TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Reilly defends decision to consider constituency towns for new health units

James Reilly added Swords and Balbriggan – both in his constituency – to a list of venues being considered for primary care centres.

Minister for Health, James Reilly:
Minister for Health, James Reilly: "If I had to do it again, I would make the same decision."
Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

THE MINISTER FOR HEALTH has defended his decision to add extra towns to a list of areas being considered for new primary care centres – including two in his own constituency – and said if given the opportunity to do so again, he would do so.

Today’s Irish Times revealed that Swords and Balbriggan had been added to the list of 35 towns which will now bid for 20 primary care venues to be built under the government’s €2.25 billion economic stimulus package announced in July.

The report by Paul Cullen and Martin Wall revealed that the HSE had originally identified a list of 200 potential venues, ranking each, before sending a list of the top 20 recommendations to the Department of Health.

However, the final list of potential venues published two months ago had been expanded to 35 towns – including Swords and Balbriggan, which were not among the list but which lie in Reilly’s Dublin North constituency.

The method of deciding the prospective venues for primary care centres was one of the concerns raised by junior health minister Róisín Shortall – who herself is responsible for primary care – during a Dáil debate on Reilly’s tenure earlier this week.

Urban deprivation

This lunchtime, speaking on RTÉ’s News at One, Reilly said the original list had ranked the areas based on urban deprivation – and had not considered other factors such as the prospect of finding a site to use for the centres.

“If we were to stick with that criteria, of just urban deprivation, without considering the other things, we would end up in a situation were we would have no primary centre in an area like Rathfarnham – which has no healthcare facilities – and a primary care centre in the shadow of Tallaght Hospital,” he said.

He added that Ballaghaderreen in Co Roscommon, another town he had added to the list, also had no health facilities at present.

Pointing out that the 35 sites being considered were only being earmarked for public-private partnership sites, where private sector funding helps to build the facility in the first place, Reilly said: “We have a much better chance of achieving 20 [primary care sites] if we have 35 sites.

“Balbriggan and Swords are being done through a different mechanism, a lease mechanism,” he added.

The minister added that there were a total of 280 places in which the Department ultimately hoped to provide primary care facilities through public-private partnerships, direct construction of new facilities, or the least of existing buildings.

In a statement the Department of Health added that the decision to add extra sites to the 20 put forward by the HSE was made “on the basis of experience on the ground”.

“The experience on the ground had shown that securing the involvement of GPs and associated professionals in such Primary Care Centres can be difficult,” the Department explained.

“Obviously such professionals are key to the successful establishment and work of the Primary Care Centre. That difficulty can be added to in the event that options open to the HSE are limited and defined.”

The Department affirmed that “the extended list gives a greater latitude in terms of securing interest.”

Opposition demands chance to question

Fianna Fáil health spokesman Billy Kelleher, who tabled the Dáil motion of no confidence in Reilly, described the Irish Times report as “deeply unsettling” and said he had asked the Oireachtas health committee to meet next Monday and question the minister over the affair.

“At face value, it appears that political interference has taken place in a selection process that is both of enormous clinical importance and significant commercial value,” Kelleher charged.

“If this is the case, it must surely be the final straw for a Minister whose 18-month tenure has been a catalogue of disorder, disappointment and dysfunction.”

Kelleher also said Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore, who yesterday told the Dáil that he was in regular discussion with Shortall over her concerns, had questions to answer – and challenged the Tánaiste to say whether he was aware of the decision to add extra venues to the list.

Asked this lunchtime about Shortall’s Dáil speech – in which he was not named once – Reilly simply noted that “actions speak louder than words”, pointing out that Shortall had voted in Reilly’s favour when the vote was called.

“That’s good enough for me,” he said.

Read: 35 towns to compete for 20 new primary care facilities

Video: Róisín Shortall’s not-so-ringing endorsement of James Reilly

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• kind of encapsulates everything that is wrong with irish politics – looking after your own constituency to the detriment of others while then refusing to take any responsibility for your actions.

not fit for office – get him out

• This is the type of sh*te we had with FF for the last 20 yrs. Where is the new leaf that was supposed to be turned. Resign now Reilly.

• Once again the minister the minister shows his arrogance and contempt for ordinary people, Now that he has his re election bought sorry secured, F**K the rest of us – he doesnt need us…. He must think we are all complete idiots, Poor Ms Shorthall She has the courage to let us know whats going on but ultimately she will pay the price…

• A nice try at an explanation Minister Reilly and I wonder how many people believe you?
    I just wonder why your colleague and junior Minister for Health, Roísin Shortall said she had concerns about how you arrived at this decision in the Debate of ‘no confidence’ in you in the Dáil, during the week?

There is an old adage which states that if you are constantly having to explain things, well then you are losing!

You say that she then voted confidence in you and that was good enough for you, well we all know about the ‘Whip’ which parties use to force people to vote against their beliefs ‘for the sake of the Government or the Party’ and that system has no place in a Democracy!
    How can a democratic Party force you to vote against your conscience and if you ignore the whip, you are expelled from that Party?
    So much for the promises of changing how ‘politics works’!

Yes, I know that people can vote against the advice of the whip and maybe Róisín Shortall should have done so in this instance, but that’s a topic for another day!

• Is this eejit for real?!?!?
    I mean, how THICK does he think we are?
    RESIGN NOW you donkey!!

• ah they wont let me vent my spleen on these morons but i will start again in a different tack he expanded the list from 20 to 35 then selected 2 in his area of influence who were not even in the original 20 that were independently selected because of their suitability .Shortall does not mention him in speech but goes with the party vote and he sees it as an endorsement what a ……….. she was protecting her job not doing it why do we elect these idiots who claim to be looking after our interests and then when get elected ignore us and spend the whole time trying to hold on to their lucrative jobs and why do we always get unhealthy looking people in the health department hard to take anything they say seriously .Anyone see the Microsoft tax avoiding scam involving us ?what happens when the USA closes this loophole and Microsoft have no more interest in us anymore? Easy we will take it out on the poor sick and elderly because they make less fuss oh yeah and the children sure they cant vote what use are they

• By the way I was talking about the loss of revenue from Microsoft i can only assume we were earning some never heard anything about it which is weird because the press is always talking about how much this or that is worth to the economy all of which i find really embarrassing example we get a press release telling us how much the tourist money will enhance the local economy on st Patrick’s day if i was an American and read that i would save my money and go to new york the reason why should be obvious

• Another Hogan.
      Who does he think he is ?
      Spending tax payers money on a study to produce a report and recommendations and then just add his own to it and then in an interview give the whole country the two fingers.
      Dead man walking is right.

• All he needs is a ten gallon hat and a hoss…. Cowboy!

• I agree this Donkey closes A+E’s and Nenagh the latest Roscommom my one and he talks about working for the people of Ireland Yea Right he is so good at working for the only people that can and probably will and that is the people in his own constituency the rest of us can all die on the roads on our way to the nearest A+E which mine takes approx. 2 hours single journey RESIGN now Reilly you useless Donkey

• Here check him out in action !!!
      Lies lies lies
      http://youtu.be/CDY9dG89iBU

• he’ll be voted back in again. well he is looking after his constituency…

bribery gets you everywhere. :-D

• Oh FFS I couldn’t even bring myself to read the article. Will there be no end to this kind of thing.

• O’Reilly is quite clearly a clown but Shorthall will be shafted…..watch…

• @Jeff
      I said many times on treads on journal.ie since the beginning of this year, that this Government will fall apart by September/October. Coalitions will never work unless there is huge communication and discussion between all of them. What frightens me is, that when and if it happens who the hell will be voted in next. Thank God my beautiful daughter is going to Canada (not out of choice) next week. Yes, I am very sad but at least she might be happy and make it over there instead of stuggling and making ends meat all her life like her mother.

We need to fix this for the younger generation. They did nothing wrong, our generation did. If the Government sell any more that’s worth something in this land of ours it’ll definitely be another ordinary ‘European’ country. It won’t be known as IRELAND any more. It’ll be a number….. just like me.

• Nothing will ever change in irish politics we have the highest paid goverment in the world and unless we change that for starters we will never change the pat on the back job for the boys corruption that they get away with we need to get out and protest

• A history lesson on how to be a complete failure in politics. Dead man walking.

• Problem is limofax he is one of Kenny’s enforcers. It’s much more likely that Shortall will be re-shuffled given that her comments are making her colleagues in Labour uncomfortable as they say “the truth hurts” especially after you trooped into the Ta lobby in a show of confidence in the Minister of Health.

• Unfortunately he has been very successful in politics and will be retiring with a golden pension funded by you and me.

• Cute hoorism at its best.. The allocation of course has nothing to do with the fact that it might increase the value of the piece of land he part-owns in his constituency with planning permission for a health facility. How could we be so suspicious? Shame on us…

• The best democracy money can buy!

• It’s a win either way for this dick. If he gets his way, he’ll be a hero in his constituency and look forward to guaranteed re-election at every poll. If, by some miracle, he’s forced out, he’ll go down as a martyr to ‘his’ people in his constituency – and look forward to guaranteed re-election at every poll.

• He got the thumbs up recently from his cohorts in government so the man obviously knows what he’s at…. right?

• Let’s get the Amish beard shavers at him.

• He’s as bad as Hitler or one of them fellas

• I look at reilly and can’t help but wonder…. Which village in Ireland is being deprived of an idiot ?.
    The man (!) has proven that gombeen politics are still going on.

• Traitors governing a banana republic.

• And of course this has absolutely nothing whatever to do with votes! I’m not sure how this would work in practice but I think there’s a case for government ministers giving up consitiuency work to concentrate on their portfolios and not have this clear conflict of interest. Any ideas as to how we could get something like that to work? There was a debate about this in the UK not so long ago. James Reilly really has a brass neck.
    I was just thinking last night that Roisin Shorthall didn’t want to lose the party whip by voting against the government. I’d say she’s waiting till Reilly goes, one way or another. If she has ideas she might think it’s better to hang on and see what she can do from where she is. Just a couple of thoughts.

• I was fond of asking before FF got dumped, “Whats the alternative?” Well now we are living with the alternative – the real questions is now “What is the alternative ?”

• Roll out the “shocking Joe, shocking” brigade.

• Shocking, Micheal, shocking!
      Are you for real, parish pump politics alive and well in 2012.
      Added to the list, no hope of getting in, it’s such a cynical vote grabbing move it’s shameful.
      The only good that I can see here is that the doctor seems to be getting ready for an election!

• That as the case may be, as far as I was aware, they were added to a heap of other sites, of which 20 will be selected for actual building – these may not get built at all.

• LOl @ the Joe Duffy reference but there’s enough faux indignation emanating from Mr Reilly to bother getting that fool involved :P

• Joe Duffy’s show is slowly being made redundant anyway. The rent-a-mob crowd post on this site instead these days.

• What worries and saddens me about these donkeys is that nothing has really changed. It has been over a year since they took over. A year, I feel, is enough to see a little difference. These people are no different to the other donkeys that have been in power in my country for many years.

What worries me greatly is the lack of communication between Labour and F Gael. Communication is needed in every part of life, in the home, workplace, politics. Without it, the dominoes will always fall. If there are 35 areas for these centres, that fine, but they should be well thought out and place for everyone in the country to avail of them. Balbriggan and Swords are only 11klm apart. How far apart are the other 33 centres.

I was brought up in the ’60′s/’70′s, in my young life to honour, obey, respect and be always truthful to other human beings. I have brought up my children in the same way. Sometimes, I feel I wasted much energy when I look at politicians in power “saying something and making promises, but doing the opposite”. Why doesn’t the Minister for Finance stop all expenses and vouch for everything. Drive, bus/train to work like everyone else. Pay for their dinner/lunch like the rest of us. NO vouchers for meals. So much savings in many ways, but not one of them have done anything, much to change the ‘hands in the till’ attitude.

• Sheila you are dead right I have 5 children 3 are adults and i have brought them up to respect the law and like you i feel why bother when most politicians are engaging in a form of organized crime my dads first job in USA was to check the legitimacy of all expenses in his company and warn or fire those who don’t conform why cant they even as a gesture bring this into law easy they are exactly like that other shower of crooks what they lose in wage cuts they make up in expenses

• @Niall OMhadmhanaigh

Many of my friends and people in business ask why I keep trying with my small business. Why do I keep going, when I still have not managed to earn a wage.

My answer to them is that I am an honest, respectful passionate person. I want to help others where they have failed so often because society does not care for them. I care. I care because it’s their right to be educated. I have tried to get Minister Quinn on board. It may shock you and others to hear what he said. “Sorry I can’t help you, I can’t be seen to be endorsing your product”!!! F..k that! I am a company, set up with my redundancy, savings, no help from anyone, I’m Irish trying to stay away from Social Welfare net and that is his answer! I’m sorry I cannot accept it. I will keep going until I can’t anymore. I will travel to the UK again, on a cheap flight to people like Waterstones that love my product, I will keep walking the streets of Ireland until I get my product to the generation that are going to suffer so badly because of my generation’s greed. I am, like many, at a loss to what to say any more.

• Sheila know what you mean i put up John Gormleys election posters helped him get elected asked him who to go to to promote a green product i had and got blanked too busy trying to hold on to their jobs yet they are always boasting about foreign investment which behind closed doors involve the investor paying no tax for a set number of years or at least big discounts which a couple of companies took advantage of and closed their companies here when the breaks were over a mate of mine is trying to set up a company here doing coastal tours and has to jump through all sorts of red tape and bureaucratic nonsense maybe if our government paid more attention to home grown companies and stopped putting up disincentives and paying the banks our money for something they helped cause as in the collapse of the economy the better. foreign quick buck merchants are not what we need, home grown here for the long haul types are .You feel sorry for the young i feel sorry for the old who lost everything because the government wrongly advised them to top up their pension by investing their money in say banks they lost everything and now they are reducing the pension and other benefits these people have earned the hard way, soft touch to the government would love to see them rise up after all they are retired and have little else to do except try to live from day to day

• @Niall Mulvany

Agree with everything you say. I hope your friend makes it. The Irish will always try and try again. But it’s only so long that they will bang their heads against walls. It’s like trying to get into medicine in this country. My son’s friend has wanted to do medicine since 3rd year in school. He has tried so hard for the past three years to get A1′s in his Leaving Cert. Because they put up medicine points so high here it is so difficult. He received mid 500′s + 97% in this other exam outside of the Leaving Cert. and still didn’t make it. 10 points away from it! But the Government will take in foreign medical students because they have to pay more than Irish parents sending their children to Uni.

The photo of Minister Reilly is very apt. Is he putting his arms up because he’s secretly saying ‘I give up’?!

• Going backwards over a cliff, How much more will we take?

• In fairness Swords is a huge town

• what highly intelligent people voted these gombeens into power. o wait a minute it was us, the Irish people. we will always have gombeens running the country as we will always elect them. its a sad fact of Irish life. we are a gombeen, cronie loving nation.

• mike 21/09/12 #

I don’t care whose constituency they are being built in. The important thing is that they are being built.
    This story is a whole lot of nothing.

• I think she’s jealous .

• Of what? To call Reilly a jackass is to pay the man a compliment. He is sounding more and more like a hectoring bully and patronising to boot. He should ask Shorthall for a lend of her balls maybe then he might do a better job.

• Aren’t we all glad now FG never got an overall majority ? They would be like little Hitlers. Screw the low to middle income at all measures but leave the horsey jet set alone. Sick of them all at this stage.

Add New Comment