TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Column: How much does each TD actually cost the State?

The annual pay of ministers and TDs doesn’t come close to recognising the true financial cost of hiring them, writes Sarah O’Neill.

Sarah O'Neill

THE PROPOSAL to cut Ministerial and TDs’ salaries as part of the planned Croke Park II deal is a welcome development – but when all entitlements and provisions are added up, our political representatives are still costing the State an exorbitant amount annually.

The total, long-term cost to the Exchequer of providing a TD’s or Senator’s pension is drastically under-estimated in figures representing politicians’ pay. A truly accurate representation of the full cost of the current scheme must consider the contribution the State makes towards a notional pension fund on behalf of each TD.

In the case of all other public sector jobs, an individual is entitled to a full pension after they have worked for 40 years. Assuming an individual does not choose to retire early, their annual pension entitlement upon retirement is calculated by dividing their salary by 80 and multiplying by the number of years they have worked – 40 in the case of a lifelong worker.

However as outlined here, our TDs and Senators are entitled to claim a full pension after 20 years of service – and those in a ministerial position after only two years. This means that our politicians are accumulating a pension at a degree that is at least twice the normal rate of equivalent grade civil service employees.

The implications of this in terms of annual government spending are enormous. In order to provide for each current and former representative’s pension, the Government must have in place a pension fund that is 40 times the annual pension payout to each serving and retired Deputy.

(This 40 figure is based on an actuarial calculation of the amount of the pension pot required to generate an annual pension worth €x – i.e one would require 40x in the notional pension pot, irrespective of how long the recipient might live.)

Each TD’s pension fund? €1.85 million

To provide an individual with the average TD pension of €46,336, for example, therefore requires the Government to finance a pension fund of €1,853,440.

Each TD contributes 6 per cent of their annual pay to their pension, which translates into around €5,560. This is a recent addition which does not apply to those who retired at the last election.

The cost of this €1,853,440 is then spread across the full 20-year term of the TD, and paid into a pension fund in annual notional pension contributions amounting to €92,672 for each TD every year.

In addition to salary and allowances, the cost of maintaining each of our current representatives is shocking in the national context of economic austerity and sacrifice.

Total cost of average TD in the Dáil:
Annual Salary (before Croke Park II): €92,672
Notional annual contribution to pension fund: €92,672
Travel and accommodation allowance (up to): €37,850
Public Representation Allowance: €23,130
Average staff costs (parliamentary assistant + secretarial assistant): €69,000
TD’s contribution: (€5,560)
Total annual cost of each TD to the state: €309,912

Upon retirement, each TD who has served longer than 20 years is furthermore entitled to claim a retirement lump sum of €139,008, a termination lump sum of €15,445, and 12 monthly ‘Termination Payments’ for the first year of retirement, calculated according to number of years of service and amounting to up to a maximum annual payment of €57,920.

Only after all of that does the Deputy’s annual pension officially begin.

The total cost of an average minister

There are currently 15 cabinet ministers and 14 ‘junior’ ministers of state in government. Each is entitled to claim a ministerial pension – to some degree – after only two years of service. (For those who have served the full term of this Dáil, the two-year period is fulfilled on March 9 and 10.)

This pension is calculated as 20 per cent of their annual ministerial salary after two years, and increases by 5 per cent for each year of additional service thereafter up to a maximum of 60 per cent after 10 years. This is in addition to their normal TD’s pension.

The full pension each minister is entitled to, as laid out below, is made up of both parliamentary and ministerial pensions, and amounts to €92,298 annually. It is subject to the same pension fund requirements as TDs and Senators, except that the full ministerial pension is accumulated over 10 years – as opposed to 20 years in the case of TDs and Senators, and 40 years for the typical civil servant.

This means that if the Government was to finance ministerial pensions like any private sector pension fund, they would need to finance a fund of around 40 times this annual payment – amounting to a pension fund provision of an incredible €3,691,920 for each Minister who has served for over 10 years.

Annual Salary (before Croke Park II): €169,275
Notional annual contribution to pension fund: €276,520
Secretarial Allowance for the purchase of PR & secretarial assistance (up to): €41,900
Public Representation Allowance: €20,000
Dual Abode Allowance (income tax break for Ministers from outside of Dublin with second home in capital): €6,500
Average staff costs (parliamentary assistant + secretarial assistant): €69,000
Contribution to TD pension: (€5,560)
Total annual cost of each Minister to the state: €577,635

These figures apply to ‘ordinary’ cabinet ministers only – ministers of state cost the Exchequer less and Cabinet ministers, particularly the Taoiseach and Tánaiste, will cost more.

It is worth noting that there are also various allowances which some members with certain roles such as Party Whip are entitled to. These range from €3,000 – €76,603 a year and must also be accounted for in an analysis of how much office-holders cost the Exchequer.

Cabinet ministers are also entitled to claim for two special advisors, who earn a salary roughly equivalent to that of a TD.

First thing to change

This web of entitlements is difficult to represent and not presented to the public in a transparent, centralised format.

In a political environment of late-night Dáil sittings and economic uncertainty, trust and faith in our leaders is fundamental to the successful implementation of the reforms necessary to rebuild our state.

The promissory note deal was important for the credibility of the coalition, but it did not free us from the financial predicament we find ourselves in. Outlandish pension entitlements are indicative of a dysfunctional and out-of-touch political system – and should be first on the agenda when it comes to expenditure cuts.

A couple of months ago, Leo Varadkar was quoted in the Irish Times as saying: “I think pension reform is long overdue. People in the public service have very secure pensions but it is not at all clear that we will be able to fund them in the future.”

Indeed, and what better way than to lead by example.

Sarah O’Neill is a TCD student and founder of Dailwatch.ie, a non-profit, politically neutral platform for direct, public Q&A between citizens and TDs.

Read next:

Comments (114 Comments)

• This Austerity plan needs to start with themselves. These figures are staggering. The Irish electorate are being taken for idiots here. It’s not our teachers, Guards and Nurses we can’t afford, it’s our greedy, fat-cat, WAY overpaid politicians. Bring their pay and pensions (not to forget allowances) into line with the real world, and we’ll save that billion in no time, without having to hit front line PAYE workers.

• What really annoys me is the fact that the 2 politicians who bare the most responsibility for the mess we’re in are living on 150000 pension a year. They take this money without any hint of shame believing that they earned every penny and are no longer answerable to anyone.

• maybe its time to remove the spire in O,Connell St and replace it with a guillotine.
      it would be far more cost effective and provide an incentive for td,s,bankers etc to more effiecent in their jobs.

• Too much, way to much.

• I live beside a junior minister. He’s a lovely man but it makes me sick to see him getting brought to the Dail by his own driver. Why can’t politicians make their own way to work like the rest of us??

• For the first time ever, an article written
    which explains clearly how a pension
    Is calculated, and early shows how much manipulation is made to give eg: ministerial advantage of a an order, which is tantamount to offering a lottery win.

People will never understand the extent to which this type of protectionism is afforded to the protected, until good articles such as this continue to highlight and educate.

Well written Satsh.

• Almost €600,000 to keep reilly for a year? If that was all it cost it might not be too bad but when you consider the damage this man is doing to our health service and the people who either have to work there or even worse to the patients.

• When one of the unqualified spoofers is elected to the Dail it must feel akin to winning the lottery. So sad that ordinary workers are paying for their largesse when all they do is implement one tax after another & erode our quality of life to essentially better theirs.

• Morning Sarah, as you have the facility to get info, is there a possibility you might find out if those ex politicians that are receiving two or more pensions and are drawing them down, is there an ” abatement ” on one of the pensions.. ( not being rude but an abatement is a massive decrease in a pension if the recipient is drawing down two or more) would be very interested to know are they getting the full amounts for each of these pensions, I maybe corrected on this but some are receiving 3 public service pensions.
    Thanks

• Hi Dave,
      The most recent register of members interests http://www.oireachtas.ie/documents/publications/regmemberdail20130228.pdf shows 8 TDs are receiving a pension from their previous employment and as far as I’m aware Michael Noonan is the only member who has publicly gifted his teachers pension back to the State.
      One way to find out about retired members would be to go back through previous registers and see what retired TDs were and are entitled to now. As far as I’m aware a TD can receive a pension from another job without effecting his/her political pension so it would just depend on whether it affected the other pension.

• The amounts aren’t that big in the scale if borrowing a billion a month to keep the lights on. Cutting these costs will make no real financial difference.

But we should do it anyway.

Becoming a TD should be a matter of public service, not a career. Many of the current crop have never done a real job, and others are so long out of it that they can’t remember what it was like.

Pay them all the average industrial wage, and make the pension fully contributory. That will sharpen their view. As a bonus, we’d probably lose the 100 most useless ones at the next election.

• I think it would make a significant financial difference Emily.

It’s not just the crop of TDs, think of all the ex-TDs out there hoovering up pensions every year, plus those who aren’t retired, and still working. E.g. I think EK currently draws down a teachers pension, plus his salary for being the boss man , and if he is ousted, he will straightaway be able to draw down a taoiseachs pension….

I think we could see where all the exchequer’s money goes, it would a galling amount once you tot it all up.

• Use the author’s maths, multiply by the number of ministers and non-minister TDs, and you’ll find that the total annual spend is less than we borrow every hour and a half.

That is not to defend it, but we need to be realistic about what any cuts will achieve.

• Emily you make some very valid points. I too belive they recieve vastly over paid saleries. They should recieve 10% above the average industrial wage and this may increase by way of performance related bonuses to be determined by an independant forum made up of a selection of the general electerate year on year. This forum should consist of representives of industry, public sector, private sector, and charitable organisations.

• Hi Emily, I see what you are saying and agree with it to a point…….. I don’t for a second imagine the money that could be saved would cure the economy. If you pitch the value of any savings that could be made, up against the cost of borrowing that the nation is at, then no one thing would make a difference and we could never fix the problem…. the point here is that it is ludicrous money that the state is paying itself through pensions (and salaries to be fair)….
      to turn your point on its head a bit, how much money does the state save itself by slashing careers/respite grants/ benefits?? When compared with how much we are borrowing, it’s a drop in the ocean…..

I think Sarah has written a fabulous article here, highlighting unnecessary spending of public money, which is what our mighty leaders are trying to reduce al the time, without actually looking at themselves…

Anyways, enough of my rant….

• It’s not just a career for them – it was a career for their dad AND their grand-dad and probably their brother and first cousin also!!! But we’re the ones who elect them again and again!!!

• Sure didnt Lucinda Crieghton upgrade her PA (an ex RTE kids presenter) to a political advisor with a salary of 80 grand. What could he be advising her on.. Scooby Doo mysteries.

• After reading the article im gonna have to go onto youtube and search for vids of baby kittens to calm down…

• Eye watering figures figures as I prepare the Aldi breakfast.

• That disgusts me – they have a bloody cheek . CJH comes to mind – buying Charvet shirts and telling the nation to tighten their belts.
    We could do without half of them.
    Why can’t the Troika touch them?

• We have too many TDs for starters. I have no problem paying for them but we do pay them too much in allowances, pensions and salaries. It wouldn’t solve our financial issues but help control some of our public spending.

• Sorry to disagree Tom… We have too many ineffective politicians on salaries well over their value. If many of our politicians working in the private sector and their work was measured as being ineffective, they would be with out a job.

Our politicians need to present to us more value. But then again, we the people, are not privy to what projects our politicians are working on and the successful rate of completion.

Furthermore. our politicians work more for their personal constiuencies than for the national well-being of this country. If this country continues to be divided by the 26 counties of our Republic… How can there ever be a united effort that benefits the people of this good nation?

• Marlon, agreed. When I said I don’t mind paying for them, I meant pay for TDs, effective ones of course and fewer ones! :-)

• You’ve gotta friend;-)

• Sorry Marlon… Where is the value in theseTDs. They are beyond reproach. They don’t give the general electorate the opportunity to say (or have a view on) how much they they earn or recieve in pensions. As for availing of multiple pensions! These pensions are accessed from a very young age. The rest of us have to wait until our 66th birthday. All of these deals are made behind closed doors. The only way we hear of them is in forums such as these….Good value??? I dont think so.

• sean 03/03/13 #

So as a guide €309,000 x 166
    The mind boggles
    Patriots of the state my arse, no wonder I disagree with celebrating 1916 , they are a disgrace , and we are a disgrace for allowing them do it
    “where is the reset button”

• I feel ill after reading that……
    Not a good way to start a Sunday.

• Great artical. The figures made me ill.

• Aidan 03/03/13 #

I do too!! Absolutely ridiculous. Sickening.

• I by no means am a believer in the current leaders we have, or any coming down the road, but anyone commenting on this has to ask themselves…would I be a politician? I know I wouldn’t, and the wages seem to be the only thing they have to incentivise people to consider it. They only problem is it gets the wrong people, teachers and lawyers are the only ones that can take the time to run for election and still walk back into their jobs afterwards. Perhaps they should look at that instead of huge wages.

• I don’t know about here (Ireland) Jim… But I do know about the US. A majority of the politicians go into the political business for altruistic reasons. Once a politician is found to have shady connections or in the business of greed… Their careers are pretty much over.

Take the Kennedys for example…. They have and will continue to work for the betterment of their state and country. Yes there has been controversy in their lives, however the good that they have done out weights any bad.

So I agree with you… There are no present politicians or any foreseeably caming down the road that has the best interest of this country in mind before themselves. Ireland doesn’t nuture a culture of altruistic giving without it being related to guilt.

We need Irish politicians that are in the business for the betterment of this country and its people. Not necessarily for the betterment of themselves and their family.

• Yes Jim Jameson, I would most definitely want to be a politician especially after reading these figures and I would only become one purely for the money!!! Thick skin, a brass neck, be as obnoxious as possible, be completely ignorant to the reality of what the “little people” are going through, only a 4 year stint of pretending to be interested in other people’s woe’s while dipping my hand into their pockets at the same time and then back into the easy life of opposition! The dream job! If u ever see my mug on a poster saying “vote me”, remember I am only going in to politics for the money and nothing else!

• Why isn’t this highlighted by the Media more often and by the Unions whilst negotiating with the government .. This a mega scandal .. shame on these wasters as they smother the rest of us with savage cutbacks etc..

• So very sad makes u genuinely upset to read this stuff. Was in kilmainham gaol yesterday on d tour and when you see what our founding politicians went through for our freedom and then look at the traitors we now have it’s so sad. Collins plunkett Clarke etc would turn in their graves if they could see what’s happening. I can see the day coming soon when the next big protest at the dail happens and theirs nobody there to keep the gates closes because the guards will be off sick. This crap has to stop

• Obscene amounts of money, particularly in recession times but even in boom times. Very well written article.

• Basic pay and secretarial allowances only, the rest should be scrapped ,

• Painful reading. Not surprising though. If they all only got pensions at pensionable age (like normal folk) then straight off the bat, the exchequer wins handsomely and they could; do away with some of the lousy cuts they have made over the last few years, gain some credibility with the electorate and actually appear to give a shit about his county nod it’s people.

Forecast: 0%

• Staggering figures. Why wasn’t the issue of pension part of Croke park 2?? Surely no TD or ex Taoiseach should be paid a pension until they reach 65??? Like the rest of us. It’s a disgrace. We are being played for fools.

• Most of them have a facebook page. Post the article on their page so any last sap who goes onto there page can have a read.

• A local ex Minister died last year in his 90s . Last night I was told he had 9 different pensions from been a public servant.

• We can’t afford it, we can’t afford it, we can’t afford it. The only alternative to marching and being ignored is the citizens’ petition, both national and eu. We must swamp them with our demands for 1. Reduction in pay and pensions for yes. 2. Reductions in their numbers over and above what is contemplated. 3. Immediate abolition of the Seanad, that other sinkhole for public money.

• Wow : (

• Would make you sick

• I will have a sign on my door come next election . NO DOGS. NO PARASITES . NO POLITICIANS .

• So let me see… If I remain honest,truthful and actually care about people and my country I am doomed to poverty and taxes .

If on the other hand I lie,cheat ,decieve,mislead and treat people with distain I will get a massive wage,pension for life and expenses that would choke a hippo…!!!!.

Hmmm ,tough decision there but I think I will stay as I am because I would not like to be as hated and dispised (even after death) as these rotten to the core paracitical leeches.

• This article needs to be shared EVERYWHERE … People need to sit up and take notice of this GREED…
    Enough is enough..

• There we go . Read and weep. In print it’s greed personified . Who is saying stop .

• Viva la Revolution!!

• “A pension after two years” that’s just plain wrong. Their ass groove wouldn’t even have been formed at that stage.

• Brilliant and well written article Sarah. To my embarrassment this is the first I knew that the cost per TD was so high. It amazes me that so many ex and current TDs of every political persuasion have managed to forget to tell us about it. In fact if you factor in the subsidies food, drink, office space, IPADS and other IT luxuries then the figure is a hell of a lot higher. Once again well done on this article.

• Not bad pay for jobs which ruined and continue to ruin the country.

• Scandalous. Politics is simply the biggest scam that exists in Ireland..
    It’s a scam !!

“ALL ANIMALS ARE EQUAL
    BUT SOME ANIMALS ARE MORE EQUAL THAN OTHERS”

• Their should be a referendum to make the changes necessary !
    Who is in favour ?

• The next election we should elect unemployed people to the Dail. This would be the equivalent to them wining
    the lottery. And let’s face it they would do better than the clowns we have at present.

• Yet, they’ll be re-elected again and again!

• And which idiots re-elect them, us the Irish people!! You tend to get the politicians you deserve…
      I don’t begrudge TD s their salary,or genuine vouched expenses, or even a pension( though it’d make more sense if they were self employed and funded their own) but there’s way too many of them, each with expensive offices, and other costs..

• Rkmr 03/03/13 #

Absolutely shocking, would love to see this compared to averages for eu

• I’m reminded of the pigs in Animal Farm.

• Journal you will not ruin my Sunday.

• I’m going back to bed…

• Great article Sarah now we need an article on judicial corruption and do not tell me it does not exist .

• Glen 03/03/13 #

Excellent article and well researched. I was trying to look for comparisons to UK MPs salaries and expenses. The best site for reference I could find was http://www.timloughton.com/tims_track_record/howmuchmpcostyou.htm
    and also http://www.parliament.uk/documents/commons-information…/m05.pdf

Most MPs received a basic salary of £65,738 in 2010/11 and it was decided they would take a pay freeze for 2011/12. As a Minister he receives an additional ministerial salary of £28,404. However, all Ministers have agreed to take a 5% pay cut frozen for the lifetime of this Parliament which means that his total salary is £89,435 (€103,168)

It seems Irish TDs are paid handsomely by any comparison. The paradox is if you pay peanuts, you get monkeys, but what do you do when the lunatics run the mad house?

• And I thought we not getting value for our money Tchhhh

• Jim Ky 03/03/13 #

Great article Sarah–we are certainly being kept in the dark about the cost of Government and being fooled into thinking that these guys are suffering unduly because of the recession.

• Surely the cost of their incompetence is greater even than their luxurious salaries?

• Jim Ky 03/03/13 #

Should there not be a rule that every member of the Oireachtas should be obliged to forego any pension or other emolument payable out of the Central Fund while they remain members–it is appalling to see people in such positions being paid arising out of other State jobs.

• Disgusting

• Useless idiots

• Absolutely disgusting.

• with the whip system I don’t believe that we actually need TD’s. they turn up on the first day, vote the cabinet in and then just rubber stamp what ever they are told to do. As most of them seem to be doctors, lawyers and teachers couldn’t they vote by electronic devices when they are working in there real jobs, like the poll system on the journal.

• sorry i read this so early on a Sunday morning. very well written Sarah

• It’s interesting to see the figures broken down like this. Whilst I would agree that TDs are paid far too much, I don’t think, however, that this breakdown comes anywhere close to arriving at the true cost to the State of the current crop of TDs.

Suppose you pay a financial advisor to look after your money. You pay him €500 and he manages to blow your life savings on dreadful investments, leaving you pauperised. How much did your financial advisor cost – €500, or €500 plus your life savings?

Similarly, we ought to look at the cost of TDs in terms of the cost of the decisions that they make with the public finances, not just what they pay themselves. And we have a situation in which highly paid TDs have shovelled tens of billions of euro of public money into the pockets of private bondholders, and turned private banking debt into crippling sovereign debt. This, it has been decided, will be paid for in health, education and welfare services foregone by the population. In effect, TDs have decided that ordinary people will clean up the vomit after bankers and bondholders have had their party.

Now, why are they paid so much? Is it some public sector money-grubbing gene? Actually no: these are salaries benchmarked against private sector salaries for comparable positions. Thus TD pay reflects the values of the sainted private sector. I suggest then that the primary problem here is not the extent of TD salaries and benefits, but the way in which TDs identify far more with business elites than they do with the constituents who make them what they are.

• censored 04/03/13 #

Sarah: just wanted to say congratulations and well done for all your work on dailwatch. It’s great to see this data being revealed in a factual, objective manner so we can have a proper debate. I’m also thrilled to see young people taking an interest in improving our country and its governance. It gives me hope that something good will come out of this mess. Nice one!

• I wonder how many local coucillors have we,and what do each one of them cost the state?

• No wonder the country is screwed!!

• Great article…should br publicised more

• Just a question rather than a comment. Are the allowances subject to tax and PRSI and USC? If not do you need to gross up these figures especially if they are round sum and non vouched?

• Penfan 04/03/13 #

Thank you, Sarah,
    Really excellent analysis!
    I would like to suggest that we all forward this Comment to our elected representatives.
    It should soften their coughs for a minute or two!

• It’s nice when someone simplifies things for us. Its easy and it allows us to lash off some equally simplistic outrage. Simplistic and populist articles attract the all important comments and interactivity that websites like the journal.ie feed on. Simplification allows us to blend and ignore the difference between say, our parliament ( the Oireachtas) and the executive ( the government ). For instance, I can only speak for the former. Such articles operate on the ‘ they’re all the same’ mantra, not exactly scientific but hey, it’s the done thing in Irish political discourse (just read any of our newspapers). Now for a few facts and observations of my own. it is true that TDs are paid a good salary for doing an important job. It’s also true that they work hard for it. The reason our TDs are paid well is so that our parliament isn’t only the preserve of those of wealth and independent means. I appreciate how hard it may be for some to accept this but it is actually in the public interest. Equally, the fundamental reason for allowances and expenses is so that the cost deferential between representing, for example, Donegal and Dublin.4 is neutralised. There is a real cost in both but it is not the same.
    TDs pay and allowances have repeatedly been cut over the last 5 years. This is both true and possibly a shock to some as you probably will not have read this fact anywhere before. They are all published in a transparent way, they are also now all vouched, they are audited and the audit is also published, they must all clock-in when attending our parliament and every aspect of what they do when they’re there is broadcast on-line, published on-line and even on a some occasions, reported by our media. My advice is simple ( in keeping with the above tone) : everything to do with the cost of our parliament and parliamentarians is actually explained on our website http://www.oireachtas.ie. Read it yourself and checkout the websites of other parliaments to see the comparative costs of our system. You might find that the truth is that we have an increasingly hard working parliament and one that is becoming more efficiently run year on year. However, to discover this will require you to first resist the temptation presented by simplistic commentary and instead consider the facts for yourself. Best of luck that!

• Hi Mark,

Thanks for responding to this. I agree that our deputies deserve to be paid well for working a hard job. However, the current system of political pensions is extravagant and a simplistic breakdown of this information is exactly what our system needs.

I’m having difficulty finding a clear breakdown of annual notional pension fund contributions on the Oireachtas website – do you have a link?

thanks,
      Sarah

• sean 03/03/13 #

Sorry dress it up all you like fir a country that is flat broke,having a political system that costs in excess off €50million a year ( and that’s excluding alll the county councillors and their earnings (I,d like to those figures, I know Wexford co councillors claimed €598,000in expenses alone in 2012) , then factor in all the expenses etc of the civil service , the quangos, advisors etc……would live to see those figures

Unsustainable , unworkable , and absolutely not worth the money
      Sarah you could probably get the above figures , get it there for all to see)

• @Sarah, its not a difficult job, though. Many TDs spend their days filling in social welfare forms or forwarding complaints to the Council, while occasionally turning up to funerals. This adds zero value to what Citizens Information does.

I’ve yet to encounter a TD who has the slightest grasp of statutory interpretation, and that includes former barristers. Some of the stuff that they approve would embarrass a law student in her second week.

• Oh my God. I am outraged by Mr Mulqueens comments. Lets cut through all of the rubbish about the cuts in expensess and allowances over the past 5 years. Are you for real?? The bottom line remains the same. They are ALL vastly overpaid. And You fail to mention the various scandals involving expensess claims over the last 5 years. Would you care to tell me exactly WHO was minding the shop when the bankers were lining their own pockets while the country was falling deeper into the abyss in the years leading up to 2007/08. Oh yeah it was the former TDs who are now drawing down the huge pensions that is being paid for by the same people they rolled over on the way to their golf outings and dinners with bankers and regulators ( so called ). You should review your unbelivable comments Mr Mulqueen.

• Sarah… Keep doing your job.. Excellent article.. We need lots more of this.

• censored 04/03/13 #

Mark: I didn’t see any “simplistic commentary” here. Can you point to something specific please?

Also, your comment comes across as both defensive and patronising. Was that your intention?

• Mark, you decry the article as simplistic, surely that’s a good thing, for to long the true cost per TD has been hidden- what we need is transparency and a little bit of honesty so we can gauge whether or not our TDs are value for money. Speaking of transparency, why didn’t you include the fact you work as head of communications in Dáil Éireann. To be fair to you, we can’t really expect you to be critical of the system that pays your wages.

• Penfan 04/03/13 #

Euro500,000pa for a government minister, Mark. As my 8 year old might say “Hashtag- reality check”!

• Dear Mr Mulqueen,
      It is nice when someone simplifies something that appears complex for me. It is also true that many people are easily outraged by what appear to be outrageous facts. I have no trouble with the fact that members of our government are better paid than many other people. They have a much more responsible and important job than I do for example. I also have no argument with the concept that our public representatives are well paid so that “…our parliament isn’t only the preserve of those of wealth and independent means.” However I do have some questions with regard to how they are paid and how their pension schemes are managed.

Politicians, parliamentarians and ministers are all public servants, in the way same way that members of the civil service are public servants. In order to attract the best people for the job, equivalent industry rates should be and are to my knowledge, paid to people who are employed in both civil service and parliamentary and ministerial roles So far so good. Why then are the rules for parliamentarians and ministers so different from other public servants? Why can they qualify for a pension after twenty years and in the case of ministers after two years? Is this another incentive to attract the best people for the job? Is an industry equivalent salary (and perks) not a big enough incentive to become involved in politics?

Secondly, why are ministers entitled to two pensions? Surely a move from being a parliamentarian to a minister is a promotion within an organisation not a move to a different entity? To better illustrate my point, if a bar tender working for a hotel company is promoted to bar manager he does not become entitled to two pensions. He does not claim the right to a separate pension for both positions. Why can ministers do this?

In the case of ministerial positions requiring specialist skills and knowledge, for example Minister of Finance, I can see why a salary of approximately €169,275 would be appropriate. In the case where the minister does not possess the required specialist skills and knowledge it may be appropriate that he employs advisors who have these skill sets. However, if he has to bring in outsiders to do what he is effectively paid to do, why does he receive an increment of almost 80% when he moves from his parliamentary role to his ministerial role? I’m basing this on his salary being increased from €92,672 to €169,275. If he or she is not qualified or able to execute the requirements of the position and needs to employ unelected outsiders to assist him, wouldn’t a nominal increase to reflect the status of the position be more appropriate than an 80% increase?

So in the spirit of this open and frank discussion, explain to me in simple terms how it is that any of the above ensures that, “…our parliament isn’t only the preserve of those of wealth and independent means.”

As I said at the beginning I am not criticising salary rates nor am I questioning perks and benefits. I do not dispute that parliamentarians and ministers often have a difficult and thankless job. But many shareholders and investors (ie taxpayers) in Ireland PLC are unhappy with how our board of directors are performing and how that performance is being rewarded.

Regards…

• Good article by Ms O’Neill, thank you for sharing. It is a pity Mr Mulqueen didn’t respond to Sarah O’Neill’s straightforward query as to a clear breakdown of annual pension contributions not being apparent on the Oireachtas website. As Mr Mulqueen is Head of Communications for the Oireachtas, I have a separate query; if it is true that “we have an increasingly hard working parliament”, why then don’t they cooperate with KildareStreet.Com so as to let people know, rather then changing the format of their transcripts last September, which has effectively killed that site? (For more, see: http://www.broadsheet.ie/tag/kildarestreet-com/ )

Separately, it would also be helpful if Mr Mulqueen would be kind enough to disclose his own salary so as to give an indication as to the other costs involved in running the parliament, which I note in his particular case, is purportedly to help ensure transparency between the servants of the citizens and their paymasters. Alas I am not holding my breath – as he puts it so chirpily himself, “Best of luck with that!”

Add New Comment