TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Two years on: ‘We promised recovery. We are delivering’

Enda Kenny and Eamon Gilmore gave a press conference today to mark the coalition’s second anniversary in office.

THE TAOISEACH AND Tánaiste held a press conference this afternoon to mark the coalition’s second anniversary, noting its achievements over the past 24 months.

Enda Kenny said the point of the briefing was not to cheer-lead, while Eamon Gilmore said “no one is claiming victory”.

However, the pair claimed that recovery was promised and ‘being delivering’ before listing off a number of commitments made in the Programme for Government that had been “progressed satisfactorily”.

The party leaders told reporters that the government is making “serious progress” but much more work is needed in some areas, including employment and mortgage relief.

“The impact on the devastation of unemployment can never be underestimated,” said Kenny, adding that the jobs haemorrhage has stopped and that employment levels had risen for the first time since 2008.

Looking ahead, he said exiting the IMF/EU bailout programme was the “main goal”. He then thanked the citizens of Ireland for their pragmatism, patience and support as they faced financial hardships.

There will continue to be difficulties and obstacles, he conceded.

“We need to restore public finances, restore relationships and confidence with our partners in Europe and put our people back to work. People can judge us on that in three years time when the next election is held.”

On that, Gilmore and Kenny insisted there were no “strained” relations within the coalition.

“We are working well together,” said Gilmore. “We are two parties with two identities, traditions and histories. We will go the full course.”

Kenny noted that it is the first time in his political career that he can recall Cabinet Ministers briefing other party members, as happens in this coalition.

Both leaders were reticent to clearly restate a previous pledge to not increase income taxes. Gilmore said the Budget for 2014 will not be heard until October so he wouldn’t “be getting into detail”, adding that Exchequer figures will have to be examined.

Kenny echoed, “We will deal with all the circumstances [in later Budgets].”

Kenny was also not drawn on the issue of marriage equality, stating his personal opinion was “immaterial” and the Constitutional Convention had been mandated to give a view on the matter.

More: Eurozone sinks further into recession in last quarter of 2012

Read next:

Comments (180 Comments)

• I know when this country will have recovered. Half my family might return. I use the word “might” loosely. Plus I might stop considering joining them.

• This man will NEVER comprehend what ordinary people have been dragged through. The austerity driven policies have bestowed utter misery on ordinary people to say nothing of those poor souls who decided the only way out of financial crucifixion and the dignity taken from them by our political system was by taking their own lives.
    Nothing Kenny, Gilmore or Martin have say is of any relevance to me. They are self serving individuals who attempt to wear mantel or the ordinary man when on fact they are anything but.

• Pay up sheeple everything is fine, the five point plan is working at last, stabilsation is the key here look around you were not sinking anymore, the streets are filled with happy faces, make sure you pay you house tax now and fast because the neighbours might snitch on you, Ireland is wonderful again dont question anything just keep doing what your told, and as usual the Mortgage will be fixed….next year, what a load of Sh1t

• Rosey 06/03/13 #

The people are sick and tired of these liars and chancers. Really hope politicians get to hear this song that everyone is talking about on the forums, a song for the times.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=edfNeMIm2Jk

“Mans greed has stole my childhood land,
      Lives torn by traitors hands”

Great line, pretty much speaks for the whole country. I can guess who the writers traitors are….bankers, the elite, politicians?

• still no cuts for the politicans make the poor pay for everything.

they forget what they said before they got the power.

• ‘Worst is over. We have turned a corner’-Brian Lenihan 2010.

• If we’re allegedly doing so well, why is austerity getting worse? No spending money so there will be no growth in the domestic economy……they’ll be back with more budgets and cutbacks to make up the shortfall.

• 2 years in – pensions secured. Great day for cabinet.

• Meanwhile back in reality the live human export business is booming.

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/03/06/meanwhile-in-the-queue-at-the-working-abroad-expo-cork/

• why are people so devasted by having to leave Ireland. You’d think they were leaving the Caribbean.

Go get skilled up overseas. You’ll take years off your live living in a better place than this broken disaster of a country.

It has been that way for hundreds of year. Teaching ourselves how to do things indigenously doesn’t work very well. Look at banking, property development, catholic church. You are far better off getting on the job training abroad.

When you are done living the good life overseas, then come back if you really want to.

• Is this a Fianna gael sponsored Page.

• Bread line to the poverty line nice one lads

• Ryan'O 06/03/13 #

Jesus…..Yes yes yes andy, the countries bad state of economical affairs are all those people on the doles fault.

Sheep on here bleeding on about responsibility and fail to take account the real people who got us into this mess. How many bad bankers have been jailed?

None, after two years in office FG have done nothing but continue the failed policies of FF.

Doing the same under a different name does not equate to recovery. It equates to stupidity.

• Andy, I’m beginning to think you’re just a WUM.

• Andy, are you Declan Cotter?

• People need to start a business.

You have lost the plot Andy, business we have at the moment are struggling.
      People who you say “got sacked” most don’t have enough money to live not to mind trying to set up a business.

How do you suggest they do that?

• What a stupid fookn comment to make Andy. I was self employed and did everything I could to stay afloat. When things finally fell apart I had no option but to seek assistance. After paying tax, vat and every other poxy thing the government could throw at me I am told sorry but you are entitled to nothing. So you can go a fook yourself. Troll

• So delusional our Enda is so full of shit . How can they take credit for water taxes property taxes , attack children’s allowance , raped the disabled of travel left elderly to freeze to death in there homes . Ignored the fact we’ve trillions in euro in oil and gas . Happy bondholders day people

• At the expense of the working people.
    I know more and more people with jobs leaving.
    It’s got to expensive to live in Ireland.working hard every week just scrape by.
    Well done enda and Gilmore.
    Pat yourselves on the back.

• Hahahahaha

The delusion is palpable.

• Michael
      The turnaround in the well being of our Nations finances has been remarkable over such a short period of time. It seems as if our Government Leaders and Members have been working at an incredible pace and under appalling pressure they have delivered in winning respect for Ireland when previous Governments arrogantly strutted their falseness with claims that we were the richest country in Europe on a per capita basis with the exception of Luxembourg. We got up everyone’s noses and ignored all of the advice to cool the overheated economy down. Was it a surprise we had no friends when we fell off the cliff so to speak.
      That turnaround will take much more effort to covert to a full blown recovery but we should be thankful to the people at the helm who have put so much effort behind the current results.
      So if you are unable Michael to contribute intelligently to this discussion could you at least stay silent rather than sound like a fool!

• Err, Unemployment falling, GDP rising, economy growing, Strong exports and CBD falling aswell. If it weren’t for the unions holding the country to ransom and the huge social benefits, we’d be doing well. As it is we’re recovering.

• Rosey 06/03/13 #

This pretty much sums up exactly what this shower have delivered!!!!

• @ Rosey – Your propaganda won’t convince me. Enda’s doing a good job, better than you could at any rate.

• Rosey 06/03/13 #

Endas spin might work on you Andy, but most of the country can see through the spin and blatant lies now. These guys dont care about us and never have.

• You must have got the email from fg hq spin spin

• Andy – 400,000+ unemployed, a massive reduction in living standards, a gambling debt loaded onto generations of Irish people, property tax, water tax, and now proposing a “social media tax”……and the Enda cheerleaders on here call people “fools” for pointing out the glaringly obvious.

Oh yeah, we’ve really turned the corner…..sweet Jesus – will people EVER learn?

• Government have spent two years doing what they been told
      Like a good pet they been thrown a bone and nit very good one at that.

• Rosey 06/03/13 #

@Andy

“Mans greed has stole my childhood land,
      Lives torn by traitors hands”

Great line, pretty much speaks for the whole country. I can guess as to who the traitors are….bankers, the elite, politicians?

• @ andy… Any chance of some of the drugs your taking.
      Talk about the deluded being led & fed by the detached !!!!

• Unemployment is more than likely falling because half the country are leaving! And at a guess, the unemployed ones! Lumping people on job bridge schemes just so they are not on system isn’t exactly a winning strategy now is it.

• Peter I have had growing suspicions that members of our current gov leave comments on the journal! You seem like one of these people. FG and labour were both in opposition and are as much to blame as anyone else. The simple fact is we as a country are paying back the gambling debts of a few and you want me pat the people who made it possible on the back, get a grip!

• Do not really see any difference between FF and FG.

• goverment supporters on here telling us kenny doin a great job ,nobody in jail for our banking disaster and no investigation in to the bank bail out only a cover up on a massive scale of which is truly frightening ,our courts are completely broken corruption is rampant in them and now we have these bull shiters on here talking kenny up ,

• I sincerly hope the people that are busy talking kenny and the other lieing paracites are not on taxpayers time and taxpayer supplied phone/pad or laptop to make their snide comments

• ‘Eamonn- good man. You seem to have came down with Fianna Fáil amnesia, the symptoms of which according to the preeminent medical journals are to; bizarrely forget everything pre-2011, inexplicably blame those trying to treat the disease for its contagion in the first place and incredibly to want to welcome back the carrier of the disease in 2016. I do hope you make a speedy recovery.

• Kevin far from it my friend. We’re all aware of who caused it. However, the doctor treating the disease obviously had no qualifications to do so. And his cheerleaders try to promote him as some kind of economic saviour, when all he has done – aided and abetted by the Labour Party – is to sell out generations of Irish people for years to come.

Whatever blinkers you’re wearing Kevin – remove them forthwith for your own sanity!

• Just watched the two E’s on tv trying to defend the speculation of a rift, they remind me of a celebrity couple, of whom the world and his dog knows are about to divorce, but they are just ‘keeping up appearances’ for the time being, all lovey dovey, smiling and flirting with each other for the camera! Cute but pure sickening!

• I understand you are trolling Andy but just to point out, our GNP (which is the true reflection of our economy, not the fixed incorrect GDP stats that they keep announcing to appease morons) is at critically low levels. If it continues in this vein we will be at the same % points as Greece was when it fell. But sure look, how could an old fashioned out of touch poor teacher understand basic economics??

• Andy, looking at your previous comments, including this one it appears you dont really understand macroeconomics? GDP means f**k all. Its growth in GNP is what this country needs but the domestic economy is on its knees !!! People dont have money to spend!! The GDP is mostly down to a strong exporting sector created by forgien multi nationals.A multi national can contribute to GDP by merely passing a product through an Irish port without having to leave a container.

• Alot of really deluded people commenting on this thread, seriously deluded if you think that ANY progress has been made to restore this fantastic little country(not sarcasm) to where it should be. I put it to you that the situation is worse now than two years ago when FG/lab took office. The decent ordinary people of Ireland have taken such a battering at the hands of these mercenaries and they stand on the brink. I do not know how much austerity I and the majority of my fellow citizens will be able to endure. What is required in Ireland is a whole new way of political thinking, something that NO irish political party in existence today can offer. We need a move away from the tradition of “pull the ladder up and sod the rest” that has existed in irish politics for far too long. The likes of micheal collins, padhraig pearse etc would be totally ashamed if they could see the state of the nation that they fought and died for today, and indeed if they did see the state of us I genuinely beleive that they wouldn’t have bothered if they knew what was instore for us…… and who could blame them?

• All I have to look forward to a half year property tax this July full year property tax Jan 14 half year water charge July next year

My wallet empty I could stop feeding the kids r stop paying the mortgage.

• The country is running so well the government are planning a budget in October!

• M Bowe 06/03/13 #

This article begins with the words we PROMISE from these 2 liars. How about keeping the promises made to the electorate 2 yrs ago to get where they are now, before they make more false vows.

• Steve – 6 figures? counting your salary in 10c pieces doesn’t count man.

• They have destroyed whatever semblance of a country we had, I was told yesterday I had to wait 3 years waiting list for an MRI scan on my neck and physiotherapists said there was no point they continuing without the scan as they were working in the dark. I rand Barringtons private hospital the next day and got an appointment for tomorrow. Having a medical card is a waste of time. you do not get care as you still have to pay like myself. I have no to draw out the last few savings I have to pay for this as I have No health insurance. this is what they have done to the health service. If I see Kenny I will punch him in the face. This country is a shambles. The poor and low paid are the ones who will suffer and are suffering and dying on waiting lists all for a miserable 200 euro scan that will take ten minutes.

• Very presumptuous of Kenny to assume govt will run its course. Property tax + instability with Labour leadership could very destabilizing factors

• Enda kenny what a waste of space he should do what the pope done and step down. Made promises to all of Ireland and kept none of them

• Any government that treats the disabled the way this government have done are a disgrace to society.They want them all back in institutions.Shame on you Enda Kenny,wait till it hits your door.

• What planet or tablets or both is Enda Kenny on does he not realise that this NATION without a doubt Detest this man for the destruction of Ireland he has done nothing for confidence he has allowed our young to emigrate to lands far and wide and he allowed his colleague suggest that their leaving was a life style choice He (Kenny) is. Tyrant Bully dictator and a traitor to the people of Ireland Yea he is delivering alright HARDSHIP

• stockholm syndrome.

• The only thing being delivered is bags of money to unsecured bond holders and austerity for the rest of us. I wish I was a bond holder. Every colour is red on roulette table Ireland. I need a lie down….

• At the expense of the taxpayer……screwing us over and over….

• ”He then thanked the citizens of Ireland for their pragmatism, patience and support ”
    are we to get no tax for the moany that he has taken from us ?.

”We need to restore public finances, restore relationships and confidence with our partners in Europe and put our people back to work”.
    What partners – the ones that tell the govt what to do ???’

” People can judge us on that in three years time when the next election is held.””
    we judge u know Mr – and two years of u is more than enough . Hopefully u and your cronies can be got rid of long before tthree years – by whatever means is appropriate .

”Eamon Gilmore said “no one is claiming victory”
    Victory ??———-A man from another Planet —— but did their friends – the Banks have a major victory

• The only people he id delivering to is the bondholders, and its all coming from peoples wage packets either by cuts or new taxes they seem to think up every few weeks. Not what was promised before the election.

• Comical Ali springs to mind…

• In 6 months time Enda will change his mind. just like last time when he spent 6 months claiming that Merkel was wrong and we were going to get a writedown/writeoff and not debt sustainability as she had said. it just takes him a while longer than everyone else but he will get there

• Delivering austerity at the hands of their masters in Europe. Ireland will recover when Europe wants us to. We would be well off ignoring anything this shower says, at the end of the day its no longer in our hands.

• The teacher lectures his students and the union official advises his members and we all applaud

• Delivering to just WHO then?

• Smoke being blown up everyone’s asses as per usual.

• Thousands want this Parasitical government out NOW. He hasn’t a hope of staying full term him and he’s parasites in government.

• Has it really only been 2 years since they won the election. Oh god, another 3 years of this shite.

• Watched on the one o clock news. He was as plastic…no charisma, monotone and sleep inducing

• Dumb and dumber are professionals at papering over the cracks

• There delivering on their mandate which was to make the country/people pay for FF mistakes and will be ruthless in their pursuit in this mandate pay attention to what they are really saying at election time without the hoopla and voters wont be surprised when they get shafted then.

• How deluded are these people in government
    If that’s the case I’m the smartest person on the world , I delivered on my promise none of ye saw it but I did so there u go , try it it works for everything
    Cause Enda said so

• Next they’ll be telling us Phil Hogan is not a total Bast@rd.

• Facists

• Highest amount of people have left Ireland in greater numbers every day than the famine by the CSO. New taxes to placate the troika friends both home and abroad.Run down in schools,hospitals and infrastructure. Move people in debt and widening poverty. Increase in 50,000 immigrants to earn yellow pack wages every year.FG turned Ireland slowly into a society that’s about to explode. FG/ LAB achievement building on the incompetence of FF/Green/ PD.Lot more needy to damage a lot more people to rob should be the FG/LAB manifesto for its incompetent handling of the state.

• Enda You spin me right round baby, right round like a………..

• At what price

• Lying bastards

• Is this f**king man serious!!! What country does he think he’s in Germany..

• Not to be cynical but like the country couldn’t have been any worse compared to two years ago so in my opinion not a whole lot has been archived if you do a cost/benefit analaysis of our government….

• Rosey 06/03/13 #

I think this pretty much sums up what our government have delivered

• they really are the gruesome twosome

• Seriously? Did you see the mess that last shower left us in? They bluffed us with talk of “soft landings” and “there is no talk of bailouts”. Then created mechanisms that would tie the hands of their successors. It is a national disgrace to put any blame on the current government who has always said that the solution was going to hurt!

• Ryan'O 06/03/13 #

No it’s not. All hot air from Kenny when he was on the opposition benches, he couldn’t condemn FF enough for their actions but now he continues with gusto the detrimental actions of the previous bunch, They’re both the same self righteous, self interested party. Blame is set squarely on FG as they CHOOSE to continue with the FF mantra.

• Absolute rubbish Shane. They rolled over like a lapdog for Merkel and the Troika.

• Kenny and co accused FF of not spending enough!!

• Shhhh, everyone is supposed to forget that!!!!

• Ryan,
      FG are delivering exactly what they set out in program and close to their manefesto!!! Its what we voted for.. Its a pain , it tough… cutbacks and tax increases are never easy…but truth is we actually really never had the money in the first place to give all the tax breaks and sf increases.. We borrowed it all….
      D

• @ Declan
      You might have borrowed! I borrowed f@@k all!
      Now I’m been rode dry! They didn’t even do me the courtesy of givin me a reach around when they were f@@@in me!!
      This ain’t my mess! So get off your high horse when you say “we borrowed it all”

• Well the roads we built, the hospitals we built, the tax reductions we made, the social welfare increases we made etc etc etc.. were all funded by a building boom… which was funded by banks and they were funded by bondholders… No question This country spent the money… We all did…

• Ahh the auld fine gael manifesto:

lets see how they really did

1. Protecting and creating jobs:

nearly sure the unemployment rate has gone up since fine gael came to power and im sure 100,000 of the brightest have emigrated

2. Budget (taken from the fine gael mayo website): Unlike the other parties, Fine Gael will take on the big vested interests that have contributed to the current crisis – the bankers, the bondholders, the developers and the unions. And we will aggressively cut the waste in our public service to keep all taxes as low as possible.

I really had to laugh at that one!

3.Health – James Reilly take a bow!

Stroke Politics???

4. Public Sector (Again from the fine gael mayo website): Our public sector is too large, too inefficient and too expensive. Fine Gael will improve the quality of public services by prioritising frontline services-that’s teachers, health professionals Gardaí, Local Authority services etc, and will streamline systems, eliminate red tape and waste and managers will be accountable.

I love the bit about the frontline services

5. Politics (again from the mayo website): Fine Gael believe that politicians should lead the way in Ireland’s recovery. That means taking responsibility and taking cuts right at the top. Fine Gael’s Strategy for New Politics will reduce the number of politicians by 35%, have a referendum to abolish the Seanad, impose a ceiling on salaries for politicians and right across the public sector and replace State cars for current and former officials with a car pool system, saving taxpayers millions every year. Also refer to point 3.

some men those politicians

the emperor has no clothes……………

• The country is definitely in a better position going forward than it was two years ago. Not a chance the begrudgers would admit that though.

• we should not be in the mess we are in. Banks are private enterprises or at least they were till ff nationalised them. Fg come in roll over and pay tax papers money to bondholders. They do what they are told. Puppets of germany. They take what they are given. This deal on debt it was then rolling over taking what they were given at the cost of closing hospitals slashing pay of nurses sending them overseas. Slashing police and inviting high crime.

Actually are we better off? I know I’m not.

If we thonk the worst of over let me lay it out. Property tax. Water charges and just wait till germany decide on increasing interest rates. This will happen and those on the wire even now will be screwed over

• I was talking about Ireland as a country not your own personal situation. The fact is Ireland is now better positioned to get out of this mess than it was two years ago.

• So was I

• Mick 06/03/13 #

Is Ireland really in a better position?

The last I looked the Eurozone was still in serious trouble just like the Dollar. Are we not in a symbiotic relationship after all?

• Carl ur right.

We have added how much to r national debt by added the prom note to it
      We added how many to the number 90 days in arrears in their home
      How many more have felt they have no options but to emigrate
      Need I go on

• Carl – define “better”.

• Carl, for God’s sake. Get out of what? You tell the person above you’re not talking about his “personal situation”.

It’s these personal situations that matter above all else. Not the honouring of an illegal gambling debt between private, failed business entities.

• I was referring to country as a whole. But yes my own circumstances are mirrored by many. However, my head is above water. Last time I checked 90,000 people were more then 3 months in arrears. I slipped to one month and got level again so I guess I’m doing better then most. But my anger is for these people in worse position. Those not entitled to free council house or have everything paid for them. Those who work and get spat on by fg. I do choose my words carefully there.

• The country might be in a better place, but many of its citizens are in a worse place. More and more in mortgage arrears, many people with less than €50 disposable income per month, increased hospital waiting times, more and more taxes and charges, ever more expensive health insurance, cuts to allowances for the vulnerable… and that’s just what’s come to mind in two minutes.

Try telling those people that we’re better off than we were two years ago, and they’ll have a very different story to tell.

• Actually what really grinds my gears as much as bad bankers. Not naming names but a certain member of a certain boy band. Can’t stay which but they are best in world at steping off stools

Anyway one of these can leave go bankrupt in uk come bad debt free and leave his creditors to be paid off by irish taxpayer. Now will sign a deal to make millions which he keeps. So why do I have to pay for house which I bought if its one law for rich one for poor. Or in ireland case one law for rich another for middle class who pay for these follies.

As the pig said all animals are born equal but some are more equal than others….

• JOSE 06/03/13 #

Yes Carl you and I know when Enda says we are in a better position than we were two years ago, he was not talking about the ordinary man and woman on the street, he was talking about his banking buddies around Europe. But then you have the little people coming on here and telling the real truth of the state of the country and it’s people, the cheek of them eh Carl.

• *awaits the wave of negative posters and “Sinn Fein are the only answer. Along with Gerry Adams and Ted, we will be fixed in a jiffy” comments*

Despite broken promises, despite tough budgets that were not as fair as they could have been and despite ministers who kept putting their foot in it, they have indeed put us on the road to recovery. Things are looking more positive than two years ago when we voted them in, despite the negativity that surrounds them. While the people on the ground feeling the pinch may not believe that just yet, understandably of course, I think if you look at the bigger picture its there for people to see.

• Gis some of your happy pils, please…..

• Agreed Kevin. The economy is an ecosystem and there are signs that the middle-class is beginning to recover. The middle class by far the biggest driver of demand for goods and services in the economy, and an increase in demand means more jobs for lower skilled workers, more spending on products and more entrepreneurship as there are more markets to satisfy.

Whatever else they have gotten wrong (and there is a LOT) they are generating jobs and investment into the middle class where it can do the most good. I would also appreciate it if they would start to look at resolving more of the middle class debt. I’m not in debt, but I can see the benefit of free up the cash flows of those weighted down under boom-time mortgages.

• Ryan'O 06/03/13 #

Dennis you are insane if you think the middle class are recovering. Mortgage debt rising coupled with property and water tax will send what’s left of the decent working middle class families into more poverty.

Kenny has secured on thing and that’s the financial rape of the middle class family now the working poor. The average family will obliterate FG in the next election.

• Enda, the man with the Plan……doing a spiffing job for the middleclass….hope he rounds up those working and lower class rapscallions and sends them to the chamber…..Good man Dennis!

• The bigger picture Kevin? Your membership of young FG shines through as always.

For “feeling the pinch” write home repossessions, the inability for some to feed children, pay their mortgage or run a car.

So that we can pay unsecured bondholders? Are you really, really this naive and blinded by party loyalty?

I had thought that Irish people had the sense to move past this. You are the evidence that some have not.

• Kevin if Europe is the bigger picture it no better than two years ago Europe about to enter third recession in four years
      R is that picture not big enough for u

• Dennis most of the middle classes don’t have a pot to piss in and with more taxes to come those with savings wont be spending any time soon.

• Verbel – In Ireland the “middle class” simply refers to your income bracket, nothing to do with your outdated British throw-backs.

Nellie – It depends on your definition of middle class… Mine is that the middle class is made up of skilled professional workers, rather than unskilled or low-skilled workers. You are forgetting that here is a lot of new graduates coming into the work market without debt, and the government have done a decent job of keeping multi-nationals coming in, to secure jobs for them.
      Granted most of those jobs are powered by tech, but there are a lot of jobs created as a by product of that, in finance, marketing etc… There are even call centers opening.
      A lot of the professional people who cannot find work now is because we had a huge over supply of workers in the building trade during the construction bubble… architects, surveyors, realtors, and tradesmen. Our housing market will not recover to those levels soon, so a change of job will be required. I for one am glad that this government is focusing on bringing in skilled work rather than pumping a bubble. It would be even better if more money was found to fund indigenous industry but that should have been done during FFs rule.

• @Dennis
      what do you consider is the income bracket for your so called middle class?

• Eamonn Bolger; Ah the Bolger group! Between yourself and your sister, ye have the anti-FG agenda will covered online anyway. While I know you don’t like facts getting in the way of a good awl rant, I am not a member of Young Fine Gael nor have I been in some years. Likewise, I am not a member of Fine Gael. :) But lets pretend I am, just for the sake of your rant. ;)

Continue with your anti-FG / government rants and fiction posting, its most enjoyable!

• I don’t know where you’re going with my sister Kevin – but whatever floats your boat if you’re into older women!!

The most enjoyable bit for the rest of us is reading the inane, mundane FG propaganda which you and many others try to peddle.

And it ain’t working buddy. People have it copped. Can I ask you – why do you (and people like you) buy into a party political system in which one mob bankrupted the place and another sell out generations of Irish for decades to come?

I find it hilarious to be honest. You’d maybe expect it from impressionable teenagers (I’m presuming you’re older than 15). – or are you?

And yet – for whatever reason – your loyalty to Enda and Co is unflinching. So very Monty Python of you!

• And Kevin – the ould mask is slipping there “haven’t been for some years”. But ya still have an oul gra for them! Go on – admit it! Nothing to be ashamed of at all………. :D

• FG and LAB they can’t even lie without bullshitting ,
    everything is honky dory within the walls of Fail Eireann (so they use that as a basis for whole country ) ,
    they simply don’t know , nor don’t care whats going on with the ordinary people of the country

turned a corner my arse ,heard it all before
    the rich are getting richer , the rest of us are getting poorer

• Steve 06/03/13 #

During the boom years, I had nothing, was deeply in debt and none of my “wealthy” friends really gave a dam. I was mocked and ridiculed for going to college, when the others were getting a trade right out of school, buying huge houses and having kids. Now they’re all broke, unemployed and in debt up to their eyes. Story repeated itself across the nation. The people got a small taste of wealth, and lost the plot. Now I’m debt free, and at 28, I earn 6 figures. Ain’t Karma a bitch!

• The situation has definitely improved. Credit must be given where it is due. There is no viable alternative to this present government.

• Ryan'O 06/03/13 #

Any alternative is better than this government, why do you think FF are back up in the polls? FG got in by disgruntled vote and they’ll be wiped out with the disgruntled vote.

He may be pulling strokes to boost his international rating but at the COST of the Irish citizen. Ireland should come first and Europe/troika and the bell at the stock market second.

• FF are back up in the polls because people are idiots.

“Hold on, it’s been two years with the new government and they have not managed to completely undo 15 years of FF mismanagement which led us at speed into an economic brick wall and hit the reset button so everything is back to normal….I’m voting for Fianna Fail again”.

It will take years to put it right, but we are now moving very slowly in the right direction. A bit of momentum now and we will actually start to get our lives back. Let them run their four years and judge them as a whole then.

• Think the last 2 polls had FG still as the biggest party in the country… And I reckon if there was an election right now… they would come between 27% and 33% which will still make them the leaders of any Goverment… Just because you wish it does not make it true… FF are up mostly at expence of SF and Labour… the FG drop has mainly went into the Dont know’s…

• Ryan'O 06/03/13 #

Hahahaaaaa Declan cotter. I call your bluff and raise you a FF too.

Kenny would shieet is pink knickers if there was a snap election tomorrow.

• I must say that I am not a FG supporter but considering the job they have done so far they have earned my vote in the next election.

• And that statement alone has convinced 10 people to vote for an opposition party
      Good man Paddy, keep up the good work old chap!

• I do not think I would be too concerned Frank as quite a lot of the people who post here are not that bright. Thanks anyway for your concern.

• always concerned for a fellow citizen paddy
      no bias toward class or creed with me mo chara

• Ryan'O 06/03/13 #

You’re right Patrick, I for one fall into the ‘not bright’ bracket….

I voted for FG. It was a moment of insanity to think they would actually deliver on their pre election promises.

Once bitten, twice shy. I won’t ever vote for them again.

Small business is crippling under the strain of FG.

Big business and bondholders are flourishing.

I know I didn’t vote for that.

• They’ve done a very good job so far in my opinion, stabilizing the economy, growth is returning, they’ve undone a lot of of the mess left behind by Fianna Fáil and the Green Party. This government and Enda Kenny specifically have done a lot to improve our image abroad and bring investment and jobs to Ireland. Especially in the BRIC countries and USA.

I think now that they’ve renegotiated of the bailout repayments that will free up a lot of money to build Ireland again, that will be the 2nd test of this government to fix our health care system as opposed to spending money on stadiums and the like.

• “Renegotiated the terms of the bailout”. Sweet Jesus. They are putting an illegal gambling debt on the shoulders of the Irish people for generations. Without their consent. Yeah they’re doing great alright……

Add New Comment