TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Unite urges members not to pay household charge

The trade union has dismissed the charge as unfair and called on its members not to pay – all 60,000 of them.

Jimmy Kelly
Jimmy Kelly
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

ONE OF IRELAND’S largest trade unions has vowed to stand “shoulder to shoulder” with members who do not register to pay the €100 household charge that the Government is attempting to impose on homeowners.

Speaking at a meeting of the Campaign against the Household Charge, Unite Regional Secretary Jimmy Kelly said “Unite members will lead their workplaces and local communities in resisting this flat rate charge.”

He also voiced his condemnation over the “increasingly angry bullying measures employed by some within Government” in relation to the issue:

The unfairness of a flat rate charge, the absence of clarity in publishing the legislation, the lack of respect for the Data Rights Commissioner revealed over the weekend and the hectoring tone of some within government are all valid reasons why people are taking a stand.

Kelly said Unite believed there should be a tax based on property but dismissed the “scandalous flat rate” that Irish homeowners were being asked to pay in the short term.

Kelly said the Government should consider”fairer” ways to impose a tax on property – such as taking account of people’s assets and ability to pay.

“We know as a nation when something is unfair. That is why there is such strong community feeling against this charge,” he added.

Read more of TheJournal.ie‘s coverage on the household charge>

Read next:

Comments (111 Comments)

• What household charge? I’ve received nothing in the post? My Uncle who lives down the county is a quiet man who goes about his life without any media influence in his life he knows nothing of this fake tax.

• Minister Hogan is bluffing on an empty hand. No computer systems or civil servants to find us, no guards to chase us, no courts to convict us, no jails to put us in. They got nothing, only the hope that making idle threats and a few publicised examples will frighten everyone into compliance.

There is no provision in the Constitution for using the law as a stick to beat people. If your law turns vast numbers of ordinarily law abiding people into criminals you have to ask some hard questions about the law, not about the people.

Don’t register, don’t pay, don’t panic. No one who ends up being “an example” will be in the dock alone!

• Good point Auntie, but what happens when the government bullies change the law to suit themselves and makes the citizens of this country liable for fake taxes. Once this happens you can bet your bottom dollar that they will change EVERYTHING to suit them.!! This is not democracy!

• Don’t register, don’t pay, don’t panic.

• Don’t register, don’t pay , get levied, get fined, go to jail. No unions in jail.

• why should you pay peter,,, when the Gov Ministers dont have to pay it themselves, http://debates.oireachtas.ie/dail/2012/03/13/00247.asp

• Joe, not that old chestnut again. Ministers must pay the tax as they must pay all taxes. The statement you refer to is in respect of property vested, on behalf of the State, in the office holder for the time being.

• did you read what i posted peter,, and its from hogan’s mouth,, not mine

• or maybe peter i’ll paste here his words instead,,, · Residential properties that are part of the trading stock of a business and have not been sold or been the source of any income since construction,

· Residential property owned by a Minister of the Government, a housing authority or the Health Service Executive,

· Voluntary and co-operative housing,

· Residential property subject to commercial rates and wholly used as a dwelling,

· Residential property owned by certain charities or discretionary trusts, and

· Residential property which an owner has vacated due to long-term mental or physical infirmity (e.g. elderly person that has moved into a nursing home).

• @Joe. Residential property owned by a Minister of the Government, a housing authority or the Health Service Executive, I am asking this question because I genuinely don’t know the answer. Does that not mean any residential property owned by a Minister, including his own? I ask because Leo Varadkar said he has paid his charge but is that not a residential property owned by a minister?

• Joe, I believe the confusion comes from what “owned by a Minister of government” MEANS. That is “owned by an individual who is currently a government minister” or “owned by the office/position of government minister”. From what I can tell, government minister’s own private residences are liable, but those buildings which are owned by the *job*, not the man (ie, in actuality owned by the state but placed at the disposal of the government) are not liable.

Which view is true, I can’t say with certainty, but there’s a lot of confusion about it.

• Just like the Lisbon Treatry debates we’re now seeing misleading and frankly dishonest claims being made about the Household Charge. Whatever you might feel about the charge itself, the making and repeating of false claims about the charge undermines the arguments being made against it.

For the record, and the umnpteenth time, government ministers are as liable to pay the charge on their personal homes every bit as much as we all are. The legislation does provide exemptions for property vested in the minister in her/his role as minister, e.g. residential propoerty used by armed forces personnel which is “owned” by the Minister of Defence.

Anyone who persists in claiming that ministers own homes are exempt from the household charge is either not paying attention or is deliberately lying about the legislation.

• i am mortified at the level of stupid i see here today,,, its in plain english,,, if it is your residence,, you pay the charge,,, peter you show a level of stupidness i’ve never saw,, maybe you are FG and you want to con fuse it,,, its in black and fucking white,, ministers dont pay the household charge,, varadkar is the worst,, i want to see his reciept,,, their is always one dick that wants to convert ppl,,, i sent the link from the dail,,, read it FFS

• @Joe McDermot, Joe you are either a troll or ignorant beyond measure and I suspect it is the former. Read the Act and compare it with Big Phil’s statement in the House. The Act exempts property VESTED in Ministers etc. Big Phil mistakenly used the words “owned by” thus giving ammunition to trolls such as you.

• People on SW do have to pay, only people in social housing don’t have to pay and that is because the house doesn’t belong to them, they are in effect “renting” the house. The really ridiculous thing about that scenario is that they pay about 30/40 euro a week for that house and don’t have to pay the housing charge but someone on SW because they lost their job, have a privately owned house with a massive mortgage does have to pay it. The government haven’t a clue, they don’t understand that the citizens in this country are effectively poor. A little unknown fact for people out there struggling to pay their bills. If you have a letter from your supply company threatening to cut off your supply because you cannot pay, take that letter and a bill to your Community Welfare Officer and they will have to pay that bill for you. If the government decide to attach the fee to our bills, we should all do that, or threaten to at least. It will cost them so much more in the long run.

• what household charge?

• The Government must realize that the ordinary people of this debt ridden country have had enough and they will not tolerate any more austerity while billions of euros of our money is being squandered on Anglo.

See http://quinn-anglo-story-blogspot.com/ for more details of this outrageous waste. Its time for the hardest hit people to unite and stand firm and not tolerate the fleecing of our money for the greatest junk bank of all times.

• Let them take me to court. I will argue that Enda Kenny said I have to pay it, Mick Wallace said I dont, they’re both elected by the people – so how was I meant to know which one to listen to?

In any event, they cant take us all to court over this as the legal fees would by far outweigh the costs being sought.

Its priceless how out of touch they are though by saying people are just holding out until the last minute…well we’re not…we’re simply not volunteering to fork out an unnecessary tax to a corrupt bunch of lying thieves.

• I will not pay simply because as soon as we register and pay once…..within a couple of years the charge will be astronomical!
    This year = €100
    Five years= €1000
    And I know they’re counting on that hike already!
    And we won’t be able to do diddly-toss to stop them…..

• That makes me laugh. Do you honestly believe that we have an acceptable public service? People waiting in A&E for up to 12 hours, waiting lists for treatment taking over a year, schools losing SNA’s, frontline services are being hit every day. Our public services are a joke compared to parts of Europe and we have one of the highest tax rates. Where is all that money going? Don’t answer that, we already know..

• A large pat of the reason why our public services are so poor is because our tax base is so low, Andrea. Like I said, if we want European levels of public services we are going to have to pay European levels of tax including property taxes. Or do you know of some other way of funding high quality services?

• In Germany the highest tax rate is 45% and that is for people earning over 250,000, people pay 14% tax on salaries up to 52,000. In France they pay 14% up to 27,000, 30% up to 72,000 and 41% over that. Not the same taxes as us and nowhere near as high. I’m sure there are countries that may pay higher taxes than us but certainly not the ones dictating ours.

• Well turn up and protest at FG Ard Feis they have no idea how badly they are doing let then know

• The fg ard fheis is gonna be hilarious. Talk about the perfect storm….anglo pay out, hhc deadline and all the fgs in in the ones place. Perfect day for a protest.

• Gahhh. Now that swine noony is trying to ruin our fun by ‘delaying’ the anglo payout. We aren’t fooled that easily noonan. Bet they extend the closing date for registering next. Get the hint, its not cos we don’t know how to pay, its not cos
      we don’t know where to pay, its because we don’t want to pay. We have had enough.

• in principle if i thought the money was goin to be used appropriatly id pay.money is being squandered left right and centre though. just look at Nama buying up property from developers and mad speculators digging them out of the hole they dug for themselves and is now selling the property back to these same developers at fraction of the original cost. thus there livelyhood returns they aee back on the pigs back.nama is another corrupt dig out for the big guy all at the cost to the normal joe soap.where is the nama for the normal guy and jail for those responsible for the mess we are in.

• This country makes me sick!! Thank goodness the people of Ireland are staying strong and sending out an astounding message to this continuity FF government, that we will not be pushed any further, that we don’t have any more to give and that they can have a NO to the referendum aswell. I actually do think that these feckers would do worse long term than FF ever did. Roll on the next election. FG/lab out!

• Do you think RTÉ spend your €170 TV License money well?

• I heard Ray D’arcy saying everybody should send their household charge money to the paediatric cardiac unit at the childrens hospital.
    Now theres a good idea

• Good idea, or tell them we’re giving it to the national childrens hospital fund. Seeing as they have billions to giv away to defunct banks but cant find a shilling for the kids. Where is their mandate for this charge anyway as 1.5 million homes which must equate to well over 2.5million people seem to have decided they dont want this. Thats nearly 80% of the electorate. Are we living in dictatorship now, where the will of the people is ignored .

• This should be the the first time Ireland stands up together and says NO, enough is enough. This is a step too far.

• The reality is some people aren’t paying because the can’t afford another euro being taken out of a meagre pay packet that has taken hit after hit. We haven’t rioted like Greece and I think this lulled our appalling two faced politicians into a false sense of security. Instead we are peacefully but forcefully saying NO MORE ENOUGH IS ENOUGH ALL WE HAVE LEFT HERE IS OUR PRIDE….I’M NOT PAYING I DON’T HAVE IT TO GIVE…CHILDREN COME FIRST…FEEDING THEM AND PAYING OUR INFLATED UTILITIES HAS SUCKED US DRY! well something like that!

• If you pay it you are stuck with it.

• CAN’T PAY , WON’T PAY

• Never mind an election. We need a coup.

I am not happy to have politicians running my country – they have already proven that they can’t do it.

• jimbo 21/03/12 #

We wont pay ever…

• mike 21/03/12 #

Never got a Bill………..So i have to pay for something i have not been billed for. Christ i be broke. I going to start that in my Company. Pay for something you have not got. And i done have to tell you either. lol

• If it was going to something usefull, like public services, I would be happy to pay it, and if it benefitted us in every way, but it will be going to unsecured bondholders, who gambled on bonds on 55 cents, who could easily wait for years for their money, and it is like going to the betting office. That is life, get over it.You win some, you lose some. The government overpay their advisors, when they should be capping their pay, instead of asking low income families to pay. DON’T REGISTER, DON’T PAY, DON’T PANIC! We should start a revolution after this.

• Agree if they use it to benefit society and kept it at €100.00, but it will no doubt go way up and on top of the other levies ,charges its just simply to much.
      Do this goverment think house buyers are earners loads of money. (Like them) I dont recieve expenses for going to work and earn close to one hundred thousand a year. wont pay cause cant pay

• It would not surprise me if they started stopping social welfare from those who will not pay that is how vindictive they are.They forget that there will be an election down the road. Four years goes by very quick. As regards the unions supporting the people who do not pay the charge. When push comes to shove will they really support them. Time will tell

• Those on social welfare are probably exempt.

• No I do not think so everyone who owns a house has to pay the charge Whether on Social welfare or not. Exemptions are people living in Council houses rented accommodation also people who are living in unfinished estates that is I think the situation which is unbalanced but that is the Government we are dealing with.

• Surely that’s the choice pretty much anyway. The money needs to be raised. The question is whether those who own homes that are in profit (remember those who bought during the boom years don’t have to pay), property owners and landlords are willing to pay less than €2 a week or if, instead, the money comes AGAIN – like so much before it – off the backs of those on social welfare, those on hospital trolleys, those wanting decent teacher numbers in their schools.

At the end of the day, the ‘No’ campaign isn’t on the side of regular people — it’s on the side of making regular people pay more so they don’t have to.

• Actually Francis, there’s a number of exemptions. Effectively, you don’t have to pay if you’re in negative equity, if you’re a registered charity, or if you’re in long term ill health requiring residential care (for example, an older person in a nursing home doesn’t have to pay on their house back home, or someone in hospital long term for recovery/treatment doesn’t need to pay for the house back home either).

But, as far as I can see, you’re right in that people who own their own houses but are on social welfare benefit aren’t exempt. It’s almost certain any such people refusing to pay will have it stopped from their social welfare as legislation is already being discussed to make similar stops on the pay of PAYE workers.

• All Scare tactics ….. Don’t register , don’t pay. I am against this unfair unjust and unaffordable I am an ordinary person . I will never pay it .I want a good health service , I want my children to have access to a good education, and S N A ‘s .It is not my debt. I have always been tax compliant , but enough is enough.

• ** I am against this unfair unjust and unaffordable **Tax …

• Also, I don’t like how Mr Kelly said he supports a property tax, just not a flat rate charge for everyone. Isn’t that what’s coming down the line? He shouldn’t be supporting any tax on property full stop.

• So people in Ireland want European levels of public servcies like health and educaiton, but God forbid that we might pay European levels of tax to met the cost of them. This is a case of simple arithmetic. We can have the US system where taxes are low but public services are poor, or we can have the Euiropean system where taxes are higher but we have a civilised level of public servcies. Which choice would you make?

• My response once again not going in the right place, it is above your comment Desmond

• Well, I didn’t say EVERYBODY on SW have to pay, I said people on SW have to pay ( the minister himself has said that). Not everybody receiving SW is entitled to Supplementary Welfare Allowance, if one person in the household (regardless of their income) is still working, they cannot claim SWA. Their mortgage could use up an entire months salary and they could be surviving on the welfare they receive. People who bought homes based on a 2 salary income, now trying to survive on 1 + welfare still have to pay. I don’t need to retract my statement, it’s still valid. I know this because I unfortunately know too many people in this exact situation. And not everyone in negative equity is exempt, just those who bought within a particular period (I think 06/07 but could be wrong). Yet house prices are at their 2002 level and are expected to drop further.

• To whom do we owe our allegiance today?
    To whom do we owe our allegiance today?
    To those brave men who fought and died that Róisín live again with pride?
    Her sons at home to work and sing,
    Her youth to dance and make her valleys ring,
    Or the faceless men who for Mark and Dollar,
    Betray her to the highest bidder,
    To whom do we owe our allegiance today?

• Like pervious threads on the HHC seems alot of FG groupies about where are the Labour lackies.Come on lads ye’re in government too can’t wash this mess off yer hands.

• Norman
      I wish the Labour lads and lasses would come out and say what they are thinking . It is unbelievable to think that a whole section of our population can be gagged and silenced to such an extent. Like wise I wish thatourSinn Fein ,TD’s at any rate, would get off the fence and support the Campaign against HHC. United we stand. Divided we fall. Look to your hearts and do what you know is right . 1500,000 households can not be wrong!

• I really thought there would be a rush to pay it towards the end of the time allotted. Now Im not so sure.
    I do know that the outrage voiced on this site does not necessarily cover the feelings of a whole nation and protesters could find themselves left out in the cold. Even the union Unite wont get all of its 66000 members not paying

Hope I’m wrong.
    What do the protesters think will happen if a good number dont register, dont pay and dont panic? (not trying to be sarcastic, just want to know what they think might happen)

• The goverment might think twice about imposing any more taxes on us while we are stuck in deep recession as they use our hard earned cash to bail out dead banks and corrupt developers. Web are sick of being used. Enough is enough.

• If as you say a good number wont register , wont pay and wont panic, as I am confident they wont , then I think / hope the over paid government will rethink with their over paid advisors and discuss and look at and come up with fairer options . Options that are as obvious to you and me .Increase employment for a start, Make jobs ,not import them,make them.Just stop taking and taking and taking from an already empty pocket.

• Quite simple, don’t pay this year – we’ll all pay a lot more next year.

• I live in wicklow where yesterday 5 million was pledged to upkeep social housing. as a landlord the council should upkeep property aswel as tenants. I just taught it was ironic that the first people to benefit from the household charge are the people who are exempt.

the other thing is that sf and others are calling for a wealth tax and a property tax is a wealth tax so I would say they are long term talking out of both sides of there mouth.

• Nearly every thread/article on this site even if was about puppies or santa someone would have a go at SF .Hear is a newsflash i write slowly for the dumbfounded They Are Not In Goveernment!(Everyone else sorry for the caps).Before i’m accused of it i don’t support any polictical party.To my mind all TDs are just waiting there turn at the trough.

• Household tax to raise €160m, yet pay rises via increments to public service to cost €300m this year.

Croke Park agreement needs to be reformed before they impose more taxes

• Ah Niamh the government wont think twice about either finding another way to enforce the tax or another tax to get that money.
    death and taxes niamh

• less of an overreaction and more last straw…but that’s just my opinion…anyhooo not going to be drawn into an argument because that’s what I really don’t enjoy.

• My union (forced to join) charges €3.80 flat fee per week whether you work or not, regardless of how much you earn! And these guys think they have an argument against a €2 weekly charge???

• I wonder do Unite support the paying of the annual TV tax? People have been paying €170 a year to a group of people in RTÉ and no one complained.

A complete over reaction to this €100 charge.

• Last time I checked television was optional.

Also I would be more than willing to pay €100 if that was reflective if the ongoing annual charge. I think we all know that it will be way more than that if we all meekly sign on to this charge.

• I think your missing the point. there comes a time when enough is enough! its attitude like yours that let’s the government think they can do what they like.

• @Joe. Think people are saying enough is enough. We have done the austerity bit and it’s not working. We see money being borrowed to pay back those we are borrowing from and a crippling debt being built up and at the same time we see our government elected by the people to serve the people trying to penalise those who bought their own homes in good faith and who paid large amounts of stamp duty while doing so. This tax is inequitable and must be resisted. Time to send a message to our government. The people say NO.

• EM 21/03/12 #

@ Joe
      “…and no one complained”
      People complain all the time actually. Check any posts relating to the licence.

• Last time I checked buying property was optional…

• Joe Roddy
      The TV license fee, pays for a service and it is optional . Do you not get it ? Enough is enough . I am tired , I am afraid , I do not have enough to make ends meet

• Peter Nolan
      That is a low …remark
      Are you saying that people should not try to improve their lot? and move on ? Or are you really saying that people should know their place and stay in it ? any way you say it , still makes it a deplorable comment .
      The banks loaned the money , People are still paying their mortgages as far as possible , so how is this our debt ?
      I am amazed that people who utter cmments like you have just made still exist .

((And just to go off topic slightly the NLI (National Library of Ireland) have an open day for first world war relics !))

• death and taxes.nobody wants either but you cant hide from them.

Add New Comment