TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

How to: survive a long-haul flight

Are your legs dreading those cramped hours, dampening your holiday excitement? TheJournal.ie has some tips.

THIS GUY.

Boeing 787 First Flight

We would all love to be this guy.

But flying for most of us is more bobble-head sleeping techniques and plastic cutlery than padded recliners and on-demand meals. I won’t bore you with all the gruesome details, but I recently suffered through a (reasonably) long-haul flight where I was seated almost exactly in the middle of the plane – middle seat in the middle aisle in the middle cabin – (disaster!), the miniature, personal TV didn’t work (catastrophe!) and my next door neighbour was a gabby 86-year-old New Yorker who had just come off a cruise (nuclear meltdown!).

And I wasn’t prepared. At all. After I flicked through the on-board magazine for the fifth time, the pilot gracefully dropped us at our destination.

Never again, I said. And I’ve done my research since so the next time I board an aircraft I’m going to be ready for all possibilities.

Location, location, location

You can never start preparing too early…and it all starts with picking the right seat. Although a small fee is usually incurred now (thanks Michael O’Leary) for the choice, it can be worth it. To make sure you get value for your money, check out SeatGuru. The TripAdvisor app allows users to study seat maps for specific planes (and flights) to figure out if there is a power source, reclining seats, extra leg room or if the seats are in any way inconvenient, being too near the toilets and their accompanying smells for example. Its colour-coded system identifies superior and substandard locations in the cabin.

Liquidity problems

We’ve all added to this pile, right?

US TERROR PLOT

(Image: Robert F Bukaty/AP/Press Association Images)

Liquid restrictions for hand luggage have been in place for years now but some of us still think its an unnecessary evil and those ziplocs a waste of time and money. But it’s worth purchasing the €1 bags at the airport and placing your items in there to ensure you don’t lose that €70 bottle of perfume or have to go without brushing your teeth for the entire flight (remember, you need to be a considerate neighbour too).

Even better, why not have everything ready to go before you get there like our hero Amy Dianna here?

packing

However, some airports require specific plastic bags bought on-site and do not allow freezer bags from the kitchen drawer so check before you travel.

Menu pages

Airplane food is notoriously average – it’s all part and parcel of travelling, the slight inconvenience before a holiday full of lavish meals. But if the gruel-like substances really turn your stomach, there are ways around it.

Most airlines offer specialist options at time of booking and because they have to prepare these dinners separately, they are often of better quality. So even if you’re not a veggie or not allergic to certain things, opt for the special option anyway as it’s usually better than the standard fare – and it comes first.

Try to avoid excess alcohol or caffeinated drinks while in the air and if you’re trying to eat healthily, consider bringing your own food on board.

Too posh to push?

Airplane seats recline for a reason so don’t feel bad about gently squeezing that lever and leaning back but there is a time and a place. Make sure you bring the seat back up for meal times and afterwards, check that the passenger behind you has finished eating and given the tray back. No need to make enemies who you’ll later have to see while queuing for passport control, luggage and taxis.

For extra comfort – particularly on really long flights – invest in a travel pillow to avoid that head-bobbing motion.

Avoid cankles

You know, when you can’t tell the difference between your calf and ankle because your leg is swollen? There are three simple solutions for this. First, wear a pair of flight socks. Yes, they are unattractive but, really, are we really going to impress anyone on a 747?

Secondly, pay attention to the in-flight exercise video. A few stretches will keep your body fit, your blood circulating properly and reduce fatigue.

Finally, move around a bit. About half-way through the flight, take a few strolls up and down the aisle and there should be room down the back of the plane for some simple exercises. Advanced fliers can try and time this with their toilet break for extra stream-lined flying.

(Image: Ian Nicholson/PA Archive/Press Association Images)

Other bodily issues can occur because of the dry air so drink plenty of water to keep hydrated. Drops are a handy item to carry on to refresh your eyes if they get dry, while lip balm is essential to avoid crusty lips. All travel size, obviously.

Let me, entertain me

It’s a fine line…bringing too much stuff which will cramp your leg room and being bored, in need of stimulation. The in-flight entertainment systems are getting increasingly unreliable so ensure you include something that can keep you busy in your hand luggage. And bring your own head phones too – the ones provided are more-often-than-not dodgy.

If you don’t own an electronic reader, try to carry only paperpacks that will fit neatly in the pouch in front of you. Alternatively, have material downloaded to a tablet or smartphone. For example, TheJournal.ie‘s app allows you to download a number of stories which you can save for later. Not a reader? Try video games, magazines (if ever there is an excuse for gossip magazines, it’s a long-haul flight) or good old-fashioned puzzle books.

Take everything you may need from your bag before putting it in the overhead compartment to lessen the amount of rummaging. And if you do a little of everything – read, sleep, watch movies, listen to music and chat (a little) if invited to by the traveller next to you.

It could get worse

If Icelandic volcanoes have taught us anything, it’s that flight schedules often don’t go to plan. So prepare for that dreaded delay. This guy didn’t and look how he ended up:

India Iceland Volcano

Make sure you have some cash in the currencies of both your departure and arrival countries as you could be delayed either side. Also ensure you bring appropriate clothing for either side – and for all levels of air conditioning. Layering, as always, is key for both convenient packing and personal comfort. A fully-charged mobile phone is also an essential.

Five items to invest in before a long-haul flight:

• Noise-cancelling headphones
  • Compression socks
  • An iPod
  • Sleeping tablets
  • Sucky sweets (no idea if they work, but it’s a tradition now)

One last thing – take off your watch before boarding. If you’re not counting down the seconds, it won’t seem as long.

Now all you have to do is beat the jet-lag. Happy flying!

Have you checked your passport lately?>

Going on holliers? Here’s how to get through an airport as quickly as possible>

Read next:

Comments (59 Comments)

• A load of drink and a vuvuzala, everyone will think you are gas craic.

• Jambbie 06/08/12 #

What if the bloke behind ya takes off his shoes and there’s a bang off his feet. I had to tell some yoke to put back on his shoes one nite, cos the air hostess wouldn’t. There was nearly a mill. Your mans case jumped off the carousel itself.

• Bring a scarf with perfume sprayed on it to avoid the smell emitted by the passenger next to you who thinks it’s okay to fart all the way to his destination, believing you don’t know it’s him doing it… ugh

• I’m a little appalled you recommend to bring with you sleeping tablets!

As crew I can say with certainty that sleeping tablets are one of the absolute worst things to use when flying as far too many people mix them with alcohol and subsequently end up reacting badly to them. Almost every case of air rage iv dealt with have been a result of bad reaction to sleeping tablets.

But it’s not just air rage, DVTs occur from being stationary in unusual confined spaces which may not happen if you had not taken such pills and then there are the folk who for some reason either try to fight the tablets they’ve taken or decide they still have time to head to the loo and end up collapsing on top of other passengers!

Not only does this all lead to create concern it also takes the majority of the crew away from their tasks of actually looking after the majority of the other passengers!

• I can’t agree with you – best thing going is to pop a sleeping tablet just before the first meal and then you sleep easy all the way to breakfast. Of course you should not mix alcohol and sleeping tablets even if you are not flying.
      Worst thing of all is the flight attendants who keep waking you to ask if you want a drink.

• Actually, one beer with two motion sickness tablets works a charm. Did that right after take-off on a 14 hour flight from Seattle – Taipei and woke up with only 3 hours to go! :)

• libby 06/08/12 #

I think nowadays just getting money out via an ATM when you land can be even more convenient than trying to get into your local bank. Buying clear plastic toiletry bags are useful, durable and often come in various sizes. Finding out if there are any rail/bus/air strikes ahead of where you are going is always worthwhile.

• OH! for a long haul flight !!!!!!!!

• John F 06/08/12 #

If you prefer to sleep get a window seat, invest few quid in a decent neck pillow and noise cancelling headphones (usually does trick to drown out noise of any screaming babies!) ask for exit row at check in, if you can afford go Business Class

• Save up and go club class.

• Very useful article although I expect to see vegetarian food mass produced soon to keep up with all the people who will be ordering that instead from now on …

• item number 6 to invest in before a flight?

A kindle.

• If you recline your seat, I hate you.

• I think it’s polite to ask the person behind you if they are ok with you reclining your seat. I have lost count of the amount of times I have been on a flight with a drink in front of me and nearly had it knocked over by someone reclining.

• A lot of people seem to leave their manners on the ground, it would be nice if the cabin crew included a manners refresher in their flight safety pitch. the seats do go back, but does it really help, not picking on Ryan Air but they removed that option, cost saving. Long haul chicken or beef ?…..never a good choice…best to pass and whats with the 4am breakfast …. Upgrades are the bes !!!!t, pity they dont happen very often. I agree that alcohol is wrong when flying, but when you know whats ahead a long chat with Mr Jameson, might seem like the only option …..

• so tell me this someone, being shite scared of flying, and l have to fly quite alot, what type of sleeping pills do you recomend, and where do you ger them?

• I never really had trouble flying long haul. But I hate aisle seats i prefer the window seats where u can sleep against the window at least on not on someones shoulder. I always have a few drinks helps me get sleepy. The only thing I have is popping ears when descending it lasts for ever.

• To your list of hardware I would add travel pack of baby wipes, something to clear/ moisten your nose, eyedrops, slipper socks

• my dad got dvt a few years ago so whenever we were on long flights he’d wake me and my brother up to make us go for a walk.

now i cant sleep on a plane to save my life so am up and down omce an hour for a walk and constantly do ankle rotations etc at my seat…

• Karvol is great for anyone who gets sore ears when flying. Sniff a bit on a tissue when taking off and landing. Works wonders

• A polite word with cabin manager that your avod is broken and is there any chance of another seat stands a good chance of an escort up to the front or a compensation cert for a few thousand airmiles or some cash off your next flight… Pick the sternest looking agent and don’t fly in sweatpants and an oversized T-shirt…

• Only works if a) your entertainment system is broken ( come on, you don’t expect most if the readers here to k ow what “AVOD” is, and B) there are no other seats to move you to!

However there are a number of airlines out there who absolutely will not upgrade you for anything including Aer Lingus, Etihad, Emirates, BA, Qantas etc!

• Haha shows what you know
      I’ve been op upped from Coach to First on BA for exactly that reason.
      Op upped to Business on Emirates because it was Ramadan and they switched off AVOD on the back of the plane.
      Op upped on Qantas because I was flying last min due to a bereavement
      Opped up on Aer lingus many times just because… Aer lingus is the easiest op up in the industry many United FF chose Aer lingus from Chicago as a united code share because upgrades are easy, my partners 6′ 7 and they are always sympathetic

• Well Andy I think you’re fibbing cos I work for BA! We would never ever upgrade from traveller to first! Just doesn’t happen! Maybe to traveller plus or from club to first!

And the entertainment switched off for Ramadan? Now I know you’re bullshitting! I was Qatar Airways before I went to BA (10 years ago) and Aer Lingus before that! I know my stuff!

• Well “unfortunately” the only other seat available on this plane from LGW to DFW and I was a very well behaved 16 year old travelling alone. I don’t even think traveller plus even existed back then

The second is true also, I was also asked to change out of shorts and was rewarded with a reissued ticket in business as a curtsey

• @ Tony, I went to Australia back in May and Qantas upgraded me from economy to business for free, just by asking at check-in. Your comment is incorrect.

• I was upgraded from economy to first for the same reason before (broken IFE) on AA from Heathrow to Chicago. Hope you’re right about Aer Lingus and United FF from Chicago Andy, supposed to be flying back from Portland through there on UA miles and wouldn’t say no to an upgrade!!

• I hear it from my friends who crew for Alaska… I have no first hand experiences of it my self I won’t make gold/plat elite with no EQMS so it’s not worth it.

• John F 06/08/12 #

Hey Tony, I got upgraded from Economy to Economy Plus on a BA flight recently because my entertainment system was busted!

• glass o something before boarding, one after dinner then sit back and watch inflight tv does me fine get to fly long haul so little these days may as well make the most of it heading stateside in dec and I think flight is part of the excitement (for us who only fly for leisure!!!)However hubbie VVV bad flier and his ears always at him so sandra thanks for karvol tip!!!

• Reclining your seat is the height of ignorance !! I’ve had many a falling out with these passengers !!

• by the way. Ryanair were one of the last to have bookable seats. so no need to be thanking them. in such a sarcasticall way.

• Just off my long haul flights. One thing when going to America, print out your travel itinerary and have it on hand, along with drivers license. I was caught for 30mins before boarding and the security had to bring their manager over to real all questions and some more. After 20yeaes flying to the states I have never been questioned so much all because I am a frequent flier and don’t need those plastic folders that u see people shuffling around with all their itineraries, passports, travellers cheques. I was last in board after the gruelling questions, not what I expected this side of the water!

• After 20 years of flying to the states you should have been prepared to be questioned at least once, sods law and all that. I’m around 15 years flying this globe and always have everything ready if I’m questioned, yes in a plastic folder.Not my passport mind you just my itinerary details with copies in my main luggage. Might be a good idea for you. Your comment about travellers cheques made me laugh, do people still your them.

Add New Comment