TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Seán Quinn to be released from jail for 3 days over Christmas

The decision was taken following talks between the Attorney General, the Prison Service and the Minister for Justice, Alan Shatter.

Seán Quinn (file photo)
Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

BANKRUPT FORMER BILLIONAIRE Seán Quinn, who is currently serving a nine week jail sentence, is set to be released for Christmas.

The announcement was made following talks between the Attorney General, the Prison Service and the Minister for Justice, Alan Shatter.

Having started his term on 2 November, he was originally set to spend the rest of 2012 in jail.

He is now set to be released for three days over the Christmas period, from the 24-26 December.

He will, however, still miss the christening of his granddaughter, which is due to take place tomorrow.

Outlining the reasons for his release, a statement from the Irish Prison Service cited his age, behaviour, and “long term health difficulties”, as well as those of his wife Patricia as the reasons for his temporary release.

Having given due consideration to these issues, and bearing in mind that Mr Quinn was committed to prison for a period of 9 weeks on 2 November and is due to be released on 3 January, he has been approved for a period of 3 overnights temporary release over the Christmas period.

Read: Seán Quinn goes to jail for nine weeks >

Read next:

Comments (68 Comments)

• I hope the man who got jailed for importing garlic gets home for 3 days.

• I don’t think he was jailed for importing garlic, but rather he was actually jailed for a €1.6 million tax evasion – or “grave” and “huge” tax evasion scheme as the judge said.

• Funny that! Remind us all again how much Quin & Family cost the tax payer? The garlic man’s “grave and huge” tax evasion is peanuts or even garlicy peanuts (yuk) compared to the damage caused by the ‘Gomfather’ Also how much did TD Wallace evade? Funny how his tax evasion was ok, fine old chap you carry on taking tax payers money but the garlic man was sent down. Double standards as usual in the banana republic!

• rusty9 21/12/12 #

Ed, Sean Quinn did not cost the taxpayer anything. It was the fact that the banks were nationalized that cost the taxpayer PLUS the fact that Quinns offer of 2.8 billion to the State was thrown in his face in favour of a strategy that will cost us billions. The truth will emerge and many people will be dismayed at how they were conned by Anglo propaganda.

• And your point is .

• I’m working next week. He’s getting more days off for Christmas than me!

• There was an ex governor of Mountjoy on the radio yesterday and he said he doesn’t qualify for early release as he is in contempt of court and there is no allowance for any governor to let him out. The way I heard the interview he said there is no point talking about it cause it’s not going to happen. There you go …. What would he know ?

• In fairness, many many prisoners get out for Christmas if behaviour is good. It would be vindictive in the extreme to deny Sean Quinn that privilege, regardless of how much I think he deserves an even longer stay behind bars.

• I’d like to know what is done in the US, UK, Australia with prisoner release at Christmas. Is it just an Irish thing?

I suspect its done here for financial reasons, less prisioners may mean less prison officers required over the Xmas period.

• I’m not sure all that many prisoners do get released – in 2011 160 prisoners were granted temporary release over Christmas. 87 prisoners in Northern Ireland got temporary release at the same time – a higher rate of release, per number of prisoners.

• Delighted, why not let him out. Over 226 prisoner were let out why not Sean Quinn. Would ye not be more worried about the rapist down in Limerick that was let out.

• I’d much rather they keep violent criminals in over Christmas. I hear that gang rapist in limerick will get out for some Christmas cheer. One can only imagine how that sick bastard will celebrate.

But on a legal point, I thought people in for contempt could only be released by a judge.

• welease bwian …

• Quinn is a Contempt prisoner , and as such is not entitled to temporary release.
    He is in prison by his own choice , he could be released immediately if he purged his contempt and told us where the money is.

• rusty9 21/12/12 #

Eug, you are wrong on so many levels. It is impossible for the Quinns to get the assets back. After all, Kenny and Hayes could not get them back so how can the Quinns. Secondly, it is farcical and an unnecessary squandering of taxpayers money that the contempt and all the other side shows are running when the legitimacy of the alleged debt of 2.3 billion has yet to be rules on in the big case. When is common sense going ot prevail?

• Ive no sympathy for the Quinns or anyone else involved in Anglos circle of corruption BUT 3 days compassionate leave for a non-violent criminal who handed himself in for a 3 month sentence is surely not much to ask for.
    Its Christmas and his granddaughter (I think its his granddaughter) is getting christened, add 3 days to the end of his sentence if that helps sell it.
    Sean Quinns fall from grace is far from over and I dont see how 3 days with his family hurts anybody. I want people to be held responsible and pay for their crimes but this is petty nonsense, three days of one mans life is not gonna solve anything.

• He is a contempt prisioner and therefore doesnt qualify,
    But hey this is Ireland you can get away with anything!

• Bring on the nay-sayers who’ll start cribbing about this guy getting out for 3 days, as if it’s gonna affect their lives one tiny little bit.
    Personally, I couldn’t give a rambler’s

• Sure let everyone out for Christmas save a few bob !! Seriously this is a disgrace he should not be released , he should do his time like anyone else no matter wat

• When they are putting up the Quinn Christmas tree he has to be there. It’s tradition that he puts the fairy on the top.

• Al 21/12/12 #

Irish justice = Joke

• Look, rapists, molesters and murderers get out without a problem and their a threat to society. I don’t condone what Quinn did but let’s be honest he isn’t going to harm anyone else as for the others that get out, seriously why?

• Mark 21/12/12 #

Fair play to him. It’s none of my business. Hope he has a good one.

• Ok, so you commit a crime but yet get out for Xmas, how does this teach the person that what they did was wrong? You either do the time or you don’t. As said for funerals yes, but for Xmas!

• will the 3 days get added on at the end?

• Colm 21/12/12 #

I see the season of good will is in full flight.
    Merry Xmas Sean . Enjoy the few days with your family.

• Disgraceful! He should be detained indefinitely until he purges his contempt!

• I agree with you,

And I disagree with compassionate leave from prison for Christmas. A funeral is one thing, they should be out in cuffs at the funeral, but letting someone out for Christmas is a bit much.

But since we do let prisoners out for Christmas, I think it’d be vindictive to deny Quinn this privilege just because of his profile. I’d rather see his whole family join him in Mountjoy for the next 5 Christmases instead, but there you go. The rules are there for prisoners who behave themselves, and we can presume that Quinn is behaving himself in prison and not shanking other inmates

• And then that would lead Sean to take the system to court for singling him out and making an example of him. One which he would probably win if he were the only one not to be let out. I would not like to see Sean winning a court battle. so let him out for a few days. At least he got deny’d being let out for the christening.

• Happy Christmas Sean

• Looks like the entire Quinn workforce was online today!

• Happy Christmas Sean

• Keego 21/12/12 #

Precedent set!

If any of us get jailed for contempt lets make sure we are sick ….. Easy get out jail free card

It’s disgusting !

• Y.F. 21/12/12 #

Keego, You can view Quinn’s release any way you like. One could argue that the contempt that you have just shown in this comment is quite ‘disgusting’ also.

• What a Mickey Mouse way of doing things. Always the same…. The wealthy are rewardrd and the poor are taken advantage of or punished. Way to go Ireland… Keep the great work up… Keep leading by example.

• rusty9 21/12/12 #

Marion, where have you been. Sean Quinn was bankrupted by Anglo.

• Y.F. 21/12/12 #

Marlon,
      I don’t see how you could identify this in relation to ‘how the wealthy are rewarded’?? ….and the poor are taken advantage of. Maybe you’re writing under the wrong thread?

• Hey RF…

The reward for Seanie… Is that he is getting special treatment. He’s getting out of jail to spend time with his family over Christmas. He broke the judicial laws by not complying with their request. This consideration was only given because of his wealth and his name. If I or a person of even a lower economic situation were to ignore a mandate of the courts… They wouldn’t consider letting me 9ut of prison until I complied with the order.

• rusty9 21/12/12 #

Marion, James Reilly and an awful lot more did not comply with court orders and they did not end up in jail. Sean Quinn has been treated very harshly and in time his good name will be vindicated.

• Y.F. 21/12/12 #

Marlon,
      So you have grievance over Quinn getting out, on the basis that he was wealthy once upon a time?How does this play out with convicted rapists who are being released for 10 nights over the holidays? I personally would prefer to see a man who has tried to protect what is his, until it is proven otherwise, get out for 3 nights over Christmas, than a man/men who have taken part in horrific gang rape scenarios. If I had any qualms, it would be with the rapist, who, one would assume, is a much bigger threat to society. I don’t think it’s a class/wealth divide issue

• I’m working every day next week and I didn’t scam billions from my country. So I have to work my backside off next week and he gets to chill at home, this country’s legal system is so corrupt. No Xmas for me

• rusty9 21/12/12 #

Irish Mule, Quinn did not scam billions from any country. In fact, he did the opposite. HE WAS SCAMMED by a bank that was regulated by the Financial Regulator and supervised by the Government. He made his investments in Anglo based on accounts that we now know were cooked. but HE WANTED TO ENSURE THAT THE TAXPAYERS WOULD NOT BE BURDENED AND HE OFFERED 2.8 BILLION OT THE STATE DESPITE THE FACT THAT 2.3 OF THAT WAS ADVANCED ILLEGALLY FOR MARKET MANIPULATION.
      That offer was thrown in his face. You should be asking the questions”Why did that happen” instead of ranting on about something that you clearly have been conned by Angl0o propaganda on. Happy Christmas.

• finbar m 22/12/12 #

Rusty9 go back under you rock ,, sick if your comments over the past year or so

• Your all missing the point here! One rule for one and another rule for the other. And typical Irish attitude – ah let em all out sure its christmas! Craggy Island

• A lot of people having a miserable Xmas in fear of losing homes, jobs, savings with no hope and deep in depression while this criminal and his family probably spend thousands on each other. He and his family are still one of the biggest threats to our future and are still not handing over the proceeds of their crime. The head of Mountjoy should loose his job. Imagine nurses and doctors working on Xmas day to pay for his dinner and continuing to pay gor years for his dinners. If the head of Mountjoy had his home and his job taken from him and his family plus their hopes for the future — would he let him out??

• Will he return to Mountjoy or stay in Derrylin? No extradition for contempt of court!

Add New Comment