in your have an offer of a mortgage but for your own sakes don’t be foolish to believe house prices how now levelled out.Look at the pedigree of whom is saying this and what were they saying 7 years ago.The old expression applies more than ever “Buyer Beware”.

• Norman, you are correct. “Don’t catch a falling knife”. It’s a far better strategy to wait until they start going up.

• Lamb 08/12/11 #

House prices are still falling and will continue to fall this is not helped by the budget. The mortgage relief will just help people get into negative equity. The benefit of owning your own home will soon dissappear a)when mortgage relief is pulled in a few years b)further austerity measures are taken in future budgets c)if the Euro collapses. All these factors ensure that if you take a mortgage out now you will be under serious financial strain in a few years. The extra mortgage relief you get this year is 5k per year, if you wait for two years a 200k house will be a further 35k cheaper, thats 7 times the benefit.

• Nowt wrong with renting!

• Its not throwing away money on rent if it costs you several hundred thousand less to buy a house after a few years….

• Property incentives have arguably stifled the economy historically by channelling funds into bricks and mortar rather than industrial investment. The conservatism of the banks was grounded in the safety of property investment. And we all know where that lead.

• I can’t believe 49% of people voted yes. Helping / pressuring people onto the property ladder is what got us into this mess!!

• Why is there such a set in this country against renting? Saying paying rent is like throwing away money I’d like saying putting petrol in your car is like throwing away money, it’s not…its a necessity!! If more people rented rather than bought during the boom there wouldn’t be so many in trouble now, this Irish tradition of “I must get on the property ladder has people blinded”.
    Now the government are trying to inflate the market again by introducing this boost to mortgage interest relief for just 1 year to get people panic buying again when the sensible thing would be to let the market hit its natural low over the next few years then start all over again.

• Barry O’Neill is spot on there, all this will do is keep prices artificially high – once the 2013 plug is put in, the problem will reappear, and then (if my calcs are right) the six billion guaranteed in mortgages – accounting for anything between 12-24,000 house, will be in another round of diminishing value. It is also handy that the mortgage relief ends ends in year 1-2 of the next (specified) government, which is just pushing the problem out.
    The market needs to find its natural level or floor. Speculators will be attracted to this year of buying, and not necessarily those needing homes. It will be again (and no fault of theirs) an older generation who can afford to buy will buy, with investment in mind! This will also keep rents artificially high too, and at present they are trying to find a way on saving on rent relief, well one way is diminishing values means it is unacceptable to charge high rents – if rents drop less would be paid out.

Oh and another thing with all the scares regarding Balmayne, Priory hall, half empty estates, crumbling buildings etc – are many people going to want to buy celtic tiger built homes???? I can only see this helping property agents – who like leading financiers have a lot to answer for!

• Noonan hopes to get ye all hooked up now before he brings in the Jumbo property tax next year just like our comrades in the UK/US.

• one semi-related question – why would you answer a poll with “I don’t know?” Why not just simply abstain because, well, you don’t know??

• Should people be helped onto the property ladder?
    is a completely different question to
    Do you think it’s a wise move to encourage new buyers onto the Irish property ladder?

What’s actually being asked here?

• The only people who will benefit from this are the property speculators.they’ll buy cheap wit cheap money and then sit and wait till prices go up and sell off at a profit while ordinary working people will be told no by banks when lookin for a mortgage.and am I right in saying that the government will phase this relief out in two stages in the next 3 to 5 years anyway making it harder to get a mortgage forcing us to rent form the speculators at crazy rates and WHEN it goes bust again we’ll be forced to pick up the tab yet again.the problem is the money system itself and until that’s addressed we’ll only go from bust to boom again and again and again.

• Irish examiner ’09 “EU survey provides further proof of our attachment to property with over three-quarters of Irish householders owning their own home compared with just 46% in Germany.

Read more: http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/snojauidau/rss2/#ixzz1fwsvJXRQ”

I wonder where does our obsession with owning our properties come from?

• To not have to pay rent when you retire and to have a large asset to pass to your children when you drop, it makes you more financially secure, but only if it’s your home

• A question first, was it always like that ? I mean, do Irish people were always buying rather than renting houses even before the economic boom ? I’m asking this because I have the feeling that it is the government and banks that put the whole “get on the ladder” thing in peoples head… Before coming to Ireland I never thought I would be buying a property before my thirties, in my french mind I was going to buy a plot of land and built a house like a lot of French do. And I was looking at Irish people buying and buying, and houses being built everywhere ( I came in 2002). All I could hear on TV was : You have to buy, prices will go up, buy now and you will sell in 2 years and make a profit and buy a bigger house etc etc. Even if I was saying to people that the property market was going to crash as it had to, the answer was: “No, it’s not going to crash, prices will always go up”, because that’s what they were told. And for some bizarre reason, I found myself buying as well, except I did it in 2006 :-(
      It was like I was brainwashed. I should have listened to my family who thought I was nuts to buy something for 250000 euros over 35 years… Because I was !

• Irish people always bought there own home, not 2nd and 3rd homes and the price was always indexed to 3.5 times your wage. it was never a ladder until the government, developers and banks colluded to make huge profits and huge tax collections on the transfer of property. House prices do always rise but it was supposed to be in line with inflation and wages, not through non regulation of lending practices and price fixing

• Thanks Gavin for the explanation ;-)

• Property ladder my arse, it’s home buying that the Irish people are interested in, you buy a house rather than rent so that in your retirement you pay neither rent nor mortgage, it’s an investment in your pensionable income; not some stocks and shares, buy low sell high madness.
    On the interest relief, the market is bottoming out, this year or next, and the interest relief will only exist for anyone buying in the next 12 months. It’s an attempt to show the floor, not put in an artificial one. The average 3 bed house should cost 3.5 times the average industrial wage plus a deposit( the old 2.5 of yours + 1 of hers plus a 10% deposit mortgage), which still is 38k, so around the 150k mark, which although not advertised at these prices is what they are selling for.

• All Government intervention into the property market should end – that includes tax relief and incentives for both personal and commercial buyers. We need a natural property market and it hasn’t found its bottom.

What we also see is new legislation for the rental market that will give tenants security of tenure for long term leases. A fair system whether your a tenant or landlord. Right now you can have a long term rental but the landlord can give you a months notice claiming that a family member needs the property!

It’s also the government needs to do better and rid us of this upward rent review clause in the commercial sector.

• Any ‘help’ given out by government has to be taken from you, me and all our brothers and sisters. I think it would be better if we were allowed to keep our own money, and take responsibility for how we spend it.

• First time in my life I ever voted “don’t know”. Like more mortgage relief for those already on a mortgage but don’t want anymore getting sucked in on the con…

• I’ve been renting for four years, that’s 24,000 paid in rent to date. I saw a house for auction in Donegal 2 weeks ago for 55,000……

• That 4 bed house sold at auction for 82k if we’re thinking of the same one. Probably was valued at about 200k at the height. Count yourself lucky that you’ve been renting for the last four years and didn’t buy!

• Aoife, you don’t give us enough info to properly reply but have you calculated in that period what interest you would have paid if you had bought a similar house in the area you rent? Then there is the need to dave the deposit and the house insurance, stamp duty, estate agent & solicitor fees, repairs, etc

• During the boom Clowen and co’s answer to over priced houses was “that we musnt interfere in the market” Well in that case the same must apply on the way down. Eliminate all government incentives to buy and we’ll soon see what houses are really worth.

4 more years of this austerity shite.. unemployement and negative growth.. THEYRE GOING TO KEEP FALLING!

• The only property ladder I have the opportunity to get on is the one outside the house I rent… I need to change a light bulb!

• Waffler 08/12/11 #

never understood the castle mentality here and in the uk where people have to own their own house. in the rest of europe everyone rents

• I’ve heard this countless times with no evidence to back it up. They mostly buy in Europe too.

• @ Micheàl: I cannot speak for all of Europe but in Germany (where I am originally from) home ownership is at around 41-46% (and I once read that in Berlin home ownership stands at only 15%). Anecdotal evidence from natives of other European countries also suggests that a large proportion of people in other European countries are very happy to rent. Ireland with approx. 75% home ownership certainly tops the stats in comparison to other European countries.

Personally I can understand why most Irish prefer to buy as I feel you can’t make rental properties in Ireland your home. In Germany renting a property is very different from Ireland. First of all you rent for a very long time, some people live in the same rental property for most of their lives. Second, tenants in Germany have a lot more rights than tenants in Ireland. Third, when you rent in Germany you can make it your home. You usually rent unfurnished and you are free to furnish and decorate whichever way you want to. I hated renting in Ireland (hence I bought a house a few years ago) because I never felt ‘at home’. It’s ridiculous having to ask a landlord if you can put a nail in the wall to hang a picture (and usually being told that you can’t), it’s annoying to chase your landlord if something breaks and you need them to get someone to you to fix it (especially if it things like a wash machine, shower, heating). Unfortunately most landlords I have heard of, and from my own experience, are very slow in getting issues sorted.
      Overall I think that the majority of Irish people will continue to buy their own homes unless the way you rent here changes dramatically.

• It’s people on the ladder that need help!

• People already on the property ladder need to be helped

• I’m on the property ladder (bought in 2005) and yes my house is worth significantly less and yes I have put in a lot of money into it that I will never see again, even if I do manage to sell it. This is dead money – renting would have saved me thousands. However, I don’t see why the taxpayer, those with property and those without, should be subsidising me in my poor decision to buy close to the height. Many of us bought property during the boom but we all knew that this had to be repaid, we all knew that the value of property could change, it was spelled out to us getting the mortgage (granted, many things such as employment levels have changed) we were all adults and we knew what was going on
    Leave the property market alone, let it find it’s natural low then let it recover at a natural pace. Yes I’ll be down many many thousands, but that’s something I have to deal with just like others buying at that time like me, they were overpriced anyway.
    As for the term “property ladder” – a ladder with one rung, not many people taking a step up these days.

• Would hate to be stuck with a mortgage, unless you’ve 100% or close to it job security then you could end up in a very tricky situation. Stuck with a huge mortgage and nowhere to go. At least with renting you can get out of it if you really need to. I would love to see longer term lettings come in, like in other countries where you can rent a house longer than a year. The problem for many families in Ireland with renting is that you want somewhere you can call home, you rent a lovely house beside some great schools where you want your kids to grow up in the area and then along comes the landlord a year or two later and he tells you he will no longer be leasing the property once your current lease expires. BAM..no properties for rent in the area and you have to up route the whole family again.

• As a proud mortgage òwner…. There is no such thing as a property ladder … I bought my house in 1993 I love it , I am happy enough in it , it is home. As for being on the ‘property ladder’! No I am on the bottom rung… I remortgaged twice to get work carried out and I am fortunate that I am not in negative equity . I would always have said to any one that they should buy their own and be secure ha ha ! Not any more . Rent is the way to go til things improve :)

• If you have the means to buy a house and don’t foresee yourself needing to move or emigrate buying might not be a bad idea next year. Negative equity is only an issue if you need to sell. Its all about a persons own unique circumstances. This is never a right or wrong issue. Do what’s best for you.

• And have us pay their negative equity? Not a hope. But if we were to look to what we’ve inherited from Nama then exciting possibilities emerge in response not limited to first time buyers. Nama is ours, we either use it, or lose it.

• Why do people feel the need to own a house? Why should I pay for them?

• I’d consider it part of the economic recovery to enable people to actually invest in a future here. Renting means you are just throwing money away with nothing to show for it. If more people were able to buy there would be less plane loads of young Irish people buggering off to Australia or New Zealand.

• I’m one of those people who has been “throwing money away” on rent for 5 years because I refused to “throw money away” on an overpriced and poorly-insulated house. I’d love to build a proper house but, of course, no bank will lend money these days.

• As opposed to what. Having paid 3/4/5 times over the current market price for a house. What do you have to show for it except a bill for something that is 1/5th of the value that has been paid

The whole ‘Rent is Dead Money’ nonsense is partially what got us into this mess in the first place

• As one of those young people who has considered buggering off to the other side of the world and knowing many who did take the leap, the ability to buy my own house is the furthest thing from my mind. I have lived in other European countries where renting is the norm. The Irish obsession with owning property is a leftover from a past life.

• It’s the ‘renting =throwing money away’ attitude that’s has absolutely destroyed our country

• It’s amazing that you have been able to keep that belief intact over the last few years.

• D Griff 08/12/11 #

A healthy economy needs a healthy banking system and functional property market – we have neither – and we won’t for the next decade. More austerity on the way – and a restructure/default inevitable in the next 5 years – we may have a period where- houses trade exclusively for cash- ( we are nearly there already) I predict house/appt prices will trade for 50% less than even current prices in the next few years

• anyone who bought or will buy property want mortgage interest relief. those who didn’t don’t want other people benefiting from it. Rent a manger and put a dog in it.

• totally agree @ silent. It depends what side of this issue you are on! Personally I believe property prices will rise – soon and then I will be one happy bunny.

• Prices in Australia have started to reverse. Now there’s a place worth buying a house in.

Add New Comment