TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Unemployment unchanged at 14.8 per cent in October

The number of people signing on the Live Register fell by 1,000 on a seasonally adjusted basis in October according to the latest CSO figures.

File photo
File photo
Image: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

UNEMPLOYMENT WAS UNCHANGED in October with the standardised rate remaining at 14.8 per cent, according to the latest figures from the Central Statistics Office.

The Live Register recorded a monthly decrease of 1,000 last month bringing the seasonally adjusted total of people who are on the register to 434,200.

In unadjusted terms there were 420,172 people singing on the Live Register in October.

This represents an annual decrease of 2.4 per cent but the CSO said that the overall trend in the register continues to be one of movement “within a small range”.

There was a decrease of 700 males on the Live Register in October with the number of females decreasing by 300.

The number of long term claimants on the Live Register was just over 188,000 with an overall annual increase of 4.6 per cent with 55.2 per cent of all claimants being short term in October of this year compared to 55.8 per cent in October 2011.

Read: Consumer sentiment stabilises after sharp decline in September

Read next:

Comments (29 Comments)

• What about the people on Courses and in FAS, are they included in the figure?

• Yes, FFG/Labour/FF must be sooo happy that 87,000 people were forced to emigrate last year alone (the highest single year number since the famine). Keep it up lads, you are doing a great job … (feathering your own nests).

• Fine Gael’s Alan Dukes (Anglo Irish Bank chairman) today said:

“CEO is ‘absolutely’ worth his €500,000 salary”

Fine Gael voters should open their eyes to this. The same as Fianna Fail.

• That’s the thing, are the bothering to adjust their baseline number at all or are they going on the last census numbers for ‘working age population’. I’m open to correction on my figures but if 434,000 is 14.8% that assume (or is based on) a work eligible population of just under 3 million. Is our potential work force that high? I wouldn’t have thought so.

• and behind these figures the sheer human suffering _food poverty is becoming increasingly common , I’ve just read that my local SVP are hearing from people who haven’t eaten for two or three days – yet we still await a budget from an out of touch government with more swinging cuts despite fat pensions for failed bankers and politicians its criminal.

• Vote YES for jobs…..ring any bells!

• But what I look forward to every year, even more than the annual retailers’ tinselfest, is that special thrill when they seasonally adjust me again, and my numbers fall.

Sucha buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

• Oh the lies !

• cormac 01/11/12 #

It’s horrible to see so many of our people out of work plus the 100,000s gone out foreign. Our TD’s are up in the dail talkin shite about household charges, fighting about where to put a long overdue hospital, a pointless referendum, tinkers housings plus dozens of other mundane distractions beneath a national government. Get the country back working and all the rest will fall into place. Treat the illness and not the symptoms. We want jobs here again.

• Ah sur at least we’ve turned a corner !!
    YA RIGHT !

• Michael Noonan just declared, Job numbers are Stabilising! What ‘ll be the Line for No Bank Debt Deal?

• Ah sure everything is grand.

• “Lies, damned lies and statistics”.

• Its only because they’ve moved to Oz!

• Here’s the bigger picture..the polarisation will continue until the gluttonous few siphoning the liquidated resources of the planet into their Swiss vaults flood their basements.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/world/news-20156365

But given that its all cyber-money now, controlled by a globalised net of computers stashing the proceeds offshore($20-30 trillion tax evaded and rising exponentially), though extracted through the infrastructure built by worker/producers’ source-stopped taxes, and that the ‘players’ casino-throw transactions are also computerised at lightspeed, the basements are probably safe as ……………………….houses.

• I think fine gael use the same masseur to massage these unemployment figures as they do to massage the egos of alan shatter,,phil hogan,,james reilly and the runt of the fine gael litter brian hayes

• UPCHANGED??? You might want to downwrite that and upinsert a different word.

• There is going to be a lot of long term unemployed, for a very long time. A special thanks to FF, thank you Bertie!

• I don’t remember singing in October!!

• Export the young keep the older generations in a debt stress trap kill off the elderly and make people that still have a few bob left think that people with nothing are their enemy.Pay huge bonuses to the creeps who set it up and give huge pensions to the traitors that implement it .We have to identify the REAL problem before we REALLY can fix it.A bucket of cold water over the electorate would be a start .A detention of all involved in the Banking disaster that started this financial dictatorship coup that we are now under .A call for a transparency law into every policy of elected Ministers and TD’S at the behest of the people. A pay incentive to all Ministers TD’S who implement policy that helps the overall well being of the country be it Economical Social Spiritual.The negotiation of soverign debt with intention to default if a fair comprimize is not met.The taking control by elected Government of the Banks which are owned by the Irish taxpayer to inject money into innovative projects and infastructure with sound economics and sensible contracts.The setting up of a special committee to engage in oil exploration and wind and wave alternative energy.Large investment in agri-food and fishiries .The Right to 3rd level education of all citizens, the right to high standard health care .The non waste of government money in quangos over management and huge salaries in non performing long contract public sector .The ecouragement of national pride human rights, free thinking ,free speech’ the total transperency of the media .The overall endorsement of a social model that civilized people in the 21st century should aspire too.The internment of found corrupt or conspiring to gain from the state in a corrupt law breaking fashion.The zero tolerance of cruelty rape murder child abuse with long labour intensive prison sentences .The embracing of all colours and religions at local and national level .The detention and rehabilation of religous fundamentalits who will not integrate and show’s no respect to fellow human beings . The shortening of the work week to 4 days . All this is sustainable due to progressive distribution of wealth not regressive.Nevermind that though we’d rather bang along in the dark ages with tv’s and nuclear bombs though.Man on the dole thinking what are our great minds doing ..nothing wrapped up in greed and survival or just kept down and called lonnies or radicals.Who’s the crazies really.

• There’s a lot of tracksuits in the photo. There’s a good chance these folk weren’t out for a jog before signing on. What hope do they have of finding work if they don’t bother getting properly dressed in the morning (or more accurately the afternoon) n

Add New Comment