TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Column: Industrial action by gardaí is unacceptable – and here’s why

Cuts to garda pay and conditions are shameful and short-sighted – but officers have a civic duty that overrides any option of industrial action, writes Aaron McKenna.

Aaron McKenna

MEMBERS OF AN Garda Siochana are forbidden from striking on account of their vital role in preserving the peace and maintaining law and order in the State. The government seems to be foolishly using this as the cornerstone to their negotiations with members of the force, who are now openly voting to engage in a guerrilla form of industrial action through work to rules and potential blue flus.

Members of the force have a very legitimate demand to be protected from further pay cuts during the Croke Park II process. Indeed, they deserve pay increases for the increasingly strenuous work they do in an era of insufficient resources, where fewer police do more work with less in their hands. Nevertheless, given the special position of the gardaí, industrial action that is a strike by any other name is nothing short of sedition against the authority of the State.

The Macushla Revolt

The Garda Representative Organisation was formed in the wake of the “Macushla Revolt” in November 1961, when many gardaí started to meet and organise in protest of their poor pay and conditions. Back in those days there was a force-sanctioned body to represent gardaí that was stuffed with the officer class, old guards who looked after themselves and didn’t much bother with the conditions suffered by younger and increasingly well-educated rank and file.

A pay deal was reached that gave rises to older guards, particularly those coming up on retirement whose pensions would be most positively affected; and younger gardaí got nothing in a move quite reminiscent of the state of public sector pay today: The older generation pulling up the ladder behind them in the guise of union deals that leave new entrants, like graduate nurses, expected to do the same work for less money.

The younger guards in 1961 were in an organisation of strict discipline and few pleasures. Guards posted around the country lived in sparse barracks and had to observe a curfew at midnight when off duty. They lived at the whims of their superiors and were not well paid for the standards of the day.

Well over a thousand gardaí crammed into the Macushla Ballroom in Buckingham Street to organise a protest against their pay and conditions. The leadership posted senior officers on the doors and started to take names, and 11 gardaí were dismissed from the force; including Jack Marrinan, who would later become the first full-time general secretary of the Garda Representatives Association (GRA) that is organising industrial action today.

The Archbishop of Dublin, Dr. John Charles McQuaid, stepped in to mediate between the disaffected gardaí and the then Minister for Justice, a man unaccustomed to luxurious conditions himself, Charles Haughey. The dismissed gardaí were reinstated and steps were taken to both resolve the problems and create a process for relieving tensions in an organisation that cannot go on strike.

Problems soothed by spending

Peace reigned (mostly) contentedly until the Celtic Tiger took off, and gardaí took to having a ‘blue flu’ in protest at the widening gap between their pay and that of people like teachers, with whom they had had parity to date. That problem was put to bed in a time of ever increasing government spending, though the principal of having a blue flu became a reality that was bound to resurface during as straitened a time as today.

The government is looking for reductions in overtime pay, premiums for working night shifts, weekends and holidays. The pay of gardaí is a naturally complicated animal, given the nature of how they work. It has been much derided the idea that guards assigned desk jobs receive payments in lieu of the unsociable hours they no longer get to work. But, if that has become a part of their take home that they base their family budget on then we’d have a hard time getting guards into vital desk jobs if it meant the very backwards incentive of a pay cut in return for career progression. Thus, there is a law of unintended consequences in cutting various payments to gardaí that should be considered.

The government is continuing their process of blunt blanket cuts, and so they are asking all workers affected by shifts and unsociable hours and so forth – mainly frontline workers – to accept the same calibre of cut as they go looking for pen pushers to give up allowances and oddities in their pay packets. There is no discrimination in the world of well-paid politicians, senior civil servants and union bosses who hide bureaucrats behind frontline workers in their negotiations. There is never any notion of closing a quango and using the money to pay for gardaí to – heaven forbid – get paid more for working nights than nine to five.

No justification for sedition

Nevertheless there can be no justification for gardaí to engage in sedition, such as going on effective strike or refusing through work-to-rule to uphold the peace as ordered by the government and the Garda Commissioner. There is a mutual obligation between the gardaí and the government, that they will uphold the peace come what may; and the government must treat them specially from other groups in recognition of their role and the burdens they bear without right to industrial action.

The gardaí deserve a better deal on their pay; we need more of them and to provide them with more equipment and backing. If our political leaders are too feeble minded to see this and take action on it, however, the gardaí must not endanger the stability and order of the country through industrial action.

They must, in effect, be the bigger men.

Aaron McKenna is a businessman and a columnist for TheJournal.ie. He is also involved in activism in his local area. You can find out more about him at aaronmckenna.com or follow him on Twitter @aaronmckenna. To read more columns by Aaron click here.

Read next:

Comments (141 Comments)

• I think it’s perfectly reasonable for the gardai not to use their personal mobiles for communication during working hours.

• Our inept Government are taking advantage of the fact Gardai can’t strike. Aside from that it’s a poor reflection on FG and lab that the last time there was a blue flu they were in power, and it’s not often they are. They cause nothing but trouble and should be pushed out before they do any more damage to our country.

• tell me rob cunningham, who do you want to see in there yourself? should we go back to fianna fail? we all remember what happened with them. there a bunch of crooks. how about sinn fein? and lets have oueselves back in a civil war. no matter how we look at this, having fine gael and labour is probably the best for this country at the moment. dont forgwt all these cuts are being made because of the legacy left by the last government. they are the crooks that signed the bank guarantee scheme. how much did fianna fail have invested in Anglo irish bank I would love to know, and not as a political party, but as individuals.

• Tell me brian doran, do you think a great job involves driving a country closer to standstill, not delivering on any item on the manifesto for government on which they got elected and for a second time in less than 20 years backing those who uphold the law in our country into a corner with no options. It’s people with the mentality that this government is doing a good job and the best we can hope for that are helping bring struggling households to their knees. Yes the other lot can never get back in, but why let the current bunch survive on that basis. We need to send a message to the and future governments that we won’t accept less!

• The system is rotten to the core. Complaining that we have “nobody else” to vote for just supports the rotten structure we have. Get out there and look for parties that are starting up and dump these inept civil war parties in the bin where they belong.

• Ryan'O 16/02/13 #

The typical defeatist Irish mindset.

We’ll never get out of this mess if everyone thinks like that!

• journal.ie what constitutes a duplicate comment???

• “Not another red cent”

• I agree. Especially when the cost of making the calls will not be refunded by the State.

Gardai should not use their private vehicles on State duties to make up for the lack of patrol vehicles and a proper Garda transport fleet as there is every possibility that their private insurance cover will not cover such use. Insurance companies do not indemnify State employees on State business; and why should they?

Gardai should take it upon themselves to make up for the inability of their employers to provide equipment, resources and technology required for proper policing.

That is keystone cops stuff and is totally unprofessional. But that is not a problem for our idiotic government of fools.

• Slightly conflicted by all of this talk of industrial action myself Aaron, but what are the alternatives? We are being completely ignored and as a group, we feel we’re being backed into a corner…

• Damian I would imagine most Garda are probably feeling the same as yourself! I don’t know how much Garda earn but anecdotally it seems that quite a lot are struggling to make ends meet these days! One point thing that I would say is that I feel the GRA walked away from the talks far too early, I believe they should have at least listened to the full terms and then went to the members! It would have at least been able to give its ‘members’ a black and white picture of what was being proposed and the net effect of everything! I don’t mean this as an attack on anyone just trying to rationalise as to why they walked out so early in the talks!

• I’m in AGSI and I’d fully back they’re decision to pull out… The intentions of the government were laid out in the first round of talks, they were deemed so unacceptable that being part of a negotiation would been wrong as it would have implied some form of consent when the cuts are made…. And unfortunately, they will be made in my opinion, hence the very real threat of some form of action

• *their

• @ Damien. What rank are you, how much do you take home and what would be the effect of the cut? Genuinely this enables us understand if it seems fair. I ask as I know a 30 year old detective with a house driving an almost new passat and has plenty of money to socialize. This does not strike me as hardship.

• Ted the reality is neither GRA or AGSI have a voice at the table its left to other unions to argue for them, unions who have their own members to represent without adding 2 more to their cause. The fact that these well meaning people are not in the job or may know absolutely nothing about it puts them in a weaker position to start. The reason for not engaging was the heavy handed attitude of the official side saying choose your cut or we will just cut you. Interestingly enough at the outset the official side conceded that they may not be able to make a pro rata saving of 1.4m from civilians in the dept but they are intent in taking 16.8m from garda wage budget. Any savings made through career break or retirement will not count towards the saving figure.

On top of this they want another hour per day for free. This in itself is a pay cut and as most garda work a 58/60 hour cycle before a day off under new agreed rosters is not agreeable to workers who deserve their days off with their families. Proposals to cut leave and days off also were mentioned. In negotiations there has to be give and take but this is just take and take.

I hope this enlightens you as to why the rep bodies are not engaging in tn”talks outside talks”

• Damian, I take your point that they understood that they were never going to agree with them but it is possible to continue to engage with them all the while making it perfectly clear that you are against what they are proposing. I just feel it would have been better to hear exactly what changes were being made and if as you say they will make the change regardless of their participation in the talks then it would surely be better to have someone in their fighting your corner.

• Genuinely see your point, I just feel they (the rep bodies) felt they had to make a stand…
      Simon, my p60 shows a very impressive figure that is based no where near reality, PAYE @42%, pension levy, pension contributions, USC and PRSI ensure that 55% of my gross figure goes directly back to the state. I know the pension will be of benefit to me in time but this is of no solace to me or my colleagues on the 7th of every month.
      Oh, and I have a nice car too… Which I was able to afford because my wife has a decent job in the private sector !!!

• Simon, we all know a cat who knows a dog, whose owner told the postman, who told a woman, who told my friend who told me, that there is a particular public servant who is doing well and somehow we take it that everyone of the 290,000 or so public servants in this country are not affected by the cuts already implemented. Using one person’s economic circumstances to justify cuts to everyone is no justification at all.

• @ Damien. Everyone pays tax do you are not unique there. The continued shying away of the gardai to declare gross earnings publicly does not help garner sympathy. It you are being shafted, tell people numbers. They will work harder than emotion.

• I rest my case.

• PAYE @42%, pension levy, pension contributions, USC and PRSI – Damian in fairness that’s undermining your point, everyone no matter what sector pays all of the same taxes, it’s one of the certainties of life. The only difference between yours and mine is the pension contributions but after your 35 years service you will get back an awful lot more than you’ve put in which is a benefit I will never enjoy.

• We took a 10% pay cut 3 years ago on top of increases in tax/pension contributions/USC, tale home pay is down silly amounts of money weekly. Mortgage repayments are not. Now they want to pay us almost the same rate at 3am on a Sunday morning as 10am on a Tuesday??? Surely there has to be some perk for workimg nights, sundays and bank hoidays??? It’s the night duty and Sunday pay that’s keeping most Gardai’s head above water at the minute, if that’s cut you will see a mass exodus of young members from the force… It’s as simple as that!

(I’m out of this discussion now, off to Mullingar for the brigids v cross game!!!)

• There has been plenty of people posting figures in similar articles over the last week or so and you have chosen to ignore them. There has also been links of official figures, You can’t just selectively listen or read to push forward your argument , by jumping on different people each time you see someone with an opposite view to you over this debate, It’s getting tiresome

• The agsi wont partake in a blue flu..it will be left to gardai to do the dirty work

• Ted. …. The GRA never entered negotiations on pay cuts. There’s a signed, sealed and ‘being delivered’ Croke Park Agreement. It’s written in INK not pencil… The briefings the GRA attended had very little information in them other than cuts. €60 million of savings over 3 years (2013 to 2015 incl) was being looked for. GRA pointed out that the year 2013 was supposed to be protected from cuts. At the very last briefing the documents the GRA insisted on receiving were handed over and it became apparent how they intended making the savings. GRA feel the savings were already made through the reduction in numbers in the force. Govt were looking to also cut numbers by incentivized career break but wouldn’t include the cost savings from those reductions. Also wanted an extra hour per working day for free and the ability to bank those hours and bring Garda in when they wanted them and cut out overtime and Dept didn’t want to count the € saved in that towards the €60milion…. or indeed any savings made from anywhere other than pay…. It was a case of “we will cut your pay, now show us which cuts you’d like first, and which 2nd” and “no matter what happens Govt will cut your pay for the same €60million regardless”.. GRA and AGSI view any move to do this as a breach of Croke Park Agreement (CPA)…. CPA says the parties will not engage in industrial action during term of CPA as long as no cuts – therefore if cuts are imposed there WILL be ind action.

• If you know a 30 year old Detective with a house and a nearly new passat then his wife is working in a good job. What part of country does he live in? Back arse of lietrim with a two bed house? Ballsbridge with a 5 bedroom house? There is no way a 30 year old detective is keeping a house, new car and plenty of nightlife on his salary. Im 36yo detective and i take home about 25000-27000. Take from that 14000 for modest 3 bed house in a dublin commuter town. 2000 a year for esb and gas. 1000 a year for home and car ins and management fees. 120 a week for travel to and from work include diesel and various car running costs, round down to 5000 a year. And you tell us that a younger detective with lesst service is so well off. Pull the other one

• AGSI and the GRA should merge and stop Fu*king around but who in AGSI wants to be associated with the ‘grunts’?

• Thanks John, I hadn’t understood that it wasn’t actually negotiations but it makes more sense now! I have friends who are Garda and whatever about pay I don’t know how they can possibly add hours to their rosters without adding more hours to the day, it’s crazy at times!

• A sergeant brings home about €550 a week after the deductions Damien mentions. Thats if the member works the full complement of night duty, Saturdays and Sundays. Its a reasonable wage but nothing extraordinary considering the stress and risks involved. A cut of €170 will have Damien bring home about the same as a married man with 2 kids on welfare.

• Might have been left money as I can assure you thats the exception not the rule.

His rank does not matter. Actually to be honest alot of guards who would be perfect for higher ranks don’t promote because after takes and all I don’t even think going for guard to sgt is worth 20 a week and your going to spend more then that on fuel to go to new station.

The last blue flu AGSI did not fall in behind. Looks like this time they will but of course there must be some form of cover. I’d hate to see any action but if it has to happen is hope the GRA & AGSI knock heads and stagger a flu. Guards go one day then come back and they go the next. Covered but would grand our internal system to a halt with a work to rule as well. Best thing is to not affect the public directly but to grind the court system and fcps systems to a halt.

• @Simon Blake …. I cant see Your problem with Damien or whoever including tax in his reply….. Damien has to include tax, USC, PRSI, pension levy in his reply or otherwise some people reading mightn’t see actual take home pay..
      Also, not all workers pay pension levy. If youre anywhere near being a Maths teacher then do the sums yourself , reverse-engineering it by adding the tax back in ;-)

• Run in with the law then simon???

Funny how alot of guards are ex teachers ex bank managers ex accountants. When it comes to joining the police here many are called but few are chosen.

Now stop being a troll :)

• @ Vinny. He lives in Dublin west and is unmarried. If you are only earning gross 27k (I find that impossible to believe) then you are the bigger fool. You could earn more as a manager in McDonalds. If you are taking home 27k. Then you are earning very little as a detective. If that’s the genuine take home then it is too low but I suspect you are massaging your numbers.

• @simon, you ask for numbers and when someone steps up to tell you, you tell him he’s lying? Do you live in reality at all?

• Not one bit massaged simon, sorry for not suiting your waffle. My take home is as stated you asked i told you and because the truth doesnt suit u it must be lies.

• So the Government believe with past pay deals agreed over the last twenty years with no strike clauses written in , that it is now unlawful to strike???? Well as a frontline worker myself ive seen at least a 20% pay cut as well as the USC and PRSI increases and stealth( bin charges, property,car,water…..next will be air) taxes……..Surely these pay cuts make past pay agreements null and very much VOID!!! A point ive been stressing at union meetings. Never mind the fact guards have a duty to the state….surely their first duty is to put food on the table, a roof over their head and and provide for their families a basic human instinct….for this anything goes and if that means strike then so be it and fair play……..TDs getting allowances just to show up in the dail for work!!!!! will this be cut????? bankers that destroyed this country still out playing golf,( not one behind bars) Ex TDs on weekly pensions that most people would have to work 2 mths for!!! all this and we expect the people who put their lives on the line every minute of everyday to take YET ANOTHER pay cut for the better of the state!!!! Shame on this government ….especially Labour….someone remind me what they stand for again??????

• Pride in the uniform doesn’t pay mortgages these days..imagine telling a bank manager I cant pay my mortgage because I have recently had my pay decreased by 170.00 per week and I cant get that back because im meant to have pride in the uniform as the comissioner states. It easy to preach on €150, 000 plus

• Pride in the uniform my arse! I thought the Commissioner would have had more cop-on and realism than to spout that sh*it.

It’s like a hooker claiming pride in her knickers – or lack of one!

That’s what comes when career desk-jockeys go to the top. They know very little of real, front-line, down and dirty policing!

Pretty talk and political brown-nosing makes for a bad policeman! Even if one does get to the top!

• What a lot of people don’t realise that if these pay cuts go through it will force some gardai who are already struggling over the edge financially and what is not readily known contained in the garda rules and regulations this is not allowed occur, if it does bye bye job. Not many jobs that fire you for being too heavily in debt caused by their paycuts

• I am not a Garda and you’re right Aaron – Gardaí are denied the opportunity to strike by law.

But just as journalists should not be forced to print the opinion of the paper’s owner, the Gardaí have a conscience they have a moral right to follow, financial responsibilities they are obliged (like the rest of us) to fulfil and a discerning voice that deserves to be heard as loudly & as clearly as the next.

Smug Shatter has an agenda: rank & file Gardaí, their pay & conditions, community policing are not on it. He has a budgetary bottom-line he is determined to reach at any cost, by whatever means.
    Just like most other departments run by financially secure politicians cooped up in their ivory towers they have no concept of the financial difficulties faced by others who were admonished to ‘do their patriotic duty’ by putting their ‘shoulder to the wheel’ and accept these ‘necessary’ cuts.
    Well no more, Shatter. Getting our children to pay for the Promissory note has saved us €1bn per year. This ‘wheel’ our shoulder is put to is for a vehicle being driven by incompetent fools. Our patriotic duty is to stop the madness of appeasing Europe and to start protecting our own.
    More Gardaí & frontline staff should rise up & the more patriotic thing to do would be to support them!

• Thats all well and good Aaron. I have it on good authority that when the paycut proposals were put to AGSI and the GRA by the official side they were told these cuts are coming in and there would be no negociating on the matter. Gardai dont take industrial action lightly, they never have and never will, however when Government and senior management wield the big stick and back the front line into a corner eventually they have to stand up for themselves, their profession and their rights. The proposed cuts will see a Garda have hus pay cut by €170 over 18 months. That will cripple most Garda families. They have no choice but to fight back against these cuts. I wish them well.

• I was speaking to a friend of mine a Garda who informed me that there is a law/directive that if a member of the force falls into financial difficulty they can be disciplined and the provision is there to be sacked
    That’s just nuts- sorry talkin about fighting a battle with one hand tied behind ur back- sorry two hands cause u can’t strike either-
    So I’d they wanted to get rid of u out of the job or find a stick to beat u with it seems pretty easy
    I feel sorry for them in the currant situation I really do

• The Garda are right to protect themselves, all other sections should take a leaf out of their book while they still can, the country is been destroyed by a government of fat cat bullies.

• Unfortunately being the bigger man will not pay the bills its that simple

• If a garda’s pay is cut and they can no longer pay their bills then they can be sacked. It seems that guards have no other option than to oppose these cuts in every way they can.

• All adults in Ireland should make their voice heard, not just the gardai.
    The vast majority of people in ireland have been affected by the economic downturn, with wage cuts be they gardai, nurses, waitresses, office staff etc. To say that certain people with a certain professions are more important than others is snobbery.
    EVERYONE needs to demand change and fairness from this government!!!!

• What “wage cuts” were already imposed? Let’s examine your definition:

Approximately 14% cut to Irish public sector pay (compared to 60% in Greece and 30% in Latvia)

Now I’m pissed…..

• B 16/02/13 #

REPOST Regonald

You put the exact same quote up on another article.

A wage cut (however big or small) is a wage cut, no need for quotation marks. You SEEM to IMPLY a 30% wage cut (as in Latvia) is actually a proper wage cut, well Gardaí and othe public servants have had their pay cut by 25%-35%..does that satisfy your criteria?

• siobeli 16/02/13 #

I’m talking across all sectors, public and private.
      Wage cut encompasses, reduction in pay from employer, hours being reduced, increased USC etc.
      I work in private sector, employer has reduced my hourly wage, completely cut sick pay days from 10 days per year to zero, and looking at cutting my hours.

• Pong 16/02/13 #

What is your income and what do you work at …just for comparison…or will you even reply

• How then do people negotiate with employers who are cutting pay and using the fact that guards and other frontline PS staff are prohibited from strike action.

These same employers use the wording of any agreement to load the brunt of cut to those who can least afford it and work the hardest.

The existing Croke park saw the lower paid take on average 15% pay cut whilst the highest paid saw only a 6% cut in pay. Also those same high paid PS workers who happen to be political appointments also gained from the fact that cuts to their pensions were done on an individual basis meant the fact these are Likely to have multiple pensions save them from the highest cuts.

If you want to engage in pay cuts at least show your going to do so fairly.

• Aaron, strangely enough, having read your article, I agree with you. I didn’t think I would. Members of An Garda Siochana should not engage in sedition. They HAVE a unique position in Irish society charged with upholding the law. However, EVERY year, millions are wasted by outdated work methods and processes. The real unwillingness to change lies with those paid what I consider to be exorbitant wages, to direct such methods and processes. Petty infighting, a culture of climbing the professional ladder as well as political cronyism have resulted in these “leaders” becoming so removed from the rank and file that they are now where they are. The hemorrhage of money from every facet of the public sector is not because of the front line staff and yet they are now faced with the consequences. I do not believe that Gardai or any public sector staff WANT to take any form of action. I believe they are being forced into a corner from where they can be demonized by politicians. As a public service worker for 15 years I have never complained about my pay. I reckoned I may never get rich but i’ld never starve. Lately however, I panic about my partner and kids needing medical treatment lest I don’t have enough money to pay for it. Let those on the big bucks return to my level for the “pride” of the job. Let THEM be accountable for the inefficiencies they cause. Let ME alone to struggle slightly above the poverty line and closer to it than you can ever imagine. & let me get on with my work

• Excellent article. Whilst I would be against a Garda strike I have sympathy for their predicament. In any private organisation pay cuts are the last option for any org but unfortunately in the public sector, where budgets are managed by a government department, the decision makers are too far removed from the situation and will make the decision to cut pay without exploring and identifying other means for generating additional income or savings. It is a very difficult situation for the Gardai

• Thats an honest comment fair play

• Very well put David Kelly

• I understand the argument that there is a moral obligation for the Guards not to strike… It’s the same argument used against doctors and nurses. And it is both short sighted and wrong. The police force provides an essential and life-saving service. To force people out of the profession with untenable living situations, to fail to continue to recruit, to dead-end career progression, and to have workers face life-or-death events without the necessary support is morally wrong. A financial ‘ends justify the means’ will result in no Garda services down the road.

Yes, I would like to think that the Garda I meet on the street have pride in their job (they should, they work in a dangerous and difficult field… Not everyone could do the job), but that doesn’t mean I would expect the to do the job without compensation. You wouldn’t expect your doctor to work inhumane hours without pay… … Oh wait…

• So basically what Aaron is saying his opinion is that when someone puts on the uniform they should automatically give up the right to have a home, feed their families and have a life just to show that they are “Bigger men”.

I tell you what Aaron, go home and tell you wife and kids that they are homeless and that you cannot feed them but you are still going to do your job and see how much of a “Bigger man” you feel. Oh and remember , if you really want to know what it is like remember that if you get into debt because your job does not pay you properly then you will be arrested, charged and lose that job. Well you will be if you are a member of An Garda Siochána. So what do you do, you choose to pay your bills, then feed and home your family and only then can you start thinking about putting fuel into your car to actually get to the job that makes you the “Bigger man”, that is when you can afford to put fuel in the car. This article is a typical example of people only seeing the uniform and not the human being underneath it.

• A very well written piece Aaron, but I have to highlight one point you made; ” There is a mutual obligation between the gardaí and the government,”. There IS a mutual obligation, and the govt. are not upholding their side of it. And if one party to an agreement does not uphold their obligations, the whole thing breaks down.

• Surely this can be viewed in a similar light to slavery. Get paid a measly wage (if any! considering the bills need paying), don’t back answer the boss, don’t dare try and get your point across through democratic actions as all other routes are as effective as watching paint dry! In fact… keep working all the hours the boss dictates and do the job well. And above all else… no moaning! The eejits in government are frantically grasping at straws, they should know damn well that a force can only work when they have good shoes and good food in their stomachs… they don’t seem to realise that pay cuts are immediately targeting this age old balance. But seeing as the government only listen at poll times, you simply can’t find deafer ears on this Island… the void between polls is the never ending story of the void between the ears!

• There were a group of Irish Travellers jailed in the UK for making people work for next to nothing in the UK. I. Think the courts called it slavery ! !

This sounds very familiar to the Garda situation and the minister for justice ! !

• Excellent article! I’m petrified of what’s going to happen WHEN these pay cuts come in

• Everyone knows and I mean everyone that its not the Garda pay role that will save the country and kickstart a recovery. It’s our astronomical public pension bill. That’s it. It’s really simple. The govt sold us down the river to secure their massive pensions. The 1% at the top taking 40% of the pension. And double jobbing in quangos. This is the answer but it will never be tackled.

• The truth is that this government is trying to dictate under the guise of consensus. They don’t want Croke Park 2 to succeed, the Fine Gael backbenchers have made this clear from the time they got into power. It’s optics at this stage in order to see who gets the public’s sympathy when the inevitable industrial action happens. This government are only interested in blunt cuts. Their starting position proves this .

• Jason 16/02/13 #

Very well reasoned and fair piece in my opinion. The vast majority of Gardai do not want to engage in the so called “nuclear” option of a “blue flu”. The amount of Gardai using their own equipment for work purposes is beyond a joke. Laptops, phones at their own expense, and then being available round the clock to take phone calls even when off duty. People don’t see the extra work that Gardai do without payment or thanks and management take it for granted. The author didn’t refer to the fact that Gardai are forbidden from having bad debts and it is a serious breach of discipline. Health and family life suffers due to nights and out of hours work for which there is financial compensation. The problem is that the governments spin and deceptive implications that allowances are some sort of luxurious perk as opposed to fair payment for hard hours worked is causing massive upset and worry for Gardai. The implication that all Gardai receive all allowances mentioned on the GRA website is also very unfair. Gardai have a very limited armoury when it comes to fighting for fair treatment and thus are relatively easy targets for bad treatment. They are denied trade union status unlike their counterparts in other police forces. They are gagged from engaging with the media openly with the threat of criminal sanctions hanging over them if they do. Gardai have families, lives, financial obligations the same as most other people but they do not have the right to fight for fair treatment.

• @ Jason
      You hit the nail on the head with that comment, not ever Garda gets all the allowances on the gra website, the other thing the the frontline gardai have a gripe with is that these cuts will only affect them and they won’t touch anybody from superintendent rank and up, the rich and powerful get off scot free again, all these cuts are going to kill families, no food on the table, great to see the government stating that the rich in the public sector will take a pay cut but they won’t tell us by how much, there just seen how much they can squeeze out of the frontline first, they can’t keep kicking the frontline, about time the gardai stood up for themselves, far play

• Maybe he should ask Cowan to give his big fat pension back as he was inept as finance minister contributing to an already out of control building boom and treasonous as Taoiseach guaranteeing a financial sector with taxpayers money bankrupting the country.

• Gardaí pay should not be cut, working hours not changed. They should be one of the most highly paid in our society! what they have to deal with on an everyday basis, is the stuff of nightmares for the rest of society, but we blantanly ignore how they keep the wolves from our doors. Some realities about the Gardaí
    1) The uniforms are antiquited and not practical for the work they do, compared to all euro police force, they look 60 years behind.
    2) The Garda fleet is hilarous, like something out of Killinascully, ageing. We should not accept the shite vehicle they are driving around in (family saloon car with a Garda sticker), ridiculous in modern policing standards. The british police get their fleet partially funded by business companies. In ireland the RSA last yr were going to give 5 million to the Garda fleet but it was refused. Logic??????
    Most district hq have now only 1 patrol car between drugs units, detective units and the regular gardaí, a joke!
    3) Gardaí are being expected to do more and put themselves in more danger e.g., when Shatter compares Ireland to other EU coutries in terms of Police to population ratio, what he fails to tell the public is; all the other countries dont include traffic cops, immigration, anti terrorist, emergency response units in there police figures because they are funded and separate from different departments, so we actually have way less police on frontline policing duties that these countries. Clever use of misinformation from Shatter again.
    4) Ask Shatter WHAT SMART POLICING IS? cause no Garda has heard of it.
    5) Ireland is the only EU country to reduce funding to its police service in these recessionary times and put an embargo on recruitment – SHATTER IS IGNORANT, OMNIPOTENT, PSYCHOPATHIC, NARCISSITIC INDIVIDUAL and he is endangering our society with his dismantling of our police force.
    PAY THE GARDAÍ MORE, INCREASE THEIR NUMBERS, BUILD NEW PRISONS, CANCEL BAIL FOR ALL OFFENCES WHERE THEY ARE INDICTABLE OFFENCES, HARD LABOUR FOR PRISONERS. GIVE ALL GARDAÍ TASERS, GIVE THEM TOP OF THE RANGE POLICE CAR SO THEY CAN CAUGHT THE CRIMINALS NOT WATCH THEM DRIVE BY IN THEIR 1.2L FIESTAS( ACTUALLY HEAR OF THIS HAPPENING-WHAT A COUNTRY).

• @ Daniel, yeah, make an exception for An Garda Siochana, they should be specially privileged.

In view of the descriptions of the nightmarish quality of the duties of An Garda Siochana as described in these comments, it is hard to understand why any sane, well adjusted and sensible person would contemplate staying in the force. I doubt that any money would possibly compensate for such extraordinary misery.

• A lot of Gardai got in over their heads in the property boom because banks were throwing money at them as gilt-edged borrowers, given the job security and pension.

That is hurting a lot of Gardai severely right now; as it is for anyone who bought a modest home at a price they now regret.

• true but alot of people have lost alot of money on homes not just guards and they are not complaining about that. seems to me that every guard wants enough to meet bills. If someone loses a job and on welfare they can fair out alot better. if say your a guard on 40k a year and your married and young kids between child care cost and home cost there is not enough any more to meet week to week payments. Mind you with the taxes and paying into pension that so many think is free then there is very little left and lets not forget guards are prohibited from having other employment.

• Is that a BMW or Mercedes Shatter is driving, or it is a Nissan Micra? When he’s in the Micra he can say there’s no money to pay the Gardai.

• first of all… average garda erans about 20-25 basic… then their allowances might be worth about 10k aprox..
    now take 55% of roughly tax off that..

some would be better off on the dole…

what do they get for that… they not allowed to work within 100 km of their home… now there is exceptions to be closer…. they deal with all incidents and drunks… they get abused, spat at, kicked and punched… they out there day and night protecting towns and country… they are the ones you call when you have a problem… they also the ones who risk their lives every day to protect the community they serve….

now how many people out here would do this for basic euro’s

now they want to cut their allowances which form their pay… yet they not allowed to strike… fair point… who would protect the country if the gardai went on strike… army???? reserves????

eveybody is aware that the gra and agsi are protestesing against their cuts…

but you dont hear the superintendents or higher protesting….

why is that..

their wages are not effected by 1c….. they all on a salary of 100k +

they don’t get allowances… so they don’t get lose anything

is it a wonder that the gardai are protesting and sergents and inspectors

all these higher ranks got large pay increases

why not take those pay cuts off them..

they cant because they linked to other civil servants wages including government

you don’t see them touching their wages…

time for these higher paid civil servents and senior gardai to take substantial pay cuts…

all earning over 100k + should pay more

• the actual deduction from allowances payable and returned to government coffers is 63 percent. Thats on every cent above the 600 odd allowance. Ie for a garda an hours overtime pretax is roughly 29 euro, the garda gets 11 euro of this. Night allowance at 4.93 an hour equates to 1.82 an hour. So 10 hours of nights means a Garda gets 18.20 extra a night. That is not a lot in fairness.

• No public servant should be on more than 100k a yr including enda, that’s loads of money and enough to keep the wolves from the door.

• Jason 16/02/13 #

Minister Shatter is regularly quoting comparisons between Scotland and Ireland when it comes to policing. He uses the differences to justify his cost cutting measures. What minister shatter seems to forget or neglects to inform us plebs is that he is receiving over 15% above and beyond the pay of his counterpart in that country he is so fond of comparing us to. I’m not even sure that includes his allowances so it could be more. His arrogance and dismissive attitude to the concerns of genuine Garda on the ground who are at breaking point show that the man should not be in the position he is in. We all know that the country is in a very poor financial state but there is a social obligation on elected politicians to look after the welfare of citizens as well as to just cut cut cut. What should also be clarified in relation to the Croke park meetings is that Gardai were never in the talks. They were put into a room to the side of the recognised unions and then told what they were going to accept. So even the term discussions is not accurate

• Go the blue flu!

• Good article and well written Aaron.
    In a nutshell the Gardai should refuse to issue on the spot fines as a form of protest. Gardai have a power of discretion in this regard and would not sacrifice the security of the State or the safety of citizens by taking this measure. It would however create a financial nightmare for the government as people wouldn’t bother paying for parking, taxing their cars etc.. I am not suggesting that this approach should be used for everything. Offences such as speeding and so on which create a danger should continue to be dealt with by fines on the spot where practicable. If the Government want to take it from Gardai then the tables should turn on government revenue obtained by the Gardai in this manner…

• aaronmckenna.com’s site has been suspended!

• Cut our army’s numbers and salary and give our police force what they deserve. No other police force in Europe would have to put up with this.

• I think Garda should be self funded. All fines, road traffic fines, court fines,and tickets given out by gardie should be given to Garda fund to fund themselves. Money then should be used for wages,vehicle, uniforms and stations. It’s what thay do in England .

• The writer makes quite a few valid points however there are just two I would like to comment on.
    He is right of course in stating that the gardai, like any established civil servants are debarred from strike action.
    that does not give them the right to take part in what amounts to , in the private work force , as social welfare fraud.

I refer of course to what is commonly known as “blue flu” What the guards did, en masse was to take industrial action by going sick without a doctors certificate which is only permitted for a maximum of two consecutive days and a maximum of seven over a twelve month period.I must add that this uncertified sick leave is a privilege not a right.
    The other point is the fact that our police are the best paid in Europe and for those who cannot pay their mortgages it was their choice to become property owners ( in breach of their contract of work) and the idea that these people are living from hand to mouth is ludicrous.

Their greatest perk, of many is the security of employment which they enjoy.

• Gardai can’t strike? Wow. Must be tough for the Government bargaining with their Union! ( Oh hang on , they have no union!) .

• The proper route to responding to disenchantment with salaries and terms and conditions is not industrial action but resignation of employment. Many Gardai has taken that route and have done very well indeed in the private sector because of expertise gained in the force.

Compared to many in the private sector, Gardai are very remunerated when the full package is taken into account, including superannuation.

Industrial action will be implemented by blu flu, work to rule and other mechanisms.

The reality is that due to political failure and economic mismanagement and the decision not to increase income tax, there is much less available for essential services. That’s a cold reality.

I looked up the existing salary structure of Gardai in the IPAD Yearbook and Diary. Except for the first few years, it’s an enviable pancake and hugely attractive. I doubt that many or any will resign. The public sector is a far better place to be at the moment, more secure and the Gardai are part of the privileged sector in Ireland.

• I agree with some points Sir. However much Garda pay has evolved in lieu of pay rises pre tiger years. This occurred as Gardai were not recognised in the IR umbrella. In saying that many scoffed at the idea of joining in tiger years as they were making more money elsewhere. Perfectly understandable. The latest proposals means cuts to everything bar core pay it seems, but is it justified. If you look at the new Garda roster 10 week, widely published, you will see everything on the table that is being cut is outside the 9 to 5 core hours. Is that fair really? For working 6 Saturdays, four of which are nights, 5 Sundays, 14 full nights from 9pm to 7am, and many other part nights finishing at 12mn, 1am or 3am, the government want to abolish completely many of these payments it appears. Is this fair? Multiply this by 2 were Gardai are married to each other will result in massive cuts. Looking at the figures of €170 which seems about right per week according to these talks means €340 per household which is €1400 per month. Grossly unfair!!! Be fair to all sectors.

• You say except for the first few years it’s great (which I disagree with) but even taking ur argument, do you know the average age if a Garda? Its approx 30 with less then 10 years service. in busy dublin city centre stations it’s close to 25 with approx 5 years service The government has forced out the older and more experienced member

• hi peter richardson

what is it exactly goes though your head when you think of the job the guards do.
      are you exposed to the risk of hiv by needle welding junkies,
      do you get to go home every night wondering if someone is following you
      how about dealing with some coke’ed up dealer waving a firearm around the place.
      How about attending the scene of an accident where they are litterly scooping some guy off the road with a shovel.
      its easy to be smug when the biggest problem you have is whether to order yellow post it notes or white post it notes.
      you take law and order for granted have you ever actually been in the middle of a confrontation.
      go into a lawless area for a while and see how long you last.
      There are people out there that will hurt you and your family and the only ones actually stopping them is the guards. yea they don’t get it right all the time yea there is crime but do you actually know what they do besides the what you read in news. if not then dont be so quick to judge about “how well they are paid”

• There’s a bottom line here. The state can’t afford the payroll. Somethings gotta give. All the “low hanging fruit” will have been tackled so the only thing left on the table are the big ball breaker issues. Gardai should have stayed in. If the gov weaken on this issue all the other unions will take their cue from this. So the government can’t back down & the Gardai are on the outside. Their very actions may leave the gov with the only option of legislating cuts. GRA acted in haste & may well leave their members with no bargaining power…

• @ O’Reilly, generally in IR and negotiation processes, it’s a bad idea to leave the table because you eventually have to return, if you get the chance.

The public finances are in terrible shape. It was open to FG to agreed to increase income taxes including so as to make money available to treat the Gardai as a special case, exempt from the stringent cutback imposed on others in society, but it decided against that option.

Like the rest of us An Garda Siochana, although comparatively well remunerated, are suffering financial hardship, especially those with heavy mortgages, but I don’t think that their case for what is effectively special preference has been well presented.

Shatter is caught, he has no room for movement, the Cabinet will not budge and Shatter knows that he will personally come off second best. An Garda Siochana enjoy a huge level of popularity in Ireland, Shatter is strongly disliked, his political career may not survive the confrontation but his political demise will not alter the reality that there is no money to pay An Garda Siochana what they perceive is their legitimate entitlement.

• Shatter is afraid he will come off second best??
      Sure isn’t that how all politicians have conducted themselves in successive Govts – pandering to their constituents over the good of the country & protecting their first preferences!
      Paddy-whackery Politics should be a thing of the past at this stage, particularly with so many at the bottom suffering while those few at the top continue to be protected and enjoy special privilege!

• @ O’Reilly. You won’t get any support from journal readers for your logical argument. They don’t understand that the state needs income to pay its civil servants and that if they don’t have it they need to borrow or raise tax. I agree with you.

• @Simon, just as during the famine there was food enough to feed the starving there is, believe it or not, money in this country to run it properly!
      The politicians have proven themselves inept to do so. THEY CAN’T EVEN FULFIL TGEIR OWN PROMISES!
      So thanks for your bland generalisations, but try opening your eyes to reality rather than frog-marching to the govt’s tune?

• They can afford to give billions to the bondholders and the new bondholders. They can afford to pay the Gardai decent wages and benefits.

• Michael, that’s nonsense…

• Quinn & Rabbitte admitted lying to the electorate to get into govt as being simply ‘what you do in an election’.

I live in Galway – one in five cars is either a 12 or a 131 reg. look at how much money the govt wastes on a day to day basis… check out the EU fine per week for our failure to comply with septic tank regulations then get back to me!

Questioning & challenging commonly accepted norms is not nonsense but our democratic right. Accepting everything you are told?? Wake up buddy!

• What’s nonsense is your assertion that theres enough money to run the country.

• Jeez O’Reilly… I’ll type slowly so you don’t miss anything…
      If we stop giving billions to the people who gambled on our countries future & lost, if we stop paying the senior civil servants the exorbitant amounts of money we gave them before they ran this country into a brick wall and we continue to give them as they sell the scraps of what’s left, if we pay our Govt leaders in line with either a) their counterparts in similar sized countries or b) according to their ability to actually DO the job, if we concentrate on the NEEDS of the people rather than the WANTS of big business & Europe…
      What do you suggest we spend all that surplus money on???

(If you’re still not getting it I suggest you go lie down in a darkened room & wait for a responsible adult to explain it to you… using crayons… and pictures.)

• Michael, there are few hundred on exorbitant salaries. A couple hundred thousand below that. You do the maths.
      Like I said. Nonsense…

• O’Reilly, you’ve used ‘nonsense’ as an answer in three threads so far. The Govt have said ‘it cant be done’.

In response I’ve come up with more possible solutions, alternative areas to explore for fiscal restraint, examples of monetary waste and sectors where there is potential for additional savings in order to reduce the financial strain on and further salary/conditions cuts for our essential frontline services. To be certain, I am trying to ‘make sense’ within the confines of your limited knowledge in this area & your unflinching willingness to follow the ‘pied-piper’-esque tunes of our (f)ailing government officials…

Explain why my argument is nonsense or go finish your colouring-in.

• O'Reilly 16/02/13 #

Michael, you’ve lost me. I haven’t seen any solutions. I have seen a repeat of populist rhetoric like don’t pay bondholders and reduce politicians wages. None of which solves the problem of a public service we cannot afford… But you carry on regardless…

• @O Reilly 166 TD’s claim €7 million for expenses that would hire 280 nurses on €25k a year but that would really help our health service or country would it

• O'Reilly 16/02/13 #

So what you’re saying Paul is once a TD takes office he/she covers all his own expenses.
      And if you were asked at work to produce a report and told to pay for the research, equipment, phones, stationary, traveller etc you’d be ok with that?
      This is the kind of nonsense that makes this government so credible…

• Oh what like Michael Martin who used to get his driver to drop him off at cork airport and fly up to Dublin and get his driver to pick him up in Dublin. It’s funny how we are constantly told that this country has no money yet they will find it for themselves or say it’s illegal to cut their salaries. Get a grip if I buy a stamp in my job I have to have receipts and a bloody good reason why I needed it. Yet they can get untouched expenses.

• Unvouched not untouched

• O'Reilly 16/02/13 #

So are you saying no expenses or vouched? Cause that will reduce your nurses…

• You’d swear Guards were the only ones who have taken paycuts. In many private sector the same financial fitness and probity rules apply ie you get fired if you’re in financial difficultly. Do you hear anyone else complain no!! Having said that i see no benefit in taking an extra 170 pw from Guards. What really needs to be addressed is social welfare. Uk 70 quid per week , Ireland more than double. Why, why, why?

• Gardai/Frontline must not take public support for granted. We are hurting far more than public sector. We still have to turn up & serve our customers & clients. There is no “blue flu” option for us. Work to rule doesn’t cut it cause job descriptions and contracts are very detailed & nailed down. We can’t vote out or make expressions of no confidence in our employers. In a nutshell, no matter what gets thrown at us we still have to turn up & do our jobs. There’s hundreds standing behind us ready to take our place…

• O’Reilly… just because you cannot does not mean that others should not! I did not benefit one single cent from the Celtic Tiger era unlike the majority of the private sector. Yet i have paid more than my fair share of the ‘good-times’ bill and am currently living just above the poverty line.

There ARE alternatives. Ask Stephen Donnelly Ind TD, an expert in this field, not a career politician who was formally a teacher but is still getting pension-contributions for a job they haven’t done in years and have no intention of returning to! Stop whining and start contributing in other ways rather than just detracting – it’s not just about the money, it’s about people’s livelihoods, their dignity, their self-respect and a fair and just society.

• I know this is a stupid question but are all the new non-national gardai reserves Irish Citizens …I’m sure they are ! ….but ….

• if the gardaí go on strike… who’s going to lead the batan charges against the other people who feel hard done by the government…?!

• I am puzzled. I have checked out the Garda Pay scales at different levels and the basic levels which are officially started excluding the 54 special allowances, are much, much higher than reported by may of the Gardai commenting on the website.

I think that the first thing for Members of the force should do is check these official prescribed rates and ensure that they are paid why they are legally entitled to be paid.

The problem seems to be that if the Gardai posting on this article and other articles are to be believed they are not and have not been paid their legitimate entitlement as per official pay scales. That is a true scandal. You have been short changed.

The second thing you need to do is to claim the various allowances. There are 54 and many allowances overlap.

I can post the official pay scales.

You guys have been badly let down by the GRA. You need to be informed want you are officially entitled to and immediatelyclaim back the massive accumulation of back pay you are entitled to. You have big sums due.

• No garda gets 54 allowances

• Pure rubbish!

Allowances are granted only on specific qualification for the allowances; and not as an across-the-board payment to every Garda. Allowances must be earned and deserved. Not like those paid to the TDs and other time-servers.

I am amazed at how ignorant many commentators are of what the Gardai actually do and how much they are paid.

But, I haven’t the time for kindergarten civics classes.

• Let’s start from finding out……………….HOW MUCH exactly GARDS EARN??????????????????

• ah what is the problem they are simply doing their job and not papering over the cracks of the admin. it is a not the guards problem if they are not given the tools of the job why is there not garda communication vis a ve radios or mobiles. whats next will they have to go around chasing criminals in the family people carrier. when they arrest someone will they be able to squeeze them in next to the baby seat. maybe if they have to bring someone to court they will have to use their own personal credit card and claim back the fuel later on due to “streamlining” or some other bs name. this whole thing is a bit irish.

• keith 20/02/13 #

Does anyone remember the queens and Obama visit to our shores, total bill came to 40million, that broke down to 1million for the defence forces and 39million for Garda, even though numbers on the ground were at least 20-1 army vs guards, just saying, don’t hear too much about that

• What an awful article. It simply stated both parts of the argument.

• Is it true that a guard without a home can’t be a guard? If that’s the case what’s going to happen when the sheriffs come to evict them? Will the guards acting as officers of the peace intervene or just have the blu flu when their own are on the shitty end of the stick?

Add New Comment