TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Poll: Should taxis be allowed to display signs of ‘Irishness’?

Following the widespread reaction to TheJournal.ie’s exclusive investigation into green lights carried on top of some Dublin taxis, the Transport Minister has said that any sign to indicate that a driver is Irish is ‘inherently racist’.

Image: Image © TheJournal.ie

THE AIRWAVES AND other press are alight today with reaction to TheJournal.ie‘s exclusive investigation yesterday into the increasing number of Dublin taxis carrying green lights.

Reporter Sineád O’Carroll’s investigation revealed that while some taxi drivers, and a taxi driver union, claimed the lights were simply an additional way to tell if a taxi was available for hire, several drivers told TheJournal.ie that the lights were to indicate to customers and other drivers when a taxi was being driven by an Irish national.

This morning, Transport Minister Leo Varadkar said that any signs on Irish taxis – be it a light, or sticker – which are intended to indicate that a driver is Irish are “inherently racist” and “inherently xenophobic” and should be removed.

What do you think? Do you think taxis should be allowed to display a sign that it is being driven by an Irish national?

Poll Results:

EXCLUSIVE: Are some Dublin taxi drivers using covert signal of ‘Irishness’?

Read next:

Comments (180 Comments)

• If taxi drivers were properly vetted we wouldn’t have this problem.

• They are vetted but unfortunately the rules of obtaining a psv are only changing now regarding Irish citizens & regarding Non Irish citizens they are only Garda vetted from the date of entry with no country of origin police check.

• What the Irish taxi industry needs isn’t a sign of “owym noh wan a dem blackie c***s”, it’s an equivalent test to London’s “The Knowledge”. I don’t think it should be mandatory, but if you had a “knowledge” sign that could be only displayed by passing the test (with your grade on the sign) then that’d sort out the good & the bad cabbies

• If it’s not racist, then presumably there’ll be no problem when non-Irish drivers put green lights on their cars too?

• I don’t think its racist, but it is facilitating racists. That said, if you have a problem with it just don’t get into a taxi with the light on.

• “facilitating racists”, how is it? The reality is that many people myself included would rather look after our own Irish people than foreign nationals who are here working and why is that so bad. There is no question that there are racists in Ireland as there are in many countries but if it is an issue for someone they will just see the colour of the taxi driver or listen to his accent and refuse to get in.

• I think you may have proven my point there John.

• Ah xenophobia, racism’s more well-to-do cousin.

• I do find it staggering how some people think.

We have Graranteed Irish, we are proud to support our Irish football team so why are we not supporting Irish workers over others?

• John Gormley – you cannot see the wood for the trees – how is it any different to support an Irish driver as to someone who is not – do they spend their money in any different way ? in different petrol stations ? pay different rents or mortgages ? or in different pubs ? – this happened against the Irish for decades in Britain and America – NO IRISH NEED APPLY – should we adopt that doctrine ? have we learned nothing ?

• i seen a very dark skinned taxi driver with a flag on his dash. dont know what it was, probably nigerian. so he is diplaying signs of nigeria-ness? of course foriegnors or non nationals or whatever are NEVER ”racist” are they?,

• The thing is, the lights become worthless as soon as all the non Irish drivers buy them for their own cabs.

• I just want to get into a taxi that will get me to my destination safely without me having to give directions, and one in which I don’t have to listen to the driver ranting about the state of the economy. I don’t think that’s too much to ask when I pay heavily for a service in Dublin.

• I would happily be driven home by a zebra if it had a licence and knew the destination without me having to direct every 10mins. Race isn’t an issue, a weak bladder is.

• So if this isn’t racist obviously the “No Irish need apply” advertisements weren’t racist….

• I wonder will they forget to turn on their green light like they forget to turn off their roof sign light when there are passengers aboard.

• I agree with the Irish taxi drivers using a signal to say so..if I’m getting a taxi I want the driver to be fluent in the lingo and have a great knowledge of the area not asking directions when the meters running..the amount of non nationals getting taxi licences and sharing it between a few others..iv even seen them leave their county’s and going to another looking for business taking away from local firms

• I don’t care what nationality or ethnic origin they are once I don’t have to engage in banal conversations about the government/bailout/immigration/holiday location etc.

• Scarr 15/05/12 #

I voted yes because being Irish isn’t just for us white people. There are black and Asian Irish too and if a little light on top of the cab means I won’t be directing the driver all the way then I’m for that.

• Exactly. If you hold an Irish passport it doesn’t matter what colour your skin is. Irish citizens come in all shapes and shades, to call signs of Irishness racist insults them because it makes the assumption that only white people can be Irish.

• Agreed… It just says that the driver was born in the area and can talk about the local issues(the match, history of the area…) on the way home.

This is a different service from someone who was born abroad and would have a different conversation on the way home. You could get into a great chat about civil war politics in central Africa. None less interesting but different.

Different types of service so I would agree to people differentiating…

There is also the point, that the consumer chooses there cab to go home. If people want a Irish born cabbie and the green light makes it easier then so be it.

But maybe I am naive, I think there is black Irishmen so I don’t see the racism.

• Let me get this straight- you would prefer an Irish taxi driver because foreign nationals are unable to talk about football or the weather?

• its not even about holding an irish passport. knowing your way around should be about the only thing that matters. where do 2we draw the line though. if an irish taxi driver had an irish flag on his car for a football match would that be then classed as racist?

• Question… What’s stopping a non Irish national from putting a green light on their car?

• That’s a lie. We all know the light means the driver isn’t Asian or black. The taxi might as well have a sign saying “no chinks or wogs in this car”.

Given how famously aggressive, misogynistic, racist and argumentative middle aged male Irish taxi drivers are, give me a nice quiet Asian man with a Tom Tom anyway of the week.

• I voted Yes – how else would I be able to avoid the racist taxi drivers

• Dec Rowe 15/05/12 #

Those lights are on taxis years! All the old taxis use them because the light in the sign sometimes doesn’t do the trick so the bright green light is a back up. They’re probably being used for other reasons nowadays

• The Pakistani Flag has lots of Green in It, so has the Algerian and Nigerian flags. Solution to the problem, let them and all other nationalities put up the green lights too. Then we could possibly use them for the purpose they’re originally intended , as on the continent, to indicate that the taxi is available for hire. Only in Ireland can a taxi with a green light indicate a closed mind.

• there has been a ” sign of irishness ” on taxi roof signs this long time. and its the spelling tascai instead of taxi. literally, how is a bulb more irish than that now ???

• tom tom GPS? id laugh if satellite communications went down

• If the taxi is in Ireland, then it’s good enough for me, I don’t care who’s driving it – being in Ireland proves its Irishness as far as I’m concerned.

• I had a recent encounter on Sussex Street in Dublin, as i was approaching the first cab to get in; The 2nd started to roar at me to get in, i asked him why… “because that guys as black as the ace of spades” came the reply. I was appaled and wrote to the taxi regulator to complain…. they have done nothing about it. Just really upsets me that my children will encounter such acts of racism.

• Id better respray my John Deere.
    People will be confused if they see a Polish guy in a green tractor.

• I think there should be a sign that says they know the city and the quickest way to get from A to B rather than whether they’e Irish or not. I got a taxi from an African and he hadn’t a clue where he was going – went to Rathmines from Phibsborough via O’Connell bridge, likewise I got an Irish guy in Rathmines who didn’t know where Harcourt Street was. If a driver wants to put a green light on their car then so be it, the problem is that it will be pointless as the ‘foreigners’ that actually scam will cop on quickly and follow suit, therefore negating the practice in the first place!

• I’m an Irish citizen and I’m not exactly white…I voted no as I think it’s unfair to judge. There are good and bad Irish and non-Irish taxi drivers. I have been ripped off by both and if I’m to be honest Irish taxi drivers rip me off more as to look at me they think I’m foreign, yet correct them on directions and I notice the meter jump up two quid…I think people should be happy they at least non-nationals are out their working for their money.

• [*]It’s not racism at all, it’s just keeping the blacks from stealing all our money. We need to stand together, and look out for one another – and the blacks can do the same (Obama).

[*]Apartheid? We need it now! I don’t want the blacks mixing with my nice little white Irish kids.

[*] Slavery was morally just – it kept the blacks off the streets, selling drugs and committing other crimes.

That green light could be harmless, or it could be the start to the type of thinking I illustrated above. Racism is a natural thought process based on false dichotomy: us vs them. Those who supported racism (even slavery) in the past weren’t necessarily evil, ignorant or otherwise – they simply subscribed to this dichotomy (which was widespread) and took it to its logical conclusion.

I can’t emphasise enough how dangerous this is. So no, Taxi drivers shouldn’t be allowed to do this. It’s morally and ethically repugnant.

• I have travelled home many times in a taxi and I had to direct the taxi driver all the way from the city centre….it made me feel anxious especially when the driver didn’t understand much of what I was saying. The thing is I don’t care what colour or race you are as long as I feel safe and comfortable being in a car with someone I do not Know.

• I do not care about the nationality of the driver. What does matter is when a taxi driver has to ask you for directions. No taxi driver should be licensed without knowing how to get around the city. Drivers from other countries start at a disadvantage and have more to learn, but that is tough – I have great admiration for the many who are polite and are good at the job. Like Lisa, I just want to feel safe on my way home – a driver who is lost, or has poor English, does not make you feel very safe. That is not racist, to want good service.

• Get a life….

• Emmie 15/05/12 #

Couldn’t care less about the little green light as long as I get home safe and for a decent price!

• Aren’t green lights reserved for emergency doctor vehicles?

• Wow some of the comments amaze me. If that is the case we should only go to the Tesco checkout with the Irish girl and not the pleasant Polish girl? Only ask the Irish barman for a beer even If his Spanish colleague asks you twice! Join the queue in McDonalds where the green light shows the Irish
    Student is serving! The list goes on. Some of you here forget that we have faced similar situations in the past and we all would be up in arms if the Sydney taxi company promoted an Aussie only … Irish out policy.

• so are you saying its a crime to be irish at this stage in this country called ireland…
      i have complained before in aussie land… and you know what i was told….. “your in Australia now mate”… get my point!

• Have “non-Irish” not earned the right to earn a living as a taxi driver? There are plenty of Irish people around the world trying to do the same whether they’re focussing on bar tending, accounting, building, or indeed driving a taxi.

This is not a sign of “Irishness”, it is a sign of a racist taxi driver.

• If somebody gets overcharged, brought the wrong route, or have any other complaint against a taxi driver, please do the following:
    1. Ask for a receipt
    2. If he/ she won’t give a receipt, note their SPSV drivers licence number. It should be displayed on their ID.
    3. If you can’t see any ID or it is not clearly visible, note the roof sign number and car reg.

When you have all or some of these details. Contact the Taxi Regulator, which is now under the control of the NTA, and lodge a complaint.

Don’t go on social media sites to bitch and moan about it! Nothing will be done about it. Don’t rehash other stories either – “a friend of mine got charged x amount by this driver”, etc!!

• ronmart 15/05/12 #

Cowboy taxi drivers can be black , white, irish and non Irish. End of..

• So if green lights are okay, presumably other colours are as well – I mean, if we can be proud we’re Irish, we can hardly blame someone else from being proud of what they are, right?
    So does anyone mind if I put a flashing blue light on top of my car? I’m not a taxi driver, I’m just ever so proud that I’m driving in Dublin, and so I have a flashing Dublin Blue light.
    Honest.
    Not trying to get people to get out of my lane at all.

• I was under the impression that the green light showed it was available to hire not that it was Irish Driver . i have seen some taxi’s with a green white orange Flag on the roof sign indicates to me it is an Irish driver. !

• I suspect I’d get into any available taxi without noticing anything, other than its availability, if I were stuck in lashing rain or had a plane to catch. Of course, if there were ‘little green men’ in it, that would be another matter altogether!! And that is not meant to be racist, honest!!

• Remember your ” guaranteed Irish” copy books when you were in school??? Not offensive then was it???

• Rubbish argument. Protecting jobs in Ireland is not the same as only Irish need apply. Get a grip!

• Reada, by taking only an Irish taxi, you are actually protecting Irish jobs, careful you don’t hit your head again when you fall off that high horse.

• Darren that’s a ridiculous comparison. A foreign born taxi driver working in Dublin is still earning his living here. His work is not imported, unlike buying copy books printed abroad and sold here. One is about keeping money in the local economy and the other is just racism.

• How come you think you’re protecting Irish jobs Darren? Do the immigrant taxi drivers drive on foreign roads? Do they pay taxes to a foreign state?

And I don’t live on a high horse. My feet are on the ground. But I refuse to fall for racist feeling during a time of crises. I know who my enemy is. It’s big business and big money – not an immigrant trying to do the best for his/her family, like so many Irish have been forced to do by emigrating.

• Darren
      ”The Guaranteed Irish Brand will only be seen on products where 50% or more of the value of the product was added in Ireland.”
      So if we take the manufacture of the actual taxi out of the equation it would be safe to assume that a taxi driver with one non Irish parent who was conceived within the state can qualify to carry the ”guaranteed Irish” sticker!

• In the last 23 months in Galway, 6 taxi drivers appeared in court for offences ranging from parking violation, theft, fraud, falsifying documents, assault, sexual assault and attempted rape. The parking violation was issued to an Irish born taxi driver, the other offences were for foreign born ‘Irish’ taxi drivers.

• Well I guess that settles it then Darren.

Ever catch a ride with this guy?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gerry_Hutch

• Gosh sorry! I meant to say a taxi driver of *non Irish parents* who was conceived within the state…!

• @cliff, has the hutch being convicted of any wrongdoing as a taxi or are you still incarcerating him in a morale prison for crimes committed and time already served?

• You raise a very interesting point there Darren.
      Looking at this guaranteed Irish thing a bit further you could say that if two foreigners on their holliers are having a bonk in Ireland (adding the value, so to speak!) and subsequently have twins, one of them (50% of that added in the state) could be a fully fledged ”guaranteed Irish” taxi driver even if he/she happened to be born in Malawi!

• Hahaha, i’ll go with “morale prison” whatever the hell that is.

• ”The Guaranteed Irish Brand will only be seen on products where 50% or more of the value of the product was added in Ireland.”

That rules out the car from qualifying then!

• Jesus H Christ, the majority of people think this is ok?! Anybody remember “No dogs, no blacks, no IRISH”? Clearly not.
    The casual racism in this country is as ever as appalling as it is (un)surprising. I would certainly make a point of not getting in a taxi that displayed such a signal. At least it would allow my to avoid the usual dimwitted racist diatribe many of them feel the need to unburden themselves with as soon as you get in.

• I don’t know how many of those who remember the ‘No Irish Need Apply’ etc. days are actually around to take part in this argument/debate? It’s my guess most weren’t even born so have not experienced that level of racism and, having grown up in London, I can tell you signs like the above were only one strand of discrimination. Ireland, apart from countless invasions in ancient and more recent times, has not been a country that was chosen to be emigrated to; it was one we emigrated from, and therefore became all the more precious to the emigres. Whether an immigrant or emigrant, there’s huge adjustment involved, and it all takes time, tolerance and understanding.

• Great idea, now I can avoid having my iq lowered dramatically by the gibberish I have to listen to whenever I need a taxi. Pick one without a green light and chances are they don’t speaks the English too good, and therefore won’t bother talking at all!

• I’m delighted if all the racist cabbies have handy identifying green lights. I’ll avoid them like the plague.

• Maybe, instead of a green light, you should ask non nationals to put a yellow star on their taxi? Or a red triangle? easy peasy….. now where have I heard something similar before….?

• I would refuse to get into a taxi with a green light because I would refuse to get into a taxi with a racist and I’m as proud to be Irish as you can get. I love my country. But that does and should not mean that I don’t love other nationalities as well.

• If it happened on Belfast or Derry would it be racist?

• Gav 15/05/12 #

I’d rather walk home then get in a cab with a little green light. And Darren for Christs sake, getting into an immigrant’s taxi in Ireland IS buying Irish. If you’re in doubt, just think of what country you’re in when you sit in the cab. I’m genuinely disturbed that more people haven’t voted against this in the poll

• i voted yes but honestly i had to really think about it,, it dosent bother me either way but only voted yes to the horror stories i’ve heard in the last few months,, i certainly would prefer to get into a taxi when the know the quickest route, i’m sure non nationals know these route’s too

• Has anyone here ever seen a scatter at a Taxi rank when the police arrive?. I have and it’s mostly non nationals scattering when the police arrive because of welfare fraud, and breaking taxi regulations. I think at the end of the day it’s my money and I will always try pick a Irish driver.

• It’s so depressing that the majority of people voting in this poll think this behavior is okay.

• A blatant act of racism can not be right.

• I don’t care where someone is from, I care if they can get me somewhere as quickly as possible for as cheap as possible.If the lights are being fitted to all cars , I’ve no problem, but if they’re being fitted to distinguish “Irishness” then there is a problem.

However, some of the comments here are ridiculous, a black taxi driver can be an Irish citizen too you know, that we “only want to support our countrymen” is disgraceful. I’m sorry, citing political correctness is how racists, bigots and the general ignorant of our society justify their opinions.

Furthermore, not only are you a citizen of Ireland, you are a citizen of the EU, and to have a light indicating the driver is Irish contravenes everything the EU is about. Yes, by all means “buy Irish”, but this cannot be compared to that. It doesn’t matter what nationality the person driving your taxi is- it is an IRISH taxi. The money earned is being spent here- the nationality of the driver is actually irrelevant so that cannot be used to excuse discrimination either.Oh and the ” I have non-Irish friends” excuse doesn’t wash with me either. Racism is racism.

• i have an IRISH TRICOLOUR flying outside my house as a display of my irishness….! do you mean to tell me im a racist or bigot because i don’t have a european flag and the flags of all the other nationalities that live in ireland flying aswel…. are we “irish” people to remove all symbols of our nationality in this country for fear that we may offend someone that isnt irish..!! political correctness gone completely mad if you ask me…..the name of the club is called Ireland….why do we even have the likes of buy irish etc on food in shops etc….

• Nydon 15/05/12 #

There appears to be a large number of taxi drivers who : dont know their way around, can’t speak English adequately, are of dubious backgrounds, can’t be trusted. If that is true and the green kight is just an unofficial symbol of quality assurance then the regulator needs to do its job and put in place proper checks and exams and make the green light available to those fit to display it – regardless of nationality. The emergence of the green light and willingness to look for it are a result of poor regulation it seems.

• Why don’t they all put a green light on their cars! Problem solved!

• No. Simply racist and can only end up with more late night scenes of racism at taxi ranks.

• How come companies like Centra and Supervalu constantly advertise the fact that they’re 100% Irish owned and operated yet when taxi drivers do it it’s racist?

• Gav 15/05/12 #

You’re missing the point Michael. All taxis services that are purchased as 100% Irish, regardless of where the driver hails from. They’re not paying taxes gained from driving in another country

• The difference is to the economy. Buying Irish helps secure jobs within Ireland and ensures the state take a cut iof the tax. Taking a taxi, driven by any taxi driver does the same. I voted yes though, it’s not racist, not racist at all, it’s a statement of fact and having a little green light in no way discriminates against foreign born drivers. Personally not bothered where my taxi driver was born, so long as they get me quickly & safely to my destination

• I think it is a great idea to have them. The easier it is to identify these guys the easier it is to avoid them. Plus it means i will never have to uncomfortably sit as a taxi driver natters on about “foerigns” ruining this country

• Patrick, I think that if you were Phil Lynott Lynott or Paul McGrath growing up that time and seeing this you might think differently. Also from another perspective as Michael Keelan points out if we should get rubbish service from a taxi report it, don’t just complain on social media

• I personally think you should be able to put whatever you want on your own vehicle that you have paid for once it does not harm anyone..If you are insulted by it just don’t get into their cab.Simple but don’t tell them how they should use their own property.

I bet you Irish taxi men will end up wearing Irish jerseys during the busy Euro 2012 tournament :P Nothing they can do then!!

• i think this is fine, it is the customer’s choice as to what taxi they avail of, be it a company or an individual !

• A taxi driver living in the same estate as me was in trouble recently for allowing his brother to work in his taxi when he finished working, they are African (not sure which country). I think Irish drivers are angry because they couldn’t get away with doing that and it is certainly an unfair practice.

• bren 15/05/12 #

Either way, it’s illegal to display a light other than the regulation taxi sign.

If any marker were to be used, I’d jump in the camp of some here and suggest markings should be used to indicate:
    Chattiness (or lack thereof)
    Personal hygeine proficiency
    Degree of disagreeability
    Knowledge of the city/town they’re working in
    Whether they pull out across lanes without signalling (for other drivers)
    Whether they themselves tend toward racist, sexist or generally idiotic comments
    Whether they have been convicted of a serious crime involving violence

That kind of rubbish stuff that is much less sexy than racism, but might indicate how your journey in the taxi will be.

• The majority of the different ethnicity driver are naturalized Irish so what doe sit matter. plus it singles out the nationalist a***oles.

• The green light is being used to infer the local knowledge I the driver is superior to that of other drivers due the nationality of that individual. That is racist. The quality of local knowledge can only be gauged by a governing body that can regulate the quality of drivers in that area. Connecting local knowledge with nationality only is short sighted and can insight feelings of racism.

• How is that racism? If somebody is from a particular area it is generally true that they know that area better than somebody who is not a local. After 7 years out of the country, I got a cab home after a night out. The driver took the wrong way, when I corrected him he asked me how did I know as ” you aren’t from round here”.

• I’m living in the country so don’t have taxis but when I do go out in Dublin I find the non white drivers or those considered foreign to be much nicer, more accommodating and their taxis in better condition than the white Irish people’s I have been in.
    It’s only an observation I’ve made. So really if I had a choice I’d pick a “foreigner” any day.

• Neiloooo 16/05/12 #

This “issue” is a joke. Some people like irish taxi drivers because they are usually local and know the area including traffic paterns and are good for a bit of gossip and banter.
    i personally couldnt care less where my driver comes from… but i feel people are being labeled infairly whenever they do things like this

• People are encouraged to “buy Irish” when doing shopping , or to use Irish companies for insurance and whatnot, so what’s the difference from encouraging people to support Irish in one industry and another? I think it’s fine, it’s not racist, it’s simply a way of supporting Irish drivers in an economic recession. Not only that, but on numerous occasions Ive gotten taxi’s and the driver was non national, they hadn’t got a notion where they were going.It’s a persons right to choose what products they buy, or what shops they shop in, there’s no difference here.

• I drive a taxi for a very small living and I can honestly say people want to hire Irish drivers for a number of reasons , I think they feel much more comfortable knowing the driver knows where he is going without the need of gps , the conversation is more relaxed and unfortunately we all here of the foreign people driving without insurance or valid documents . Obviously not all of them but why take a chance when you can travel with a legit Irish driver who toes the line. I don’t have a green light but understand the drivers who do , it gives the customer the opportunity to make there own choice .

• Not another “there’s no work on those roads” taxi drivers are you? How many Irish taxi drivers would you say first have insurance or licence that’s driving around in their da’s or friends taxi’s? Personally, I couldn’t give a flying fcuk who’s driving the taxi or if they have a gps, I can always say “go left, go right, go straight, sorry mate youre taking the piss pull over and let me out”

• A legit Irish driver???? Ah not all of them are “legit”, I’m sorry but this is bull shit, Irish drivers are saints now are they?? Cop yerselfs on will ye. Ye paint a picture as if Irish taxi drivers have never ripped someone off or didn’t know where there going.

• I ll vote yes – why, because as customers we should be able to decide who we give bussiness too, a customer does not owe bussiness to any particular provider nor should they be obligated to provide services to bussinesses in any particular ratio – its basic economic freedom.
    More information allows customers to excercise their freedom – be it to have an Irish driver or to aviod someone they might consider a bigot. In short they should be free to represent themselves and their bussiness anyway they see fit – and we the consumer will remain free to judge them on it.

• There are a lot of very good arguements here for both sides on this.

I disagree with the use of this light because I feel the reason certain taxi drivers are using them is much more sinister than some wish to believe.

If it’s not, then at least it appears to be and that’s just as big an issue.

• The problem with racism is like you get coward racists,i for one dont mind a reasonable debate with a proper racist,if u want to be racist at least be bold enough to say yes im racist,this is my opinion and i believe in it because….i will take a neo-nazi over this uneducated bigots anyday,i am black but grew up here i have spoken to people on the phone that end up typing my name tadgh cos they thought i was irish born and bred which im not,so what is to say i dont know dublin city as much as a “local” anyone that doesnt think its casual racism needs their head checked,supporting irish products is different for supporting irish people only,so if you go to spar and a pakistani national attends to you at the counter,what economy do you think you supporting,same as getting into a taxi doesnt matter where you from you are supporting the irish economy,and lets cut the bull shit with all foreigners send there money home,so what once i pay my taxes whatever i do with the rest of my money is my business in saying that with the amount of taxes paid in ireland doubt that may taxi drivers have much to send home anyway,my parents went to college in ireland in the 50s my nan still lives in africa i can count the times they used western union,only occasional times and with a lot of irish people(young especially) living abroad im sure a lot of irish families will be using western union and back to western union surely western union pays their taxes in ireland so using them is boosting the irish economy again.And lets cut out all the fantasy stories of foreigners being given a lamborgini on arrival and a gaff in foxrock,do people really think the irish government will give all those ammendities to people who cant even vote are people really that daft???!!,i lived there all my life never got a simple penny from the government because my mom who did medicine in england under thatcher believed in thatcherism and hates having to get any handouts from governments,the problem in ireland is unlike england the media doesnt promote black folks achieving stuff in england u cant really go on and generalize because for every bad black man you have black doctors engineers sportsmen people of excellence,but if anyone wants to see non-nationals thriving and contributing to irish society go to any medical wards in ireland and see non-national doctors and nurses go to royal college of surgeon and see excelling non-national students who fork out 50odd grand to go to college hear,and if anyone wants to take me on a debate please do but dont say you not a racist admit to it and we can go from there i will respect you more,had a debate with a bnp memeber while visiting my cousins in england lately wasnt pretty but was more interesting cos he admitted hating blacks and stated his reasons i challenged him on it we ended up having a pint i doubt i changed his mind about blacks but i certainly changed his mind about me

• I think there’s a typo in the poll; where it says “Yes, I think it’s fine.”

It should read:

“Yes, but that’s because i’m kind of racist.”

• Czesc Cliff … I voted Yes and i can assure you that i am not racist. Like the posters above, i dont care what color of skin, what religeon etc the Driver of a taxi is. If they are Irish, why not let them display the fact? If i go to Poland, should i feel threatened by seeing Polish flags? Let people off to do what they want. I would imagine that the vast majority of people did not even know the meaning of these lights until the story came up here today. There is nothing stopping ANY driver putting up one of the lights (regardless of where they were born). That would be the best way to address this issue. Every driver in Dublin sticks up a little green light. Then sometime in the future, someone else things and Orange light does the trick.. Pretty soon, we will be getting picked up in Christmas tress… Let them off, Vradkar doesn’t need to get involved in this one.

• foreignors turned this into a racist issue, lookin after themselves

• well if you can show me a link of one of such cases i will applaud you you seem to come up with assumptions and hearsay oh didnt we hear all irish people acted like the people in silent man and drank in a bar somewhere in inishfree???,a lot of those doctors are doing mightily fine in hospitals all over ireland its hard to fake being a doctor you will get found out in a day dumb ass,oh heard about the irish in australia faking their building credentials see you cant make assumptions over a bad bunch now next argument please…..

• Whether we like it/admit it or not. There is a generation or Irish people that lived the majority of their lives never seeing or speaking to a non-Irish person. There is always a fear of the unfamiliar and I’m sure Taxi drivers have picked up on this. Personally I don’t have a problem with this. However I find it abhorrent that the Nanny State feels it has to intervene. Since when has it become an act of racism or shame by displaying your nationality???

• Meh, thats like putting a poster outside your shop saying “owner is Irish”, its segregation, foreigners are tax payers and have every right not to be pushed aside. Its complete racism and does nothing for the economy.

• Segregation? Oh!! Is the taxi driver announcing that he only takes Irish clients?? How is it segregation ffs? The punter can chose what ever he wants. The taxi driver is trying to find a competitive edge. That’s all. Clearly there is a demand for this. As I said earlier, I couldn’t care either way. On a cold wet night in November I’ll hop on a bloody rickshaw if it gets my drunk ass home in one piece.

• Competitive edge? so basically it’s playing on people’s tendencies, if it’s not racism itself its at least encouraging racism. This isn’t some “buy Irish” sticker on a food product you know . This is basically an attempt to cut off other local competition,(of whom pay tax and have the same entitlements) based on dirty tactics.

• You don’t wear hemp trousers by any chance??? You are right, it is playing on people’s tendencies and an attempt to out compete the competition. If I drove a taxi (which I don’t btw) and I thought that I would get extra business by having a “gimmick” rather than freezing my but off hoping for a punter, then I would, absolutely. Its Dog eat dog (no racist reference meant there!!) in the taxi game and I can’t blame them for trying. As I mentioned earlier, they are clearly reacting to customer demand. Otherwise they would not use this “tactic” as you call it.

• If you turned on the heat in the car you wouldn’t freeze your butt off.

• Oh boy. “Taxi for Mr de Cleir”

• lol, green light only one please….

But more seriously, do you honestly think its a gimick to encourage the idea that it is superior to be from one country over the other,without being able to offer any value for the reason other than playing with potential racist notions?

And no, im not some liberal hemp pants wearer, actually my comments here are usually more right wing than anything,
      Its just backwards, its neither good for culture nor the economy. Whats the difference between that and encouraging people to only go into shops where the only is Irish.

• *owner is Irish

• Adrian, I can’t/won’t answer your question as I really don’t believe that’s the issue here. “Superiority” and “racist” in the same question is a bit too heavy handed in my opinion. I do believe the taxi drivers are reacting to what their clients want and I can’t see anything wrong with that, if it helps them get business. Now, if they swung a swastika from the aerial then I would argue the racism angle, but a green light or Irish sticker…..really?

• To me they’re the same, IF green light = Im Irish , then its the same as owning a shop and putting a sign up saying “Owner is Irish”. There is no difference whatsoever. One is a little less subtle and cute than the other.

If I was a foreign driver Id definitely put up a green light, and an Irish sticker saying “Support Ireland” or something, just for the laugh, and to prove a point that they are living , working and contributing to the Irish system.

• speaking of the economy, taxi drivers not knowing their profession does nothing for tourism….

• Wow, Ireland! Time to teach your kids about the dangers of xenophobia and racism.,.

• I think Irish Taxi drivers have suffered more than any other area of business in this counrty because of deregulation. If its guaranteed Irish then so what? theres nothing to stop other nationalities doing the same to show what nationality they are.

• If your idea were to cater for all nationalities then somebody will end up getting the sh1tty end of the stick with a black light.

• Lisa. For years and years and years, pre de-regulation, we were screwed by Irish taxi drivers. Fact. In fact shortly before de-regulation, my Dad Dementia sufferer was attending a consultant somewhere in Dublin and was taken on a wild goose chase by an Irish taxi driver, you know, just to earn a few extra bob. Individuals are individuals, but some give most a bad name. Please do not forget that. As for the green light, I think it’s their right to display whatever they want to. Vradaker or however they spell it (real strong Irish name there) should shut up and stay out of it. It may also backfire on them.

• Kevin, Minister Varadkar was born and raised in Ireland. His last name has nothing to do with his Irishness.

• Be Jaysus, I’d better lose the “Kiss Me Quick I’m Irish” Tee-shirt before anyone from the PC Police catches me!!!

• I prefer to get a taxi with a non national! Gives me the cance to learn about his country and we can both moan about the things we don’t like about Ireland without any problems, because we can’t do that anywhere else. Even though what we dislike is often the same as what our irish brethren dislike, only our name prevents us from speaking out. Watch the shower of dislikes :-D

• i say yes.most irish people know where they are going and you can have a proper conversation with them.

• That’s a bit like saying our “guaranteed Irish” logo is racist. Bulls**t. We are allowed to choose where we shop, eat, drink Etc Etc. why not have the ease of choice as to who drives us home? Support Irish all the way.

• next time you are in a hospital in the emergency ward and a black doctor comes to treat you refuse him too because you want to keep ireland irish and see if u go and live in an irish paradise after u die of ignorance u tool!

• Well I hope the doctor doesn’t moonlight as a taxi driver too.

Come to think of it didn’t we have had a number of cases over the last few years where some of these so imported “doctors” had dodgy credentials and had some unorthodox practices when dealing with patients?

• Inatead of a green light why don’t the taxi drivers do what the Fox News helicopter from the Simpsons does. Go around, emblazoned with the phrase “we’re not racist, but we’re number one with racists”.

• Cliff though I think you are mostly right your self-righteousness is sickening.

• fair enough susan

• Why are there non Irish nationals driving cabs in Ireland anyway… don’t we have visa and work permit systems here?

When I visit Ireland as a tourist I want to have the Irish experience… I don’t want to have to deal with slippery Nigerians or surly Eastern Europeans as soon as I set foot outside the airport. This goes from hotels, car hire desks, hotel receptions. Part of the reason many people come to Ireland is to meet and interact with Irish people… we are losing a uniqueness.

If I want to be scammed and cheated I will go to Lagos, thank you very much.

Call me a wacist if you will… but I have traveled and experienced enough around the world to know what I am talking about.

• and let cut the crap about the english once you give a taxi driver directions they know were they are going i personally have more craic with irish drivers but wont say i will not get into a non-irish taxi man’s car,and if you so proud to be irish will there be a symbol for irish drivers that can speak the native language irish too???

• Scarr 15/05/12 #

The question posed is; do you think cabs should be allowed display signs to show the cab is being driven by an Irish national? It never mentions a persons skin colour or country of origin, merely that they are a citizen which would infer a level of knowledge of the locale. I do think it’s great though that our new Irish have so many people on here to be offended on their behalf. Very right on. Just to be clear; black people are Irish too.

• No.

I think if cabbies and the union are truly concerned about “local knowledge” and less concerned about race, as they want us to believe, they should set up an exam that tests a taxi driver’s local knowledge and give accreditation to those who pass, and allow them to advertise that fact.

• il tell you whats racist. the psv test is made harder for the irish to pass. why is racism all about the blow in. irish have to put up with it too

• Well said Tai!

• u clearly showed how much of a tool you are im not gonna call you a racist admit you are a racist i have visited many countries too not all africans are nigerians for starters you dimwit,and to drive a taxi you must have a work permit or probably naturalized so u have shown your lack of knowledge on the issue,my mum is american and when i lived there you had irish people scamming selling drugs and working illegally i wont use that as a basis of my judgment of irish people most foreigners abroad are those in desperate situations and they tend to be of the nature to be scammed but generalizing a population of 160 million plus people shows how idiotic you are

• why are you deleting my comment

• notice how they got rid of our green buses. the EU is behind it. it doesnt want countries displaying individualism or nationalism. it wants to jumble up all nationalities through forced integration. thats why theyve become overly biased about rascism to the point they are actually causing friction. the buses are now blue and yellow which is the colours of the EU flag

• the traffic lights turn blue tomorrow

• If ur racist so what? Is that a crime of the century. Would prefer to get in to a Irish cab drivers car any day!

• Errr…no it was the crime of the last century….go to Wikipedia and look up “Final Solution”

• Why end it there louise? Why not only be served by the Irish girl behind the counter. We can start a ‘Guarenteed Irish’ only isle in our local Superquinn. Put the foreign staff to one side. You can choose your preferred race. Sounds great.

At the end the day Louise (brave brave, anonymous Louise), if you’re qualified for the job, you are qualified for the job. And if you don’t like multicultural Ireland then leave. I’ll happily pay for your ‘Guarenteed Irish’ cab to the airport.

• Peter 15/05/12 #

I think it’s a freedom of speech issue

• At the end of the day the majority of people say yes its ok THATS IT end of ,respect the outcome,when we vote at the end of the month no matter what the outcome the majority if final so just respect that and stop trying too b so “P,C”

• fair play to ya one doctor and by the way he was qualified by the royal college of surgeons so they must have some serious cock-up and again he was dismissed straight away u are basically proving my point could have easily been an irish doctor so your point being?

• They took our jobs!

• Michael, Don’t want to be repetitive, but please, go and read the reploes to similar reactions as yours and you’ll find out why you are wrong!

• oops, can’t believe it! More spelling mistakes.’ replies ‘of course! ;-)

• Fiachra , your comments made me think..thank you. Taxi drivers are the same the world over. some great others crap . its a shame the taxi industry is so unregulated that people have to resort to relying on something like the green light. we should consider 2 of Ireland’s most reconizable figures arePhil Lynott and Paul McGrath. i wonder what both would think about this.

Add New Comment