TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Column: Here’s what it’s really like being Polish in Ireland

Are the Irish racists? No – but there is an undercurrent of xenophobia in everyday life, writes Polish-born Dubliner Anna Pas.

Anna Pas

This week, an article that purported to describe the life of Polish woman ‘Magda’ on the dole in Ireland sparked a storm of controversy – and accusations that her situation had been misrepresented.

Here Anna Pas, a Polish journalist living in Dublin, describes the complex attitudes she encounters – and how things have changed since the recession.

MAGDA, HAVE YOU got your boarding card yet?

From ‘hardworking people’ to ‘welfare tourists’ – it only took us one recession, two years, and a few badly-researched articles to change the perception of Poles living in Ireland.

How does it feel when a complete stranger compliments you on your “decent English”, and inquires about your personal life, marital status, your wages and where do you do your grocery shopping? Or how about that deeply concerned job facilitator in your local Social Welfare Office who suggests a one-way ticket back home instead of an upskilling course? And let’s not forget about all these insightful conversations with your work colleague about that lovely cleaning lady who used to work for them and has never been in a pub because she is saving up, poor thing.

After having lived here for seven years now, I have had endless conversations like this. And no, I am not going home any time soon, thank you very much. Being Polish in Ireland doesn’t mean I have some sort of a Ryanair loyalty card to fly there on a monthly basis. Home is here, and hopefully so it will be for my family and kids, if they ever happen.

Why then, if we only make a remark on some bad weather, a poorly-staffed health system or yet another tax, we hear ‘Go back to Poland if you don’t like it in here.’ Some more generous people would even offer to pay for our plane ticket.

Sadly, a bad mix of inaccurate journalism, a pinch of sensationalism, and a few irresponsible comments from the Irish politicians accompanying the story of ‘Magda’, an unemployed Polish waitress who was said to be abusing the social welfare system, provoked an avalanche of reactions towards the Polish community in Ireland earlier this week.

From being a nation of ‘hard-working people’, we became poster children for the unskilled labour force

Suddenly, from being a nation of ‘hard-working people’, ‘highly-skilled professionals’, and ‘a pool of new talent’, we became poster-children for the ‘unskilled labour force’, ‘migrants sending millions of euro back home’, and the masterminds of welfare scams. As no one can imagine a politician or a publicist using that sort of language towards the African or Asian community for fear of being accused of racism, it is acceptable to illustrate every story about migrants in Ireland with a quote from some ‘Polish worker’. An example of a Polish professional appearing on prime-time TV to discuss some general issue concerning today’s multi-ethnic Irish society is yet to be witnessed. Some day.

So are the Irish racists? No. Not in general. But there is a level of veiled, indirect xenophobia and racism present in everyday life. In all these small chats about going back home often, and unspoken expectations on migrant workers to make room for young Irish people who are being forced to join the emigration story as their fathers and grandfathers did in the past.

These are challenging times we are living in, and fighting to get Ireland working again is our common agenda here. Blaming foreigners for the Irish crisis is only adding to the existing social tensions and may backfire badly. The distance from the society of a hundred thousand welcomes to the nation driven by populist propaganda is probably less than that from my Polish home town to my Dublin home here. It all starts in your head.

Anna Pas is a Polish journalist based in Dublin.

More: Full coverage of the ‘Magda’ controversy on TheJournal.ie>

Read next:

Comments (122 Comments)

• Divide and conquer..

It’s a tried and tested method… used successfully for centuries by various regimes in various guises..

Turn the peasants against each other and distract them from the systematic abuse from their overlords..

Make the Private Sector resent the Public sector..
    Make the Employed despise the unemployed..
    Make the middle class fearful of the working class..
    Hack the students to pieces, sure they’re just wasters anyhow…
    Blame the immigrants, use them as scapegoats so that the natives have a target for their anger..

I”m sure the political/banking elites are only too delighted to see us all savage each other..
    That way they can push through all sorts of Orwellian scenarios right under our very noses..

Fiscal Union..

F.U.

and everyone else by the looks of it…

• Very fair article, I know, work with, socialise with allot of people from Poland, and like the Irish in Australia (which I was for 12 months) it only takes one bad story to ruin they’re reputation!! For this country to get back on it’s feet we need everybody who wants to be here, be it Polish, South African etc. to work together, we need to stump out benefit fraud regardless of nationality.

• What does any of this have to do with racism?

Even though the politician in question is an eejit, he was mainly spouting off because someone appeared to be taking the piss re: dole payments, not because of their race (to be honest, even after reading the corrected translation, I still don”t understand why this girl couldn’t just relocate to somewhere else in Ireland to get a job instead of staying on the dole for 2 years – that’s what plenty of others are being forced to do).

I have travelled to many places and even worked abroad (currently living in Germany)- whilst I will admit that there is certainly a certain element of racism in Ireland, it is completely harmless compared to some other areas of Europe…

I would suggest that the author try out Germany (oh they love the Polish over here) or even look towards her own country (the skinheads gangs) if she wants to see the real dark side of racism…

The problem with Ireland is simply that it was too much in such a short space of time. In the 80s nobody would have dreamed to move to Ireland, in the 2000’s you had almost of all of Europe trying to move to Ireland.

They should have controlled it better to allow for better integration IMO.

It doesn’t matter where you go in this world, racism will always be present in some shape or form – sad, but true.

• I dunno. All this storm in a teacup. If you really want to see racism and anti-Polish/Turkish/foreigner sentiment, then go to Germany. Far ahead of any Irish instances, by a country mile.

• I never generalise but every single taxi driver in Dublin is racist

• Oh God please give it a rest!!!!!, one pea brain politician shoots his mouth off and one rag exploits a story, and once again everyone is tripping over themselves to say how terrible the Irish are…. We aren’t racist for the most part. You will always get some bad eggs.
    We are a soft touch as a nation, everyone knows this.

• Hmmm, that was quite a brief article. I don’t feel much wiser on “what it’s really like being Polish in Ireland”. And, to be honest, if you are offended by someone complimenting you on your standard of English when it is not your first spoken language, you’re a bit hypersensitive.

• 02/02/12 #

Indeed. How it must feel to be asked if you are married and whether you shop in Aldi or not, I can’t begin to imagine. The horrors of small talk they have to endure!
      I worked with a Latvian guy who told me a thing he hated about Ireland was that you have to say ‘hello’ and ‘please’ and ‘thanks’ all the time. I also shared a house with a Polish couple a few years ago and the guy would completely ignore you if you said hi when you happened to pass him in the kitchen. When later confronted by other housemates about it (Irish and Latvian) he said that he had to speak English in work all day and he didn’t see why he should have to bother with pointless conversation when he came home in the evenings.
      I guess it’s just a cultural difference that some eastern European people find that sort of thing intrusive generally, whereas the majority of Irish people just think it’s normal to chit-chat and are baffled when we get blanked. Therefore we find each other sort of rude!

• “I’m Irish, sure racism is part of me culture.” Sergent Gerry Boyle.

• Can I say something really unpopular? More than once I have been attacked by polish men who claim that I was being racist. In one instance, I got a punch in the face. Why? Well because some drunk Americans were saying some pretty nasty stuff about a polish girl standing next to me, when I told them to leave it out as she clearly didn’t understand their slang her friend punched me and not them. I’m all for being open and accepting but tolerance in all instances is a two way street. I wish my incident was a once off but I have heard of a lot of similar stories. By in large the polish community are fantastic, but just like the Irish the polish community have their problems with acceptance of other nationalities also.

• Irish people don’t think they are xenophobic or racist but I have witnessed both on numerous occasions. It’s not carried out violently or with malice but it’s there & it’s usually a throw away comment or a remark regarding the lack of jobs for Irish people. Ireland needs to get this debate going & put to bed, pronto.

• Peter you’ve missed my whole point I’m afraid.

• How so Diarmaid ? You are looking for tolerance & understanding between two or more cultures & for that tolerance & understanding to be equal… Is that not your point ?.

• What is the point in bringing up this sort of stuff? Be constructive if you can, the point that you are missing Diarmaid is that this is not a comparison game. Maybe in a few hundred years we will realise that our problems are all the same and there is nothing beneficial in separating humans in categories based on gender, or belief, or nationality or whatever. We need to stop saying ”but just like the Irish the polish community have their problems with acceptance of other nationalities also” – which by the way… from a distance it looks like a very respectable and fair comment and just look at ourselves as a bunch of people who are trying to get something out of life… live, love, learn.. and thus make mistakes.

• EM 03/02/12 #

Is there a nation on earth that is not in some way racist or xenophobic? I don’t think so.
    I personally think Ireland has done very well to adjust in these rapidly changing times. Yes we have racists and yes we have narrow minded eejits but on the whole Irish society has done well to cope with significant changes and i’m confident we’ll continue to grow into the future.

One truth often overlooked is that many immigrants don’t like Ireland or Irish people at all and sometimes openly display it. And that’s natural! We can’t all like each other all the time, and we shouldn’t have to. But it doesn’t mean we can’t treat each other with respect.

• Without getting into the politics of all this, I can only say what my experience has been.
    In the early noughties, I was working in the airport, and we were crying out for staff, Irish people just weren’t applying for the jobs, this led to recruitment drives in Latvia and Lithuania. The company I worked for used an agency, and this agency put maybe 12-14 people into a 3 bedroom house miles away from the airport , then over charged them for basic services. Not only were these people filling jobs that Irish weren’t applying for , they were being ripped off in the process.
    A few years later, I was working in a warehouse that was recruiting, NOT ONE Irish person applied for the jobs on offer. I ended up poaching Polish staff that I worked with previously.
    I can honestly say that I have found most Polish people I have met, to be courteous , hard working , polite and decent.
    the kind of sensationalist reporting that has been going on the last couple of days , is only taking the heat off the government, where it belongs.
    Welfare recipients did not burst the bubble, or shift the sand foundations.
    Without the influx of hard-working people to our country the boom-times wouldn’t have happened.
    Don’t lose sight of where the real problem lies, and direct your anger at the people who truly deserve it, not the workers, and those willing to work

• Hi Anna….well after reading your column I have to say that first of all it’s good that you still see Ireland as home and secondly the Xenophobia could be explained in a number of ways…In my opinion,Irish people really only experienced a different culture when the Poles and Latvians first came over here..I’ve worked with people from both countries and when I first met them I would speak slowly and ask them how they like Ireland and if they ever wanted to go back home etc..I felt very condescending towards them but I genuinely wanted to seem welcoming…Polish and Latvians are VERY good workers,there’s no denying that and the fact that the recession hit made people wonder how long it would take for them all to leave and ‘go where the money was’ but that’s life..it’s survival,I know from talking to my Polish friends how hard things were and still are in Poland and I myself would do the same thing.I would also hope that I’d be made welcome in the country I went to as well..anyway,all in all I just want to say that I believe a lot of Polish and Latvians have integrated themselves into Irish society extremely well and because they call Ireland home,have a right to have an opinion on our country….and here’s to many Irish people being made welcome in Poland for Euro 2012. żegnaj i powodzenia

• Cpm 03/02/12 #

How about an article on the ‘no Irish’ signs on building sites in Poland?

• SeanS 03/02/12 #

To put that it some sort of context, it was done partly in retaliation to some of the exploitation of polish workers that went on here during the boom years. But yes, that doesn’t make it right, the polish employers that have/had a “no irish” hiring policy are as ignorant as the people that think “Irish jobs for the Irish”.

• SeanS 03/02/12 #

And I just had a quick look at the indo article about this, absolutely no proof or reliable sources at all that polish employers had put up “no Irish need apply” signs. Sound familiar? Seems the Indo have a few bad habits when it comes to articles about the polish.

• I’m Russian (duh – my nickname says it all!), I live in Ireland for 14 years (and paying taxes for over 12 years) and still I get this message from Jimmy Harte: “You are a waste [sic] Read the article. I wonder when you last had a non national in your home. Never I’d day [sic]”

I do have a “non national in my home”, even with my Irish passport – this “non national” is my fecking wife!

• “one pea brain politician shoots his mouth off and one rag exploits a story” – and that’s the problem. We shouldn’t have “pea-brain” politicians.

Those, especially, who use degratory language in their political rethoric

• I’d just like to comment on a snippet from the article written above
    “‘Magda’, an unemployed Polish waitress who was said to be abusing the social welfare system, provoked an avalanche of reactions towards the Polish community in Ireland earlier this week.”

no there was not an avalanche of reactions towards the polish community at all , most of the comments where his made at the spongers on the dole who’ve never worked a day in their life in this country ……………….be it polish, Irish (because we have plenty of our own ), or any other national,
    the system is all wrong and most certainly does not help those in most need , it only cater’s for those wankers who’ve been playing the system from the start

• The problem with Ireland is that most people here never seem to know when to shut the fuck up.

• Todo 03/02/12 #

Maybe if non-nationals realised that Cork people were treated a “little differently” in Dublin and Dublin people were “patronised” in Kerry etc. They might understand that some of this “underlying racism” is actually being treated as “one of us”. :) If an Irish person really has it in for you he’ll only talk behind your back anyway. What’s difficult to manage is avoiding our tendancy to use the unique attributes of a person in a rhymingput-down. While “baldy boll*x” and “fat f*cker” are ok “black bas**rd” is not allowed just because it’s a skin colour and it’s the second part is the actual put-down! :) How cruel to us natives to have to bite our tongues on that one! :)

• Bruce 03/02/12 #

Exactly the same stereotypical stuff irish people had to endure in the uk in the 60′s and 70′s. The bad actions of the few tarnished the majority.

• i had a slagging match with a polish girl yesterday about magda and my polish friend said in fairness if u go to a different country and not work for a year and a half well that’s not right. this reminded me that when i lived outside Ireland for nearly 12 years i wasn’t out of work for more than a 2/3 weeks. i didn’t care who asked me what. i didn’t care about the Irish jokes. i didn’t care about been called a thick paddy or a thick mick. i grew around my surroundings and that’s how i got on. The polish girl i was talking too, i can see does the same. but the majority of foreign nationals that come here don’t. this is where the divide is. we are treated as the racists, maybe before someone packs their bags to head off to a different country they should do some research on the culture so they can understand how to interact better.. also every foreigner i meet i will ask them questions the very same way i ask every new Irish person i meet. that’s politeness bet into me from when i fell out of the pram

• Everyone is missing the point…WE ARE ALL BEING SCREWED OVER BY MY MASTERS IN EUROPE!! and this is yet again an attempt to distract us from the real issue and sadly its working…Why can’t WE ALL live in a Europe where we are free to travel and work? Why can’t every citizen have an education, a job, a house, health care, a pension??
    I’m Irish, I love my country and what it (use to) stand for but if we allow this system to continue there wont be an Ireland or a Poland. Instead we have a Untied states of Franco/Germany WHERE we will be second class citizen’s..WAKE THE FUCK UP PEOPLE..

• SeanS 02/02/12 #

In some ways, that article is as sensationalist as anything that was written or said yesterday. I admit that I haven’t really spoken to anyone about it but I’ve been tracking the story, listening to radio talk shows and reading comments and for the most part, people have had nothing but positive things to say about the polish community while they lament the press for printing the article and Jimmy Harte for jumping on the bandwagon. Even before it came to light that the story was essentially a manipulated fabrication, most of the anger was directed at the fact that someone would openly brag about living a comfortable life on dole (not to mention calling the place a shithole) and not at the fact that it was a foreigner doing it. Of course, that wasn’t always the case, but it was, for the most part, the general tone of the comments.

• Aydo 02/02/12 #

I do believe that this is being blown out of all proportion by misguided morons using a poor translation.

But in fairness more of these racists and xenophobes need to travel the world and see and meet its people instead of having the sole goal of collecting money and things.

• Many polish and other immigrants have a decent work ethic – fair play, anyone who works hard deserves to be paid. That said, I think that many of us have yet to realise just how different the mindset of eastern Europeans is to our own. This is a vastly different culture and it’s not too surprising when you consider where they’re coming from. Polish in particular are one generation from the clutches of the soviets and the mentality still exists. I know a polish man well, his name is Janusz and he has told me many time of how difficult and calculating polish women really are – his words not mine. I could go on a rant about polish women, my impression, that of my friends, but the real point here is don’t expect a people as different as eastern Europeans to integrate in any real way in a few short years. They have not and they won’t. They largely remain apart from the Irish community and it is my opinion that it will not change until two things happen.
    1/ The Irish economy recovers
    2/ Poland loses it’s post communist attitudes

I might add that after 14 years in Ireland, Janusz runs an insulation business in the black economy, still drives a polish car and always tells me that whatever Ireland has…it’s better in Poland. He doesn’t really mean it as a slight against the country, he just can’t help himself…

• I would like to give you the thumbs up because in some ways I agree with you but you lost me on the calculating women bit. Polish men aren’t exactly known for there pro women attitude, now I do mean in general, I apologize to any polish man who is. But I agree that it is a different culture and not enough has ben done for integration. In my area there are a lot of eastern europeans, but every st. patricks day is there ever any reference to them in our community….no. Its an opportunity for integration lost. I have had the opportunity to meet with a lot of eastern europeans through my job and I have to say they are lovely people, I just wish we were all a bit more integrated.

• Judging by name he is from generation of my parents (50+)?? He sounds a bit like my own dad. Communism is over for quite a while and young people are trying hard to change that attitiude. You cant compare these 2 generations. This things about women are not true but if you ask my dad he would say the same probably :)

• Feargal,

Janusz, the man you have described is one of few remaining from a dying breed… My bet: that this guy is in his 40′s or 50′s and you are dead right… his attitude ( not only towards Ireland ) is influenced by years of misery in his home-country, which in his opinion always had a potential to be great but was oppressed by invaders or corrupted politicians. This type was travelling all around Europe to get some decent money for their skills and most likely provide for better future for his family back in Poland.

But majority of Poles who live in Ireland consist of younger generation… They would really consider staying in Ireland for good but… Many of course have language problems. Most do not have enough resources to think about mortgage or any other way to settle for good in one community ( continuously hunting for cheap rent). Almost all of us are not sure about state of Irish economy and how would that effect immigrant’s situation in this country. Would you settle in the place where your window can be smashed by the stone thrown by some kids shouting insults in your direction? It does not happen often now but what if economy will not improve soon?

Live of immigrant is bit like playing roulette. Unfortunately for us… more like Russian version….

• @ Tomasz…..while I agree that racism is a small problem in this country please dont take the smashing of windows and the insulting name calling that goes with at as racial abuse. If you were an Irish red head you’d be called a “ginger” wanker/bollox/C*%nt or if you’r from the country living in Dublin and got your window smashed you’d be called a culchie wanker/bollox/c%”@t. Thats just the way of the world.

• FFS Who cares? Seriously! Irish, Polish, Australian, English,its the same crap everywhere, we’re all the bloody same, just the roles reversed in whatever country applies. Why the big shock that you are treated somewhat a little different, even in a subtle way. What do you expect?? You come to an island that has no history of immigration , that can barely manage an influx of wealth, of which it subsequently lost, and you expect that you wont be treated somewhat even a little different?

Im glad you are here to stay, we need a bigger population anyway to function better. And that was a well written article, but no offence, there was no need for it.

• The only thing I think of when I hear Polish or Poland now, is “oh yea , we’re going there for Euro 2012″ . Thats how ridiculous this whole issue feels to me.

• Very well put Adrian!!.
      We aren’t perfect as a nation, as you put it, we never had inward migration so a lot of this is new to us.
      There will always be some bad eggs but this is ridiculous lol.
      People are almost tripping over themselves to berate us as.
      We are for the most part a good nation.
      I have a pain in my hole from listening to this…..build a bridge people.

• No, we never did have immigration Adrian. By the way, your surname originated in northern France, am I right? I’m assuming it’s Norman. If your ancestors were not immigrants, how did they get here? How about all the Burkes, de Lacys, Barrys, Desmonds, Ormondes, Tobins, Fitzgeralds, Fitzpatricks, Fitzsimons, Redmonds, etc. What about those immigrant Welsh with their Hughes and Walshes and Jenkins and Griffiths and so on. What about the Vikings with their McAuliffes, McIvors, MacManuses, Doyles, Cotters, Dowdalls, (Mc)Loughlins, etc. How about the Flemish and their Flem(m)ings, Gascoignes, Malseeds, Wo(u)lfes, Co(o)gans, etc. Did we not have English immigrants in the form of those with the surnames Yeats, Brown(e), Hitchcock, Abbott, Armstrong, Arthur, Crumpe, Cadbury, Guinness, Price, etc. How about the mass migrations of Scots into Down, Antrim, Monaghan, Cavan, Derry and Donegal in the 17th and 18th centuries? De Valera is obviously not an immigrant surname either. In the early years of the 20th century we had two distinct areas in Dublin, one known as Little Jerusalem (around Clanbrassil Street) and Little Russia (I can’t remember its exact location, but it was somewhere on the north side of the city). The fact is that Ireland has historically been well known for immigration. Even the early Gaelic annals speak of the Invasions of Ireland in Lebor Gabála Érenn (Leabhar Gabhála Éireann in modern Irish) wherein the Gaels themselves are described as immigrants, along with the “invasions” of Cessair, Partholón, Nemed, the Fir Bolg, the Tuatha Dé Danann and the Milesians. Even if this book was not accurate, its very existence shows that immigration into Ireland was well known 1,000 years ago. If you were to say that we have had no history of immigration since the founding of the state, then I would be inclined to believe you.

Regarding the article itself, I have many friends of many different nationalities in this country – Polish, Latvian, Russian, Zimbabwean, etc. and they are all hard-working decent people. Sure there are those rotten apples among their compatriots, but there are some fairly rotten apples among the native Irish too. Are there Polish people scamming the social welfare system – yes. But there are also Irish people scamming the system too. Are there Polish people here who love to engage in drunken fighting – yes. But then there are many Irish people who do the same. It’s the narrow-mindedness of certain people among the “native” Irish, combined with an inability to tackle social issues and the collapse of the economy which is one of the primary sources of the current undercurrent of xenophobia. And this xenophobia will not improve the lot for the “native” Irish; in fact it will probably make life worse both for the perpetrators and the victims. We need to stick together, learn from each other, and rebuild the country together.

• delighted not to see ”Byrne” in your piece brian!! :) very well written by the way

• Paddy Irishman, Paddy Scotsman and Paddy Englishman………I’ve been hearing those jokes since I was born!! And that people was a loooong time ago.

• Casual racism is almost a national pastime. Just like drinking really. Most of us do it, sometimes more then we should, without thinking about the consequences and when we f#*k up we just shrug our shoulders and call it a “bit of craic” and forget it ever happened. Ive done it myself, Ive witnessed it happen and Ive been on the receiving end of it when I worked abroad. We need to have a serious debate in this Country about this subject, Im just worried that it will take something far more sinister to make this happen. As if a national newspaper publishing the kind of drivel it has isnt serious enough in the first place.

• It’s all well when it ends well.

And with this particular occasion, the response of the Irish public re what went on with Magda can not be faulted. I was not born in Ireland btw. But give out about my Irish people and I will bite your head off (this is a general remark, has nothing to do with the above article, which I can relate to and find fair, even if.. reactive).

And you know what? That is how any other foreign national who considers Ireland to be their home feels like, impossible not to develop a feeling of belonging.

Cuppa tea?

• Having read the original Magda article using Google Translate, I have decided that if I was one of the 30 million + people living in Poland, I would definitely head here to take advantage of the fantastic Irish social welfare system. Free education, subsidized accommodation and free advice on setting up my own business once I’ve spent enough time reflecting on my life!

• I keep hearing people say that if Ireland didn’t have as many immigrants as it does, the country would collapse since we rely on them to do the jobs that the Irish don’t want to do.
      => “Magda” doesn’t want to do them either :-)

• Ireland does not have monopoly for eijits and racists. But I will not say that whole country behaves like that – I wouldn’t be here, I wouldn’t want to raise my daughter fearing she will be abused verbally.

I’ve heard stories about Irish citizens acting like racists, but I’ve saw with my own eyes how some of my fellow countrymen are living here like rats, drinking without limits, breaking law and so on. What I’m trying to say is you shouldn’t judge whole nation by few people. I’ve tried to “merge” with Irish instead of spending my time in my own ghetto going to work and coming straight home. That action was appreciated here, I got lots of friends here and we have a good craic from time to time in pub, bowling lane or shooting grounds. I don’t have to be liked by everyone but I respect Irish nation, your culture and your rules.
    Damn shame about Poles without decent English – but it’s not a problem of the Irish society. It’s a problem of those people who are trying their luck, because they are limiting themselves. Imagine going to other country, breaking a leg and not being able to call for help.

Some will blame us for condition of Irish economy. Others will leave us be, while others may just look like racist – this is Ireland people are slagging each other all the time! Irish are slagging each other too you just have to get used to it! At the end of the day we will all go to TESCO for some groceries while our birds will get new tops from Penneys ;) Live and let live. There is a massive amount of Poles here – history repeats itself some time ago Irish were going to Canada, USA or Australia looking for better lives. We are doing the same. I’m settling in with my family here. I don’t think those who worked with me in Burger King in Dundalk believed I’m here to stay.

• I’m not Polish, nor Irish, but.I have lived here for 14 years. I have been fleeced by the Irish government just like everyone, I pay taxes etc etc. that makes me think I have the right to speak my mind. I don’t hide my name, but I have been thinking of changing my user name into some irish name, because i have been told to ‘shut my ass’ , not to talk about ‘the Irish’ and worst of all that I come from a country where sodomy and porn is rife. I don’t think it’s important where I come from, and most people in Ireland like me when they know me. But seeing this foreign name of mine provokes a good few of the Journal.ie readers to shout( on the keyboard) abuse at me. That can only be xenophobia!

• SeanS 02/02/12 #

The 19th century is thataway.

• There needs to be no further comment or input in relation to this article.
    Anna has described the polish situation with perfection.
    Well done

• Can we all not just get along

• Well done, very true and at least, for now, we have no extreme Right-Wing parties!

• We need to scrap this free movement of labour idiocy and bring in a system like the one being used in Australia and the one being proposed in the UK.

• SeanS 02/02/12 #

One of the founding ideologies of the EU was the pursuance of free movement of goods, capital and labour, so I can’t see that changing any time soon. Anyway, out of curiosity, why should someones place of birth dictate whether or not they should be given a fair chance to work here? Is it not hypocritical, when job opportunities are low here, to expect other countries top open their borders to our labourers, nurses, accountants etc, when we have an effective closed door policy?

• wot? I couldn’t understand you. do you speak english?

• As a Italian descent, Brazilian born (and proudly living in Sao Paulo-Brazil), with some years of experience living in the Irish society (Where I worked for the HSE) and fortunately bringing in 2 weeks my polish girlfriend who I met in Dublin to Brazil , I remember no long ago, when still living there, reading about Young Irish people living in Australia, and being nick named as “Green Niggas”.

Now, Mr. “Stay With” …What do u think about the Aussies saying that??

Yours sincerely,
    Brazilian in Brazil, (The country which received 500k Ukrainian, 1milliom japanese, 1.8 milliom poles, 5million germans, 20 million italians decendants, and many other nationalities since the Second World War)…and proud of it.

• tuba hg 03/02/12 #

Great article, I happen to work with a group of great Polish people and even when I am on my own in the room with them they speak Polish
    Is that discrimination or racism?

• Caveman.

• Ah the polish are grand, white European christians are always welcome in Ireland. As for the rest of the immigrants, the non white Europeans, well I am sure their mothers love them….

• In our new Ireland Poles are a part (not apart).

• I need to do some research on this, but, would I be correct in saying that the only limit on the number of Europeans that can come to Ireland to look for work and then get on the social welfare system if they can’t find work, is the number of people living in Europe?

Isn’t that a bit risky? I mean, let’s say this country ends up in a recession, heading for a depression, and services are being cut all over the place and work is hard to find. Could this country, in that situation, afford to have potentially millions more people receiving social welfare?

• SeanS 03/02/12 #

Would you say the same thing if, overnight, the irish born population doubled overnight? Either way, your logic does not add up. Presumably any immigrants that lived here would still need to feed, clothe, house and entertain themselves, which would increase domestic demand and thus create more jobs. All else being equal, we would be neither comparatively better nor worse off. Your few comments on this topic smack of an “Ireland for the irish” tone. Where would we be today as a nation had american, british and australian governments based their own policies on those philosophies.

• YOU ARE WRONG. To get social welfare you have to pass a Habitual Residency Test. If you are from an EU country and have lost your employment through no fault of your own you qualify for 6 months max as a migrant worker ( that’s if you have worked less then one year here) if you worked over one year you are entitled to full benefit until you find a job. If you never worked here you get nothing. Romanian and Bulgarian citizens get nothing unless they worked here and have a valid work permit. This is the sort of disinformation that tars honest workers with the same brush as fraudsters. Nigerians don’t get socialising money, hair do money nor do they leave their prams at bustops in order to get welfare for a new one. All of this stuff is invented by xenophobes that perceive themselves as worse off. Im Irish but I think racism is endemic in Irish society. It’s tolerated in smart comments and jibes and shouldn’t be. I remember the paddy jokes of Brit TV of the 70s. Go back further and you’ll find that historically Irishmen were seen as syereotypical alcoholic spongers in other countries. I look at the news , 2000 foreign nationals delighted to get Irish citizenship. Yesterday a group of foreign students pleading for residency outside Dail Eireain. On TV our own Eamon Dunphy calls Ireland a dump and a kip. I think the vast majority of Poles have more respect for this country than him or his ilk.

• ……won’t somebody please think of the can children!!!!!! ( Simpsons needlessly hysterical joke) :-)

• have a look at the same Irish faces outside your local pub having a smoke on a daily basis ! maybe a story about Irish welfare abusers would be welcome !

• In my working day I walk past an early house that is full of Irish men. I’ll see the same faces every day. These are not independently wealthy people. most of them can be seen in the que at Bishops Square waiting to sign on. If we got our own house in order maybe then we could tackle Magda and her like

• Fair dues, a good article. People tend to turn to xenophobia and racism when the times are tough, looking for a scapegoat to place some of their woes onto. It’s good to see a Polish person speaking out about the subject so we can see it from the other point of view.

• I don’t go along with all the ceád mile failte (CMF) stuff and never did. So with that comment you can label me with whatever derogatory names you want, if that makes you feel good.

In the opening lines we have the wonderfully CMF line “Polish born Dubliner Anna Pas”.
    This lady is NOT a Dubliner no matter how polite the Journal is trying to be.

Other nice names like the ‘new Irish’ are also politically correct nonsense.

The author suggests we should stop thinking that it is the immigrants that should be ‘Blamed for creating the crisis’
    …I haven’t heard that one before, and I’m not sure anyone is really saying that.
    How many people have said this and who are they ? Urban myths can work both ways…

Personally, I reckon most came here for a good time, not for a long time. With absolutely no historic or cultural connections, a different language and a different way of life, its hard to think otherwise.

I guess the acid test is to ask;
    how many Poles came here from 1987-97 ?
    Or in the 10 years post the break-up of the Soviet Union if you prefer ?

I have always believed that the enforced immigration policy that was foisted upon us by FF’s lust for power was wrong.
    Dressed up politely as ‘multiculturialism’ it was culturally irresponsible to do what they did.

• Why isn’t she a Dubliner? She has lived in Dublin for 7 years and considers it home.

• Agree with dome of your points but I don’t think they could come here between 87/97 as they were not even in the EU then

• “Why isn’t she a Dubliner? She has lived in Dublin for 7 years and considers it home.”

- Was she born in Dublin?

- Did she go to school and grow up in Dublin?

- Does she have a Dublin accent?

If the answer to any of the above is no then she is not a Dub. If I lived in China for a few years, could I call myself an Irish born Chinese man? Of course not. This is basic stuff. Albeit it may not be very politically correct.

• “Why isn’t she a Dubliner? She has lived in Dublin for 7 years and considers it home.”

- Was she born in Dublin?

- Did she go to school and grow up in Dublin?

- Does she speak with a Dublin accent?

If the answer to any of the above is no, then I am afraid she is not a Dub. If I lived in China for a few years, could I call myself an Irish born Chinese man? Of course not. This is basic stuff. Albeit it may not be very politically correct.

• I’m Lithuanian.
      No I was not born here, but yes I grew up here, went to school here, yes I have an Irish accent, attend university here, work here…. I’m curious to see what you think of the younger generation who moved here with their families as children.
      Are we not “Dubliners” because we weren’t born here is it? Because we don’t have an Irish passport?…
      Major hole in your theory there in all fairness.

• Dubliners are people born and raised in Dublin.

No hole in my theory, the clue is in the name.

• Well I would have to disagree with you there. I have lived in Dublin for fourteen out of twenty years of my life. Never will I return to Lithuania, because of the unfair life which I would lead. I would like to see anyone tell me the value of life in Lithuania in context to money and fair living is better than Ireland.
      I do not intend to take money off the state during my life here, but I receive college grants and in my opinion I’m perfectly entitled to them having served nearly my whole school life in Ireland.
      I do see myself as a Dubliner, because I know no different. Lithuanian culture plays very little part in my life, and to state that I am not a Dubliner simply because of where I was born and not raised is very narrow minded.
      I love this country and its my home, whether anyone labels me Lithuanian or Irish really makes no difference to me, because I live here and I intend to for as long as I wish and can sustain myself with the part time job I have and assistance from the state.
      My Lithuanian passport really has no bearing on anything else than my nationality on paper. I know this isnt the case with a lot of non nationals, but I think I have a right to be here and work here just as much as anyone else.

• Dubliners are people born and raised in Dublin. Its as simple as that. You can disagree all you want.

• Strictly yes, realistically no. Any person who was born here such as my sister are Dubliners.
      But I dont think those whole 6 years of life in Lithuania mean I cant be a Dubliner if I live here so long.
      When I go to Lithuania I feel foreign there, so… what label can I be given then? If I dont feel Lithuanian, and I feel at home here, you cant just strictly exclude people from calling themselves Irish.
      I don’t tell people I’m Lithuanian and they don’t see my last name, they dont know the difference.
      So in fairness, its stubborn to suggest that only people born here can call themselves Dubliners. Their passport may say they’re Irish nationals, but people adopt the Irish culture if they’re here from childhood or for many years.

I know what you are trying to suggest – that strictly people born in Dublin are Dubliners for the rest of their lives, but some people do adopt cultures/labels for themselves even if they are not originally from here.

• I lived abroad too, but I didnt have the arrogance to lecture and abuse the natives(I saw your deleted comments)!

People whom are born in Cork, but move to Dublin for work are still Corkinians.

People whom were born in Lithuania, but move to Dublin are still Lithuanians.

Its as simple as that.

You can put a saddle on a cow, but it doesnt make it a horse.

• Rita says she’s Irish because she says she “loves this country and its my home” and has spent most of her life in Dublin. That’s good enough for me, it’s rather depressing to see so many thumbs down on her posts. Kevin’s attitude is contra to the assimilation of ‘new Irish’ people from abroad that love this nation and work hard for it.

• Wow slow down everyone there will always be small minded people who fear change , and some times blame that on the change in the people around them cause they have a different accent , are a different colour ,gender, religion , or different shaped hat ! So whets the surprise !? Anyway welcome and did I read it right your single and looking ? Ha

• I’m English lived here 10yrs but still don’t feel accepted going home soon shame because I love Ireland just not some of the people :(

• most of the people i find are racist in ireland are un educated.and dont want to work. its a shame magdas story was written in this way by the media.

• Attacking the Poles seems to be the ‘acceptable’ racism that the English would reserve for the Irish. At least Darren Scully was quickly removed from his position and faced legal ramifications, Judge Mary Devins appears to not be in danger of the same treatment.

I would wager that proportionally less Poles are on welfare than native Irish here in Ireland.

• Arbeit Macht Frei Polskis

• Hello Anna,
    I found your article accidentally while searching for some information about Ireland as my possible future holiday destination. You’re article kind of cheered me up, as I had similar impressions and small talks with people not in Ireland, but in the Netherlands, where I had been to an exchange for half a year. I am half Polish half Dutch and I speak dutch, although a little bit worse than polish, where I have spent most of my life, still fluent though. Oh my god, I just could not stand all those small conversations with native students starting from: ‘I clearly hear, you have an accent. Where are you from?’ and ‘ How can it be, that you speak so good dutch’?, haha. And the I had again and again recall my twisted life story. Then I had some problems with making friendships with natives from my course, which kind of upsetted me, because that was what I was counting for. Native students and foreign students although in one course, where usually keeping apart (everything was thought in english), not socialising much. But well, not everywhere you do make friends, I suppose and every nation has its habits.
    2012 was a difficult year for a Polish immigrant, so to see. In the Netherlands, the populists became openly hostile towards Polish workers and there was a website created for reporting people from Central-East Europeans if they cause any noise or are drinking. Crazy!
    Me personally, I have not heard a lot of bad words from Dutch people towards Polish. Only one fellow student, my lab partner, was pushing my boundaries by teasing me with stuff like: ‘hmm, measuring EC is such a Polish job’ or while introducing me to his mates: ‘This is my Polish’. -’Oh, Polish? Fspsjjpsjj!’. Another aquiantance asked me, if we are drunk all the time. For contrary, my dutch cousins friends where cool and one of them had a friend, who’s girl was Polish, other one went on an exchange and learned to speak fluently Polish in half a year, another was working with some Polish lads and although some of them told me, that yes, there is stereotype of a Polish who works hard drinks much, then I cannot complaint this much.
    Anyways, I agree, that it all starts in your head and props for the article and the comments, I think it became a quite interesting discussion.

• lukasz Tue, 9:25 PM #

Hi, Im Luke, Im Polish guy from Krakow living in Ireland for nearly two years, i”ve never came across any rasism. Irish people are in my opinion the most friendly people in europe. If we – Polish were at least half that tolerant compared to Irish – wow – that would be success! But for now, we can still learn a lot from them. We are often oversensitive – there are few reasons why is that but this could be long and boring story… I dont want to speak for other people or other nations but in my opinion the key thing is to try to socialise with irish people as much as it is possible so they can get know more about us, and think about us not only as “workers”. My Irish friend John from my working place came up with an idea to create little fotball team so we can play sometimes after work and I think its great idea becouse this is another opportunity to socialise! Ireland can make Polish people only “better” providing that we are on the right place with good people that we are surrounded by. Most Polish who worked in the past here in Ireland and now are back in Poland are now basically better, nicer people… really.. its like good washing machine for us. I realize that now when the recession is still visible everyone who came here to work can be potentially under fire. I also can understand young generation of Irish people that will be looking for job in near future. I respect and aprecciate the fact that I can work. I”m an Engineer and all I can say is that even if I was to leave Ireland becouse of some reasons I”lI try to do my best to leave company only in better condition so anybody after me would continue what I”ve started. Ireland and Irish People always been and will be number one best friends for Poland. They have excellent opinion in PL and they are very very welcome!

• Anna,

Thank you very much for representing Polish nation in Irish journalism. You couldnt describe the problem of ” indirect xenophobia” any better… the highly sympathetic stories about cleaning ladies are bizzarre! Thankfully there is a new topic this year on people`s mouth that might be just a saver …Euro 2012 in Poland.
    I am glad to see that your article caused a bit of stir, well let` s better call it a brainstorming session! :-) Those are always good, random sugesstions might actually bring us somewhere! Good luck in your career!

• @Tom, you should be careful how you word things. On reflection you might want to retract that outrageous accusation.

• Zapomnialas chyba z jakiego kraju pochodzisz.

Add New Comment