TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

‘The camp will continue’ – Occupy Dame St vows to stay for Patrick’s Day parade

Gardaí had asked the camp to dismantle for the parade due to health and safety concerns.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

OCCUPY DAME STREET has said that the camp will remain in place for the Patrick’s Day parade on 17 March, despite a request from the gardaí that it be dismantled for the event.

The camp has instead offered to encircle the camp with metal fencing for the duration of the parade after gardaí raised health and safety concerns over construction materials held on the site.

The gardaí had contacted the camp last week as part of an ongoing discussion about the Patrick’s Day festival, which runs in Dublin’s city centre between 16 and 19 March.

In a statement, the camp said it affirmed its right to exercise peaceful resistance against the current mismanagement of the country and rejected attempts to move it from the Central Bank Plaza.

It reiterated its commitment to ensuring the health and safety of both the public and camp members to the best of its ability.

The camp is taking part in consultations with the Dublin City Fire Marshall to ensure that it complies with any requests the office may have and said that it looks forward to a peaceful and safe Patrick’s Day festival.

Poll: Should the Occupy Dame St camp move for St Patrick’s Day? >

Occupy London protesters evicted from camp at St Paul’s Cathedral >

Read next:

Comments (144 Comments)

• The only publicity these people have gotten in weeks is over it being dismantled for St Patricks Day………….. enough said…!

• Though I agreed with the good intentions of the occupy movement, there is a danger that their stubbornness will do more harm than good to what ever is left of a frayed public goodwill. Sure the public is furious and sickened with the behaviour of bankers, developers and the government, they are also fed up of this tired redundant protest. Why don’t the occupy movement try a different strategy to reinvigorate public support. Occupy Seanie’s front garden or outside his house, or Cowan or Aherns house. What they are doing now is worse than useless; one step forward two steps back. I thought these people were supposed to be smart. If they cant reappraise and move on to plan B or C then they are finished for good.

• The ones that are left are the frontline! They need Support as much as anybody but the type of public there up against are living in a fantasy world of politics and incoherant policies. The Grass is very green on the lawn of the central Bank.

• It should be dismantled ASAP. ! They have had their time to protest , and peacefully as they have done and are entitled to – but time to move on and off.! Its an eyesore now !

Or else other options should be looked at , to remove it !

• They are protesting on behalf of you and I.

• They are not protesting on my behalf..

• Mr Lee 06/03/12 #

Not on my behalf.

• Not on my behalf

• Not on behalf of the 92% of 3560 listeners who took part in a text poll on my show last weds. I agree with the right to protest but i spoke last night to one of the founder members of the Occupy Dame Street group and even he has abandon them and says they cant even agree with each other and feels they have overstayed their welcome in Dame Street . Once again i will state publicly that i will personally pay for the clean up what was once a trendy metropolitan meeting square . Time to move on guys !

• Most definitely me neither

• Nor are they protesting on my behalf.
      The Occupy movement has made a big impact on peoples conciousness…. They are now just pissing people off.
      They are the 0.01%

• So Leigh, I take it you expect the German taxpayer to continue to find our overspending?

• Mr G 07/03/12 #

Not on
      Mine

• Buckwheat you are absolutely clueless as to what’s going on around you. First off, the reason we are in such debt is not due to the government overspending on welfare or such nonsense as some may like to assert- we kept well within debt limits and even ran a surplus in the years up until the recession.

The measures in the Fiscal Pact completely miss the point, it’s yet more austerity policies being hoisted on us. Austerity does not grow an economy, it retracts it. The only time it’s useless is when government spending is an issue in the first place, in conjunction with other measures such as devaluation of currency(which we can’t do).

The Germans are not somehow funding our lavish lifestyles and you’ve been severely mislead if you think that’s the case. The “Bailouts” are not for the Irish people, but for the banks, largely their own banks. If we did not proceed with the Anglo bailout, we would have to even consider many of the measures we have taken.

There is still time to do something about this. There is time to cut off all payment to bondholders and to do a full fraud investigation, seizing the assets of those who claims the taxpayer’s money and forcing them to suck up the gambling debts they legally earned for themselves. At the very least, given Europe relies on our stability, we have a great bargaining chip that can give us leverage in these discussions, which is not being used.

Everyone is entitled to an opinion, but the absolute, objective fact here is that yours is wrong- we were not “Overspending”, and the Germans are not funding it. We did not, again, run a deficit but a surplus before the recession, and the Germans are not “Helping” us but forcing policies that are damaging our economy and drawing out the recession.

Really it shouldn’t even be about “The voice of the people”. It should be about what is sensible to do and caving in like idiots to policies that will only hurt our economies while hurling abuse at protesters like useless skangers just shows us up for the shameful, spineless, amoral people we’ve become.

• Please go home guys. You’ve lost support of public by the looks of things…

• But the “Public” they’re losing the support of are acting like the same typical Paddy Men that voted back in Fianna Fáil. The Irish people are not a benchmark of anything worthwhile. They’re trying to stand up for you and you’re too stupid to see it.

• Is Leigh just very simple or is he a troll or both?
      Who can tell?

• Or maybe I just hit a little too close to home? Someone in your family vote for Fianna Fáil? Ouch.

• lol…. right.. so it’s simple then.
      You’re so very far away from ‘close to home’ it’s comical. I was involved in ODS for the first month or more, until I saw it was going nowhere. I was ready for frustration, but the frustration of inertia was too much for me. Since I have left I have not seen anything worthwhile come out it. That is unfortunate.
      Let’s be clear about this. YOU ARE NOT STANDING UP FOR ME. I stood up for myself as I see the elected representatives are not doing what they claimed they would (not that I thought they would). ODS has put the nail in my protesting days. I see now that any real movement for change will try and be co-opted by the Trotskyite parties and, to a lesser extent, attract the violent “republican” types.
      Your attitude is not a helpful one. Do you think you can persuade people to your side of the argument by belittling, pigeon-holing and insulting them?

• And what a fantastic job you’re doing of standing up for yourself now, having been “assimilated” into the viciously apathetic modern Irish mentality. If you don’t like what ODS are doing, organise your own protest.

You think your attitude is helpful? You’re ruling out any and all “protest” in a time when we most need it. You’re a disgrace.

• Occupy Dame Street – It should be occupy those argos tents, because as far as I can see when I’m in the area, NO ONE is occupying anything there! I think they’ve played their part peacefully and fair dues, but enough is enough. March to Leinster house every day, every week, as this is where the real problem is – Sinn fein spending ridiculous amounts on ink cartridges.. Joan Burton making Connolly quake in his grave.. Enda Kenny obnoxiously taken every Irish citezen for granted.. But as far as I can see, this Occupy movement is yesterdays news!

• Where as it was a good idea starting out it is fair to say that the movement has lost all momentum and is pretty much at a stand still. Much of the early excitement fell away when the entire movement, internationally failed to come up with a viable alternative to current capitalist economics. It’s true to say the current system is terrible……..it’s just so happens that it’s better than any other we can currently think of. I think they have made their point and indeed have influenced the analytical thinking of large sections of the Irish people when it comes to politics and how we view/select our leaders. The time has come to pack it in however and move the lessons learned onto the ballot box in future. to back candidates and policies that are for the good of the country, not just the good of the individual voter and his/her local patch of ground.

• “internationally failed to come up with a viable alternative to current capitalist economics. It’s true to say the current system is terrible……..it’s just so happens that it’s better than any other we can currently think of. ”

That’s not even remotely the issue. There is an alternative to the way we’ve been doing things, and it doesn’t even have to be completely removed from capitalism. The issue is not that we “haven’t come up with an alterantive”. It’s that the government, Merkozy, and apparently much of the Irish people refuse to hear an alternative.

Do you really think that as soon as someone comes up with a better idea, everyone’s going to stop everything and take it up? How naive are you with regards politics?

• Barry 06/03/12 #

You know what, its an awful awful shame Dublin wasn’t hit with freezing conditions and heavy snow like it was last year, that would have sorted the men from the boys and you would have never seen them sleep in the camp overnight. It would be long gone.

The camp in Waterford is a joke and art this stage the tents should be donated to charity, nobody sleeps in the tents anymore and nobody is even around the camp after 9pm at night.

These protesters don’t have the support of the 99% they “claim” to represent, instead they have bullied local small businesses around the central bank and affected their income (aren’t those small shop owners the 99%?).

In addition these protesters are full of fringe groups such as people against fluoride and other such nonsense.

• It’s time these eyesores nationwide are removed. It’s a disgrace.

• Its achieving nothing. Thats the reality of the situation. I am totally for people protesting for change, but this seems to be an elitist movement of people have removed themselves from reality. Join a Political Party, work for a charity, get involved in your community, how is sitting on your arse in Dame Street going to change anything?

• Hey fellas – a water cannon in March is no fun :)

and besides, Daddy won’t pay the college fees and for the summer break in Tuscany if you don’t stop arseing around like this :)

• Bring in the water cannon.. lol

• Gereral consensus is that it’s time to move on and to stop embarrassing the rest of the country .
    And yes , we all know that the tents are empty . . . . Like your protest ” full of nothing but hot air ” ! ! !

• This mess should be cleaned up now,why not relocate their camp to Dunsink tip , better idea altogether, St Patricks day parade and the eyes of the world are on Ireland and this festering boil on our backside still remains for one and all to see sort this out now, the holidays are over girls , or do we want to portray the pigs in the parlour as being part of our valued heritage Cead Mile Failte!!!!!!

• Time to pack up. The group have made their point. Its now just an eyesore.

• Lets face it, there has been absolutely no justice for what happened to us and in our country and the people that caused these crimes are living the high life still, untouched by the aftermath and our government would like us to keep calm and carry on and forget about it. Well if someone robs me and continues to fleece me, i wanna know who’s doing it and i want fucking justice so until that day happens i think the camp should carry on as a reminder of that.

• You forgot to mention the damage they are doing to the street furniture in the square -has anyone else noticed the amount of graffiti on the backs of the seats?
    And lets not forget that they’re taking this public space away from those of us who used to use there! I want them gone and our plaza returned to the public space it was at the expense of those people in the camp who took it from us and damaged it.

• Really? Before it was ODS it was hyper teenagers either running around and getting in shoppers faces or sullenly sitting around competing on how emo they could get their fringes..
      At night when they were all tucked up in bed it was the place for drunken girls to sit in their own vomit and guys to have a piss..

You’d prefer that? I hope you weren’t one of the types I described above because that’s all I ever ran into around there..

• I find it sad what to see has become of ODS They have managed to turn general support to general attack and are inviting the hate-style juvenile comments of Eoin O’Duffy (et al)
    If something positive was happening I feel there are plenty here who would support ODS and drown out the haters. However, ODS have managed to make no one happy. I imagine people such as Eoin are just against protesting (despite it being enshrined in the constitution), but others, who want to see change, just see one big fat stagnant ODS.

ODS is failing and THAT is why they should go.

• They are not the ones who turned the support into a general attack. It is the mean spirited individuals like yourself and John Murphy that have done this. Angela Merkel must be rubbing her hands in orgasmic delight now.

• The city needs this camp to end. Local business in the area is suffering. Coming in to the summer season tourism will suffer because of these selfish people. The people at the occupy movement don’t represent most people only themselves. I suspect when the Celtic Tiger was here and if it ever did come back,none of these spongers would be bothered to work for a living. Why don’t they all feck off back up the trees at the Glen of the Downs where they were spawned years ago!

• Its a pity there wasn’t the same disgust over the Fianna Fail tent at the Galway races a few years back, it was over run with rodents and flith yet I didn’t hear as many objections to its presence until its final year post the boom. I’m far more happy with the presence of the ODS tents at the central bank. They are causing no harm to anyone,the place has been kept clean, they are not obstructing any business or pathway. Its just a peaceful protest of people providing alternative view points. There are also far worse eyesores in the country that very little has been done about such as our numerous ‘ghost estates’.

• Bring back Ghandi for to give them some lessons on peaceful resistance. At least he’d get them off their arses out walkin to garner support, not loitering around doin nothin all day but talking crap.

• You know your lefty liberal cause is a lost one when the comments section of TheJournal turns on you.

Bye bye hippies!

• Great, now the world will think we live in shanty towns. That has to be great for tourism.

• They need to be forcibly removed on health grounds. Hose them out . It would cost little and work in minutes.

• Mr Lee 06/03/12 #

They’re not helping our image abroad!

• B7584 06/03/12 #

What are ODS actually doing at the minute? We all have a vague idea why they set up but CURRENTLY what are they doing? Whats the next stage of the protest? They dont even know themselves.

• Why don’t you go and ask them? Or would that be too much for *you* to do?

• B7584 06/03/12 #

Ya,great. Typical reply from someone involved in the occupy movement.
      Fact is you have no plan,there is no next step or plan b.
      Well done, now clear up and fuck off to your next protest.

• Hey B7485 if that is your real Name! Ods have 4 simple demands, and i can guarantee you not one person that comentated by saying they made their point actually Know what any of these demands are….if this government addressed at least one of their demands then Yes occupy should consider to mive the fuk on….but occupy have 4 demands….and this is one reason your words will never move them.

• B7584 07/03/12 #

For the love of god…. What ARE the demands? And how exactly are you going about demanding these ‘demands’?
      Thats all we hear ‘we have demands’ but yet no one including yourselves have the foggiest!!!!

• “Ya,great. Typical reply from someone involved in the occupy movement.”

What, actually ask a question to someone relevant rather than complaining about not being handed an answer?

I haven’t been to an Occupy camp in a month or so so I couldn’t tell you. The last I heard they were trying to reclaim NAMA properties, with varying degrees of success. I Doubt they’re going to stay quiet forever somehow.

• B7584 07/03/12 #

“What, actually ask a question to someone relevant rather than complaining about not being handed an answer?”

You ARENT relevant, you havent been the the camp in a month.

• Forget sending in the water cannon or riot police, a handful of social welfare inspectors would have them running for the hills.

• Their doing themselves no favours by staying on at Dame St. I would really like to see them gone now. start something new if they want, but their time at Dame St has come to an end.

• On another thread re Urban Outfitters we’re all meant to laugh at our depiction as vomitting drunks, on another we’re to pave Grafton St in granite because this is where all the tourists go. Now here we want Occupy water hosed down to clean it up for Patrick’s Day so everyone can get locked without having an “eyesore” camp? Confused?

Leave them be. We wouldn’t be regarded as a capital city without an Occupy Camp fgs. Take a walk on the wild side ye guys – ye might like it! ;)

• Dan 06/03/12 #

They should go. They’re not achieving anything at this stage. If they hadn’t been asked to move for Paddies day most people would not even know that they were still there!
    The guards can only ask them to leave because the Central bank don’t want to look bad by demanding that the tents are removed. Don’t know how interested the two or three who sleep there at night will be about their right to protest when they’re surrounded by hundreds of drunks on Paddies night! Prob be ringing the same guards demanding the removal of the drunks!

• They’re achieving something if they’re drawing this level of attention for themselves! And they’re sparking people to defend them by reminding us of the situation we’re in. They’re doing far more than the average amrchair conservative on thejournal.ie

• The same ones that call the occupy movement ‘crusties’ or ‘hippies’ are the same lamenting the sadness of the crowds at the work abroad expo. How easy it is to complain 1st about the economic situation, then about the people protesting the situation, while being a keyboard warrior with none of the answers but all the critique.

• Tear gas the feckers ad fumigate them.deduct every cent from them to cover the clean up. Take their names and addresses and make them pay back the rent allowance and job seekers while they were there.

How the hell does any gobshite think he is going to change ANYTHING sitting in a tent in Dublin. Jesus Christ get a bit of perspective .

• I became pregnant sitting in a tent in Dublin, there was an engagement in Cork, i think galway might have had the First ever incident of imprisonment due to assalt against an RTE Reporter, and then there is occupy Belfast but were all to scared to talk about that due to Propaganda and the continued inaction of a Government that seeks aproval for printing.

• Cupid you almost seem proud of the fact that an occupy member was jailed for assault if that was the case .

• Im proud to be Irish. Proud to have the constitution whispered in my ear during conception, and beyond proud for any wayward flying loaf of soda that happens to make contact with a representative/employee of RTE.

• “. Jesus Christ have you no class woman.”

I have plenty of class. For example, I am classy enough not to swallow the Irish “viciously apathetic” anti-protest mentality so hard that I want to teargas people I disagree with.

Wouldn’t you say that’s pretty classy?

• Nuke ‘em

• Democracy. Whether individuals are in agreement or not with the protesters, it should not remove their right to be visible.

• By the nature if the fact they are making a mess , it does . If they actually did something people might have supported them instead of telling us what we already know . Get them on Mastermind , specialised subject ” the blatantly obvious”

• The problem is “The support of the Irish people” is not something that seems to have any integrity these days anyway, especially with a majority still for the Fiscal pact.

• can Garda not do what was done in paul’s square in london and take away tents etc…. no problem at all with people protesting… nothing to stop them protesting everyday..march up to leinster house and back all day if they want….but does that mean they have to camp out at night there… people they are protesting against are tucked up nice and warm in bed during the night…..
    i’m protesting myself by not paying the household charge…..but im happy to do it at home where its warm..!

• Dave 06/03/12 #

My god, the Irish have short memories. The only people staging any form of protest about the same things you’ve all been bitching about for the last four years, and you mock and criticise them. The truth is you are disgusted at yourselves for not having the balls to actually do anything to stand up for yourselves….so you mock those that do as lefties/crusties/scum.

We never change in this country. Sure didnt we mock the people who got us our freedom too – before we were all told they were heroes.

• I’m not disgusted in myself at all.

I’m all for the right to free speech and the right to prostest but ODS has no realistic aims at all, th protest has no real point in my eyes because it highlights nothing and expects everything, most of which could never be achieved.

This “representing the 99%” crap is offensive to the many of us who don’t agree with ODS and don’t wish for them to be representing us.

To me, the fact that Central Bank have made no effort to move ODS of their private property says it all. they have no fear of ODS at all and if they don’t, that protest is totally pointless.

• Well said Dave. Best comment on here..all these dumb wit comments forget why they are protesting and on behalf of who. Short memories.

• Mr Lee 06/03/12 #

What has their “protest” (and I use the term loosely) changed? NOTHING!

• Hmmm… I don’t recall either Dave or Joe during the first month?
      Anyhow – It’s time to give it a rest guys.

ODS are just feeding the rightwingers with ammo to throw at this stage. Its not being an effective opposition/resistance. The occupy movement has made it’s impact and you should be proud to have been part of it.

However. What’s the next step? Is the plan to continue to have no plan? To create no media content? To get no message out from the camp? To not challenge policies?…. etc, etc.
      It seems it is about egos now. You want to be hauled out of there by police or security. To cause a fuss and play the martyr. You’ve squander the support that was there originally so no one will care.

• Yes, its possible that this may come down to our inabiity to see when an oppressor may be playing us against each other. Either ways its now High time we learn the ways of change, we cannot all sit down as a Nation and watch a state broadcast called Operation Transformation and then stand up in six or seven weeks and believe we have made any change. Protest is not something that is on our education cricilium yet its very much engraind in our present.

• Just to point out – just because you claim something about yourself, doesn’t mean it isn’t true. Of course, that applies to others judging you, but I Think it’s pretty obvious at this stage that most criticism of the Irish people is absolutely spot on. We are a nation of wasters. Not because of high welfare or anything stupid like that, we are intellectual wasters, spineless creeps. And it’s time we stopped.

• Rob 06/03/12 #

I’ve a lot of respect for the idea of an Occupy movement – and i think the fact that they’ve been allow stay so long shows that a lot of people acccept their right to peacefully make their point.

but….

its gone on long enough now – time to go home – lets not make it a last stand with riot police etc – would be a shame to see it end that way.

• In all Fairness people you cant describe the people in the camp as an elite or as a occupy force, it takes a lot to stand up to Bad governance be that the IMF or our “elected” officials, this is still ongoing the people of the camp are Holding the fort, if you feel your living in a country that asks you what you can do for it well then get rid of the camp. If you feel your living in a country that asks how much can you afford to Pay it while they deduct monies from education, welfare, Heath,etc well i think some form of permanent Protest should be in place without the need for another quango.

• Scarr 06/03/12 #

Ods should stay put. I’ve heard many people moan that irish people don’t know how to protest, are taking the terrible, economy wrecking decisions lying down; ODS aren’t. They maintain a protest highlighting the bad economic decisions and are dismissed as hippies and losers. Grow up.

• I concur, also in ten years where this way of living will be the only way through the Dilemma we will be faced with how many of these nay sayers will be insisting they lock Communitys up and put their residents through 100% denny programs. People really got to wake up, how many x-boxes do you Girls need robbed before it Hits Home!!!!!!

• I think ODS proves that the Irish don’t know how to protest.

Please refer me to something that ODS has done in 2012…. other than just being there.

• Doesn’t matter whether you agree with them or not, they’ve made their decision. I hope the gardai don’t make the decision to forcibly remove them, that would exacerbate the situation. However, they need to reach an agreement with the protestors to do something, even if it is just for Paddy’s weekend. a serious clean up of the area is needed, make it as presentable as possible, maybe even scale it back temporarily. Some sort of a compromise that makes it more presentable, but also allows them too continue with their constitutional right.

• Val really. This is a case of the relatives are comming clean it up…..will we insist on having the Same outlay for the olymipics as we do for the para olymipics. Sorry other way around, but you get My drift?

• You do realise that all these comments about “Hippies” are deeply bigoted? Just because hippies aren’t a race or sexuality(not that this would stop half the commenters here) doesn’t mean that 1) All or most of the protesters are “Hippies”, 2) There’s anything wrong with hippies.

It’s discriminating against people on the basis, essentially, of their culture which is barely a step up from racism, and in fact a lot of racism is exactly that in the first place rather than true racism.

You can’t paint all the “Hippies” as Layabouts and bums when they are the few people actually taking a stance here. It’s disgraceful and I’m sick of armchair conservatives.

• Seriously YBA have a glimse at who Tom pepper follows and tell me you want it!

• I see who you follow, think you have spent too long at the “UniVerSiTy Of LoVe” .

• And before you say it yes Jedward would have a better fiscal policy the the occupy dame street movement.

• I want a constructive resistant opposition that doesn’t revolve around parties, trade unions or worn out political theories. ODS has helped me realise that that is an unachievable ideal in Ireland.
      The unfortunate truth is that we are a staunchly conservative country – so much so that many don’t even realise that they are voting in a neo-liberal fashion. Despite *exactly* the same policies being followed, people somehow thought they were voting for change. They can only think that by not looking at the facts.
      Furthermore, the globe is seeing the beginnings of the energy crisis. That will have knock-on effects for politics. This unfair system of economics that we have – the global market system – will breakdown of it’s own accord. It is built on a model of unlimited growth in a finite world.
      The structures of our state and that of others, is based on these global market ideas. I believe national and super-national structures will fall. As energy prices rise the cost of food will escalate. At any one time Ireland has one weeks worth of food in the country. The world is pretty fecked and it’s not going to get nicer any time soon.
      We need solutions to the next crises before it starts. Transition towns and the likes. *Sustainable* ways to produce enough food for everyone in the country.

Add New Comment