TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Varadkar admits Reilly move on care centres ‘like stroke politics’

The transport minister tells The Week in Politics that James Reilly’s amendment of the list for primary care centres does look suspicious.

THE TRANSPORT MINISTER, Fine Gael’s Leo Varadkar, has admitted that the actions of his cabinet colleague and party deputy leader James Reilly – who added extra venues to a list of potential primary care centres – looked like “stroke politics”.

The minister told RTÉ’s The Week in Politics said, however, that he was unsure “if it is or not”, but that he trusted Reilly to act responsibly in deciding where to open the new centres.

“It does look like it,” Varadkar said when questioned by Seán O’Rourke.  ”I don’t know if it is or not.

“You know, you have to trust your colleagues to make the right decisions and make them on the right basis and I do trust Dr Reilly in that regard.

“But I don’t know all the details,” Varadkar said.

The minister also called on Reilly to patch up his differences with junior health minister Róisín Shortall, who had last week questioned the logic behind Reilly’s move to extend a list of 20 towns being considered for primary care centres.

The final published list was 35 – and included two extra towns in Reilly’s own Dublin North constituency.

Varadkar said the public wanted “ministers working together, having confidence in each other, communicating and getting things done,” and added that he was personally frustrated at how poor relations between the two ministers was distracting public attention from other government work.

“They’re due to meet next week. They should do that,” Varadkar said.

“They should settle their differences, and they should get on with doing the people’s business.”

The minister said he could not personally explain why legislation on advancing free GP care – which has been delayed to Shortall’s frustration – had not been advanced, but noted that Ireland could not currently afford to offer free GP care anyway.

Read: Reilly defends decision to consider constituency towns for new health units

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• It’s not like stroke politics, it IS stroke politics.

• Can someone explain to me why this fella has a say in every other aspect of politics ? Is he the minister for everything ?

• Pani 24/09/12 #

He’s good for a sound byte. That’s why he’s interviewed so much. He gave an honest answer to that question. I’d have more respect for him after that rather than fudging it.

• Yeah but, what’s he up to? He clearly has an agenda to get himself more power, at least he’s acting like he has – why do they let him do it? Is he the Minister for Saying What Enda Wont or is he doing his own thing?
      Whatever, he is a slimey little cockroach

• he’s one of the few fg ministers articulate enough to deal with the media for the most part though he is prone to the odd gaf now and then. this one isn’t a gaf though. that should be strike 3 for Reilly. he should resign and if he doesn’t then Edna should have him kicked out of the cabinet for good.

• Simon 24/09/12 #

Your damned if you do and damned if you don’t… he was asked a question and he answered it honesty, if he weazeled his way out of it everyone would say he was closing ranks etc etc etc… people are never happy

• Prefer to see him focus on his own ministerial duties rather then being interviewed so much, step out of the spot light and step into your office Leo.

• To be fair to him, he is also a Dr of the MD variety so a discussion on the health care system is actually within his personal area of expertise beyond his political career. And as was said further up, he’s not shy of the media and they know they’ll get a headline out of him as he tends to speak his mind and not purely the party line/spin all the time.

• He has an opinion on everything and knows nothing. He Has never even worked in a real job.

He has less in common with the Irish people than the Queen!

• Reg 24/09/12 #

Lots of Irish people have never worked in a real job either Emmet, does that mean he has lots in common with them?

• What’s a real job Emmet?

• Emmet – you do know he is a qualified doctor and worked as such before moving into politics?

Probably not.

Must be difficult for all the Leo haters to find themselves agreeing with what he says.

• Scarr 24/09/12 #

I grudgingly, don’t completely dislike Leo, he seems to tell it like it is and is less of a question-weasel. Though we should remember that in the Bruton coup, Leo was part of that group that tried to oust Enda, and Reilly played his part in supporting Enda, so maybe Leo has an axe to grind too.

• I am not a fan of Leo or the governments but I think, in fairness credit where it’s due, 99% of govt ministers would have dodged that question. I admire someone who doesn’t mince words, which he clearly didn’t to be fair. On the flip side Fianna Fail clearly aren’t looking to regain the confidence of the public by wheeling Timmy Dooley out! Lord God he’s awful!

• Yeah, thats the thing Diarmaid, You’re right in saying 99% of gov ministers wouldve dodged that question – and its good to hear someone not mincing the words. But why are they letting him do it? Is he trying to soften the impact of getting rid of Reilly perhaps? Is there a plan to all this?
      Or is Leo able to just shoot his mouth off whenever he wants to suit himself? Either they have a master plan with all of this which is slimey and underhanded, or they are so disorganised and fighting for power from within with Leo throwing ‘I am the voice of reason in all this’ shapes and the rest of ye better watch out for meeeeee which shows they are not a coherent government able to take on the vast problems facing them.
      I smell something nasty

• I smell an election Dave.

• Dave Harris

I think you are crediting them with way too much intelligence!

A ‘master plan’ ??

this government??

• Piss up. Brewery.

• What will an election achieve Litlle Jim?? Its would be pretty much as we are….FG/FF probally on the cards…. FG will get between 33 and 36%… The rest will get about 17% each!!! so whats the point…the landscape has not changed that dramatically since the election…

• Dave , I agree with you . They send him out to introduce in a back handed manner something like ,sacking Reilly , or cutting Allowances, really hard budget….. He loves the sound of his own voice and has NO experience of real life or real people. I am always very wary when Veradkar is ‘honest’ or giving ‘straight answers ‘ . Something worse is coming down the line !

• I’m afraid you may be right Declan, it won’t achieve anything.
      The sniping at each other seems to be getting worse, it looks like some are already beefing up their voter base. There will be solo runs all over the place in the next 6 months.
      The goverment whip is nowhere to be seen.
      This is not what fg/lab were voted in for.
      Right now, Canada is looking good!

• Probably right lads, just my initial reaction to a politician appearing to be honest at the expense of his party colleagues was a positive one. Probably illustrates how low our expectations are of Irish politicians than displaying any positive credentials of Leo on reflection!

• “looked like “stroke politics”” Leo? No kidding….

• their is no hospital between drogheda and the border , louth hospital is closed. and the minister is opening these centres only minutes away from major hospitals ! are any sites in Louth been considered ?We have the worst td ,s in the Dail ,

• Jesus folks, ye are never happy. we have had politicians for years who would not and could not give a straight answer to a simple question. Now we have one guy who does, and who does so on a regular basis. give him a break .

• We’ve got one guy wh is doing it but you can be sure as shit, he’s not doing it to help us

• Declan, ever notice that most of those straight answers relate to questions regarding the roles of other ministers rather then his own role. I’d love to hear some straight answers regarding Transport, for example what is he doing to track down groups willing to financially back PPP highways schemes that are on the shelf waiting to be be built and give 1000’s of people work.

• Dave again I agree with you .
      Jason You have hit the nail on the head .
      This minister is an idiot he allows himself to
      dish the dirt on others yet can give no opinion on his own brief.
      Leo has no clue and could not care less about his constituents.
      He was 3 when FG / Labour were in coalition before . He is a 33 yr old
      inexperienced person with no interest in our plight unless it is to promote his own agenda.
      Yes something is about to happen and it will not be good for us.

• So Eileen, you are saying Leo is an idiot because he gives an honest opinion?

You also appear to be saying that only someone who was a member of the previous Lab/FG coalition has enough experience to be a member of Cabinet?

RE his own brief – my money is on you guys switching channels on one of the many times he addresses it.

BTW – do any of you disagree with what he said re Reilly?

• @Bob Mc Bob
      Actually Bob I think Leo is an idiot .(Full Stop)
      I did not always think this , in fact I gave him my number One vote last year .
      I do not pay any heed to anything these politicians say any more since ”not one more cent” .
      They are proven liars .

• Do you agree or disagree with what Leo said about Reilly?

• Mc Bob ?
      Are you serious ? What exactly did he say about Reilly ?
      Let us look at what he said ….
      “You know, you have to trust your colleagues to make the right decisions and make them on the right basis and I do trust Dr Reilly in that regard.
      “But I don’t know all the details,” Varadkar said.
      He also said ”It does look like it,” (Stroke Politics) Varadkar said when questioned by Seán O’Rourke. ”I don’t know if it is or not”
      Like I said I not pay him any regard in what he says ,It is all a big game to him.

• Off topic but was I the only one to think ‘stroke politics’ was an unfortunate choice of words for the topic of health!?

• He’s a bit too fond of media attention IMO

• Looks like Leo isn’t clear on the notion of collective cabinet responsibility.

• no free gp care, yet another pre election pledge broken

• Tommy C 24/09/12 #

Only last week, this tool was telling the Pro-choice lobby, when asked, that he doesnt comment beyond his remit of Minister for Tourism.
    In my experience, he talks about everything BUT his remit!
    His sister in a PS worker in the HSE too.

• He was auditioning for the position of “Minister of Making Things Worse ” but that position is being firmly held…

• Shut Up Leo. Why didn’t you give back the 36000Euros you got in compensation for giving up your seat.
    They even get compensation when
    they get promoted and can’t even be sacked when they do wrong. Irish Politics = Joke

• Just listening to the ten o clock news . Adams is going to New York to deny any involvement in some bombing in London in 1974 ! meanwhile the people of Dundalk have no medical cover. Gerry get your priorities right .

• I have just watched this programme on Rte Player and I am just shocked at a comment by a guy called Paul Murphy of the Socialist Party who is an MEP. He said, ” it is in the interest of everybody that wages and conditions of the public sector are protected” . Am I losing my mind here but is that coming from someone who calls themselves a socialist not totally contradictory. In other words he is saying basically that those getting unjustly high salaries and allowances are ok. My God who reprogrammed him. What brand of socialism protects the well off?

• This is the kind of localism and ‘parish pump’ politics that has always afflicted Irish politics. Very disappointing.

• He’d make a fine Taoiseach. Lucinda for Tanaiste. Micheal McDowell for Minister for Justice. Richard Bruton continuing with his current portfolio.
    Despite his political faux pas, I still am undecided on Reilly. However the favouritism on selecting these two sites in his backyard seems too Fianna Fail-like for my liking. He can’t have thought it would go unnoticed. Perhaps he is just bullheaded and doesn’t give a crap about the consequences of doing what he thinks is right.

• I agree.

I was willing to give James Reilly some benefit of the doubt, as I imagine the Dept of Health is such a difficult place to work in.

Until this announcement of the 2 Primary Care Centres in his constituency . This is too much like the Fianna Fail crowd.

Maybe he is just making sure there is a place for him to work after the next election.

• mcbab 24/09/12 #

These primary care units are designed to take the pressure off hospitals. So that is why there is no problem having them near hospitals.
      As regards Leo. People on here moan about politicians dodging questions and not giving honest answers yet when he gives an honest answer you still don’t like it. Can’t win with some people.

Add New Comment