TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

This is what one taxi driver thinks of the green light debate…

…Spotted this evening on the O’Connell Street taxi rank in Dublin.

YOU MAY RECALL that yesterday TheJournal.ie published an exclusive investigation by reporter Sineád O’Carroll into a small number of Dublin taxis which have green lights attached to the top of their roof lights. Some of the drivers admitted to her that these were to indicate that the driver of the vehicle was an Irish national.

In the ensuing publicity around our story, Transport Minister Leo Varadkar said that any sign on a taxi which might be intended to indicate that a driver is Irish is “inherently racist” and “inherently xenophobic”.

The reaction of one taxi driver – who, ironically enough, doesn’t have a green light on his vehicle – was spotted by TheJournal.ie reader Aislinn Mulreany this evening at the O’Connell Street rank in Dublin:

varadkarcar

In case you didn’t quite catch that…

varadkarcar closeup

EXCLUSIVE: Are some Dublin taxi drivers using covert signal of ‘Irishness’?>

Read next:

Comments (234 Comments)

• Right, I’m curious to know how many taxi drivers are actually doing this? Seems like what’s developing here is a storm in a teacup. Between 2/3 articles, polls and tonnes of comments id love to know the figures were talking about.

• so I hear ur a racist now father

• This is a tricky one. People seeking to eradicate racism in the world are never going to succeed, as everyone is racist, at least potentially. What we need, imo, is to bring compassion and transparency to the situation in ourselves, rather than these ‘rid the world of ….-ism’ drives, that, though well intended are not going to succeed, as they are themselves based in division and subtle violence against the psyche. I see my mind making discriminative judgments all the time, all I can say is I am someone who works to become aware, and thus I tend not to act them out.

Varadkar has a point, but he is being naive, simple-minded and antagonistic about something he probably never has to deal with.

So does any taxi driver who is defending their right to do this without looking at the hurt it can cause. A food fight between the two camps is not going to result in a resolution.

Racism, homophobia, and all of those things *are* ugly, but like it or not, (I’m gonna be shot for this), there are tendencies among groups that you can’t talk about without being shot as a racist. You can’t talk about how hellish travellers make life for people, but usually the people defending them never took any consequences from them (I’m not hating on travellers, I know it is not a simple issue, and they are not all ‘bad’. It’s just an example). A woman on a recent thread made the point that men are more homophobic towards men than women are, both in % and how they act on it. I was bothered by that, seeing it as an opportunity to man-bash, but on reflection realized she was probably right.

Taxi drivers are in the trenches so to speak. Their actions are not motived by hate as much as realism, observation and adaptation to their situation, I would guess.

Their is still a fair argument against the green lights for sure, one I don’t disagree with. But can we move the level of discourse beyond the simple buzzwords and isms please?

• Gearoid,
      Great comment.

I’m amazed the PC Brigade haven’t savaged you yet for speaking the truth

• Yet :p

I tried to include what I assume is their perspective without attacking it. PC versions of tolerance just don’t cut it in the real world.

A lot of the talk about tolerance, sensitivity and inclusion is has a covert piece of everything it’s trying to solve. It’s the best that can be arranged by that level of awareness. The word ‘level’ there ought to take care of that ‘yet’ :p

• no Geroid, he made an intelligent informed comment, a little different, !

• Relatively intelligent and informed. Also relatively partial.

I tried to speak to what I see as both sides of that. It’s ok if you don’t agree with the less complimentary one.

• I’m not Irish nor black…is it ok for me to drive a taxi? Wouldn’t some of the commentators feel tricked/ cheated when they find out that I’m white but not Irish?… And personally me, I like to pay for quality be it builders,food, services whatever and I wouldn’t give a rats a@& who is service provider as long as it is of a highest quality.

• How would we like it as Irish people if when we went abroad to work, people in whatever country had a code that signaled they should not use our service or buy our products. We would feel discriminated against and rightly so. We should not have double standards.

• only time I ever get a taxi is at some strange hour in the morning falling out of coppers.. now I’ve to try focus more and look for a green light.. more hardship!

• I don’t typically indulge in nonsense hearsay and stories that have likely passed through 5 degrees of separation but on this count I will relay one that I can assure you comes directly to me from a source within a regulated body who witnessed this firsthand.

The former site of Mosney (family holiday resort) has been for a number of years now, a non-status refugee camp. The residents here have not yet been granted status for various reasons, some of which include difficulty ascertaining their correct identities. Inherent problems here are that some may be saying they are one person when in fact they are another, potentially with criminal records of varying severity in their own countries, things of that nature. In order to get a taxi license a person must go through a fairly rigorous background check. Including a persons own history and their criminal record. Naturally establishing their identity and having an Irish citizenship is paramount to the process.

This particular person to whom I am referring to was charged with the task of visiting the Mosney site at various times for specific purposes. On a great number of occasions they explained to me that there could be upward of 30 taxi plates on cars sitting outside the houses there. This very strongly indicates that taxis are illegally being operated by some of the residents of the camp. By what means they are getting the plates I cannot say but I’m sure you all agree, the thought of getting into an unregistered, uninsured cab with an unknown person of unknown character is not a pleasant one and I think women would agree in particular on that point.

Now I’m not saying that there aren’t taxis illegally being driven by Irish nationals but given the social and criminal demographics of the country most of the drivers are coming from, I would take the Irishman any day.

Killian,
    (NOT A RACIST)

• At the height of the celtic tiger this would be a non issue, we just could’nt get enough of them into our great little country,ah sure are’nt the great the “new irish” i belive is what ye called them,now things not so good,lets snub them.Most of these foreign taxi drivers have irish born children who will remember this.Patriotism the last resort for scoundrels.

• Actually we couldn’t get enough Eastern European citizens into the country, because they were skilled workers and tradesmen, many already part of the EU. If you will remember in 2004 a referendum was held to restrict the rights of non-national parents of children born in Ireland as they were automatically entitled to citizenship. mothers were coming over in their droves from certain countries just before they were due to give birth. They would then fly back after the child was born with an Irish citizenship in hand. The next step was then to claim welfare and benefits.

• A large proportion of Irish taxi drivers rent their taxi out to other Irish drivers with no criminal checks rte did an exposé that uncovered high rates of organised criminal gang involvement and taxis being used to launder drug money so there is an element of risk in getting into any taxi. Racism is inherent in most these post and it is very disturbing that rescission seems to have legitimised racism and xenophobia

• Orla, I dont think it EVER legitimises it at all but it will always be there. I have mates working in Southern Sudan and Uganda and they get abuse every day but theyve accepted it.
      Here, we have 60-70,000 irish emigrating this year and yet 30,000 from abroad are coming in to the country so people are getting angry. In yesterdays journal there was an article that said over half the population of north Dublin wasnt irish. People do not like nor want this so when something like this is confirmed for people, they are going to react. How have irish people become a minority in parts of our own capital city? how did that happen and how is a fifth of our population foreign born? What are these visas being given out for/ jobs in amusement arcades,Spar, McDonalds, waitressing? It will get much worse as the recession gets worse and I feel that this is only the tip of the iceberg.

• Its alright for a fine gael flute to tell an economist to get a flight to Russia?

• Stereotypes have an element of truth. I echo the thoughts of other readers when I say that there are bad Irish taxi drivers and bad taxi drivers of other nationalities. I’d be inclined to give both a chance. Whatever suits me the best.

• When in London & catching a early morning/late night flight I have used “ladybird cabs” as they have women drivers, does that mean I am sexist!

• Yes, and even more so that you have to ask

• Oh, now this is interesting.

I don’t think it’s as simple as crying ‘sexist’ in a society which is statistically, inherently dangerous to women. Avoiding risk (and fear, in a climate which drums up paranoia and places all responsibility on the women who must keep safe, rather than educating the men who might harm them… http://www.taxisafety.info/) seems to make sense, and perhaps is therefore prudent, or at least responsive rather than sexist to get female cab drivers and pretty much negate your fear of rape…

However, is it the same to want to avoid non-Irish drivers because they don’t know the city/say sexist things/you want to give money to Irish people in Ireland only (ie come over here taking our jobs etc)? Hmm…

• If a Irish person was a taxi driver in new York or London what would people think if the citizens of those cities chose a native over the Irish?

• Anna the inference is however, I am Irish, so hire me instead of one of those foreigners over here taking our jobs and our women

• Is that why they have posters out building sites in Poland …Irish need not apply

• Cpm 15/05/12 #

I prefer an Irish taxi driver. Be it the latent aggression, , the blaring music, the nattering into his mobile phone, or the aggressive solicitation, I nearly always feel uncomfortable when being driven by an African driver. If that makes me racist, so be it, I’ve a right to feel comfortable when receiving a service I’m paying through the nose for.

• That doesn’t make you racist, Cpm. What makes you racist is that you perceive those qualities form African drivers, but not Irish. I’ve had all those negative experiences from Irish drivers. Sure in Dublin a few years ago they’d pull up across the road from the packed ranks at 2 in the morning and wait for someone to go and offer them double fair to skip the queue.

• Cpm 15/05/12 #

My perceptions are based on my experiences.

• Cpm don’t even bother you can’t argue with people like that. The type of people that tell you a blackboard is called a chalkboard but are still happy to call a marker-board a whiteboard, i.e. PC nazis.

• Paul 15/05/12 #

Lots of chalkboards are green. Just saying, maybe it’s not all “PC gone mad”

• the colour of an inanimate object in the use of an argument about racism really does show your level of ignorance

• Paul: Touché.
      Emma: Believe it or not this how a teacher explained to us how not to be racist. She said we can’t call it a blackboard because that was racist to black people and proceeded to tell one of lads to write a sum on the whiteboard. Either a complete dumbass or playing tricks with the kids.

• a complete dumbass if you ask me, the colour of inanimate objects is not in any way relative to racist remarks about people,

• Just as I thought. I think that some people want to be observed as tolerant that much that they almost appear racist to their own race (if that’s possible) and from a lot of comments here accompanies the generalisation that all Irish taxi drivers are racist slobs. This I find comical.

• Due to my overwhelming sense of fair play, I always get in the cab at the front of the rank. That’s not going to change no matter the colour the driver or his lights.

• Cliff Irish people can be any colour or creed… Being black does not disqualify u from Irish nationality, thankfully. I live in a country where all the taxi drivers have to be a native of the country! U tell me which one is racist??? People have a choice. We have Polish and Lithuanian shops distinguishing themselves and there is no issue…Irish pubs in every country on the planet… It’s simply a marketing ploy and people have the power to choose.

• God, it’s only one picture folks, now off to bed with ye!

• Just because free speech is frowned.upon where Leo’s father comes from, he thinks he can tell us how to express our feelings.

This gombeen is forever speaking out of turn, and seems to have an insatiable appetite to get in front of a Mic/camera to force his stupid opinions down our throats.

This bunch of imbeciles couldn’t run a bath, let alone a country, they seem to have picked up FF’s policies from where they left off, despite the fact the public overwhelmingly rejected these policies!

The sooner this govt get voted out, and take that toss pot, embarrassing idiot with them, the better for Ireland, and all who live here!

• Taxis should be properly regulated, test the drivers like in London. Garda stops to check who’s driving them. Nobody with a serious criminal record can drive a taxi…..simple stuff. unfortunately there are plenty of gangsters driving taxis both Irish and not……the ignorant only see it as a problem with foreigners, let them put their green lights up. I’ll help me avoid the racist muppets out there

• true,I never thought of it that way I will avoid the green lights from now on!!
      yes they should be regulated, as any service should be where people are alone with others etc, nationality should not even come into it

• Should we ban drivers from putting up irish flags during the football? Would that be racist for them to fly the flag of their own country?

• that is not even relevant in this , supporting a team does not compare to blatantly advertising your nationality to attract those who chose not to use a particular race for a service based on their prejudices, that is a highly ridiculous and unintelligent comparisson

• Hows about i only get into a cab because the driver is irish and id like to talk to him about our match that day? Is that still racism?>

• HAHA is this Ciara one for real? I think thee protest too much, many attempts to defend a racist attitude is increasing my opinion to the contrary.keep digging.

• Hi Anise! Great to have you here, bless!
      Im actually just trying to suss out how people work. Most who prefer to use irish taxis drivers is due to experiences they have had and not just because someone doesnt look irish so I’ll stop digging when i hit something interesting.

• I suppose the “produced in Ireland” on food labeling is racist now too.

• haha, errm no it is stating where it originated for economical purposes, this argument has been tried , tested and failed, no comparison, nice try though

• joanne 16/05/12 #

Emma for economical purposes? And why do you bloody think I’m Talking about giving my money to the Irish taxi driver. I’d rather do that. It’s my choice. Doesn’t mean I want to smack the head or name call other races. That’s the way the world works honey. Your lost but too busy trying to sound educated. I know your kind.

• that taxi driver hit the nail on the head, what is this government coming to, us irish are not allowed to say we are irish anymore!!!!!! why does everything we irish take pride in, have to be taken as a racist double meaning. is it any wonder why there is racism with this kind of cods wallop!!!!!!!!!!!

• Wha?

• There’s a fine line between being proud to be Irish, and being a narrow minded nationalist bigot. By all means take pride in all things Irish, but not to the exclusion of other people.

• Indeed, stupidity and racism are never far apart, Anna

• so when Ireland play Spain in the Euros we can’t cheer for Ireland incase Leo Dipshit thinks it’s anti-Spanish? Someone should tell that dope to get a grip, I’m Irish… And Proud… And do actually have a t-shirt that says so… Am I a racist?

• Jason, that argument makes no sense and not relevant here at all, the level of stupidity here this evening is immense, but as El said, stupidity and racism are never far apart!

• How does the argument make no sense Emma? I don’t accept that little green lights are racist and its really the interpretation of the client / customer / passenger. To me it means an Irish Driver, with Irish knowledge of the city not a blow in who couldn’t find his way out of a paper bag.

On the same note isn’t it identical to the Guaranteed Irish symbol? example: Guaranteed Irish cornflakes on the shelf beside foreign cornflakes, both are the same price, both taste the same – which do you choose and why? Of course the Irish ones – does this make you racist?

This is copied direct from http://www.guaranteedirish.ie/faqs.htm
      1. What is Guaranteed Irish?
      Guaranteed Irish is a private, non-profit organisation which was established in 1984 to promote Irish goods and services.

2. What is the strength of Guaranteed Irish?
      Irish companies have developed a reputation for quality. Validated research also keeps telling us that consumers like buying Irish products and dealing with Irish based companies. Shoppers know that when they buy a product or service featuring the Guaranteed Irish logo they are supporting Irish companies and safeguarding Irish jobs. That makes it an important, powerful device.

All taxi drivers are self employed – they are their own little micro business – isn’t it the choice of the client as to who he/she gets in a taxi with? It’s called freedom of choice so let’s not take that away or confuse Irishness with racism…

• Jesus tap-dancing-christ- Of course we’re allowed say we are Irish, can people stop making ridiculous arguments about this.

There is a difference between having pride in your country and using a signal to alert people that the guy driving a cab is not black.

Does no one get this? I feel like i’m taking goddamn crazy pills today.

• And Jason, for the 5,000th time today- the guaranteed Irish argument is a complete nonsense. The Guaranteed Irish symbol supports and promotes Irish business in the face of foreign multi-national companies who spend no money in our economy and expatriate profits etc etc.

All taxis on Irish roads are Irish by definition. They pay Irish road tax, insurance and income taxes. Amazingly enough the drivers may have families here that the need to support.

• exactly Cliff, which takes me back to my comment on the level of stupidity here!

• once again Jason, a futile argument, not one word of what you said has any relevance whatsoever to the point here, that of the fact that taxi drivers are signaling they are of a particular race , therefore claiming superiority to other races and encouraging those who chooses prejudice themselves when using a cab, the argument about the GI is so far away from this topic ,you obviously have o idea about economics whatsoever, we need to buy GI products to prevent all our resources being exported, ,

• Cliff me good man…. it is the choice of the client who he / she gives his / her money to. Taxi driving now is dog eat dog. 10 years ago there were 3000 regulated taxis, now there are 14,000 unregulated taxis all fighting for the same small pool of clients. The same pool which is getting smaller due to the recession. If an Irish guy thinks he’ll get more business advertising he is Irish then good on him. Same goes for a Nigerian. If a Nigerian wants to put a big effin lampost on his car with a big effin N for Nigeria and he gets more passengers from the Nigerian community then fair play to him too. Why can’t people see this is just a way to get one up on the competitor like in any other business?

• I for one am glad for those green lights/shamrock stickers on taxis. Now I know which bigots not to give my money to – and I will avoid them LIKE THE PLAGUE.

• and for your information Emma, the Guaranteed Irish symbol was indeed found to be racist by the EU back in 1982 and the Irish Govt were banned from financing it so it was “put” into “private” hands to promote Irish goods. Where does this PC crap end?

• So basically Jason, you’re saying that in tough economic times it’s ok to be a racist?

Some other places tried that in the past. It didn’t work out so well for a lot of people.

• Once again to Jason- the Guaranteed Irish symbol was NOT found to be racist. The EU held that individual member states could not directly promote their own products as it might give an unfair advantage to them over other countries.

Nice try though.

• I know lots of people in different trades and businesses around the country that make it very clear in their advertisements that they are Irish and there is no law against that.I don’t see why us, as strangers and customers, should tell some taxi driver (who we don’t know and who pays for his cab himself) how he should adorn his vehicle.Its none of my business.If you don’t like the fact he has a green light,simply don’t use the cab. Myself, I got a business card from a driver I found to be reasonable on price and who was sound, and I solely use that cab driver.He is Irish.I personally like to think my money is going to an Irish man supporting an Irish family in situ in Ireland.I know he knows the lay of the land (from journey times!)and as I pointed out, he is good on price.If he cant take the trip I go to whoever is at the top of the q (as per the rules, Irish or not!)but I’m not gonna tell another man trying to make a living (in a recession) what to do with his own car.That’s his choice..fail or win! I wouldn’t want him dictating to me.

• The country is nearly bankrupt, we are a cog in the Euro machine which is falling apart, and yet our govt have time to come on the news to say this is racism. Bollix to that. Well said the taxi driver who asked if the pound of sausages with the guaranteed irish symbol was racist. And, there was no need for this story to get this profile. If the foreign drivers felt it was a problem they could simply put up same green signs. A week later the green signs would be meaningless. Now Leo get back to fixing the bloody country

• Jason your argument re Guaranteed Irish etc is futile. If we were to use the Guaranteed Irish symbol the way taxi drivers are using these green lights, your box of cornflakes would have to have individual symbols per cornflake indicating if that particular cornflake was made by an Irish person. Whats next we put green lights on buses so we can decide what bus to get? As for Irish taxi drivers knowing the direct routes, they also know how to take three mile detours when picking up “tourists” from the airport.

• @ Jason corbally & Anna barton

Anna: Take a deep breath, then talk some sense!

Jason: Are you for real? Flying the Irish flag at a football match is completely different. These taxi drivers should put their hands up and admit as to why they really had the green light. They’ll give good decent Irish taxi drivers a bad name. Idiots!

• I’m going to buy only Irish now ‘cos we can be fine without having anything to do with dem foreigners. So from now on I’m only drinking irish wine and champagne, eating Irish takeaways, such as McDonnels, not McDonalds, Irish Pizzas, drinking only Irish tea and coffee, Irish orange juice….eating Irish potatoes……I could go on. Only for the influence of foreigners on Ireland, we’d still be eating grass and drinking water.

• The only thing certain in Dublin are debt and taxis……

• We’re German now.

• So says Leo , working in an all Irish , all white Dail!

• Next there will be stickers on taxis who is gay or straight, female or male and so on.
    In relation to the comments about Irish drivers (generally) knowing the routes better and so on: a lad who has lived his whole life in Donegal doesn’t usually know much about the best ways to get around Dublin. However a lad from Poland, who has been driving around Dublin 10 years might know it like the back of his hand. Generalisations are never good and people should really stop and think before their write unkind and in a sense selfish comments. All of us: Irish, non-Irish, female, male, old, young etc. would like to be treated equally and fairly.

• Green lights all the way i say….. Personally I’ve had nothing but bad experiences with the “non green light taxis” confrontational, arrogant… Thank god for sat nav….

I will not go to the front of any taxi rank. I pick who drives me around…

• “Taxi for Leo”

“Taxi was filmed in front of a live Dail audience”

• I can’t believe the racist crap here on this thread…I couldn’t give a rats arse who drives me in a taxi, I’ve met more dodgy/swindling Irish taxis drivers than so called ‘foreign’ ones, I treat them equally, as they should be! I totally think, though some taxis drivers like to plead otherwise, that this practice is racist.

• i dont like getting in cars with non nationals, I’m not racist as I work with mostly non nationals and get on with tbem and respect them. My neighbour is a non national taxi driver and has had at least two or three different numbers on top of his taxi, some for different counties! on top of that my brother once got a non national taxi driver home who tried to charge him more than twice what it would normally cost and when my brother said he would only pay what he has paid every other time the taxi driver got verbally abusive, and from what I’ve heard this isnt an isolated case. If I’m paying for a service then as far as I’m concerned I should be able to pick who I want to carry out the service.

• ever had a bad experience with an Irish taxi driver? there was an Irish taxi driver sent to jail last week for being in the real IRA and extorting money from people….best avoid the Irish drivers too…….

of course you are free to choose who you want to drive you home…as am I free to tell you your reasoning is based on xenophobia at least….. if not a dash of racism

• Look what this Irish taxi driver did…..do you think all Irish taxi drivers are rapists?

http://m.brne.ws/ireland/taxi-driver-fails-in-rape-appeal-531720.html

• So if you dont like Irish drivers, get into a foreign drivers taxi! See, everyones a winner!

• no I have never had a bad experience with an Irish taxi driver and neither has anyone I have ever known, yet quite a few people I know and have known have had trouble with non national drivers. I never once said Irish taxi drivers are perfect, but based on facts I have heard from people about experiences with non nationals they are the better of the two. Thats my opinion and I’m entitled to it, if I feel safer and better with an Irish taxi driver then thats who I’m going to get because I’m paying them and I deserve to be able to make that choice. As I said before I work with mostly non nationals and I get on with and respect them and have no problem with any one of them, so nobody could say I’m a racist just because I prefer Irish taxi drivers. That would be like saying a woman who prefers to date Irish men over non nationals is racist, you can’t say someone is racist because they have a certain preference on ONE thing. Sure, theres a possibility they could be racist, but you cant say for sure based on their preference of only one thing.

• well said michael i was mugged in amsterdam it was an attack not a racisit attack.if you r attacked in ireland r assaulted it is an attack but if u r foriegn it is a racisit attack.it is getting silly to keep getting reported as racisit attack.proove u r not racisit by your actions not just by words.my step father is black when he is in trouble he never plays the racist card.

• Travel, learn to relate and converse with pple of other cultures FFS, the latent racism is appalling, love gettin West African taxi drivers cos can have the craic bout travels

• Can anyone remember the tv ads for dunnes stores over the last couple of years with the slogan ‘the difference is we’re Irish’
    I didn’t agree with that, and I don’t agree with the little green lights.
    Would you walk out of your way to avoid the local corner shop that is owned by and staffed with non Irish?
    I have been in plenty of ‘Irish’ taxis and been completely ripped off. Who cares what nationality you are as long as you pay your way.
    And if it’s such a big concern why don’t the regulator introduce a testing system that assess your knowledge of the area you’ll be working in prior to giving a licence???
    Racism is discriminating against another due to race, colour, religion and beliefs.
    By saying you won’t get into a taxi because of the colour of someone’s skin is discriminating and therefore racist

• Choosing not to get into a taxi because of someone’s nationality – whether they are white or black, Asian, Latino or whatever, is RACIST. There is absolutely no doubt at all about that and anyone who denies that does not understand what racism means.

It is not good enough to say that a customer has the right to choose who offers to drive them home, because unless you know all the drivers personally, you will not know whether someone is a good driver, a good person or a rip-off just by knowing their nationality.

HOWEVER, while I find many of the comments here deeply offensive, racist and stupid, I would make one point in defense of those who are unhappy with the current situation and wish to be able to choose who drives them home. There is clearly a problem with oversupply of taxis, in Dublin city at least, and a related problem of non-compliant operators. There are many old and unsuitable cars on the road also. These are facts that have been established in a recent Government report on Taxi Regulation Review. Anecdotal evidence would suggest that many of the non-compliant operators are new arrivals to the business and are more likely to be new arrivals to Ireland. The sooner the Government sorts out this mess and improves regulation of the industry, the better for all.

But, despite what I have just written, there is NO place for green lights in a tolerant society. Let people make their own decision on who to travel with based on the look of the car or their assessment of the driver by all means, but devices which identify drivers as being Irish only are totally racist.

And for those who justify green lights by recalling “Buy Irish” or “Guaranteed Irish” campaigns, this is one of the most ridiculous arguments I have ever read. Green lights are clearly aimed to distinguish between Irish PEOPLE and non-Irish PEOPLE. Guaranteed Irish campaigns are aimed at saving jobs in Irish companies, where the people working may be Irish, Polish or any other nationality. They are, therefore, not racist (even if the Government is prohibited from running such campaigns on competition grounds, and they are now run as private campaigns by Industry representatives).

• Couldn’t care less where taxi drivers are from long as they get me home!

• Anna i think you missed the point COMPLETELY!! The idea of the green light is to accommodate the racist who will only take a cab driven by an “Irish National”, therefore , wrong in my opinion

• I’m not agreeing with it but would someone not have the right to hire a cab with any particular group they liked? Just as they would to pick a blue cab over a red one.

• The real problem is you want to feel safe and that the driver knows how to get you to where you’re going.I understand that alot of our taxi jobs have gone to non nationals,as long as their are in the country legal and know their job then no problem.

• Lenbot 15/05/12 #

Picking a blue taxi over a red one would not discriminate against the red taxi because the red taxi isn’t a human being. Discriminating against people because they’re not from your country hurts actual people. Difference is pretty damn huge.

• I tend to want to give the work to an Irish person whether it be a taxi or whatever and I refuse to feel guilty for that.

• Lenbot 15/05/12 #

Fair enough, I love lamp. You do what you want. No one’s going to lock you up for being biased. Just be honest that you’re being so, and don’t compare people to colours.

• If I’m biased towards supporting Irish families it really doesn’t have much to do with being racist. When I used to hire plasterers I would always get local lads when a lot of other people were hiring a gang of lads from up north because they were a bit cheaper, how would that make me racist? Was Dunne Stores accused of racism with their slogan “The difference is we’re Irish”? What’s the difference between this and the taxi drivers?

• No I love lamp but if Dunnes labelled their staff by nationality then yes that would be racist.

• But the taxi drivers are only labelling themselves, no one else. So where is the problem?

• The group who seek out Irish drivers are usually young girls.some of them just don’t trust foreign drivers and walk past cabs until they see an Irish driver. These same girls would go nuts if they were accused of being racist.usually if not always with drink involved.couldn’t care less myself.but you gotta do whatcha gotta do to get by in business so I don’t have a problem with it

• All the people who are drawing an equivalence between the Guaranteed Irish Symbol and the green light: The only way they would be the same would be if EVERY taxi in Ireland had a green light. As all the taxis are registered in Ireland, they are all Irish taxis and they all pay taxes to Ireland. Only taxis say from Northern Ireland wouldn’t have these lights.
    If instead it’s on the basis of the nationality of the Irish taxi driver then it’s not the same as the Guaranteed Irish symbol.

• wow. What an English argument. The Sun and Sky news have really taken hold.

• I have a right to choose who drives me around in a small personal car. I happen to feel safer and can connect better with Irish drivers. They also tend to leave the fare at a tenner if, say, it’s €11 or €12. They also know the places better and ya can have a friendly chat. Just because you feel more comfortable around your own doesn’t make you racist, cop the fk on varadkar.

• No, it makes you xenophobic and narrow minded

• Hardly. Ive never refused to get into a foreign taxi, I’m just making the point I feel more comfortable in an Irish one. I’m Irish, I think it fairly natural. I feel more comfortable talking to girls, am I also sexist?

• well yes, generalizing a gender or a race makes you some kind of “ist” i personally would feel most comfortable with a genuine ,honest person, whatever their race or gender,

• Emma, who did I generalise? I’m pretty sure the only race I generalised was Irish. And it’s only an “ist” if it’s a prejudiced generalisation. I have no prejudice to foreigners. Heading off for two polish weddings this month. Black girls in my group of friends. I prefer drinking with people of my age group. I must be ageist too.

• so amy , you are mostly comfortable with irish females your age, you are missing out there girl!

• Not missing out at all – you should really read my comments fully and climb down off that high horse

• i read them loud and clear Amy, you clearly stated you are more comfortable with irish, women and people your age, , , my horse is not so high , :)

• And I also clearly allude to my ties to people who aren’t irish. I don’t dislike my parents, aunts and uncles etc because they are not my age. I shockingly have an 8 year relationship with a man even though I feel more comfortable talking to women. Quoting out of context and only listening to the parts you want does not make you clever. And demanding everyone should have the same opinions as you does, I’m afraid, stick you rather high up there on that there horse.

• Amy, the pot is calling the kettle black here , i never demanded anything, been nice talking with you Amy :)

• Emma, if youre happy getting into a taxi with a foreign driver and giving him your money then thats up to you but there are plenty of women who do not feel comfortable with that. Ive a pain in my face being asked by African drivers,wheres my husband or boyfriend, why am i out on my own, do I drink, do I go to church, do i want to get married, why am i wearing make up etc so I got the phone number of a local rank and everytime I need a cab I’ll ring then and get collected because I know i wont get any of that. it could just be a cultural thing to have that conversation but its not one a lot of women want to have.

• your point being Ciara?? this is not about my preferences

• Do you need me to cut and paste there Emma?
      My point is that there a alot of women who do not want to travel in a taxi with a foreign driver. Nothing wrong with supporting irish families and their businesses. I dont shop in halal butchers as id like to support my local irish butcher. Is this racist too?

• haha do you actually know what halal is? once again (this is getting boring now) your comparison is ridiculous,

• Yes i do dear, thanks for asking and Im sure youre aware that halal butchers are run by muslims so if i chose to go to my local family run Mick butcher rather than my local halal butcher,does this make me racist too?

• once again, this is not a relevant comparison, actually none of them are, anyhow, im bored now, i prefer a good intelligent argument ,nice talking with you ciara:)

• Ah yeah, me choosing my local irish butcher over my local muslim butcher is completely different to choosing an irish driver over a foreign driver. Theres no link there at all! 2 completely different topics altogether! Tangent alert!

You go have that intelligent conversation with a used tea bag, Im sure it will still make a better argument than you have.

• You said that in your last post Emma and you still came back. Stick to your guns this time yeah? Good girl.

• i think i will, will certainly be way more intelligent than anything you have said there, thanks for the tip ,:)

• And she comes back again!!! This is GOLD!

• just waiting on the teabag love,

• you have a bad case of lastworditis Ciara, seen as you posted that last comment 40 minutes after she left the conversation with you/

• I know! Sure there was I trawling through the posts when lo and behold there it was! Like the golden fleece!

• “well yes, generalizing a gender or a race makes you some kind of “ist” i personally would feel most comfortable with a genuine ,honest person, whatever their race or gender, ”

So you discriminate against drivers with less than perfect social skills? This “green light” racism is hogwash. People have the right to choose whichever taxi they please thx to the Taxi Regulators dictat that it be so. There was a time when it was ILLEGAL to pick up within 50 yards/metres of a rank. There was a time when the first taxi at the top of the Q was FIRST. But the public wanted MORE taxis. The public GOT more taxis. In fact, there`s so many taxis now that they`ve become a health and safety hazard in the city centre most nights.
      Anyway, Enda is delighted a €10 green light has kicked everything else off the table for a day or two. Strangely enough, I`ve not heard any African drivers complaining about green lights. They complain about the same thing every other driver complains about: ” How are going to get through this year?”.
      Stop bellyaching ppl. Walk to the rank and take the first taxi, green,white,yellow, brown,black or purple.

• hi i never mentioned social skills, seriously, a futile attack on my comment there, unless i was in obvious danger i would not even consider who my diver is tbh, and to be fair., i only ever get taxi’s if i am needing to get home after a night out so pretty oblivious then anyway, not that it would matter,

• Would someone be seen as racist for having the tricolour flag on their house?
    Maybe their supporting the Irish team, or maybe they would be racist against the British or any other nationality.

Political Correctness has a lot to answer for.

• Sick of this crap I ran to NTL guys out of my house when they turned up to do work in my house they were not Irish I pay the bill ,,,,,460,000 on the dole madness ,,,,,,,, can’t wait to see the red thumbs for this one ,,,,,,in Australia the union will put a non national off a building site a head of a australian that is a fact !!!!! Charity begins at home ,,,,,

• I’d hate to think of any Irish working abroad would be talked about or treated in a similar fashion! Its hard times for everybody and these kind of antics will bring bad karma!

• i have worked abroad and would expect a local to get job before me.wasnt treated badly but realised i was an immigrant and would not feel hard done by if local was given job before me.never played the racisit card.

• Nigel 15/05/12 #

And remember Taxi man No Leinster Flags this weekend nor shall you put and Irish Flags in your Taxi Next month!! Leo get your own house in order before you go judging others, to insinuate that a taxi driver is a racist because he has a Green light which indicates the taxi is free (Spain) amongst other countries that use this system! Is nothing more than ignorant.

• I know this is meant to be a joke, but it could be taken the wrong way.

• finbar m 15/05/12 #

Is that eddie Hobbs with a green light on his head

• Any chance The Journal could change the title of this thread to ” Leo VaRaceCard”?!

• irish drivers r no saints but why not support irish same as buy irish.polish painters wrote on vans no one minds .polish plumbers no one minds this is beyond the ridiculous.guaranteed irish on products must be seen as racist then.not happy with any driver using a sat nav black white yellow brown r pink.

• One thing i do like about getting into a taxi thats not a Dub driver is you can haggle with them, i got home one night to my friends for €12 a Dub would have told me to F-off. i saved at least €10

• Usual plebs giving their opinions on this site. Bet most people have never and will never see the mystical green lights

• It’s funny how so many people will admit that they go out of their way to avoid non-national taxi drivers then say (in the same breath, no less) that they’re not racist. Eh… contradiction, perhaps?

• exactly Sean, prejudice and hypocrisy go hand in hand though!

• The green light could serve as a way to avoid racists (if this is indeed the intention of the green light), simply choose a taxi without a green light.. Problem solved :)

• Totally agree. I always find it funny that the people who say “that’s not racism” or “that’s not homophobia” and “why are people so sensitive”, are usually straight, white people who have experienced neither.

• I wouldnt get into a taxi if the driver was a smoker. Does this make me smokist??

• haha ciara, seriously? considering smoking is a health hazard, again, your comparison is ridiculous and unintelligent, actually so much so it is amusing

• No Emma, i didn t say the driver was smokING, I said he was a smokER. I wouldnt take a lift it I anticipated the smell of smoke no more than id get into a foreign drivers car if i anticipate the inappropriate conversation foreign taxi drivers always seem to start with me. When i say foreign here, my experiences with African drivers has been appalling. I have never gotten into a cab with an African driver (and that includes a white south African driver) where they havent started up some ‘so, do you go to Church, wheres your husband?’ conversation.

• i have never been to a hairdresser that doesnt ask the same questions, !!!!! anyhow, i am done conversing with you as you do not have anything interesting, relevant or smart to say, good night :)

• Ciara, not wanting to get share a confined space with someone who smokes would be a (somewhat) legitimate and acceptable reason not to get into a particular taxi. Not wanting to share a confined space with someone of another nationality and/or race simply *because you feel uncomfortable around them* is pretty much the definition of xenophobia/racism.

• Lenbot 15/05/12 #

Ciara, discriminating against someone because they’re a smoker is wrong too – if you’re going to look down on someone because they smoke. It makes you prejudice against smokers.

It’s not in any way even CLOSE to racism. Racism is a much bigger and much more dangerous problem and to try and compare it to prejudice against smokers is just stupid.

• Sean, so should i get into a taxi with someone Im not comfortable with?

• So if I decide Im not going to go to a certain coffee shop chain ever again because the service I got everytime has been brutal by all staff members, thats ok but if i decide i dont want to get into a taxi with, lets say, an African driver because every single time I have gotten into an African drivers taxi, I have gotten bad service and inappropriate question asked but the 2 are very different are they?
      Bad service by every member of staff at a chain of shops isnt as bad as bad service by __________ taxi drivers every single time I have got into their taxi? So i cant just decide, enough is enough and not use their service anymore.

• Ciara,

Probably not, but that wasn’t really my point. As per my original comment, I was merely making the statement that someone who isn’t comfortable around another person because of their nationality is a xenophobe. Similarly, someone who isn’t comfortable around another person because of their race is a racist.

• What if i dont get into taxis if the driver is a skinhead?

• My father emigrated to corby england in 1949 from clare. He started work in the steelworks and then bought a cab . In the end he had 7 taxis 10 buses and the other taxi owners in that town were donavans (from cork) connollys(from cavan) gavaghans and the only english firm knights.Thank god the english were not as small minded , or indeed the orangemen and rangers supporters who were some of the best customers of these irish firms
    the irish also owned most of the building firms
    There were people who gave out about being proud to be british and the irish over running the place and not to use them ….but thats the national front for you

• I’m not a FG supporter, but Leo has it right on this occasion. This sort of behaviour has to be nipped in the bud. What next, lights outside shops, restaurants and other businesses,people in hospitals demanding an Irish nurse or doctor? Reminds me of The Jim Crow laws in the US when there was segregation of black and white people. I think people need to travel a bit more and get over their fear of anyone different. Judge people on their merits, not because they belong to a particular race or culture or because their skin is a different colour.

• So its racist to declare your Irish, in Ireland?

Whatever will come next?

No tricolour flying on saint Patricks day?

FG truly have gone bananas, wee bit of power entrusted in them, and its political correctness give ape shit. They’d do well to remember general elections will happen AGAIN!

• Its just gone beyond a joke now here it dont matter what colour u are so what if a coloured guy asks you a few questions there just been nice but once again the irish take it so harmful what about all the irish in australia are they been racist? Some people really need to wake up

• no Niamh that isnot racist, that is trying to encourage our economy and would reduce import taxes, a very unintelligent comment if you ask me!

• Wheather ot not he is a racist, he is most certainly a MUPPET!!!!! @ Anna I agree with you completely!

• really is political correctness gne wrong.your racist no matter what you say these days.its a green light just “get over it”.we have far bigger problems at the moment!!

• I…. as a foreign national (well it costs me a grand to swap my nationality for irish whereas the blow ins from the UK get one for free) welcome any clear sign on a taxi, that would indicate a proper level of English and knowhow of the city; No jackeens in culchured towns either

• joanne 16/05/12 #

Ozan selim, my decision before reding on was I could give a **** if he was purple im getting into the one with the green light. Because that’s my freedom to do so.

• So why are we encouraged to buy only products with the Guaranteed Irish symbol? Is that not racist against our European neighbours? Or others around the world? People have a right to choose who provides them with a service they are paying for just as much as they’ve the right to buy a non guaranteed Irish product.

• Nigel 15/05/12 #

@El there is absolutely no evidence to back up what your saying, apart from third party information. To have a green light not only indicates your Taxi is free, it is also an assistance to people who are colour blind. If you notice the Green light stands out from the Amber taxi plate in the hours of daylight.

• joanne 16/05/12 #

It is the choice of any individual what taxi they want to get into. This is not racist. If I wanted to build a house and had two builders in from of me. One a man I know of and has 30 years experience and another somebody I don’t know with 3 years experience who do you think I’m going to choose. And I am perfectly in my right to do so without being called names and a racist. It’s funny to read all the Irish on here trying to be all open minded and worldly traveled screaming racism like they know it all. They sound so stupid. And for all the people saying “well now I know what taxis not to get into” you sound like idiots.its perfectly fine by me also that you don’t take those taxis leaves them available for the rest of us. I am far from racist but I am a patriot and have a brain. The people screaming racism a actually the small minded ones. Pfff

• The very fact that you are comparing the experience and knowledge of your builders with the Irish vs non-national signs debate is racist. Just because someone is Irish it does not mean that they are better suited for the job, or any job at all. The problem here is that race should never play a role in your decision, but if it must, it certainly shouldn’t be openly encouraged for the rest of the world to see in shining green.

• This arguement is ridiculous…. So if there is a black taxi driver in the first car and a white driver behind him, both whom you never met, never knew – which taxi would you get? Now make your decision before reading the rest of this comment.
      Ok, now that you have decided, the black driver is an irish born to one irish parent dubliner and the white driver is a loyalist nationalist hating belfast man. the point is, your patriotism is infact racism and your example above does not support the green light arguement, it simply supports hiring someone you know.

• Can someone explain the meaning behind the sign displayed in this cab? The driver is asking if Leo Varadkar is a racist, but he doesn’t say against whom…

Racist against Irish people? If so, that doesn’t make a lot of sense, as Varadkar is not allowing other nationalities to do something which Irish people are forbidden to do.

Racist against non-Irish-born people? Well, no, I don’t see how that could be.

• Racist racist racist racist racist I am fed up hearing this word must be the most used word in the English language.Infact it is now trendy to use this word.I would even think that it’s the first English word taught to foreigners when arriving on these shores oh and by what I read in the papers the second word is Claim as in how to make a claim.

• ¿Que?

• Taxi drivers have only themselves to blame for the flak they get! Personally I prefer to get a non Irish driver! The sob stories you have to listen to from Irish drivers is very off putting! I stopped getting taxis from Dublin airport because I live less than 15 minutes away! The reaction from some drivers when you tell them where you want to go can be a bit scary!

• They ought to make a violet light for taxi drivers who don’t complain. Or a rainbow coloured one.

• I get the same anytime I get a cab to my parents from the airport because the 20 min journey is not far enough. Seriously what do they want me to do, walk or ask my parents to move further away?

• Q: Why would a taxi driver have a green light on his car?
    A: To show that he’s Irish.

Q: Why would a taxi driver want to show that he’s Irish?
    A: So customers know they’re getting an Irish taxi driver instead of a “foreign” taxi driver.

Q: Why would a customer care what the nationality of the taxi driver is?
    A: Because all those foreigners are coming over here stealing our jobs and our money and our women!

RESULT: The green lights are racist and cannot be defended. Simple as that.

• You’re not very prudent with linear reasoning. Allow me to tidy that up a little.

Q: Why have taxi drivers been putting green lights on their cars?
      A:To show that they are Irish
      (Original question is open ended and your answer to it presupposes that everyone or the majority had already known of the green light, been able to make a distinct common connection between the light and the driver and also why it was being done. The question is open to many interpretations, like perhaps a taxi driver would put a green light on his car to show support for our boys in green in the Euro’s)

Q:Why would a taxi driver want to show that he’s Irish?
      A:So customers know they’re getting an Irish taxi driver instead of a “foreign” taxi driver.
      (Nothing wrong with the question or the answer there, I tend to purchase a breakfast roll over a burrito, nothing against Mexicans, burritos are nice, just I prefer Irish products or what I know best.)

Q:Why would a customer care what the nationality of the taxi driver is?
      A:Because they have a right to choose their preferred service provider based on the information they have at hand, perhaps they have had a bad experience before, perhaps they want to be as certain as possible that the driver knows where he/she is going, perhaps its that given the many instances of gaps in taxi regulation being exploited (as highlighted in Paul Williams TV3 documentary) they just feel that when getting into a total strangers car its a better gamble to stick with what you know best. Its their prerogative.

I’m not getting into the green light debate, just though you could use some help in-case you were.

• Your first response: That the light is open to interpretation= Absolute rubbish. You know what the light is for, I know what the light is for. You’re merely trying to deflect from the issue when the facts that I have stated are correct. If you read the article you would see that the taxi drivers have admitted to this.

Your second response: That’s there’s nothing prima facie wrong with that – Eh DUH- That’s exactly the point I was trying to make.

Your Third Response: That it’s merely providing information to allow them make a decision based on previous experience, the important factor in this instance being race or nationality. I.e that they’re going to PREJUDGE a taxi driver on the grounds of nationality or race. The exact definition of racism or xenophobia.

Notwithstanding my “not so prudent linear reasoning”, all you’ve actually done is corroborated my argument Killian.

Boom. Lawyered.

• I now know what the light is for, you now know what the light is for, but your question is worded in such a way that it would have to be interpreted as being put to us before the article came to light.

I will put it to you this way, prior to the article, if I had asked the general population “Why would a taxi driver have a green light on his car?”. The responses would be wide and speculative.

Your second question and answer can be interpreted in two ways, (1) in the manor in which I interpreted it or (2) in the way your reasoning left it to be interpreted, as joining it’s properties with the properties of the following line of reasoning:
      -Q3. “Because all those foreigners are coming over here stealing our jobs and our money and our women!”
      -RESULT: The green lights are racist and cannot be defended. Simple as that.

Therefore we were not making the same point.

Not sure what point you are trying to make on number 3 there. Your original answer did not follow very well from the question. The answer speaks for everyone. I’m sure that ALL customers as you speculate do not chose an Irish taxi over a foreigners simply because they are ALL “coming over here stealing our jobs and our money and our women!”

Your “exact” definition of racism is a little hairy.

Racism-
      a belief or doctrine that inherent differences among the various human races determine cultural or individual achievement, usually involving the idea that one’s own race is superior and has the right to rule others.

I don’t see how recognising that through experience that there have been inherent and consistent difficulties with some foreign taxi drivers thus leading people to prefer the services of a more familiar and experienced person conforms to the definition of racism really fits in with that.
      If i want to know about Lagos I speak to a Legosian, not an Irish guy whos lived there 5 years.

I wont say boom, because I’m not twelve but please, retort.

• Ok, I’ll try and make this as clear as possible for you. The line of reasoning proposed here is not one of a potential customer, but of the taxi driver in choosing to put up this light.

If the customer does not know what the light is for then it serves no purpose. It is redundant. The light therefore only matters if the customer understands the Taxi driver’s stated intention. By trying to mitigate the argument by saying that because not everyone understands what the light means, is a ridiculous argument to make.

As to your second argument, the way you interpreted it is irrelevant as it is the meaning attributed to it by the taxi drivers that matters. It is the taxi driver that is the subject of the argument, not the individual customer. The customer I have presented here is not a real customer but a model that the taxi driver has in his head of a potential customer out there.

Therefore it has a direct relationship to answer number 3 as this is their motivation for putting up the light.
      And how does the definition of racism you used differ to the one I’ve given? “a belief or doctrine that inherent differences among the various human races determine cultural or individual achievement, usually involving the idea that one’s own race is superior and has the right to rule others” I.e. that foreign taxi drivers are not as good as Irish Taxi drivers??? It’s the same thing. The “Belief or Doctrine” can be based on past experiences, i.e. prejudice.

………Boom.

• What ever about the racism angle I think that sign is a safety issue where it is.

• It’s funny that’s what it is

• You asked for choice,You got it now you argue about other peoples right to choose …sheeeeesh.

• The narrow minds on some people here is disgusting. What about a non-national who has been living in this country for years and knows the area like the back of his hand, you won’t get in the taxi because he is “foreign” and therefore *assume* he doesn’t know where he is going. Let me tell you, I’ve been ripped off more times by Irish drivers thinking they can pull the wool over my eyes.

• Well El you just proved a point to me ,,, why would I go to and life down under this Is my country and I’m proud of it ,,,, I am not a racist ,,, look after ower own first ,,, your just one of these ppl who jump on the band wagon ,,,,

• Cpm 15/05/12 #

Christ almighty, Finbarr, there are three dots in an ellipsis.

Three. Dots. Stop it with the random commas.

I’m hemorrhaging IQ points reading your posts.

• Lads i think this is sick how could any human do this just cause of a colour irish people are so backword it makes me so mad that in this day and age people are still racist get over it like what about when ye want 2 eat an indian or chinese are ye racist then? I doubt that very much

• i am well chilled out , finding the bigots amusing is all, throwing personal insults says more about you than me , :)

• Sounds like you need to chill yourself, John. Why get so personal?

• yes it does Amy

• Mx 16/05/12 #

I would happily get a non-green taxi, I’d rather not spend my journey listening to the woes of daily life and an economics lecture while getting driven the long way round

• From the sign stuck on his roof, he’s not about to make a u-turn on the matter ..

• The division on this story is a joke. There are so many more important things going on in this country than this. I have 2 points on this: 1) If the green lights signify that the driver is Irish then surely that says that there’s a market for this kind of behaviour. So they’re opportunistic. Right, that’s fine, but the underlying point is that in order for this to be productive there has to be a client base for it. It says way more about the customers than the taxi drivers. If someone seeks out a car with a green light, they’re displaying their xenophobia/Irish preference. That’s their choice as a customer of a taxi. They have the right to pick any one they want. These green lights won’t induce racism, the people who seek out these taxis already have their motives sorted out. and 2) There is nothing stopping taxi drivers of other nationalities buying these lights if they feel they are being discriminated against. Why is everyone here debating this when I’m sure they can fight their own battles. It’s a cut throat profession nowadays, buy a green light of your own. Problem solved. Personally I like the green lights so I can spot them during the day, the yellow lights are too dim. It doesn’t particularly bother me what colour human is driving it. The only time I refused a taxi was because the smell was disgusting when I got in.

• joanne 16/05/12 #

I pretty much agree with all you said. If you want to take that taxi take it if you don’t then dont no biggie. I’m not going to start hurling abuse at the people who dot choose to pay the Irish guy the fair first. I simply don’t care but personally I’d like to. I like the idea of paying the Dublin boy, born and bread in the city over anybody. Nothing wrong with that either.

• Sorry CPM in the back of a taxi crap driver hopping off every bump on the road I ask the driver were he learned to drive He told me Poland

• joanne 16/05/12 #

Daniel wilson ,using a builder was an example to say as in any job be it a dr.yes I would rather deal with Irish people. It’s my choice and not racist what so ever. If I prefer to hire Irish people I am not racist. Racism is hatred or intolerance for another race,I do not in any way feel that way what so ever.if any other race wishes to hire or whatever the case may be there own race of people then rightly so,I completely get it and do not condem them for doing so or will I scream racism. The fact of the matter when it comes to taxi drivers most people prefer to deal with the Irish ones for whatever reason,be it that they know there way around the city better..I am not from Dublin and I would prefer a Dublin taxi driver over a country person too,I lived there for years and experienced both,they simply know there way around faster and cheaper.does that make me a bad person also,have I now turned against my country folk now too???thats the way the world works kid. Sorry to burst your bubble. I do not live in ireland anymore and have gotten jobs from people simply because I’m Irish from other Irish people. Does that make them racist that they didn’t hire an American??does the fact that when I’m hiring a guy to do a job on my house or whatever, I’d rather give the Irish guy a break and pay his wages that week make me a racist and bad person also?? You have your stuff way twisted man. Each to there own. Who do you think you are?and comparing anybody’s experience over another is not racist.id I had two people in front of me with the exact same credentials yeah I would still give the Irish person the job as paople have done for me here in USA and am very greatful that they have,and that they are sticking together in keeping there fellow pats in jobs. Not racis,t patriotic and smart.so your comment does not make sense.nor should you dare tell me what taxi to get in or not get in,mind your business and I won’t tell you what choices in life to make.

• Well there’s about 10 points there that are alll the same, try and condense it next time. You’re still coming across as bigoted and intolerant sorry love ;p

• Joanne, racism is in fact believing that your own race is superior to another, every argument you are using there pretty much shows you to be so, you pick and chose your services based on race or nationality, you have said that yourself, I will not fill this page up with copying and pasting your comments but it is there in front of us in black and white, most people would pick and chose their services based on skills, references, experience or qualifications and nothing else,I suggest you look up the word patriotic, and you most certainly are not smart, you cannot distinguish between there they’re and their for a start!! no one has told you who and what to chose at all, you seem to be getting rather irate and are probably getting carpal tunnel syndrome from the ill educated and ridiculous essays you are typing, no need for a personal attack back ( I could put a weeks wages on it you will though) because i am not in any way phased by them , good luck to you, quit whike you are, errrm behind!

• Damocles 16/05/12 #

The green lights are not racist, but clearly the possessor of a green light thinks that by appealing to a racist clientele he can up his revenues.

Do you want to get in the cab of a driver who thinks you are racist?

• Ahem, is it any wonder d’country has gone to s***. So much energy, so many words………..Does anyone here have a life (I know, I know!) Anyhow’s, I don’t take Taxi’s. just fly Air corps helicopter! Just stirring it up for fun. Leo V.

• I wonder if the drivers with the green light will be ok with me going to the next taxi on the rank because I don’t want a potentially racist driver to get my money? If they want to help me choose my driver, so be it. But they better not bellyache at me when I do.

• franco 16/05/12 #

so a green light makes you a racist ,a red light makes you a prostitute , a pink light makes you gay , you have set yourself up as judge jury and executioner over a green light ,hope you never have to do jury service…

• I’ve witnessed first hand the blatant racism of some Dublin taxi drivers. Hardly the most educated of professions in the first place; qualification consists of being able to bore your passengers senseless with ignorant economic theories in fixing the economy

• So would this make me a raciest if I only buy items in a shop that says “Guaranteed Irish”????????

• it all depends on your reason behind that decision of course, I buy as much local produce (which just because it is produced in Ireland it doesn’t say WHO produced it remember) as I can to try and help the local economy, if you insist on using this ridiculous argument then think of it this way, buying locally produced products feeds the industry withing this country, this keeps the economy flowing, a taxi driver from the same firm, whatever race or nationality will still be feeding into same economy, so unless you are choosing products only made in ireland because you merely dislike the origins of other items based on the nationality of it then yes you would be prejudice , smart enough people purchase things produced in countries where the ingredients flourish better, like coffee for example, anyone with any inteligence would not even attempt to use such a nonsense argument!!

• Emma: In some of your previous comments you mentioned that some people’s arguments were irrelevant and yet you comment on someone’s spelling. This seems really petty given your comments regarding relevance and especially when your grammar is incorrect. ‘Your’ and ‘You’re’ are ‘notorious’ for getting confused with each other.