TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

TV3 confirms line-up for Vincent Browne’s referendum debate

The first live televised debate of the Fiscal Compact campaign will see two leading politicians from each of the Yes and No camps.

FF's Micheál Martin is the only leader of the four main political parties to appear in tomorrow's debate.
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

TV3 HAS CONFIRMED the line-up for its live televised debate on the Fiscal Compact tomorrow night, the first of the referendum campaign.

The debate, hosted by Vincent Browne, will only feature one party leader – Fianna Fáil’s Micheál Martin – with the Taoiseach, Tánaiste and Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams all declining to participate.

The hour-long debate, airing tomorrow night at 9pm, will see Martin argue for a Yes vote alongside Fine Gael’s director of elections for the campaign, agriculture minister Simon Coveney.

Arguing the case against ratification of the treaty will be Sinn Féin deputy president Mary Lou McDonald and the Socialist Party’s Joe Higgins.

TV3′s Director of News, Andrew Hanlon, confirmed that the leaders of Fine Gael, Labour and Sinn Féin had all declined to participate in the debate for various reasons.

“We are happy to host the first national television debate on this highly important and divisive issue which we hope will help our viewers make an informed decision on May 31st,” he said.

The debate will be followed at 11pm by the usual edition of Tonight with Vincent Browne, offering analysis and discussion of the debate.

It is understood that Gerry Adams had declined to participate in the debate because of allegations made against him on a previous TV3 programme, which the Louth TD believes went unchallenged.

Enda Kenny had previously declined to participate in Browne’s debate in advance of last year’s general election, in an apparent dispute over on-air comments made by the TV3 host.

However, Browne himself said earlier this month that he understood Kenny’s objection to appearing in tomorrow’s debate was a procedural one, and was not related to that previous dispute.

Read: Kenny and Adams decline to take part in TV3 referendum debate

Countdown: You have two days to register for a referendum postal vote

Translated: The Fiscal Compact rewritten in layman’s terms

Read next:

Comments (43 Comments)

• So Enda doesn’t want to debate on VB wonder why.Maybe that VB doesn’t do softly softly like RTE could be the reason.

• Enda is Taoiseach & he should act like it; as leader of the country, he should be rising above his personal issues with VinB & actually, you know, LEAD, instead of throwing his toys out of the pram in a strop!

• jimbo 30/04/12 #

Well we know who the cowards are,the same way one in particular is wanting(forcing) a yes vote,yet he wont go live on air with vinny. PATHETIC!

• So there won’t be any representative from the regime? Not a very smart move from the bansters’ enablers, especially considering the amount of publicity this debate is getting.

• To be honest I would not expect anything more … Enda is a cihcken siht and as for Gilmore ……Gerry to be honest I am disappointed too with your refusal to attend .Ah well ! I still know which way I will be voting ….. No !

• Can you imagine Simon Covney putting the frighteners on anyone? Oh nooooooo I’m terrified!!!!!

• Think Simon was threatening to get tough with people. Be afraid very afraid.

• Lol ! I am soooo scared . But it really is not funny , because this is what these effers did during the campaign against the household and water tax , they threatened and bullied people mercilessly . Old people , broken people bowed down with stress and worry. Well do you know what they will try to do the same again during their campaign to have the referendum passed ….Well I appeal to people to stop and think . Take ten deep breaths , face the fear,then say NO. No to fear , no to bullies , no no no…

• I actually think this is a smart move by Micheál Martin.

I’m not a Fianna Fáil supporter (I hope other posts of mine here attest to this) but he’s a sharp operator and the other two will have their work cut out.

The one thing that the “yes” side needs to answer (and I’m wondering why it hasn’t been raised by the “no” folk yet) is why this treaty doesn’t address the problems that caused this crisis in the first place.

The Irish and the Spaniards were top of the class when it came to budget management up until 2007. Even going by the harsh terms of this treaty, we were easily meeting all the conditions. But financial regulation was poor and we were over-exposed to the property boom.

This treaty does nothing to avoid this from happening again.

• What caused the crash is in iself irrelevent as if this treaty had been in place the crash still would have happened.Btw up until the bank gaurantee Ireland was abiding by all the fiscal treties that where in place.Unlike France and Germany we didn’t break the Masstricht treaty.

• Id love to hear Endas excuse for not going on. I really would. It’ll be an absolute,unbelievable doozy i reckon.

• They wouldn’t let him bring one of those expensive seats he bought for cabinet meetings. #vinb seats not good enough . He suffers from Comfy Arse Syndrome dontchaknow

• I think Vincent Browne’s suggestion a while ago that he take a bottle of whiskey and a gun into a dark room has put him off…

• @ O’reilly. I take it you’re referring to inda disgracefully hiding behind the issue of suicide before the election rather than face tough questions?

• Trueleft, I’m merely pointing out that Browne in typical fashion made a very derogatory comment about the man and that’s why he won’t go on VB show. Why should Kenny satisfy Browne’s push for ratings? Browne has never shown any respect either to him, or the office of Taoiseach…

• Do YOU even believe you? Because nobody believed inda at the time, and his lies and u-turns since have only served to proved that he was cowering behind the issue of suicide rather than face vincent browne.

Had Vin B asked was it not time for inda to take a long walk off a short pier instead of thhe ‘whiskey and revolver’ throwaway remark, indas spin doctors would have twisted that and we would have had to hear inda blather on about how he’s stood in the homes of countless drowning victims over the years.

• Nothing that VinB has said about Enda or Gerry would compare to the abuse he gives FF on a nightly basis, but still Michál Martin is the only senior leader to go face him. You’ve got to hand it to him.

• Micheal Martin looks poor drained, no wonder. Has there ever been a party leader in Ireland that has been so repeatedly humiliated by his own colleagues.

While I understand o’Cuiv’s concerns, it is still uncomfortable to watch him degrade and humiliate the man, and for Martin to keep taking it repeatedly. He is the party leader but is completely ignored, at parliamentary meetings they talk over him. He should have a small bit of respect for himself and stand down.

• hear hear! FF will remain an irrelevance to the majority of voters until the leadership and front bench is cleared of the damaging old guard for once and for all. Michael McGrath could be the person to turn the party around but it’s a huge uphill task to even bring them up to 20% at this stage. The longer Martin stays the more wallowing in the murky past will strangle what’s left of the grassroots.

I notice the LAB rep has not been revealed in the article. I presume Burton, as Director of campaign will be the one but after the last two performances on Vinnie I won’t hold my breath.

• Fagan's 30/04/12 #

McGrath isn’t that bad a talker, certainly the best performing FF’er by miles but there is nothing but crud behind him in the parliamentary party. Most FF TD’s aren’t allowed near a TV camera or an interview. Also the FF brand is so poisonous to most Irish people, especially those under 40 that at soon as they see it, the red mist descends.

McGrath should get 4-5 of the others and leave to form a new party and let FF slip in to the cesspit of history. McGrath is no fool he knows that the party is never going to come out of its mess.

• mcbab 30/04/12 #

Actually fagan Martin gave a great interview today on the Pat Kenny show. Did you miss it? Listen on RTE playback.

• @Fagans you’re on the money there with a new party. I could see backbenchers of both Gov parties jump ship and join. There is certainly a huge void to be filled in Irish politics.

• There is a huge void to be filled in Irish politics , but the way I see it is that there will be die hard FFs who will jump ship into SF . Then the rest of FF will sidle up with FG and Lab. What we need is a new political party who will challenge these right wing parties . Filled with good fearless men and women , not afraid to do what is right and take on these traitorous mé féiners.

• I’m disappointed in Gerry Adams – if allegations went unchallenged then why didn’t he challenge them himself after the program.
    I expect cowardly behaviour from FG, Lab and FF, but now SF leaders are avoiding the people too? tut tut….. and in fairness to Meehole, he hasn’t played that game yet.

• isn’t M.Martin being bitch slapped every day in public and at parliamentary party meetings by his colleagues, especially o’Cuiv. The man must have not an ounce of self respect.

• Cal 30/04/12 #

Mary Lou will destroy all the “Yes campers” ….. Fair play to Gerry for not appearing, the debate would have resorted to the 20th century, were the Irish right to leave the Union, were the Irish right to rise up against the British in the North and the usual Vincent Browne ansti-SF arguments …. Mary Lou wont let him turn the debate into a joke. She will keep it focussed on the issue at hand, a sell out of the country to protect the incomes of the elite.

• In fairness to Vincenzo, I don’t think he has that anti-SF bias you see on RTÉ.

This debate might be a little too early in the campaign to have an effect. What happens might be forgotten come May 31st or it might set the tone for the next 4 weeks. We’ll see but at least it’ll focus minds.

• Mary-Lou is a top-notch performer in the media and will certainly have her homework done. I have to agree Adams would’ve have been a poor choice and the debate would have gone askew. I would question Simon Coveneys credentials for a debate like this but maybe the other FG choices Varadkar/Hogan/Noonan/Shatter are too tainted by unpopular current decisions to get the public behind a yes vote and a fresher face was though to be the best option.

• jimbo 30/04/12 #

Pat Kenny let him have it this morning now vb will too,Martin loves the abuse

• My heart has just sank knowing its those clowns championing a No vote.

• @begrudgy

I won’t be wasting my time watching it. Main reason is that V Brown is doing it. Can’t stand the man. Has no idea how to run a debate. Continually cutting in on answers, destroying the train of thought of the person that is trying to answer his question. When he doesn’t like the answer he cuts them short.

If Matt Cooper was the debate chairman I would probably watch it.

• The government should ask FFailers not to support this treaty.Anything FFailers endorse is enough to make alot of people vote No.

• xyz 01/05/12 #

he looks like joker :D

• would it not be more beneficial to have a referedem to put into place the procedures to protect this country from this happening again and to prosecute those who have bankrupted our country who apparently can walk away with some good accounting with there lifestyles intact
      would this not show the people of this country that the government has the commitment to carry out what has to be done , or do they not have the balls!!!!
      if these people had to pay the piper how bankrupt would this country be !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Micheál Martin and the Fianna Fail/Traitors will do nothing for the yes vote. Who let this fool lead this debate?

• While I enjoy the topics discussed on VB I find he loses the run of himself too often. He goes off on tangents and little vendettas like he’s locked.

It’ll be a load of me bollox, FF will try to gain ground while saying we aren’t making the mess now; FG will go on about the treaty and how FF created this mess; Labour will sit there massaging FG’s ego and SF will focus on how there is nothing good in the fiscal compact that it’s shambolic and all three parties and VB will gang up on them and throw the usual cop killer shite at them.

All the while our country will be no better and the undecided voters will be taken in by FG and Labours honest looks and ‘oh didn’t they give those nasty shinners a good what for, I’ll vote yes on dis stability treat thing cos dem shinners are terrorists I’m not doing what they say’

Mark my words.

• I had to laugh at VB 3 weeks ago, when the Mahon report came out … VB had a FF/FG/SF rep on… He asked each of the FF and FG guys what they thought of the report … when it came to the SF rep (the guy was no more than 27-28) VB literally said, you can’t say anything, considering all the people you and your party murdered… If this 27-28 year old was involved in any killings in the troubles, he was out shooting people at 2 years old, before the Good Friday agreement was signed. I dont think for one second Mary Lou will let Vincent away with this crap. People want to hear an honest debate, and none of VBs usual antics. In other words, VB likes it when he does all the talking full stop. He is entertaining to watch on occasion, but he hasn’t got a clue how to run a serious debate.

• mcbab 30/04/12 #

Who the hell is Vincent Browne, a grandstanding washed up journalist on a washed up TV station. Nothing there to see.

Add New Comment