Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Prostitution programme ‘showed the appalling abuse of women’ – Taoiseach

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said that the RTÉ programme investigating the prostitution industry in Ireland showed the “appalling abuse of women all over the country”.

He told the Dáil today that the government is “actively considering” a number of options to clampdown on the illegal sale of sex in Ireland and plans to introduce legislation later this year.

The RTÉ Prime Time programme Profiting from Prostitution revealed the extent of Ireland’s illegal sex trade. Reporter Paul Maguire tracked down a number of people who were alleged to have run organised prostitution rackets and exposed them by name.

Around 700 women are thought to be advertising the sale of sex in Ireland online with the programme alleging that more than 4,000 mobile phones are being used by those selling sex. The programme also said that brothels have been established in nearly every town and city in Ireland.

Responding to a question from Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin during the order of business today, Kenny said that he had not seen the programme but added: “I believe this was a programme that showed the appalling abuse of women all over the country.”

He said that the Minister for Justice Alan Shatter was looking at the criminal law surrounding prostitution and said that the Criminal Law (Sexual Offences Act) would be introduced in the Dáil later this year.

While the practice itself is legal, most activities associated with prostitution such as soliciting for it in a public place, the operation of brothels, trafficking of people for the purposes of sexual exploitation and other forms of pimping are illegal.

Kenny praised the producers of the programme – which was the first in the Prime Time Investigates series since the Fr Kevin Reynolds debacle – saying they were to “be complimented for bringing this to the public domain”.

He also praised the work of support group Ruhama which earlier said that the Prime Time programme had left “no stone unturned in exposing the reality of the Irish sex trade”.

“The use and abuse of these women by Irish men appears to have been extraordinary prevalent according to that programme,”  the Taoiseach said.

Speaking later during the order of business Labour TD for Wicklow, Anne Ferris, said that it was “absolutely scandalous” that women were being “trafficked around Ireland” for sex.

She urged the government to clamp down on websites “making millions” from the industry.

Responding, the Taoiseach said that it was “very difficult to legislate for them”, referring to websites that advertise prostitution services, as in some cases their servers are based outside of this jurisdiction.

“It’s an issue that will obviously be reacted to by government and I’ve said the Sexual Offences Act is due for bringing into the house later this year,” he added.

RTÉ praised for ‘hard hitting’ programme on prostitution

View the full programme on the RTÉ Player here>

Read Next:

Comments (48 Comments)

• Nigel Kenny 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

That Anton guy needs to be sent packing out of this country immediately!

• Gerard Murphy 08/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Lets get all his dosh first. I’m sure the CAB will want a little chat….

• Nigel Kenny 08/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Absolutely and that money should be distributed evenly between the Rape Crisis Network, womens shelters, organisations dealing with sex traffic victims and of course, the women that suffered directly as a result of his actions.

• John 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Give that kenny has prostituted himself to his uropean masters, he knows what he’s talking about.

• Michael Manson 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

This problem is nothing new.
    On the continent prostitutes were left at the mercy of ruthless pimps.
    Until some countries decided to take control of prostitution. To regulate it, to protect the prostitutes from Inherent dangers.
    And not just the prostitutes benefitted from state control. The client did too, insofar that the ladies were checked periodically for STD’s.
    As the saying goes; it is the oldest trade in the world. And if the Irish government for one moment assumes that they can outlaw same then I am wasting my time here.
    Ireland. Don’t attempt to reinvent the wheel.
    Look at other countries and learn and give “sex workers’ legal status for their protection.

• Michael Hegarty 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The trafficking of any human being to be used to work against their will, especially when its abuse or rape if their body is shocking and horrific. If, however, Prostitution was decriminalised and regulated, wouldn’t that not offer greater protection to the prostitutes, and move the services away from the grasps of the underworld gangsters, pimps and predators.

• P Wurple 08/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I’m not sure that legalising prostitution would help the girls who are trafficked in. They are beaten, families threatened and made pay for their transport to Ireland by servicing men in brothels. This is layers of criminality, that would be below the radar of regulation. Even in the countries who have tried legalising it, illegal trafficking, controlling the girls with drug addiction and violence still occurs.

The most successful model worldwide seems to be the Swedish model of name and shame. The person availing of the services becomes the criminal, with part of the punishment being their name published. The one thing stopping these men exploiting the girls appears to be getting their name in the papers.

It was a great program. A lot of work went in, impressed with the database, the surveilence, the impersonations, and way they figured out where the girls were going and what was happening with the telephone numbers.

• Eileen Lang 08/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Then how do you make up the income you are taking away from independent prostitutes who are often utterly desperate?

Also, it would appear, even from the Swedish Governments own statistics, that their bizarre laws have not actually worked.

• Mensah Mensah 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Make it a crime to be a pimp…and that will make the women do it by choice…..

• jimbo 08/02/12 #
      Report this comment

so its ok to be a prostitute and not to be a pimp!!! FAIL.

• Gerard Murphy 08/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Mensah, it already is a crime to be a pimp, it’s just very hard to catch the guys at the top, the girls in the apartments are the ones who are currently getting the convictions.

• Mensah Mensah 08/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Prostitution is da oldest job..every1 knows that..mojority of women think is sick…but how can u stop that when is most of them do it by choice..go to holland and it only cost €50 and is regulated..and those women are proud..

• Eileen Gabbett 08/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Mensah Mensah

” how can u stop that when is most of them do it by choice.”

Most women do not prostitute themselves by choice .There is always an underlying factor or factors.
      Poverty , drug addiction, pimp,

• Eileen Lang 09/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well here is an idea, why not criminalise poverty? (and good luck with that in deep recession)

• Helen Farrell 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I watched this last night. Slavery is alive and well in Ireland when you hear the women describe how they are forced to work as prostitutes-on call between 16 – 24 hoursy a day. They described being too terrified to escape, moved like cattle around the country to service the men, and earning roughly the same as social welfare to pay off ‘debts’ for leaving their country. It was horrifying to hear.

• Eileen Gabbett 08/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Helen
      I think that is the most terrifying thing ,that they were being moved around the country , in broad daylight and they too afraid to call for help. Horrible . ….and it is going on out there as we type/ read/

• Report this comment

Why does it always seem that the government don’t get serious about cracking down on abuses the prostitution, taxi industry etc. etc until prime time has aired these problems to a national audience???. ….. Surely the government knows whats happening in it’s own backyard??? ……. I think that this question needs to be put to them.

• John 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Legalise, regulate and tax the industry. It will always remain, why not bring it above ground like in other countries.

• jimbo 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

RTE should make a programme on how much abuse kenny and his cronies are giving the public

• Report this comment

Talk is cheap Enda, you need to give the Gardai enough resources to tackle the problem, otherwise organised crime wins every time.

• Report this comment

Me thinks some of those girls would have said way too much for their pimps liking, hope rte is ready willing and able to help them if the program has put anyone in danger.

• Eddie Barrett 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Well done RTE For your splendid investigation – but will we see the Minister for Justice and the Gardai investigate and enforce the law in this area in the future, as they should have been doing in the past too ????
    Surely the Landlords of these Apartments are somewhat culpable in some cases too?
    We are in the Property Management business and we ALWAYS cheque out individuals with the Gardai and credit bureaux’s before we let a property to a potential tenant , where we, on a statutory basis, secure a copy of the applicants Passport in advance?

• Bríd DeFaoite 08/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Ion had a clean (at the time) person rent apartments on his behalf. Credit and employment checks were passed and copies of passports were attained.

They also used the PTRB to remain in an apartment following the discovery of what they were up to and spent over 4 1/2 months illegally squatting in an apartment.The landlord had to (under the 2004 statutes) proceed through the incredibly slow system to force an eviction. They used this system waiting until the end of each 21 day period to file objections etc. Even with mountains of evidence that a brothel was been run from the property the PTRB still did not rule under the Unsocial Behaviour provisions but concluded that they should leave because they had received ample notice.

• Derek Rochford 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Congratulations to Paul Maguire and Prime Time for exposing this ‘human trafficing’ for prostitutation.

Saw a similar programme on BBC done by Ross Kemp and it was frightening to look at. He also travelled to Romania and to other East Eupopean Countries and to Nigeria to see how this ‘human trafficking’ happens at first hand and at source.

He found out that the reason that the girls are afraid to leave is that their families back home are at risk of even being killed if these girls do not cooperate!
    These pimps are very dangerous people and are part of very dangerous groups of gangs of criminals!
    The gangs operate ‘human trafficking’ for prostitution, for begging and for any purpose that will make them money and they care nothing about human life, except for their own lives!

The sad thing is that the Government are too lax about this and according to Prime Time, the Gardai only have 2 Garda dealng with these crimes and they face an impossible task!
    The promise of Legislation to deal with this is useless, if it can’t be imposed due to lack of manpower!

The men who use the services of these girls should also hang their heads in shame, as they are as much to blame as the pimps and the Gardai should make them face the full rigours of the law if they apprehend them……I wonder if their own sisters were forced to do this prostitution, how would they, the punters’ feel then?

Peoples lives are at risk here, so something needs to be done now and not put it on the long fingure and then to forget about it!

• Brian Houlihan 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

We need to look at alternatives, some will always seek out sex, some will willingly sell their bodies, while many will be forced to.

Like drugs prohibition, if you outlaw something that is in demand, then no laws you pass, no propaganda campaigns will stop it taking place.

We need to properly address the problem and not base our views on some moral we may feel but facts.

• Stephie Fitz 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I guess the politicians would actually know what they’re talking about here…

If you know what I mean!

• Kevin daly 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The pimp in last nights programme is now named and shamed! The Cops should deport Anton the scumbag this evening! He is no addition to Irish society and while raking in thousands every week he probably still gets social welfare and associated benefits!! It’s about time we got rid of these low life’s!!!

• Eddie Barrett 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I’m very impressed with Brid DeFaoite’s explanation in regards to the “workings” of the State controlled PTRB, which effectively in so many instances like this, leans to the defense of the indefensible , in allowing abusing tenants , like in this instance, even with all the evidence at hand to continue in occupation of Apartments and Houses.

It is typical of the snail like workings of State controlled Bodies!

• Grant Grieve 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I agree with some of the other comments in that if you outlaw this kind of activity then it will drive it even more underground.

Any legislation or directives put in place to combat the criminal element has to be the focus. Not the criminalisation of these unfortunate women or their clients. As has been said before there will always be people willing to pay for these services, that cannot be stopped.

The very fact that the government are looking to target the women thmeselves shows that they have no understanding of what is going on behind the scenes. mass criminal gangs from across Europe, Asia & Russia are involved in the financing and operation of this, which is beyond their comprehension. This activity goes on to fund other activities such as gun running, drugs, forgery and theft, which ultimately leads to assualts, murder and destruction of lives for innocent people.

The models used in various countries where it is regulated and licensed are proven to work well.

But I have little faith that sense will prevail here as with every other half-assed attempt to implement a sensible course of action.

• Eileen Lang 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The majority of women in prostitution were not even alluded to by the documentary. They are most likely to be desperate women who have, for various reasons, fallen down between all the stools. The recession, and austerity cuts, force more people into a similar position every day. That is simple reality.

Some people wind up with few, if any alternatives.

If I could not have sold sex when I did, for some 6 years, there is no way I could have survived at all.

The 1993 act, brought in in response to public order issues caused by the recession in the early 90s that increased numbers of women in prostitution and reduced the number of clients, actually paved the way for all the pimping and organised prostitution that has happened since. During the previous ten years prostitution was effectively decriminalised by a constitutional challenge and there was, in effect hardly any pimping at all, that is verifiable fact. The 1993 act drove the independent women off the streets and into the control of pimps.

Further criminalisation will just increase that effect.

The organisations campaigning for this law seem to know this as well as I do. Apparently, they just do not care.

• John Mullee 09/02/12 #
      Report this comment

absolutely yeah.
      Whatever is driving the twee RTE ‘outrage’, the only expected outcome is ill-thought-out legislation with un-analysed consequences.
      But this is Ireland – we can’t expect intelligent compassionate policy ….

• Stella Marr 08/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Eileen you’re being incredibly unfair and inaccurate. Irish call girl is being bold, brave and honest about sharing her knowledge and experiences. I was prostituted for ten years, and found it to be an absolute horror show. I still have nightmares about it 16 years later.

You know that Dublin Call Girl isn’t trying to do anything forcibly to women in prostitution. As survivor you should know she speaks out of concern. Don’t try to take away her voice. I must say it’s very unusual to see a prostitution survivor saying things that are unfair and untrue to another survivor.

Prostitution survivors worldwide have found the experience to be a nightmare. Check out the group blog by the international online leaderless network of trafficking/prostitution survivors, and one can see that the violence and abusive are pervasive.

http://www.survivorsconnect.groupsite.com/blog

• Eileen Lang 09/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Stellamarr…

I know Dublin Call Girl, like yourself (in in a remarkably similar style, must be because you are such close friends?) is actively campaigning for laws that will take away the income she should know women in prostitution need to survive, and couldn’t care less about what that will do to their lives..

I have already looked at your sites…I am not impressed either by your sincerity or your motivation.

I found prostitution to be a nightmare, but it was far, far better than not surviving at all, which was my only alternative…that is why I did it, and that is why I DEMAND other women should never have that last desperate resort taken away from them to indulge the selfish whims of others.

• Irish Eamonn 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The Swedish model has left that country with the highest per capita incidence of rape in the EU. Adult prostitution should be legalised and regulated. The reason there is abuse is that the trade is driven underground, leaving sex workers wide open to abuse. Regulation and registration of brothels would take prostitutes off the streets, which itself makes them safer. Inspections would reduce the spread of STDs, and taxation would be a much-needed boost to the Exchequer, and allow for resources to be spent on reducing STDs.

Source on Swedish rape figures here. http://www.thelocal.se/19102/20090427/

• John Mullee 09/02/12 #
      Report this comment

It would be so nice if that would work here, rather than just push the abuse into the backroom of a legal business, like in what happened in holland when they did that (as far as I understand)

• Eileen Lang 09/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Them the solution is in between the two…decriminalisation, which existed because of a constitutional challenge, between 1982 and 1993. During that time there was little to no pimping, violence or associated crime..

Prostitutes were still stigmatised and pilloried in the tabloids, it was still pretty horrible work to do, but far, far better than whatever alternative drove the individual women into it.

Brothels are a bad idea, because you cannot have a brothel without having some kind of pimp, and that establishes a bad precedent, but decriminalsation can be used to encourage independent prostitution instead.

• Irish Eamonn 09/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Also, if you read Ruhama’s website (as Enda has praised them), you can see who is really behind them. Their trustees include the Sisters of Mercy and the Sisters of Charity. Is this really about protecting women, or about turning back the clock? And what about adult male sex workers? Why should they be prohibited from choosing what to do with their own bodies provided only consenting adults are involved?

• Paul Carr 09/02/12 #
      Report this comment

It’s breathtaking! Look at the Magdalen laundries run by these very same religious orders who are now the trustees of the Ruhama and the Irish Immigration Council. Perhaps 30,000 women, many of them sex workers, were trafficked through their network. The last one was only shut down in 1996. Watch “Sinners”. In that film, we see that many of the so-called “fallen women” gave birth to their babies whilst in their Magdalene laundry prison. Then the babies were taken from them, often against their wishes. These babies were then given to “good Catholic families”.

We should learn from our own history, not import a zero-tolerance approach from Sweden. Incidentally, the Swedish Sex Purchase Act of 1999 was imported from the USA where, if I’m not mistaken, every US state (even Nevada, save for a few counties) bans the sale and purchase of sex as well as all other related activities. There have been “John Schools” in the USA since 1996 where men are “treated” for purchasing sex.

People will say that the situation is different in Sweden to US states. In Sweden, they’ll say only the purchase of sex is criminalized but the sale of sex isn’t. This is a distinction without a difference. By criminalizing the purchase of sex, livelihood is removed from all sex workers. Many are driven more into the shadows particularly vulnerable migrant workers. They may be deported if they present themselves to the police. They are exposed to a higher risk of violence from customers and criminal gangs and are exposed to a higher risk of catching STIs.

We need to adopt a harm reduction approach as is adopted in New Zealand. Let the sex workers unionize in the Republic of Ireland. Empower them. Give them their full human, civil, labour, legal, health and safety rights just as are given to all other workers. The Dutch and German approaches are flawed because their laws are crafted from the point of view of maintaining law and order. Instead, give street sex workers the right to solicit anywhere they like in the country. Allow brothels and smaller sex worker led cooperatives the right to set up anywhere in the country. Local authorities can then pass bylaws if they wish to regulate where the brothels and sex worker led and operated cooperatives can set up. Brothels will be subject to national registration and regulation requirements.

Give sex workers the benefit of the doubt. Assume they are law-abiding citizens just like any other category of citizen unless proven otherwise on an individual case-by-case basis. The police’s default job is to protect them not prosecute them. Let the sex workers have access to the courts where they can take and receive cases in their own name.

Make it a criminal offense for a John to refuse to wear a condom. Load the legal dice in favour of the sex worker in order to deter any would-be ugly mug from raising his hand in violence and intimidation against a sex worker. Provide hot lines between brothels and sex worker owned and operated cooperatives and the local police station so that they can phone in complaints against violent customers.

I am sure you have heard of Robert Pickton who for a number of years terrorized and murdered many vulnerable street workers and drug addicts in Vancouver. After he was finally caught, he bragged in prison that he killed 49 people. Sex workers who were physically abused by him but not murdered went to the police to complain about him. But because they were sex workers, their complaints were not taken seriously and Robert Pickton continued with his killing spree. In Canada, the situation relating to sex work is similar to the Republic of Ireland. The sale and purchase of sex is not prohibited but related surrounding activities are, such as soliciting, procuring, keeping a brothel or, bawdyhouse in Canada speak, and living off the avails of prostitution.

We ought to fully decriminalize and legalize prostitution in the Republic of Ireland (but not legalize in the German or Dutch sense). We ought to legalize in the New Zealand sense. Sex work is a profession and so we give sex workers their full civil, health, safety, human and legal rights like are given to all other workers.

Sex work is not going to go away with the wave of a legislative wand. Time to regulate and tax where possible. It’s time to recognize the profession officially without necessarily approving of it as an profession open to everyone. We recognize it but not promote it. There is a difference.

Frank Duff and his Legion of Mary successfully campaigned to shut down the Red light district of Monto in the 1920s. Ultimately, his zero tolerance and pseudo moral campaign didn’t work. Organized prostitution was removed but prostitution broadly was only driven underground. Organized prostitution re-emerged in the 1970s as the Republic of Ireland started to liberalize and open up particularly after our accession to the EEC.

Anyone who says that, with some amazing legislative sleight-of-hand prostitution can be wiped out, is an idiot. The Social Democratic party of Sweden that passed the Sex Purchase act in 1999 believed they could wipe out the sex industry. They were wrong. There was a renewed clampdown on the industry after 2008. Police stats between 2008 and 2010 show that across a broad category of sex related and trafficking related categories such as the purchase of sex with children and adults and trafficking for sexual and not sexual purposes there have been huge increases.

Sweden is selling a fantasy of itself to the world. Most of the rest of the world won’t be taken in.

• Eileen Lang 09/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Ditto guys…
      *Paul you brought tears to my eyes with the breadth and detail of your insight
      *Eamonn it’s actually a bit worse than that, because it is the Sisters of Charity and the Good Shepherd sisters who are the only trustee of Ruhama. The good Shepherd sisters did not close their last Magdalene laundry in Waterford until 1996…7 years after they founded Ruhama. They actually had Nuns who had worked in a laundries involved in setting it up.

In terms of supporting or caring for women in prostitution it is one big sham, always was, always will be.

Add New Comment