Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Thursday 24 May, 2012

Column: I worked as an escort to pay my family’s bills

Image: mynameisharsha via Flickr

Having lost her job, mother Scarlett O’Kelly – not her real name – spent a year working as an escort in Ireland to pay her bills. After writing a new book about those 12 months, she told TheJournal.ie about her experiences in an interview.

IT WAS FOR financial reasons. I’d lost my job, and I’m separated and my husband’s hours were slashed as well so he couldn’t contribute. This is a very expensive country to break up in. And it was a case of nothing coming in, bills mounting up, and three kids to feed and raise. Initially I said I’d do it just as a once-off.

It wasn’t a decision I made with a click of my fingers. It was something I’d thought about. It was actually something I’d discussed with a friend jokingly – you know, ‘I’m so desperate I’ll need to sell my body, ha ha.’ And then I suppose because I wasn’t working I had loads of time to look up things, and out of curiosity I started looking into it.

I was looking things up online, and I was looking at what was available, and the normal rate, and what was expected on the client’s side and all this sort of information. And I thought I wonder could I do that. It’d be easy enough to manage around school times, and any of the guys online sounded normal enough. So I kind of just arranged my first appointment. That was probably my worst in terms of nerves. But it was just ordinary, boring – nice enough guy, not scary or freaky or anything. And I just kind of thought, well, I’ve done it once now.

And I think the kids were asking for something – I think the boys were asking about getting football boots or something, and I was saying we’ll have to leave that for now. Because I was just saying no to everything at that stage. But then I just thought, I’m going to do this again, because really saying no to everything is just horrible. And it’s not fair on children nowadays. They didn’t ask to wreck the economy, and to grow up without basic things. I thought, this is your childhood, this is my life, we’ve been scrimping for some time and there’s no sign of a change.

‘I found that a lot of men in Ireland are familiar with this industry’

So I put an ad up online. And it was very scanty the details, but it was enough to rope in some of the guys who were looking for a causal encounter. I got a response within a few minutes.

There were two friends who I told when I started. But I didn’t say it to anyone else, because I knew what their reaction would be. So it was mostly around school time, or when the kids were with their dad, or at weekends when the kids were away with their dad. I kind of worked it around that way.

I found that a lot of men in Ireland are quite familiar with this industry, with the lingo and how it works and how it operates. That was quite surprising to me. It’s like there’s another world going on there, with the sex industry in Ireland. And unless you’ve had a reason to go into it, or to dip your toe into it, you will be completely blissfully unaware that it exists. But the minute you dip your toe into it you realise that it is so pervasive, and it really is in every corner of Ireland. Normal, regular guys. If you look around your office, or wherever you are – it’s guys who are your colleagues, whatever.

It was various different things with the clients. Sometimes it was just that there was nothing happening at home, that they would just say their partner wasn’t interested, or was busy, tired, busy with children, or was working way geographically – like people who go to the city for the week and then come home for the weekend. Sometimes it was because the marriage had broken down but they couldn’t afford to split up. Other times it was just people who wanted something extra. The only common thread that I would see is a lack of communication with their partner, about what they wanted in the bedroom or what they thought was lacking in the relationship.

For that 12-month period, I paid my mortgage. I kept a roof over my head, and fed and put clothes on my kids. I didn’t make a ton of money – it was nothing but basics; my kids don’t do private school, there’s no ski trips or whatever. But I still had all those things at the end of the year, as opposed to not doing what I did and perhaps losing my home.

‘Would my conscience have been annoying me more if I let my kids go to bed hungry at night?’

It’s not a case of will you go and work for a good organisation in a permanent pensionable job for 40 grand, or will you go and sell your body. That’s not the choice. Would my conscience have been annoying me more if I let my kids go to bed hungry at night? Yeah, it would. That’s what you balance. So it was just a case of which was the better scenario.

I know I had no other options. You don’t go and take the risks it entails – even though it was different to what I had seen portrayed in the media – without being desperate. I know I went through absolutely everything. I’d applied for everything, I’d applied for those work-from-home things… Even that phone sex stuff, I thought well that’s something I can do. But actually you can’t, it’s tied up in legislation with the bloody communication regulator in Ireland.

In some respects I guess I was lucky. I was lucky enough about the people I saw. I made sure that they knew there’d be CCTV there wherever I was meeting them. And told them from the outset what I would and wouldn’t do. But obviously, the longer I did it, the more I was likely to run into somebody dodgy.

Now, I do it if I’m stuck for money. I do it if there’s a big expense that your normal salary woudln’t cover. It’s only a couple of times every few months really. I work part time now, at what would have been my previous professional occupation, so that suits me fine. I’m hoping to continue on working. Raise my kids, hopefully put them through college. Normal boring stuff like that.

As told to Michael Freeman. Scarlett O’Kelly’s book Between The Sheets is available now published by Penguin Ireland.

Column: Do we have the right to buy or sell sex?>

Column: ‘I thought what I was doing was normal’ – an escort’s story>

Read Next:

Comments (68 Comments)

• Neicy in Cork 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Secret Diary of a Call Girl : Ireland

• jimbo 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Sad story and worse your not the only one,and who have we to thank for it?
    Our silly government.

• Ardo Ci 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Pretty cool, Scarlett. I’m full of admiration. However, it’s another indictment against Irish government that they fail to uphold the constitution that demands THEY provide for every citizen so that Scarlet wouldn’t have to make the choices did. It also puts to bed that hoary (puns intended) old chestnut that long-term unemployed do it for the benefits. Long live social enterprise I say. F$#k democracy – we need a better way.

• Karl Harty 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Didnt sound like she doesnt like doing it! Again the comments go straight back to government bashing. Alot of ye are obsessed. Keep them comments for the relative stories FFS

• Francis Cussen 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

suppose, the only thing to do when the mortgage lender has you bent over the counter

• Mata Mata 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Minister Shatter give us modern legislation to protect these people , it’s the oldest profession and will always be with us . Be bold and legalize and regulate and protect !

• Aydo 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Tough call for a woman with kids to make, working in a unregulated illegal and dangerous (I imagine) industry.
    Would legalising it change anything or have negative affects? I doubt it.

• Karl Doyle 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Legislation which allowed it and protected those involved would probably have positive effects and make it seen as more of a lifestyle choice, last-resort job and not the current view that it is the only job sluts can do which is obviously not the case.

• Jay Warner 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Scarlet made an income the way she had available to her at the time. I would have no moral objection at all it’s no different to being a building labourer or even a boxer. Making use or your body and skills to give a service others will pay for. It makes me laugh that even now people get so prudish or ashamed about sex… If anything this should be legalized to ensure safety for all concerned rather that criminalizing those involved. The real criminals are the pimps and others that abuse the workers in the business because they know they can, as the law stands at the minutes.

• Colin Brophy 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

By your logic you could become a hitman and kill people for money. You are using your body and your skills and providing a service. I feel bad that she felt she had no other option but her answer was not the right one.

• Aydo 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Poor logic Colin. Very poor. A hitman kills for money, she pleasures for money, harming no one.
      She did what she thought was best for her and her kids. I can only commend that.

• Margot Kenny 18/02/12 #
      Report this comment

This is all wrong. The woman did what she did out of desperation not a ‘lifestyle choice’. Putting your body at the disposal of random strangers to be used in the most intimate way for money could not possibly be enjoyable or satisfying work. Prostitution exploits the most vulnerable and while it will clearly always be with us, as will hit men, drug and alcohol abuse, rape etc. and all manifestations of uncontrolled human urges and addictions, that does not make it right or acceptable. Why is Amsterdam now rethinking its red light district?

• Report this comment

She wrote a book? God, the grammar is so bad in this article, I’d hate to see the book.

• Dublin Call Girl 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Just what we need. More prostitution myths from that tiny 1% sliver of the industry that CAN go write a book.

http://secretdiaryofadublincallgirl.wordpress.com/2012/02/02/between-the-sheets/

• v 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Why can’t you write a book? Nobody is stopping youi from doing that are they? You have obviously the time to write your blog so rathar than complain about someone else writing a book why dont you spend your time writing to make money and stay out of an industry that has left you vunerable and scarred- would seem like a better investment of your time rathar than comment on a book you’ve not read. I’ve just read the book, it gives one side of the story here in Ireland but surely in a democracy everyone is entitled to give their opinion? Fair play to her I say, shes quick to point out the nasty side of prostitution and condem it but also give an account of her experienced- thats a balanced account in my opinion.

• Yeera Yeahboy 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I admire her attitude. She never once complained about the government. She instead found her own solution.

• matt doyle 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

same thought crossed my mind Weasel, seems a made up story to me.

• pagan 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I have to say did she really think of her kids?All it takes is to meet one weird violent man and god for bid her kids would be without a mother.She puts great spin and makes it sound so safe to do.I wonder if the journal interviewed other women in the same profession would they tell the same story.Some how I don’t think so.

• micktwatter 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Sad story. Phone number please.

• Michael Fagan 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Why doesn’t she call a spade a spade,
    Hiring out your body for use in sexual acts is known as prostitution ,
    Most prostitutes are forced into the profession either by pimps or by economic hardship, the notion of “the happy hooker” is a myth. Most want out.
    Prostitution is known as the oldest profession, and will always be around.
    It must be legalized with proper medical control and counseling for the girls (and boys) involved. Paying VAT and income tax. And doing away with the pimps.

• Brian 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

First of all, that name…Scarlett O’Kelly. It’s about as embarrassingly cliched as you can get. What marketing genius came up with that?

Apparently the book is not an expose of the Irish vice trade but rather “an insightful view of the sexual lives of Irish couples”. But if the book is as boring as this article I can’t imagine it’s going to sell much. “If you look around your office, or wherever you are – it’s guys who are your colleagues, whatever.” Zzzzzzzz…..

She sounds like a boring middle class oulwan hoping to squeeze some cash from even more boring middle class oulwans. It should sell well in south county Dublin.

• Jamie Walsh 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

There’s a few issues I have with this.

(1) It’s poorly written and probably untrue. It doesn’t feel remotely real. The book is a commercial, money making venture in itself. Judging from article, it’s trying to appeal to a specific publisher’s demograph, namely ‘the bored, middle class, middle aged housewife. It should come with the tag line “Blandtastic reading! Pick me up if you want to be mildly shocked and mildly entertained in precisely equal measure”.

(2) Scarlett O’Kelly sounds like a name made-up by a committee, as the entire book does. They probably high-fived each other when it popped out.

(2) Her boys can live without football boots, or she could pop into Guineys for a cheap pair. This has to be the worst example in history as to why a woman prostituted herself. It entirely dilutes her claim later in the article that she thought she might lose her house or that her children would starve.

(3) It’s irresponsible. To a large extent it glamorises the sex industry with the “if I ever need a few bob I pull my knickers down” attitude. Personally, I’d prefer to see more column inches dedicated to actual problems with the sex industry in Ireland – sex trafficking and drug addiction, etc – not this nonsense. I’m surprised that The Journal didn’t decide to put this in the Daily Edge section, which is where it belongs.

• Imran Ali 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Ah might as well throw out a book as well, make the most of it

• ciaran kelly 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Doubt she paid tax on all her income working in her “Scarlett O Kelly” days!

Maybe the revenue should be back dating her liabilities on the proceeds of her new book and if not? then why not?

They are doing it to the ordinary PAYE worker!!!

• Tiny Tomato 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s unfortunate that this piece doesn’t truly reflect the prostitution industry in Ireland because it really is a nasty feckin’ profession to be involved in.

• Craig Walters 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s not so much a solution to her problems but a protest at her situation

• Report this comment

In fairness this article is nonsense. Lonely divorcee goes on the game to pay for her kids and bills, Big wop. She likes having sex and is charging guys for it, fairness we pay one way or another. Its the oldest industry in the world, is this such a shock to ppl? I whore myself out to the gambling industry for less money when all I’d like to do is work in a bank. Wish I could get paid for lying on my back,

• Laura Higgins 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Poor girl, men can be bastards and I don’t believe she had an easy time with her clients. I know she states there were things she would and would not do and that there was cctv but if she was that desperate for money god only knows how far and how hard she had to work for it. I would never sell my body anyway its not in that good a condition anymore haha

• Mary Alagna 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

What does it matter- whether she does it for the ‘fancy lifestyle’ or just the basic money? Why do we think we have the moral high ground in condemning prostitution/ Shaming sex workers is pa part of what contributes to the rationalisation of those that exploit and abuse sex workers. The people who pay for sex quite often are choosing to have their intimate encounters that way for various reasons… it’s not only men who can”t get it any other way by any stretch of the imagination.
    I am not saying it’s an ideal choice for anyone, especially when our system is set up without any support for the sex worker at all, but no one has any right to condemn her for her choice. It shouldn’t be illegal to begin with, but it should be properly regulated, for the safety of all involved, both client and service provider.

• Gemma Danae 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

http://www.turnoffthebluelight.ie

educate yourselves people.

• GM. 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Her spelling and grammar is very poor in this article. A book should have a good story but more importantly, a good writer behind it.

• Shea Fitzgerald 05/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Only when writing fiction. In this case the writer IS the story and the un polished or unedited text gives it a very edgy, real and conversational feel, almost like an accent in speech.

Who knows…if she is canny enough, and she is by the sound of it, she can sell the movie rights, stop worrying about money and get back to having sex for fun.

A gutsy lady. Fair play to you Scarlett Whatever-your-name-is.

• GM. 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@ shea – Sorry I don’t agree. I think the way she writes is awful. You may feel it’s “raw and edgy” but it would just be frustrating after a while.

• Louisa Harley 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I think she tells the story the way it is,,most people hear so much about the subject in every town,it gets boring,Men and Woman take up prostitution,drugs play a big part,However the safety aspect should be looked into for the sake of those who have young babies.sometimes for that reason legalisation might be the best option,so laws can be put in place for security reasons.

• v 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Incidentally, her book is actually very well written and a great read. She clearly didn’t write this article as in her radio interviews, she very articulate and comes accross as well educated. Go and read the book so you can make an informed decision about it rathar than speculate.

• Jamie Walsh 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I doubt there is a ‘She’ the book sounds like it was written by a committee and the article reads like it was written by their intern.

• GM. 04/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@V : thejournal.ie say she wrote the article, I suggest you make an informed decision before you speculate.

• Cpm 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Working on your English should be a higher priority for you, sparky

• joseph mcgee 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

cpm, i’d settle for just workin!

• Marie Carroll 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Noted that thus article got the 2nd highest number of comments on the journal.ie blog in the last 24 hours. Only to be outdone by the article on the ethics of exhibiting human remains. Interesting how ethical issues are high on the agenda these days….

• Louisa Harley 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Joseph Mcgee,should get an award for the funniest comment,Big Brad hahaha,lol

• Aranthos Faroth 04/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Yeah well, drug dealers pay their bills too – still illigal.

• Anne Robinson 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Most of the negative comments are from males!! Interesting……

• jimbo 05/02/12 #
    Report this comment

@jibberish i get it more than you and dont pay,maybe it cause you pay you have the issue lol!!!

• Report this comment

Would you prefer to drive an escort or work as one? In the former category. Battered piece of shite it is too. No chance of getting any shex in that

Add New Comment