TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Sinn Féin to meet on Sunday to discuss McGuinness candidacy

Although the party said it is not ready to make an official announcement, the officer board has confirmed it wants to nominate Martin McGuinness for the office of President of Ireland.

Last month, Sinn Féin protested for voting rights to be extended to Northern Ireland citizens.
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Updated 17.52

ALTHOUGH THE PARTY’S Ard Chomhairle still has to agree to the decision, Sinn Féin’s officer board has recommended that Martin McGuinness stand as a candidate in the upcoming presidential election.

In a statement this evening, Sinn Féin president Gerry Adams confirmed reports that the party’s Ard Chomhairle is to meet on Sunday morning to discuss a proposal to nominate McGuinness.

Adams said that the office has been made more relevant by Mary Robinson and current President Mary McAleese.

This is a time of great challenge for all the people of Ireland. We need positive but authentic leadership. It will be a great honour for me to propose Martin McGuinness to contest this election on a broad, republican, citizen-centred platform.

He added that he believes McGuinness can be the “people’s president”. Before the canvassing has even got underway, Adams made the first promise to the electorate: that McGuinness will draw the average industrial wage.

The party leader also used his address to appeal for people to join the campaign calling for voting rights for Northern Irish citizens and Irish citizens living abroad.

Meanwhile, McGuinness himself is actually in the US with First Minister Peter Robinson to officially open the New York office of Northern Irish financial services company First Derivatives.

More: Norris actively seeking nomination for presidency bid>

Read next:

Comments (89 Comments)

• Remember folks, vote early and vote often!

• Interesting move by SF. No doubt they have done their sums on this one. With the public mood towards politics at the moment there will be a low turnout for the election. There is no clear favourite. If SF can get a good turn out from their historical support base plus a few votes on an anti government anti Europe platform it could make for a very interesting election.

• It’s going to get interesting all the same …

• There’s a tweet going around that says it rather well. (HT to @urchinette)

“I mean, Norris had to step down because of skeletons in the cupboard, but at least they weren’t ACTUAL SKELETONS”

• Better than them robbing us, aye?

• What part of the Good Friday Agreement are people not getting! We drew a line and both sides signed up, if SF want to run a candidate then so be it, let them get on with it! You go in, you vote, job done. Drop the "Oh, they did this and they did that" rubbish! It’s over!! Just go vote!

• Draw the line , yes ! But for many people crossing that line still leaves behind sorrow and the images of terrorism they can never forget . Remember what and who sinn fein are and what they never apologised for , what they condoned in the past and what they could return to if their voices are not heard . I think they it would be disrespectful to allow any man to run for president , that was complicit in a part of history that any right minded Irish man deplores.

I just think it’s sad !

• He’ll oppose every piece of European legislation and turn the Council of State into the Sinn Fein Ard Comhairle. At least he has the experience of commanding an Army albeit an illegal one! His solution to bailing out the banks will be to rob them!

• Well, that’s one way to save money on royal visits!

• RG Cuan 17/09/11 #

Some of the comments here are absolutely shocking, they make the DUP look moderate!

Yes McGuinness was in the IRA but the Troubles were a completely different era from now. A peace process has taken place, McGuinness & his party have shown clear leadership in the north & people there have moved on. People here in the south should move on too.

• Some people just can’t move or recognise that some of the founders of this Republic used what some would call “terrorist” methods. If the people of Northern Ireland (who were directly affected by the troubles) can move on why can’t the people in the south.

• Today FM just announced that Martin McGuinness is Sinn Feins candidate. Cue “We shouldnt have a terrorist as president” comments. I met him once. I thought I would hate him but he came across as a very charismatic, intelligent man.

• Apparently, it will be Martin Mc Guninness who will be SF candidate.
    Who would believe it that the former head of the IRA would be standing as president of the Republic of Ireland? Not in my lifetime did I think this could happen, not sure if it too soon, or if the country have advanced so far that when it comes to Northern Ireland that this is acceptable?
    As, I live overseas I won’t have a say anyway but I woud be interested to see the views of those that will be and can vote?

• Hang on, I thought the shinners don’t recognise the Irish army as the legitimate army of the state ? How can he even start attending functions with guards of honour .no matter how far this country has moved on him and his party will never represent me . In fairness to him at least he acknowledges his past , unlike his colleague Adams who suffers from a rare form of amnesia . This country is really reaching rock bottom

• DubDon 16/09/11 #

Good point on RTE news what will he do if we have another Royal visit? Will he refuse to meet with him/her? He won’t represent everyone on this island… We want to portray an image of a modern nation but with him still refusing to admit his role in the IRA and refusing to meet with royalty he will build a wall between us and our nearest and biggest economic neighbour…!!!

• It’s starting to sound like a Green Orange Lodge on here!! I’ve had four decades of this shite, it is time to move on…

• Typical SF, using a disenchanted electorate to get Adams a seat and now to dive in for the Presidential office.

They refused to meet the Queen and move relations to a new level, do we really want this kind of President??

• I’d say Gerry mcCabe is spinning in his grave , god love him and his family , talk about sticking the knife in. If this scumbag becomes the head of state I for one am leaving it

• Gerry McCabe was killed during a Robbery suctioned by the army council of which martin was head. Gerry Adams first denied this at first then had to admit it. Neither men nor sinn fein have ever condemned the killing of a guard on duty. And this man now wants to be president of this state.

• So a murderer & ex-IRA Chief of Staff can waltz onto the Ballot paper whilst the people’s choice David Norris can’t get a nomination because he sent a letter in error? Some country we live in!!!

• mart_n 16/09/11 #

Nobody forced Norris to withdraw from the race.. that was his own decision. SF are absolutely right to run their own candidate.. why shouldn’t they?

• Won’t they still need 3 more TDs/Senators outside of the shinners to nominate as they’ve only 17 members in the Oireachtais?

• @ Frank: “a letter in error” – you make it sound David Norris never meant to write the letter, but it just ended up accidentally being submitted to the court ahead of sentencing. Also the person who is elected at the end of October is the “people’s choice”.

@ Caitriona: Yep, he’ll need the support of 3 other TD’s and Senator’s. SF wouldn’t have announced this if they weren’t 100% sure though. Thomas Pringle is likely to be one of the three anyway. Possibly Finian McGrath as well who seems keen to back a winner. And I’m guessing he’s fishing in the same pool as Norris, so all eyes will be now on FF as they ironically now offer Norris the best chance of nomination!

I’m disappointed Norris is not at least trying the council route as there are 16 councils who have not backed Mary Davis or Sean Gallagher.

• That’s bull. SF have as much a right to have a candidate as anybody else

• DubDon 17/09/11 #

Not sure he sanctioned the shooting of Garda Gerry McCabe but he agreed with the ideal that no one should get in the way of the IRA getting their hands on money to cause death and destruction. Sunn Fein now realise that the discord in the republic political system is the way forward. But if the Shinners are that popular down here why can’t they field a candidate who actually is from the 26 counties? I’ll tell u why, cos the are shite robbing thieving scheming f# cks…. McGuinness should be tried for crimes against humanity in my opinion

• Gay Mitchell is the big winner here. This will drag out FG voters that may have stayed at home.

• Its a bold move by Sinn Fein, The right-wing media will have a field day but a well managed campaign could certainly see a top two finish not sure he will win it though.

• The man has blood in his hands and should not be given the option.

• If indeed this is the case it would be a fantastic fillip for Irish citizens in the north who should be entitled to vote in Presidential elections. A candidate who will campaign hard to ensure we receive this right.

• RTE News in shock .. Tommy Gormless speechless and stupefied and the other talking head in the studio..forgot his name..square haircut) described McGuinness’s past as ‘lurid’. You could hear a (grenade) pin drop in the studio. If MMcG wins RTE can kiss their TV licence goodbye..

• My God, you seem to think that the President of Ireland has actual powers..!!
      How will RTE kiss the License fee goodbye?

• Relax, its just an uneducated, wild hair guess. Its just little ol’ me and nothing to with g-d or anyone else. Now that i think about it there may be no RTE state propaganda network broadcasting if MMcG makes it to the park. President McGuiness’s 2016 commemoration speech from the GPO ought to be must see TV – exclusively on TV3. I don’t know about you Danny but your alter ego John P Kavanagh wouldn’t notice as he only watches UK TV stations by the look of his twitter page, hence his pathetic bilious drivel.

• @Ultraman
    I don’t have an alter ego. You must be mistaking me for someone else. My twitter profile is public, as are my tweets, and comments here.

• McGuinness has worked tirelessly to bring peace to Ireland, and build bridges between the two communities. He will have my vote. I think the work he has done in Stormont is commendable – and I’m sure as president, he can continue to build peace on the island and create a more balanced and fair working relationship with unionists.

• Jaysus, a terrorist as president? No thanks. Why not use election day to change the constitution, and allow President McAleese to stand again? At this rate, nobody has my vote. Thats not out of laziness, it’s just that I dont rate any of the candidates.

• DubDon 16/09/11 #

Agree with Rory Mc he’ll turn the council of state into a farce. He’ll prob actually get into uniform and duck step up and down his military guards of honor. While I agree the shinners shod be allowed a shot it shouldn’t be someone who openly threatened the civil power and armed forces of this state. While he may have turned his back in his terrorist past he still has the blood of thousands on his hands

• It’s a pity I’m living abroad. I’d love to vote for Martin McGuinness. I also met him once and he seems like a friendly and intelligent guy.

• I’d still vote for David Norris if i had the chance though. Don’t get the controversy though. He has been deputy first minister of Northern Ireland for the past few years. If the DUP can move forward so should we.

• Classic stuff all the same can’t stop laughing ….:)

• This country is a joke. A murdering, gun running terrorist allowed run for president? I’m f**kin emigrating!

• I see the mention of the murder of Garda McCabe received a few thumbs down. Am I to beleive that people actually agree with this murder and these same people want mcguinness as president? Chances are he knew the murder would occur and may even have sanctioned it.

• I found that,in the general election just past and of course this revelation that mmcg is running for president, comes a huge anti republicanism view coming out of some southerns. (now I am not painting you all with the same brush) However this type of forgetfulness and dare I say it stupidity really pi$$’s me off! The only reason why you are not singing God Save the Queen is as a direct result of men and woman like mmcg who all had "blood on their hands" Give this man a chance! He has been one of the few political figures at the moment who has actually done something of worth in the country!

• Give me the Queen any day before this former terrorist.

• Please don’t muddy our revolutionary history by comparing Martin McGuinness’ terrorism to the freedom fighters in the war of independence. The IRA in the early 20th century targeted soldiers, police, informants and diplomats. The IRA McGuinness was a member of targeted shopping centres, office blocks, toddlers and pregnant women. Don’t forget Omagh where they actually herded innocent people towards a bomb by saying it was at the other end of the town. If McGuinness gets elected I’ll burn my passport.

• He is over qualified for the job. Planting things and blowing out the candle at night – been there done that next.

Mind you he would have to visit hospitals rehabs so he might come face to face with his victims.

• as bertie would say the muppet show get,s muppier

• Martin mc Guinness for pres OH YES AT LAST SINN FEIN SHOW THEIR HAND AND WHAT A GREAT ONE.should stir the CLOWNS down here and RTE can go and f?ck themselves they are still shell shocked over FF down fall.

• Martin is a great man and would make an excellent candidate. A real man and not some wimpy guy.

• every one has there right to vote for who ever they choose , my only let down is that I won’t be in the country for the vote , but he would have my second choice

• I think the ‘problem’ is, the bar has been raised by the two ‘Marys’.
    Granted, I knew nothing about them prior to their election, but they certainly achieved and were a great represention for the country. I was keen on Pat Cox.

• Great news a proper candidate and one things for sure he ll do it for the right reasons and won’t cost us the people  250,000 a year ….. show the rest of the greedy politicians the way forward !!!!!

• How is he not going to cost us 250,000euro per year?
      He will still claim his salary, the same as the SF TD’s, what he does with his money after he gets it is up to him.
      This nonsense about SF TD’s not costing us money is just that. They cost the same as a FG, Lab and FF TD’s. Independents cost an extra 40,000euro. That they donate some of their money to the party is their own business. They still manage to claim the same expenses as all the other TD’s, as well as claiming their full salary.
      So how is he going to show anyone, greedy or not, the way forward?

• A

• I was born in northern ire and i have lived here for over 35 years and belive me when i tell u donal the politicians in the north have more fuckn back bone than the shower of shit you call politians you have in this great land ,and further more Martin mc guinness will make this country stand up and be counted again because he s not a coward like FG/LABOUR/FF nominees and wont take any crap or backhanders,like what has been going on for the last 30/40 years

• He’s not even from Ireland ! He’s from the UK , how is he going to fund his campaign ? With NI sterling , has he any off that left I wonder . I see that wanker from Kerry Healy Rae is backing him that says it all , maybe with should get simon cowell to run it like the xfactor and Healy rae knows to vote with his dail phone

Add New Comment