TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Column: Sinéad O’Connor – Ireland’s children live in a caste system

The singer has been horrified by a report on the state of a building which houses counselling services for teenagers – and argues that it is indicative of how some children are being ignored by the State.

Sinéad O'Connor

THERE IS A fridge in the toilet at one of the Irish health and safety executive’s teen counselling services buildings on the northside of the river Liffey in Dublin.

Yes, I said there is a fridge in the toilet.

Welcome again to Ireland.

Indeed one might write a book about the so-called ‘Free State’s health executive and name it  There’s A Fridge In The Toilet.

A health and safety report which I have studied, commissioned by the HSE around this time last year, stated in block capital letters “UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES SHOULD A FRIDGE BE PLACED IN A TOILET”. It’s is startling to see this having to be spelled out to them.

The toilet pipes run above the sink in the kitchen.

Yes, I said the toilet pipes run above the sink in the kitchen.

The building reeks of sewage.

The principal counselling room has no actual ceiling. It has instead a perplex  tarpaulin type sheet. Above it is the sky.

The heating does not work for months at a time and through this past winter was never working. It is currently not working. Naturally, workers there are constantly reporting this to the HSE.

The phones sometimes are not working for a week at a time. This despite the fact that the phones not working is reported to the HSE immediately by those in the building whose job it is to receive calls from children who need help.

This is just one of several child counselling service building in Dublin’s northside. One must assume there are others in equal disrepair. I would love to see reports on all of them and compare those with reports on the south side buildings used for the same purposes.

The building I am referring to was declared 25 on a scale of 1 to 30 a fire hazard almost a year ago.

There are  no fire escapes. No fire extinguishers. No obvious exit signs.

A fire broke out in the building before last Christmas, prompting several firetrucks to arrive since the building is part of a terrace in Mountjoy Square and the whole row  could potentially have blown.

Nothing has actually been done to amend the situation, neither since the health and safety report was published last year, nor since the fire which took place shortly before last Christmas.

The very same health and safety report commissioned by HSE a year ago which declared the building a major fire hazard also declared the building categorically unsafe and unfit for the purposes it is being used for.

A token visit was made by someone employed by the HSE to go to the building after this fire and make a report about the fire and what the prognosis was concerning the safety of the building.

This despite  them having a report right under their noses from almost a year ago.

This person told a worker in the building that he  would have to close down the Mater hospital if he were to be fully honest when making reports on buildings used by the Health Services on  the north side of Dublin.

As God is my witness I tell you the truth, the full truth, and nothing but the truth.

I would be terribly interested in seeing health and safety reports on all buildings in Ireland used by the HSE after hearing of this remark.

If another fire breaks out there the HSE will have lawsuits on their hands brought by the relatives of those who work there as well as of anyone else who may be hurt either in the building or in the Terrace.

Last year’s condemnations of the building upon which the HSE have not yet acted will be their downfall.

Sending a man to make a report is not actually acting on anything.

The staff working in the building are afraid to cause trouble for fear of losing their jobs and therefore say not much. But this in my opinion is not helping the children they are being paid to help.

“I understand people don’t want to lose their jobs. But there is an ‘every man for himself’ policy… that does not put children first.”

I understand people don’t want to lose their jobs. But there is an ‘every man for himself’ policy in the HSE because dissenters are pushed out. This policy does not put children first. And does not allow the thought that perhaps if HSE workers stood together en masse and demanded better they couldn’t all be fired.

Reference Ghandi method of non violent mass revolt.

Every city has their different forms of racism, which are actually in Ireland carried out towards our fellow Irish people in my observance, more than towards people from other countries.

On TV or radio in Ireland you never ( apart from Joe Duffy) hear any presenter with a northside Dublin accent of any description.

Singers with north side  Dublin accents are suppressed.

If this HSE building was on the southside of Dublin, say… Dublin 4, being used for the purposes of helping traumatised teenagers and children, there would be rightly, a scandal and outrage.

There  is a massive pink elephant in the corner of Dublin society. Its name is ‘no one seems to give a damn about northside kids’.

Indeed the same is true for all Irish children who do not come from middle and upper classes, or who live on the wrong sides of Ireland’s many convoluted rivers and tracks.

Let’s just deal with Dublin for today. It has to start being discussed openly and honestly that there are massive reparations to be made, not only to the buildings where northside children are treated for medical or psychological problems brought about by Dublin society’s attitudes towards them for which they, the  children are not to blame – but also extensive repairs must be carried out upon their tragic lack of self esteem or hope.

They deserve better all round in life than this  first republic of Ireland has given them, from any quarter.

When the second republic comes, which it will since the first is an utter failure (I often wonder , if that may be because it was born from blood and violence),  all Irish children will be treated with equal and due dignity, care , esteem, safety and respect.

“We have not recognised that ALL Irish children are our only hope of survival as a nation.”

Amongst the rights of children to be upheld in the constitution there should be written that ALL Irish children are entitled to great self esteem and never under any circumstances to have that esteem placed under attack or placed at the bottom of the pile of what is important to Irish society.

We  have  not recognised that ALL Irish children are our only hope of survival as a nation. These children are the future of Ireland. We ought be leaping in front of bullets for every one of them.

Not for bankers and wankers.

Every Irish child is valid, valuable, precious and priceless. A  one in four million chance.

Every God given child in this country has great gifts to offer. This country will not survive if we do not place above anything else the care and self-esteem and self-respect of all children no matter what their financial or geographical situation.

There should be no caste system. What there is actually in Dublin is a caste system and nothing short of a caste system.

No one will want to hear that but it is true.

College is becoming elitist  In Ireland since most cannot afford it. We’re “graduating thieves and murderers to suck the blood of the sufferers,” as Bob Marley said.

We are snobs. It is our very worst quality. And it is killing our children.

It is my opinion that going forward in the second republic we are going to have to employ a compassionate type of communism.

There is enough money in this country for every person to have the same and no child to go hungry.

If we were truly a Christian country this is what we would do… Pool  all resources and divide them equally amongst everyone and make no one’s bills larger than anyone else’s.

We never hear our politicians say the word love.

We never hear our spiritual leaders, who were the one’s controlling our state for so long suggest that we love each other.

Indeed they do not love us, or Christ enough to tell the truth and be accountable for their manifest and TAUGHT lack of regard for children. Nor their grossly manifest lack of regard for Christ, God or the actual presence Holy Spirit, in which they blasphemously  still stand and tell lies as to what they did to Irish children.

Yet they constantly go on about who doesn’t deserve God’s love. And dictate to God whom it may love and not love. The Irish Catholic theocracy, which only died fifteen years ago, as well as the Irish State, was built upon the disrespect of women and children. The ghosts of the theocracy stalk us still.

Our economic problems are in fact spiritual problems. They were caused by people who did not care about other people including children.

Had the theocracy truly been Christian this could absolutely never have taken place.

Politics in my opinion is not the solution to our problems, but the cause of them.  As has been the Catholic and very unchristian theocracy, the mentality of which still runs Ireland  and will until all over 35 are dead.

We in the 21st-century Ireland must create a new focus on spirituality, the basis of all theologies being very simple, that we should love and consider each other as brothers and sisters.

“The only other solution for Ireland is that we all get together and decide we’re going to love each other and take care of each other”

We must understand that the God Catholicism has offered to us is fake. If we are appealing to it we may as well be talking to the wall. Or pissing in the wind.

Apart from the employment of compassionate communism, the only other solution for Ireland is that we all get together and decide we’re going to love each other and take care of each other and come to understand that there is a holy spirit which responds to the human voice.

All of Christ’s teachings show we do not need religion in order to communicate with God or Christ or the holy spirit. All you need is faith and your voice: “Where two or more are gathered in my name I will come to them.”

The holy spirit,  stupidly in my opinion,  gave us free will. This means it cannot intervene in our best interests unless we ask it to. We have to ask in the right place, which is our hearts. And even in our streets.  It is pointless appealing to stone and lumps of wood carved into statues.

We must get together and ask the Holy Spirit not for our own personal or selfish desires to be met,  but for the Holy Spirit’s best intention for Ireland to be carried out and that we may be given the ability and the desire to love each other equally,  to pool our personal  resources and employ compassionate communism in order to help every single person in this country.

I believe very much in the power of the Holy Spirit to respond quickly to the united voices of the Irish people should we care enough about each other and the children which are our future to get together and ask with love that our country receive the help it will not get from politics or religion.

Where have gone those like Larkin, Pierce, Synge, Yeats, all the organisations and movements? The people power that existed in those who created the first republic?

Why are we not, like them, insisting on the best? Why have we not been inspired by them?

“Between us all there is money and food enough in the country for no child to be starving.”

A quarter of Irish children are today living in poverty. A child collapsed at school last week from malnutrition. The bishop in the town where this happened in says there are food shortages in the town. Yet between us all there is money and food enough in the country for no child to be starving.

Thousands of under-privileged children in this country aged 12 to 18 are running around taking 30 and 40 valiums a day. Taking cocaine, weed, alcohol. To cope with massive pain they are in. They don’t do it out of boldness. They do it because their lives are treated as unimportant by their own country. They feel like they are not nor never will be, a priority in their own country.

Scores of teenagers and young adults are killing themselves in ways other than metaphoric. How are we sleeping in our beds and this is going on? If it was your home and your child, you would declare a family state of emergency.

Stupid money is being spent in Ireland on stupid things while children are collapsing on drugs, or by suicide, or starvation.

Only one example I will give you…

Tv3 has been planning a reality show about therapy. Quite grotesque. We watch people suffer, just as people in the old days used to go to asylums to view those with mental illnesses for amusement. Each therapist on the panel has been offered €2,000 per show. This I know because a relative who is a therapist was asked to take part. Is that show necessary and that money being put to best use?

This is one example. Thousands and indeed millions of euro are wasted in this country every day on pointless crap that feeds no child.

Review needed. Second republic needed. Spiritual review needed. Christianity  needed. Compassionate communism  urgently needed. As is communal prayer, away from the church and directly to the Holy Spirit in the streets.

• The HSE has told TheJournal.ie that the services they provide in the building to which O’Connor refers in this piece will be relocating this year to a different premises on the North Circular Road.
  • This opinion piece has been republished on TheJournal.ie at the request of Sinéad O’Connor. It first appeared on her blog here.

Read next:

Comments (58 Comments)

• As usual some great ideas, her heart is in the right place, keep er lit sinead.

• But the fire hazard buildings are rented by the FF landlord who got his contract from his FF buddy in the HSE. How dare we upset the status quo that is the banana republic ?

Fair play Sinead, don’t let the bastards get you down. You are more representative of the average Irish Joe on the street than any of our politicians who let these dire conditions continue.

• If more people with a public profile had the courage and will to speak out we would live in a better world. This woman has used music many times – now words – good to see. Thanks.

• Well done – good to see a celebrity use their profile for real good. Hope you are heeded.

• Really delighted to see Sinead , writing on this topic. Our kids deserve more than this effort and where I sympathise with workers being fearful of losing there jobs , I reckon a united approach for the good of the kids will not go unnoticed or unheeded. Fair play to you all in these difficult times.

• Fire trap eh! Brought to us by the same Governing inefficiency as gave us Priory Court etc.

• Anybody who advocates the rights of children, no matter who they are, has my support.

• fair play to her bringing this out

• Harry 18/05/12 #

I don’t agree with the god stuff. I do agree that we should hang our heads in shame as a society for how children are treated in this country. Over the past few months, I’ve read stories of people turning a blind eye to abuse (and not just the catholic church), children not getting the medical treatment they need and pointless arguing over the site of the children’s hospital. It’s sickening. It doesn’t surprise me that kids are going hungry. But it’s not lack of money causing any of this. It’s just money being misspent, by govt, by the HSE and by the parents.

• Regarding the HSE’s ‘response’.. that they are moving things to a different building ‘this year’. Can they please explain why since the fire in December has nothing been done to make the building safe and as fit as possible for respectful purpose in the interim? Why is the fridge still in the toilet?
    In the interim, what is going to be done to make the place safe? and exactly what do they mean by ‘this year’? can they please state a rough date? and state how they intend to make the building safe in the interim.

• You make the mistake, sadly, of expecting the HSE (a committee of committees) to make any statement that doesn’t involve generalities and double speak.

Like HIQA, who took five years to tell us that having people on trollies in A&E Departments, was “probably unsafe”.

• well hello sinead.. I just want to say.. You Rock. I hold you directly responsible for many a shift in my younger years and I thank you for that..

• Dear Sinead,

You were very brave to come on TheJournal. This is where some sharks live :) I have defended you many times here. Even against some guy called JesusBigBalls back there around Christmas. I will always be a fan of your Music.

Well done for highlighting this story. Hope you are doing good.

Anne Marie

• Maith thú.

You are correct that the truly vulnerable in this society are treated with contempt. Human rights organisations have condemned the state of our prisons and mental health services, and children are among the population of the forgotten. It is a caste system, but derived from imperialism. The church merely took over its administration when power was technically assumed by a pseudo-independent, sectarianally sundered (i.e. easily controlled) state. It is not only the mentality of the past, but is very much associated with the agendas of the present-day Ireland, of Europe and the US.

You make a very good point about the education system. When I was at college I didn’t know anyone there who was from the northside, which is where I lived then and have lived for many years since. There is a caste system, and the poor, the sick and the vulnerable are rendered invisible.

• Your passion for the rights of children is admirable Sin

• … Comment cut short for some reason. Had just included a quote I thought relevant to Sinead’s piece: “We worry about what a child will become tomorrow, yet we forget that (s)he is someone today.”

• Because of a bug that truncates comments whenever one uses a fada.

Like the bug that renders FF unusable for some users, and the bug that randomly logs one out, and the bug that prevents all comment views on the mobile apps.

No point in flagging these. Some of us have been doing so for twelve months!

• John N 18/05/12 #

Thanks Ryan, we’re aware of some issues relating to comments at the moment and we’re working to fix them. Are you using the site through the iphone, ipad or android app, or on the desktop or mobile website?

If you have an other issues, you can email them to errors@thejournal.ie

Thanks

• Thanks Ryan, I wasn’t aware of those. I had a feeling it might have had something to do with the fada, which is why I omitted it the second time.
      @John N I’m using the android app if that helps.

• Meh and at the same time, not meh.

Anyone who says they live in a classless society simply means they don’t suffer any adverse impact from class in society. Classless societies don’t exist.

Communism is not a solution, it doesn’t work. It might sound great to say everyone should get the same but in reality I work a 40 plus hour week, should my neighbour who doesn’t get the same as me? Where’s my motivation to work? Gone. You think we’re in financial trouble now?

Caring for children is important. Giving them the motivation and opportunity to raise themselves out of poverty is important. Compassion, care and help are all important.

But communism wouldn’t work.

The HSE could be fixed by bringing in experienced managers and expending money in the right places.

It’s significant that in response to this article the HSE have said they’ll sort out that building. This is typical. One building is raised as an example. It gets sorted out. People say well done and pat each other on the back but the root problem is not fixed. Some might say this is quite typical of Ireland as a whole.

Targetted expenditure over the next 15 to 20 years could bring back growth and prosperity for another generation, but it won’t while a patchwork approach is adopted, we’ll just continue to lurch from crisis to crisis.

Mobilise the unemployed, we apparently have 1000s of builders sitting idle on benefit, give them a top up to go out and fix the buildings so healthcare workers can try to provide a real service. Judge the HSE workers on targets like in the private sector and invest in children, so that when they come of age they have a world to live in and a world worth living in.

• Damocles
      I love the way you are thinking . I was berated months ago for expressing the same opinion. We need to become proactive. Do things that will not cost us cash money ,but time that we may well have an abundance of . Get up and get out and do things to improve ours or our neighbours lot. Mobilise the workers and start repairing the visible damages , sweeping , cleaning , cutting grasses, weeding, cutting back hedging.Displaying a willingness to better our lot. So what if we don’t get paid , so long as it costs us nothing more than anhour or two a day …. We all own sweeping brushes and garden shears, we need only do what we are able … Sounds so good ! :) maybe I am a bit touched but in a good way , I hope !

• alan 18/05/12 #

the HSE doesnt need to bring in ‘expereinced’ managers. it already has them. too many of them. most overpaid

they are the ones who are contributing to the creation of the problem in the first place

this managerial approach will get nowhere. the reason that this situation arises is due simply to the structuring, organising and funding of the hse. change that and dont bother shuffling round ‘experienced managers’

• Alan, experienced and capable managers, as opposed to experienced and incapable managers (hence the whole targets thing). Jack Welch had it, fire the worst performing 10% every year and hire in (or promote and replace) new talent at every level. Reward ability.

Susie, the reason people get shirty about this sort of thing is that it’s a work fare style scheme and people fear work fare.

• Damocles
      Too true , well said !

• alan 18/05/12 #

damocles: what is the problem that you think managers will solve? this managerial approach achieves little in real terms (which is , presumably, why it is so popular with those who have an interest in keeping things as they are). it fails to address the core issues

an improvemtn on this approach would be to generate a sense of collective authority (rathe than deferring all the time to one ‘managers, for example) and to begin to think about the people working in the hse

i worked in a call centre for a couple of years. we had a ‘manager’, we had ‘targets’. we had more or less continuous scrutiny of everything we did. it was a nightmare job. but typical of the kind of ‘apple’/steve jobs approach which, in terms of the workforce actually produces nothing of any value and compelely demoralises the staff! the manager accepted this was becoming the case, but he became a cynic himself and just filled out everybody’s sheets for them lol it was a ridicuolous set up (glad to be out of it now)

• Damocles 18/05/12 #

“what is the problem that you think managers will solve?” I think the problem of bad management will be solved by the implementation of good managers (and a system of weights and measures to assess them and indeed all staff).

You seem to be saying that because you’ve encountered bad and ineffective managers then all management is bad and ineffective. That’s a bit crazy, imnsho.

You also seem to be focusing on a tiny bit of what I’m suggesting and ignoring the fuller context.

• alan 18/05/12 #

i just meant that changing personal wont change a seriously flawed system. no amount of managers good or bad will right a fundamental wrong?

i was only giving you my own case because it highlighted what actually happens no matter how well intended the manger would be (and mine was)

• Oh Eddie – it is exactly because she has a public profile that it is important that she speaks out. Much easier for her and many others in show business just to shut up about controversial matters. In 1992 when she warned of the abuse of children in the Catholic Church she was called mad both in Ireland and by the Vatican. Now we know the truth. It cost her dearly in career terms but she set a ball rolling for which some will never forgive Many others, all over the world, will respect her for that as long as she lives. If some in the Church had her courage and honesty they would not be in the mess they now suffer. We need more human beings like Sinead.

• Services for children in Ireland are sadly lacking – but I don’t think the southside/northside thing really comes into it. People assume that southside includes only posh, affluent, wealthy areas, forgetting that socially disadvantaged poorer areas are also on the southside of the river Liffey. Ask any social worker struggling against cutbacks in services for children in Tallaght if they have it better because they’re south of the river and you’ll get your answer. Ask them in Clondalkin, in Cherry Orchard, in Lucan, in Crumlin, in Kimmage, all areas struggling hugely and all south of the river. Services for children are sadly lacking, understaffed, underfunded, under resourced full stop. Post code doesn’t come into it.

Also to note, Joe Duffy is from Ballyfermot in Dublin 10 (as am I) and that is on the southside of Dublin.

• Well done Sinead, you are a brave woman taking this step to make public this piece.

• Well said Sinead. Hopefully something will be done about it now. Ignore the begrudges – its about he kids!

• Ireland is a country that stood strongly against apartheid policies. It’s horrific that there can be this blatant discrimination.

• Well done – good to see a celebrity use their profile for real good. Hope you are heeded.

• I can’t say I’m a fan of hers but I think she does have a case here.

• Great article sinead… The Hse are to busy paying off top earners into early retirement and then re-hiring them to worry about an occupied building with no heating or phone lines.. They treat a certified fire hazard building as a minor inconvenience .. I’m sorry to say I can only see things getting worse..nowadays it’s profit before people..

• The Health Centre in Mervue, Glaway has been condemned too. And they are suppose to move in the future. But that could mean years. This is nothing new. Our health service is falling to bits and the HSE and Dept do not care.

• You had me interested until the religious babbling that took the focus off the real meaning of the article – the welfare of disadvantaged children.

• Re: editorial photo. Every kid has a basic access to education. There will always be parents who are willing to pay extra towards their kids education. I have no problem with that especially not if it avoids influence of certain elements in today’s society

• There is a genuine problem here but sinead as usual gets carried away …and it becomes about sinead. The journal publish it because it is by Sinead ….good publicity numbers …a rambling article like this by anyone not famous would be binned.

Sinead announces her withdrawal from the public eye about 10 times a year ..for 12 months could the media stop giving her the platform and let her genuinely try and sort herself out.

• She does not mention herself, or her career, or album or whatever else once, so its not about Sinead at all. This is the Sinead I want to see more of, she has a keen and caring mind and I think getting involved in politics or perhaps better termed, social issues, is somewhere she would be both comfortable and welcome by a great many, if Irelands current set of politicians are anything to go by. I for one am glad she is choosing to advocate on behalf of people who do not have her profile, an article by a teen using this facility is not going to be printed is it? So ‘celebrity’ sought or otherwise can be put to good use. Its good to see Sinead is thinking about such problems despite having her own crosses to bare. I am also glad to see here switching her management and personal circumstances towards people who care about her and will look after her in the future. I would batten down the hatches ‘Eddy’ as I think you can expect to hear much more from Sinead on such issues for decades to come.

• Calling it rambling is rather unfair. She doesn’t boast herself as a writer per se, and yet she displays moments of real prosodic and poetic talent which can make her writing striking, memorable and often very quotable (e.g. “Every Irish child is valid, valuable, precious and priceless. A one in four million chance.”) This can only help raise the profile of the issues she brings to light. It only becomes “about Sinead” when we choose to make it so. For her part, and as far as I can see, she is clearly driven by the issue.

• Sinead – you are the elephant in the room – look in the mirror. Your comments are so of the rails and insulting to people who raise their children properly in Darndale or Ballymun that it is. Amazing the journal permitted you to contribute. If you were a stay at home mum and not absent most of the time then and only then should you be given time. It’s irresponsible of the journal to grant you airtime when you are obviously unwell and need to be in care again. It’s abuse on the part of the journal.

• Frank, I take great exception to your use of the phrase “abuse on the part of the journal”. Sinéad approached us, we checked with the HSE re. the report on the building she refers to and they have confirmed that the services there will be moving to a more suitable premises. We think that was worth highlighting.
      The rest of the post is as it appeared on Sinéad’s blog and which we agreed to republish in full so as not to take anything out of context. It is an opinion piece and is marked as such and you are absolutely welcome to disagree – the comments section is there for everyone to have their say – but please remain respectful. Throwing words like ‘abuse’ around is not cool.
      Thanks, Susan, Editor.

• Wow, this is a first. A clinical diagnosis via The Journal comments section. You’re some man Frank. Essentially, are you saying that anybody who is “unwell” should not be allowed to contribute to debate? Will you be their advocate then?

• Seeing as we’re on the topic of spirituality/religion…

SInead, unfortunately Christianity requires faith and no philosophical investigation, this in turn makes people want to put on an act of good/equal/love one another , as oppose to genuinely feeling it . It also encourages having faith, something you can’t force on someone. This is why Catholicism scewed up the country. It tried to force something on itself as oppose to figuring out how to do it naturally.

If everyone in the country adopted a genuine Buddhist philosophy, not in a religious dogmatic way (i.e. karma /no desire etc), but in a proper internal investigative way , the way it was intended, i.e. finding out what it is on a experiential psychological level that makes us behave the way we do , and makes assume the ‘self’ is more important than anything else, then people will naturally begin to act in a more ‘communistic’ way.

You’re right , our economic problems are spiritual problems, but not in a way people would normally associate it, once you start to use language like “asking the holy spirit…” etc, it is very offputting, even if you dont mean it the way it comes across to most.

• oops that wasnt meant as a reply to you Frank.

• You’re true to form Frank, the Journal is very tolerant by allowing you to spout your nonsense.

• As a ballymunner, ive seen nothing that would offend me in the slightest. Every comment from you frank seems to have a slightly skewed view.

• Frank, I am dismayed at your comment. You have dismissed the author’s views by using her illness as a reason to discount her pov. Mental illness has been used for far too many years as way of justifying the thoughts and views of sufferers. This allowed barbaric treatment and abuse of mentally ill people. Her illness in no way detracts from her very valid arguments and from the concrete proof that vulnerable children are being treated appallingly. It is hard for a counsellor to restore self esteem in youngsters if the state treats them in such shoddy environments. If the HSE values these children so little, it is no wonder if they began to believe it themselves. The author speaking up for them may a least offer them some comfort and hopefully will get some changes.

Secondly, your argument that she can not comment on children as she is a working mother is extremely sexist. No doubt you would not level the same criticism at a working father. Herein lies the real juxtaposition that mother’s find themselves in. We are damned if we work and damned if we don’t. I have spent the last few months (unfortunately unsuccessfully) fighting the Social Welfare Bill which will mean lone parents will be obliged to work once their child reaches 7. This was overwhelmingly passed by the Govt. and there was such a horrible opinion that our children did not deserve the care of one parent at least. We as mothers had no problem working, but wanted to keep part time jobs so as to be available for our children after school hours. We were demonised for wanting this and here is a woman who does work being demonised for working?

Honestly I despair. Of course you are as entitled to an opinion as I or anyone else, however, you are are not entitled to dismiss her opinion because she is a working mother and has a mental illness. Mind you, by that logic you will probably dismiss my opinion too……

• At frank2521. That’s called freedom of speech, thats how u got to give your opinion on her opinion , c how it works!

• pille 19/05/12 #

Frank
      Sinéad is a fascinating woman, I agree, but the topic of the column is children & how they are treated in Ireland. by ignoring the real topic you just come across as weird.
      & a tad obsessed.
      some posts just leave multiple brown skid marks on the comments board.
      yours is the winner here.
      sorry I read your contribution, Frank.

• What would sinead o’connor know about anything… she has never known what its like to live in real poverty… Just a travesty tourist

• So one should only comment on something when one has first hand experience of it? I look forward to your contributions at the Moron convention.

• No a person doesnt need to live it to have an opinion… But to paint such a vivid picture depicting a society as an immoral insensitive and discriminatory bunch I would think warrants some kind of experience… Especially when comparing it to the hindu caste system. Which is a vile distinction between people

• If we have to have experience or knowledge to comment on things the whole system of commenting on the Internet is in serious trouble.

• So they can have a cold can while on the can. I rather have they get pissed whilst pissing in a toilet than on a streetcorner