TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Poll: Who would get your vote to be the next President of Ireland?

There are now five candidates looking to become the next president of Ireland. But which one gets your vote?

Image: Tony Maxwell/PA Wire/Press Association Images

WITH SATURDAY’S NOMINATION of Gay Mitchell as Fine Gael’s candidate for the presidential election later this year, the list of candidates facing the electorate is now becoming clear.

MEP Mitchell beat off fellow party hopefuls Pat Cox and Mairead McGuinness to secure his party’s nomination. He will be up against former arts and culture minister Michael D Higgins, who was selected by the Labour Party last month.

Also in the running is independent senator David Norris who has consistently led TheJournal.ie polls on the presidential race.

Norris is one of three independent candidates. Another is Seán Gallagher, the businessman and Dragons’ Den judge who claims to have the support of a number of county councils. He needs the endorsement of four councils in total or 20 members of the Oireachtas to secure a nomination.

Also lobbying for similar support is fellow independent Mary Davis, the former head of Special Olympics Ireland.

So, if you could vote today, who would you pick to be the next President of Ireland?

Poll Results:

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (121 Comments)

• If we live in a Democracy like we claim, then it has to be the choice of the people not the local councils or political parties who have their ‘own jobs for the boys’ agenda. And judging by every poll so far the people want Norris who might not even be nominated! But then again since when are the TD’s intrested in what the people want!! A Banana Republic as always!!!!

• I saw David Norris give a talk in Galway a while back. He spoke for over an hour without any notes! He struck me as immensely intelligent, passionate, amusing and humble. As far as I can see, he is by far the best person for the job!

• What strikes me about this poll and every other poll Journal.ie, RedC, the Independent, the Irish League of Credit Unions etc. show is that David Norris has a significant following and the support of a large number of Irish people. If the political powers that be cannot see that he should be on the ballot paper then they are either are guilty at the very least of being out of touch with the people they represent or at the very worst deliberately blocking the will of the Irish people. We have seen over the weekend how much the Irish people hate being lied to by their leader, hate the deliberate manipulation of the political system to suit their own ends – If politicians and county councils don’t trust the Irish people to make the right choice then they shouldn’t be in their roles. No one is asking any politician to support David Norris for the Presidency but to have the insight and will to allow him in the race. All I see is fear of letting him in race which speaks volumes about how little our representitives have changed since the last election.

• they can see we want him on the ballot, which is why they dont want him on the ballot! they want one of their own, not a lowly independant who isnt under their whip! Actually on a slightly related note, pat cox was a favourite on paddy powers and my friend has a theory that FG took him in knowing the party wouldn’t vote for a person in the party for less than 5 mins effectivley eliminating him from the race! surprised they didnt try that tactic with norris (but i have a feeling he would’ve been smarter than that)

On a serious note I think Norris is a charismatic and intelligent man and he absolutely has my

• It would be an affront to the Irish people if David Norris were NOT to be nominated!!

• Fianna Fail would give themselves a lot of credibility if they nominated Norris and then just backed off and let him run his own race as an independent and FF with no ‘actual’ candidate.
    Any FF candidate they run will get mauled anyway, so they might as well show some backbone and make sure one of the favourites, who wants to run, can run.

I’m not really pro or anti-Norris, but it would be a real PR blow against the system we have if he can’t get a place on the ballot paper.

• David Norris.

A champion of human rights. A campaigner for equality and justice. And a very likeable individual.

Plus it would be nice for Ireland to have a Head of State posher than the queen…

• Norris would be my preferred candidate but Michael D would also be good. Both are principled, articulate and intelligent men who would do a good job of representing Ireland.

• Norris for sure. A man of integrity, intelligence, courage and honesty. What more could you want from a President.

• Between Norris and Higgins for me, I voted for Norris on this poll.

• Over 500 votes already? Wow….!

I haven’t decided for definite yet but looking down through the list, David Norris is the only one who is any way inspiring.

• Michael D would b my choice but I wouldn’t have any difficulty with the other candidates, with the exception of Sean ‘tryin to b a cute hoor’ Gallagher.

• Norris all the way..

• David Norris………..ANYDAY!!!!

• Norris get my number 1 and Higgins 2

• David Norris please… A true and brave Irish Man if ever there was one.

• Norris

• EMacA 11/07/11 #

I’d probably vote for Norris…best of a pretty poor lot.
    I’m ASTOUNDED anyone would consider voting for Gallagher let alone 10% of respondants!

• Norris deseres the vote he has the most charisma and his sexuality has nothing to do with why im voting for him

• I never underestimate the ability of Fianna Fail to put on a good campaign and undoubtedly have shown in the past they can rally. That being said their complicity in the financial catastrophe and their right-wing tendencies being fully exposed has alienated them from both working and middle classes. Fine Gael are no better though and Gay Mitchell does not have the appeal to connect with the national electorate. Michael D. will have to contend with Labours betrayal of working class communities and election backtracks. Davis, doesnt appear to have the political wherewithal to execute a successful campaign. Gallagher regardless of his true intentions for running, is perceived an opportunistic business man only interested in his own image. Norris appears to be the only candidate with statesman like quality not damaged by the general discontent at the Big 3.

• An excellent summary of the current state of play – BUT, the country as a whole is yet to become aware of Mary Davis’ abilities and experience.
      Once she meets the challenge of really putting herself on the stage, she will have a major following, for many of the reasons you list other candidates’ shortcomings.
      She is already head of an organisation with over 50 country members – now that’s states(wo)man like!

• It would want to be one hell of a campaign Kenneth because at the moment everyone I meet is saying “Mary who?”. I will have to look her up myself. I think that the assessment of Gallagher is bang on the ball.

• Unfortunately Brian, you are correct – but unfortunately we have been thrown by the best campaigns in the past – eg FF.
      Glad that you are going to look her up, it’s how I got involved – was very impressed when I did!

• Please let it be David Norris, please.. How perverse if it were not to be him. A pure and honest man through and through. As our president, simply his warm and genuine smile is enough to inspire the most miserable of us to smile back. He makes it so easy for me to feel proud to be Irish.. and I couldn’t be more proud were he to be chosen.

• Why doesn’t Norris meet your standards? Is it 1,2 or 3?

• He misses on all three, but comes close on No. 2 :)

• Well number 3 is covered by the fact that he is an Independent. Number 1 puzzles me because how can you get a candidate that covers career, family, values etc for everyone? But each to their own I suppose.

• Ok here goes, and remember I’m stating a personal opinion as to what my representative should be like:

1. I am a middle aged, middle income person with 4 kids. A person that has fairly mainstream ideas about society and
      has a history of real achievement is the type of person that attracts me. I would not be interested in anybody who is
      an academic, too much theory for my liking.

2. Very self-explanatory – heading up a major international organisation like the SO movement qualifies.

3. Being a senator is a political appointment, and therefore disqualifies.

:)

• I can see your points Ken but number three might be a bit out. Norris was elected to his position and is not a political appointee like some of the other senators. The academic thing does get on some peoples nerves alright though unlike some “academics ” he actually does seem to know what he is talking about. I looked up Mary Savis and while she has done many impressive things in her career she does seem to be very much a single issue candidate. Don’t get me wrong I can’t see why she can’t adapt to a different position. it’s just that the ordinary voter might not look at it that way. Her campaign might have to play down her work in disabilities and highlight other achievements to show that she has a broad range of experience. that’s how I’d approach it anyway.

• Solid points Brian, and I agree with some of them.
      On the political side of the Senate, I am looking for an apolitical situation where no voing has been relised on in the past.
      The academic qualities are more than an annoyance – there are lots of opportunities for our President to get things done, and Mary Davis has huge experience in getting things done in highly complex and sensitive situations.
      Finally, Mary has been involved in many non-disability issues, and hase been on the Presidential Council of State for some time now. Promoting her abilities and experience is her only challenge!

• To be honest I really do not see the need for a president for Ireland because the office is more of a figure head position than an actual political making decision post.
    That said the person who would have more presence on the global political stage would have to be David Norris

• I have heard people expressing this view before David which is fair enough.. The thing is what is the alternative? It may be a figurehead position but we do need someone to represent Ireland abroad.

• The President is also the guardian of the constitution… I do not think I would trust any political party to be it’s guardian unless it it passed to the Judiciary…

Who would you see as fit enough to guard our constitution?

• Yes, we need someone to represent Ireland abroad and is above party politics. The president should ideally have the loyalty of everyone and it’s hard to see how someone who has made their career in one party attacking opponents would command the affection of supporters of rival parties.

• I am undecided. I am only one vote, but, it will be a very informed decision. I also hope that nobody just picks a random number on the day.

And everyone knows that the closer to the actual voting day, the true colours of all the candidates will shine through. :)

• *destroy(Damn auto correct)

• I hope Norris does it! but dont you know the closet homophobes will be out in force and the ironically named GAY Mitchell will slime his way in……hopefully not though!

• 67% want David Norris so he should be president in fact I think if anybody else wins the race it will be the end of trust in the presidency for us 67% of the population.
    I hope the FFers are listening to the people for once

• I hate to break it to you, but 67% of The Journal’s readership does not equal 67% of the population.
      Many of those who would be very much opposed to Senator Norris do not even know how to use a mouse, let alone vote in one of The Journal’s polls.

• Norris of course. Silly poll. Answer is so obvious.

• Norris all the way

• I wanted to vote for Pat Cox but now he’s gone the only other person I can see as being able to speak to our friends in the EU is David Norris. His sexuality is his not mine to comment on. He can do the job so let him do it.

• Norris will be the nxt pres WATCH SINN FEIN…..THEY WILL PUT NORRIS IN AND THEN TAKE LENNIHANS SEAT AND TAKE CONTROL OF THE OPPYS HAPPY DAYS……..

• The role of president is a very narrow one considering the complete lack of political or executive authority. Other than constitutional guardian, what exactly does the president do that is worth €3,000,000 a year (the actual total cost of the office of the president, not just the salary)?

Other than those who have already contributed extensively to Irish political life throughout their careers, I believe that anyone who puts themselves forward for president is only demonstrating an ability to spot a highly paid opportunity to sit back and enjoy the ride, are you listening Mr. Gallagher?

• RG Cuan 11/07/11 #

Nobody really stands out though Norris and Higgins are well ahead of the rest. Hopefully it’s one of them in the end.

It’s unfortunate though that Irish citizens in the north still won’t be able to vote for the Uachtarán of their own country…

• Norris supporter? Join our (unofficial) facebook group (http://www.facebook.com/groups/176415789082712?id=189700807754210) for regular news updates.

• I genuinely don’t think there’s a stand out candidate, I’l make my judgement following their campaigns. What I do know is that Mary will be a very hard act to follow.

• None of the above.

• The presidency is a make believe British monarch just as the Seanad is a make believe house of lords (whose elections almost no one can vote in). Time to get rid of these anachronistic institutions. The money saved could pay for the essential special needs assistants they are firing.

As usual the wrong people are on the front line in this country.

• I would love to see an intelligent articulate gentleman such as David Norris get the Presidency. But unfortunately Ireland is not a democratic state it is an organised disguised facist regime, masquerading as a republic & yes a banana one at that. He will not be allowed in the race as there is always a greater political agenda at play! Before you sing Marys praises Dirt Lancaster remember she okayed on behalf of the Irish people for the IMF to come in so FF could mortgage all your futures & your childrens futures. She backed the whole fiasco at any time she could have gone against the government in the interests of the People of Ireland & their constitution but she didnt give 2 shits about any of the Irish. I dream of the day when an actual intellect like Senator Norris is allowed run for president of Ireland never mind actually getting voted in!!! As long as Ireland remains a backwater, dictatorship & the people remain weak you will have weak corrupt leaders even if they are just figureheads :-(

• Rachel, PLEASE check out some real Fascist regimes and distatorships before you call Ireland one of these.
      The problem with Ireland is that we don’t have any such excuses – WE runsd the country through the politicians, which is why i don’t want a president that has any historical or current political affiliations!

• Interesting comments, but sorry some people think ALL politicians are bad. Michael D Higgins has stood up for basic human rights in Ireland and abroad for decades. He has fought a great fight, often against the various Establishments, to get justice for the disabled, the poor, the separated , kids, workers, etc etc. He has never been afraid to speak out .
    He has lots of wonderful contacts around the world , resulting from all his various humanitarian and cultural work.
    And he has a real vision for how this country needs to move forward. I just like his big ideas for society, for fairness, a real republic where we are all equal.
    Have a look at the website –michaedhigginsforpresident.
    I’m not saying the others aren’t great too, but he is the best.

• Bill Clinton for the Aras. (wouldn’t it be great)

• Michael D for me.

• Having campaigned in the last local, European and General elections, I get the very strong sense from people that they want to see a non-party person who has not been involved with politics before.
    My vote absolutely goes to Mary Davis for her tenacity, ability to get things done and “can do” attitude.
    I have had the privilege of working with her on the 2003 Games and she never ceased to amaze me with her boundless enthuasism and energy, the way she empowered people and got things done. it was always about the job in hand, never about promoting herself. I think that she would make a great president and have no douby that she would work tirelessly in the promotion of Ireland and its people as well as supporting intrinsic organizations as well.

• None of them

• Kenneth Hewson while I appreciate Irelands facist regime is not as bad as some around the world, you cannot possibly say Ireland is not a dictatorship or facist regime. No citizen wanted NAMA but they got it, No Citizen wanted to bail out banks but they did, No Citizen wanted IMF but they got it, No Citizen wanted Water Rates, Home Tax, income tax increases, stealth taxes & Double Taxation, but they all got it. Small businesses put out of business in favour of multi-nationals who pay disgracefully low taxes. Only option if your born in Ireland now is leave asap before the strap a tank of oxegyn to your back & charge you for breathing!!!!! Ireland is the laughing stock of Europe a country that could have brought the EU to task but decided to whimper on instead very dissappointing

• And all done by elected representatives!

• Elected by the people!

• Nobody wanted to pay more taxes. Say it ain’t so… It’s democracy alright, its just that some of those involved made a balls of it. We the people voted out those that we did not like and in those that told us what we wanted to hear. This is just life. To call it fascism is probably unfair to those that that experience it.
      Oh, and while we are all at it. Michael D for President!

• No citizen wanted NAMA, but without it, the property market would have collapsed entirely.
      No citizen wanted the bank bailout/IMF, but without them, we’d probably have no cash in our ATMs.
      No citizen wanted water rates/taxes, but no co.co/nurses/gardai/civil servants workers wanted to work for free.
      Taxing small business’ at high rates generates thousands, taxing multi-nationals at low rates generates millions, not to mention the secondary benefits of the sale of goods and supply of services by, wait for it, small Irish business’ to said multi-nationals.
      Quit your whinging, suck it up, put the head down at work and we’ll all have a laugh about it over pints in 2020.

• I’m voting Michael D! He’s a poet, an academic, a long serving politician and a strong campaigner on human rights. Hearing him speak is truly inspirational, what we need in Ireland!

Just listen to his last speech in the Dail: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OJJ5q1_5jX8

• Michael D for me. Has all that Norris has to offer and then some.

• Obama?

• If Norris gets it, say goodbye to Ireland

• I’m not voting for Norris, not because I don’t like gay people and I’m certainly not going to vote for him to prove that I do like gay people. I just don’t think think he’s the right man for the job at this time for a number of reasons, I think Higgins is the man for the job, I really do.

• None ! Rollover Mary again !

• What difference total waste of money

• Sorry can anyone enlighten me on Mary Davis’s stance on the Bailout at the Council of State meeting convened by Mary McAleese.. Obviously the politicians claimed this would be disastrous to put to the Supreme Court as something as article 1.6 of the constitution would imply should happen. But what was Mary Davis’ stance. After all this is one of the few? or only times the council of state was called on her watch? but there seems to be no indication of where she stood on this issue? Don’t mean to be harassing but it seems important to me as what kind of President she would be?

• Dont feel any of the above aspirants to the Aras worth a vote.

• So, if you could vote today, who would you pick to be the next President of Ireland?

If you could vote today, Norris wouldn’t even be on the ballot paper..

• I’m seriously in the undecided camp, maybe Michael D, maybe, if as your poll says we were voting today. I think this is a weak enough field, if FF could find a good candidate, who doesnt have too much FF baggage, we might be in for a surprise.

• Like I said, FF should nominate Norris and then back away from Race, say simply that ‘in the interests of democracy, we’ve decided to give the people’s favourite so far a chance to run for office’ and then remove themselves from it. FF get the moral high ground, Norris doesn’t get any of the taint by being associated with FF.

And then if they want, they can bring all this ‘standing up for the little guy’ up in a few years time once wounds aren’t so fresh; a completely slimy way of profiting from the situation, which is why I’m very surprised they haven’t done it yet. And privately, I imagine they’d love to stick it to FG and Lab by putting the one person who can beat them into the Race.

And personally speaking, if they did nominate him, and then NEVER brought it up again, I might actually, slightly, in a little bit of a small way, think slightly less worse of them.
      VERY VERY, slightly less worse of them.

• DANA

SHE IS THE ONLY CLEAN NON POLITICAL POSSIBLE CANDIDATE

TOTALLY ETHICAL TOTALLY TRUST WORTHY TOTALLY HONEST

DANA WOULD CONTINUE THE HIGH RESPECT COMMANDED FOR OFFICE OF PRESIDENT

• will ye all cop on to yourselves they are the same clique of people who wined and dined with the same shower of rat bag,s who ruined this country and none of them came out and spoke out again the them , if you took the best parts of the whole lot of them and put them together you still would not get a decent president

• if David Norris really cares about the presidency he should withdraw from the race and go out and canvass for Michael D Higgins…

• i dont think any of them would get my vote

• I would not chose any of the selected candidates. They are not presidential ambassadors from my point of view but then I thought Mary Robinson was too liberal and she made a fine President. I would prefer someone who has the high standards of Mary MacAleese and who can continue the work she is doing by restoring the nation’s confidence again with encouragement and moral authority. This person must link in with all the stratas of our society who are doing good work behind the scences. He/she must be able to represent us both at home and abroad while having a clear understanding of our constitutional laws and our political system. That would be the ideal.

• Dvonne 11/07/11 #

Great, instead of the Supreme Egotist McAleese we’ll have a left wing pinko for president if this poll proves correct.

• As an FFer, I’d like to see Brian Crowley or Eamon O’Cuiv in the race for the Aras, but in the absence of an FF candidate, I’d probably vote for Michael D Higgins if only for his role in founding TG4 in 1994 which was imo the most significant effort made by the state in the preservation and continuance of our national language… Mitchell I wouldn’t regard as presidential and Norris hasn’t conducted himself in the past with the dignity demanded of a President. Davis I know nothing about and Gallagher’s attempts to distance himself from FF are irking me.

• I think the primary role of our President is to represent the Irish people in any area or forum that requires non-political representation. I’d like to think that I would be happy with this person speaking for me if I ever needed an advocate.
    My idea of the person I would like that person to be, is someone who must have these three attributes:

1. They have similar life circumstances to me, as in career, family, values etc.
    2. They have to be already established on an international stage, or be capable of being so very quickly.
    3. Be completely apolitical and to have always been so.

There is only one candidate who meets these three criteria – MARY DAVIS!

• Actually my preferred candidate is one who will behave in accordance to the Presidential Oath
      “In the presence of Almighty God I    ,do solemnly and sincerely promise and declare that I will maintain the Constitution of Ireland and uphold its laws, that I will fulfil my duties faithfully and conscientiously in accordance with the Constitution and the law, and that I will dedicate my abilities to the service and welfare of the people of Ireland. May God direct and sustain me.”

I’ve asked Mary Davis whether she as a member of the Council of State argued for Mary McAleese to referr the Bailout to the Supreme Court but she doesn’t seem to have answered the email.. perhaps she’s getting too many?

The welfare of the people of ireland is best served by a President who has a history of standing up to politican bullying. David Norris wins on this…

• Does Kenneth know that Mary Davis is a woman.. that’s rather different in 1…. it’s almost as different as being.. what’s that word??

• Paddy o Reilly

eh Paddy the property market has COMPLETELY collapsed so that didnt work,
    the cash in our ATM simply would have been called Punts as opposed to Euro
    Civil servants in Ireland are obscenely overpaid by any countries standards
    Taxing small bussiness forces those entrepreneurs to Emigrate & start their business’s elsewhere thus loosing vital revenue to other nations
    Multi Nationals while necessary should not be placed about Irish business growth

as for sticking it out & working with the head down NO THANKS
    I COULDNT GET A JOB IN IRELAND LOL
    I emigrated like all the other highly skilled intelligent people I opened a shop in Spain have 3 shops now & we do supply Ireland although the USA & UK are our biggest market. I could never have dreamed of this success in Ireland so I happily leave you to get the head down while I soar, & I will laugh about it now over some very nice Wine in the sun & I do hope you will be able to do the same in 2020.

• Said from the very start,he was a loose cannon.

Add New Comment