TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Tánaiste calls for referendum on same-sex marriage

Eamon Gilmore says he does not believe “we should postpone what is a human right.”

Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire/Press Association Images

MARRIAGE FOR GAY people is a human right, the Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore has said, as he called for a referendum on the issue “as soon as possible.”

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland, Mr Gilmore said the issue would be one of the first discussed by the Constitutional Convention, which will meet next month.

“I think the time has come for same sex couples. Lesbians and gays should be allowed to marry. I don’t believe we should postpone what is a human right.”

Mr Gilmore said he had discussed the issue with the Taoiseach Enda Kenny. However, he did not say where the Taoiseach stood on the issue.

Two states vote to legalise gay marriage – while two more say Yes to marijuana>

Read next:

Comments (186 Comments)

• Oh for Gods sake. Could we not have run this alongside the childrens referendum? It would save the taxpayer a few bob and would have increased turnout as well. Common sense is like kryptonite to this shambolic government.

• Why bother having a referendum? I don’t deserve a say in how someone else lives their life or decides who to spend it with.

• Agree with you, but a ref is need to change the constitution.

Gilmore is uber cynical on this issue. Until very recently he was awfully quiet on marriage equality. Now you can’t shut him up. Obama pulled the same stunt during the US election campaign. The message seems to be – Hey young people, even though we’re cutting your grants and forcing you out of the country in unprecedented numbers, we’re not FG, and if you vote for us in future we may do something progressive, at some stage.

• To be fair, Petr, Gilmore was on Morning Ireland to talk about pensions and the budget. The question on gay marriage was an ambush, which he dealt with pretty well.

There, I’ve done it. I’ve publicly defended Gilmore. I’m going for a shower now.

• Which part of the constitution needs to change to allow gay couples to marry? If there was something, it would surely be in Article 41. I can’t find it. http://constitution.ie

• @King Olaf,

I fully accept your sentiment. But we need a referendum because your ancenstors decided you do deserve a say in how someone else lives their life or decides who to spend it with.

• @ William Quill – Art 41.2.1 pledges the State to protect the institution of marriage upon which the Article 41 family is founded. It was a court decision (Murphy v AG) in which Costello J interpreted “marriage” as a permanent and indissoluble union of man and woman.

• Would that description of marriage not discriminate against the infertile?
      Because if it included adoption then legislation for gay marriage and adoption would make the unions completely equal.

• I would like to believe that in 100 years time, people will look back on the discussion on gay marriage and think “Really? of all the things wrong in society people get all worked up about two people who are in love being allowed the same rights as everyone else?”

• Sorry, red thumbed by mistake.

• Paul
      YOU are the misguided one. I have no problem with gay marriage but I do object to Gilmore ignoring economic issues eg the 64 young people from my village already in Australia, and making pie in the sky speeches.

IF he sincerely supports gay marriage -which I doubt – why has he not taken steps to help it forward?

He has done nothing on abortion (is that not a civil right too?) which only needs Oireachtas action, and has done an about face on animal welfare in both the last and present Dails. He is using the difficulties of others to boost his standing.

• Wait till we see the booklet they come out with for this !!! ; P only messing well overdue

• Would he ever feck off with his referendums.
    We haven’t had the second vote on the last one yet.

• You’ll have to wait..its best of 3 on Nice first up.

Wasn’t that the one starring Sweet Subsidiarity and Ethical Neutrality, where they elope and settle down in a disused Nato rendition hangar at Eirebase Shannon?

Nice ‘n’ promising sort of partnership..for peace. They didn’t say whose…the small print often gets blown away in the fine gaels off the west coast.
      Reminds me of the year meself and CJH sank the Armada..

• Legislate. its well over due. The public at large should not be deciding whether people are entitled to their rights.

• About time.

• This is only a distraction. There should be no referendum on this. If this government was worth anything they would just write it into law themselves and get rid of any challenge to it on the basis that they are standing up for people’s human rights. You can not introduce people’s rights with a vote, they are entitled to them already, that is why they are called rights. Instead they’re using it to distract from a debate on the real issues, which is the continued economic sinking of the country.

• Unfortunately if they were to just put the law through it would be deemed invalid as marriage is defined as “a permanent and indissoluble union of man and woman”, if we want to ensure same sex couples have the right to marry and ensure that their union is recognized under Irish law we have to amend the constitution to contain a new definition of marriage, and the only way to legally change the constitution is for us to vote on it. Sadly citizens are left relying on others to vote to allow them their marital rights. And don’t get me started on the irony of the definition of marriage used especially since the fact that we legalised divorce pretty much makes “permanent and indissoluble” a moot point.

• Sham 13/11/12 #

Well Dazza, ur definition was the high court interpreting the constitution, that definition is not in there. The reason they went for that interpretation is they at the time there was no legislation for it and the judges didn’t want to “legislate from the bench” (quite right too). It was left open for government to legislate. If they did and someone challenged, the Supreme Court would have to decide if it was constitutional. Given that there is no bar in the constitution (which doesn’t define marriage), the Supreme Court would very likely say it was grand. The government claim a referendum is needed because it suits them to have an excuse. Legislate for it now ya spineless saps! Have some balls!

• I stand corrected, thanks for sharing that with me Sham

• About bloody time. I get that some (most?) politicians view this as an awkward/dodgy topic to raise themselves (they might lost votes you know), but couldn’t they just put it to the people so we can vote one way or the other. And please let the members of the political parties have a free vote/free opinion, I would hate to see politicians having to toe the line one way or the other if they disagree with their party’s choice.

• Someone might want to have a quick read of the Constitution. It doesn’t actually stipulate that marriage is and can only be between a man and a woman…but it gets very vague and that’s where the problem is. Probably doesn’t need a referendum but if they’re going to do it then do it with other issues and generally modernise the Constitution, what it says about the place of women in society boarders on misogynistic. And lets not even get started on what it says about the place of the Church in society.

• I’m not gay but would vote in favour, surely it’s a matter of human rights and compassion?

• “physically they can be with who they want” does that statement not cover everyone regardless of sexual orientation?

• Troll

• well thats one i would like to see passed. dont know if it would though as the church are still very influental here. it would be a great day for ireland though if it was.

• How about just removing marriage from the constitution and let people do what they want.

• This is just beautiful. Great news.

• It is this kind of mentality that wants to drag this country back to the 1950s.

• Can’t tell if you are a troll or really believe what you say. Maybe homosexuality is not ‘normal’ to you but it is normal to a lot of people. What is ‘normal’ anyway? Define ‘natural law’ as you put it. Society is changing as are peoples attitudes and a more inclusive society is a better, healthier society. On a side note, do you actually know any gay people? Do you know any who are currently married or in a long term relationship as I can tell you that gay couples are as commited as heterosexual couples.Plus, I know a lot of heterosexual guys and gals who tell their partners they are emotionally and physically faithful yet it is anything but. So what’s your point?

• I agree with same sex marriage but family law needs to be over hauled also

• I’d hope the Convention determines that a referendum isn’t necessary, that it can simply be legislated for. A likely enough result I’d imagine. Constitution doesn’t ban gay marriage or say that marriage is between a man and woman.

• Homosexualty is just as normal as hetrosexuality.

• Gay Marriage? Yes I agree the option should be at least made available. Just like adoption must be made available for samesex couples. If certain sectors of our society could get past sex part, and see same sex partners as loving caring partners like the majority of straight couples within society.

Gay marriage is vitally important, but not as important as other critical issues within Irish society. As a gay man I would like to have the choice to marry one day. The posibility to be able to adopt a young person who is having trouble being accepted within a family or residentical setting for being homosexual.

While talking about gay people and marriage, what about bullying within society and schools. We accept certain forms of bullying, particualrly homophobia bullying. research carried out has highlighted more effective understanding and openiness within our educational institutions. Not only to students but also to staff who have to hide their true idenitity in fear of being ousted from their post.

How can a particular teacher who is homosexual expect pupils to be open and honest within society and class room if the teacher themselves have to hide who they really are. having structures in place like that of marriage of same sex couples will allow for openeness and a williness to see beyond societies nose to bigger picture. The picture of acceptance, equality and empowerment of those who are maginalised within society. Being able to celebrate our love means to be free, without prejudice to certain minority groups.

• You misundertand the notion of tolerance. It is not liberal to be tolerant of the intolerant. You are trying to prevent others (who have nothing to do with you) from having their rights. Are you suggesting that liberals should follow your mentality and discriminate against people simply because you want to? I suggested you were a troll (and I’m assuming you know what that means in the online context) since your opinions seemed so ridiculous.

• Mjhint 13/11/12 #

bpdeasy are you off your head. Its not natural? Do I now have to take on your moral code because you say its not natural. Being gay is more than sex. Its also a form of love. You say that gay people are not faithful. Look up the no strings attached website just to see how many unfaithful married people use it. Grow up educate yourself & stop talking about things you dont know about.

• About time. It doesn’t necessarily need a referendum since marriage isn’t defined as man in woman in constitution but I bet Fine Gael will make it go to referendum and rally the god squad to try defeat it. I’m very confident if there was a referendum it would be passed

• You are entitled to your opinion, I just don’t think it is valid. As a tolerant society we welcome debate on issues such as this without resorting to name-calling or violence. However, the point you make is equally as valid when you apply it to heterosexual couples/parents etc…and your sweeping generalisations just display your ignorance.I am tolerant of you and your opinion, I just think it’s rubbish.

• Whatever will the child abusing church have to say on this? “Down with that sort of thing”, maybe?

• I really hope this isn’t presented as a simple question on gay marriage. There is a wider rights issue in which citizens of this state can be discriminated against, as a matter of policy,law, or precedence, based on sexual orientation, gender or gender identity.

We need an article in the constitution that declares all citizens of this state equal, regardless of race, colour, creed, gender, gender identity or sexuality, with equal rights to all civil institutions, and with the right of self-determination of identity. It should go further and say that consenting adults, who have been legally registered by an appointed solemniser have equal status under the law as any other recognised marriage.

This would allow legislation to be enacted declaring:
    - The state may not, as a matter of policy, favour couples or individuals based on sexuality, gender identity, race, colour or creed.
    - The individual has the right to self-determination of gender
    - The state may not favour straight couples over any variation in matters of adoption etc
    - The state may not favour maternal rights by default in cases of family law

Anything less just prolongs the fight for equality in this state.

• Damocles 13/11/12 #

Possible question:

“Should legislation be enacted affording same gender couples the same rights, privileges and duties as mixed gender couples are currently afforded under the law?”

• Damocles I think Ronan was trying to cover transsexuals rights in there too under the umbrella of equality in general and he’s got a great point. The constitution does already hold that we are supposed to be equal.. It just seems that some people seem to have got the notion that this is Animal Farm..

• Damocles 13/11/12 #

The more you try to pack into one question the less likely the success of the outcome … discuss.

• I believe in the right for all to marry but there are legal questions regarding whether or not a referendum is needed due to the way it links marriage to family (i don’t agree with it but i think thats the viewpoint). Hopefully the Constitutional committee can put to bed whether one is needed or not. If not then legislate, if so then hold the vote. I believe it would be passed if put to the people as there is no logical reason not to.

• “They see faithful as emotionally faithful but physically they can be with who they want” – that is simply untrue, nasty and offensive. If you said something like that about black people you would be rightly labelled racist and your comment deleted.

You needn’t try play the ‘tolerant’ card bpdeasy. You want your intolerance to be tolerated? Do you not see the anomaly there?

• I actually don’t think you’re entitled to your opinion when it’s singling out a group in society to be marginalised and treated as second class citizens. I wouldn’t tolerate you saying that about people from other races, genders, or religions and I won’t accept you saying it for people of other sexualities.

• “They see faithful as emotionally faithful but physically they can be with who they want” – That is a gross generalisation and grossly offensive. If you made such a slur against, for example, Nigerians, you would be rightly accused of racism and your comment deleted.

And you needn’t try play the “tolerance” card either. You want your intolerance to be tolerated – can you not see the anomaly there?

• Why a referendum? Lets just do it you coward!

• It’s called democracy that’s why a referendum.

• That makes absolutely no sense Cian. In a democracy you elect a government to pursue legislation on your behalf. That’s every bit as democratic as a referendum. It’s also bizarre that a referendum is needed to give one group in society the same rights as the rest of us.

• The constitution will need to be amended so a referendum will be required. Can only hope that it is passed if it does come to a vote.

• referendum is needed whenever a new section needs adding to the constitution or changes made to the wording in parts of constitution.

• As far as I’m aware the whole notion of a constitutional change is bull: There is no direct mention in the Irish constitution that marriage is between a man and a woman.
      They only have to legislate, but the cowards are too scared!

• There is nothing in the Constitution that prohibits same sex marriage nor does it confine or define marriage to opposite sex couples. Given the growing number of jurisdictions, including common law ones, that have legislated for this, and if the Oireachtas legislates for it here, I would be reasonably confident that the SC would not find it repugnant to the Constitution but would take a ‘living document’ approach to it.

• My understanding is that the Supreme Court have previously defined marriages as the union between a man and a women.

This would have made it relatively easy for anyone to mount a challenge to full marriage equality – which you can be sure would have happened.

• No Bob, they have not. The High Court has ruled on it previously but noted in the ruling that one of the reasons for rejecting it was the absence of legislation from the Oireachtas and the lack of such recognition in other common law states.

If the Oireachtas was to legislate then both of these objections would no longer be relevant, given legislation in other countries.

We need to just get on and legislate for it.

• Thanks Alan – I still think we would probably be better off with a referendum.

I’m pretty sure it would be passed.

• I don’t get it either.. Is same sex marriage illegal ? I don’t think it is,
      but my knowledge of law is somewhat limited I admit..
      Surely the state should just legislate for marriage equality between any two people regardless of their gender or sexuality.

As far as I can see that is exactly what is in the constitution already.

• which on is the bride so?

• A real democracy is where you stop interfering in how other people want to live. You dont need to write that down, just mind your own business and hope that they do the same for you.
    Laws are only for telling you what you can’t do. If there is no specific law against something then fire away. Don’t complicate the simple things in life.

• Your legal right to be recognised as the father of your child would not be affected by two men being allowed to get married at all so that point is invalid

• @bpdeasy, in regards to your second comment, you complain that liberals are only tolerant to those who agree with them? Does this not apply to you too? You posted that comment as a way of criticising people who disagree with the opinion you originally outlined!

• Referendum yes but people should VOTE.

• How about getting out of the business of marriage altogether, problem solved.

• Water is a human right

And you,ll be charging us for it why?

• How about having a referendum on politicians and bankers pensions on the same day Eamon?

• Don’t need one as politicians and bankers pay isn’t part of the constitution.

• If you wanted to you could try to get the referendum commission to add a non-constitutionally binding mass poll of the electorate on the same day as to whether public pay should have an upper bound and what that bound should be. But it’s not in their remit and probably not in their interest to do so.

• Can you go one day without mentioning that? I thought the topic here was a referendum on same sex marriage.

• I think Kerry has a fair point, Declan. We’ve had 31 goes at amending a constitution which is barely 75 years old. This would be no. 4 for the present government alone. When there are at least another 3 in the works, it’s reasonable to ask to vote on several changes together.

• I wouldn’t have too much of an issue on voting on multiple issues. But in regard to the above comment, nearly every second or third article on the journal would fall under the category of finance, the economy, politics, bankers, etc.

Surely we spend enough time talking about that to shelf the issue for one thread. Especially one that we can’t realistically hold a referendum on. People opened this article to read about the issue of same sex marriage. Not how much the exec of a bank is being paid.

• A referendum would be a disgrace and the church would mobilise an army of busybodies to vote no. If there is a referendum then heterosexuals shouldn’t have a vote, it’s none of our business. A heterosexual voting on whether homosexuals can marry is like an Irish citizen voting in the Italian election.

• Do you legitimately believe this, or are you just trolling? How antiquated an opinion is this??

• Thanks Vincent for the reply. This government have an appalling human rights record both past and present.

• fantastic :)

• Are we sure that the Monty Python team are not secretly running this country.

• “MARRIAGE FOR GAY people is a human right, the Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore has said”
    So religion is violating people’s human rights ??? Eamo better tell Enda there,and the rest of the god bothering Catholic grovelers.This comes from our Tánaiste,a day after being selected to sit on the “United Nations Human Rights Council.”

• No, the law is violating human rights – it just happens to be back a position religion agrees with up with the power of law. If religious folk don’t like gay marriage, nobody is planning to force them to have a gay marriage. All this recognizes is that there are those that do, and the State thinks that’s OK as well.

This should have happened years ago

• https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8bWlTZZN3DY&feature=youtube_gdata_player check this out its on discrimination…. worth a look

• All well and good and I agree with him but I just wonder would he be such a supporter of gay marriage if he had been voted in as Taoiseach? I doubt it somehow.

• publicly at least.

• LP policy has always been in favour of gay marriage, they’ve been one of the few major parties that have always had it on the agenda over the last 25 – 30 years. Now, you can argue that they have not been sufficiently forthright in pushing for it in the coalitions they have been part of – how much of that is their fault and how much of it is the fault of coalition partners is debatable, but the fact is that it has always been party policy. Credit where it’s due like

• Gilmore is an Arsehole

• Ah so the liberal tolerant people of this country are only tolerant of those who agree with them. All others are trolls and throw backs to the 1950’s.

• What about a refrendum on pensions and not being forced to borrow money to pay for them?

• I thought the Labour Party was founded to advance the interests of “those who work with hand or brain,”. Instead its leaders seem more concerned about appealing to the inhabitants of Dalkey or Dublin 6, than those forced to emigrate.

Gilbore’s posing on gay marriage is utterly unbelievable. Why not a second amendment as part of Saturday’s vote? Why is it being discussed by the farcial constitutional convention?

I suspect Dame Edna is against the change but the Garbally boy (why are there so many of them in the government?) has not the courage to say so. As the Americans say “shit or get off the pot”, Eamon!

• Good man Eamon. Stand up for human rights.

While you’re at it, you might also like to take a stand to defend the human rights of the other great group of downtrodden, discriminated against and beaten Irish people – the unborn people. Or does your brand of liberalism only protect those who rightly but fashionably need protection? A bit like perpetuating evil against races in Africa and Australia who didn’t count because at the time the were considered sub-human?

Man and party are a joke.

• Put your bible away! Surprised this post didn’t come with a threatening picture of a crying woman or a foetus. And abortion and the history of racism are two completely different topics! Dragging racial conflict into your own agenda doesn’t give your belief any more weight.

• Who mentioned religion and the bible? I’m not a religious person; merely a supporter of ALL human rights. If hatred of religion is your best counter-argument to not acknowledging human rights of unborn people, then good luck. The history of Apartheid and other forms of racism are not that different in terms of failing to acknowledge human rights, and the indignation of people like you when confronted with that as a possible truth is no different either. Just entertain that thought for a minute, if capable… If not, hide behind your ignorance of religion-bashing, if being dragged out of bed too early on Sunday mornings as a child caused you that much emotional pain. You might also wish to consider affording comparable human rights to those people who chose to practice religion, or is your defence of human rights merely those which you in your considered wisdom deem important? Think rather than be led.

• How about respecting women’s rights eh? Seeing as how they’re already born and all..

• Eh, Shanti, this is Ireland, also known as the safest place in the world to have be pregnant and have a baby. And don’t take my word for it. However, you may have heard of the World Health Organisation and the UN?

But if it’s the right for women to be pregnant and get rid of it versus the right to life of an unborn child, then kindly tell me when you would afford human rights to the unborn person. Is it after a certain number of weeks pregnancy Let’s discuss human rights for what it actually means! Interesting to note in tragedies such as Aoife Phelan that her pregnancy compounded the absolute tragedy that it was. What is noteworthy is that it appears that an unborn person is classified as a baby when someone wants it and not if they don’t. Life and death are a bit more absolute than that, and are not open to subjective opinion, in exactly the same way as you can’t be a little bit pregnant!

• Check your facts.
      Ireland is not the safest place to give birth, it’s on the list, but the safest places to give birth are actually countries who offer abortion.

But its a red herring, because it’s not about *having* babies, it’s about *not* having them. If a woman does not give consent to another person living off her for 9 months then she should not be forced to. Pregnancy can have a massive effect on the body, some temporary, some permanent, some merely uncomfortable, some life threatening. You, me and everyone else have no right force a woman to carry to term if she does not wish to be *pregnant*. If she didn’t mind being pregnant but didn’t want the baby it would be easier to go for adoption.

A foetus has a 50/50 chance of being spontaneously aborted during the first trimester (when 90% of abortions take place), it has the same odds of survival at 24 weeks – which is why miscarriages after this point are referred to as still births, and terminations at this point would be extremely rare – so rare that to focus upon them in the light of the debate would be a spotlight fallacy.

But you are dragging this thread completely off topic. This is about the rights of two consenting adults to have their relationship legally recognised in the way we have come to call marriage. Not namby pamby civil partnerships. This is about equality. There is nothing equal between a woman who is born and the potential life that requires her womb to exist!

• Shanti, I am genuinely interested in this because I want to believe in a world where the consequences of being pregnant are as simple and as right as just getting an abortion, and that there is not a single breach of human rights in doing so. It would be great to think that that was the case, and maybe it is, but I am yet to be convinced.

To take the logic of your argument, you would therefore contend that it is immaterial when a woman has an abortion since if she doesn’t wish to carry, she shouldn’t be forced. The problem I have with that logic is that if you say she should only have an abortion up to say 24 weeks and not after, then it is to acknowledge that something is wrong with doing so after. If 24 is the magic number (and I’m not saying it is), then why not 23, 22, etc. It’s either right to allow abortion up to term, or its a questionable practice in general. Since I believe that to abort a baby just before birth is virtually the same as killing a live baby, then where is the line drawn, and more importantly, why is the line drawn. If there is any doubt, there is no doubt.

It is off-topic, but is a central issue on human rights. To try to not discuss it is to try to further diminish those human rights.

• Well as a woman who has (thankfully) had a miscarriage following contraceptive failure (pregnancy will be ectopic for me. In this country I would be forced to wait until my Fallopian tube is about to rupture and then be cut open to save my life.. Whereas if abortion were available I would take a drug and induce a miscarriage) all it was was a very heavy period. I didn’t see any babies in there and had I given birth at this point there’s no way that “child” would have survived.
      This is 90% of abortions.

The later term abortions are most frequently in the cases where there are medical reasons for doing so, and cannot be compared to earlier term abortions where the end result of the pregnancy was not wanted.

The earliest a foetus has ever been delivered and survived was 21.5weeks. Before this point a foetus cannot survive without a womb. It is not equal, how can you grant equality to something that is not capable of survival without being inside the person you seek to make it equal to?

• Shanti, I’m not going to comment on your personal situation, but would like to discuss your substantive points.

A 2 week old foetus indeed does not look like a child. But a 2 year old child does not look like an 80 year old either. The one thing than happens continuously without fail from conception to death is change.

At what point do you determine that it is “wrong” to perform abortions? It’s either right up to term or not. Simply using viability is always questionable. It must be just as wrong to force a woman after a certain time to go to term, if it is wrong at all. If equality is determined by viability, surely it must be acknowledged that the line between right and wrong will move as viability changes, this undermining this as a justification.

Convince me otherwise!

• Jaysus, we are all off topic here but Shanti is spot on when she points out that the vast majority of abortion occur within the first trimester. At that stage what is inside the womb is not a person, it is a collection of cells which is incapable for cognitive thought, survival outside the womb or even the perception of pain.

Get over it Mehoop, just because you believe a person sparks into existence at conception doesn’t make it true. To quote George Carlin “not every ejaculation deserves a name.”

As for gay marriage, go for it! The only issue is do gay guys/girls attend their future spouse’s stag/hen?

• The limit is 24 weeks in pretty much every country that provides for abortion unless there are medical reasons.

You seem to have things very mixed up. As I already pointed out, abortion is about not wanting to be pregnant (and termination for medical reasons). So what makes you think anyone would stick out the 6 months and *then* decide to have an abortion? If they had an abortion that late in the proceedings it would be for good reason.
      Do you think women make these sorts of decisions flippantly? You’re not one of these people who thinks that access to safe and legal abortions would result in them being “used as contraception” are you? Because they’re terrible modes of contraception.. They’re not pleasant you know.

• An unborn human is not a ‘baby’, it is a foetus. An egg is not a chicken before it hatches. Life begins at birth, that’s why when people say how many years they’ve been alive they don’t count from the date of conception.

• How on earth does a marriage ceremony, for anybody, become a human right? You can argue that that all formalised sexual partnerships should be treated equally but a human right to a wedding ceremony? Have we gone mad?

• Scrap this Marriage description altogether. Two people coming together should be called ‘an amalgamation’ and treated like two businesses.
    Definitely leave out any religious connections and if those involved want to bring their amalgamation to a monk then go ahead.
    I don’t see Gilmore jumping up and down if two businesses join forces in fact quite the opposite.
    What a lot of people do not realise is that the state does not recognise religious marriages until you go behind the altar and sign the civil register.
    You can’t walk out of a church and be recognised by the state as a married couple unless you do this.

• This whole thing is a joke. Marriage should only be between man and woman.

• Ann, do you not think gay people have as much right to be miserable as straight people??

• Your backwardness is a joke, but to point such a thing out would be rude.

• Why’s that?

• Go back to bed Ann.

• Ann, if you believe that then the simple answer for you would be not to marry a woman and let everyone else get back to minding their own business.

• Good excuse to excommunicate the psuedo catholics who will come out to support such nonsense.

• Ann. Have you read BUNREACHT NA hÉIREANN, CONSTITUTION OF IRELAND –?
      Article 40
      1. All citizens shall, as human persons, be held equal before the law. This shall not be held to mean that the State shall not in its enactments have due regard to differences of capacity, physical and moral, and of social function.
      Article 41, The Family, does not describe the family as being Man and Woman, in fact it does not describe the family at all.
      Article 41, 3, 1, The State pledges itself to guard with special care the institution of Marriage, on which the Family is founded, and to protect it against attack.
      Article 41, 3, 2, A Court designated by law may grant a dissolution of marriage..
      Article 41 3, 3, No person whose marriage has been dissolved…
      Therefore it can be argued that by not providing for marriage between same sex partners the state is discriminating against same sex partners who wish to marry.
      You are allowed your obviously religious belief that marriage is between a man and a woman only, but this proposed referendum is about Human Rights not religious beliefs.

• maybe run a referendum on politicians/bankers pension reductions alongside it.

• Awesome Eamon, any more brilliant ideas to keep our minds off the upcoming budget and the scorching taxes we are already paying.

• I can’t see why gay people need this because they already have civil contract and in the eyes of the state that is all anyone else has.
    If that weren’t so then you would not need to sign the register at the back of the altar.
    Gilmore knows this and he is just using the issue as a red herring he knows that it is an emotional issue for some. More distractions from the comedy duo Eric and Ernie.

• Stick by what i say this perversion of marriage will never happen in a Church.Adam and Eve Gaius not Adam and Steve. Liberal minorities shall never devalue the real meaning of marriage in a church , seems there is a gay agenda now behind every move to undermine church teaching of one Man and Women. And yes children will be left feeling strange having to explain to other children they have two mammys or two daddys, crazy world.

• Why should a child in need of a loving and caring home be denied the opportunity of one because other parents have difficulty (are ignorant) in explaining the true definintion of a loving family to their kids

• Vincent 13/11/12 #

Evolution you muppet not 7 day magic, although by your comment looks like some need to evolve a bit more or to put it in way you understand god should have given it 10 days. For people to think for themselves and not follow the evil one sitting in the Vatican.

• Whoa there horsey! The Church is entitled to its backward thinking on the matter – the problem is that the State is forcing everyone else to live by it. Nobody is going to run into the nearest chapel, handcuff the priest to one of the monks and marry the two of them against their will. Relax the ball!

• Mmmm! just want to see how many idiots will bother to red thumb this.

• Someone mentioned this already Marriage is between a man and a woman. Not two men or two women. I’ll be voting against it.

• The Catholic church will not allow marriage between two men or two women because it is against church teaching simple as that and no corrupt politican can change that.Try stunts like that in a muslim country and they would bring the government to its knees.This is nothing but an attack on the teachings of the Catholic Church by people who will do anything to undermine it. Good on the Catholic Church, regardless of what way a referendum would go it will never happen in the house of God.

• See, there’s this thing called a non-religious wedding…

• Martin, same-sex marriage will have about as much impact on your life as what colour socks I decide to wear tomorrow, no one will force you to marry a man, you won’t have to attend any ceremonies, and I’m sticking my neck out here in saying that you probably won’t get any invites either, the church is obsessed with sex for an institution that things no one should be having any, I always find it bizarre that they are pro-life when we’re in the womb, but as soon as we’re born they want to suffocate us and control every aspect of our lives, and then when we die we’re probably all going to Hell anyway because of the apple and the talking snake and the rib and all that. You are absolutely entitled to your belief system, but it shouldn’t be used to attack other people who you don’t even know.

• Really Martin, just because some of us choose to think for ourselves does not mean we are attacking your precious church. In fact you have it backwards, it is your Church and dogma that is attacking and excluding those who do not fit into your small minded perfect world.

• bpdeasy 13/11/12 #

Gaius it will impact all our lives. We will all lose our right to be described as fathers and mothers and be referred to as parents. This effects everyone and people need to resist this. A liberal minority pushing as far as they can and those against it need the push back.

• To be honest bpdeasy, I couldn’t care less if I’m called Daddy-o, The Big Cheese or Minister for Taking Kids To Park, they’re only labels, kids aren’t going to ask ‘What time is parent coming home from work at?’. It’s not about a liberal agenda, it’s about treating the people you live next door to, work with, stand next to at the checkout in the supermarket with a bit of human decency instead of assuming their ‘rights’ are somehow deviant and going to lead to the sky falling on our heads. I base my opinion on this matter purely on fellowship with other people which I share this island with.

• Martin Wake up and smell the Paedophilia..
      It is quite obvious that the catholic church is very capable of undermining itself.
      What rock have you been trapped under.

• @bpdeasy – can you please explain how giving full marriage right to gay people will lose your right to be described as a father? what utter nonsense! giving full and equal rights to your fellow citizens does not reduce or remove the rights you already have and it’s time people like you admitted this.

• Martin … That would never happen in the house of god , you say. well you are probably right the fact is, the raping of young boys and girls did happen in the so called “house of god”

• amm have you heard of a civil service ???? the ignorance!!!!!

• Does anybody know who are the two guys with their hands up Enda and Eamon’s arse.
    Ventriloquism is not the art it used to be.

• Gilmore – Marriage for gay people may be a human rights issue and I’m not against that but isn’t this not reflecting away from the fact that you and your pals stood idly by while Ireland was subjected to a totally unjustified economic mess for our people. Surely you have better priorities to contend with than this? I’d like to remind you that you are working at the top of the ladder instead of the bottom. I can remember that as far back as the 1970s when this government was last in power and I can recall people’s human rights being steam rolled over and over. But of course this faded out of sight and out of mind. Human Rights groups emphasize the fact that there was an increasing tendency on the part of the state and local government bodies to overlook violation of citizen’s rights for the sake of administrative or political convenience, and for officialdom to regard the individual as a nuisance. Gilmore said on rte today that Irelands winning of a seat on the UN Human Rights Council was a vindication of the country’s human rights record. What in Gods name does he mean by that where are the records?

• bpdeasy 13/11/12 #

What about my human right to continue to be legally recognised as my children’s father? No talk of that right being taken from me.

• Amendment scandal over kid’s photos exposed – see http://www.ottosbunker.com

Add New Comment