TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

German finance minister ‘very impressed’ with ‘special case’ Ireland

Wolfgang Schauble said he was confident Ireland would not need a second bailout following a meeting with Ministers Michael Noonan and Brendan Howlin today.

Wolfgang Schauble speaking to the media along with Michael Noonan in Dublin today
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

GERMAN FINANCE MINISTER Wolfgang Schauble has declared himself “very impressed” by the progress Ireland is making in its recovery as he reiterated his government’s belief that the country is a “special case” when it comes to dealing with its debt burden.

Following a meeting with the Finance Minister Michael Noonan and the Public Expenditure and Reform Minister Brendan Howlin at Farmleigh House in Dublin today, Schauble and the Irish ministers appeared at a short press conference to answer questions about their discussions.

The trio held a 40-minute long private meeting followed by discussions with officials from the the countries’ finance ministries. Noonan said the meetings were held in the context of Ireland’s European presidency next year.

“We’re all very impressed by the progress Ireland has made in the last couple of years,” Schauble told reporters afterwards saying that Ireland has acted as an example of how to fight the financial crisis which began four years ago.

Schauble declared himself “100 per cent” confident that Ireland will not require a second bailout.

He said: “I am totally confident that Ireland is on track and we have seen the last report of the Troika some months ago… no problem at all. And therefore I don’t even see a reason for this question.”

Legacy bank debt

But on the issue of legacy bank debt both the German finance minister and Noonan indicated that addressing this issue would not happen until late next year.

This is because of the need to set up a European banking supervisor before it can be determined whether or not the permanent eurozone bailout fund – the European Stability Mechanism – can be used retroactively to ease the burden of Ireland’s €64 billion bank debt.

Noonan said: “On the recapitalisation of banks, as Wolfgang Schauble said, we discussed it and he confirmed the position as stated in the joint communique last Sunday evening agreed between the Taoiseach and Chancellor Merkel and that should clear up any misunderstandings.”

He was referring to the statement issued by Angela Merkel and Enda Kenny over a week ago in which the pair said that Ireland is “a special case”.

They also “reaffirmed the commitment” to “examine the situation of the Irish financial sector with a view to further improving the sustainability of the well performing adjustment programme”.

Schauble reiterated this at the press conference today, saying: “Ireland is a special case and the eurogroup will continue to take this into account.”

Read: IMF tells Europe: ‘Deliver on your promises or Ireland is at risk’

Read: ‘Ireland is a special case’: Kenny and Merkel commit to improving bailout

Read next:

Comments (151 Comments)

• Nice words Herr Schaulbe, but they get us nowhere. Action does.

• the only reason we are in this situation in the first place was WE bailed out the german,french and dont forget british gamblers.
      the very one,s who promoted the borrow today payback tomorow lunacy which prevailed in the so-called boom years.
      and who was one of the first to offer a loan to Direland it was G.B?
      at a rate that ensured they not only got their money back
      but also the blood,,sweat and tears of many a broken family here in dear auld direland they learned a lot from when Iceland told them to take a hike didnt they
      how many more irish family homes
      have to be sacrificed for the sake of not only european banks but also the yoyo curency
      how much more crap doe we have to take from our Vichy government before they stand up for the very people who put them into office .
      it was never a soverign debt it was a gamblers debt.
      check out what Eddie Hobbs has to say in the sunday indo 28/10 2012

• mike 29/10/12 #

I predict any bank debt deal will occur at the opportune political time. 3 months before the next general election.

• Hurray, we’re special!! Shur, aren’t we all going to be grand then so! We’ll all be *loaded* again in no time at all! :D :D :D :D :D

• So the deadline that started with “the end of September”, had been moved to March 2013 and now it’s “late next year”. Next year it’ll be “we should have a deal before the general election”. Pack of time wasters!

• The problem with the Irish position in Europe is that we’ve spent the last decade with a single political line – the two main parties are largely identical in terms of policy, and so governmental rhetoric in regard to Europe has gone largely unchanged and unchallenged. Regardless of how you view Irish involvement with Europe, a lack of engagement or dissent and unilateral European policies at a political level have meant that there’s little public faith in our government’s relationship with its European counterparts. Without the support of the people, you cant possibly hope to push through affirmative policies.
    There needs to be more engagement before the people will trust in Irish democracy again.
    http://www.perspectivesbyjack.com/

• No bank deal then….who knew!

• When I was young “Their Special” meant there was something fundamentally wrong with the person. Nothing’s changed there then!

• It is his country after all !!

• Thanks Minister Noonan…….. I mean Schauble

• Of course Ireland is a special case Wolfgang. What other country could afford to repay German bondholders while running a €25 billion current budget deficit?

• 100% confident.

Scheisser, we’re fried.

• @ Vincent

I really don’t understand the mindset of some of my fellow country
    men and women (The media are the worst for this)

They shoot down Sinn Féin at any opportunity especially when they gain popularity in the polls, they are always bringing up the past, Sinn
    Féin did this in 1972 and they did that in 1986.

IF terrorist groups like Al-Qaeda, Taliban etc suddenly announced they
    wanted peace and were denouncing all terrorist activity…well the
    right on brigade would be applauding this saying “Oh it’s great that
    they are try to resolve their issues by peace and dialogue.

Meanwhile back in Ireland an elected political party gets absolutely
    slaughtered by the same right on brigade for making great progress and moving on, for suggesting alternatives for this toxic debt we have / for jobs growth.

Only In Ireland.

• I’m with Vincent on this one. Sinn Fein isn’t fit for purpose. It’s a relic from another time. And it right & proper that their crimes are remembered. And they don’t all go back to 1986. Ask Northern Bank. I’m sure the widow of Garda Jerry McCabe would agree on that.

• Dublin Monaghan bombings there was a dirty war going on on both sides but started by the so called pillars of society in high places who always seem to be in the right i suppose money and power does make everything right.Condemn others actions while practicing the same .Double standards are the ruin of freedom and civil rights.

• Indeed. Totally agree with you there

@Dillon Costigan – You call Sinn Fein a relic from another time and not fit for purpose?
      Please do tell us who you voted for in the last election… I’d love to know if you can say ‘FF/FG/Labour’ and keep a straight face – something the very nature of the internet will unfortunately rob us of :(

• Is that you Fionnan .

• Martin 29/10/12 #

@Dillion seeing as you don’t mind going back in time and bringing up Sinn Fein’s past , Isn’t it fair then to mention the party for which “you proudly voted ” has the most dispicable past of all. leaving out their 9 year tax evasion in the recent past, at the very back of your closet you’ve got good old Eoin O’Duffy and his Facist Blue Shirts with their links to Mussolini, Franco, and Hitlers Brown shirts through Earnest Roam. Proud are you? should be ashamed to vote for a party with such a history. I’m not a Sinn Feinn supporter either rather a Shane Ross one.

• #Martin. I said I voted Fine Gael. I didn’t say it was my party. That said, it’s the party that established my country. And it has replaced the most catastrophic Government of our times. To my knowledge O’Duffy isn’t still in the leadership if FG, is he? Unlike Adams and McGuinness who presided over terrorism. All of which makes your point redundant and makes you sound like a jumped up, opinionated muppet who doesn’t know what he’s talking about. But hey, listen. Thanks for contributing. Who did you vote for since you are so comfortable passing judgement on others?

• #Martin..You’re aware Shane Ross stood for Fine Gael, of course?

• Martin 29/10/12 #

@Dillion …Way back when I was a toddler and first able to vote, I voted for Fine Gael but just like Shane Ross I opened my eyes and done a bit of growing up, might not be a bad thing for you to do based on your infantile comments. You see I believe its a basic requirement for any party to warrant my support, that they not to blantantly lie to the electorate and turn their back on the people that voted for them once in office. But you obviously have much lower standards regarding you politcal represenatives than me. Finally If Fine Gael are not your party you sure are spending a lot of time defending those lying tax evading, ex-facists, that your so proud of voting for.

• #Martin…oh dear. I think the very tone & tenor of your posts speaks volumes about you. Serious times require serious people. And you’re just not one of them. You’re just another one of those people who hears a few sound bites on radio & feels obliged to regurgitate them ad nauseum, thinking that it makes you engaged or an intellectual of some sort. In reality it’s always those who shout fascist who have the least substance to offer. They’re just good at shouting. That’s fine. Just sit there on the peripheries like a good chap and let the serious people run our country. Good boy.

• Martin 29/10/12 #

@Dillon Ahh thats very very weak, It really shows your intellectual shortcomings when you sprew nothing but FG cliches one after the other and then accuse me of the same, while regurgitating the governments message in all your comments, sad truth is your not capable of recognising a genuine person who wants to help protect his country from greedy career politicians and their temporary right wing lackeys like yourself who are so easliy bought they would sign away all their people soverignity in order to hang on to their BMW’s , Serious people are required to save this country your right and your bunch have proved “not fit for purpose” to quote one of your many pathetic lazy cliches.

Have a bash at doing some thinking for yourself and try not let yourself be lead around by a very poorly led party who are the laughing stock of the EU. Maybe wait till your a bit more mature and a tad more capable to respond.

• Good boy Martin. Night now.

• This government must be special as they exhibit many special needs :
    1. A huge need to look after the rich.
    2. Constantly ignoring the average person.
    3. Borrowing money to give away to Uganda
    4. Still living the high life while others suffer.
    5. They get more attention and care than those who elect them.

• @ Eileen I live here but work & get paid from the uk,I pay British tax thankfully,It pains me to see the way this country is going down the tubes but as I said in my previous post what are you gonna do about it apart from vent on here?,nothing,that’s what your gonna do

• Right now I am trying to get An Annual Irish Citizens Council off the ground, So Irish citizens and groups can meet every year and discuss issues/policies of the past, present and future. I am writing to all opposition TD’s etc., I hope that anyone interested in this will write also and support such a campaign. I am discussing it with Martin Critten from Sli-Nios-Fearr, to give it momentum. Everyone from all parts of ireland would be welcome, we’d pass motions calling on a Government to take note and put them under pressure to act!

• SMcB 29/10/12 #

She doesn’t even qualify he statements by saying who she would like in Government instead!!

• #Stephen /Coco….do you know how out-of -the park stupid you sound when you talk about that citizens council? Not to mention full of your own self importance.

• Stephen, what’s the goal of this council? How will it benefit us all?

• Its aim, is to give citizens a voice and to publicly call on a government to do or change something the citizens are not happy about or change it. The now Constituitional Convention FG are pushing, have chosen what’s to be discussed or reformed. I hope that a Citizens council, when up and running. that it will give a voice to the people and submit reforms the citizens want to see happen immediately and not dictated by a Government!

• Ahh Vincent, no need to be a nasty little hitler!

• To be fair Stephen VD has a point. The last thing this country needs is another talking shop.

• I’ll give it a go, the only talking shops we have right now involve politicians paid generously by the taxpayer and they don’t do much to protect the citizen. I’ll try, make it different and what have I to lose?

• Fair play to you Stephen, someone getting up off their arses and trying to do something. Your concept is somewhat along the lines of CPPC and others to bring accountability back into the hands of the people when dealing with those who are supposed to be looking out for our rights and interests, but in reality are just lining their own pockets with more than just 30 pieces of blood stained silver. To the begrudgers and nay-sayers, apart from bitching on these sort of forum, what exactly have ye done? And instead of denigrating someone who wants to do something to push this country on, why not get off yer own fat arses and give a hand at something.

• Good luck to you Stephen . I wish you well.

• What a Patronising git

• Just proves again when there is money involved the shit rises to the top.

• We need a proper negotiator representing our country.

Enda and Noonan are a laughing stock, both are like a deers in head lights with political EU heavy weights.

Im serious when i say this, but Gerry Adams would be the man with the skills for this kind of task, couldn’t see him in awe of Frau merkel, also doubt if any of those would give Gerry the patronising pat on the head that the school teacher gets from them.

• Fantastic. Lets send a terrorist over.

• I was thinking Samuel L. Jackson myself

• Gerry Adams? I see you have a sense of humour:)

• You’re right. They wouldn’t patronise him. In fact, they probably wouldn’t even entertain him. What kind of a lsugh

• You’re right. They wouldn’t patronise him. In fact, they probably wouldn’t even entertain him. What kind of a laughing stock would we be sending a man like this out to bat for us? I’ll say it for you shall I? “I’m not a Sinn Fein supporter but…”
      Seriously, what planet are you on?

• I’d love to see that.
      Love him or hate him, I can say with relative certainty that he’d take no shit from the Troika. He’d put our interests before those of ungauranteed bondholders for a start.

• I don’t like Gerry, but I’d rather send a man with Balls and Brains to Europe than that idiot Enda!

• #Stephen- that you would countenance sending an apologist for murderers to represent the Irish Republic internationally tells me all I need to know about your political orientation and the lack of respect you have for our country.

• Stephen, do you envisage your citizens council being armed? BTW, what makes you think Adams could make “them” listen? What have you seen of the brave man to think he has a set? And isn’t he more accustomed to negotiating from a distance.
      You should man up and declare your political views instead of pretending to be a concerned leftie…

• I nominate Vincent Dolan.Maybe then he will say what he stands for .

• #Eileen, I think only those who have paid all their taxes have nominating powers. There you go, Eileen- there’s something I stand for: people paying their fair share for services instead of sponging off others.

• Send Liam Neeson over, tell him they’ve TAKEN his daughter .

• Vincent
      So still nothing to say for yourself ! Pathetic !

• #Eileen… Says the tax dodger. When you pay your taxes you can pass judgement on others.

• Tax dodger?

• #Eileen doesn’t pay her household charge & is proud of her tax evasion.

• I see. Another sponger with an opinion.

• I was comparing guys, I’d send to fight Irelands corner in a negotiation. It would either be a lickarse brainless worm like Enda or A hardman with brains. Anyone here know who they’d send, if they were the only two available?

• @O’Reilly- Would you prefer a bitch(Brenda) or a bastard(Gerry) fighting your corner? I am against violence, not a leftie and I’ll try to get a citizens Council going. You sit here and insult everyone, you’ll go places!

• #Stephen, lets call a spade a spade. What you are is a wannabe politician with delusions of grandeur spewing out the most populist left wing “miracle solution” crap. Mercifully your audience is very much confined to the lunatic fringe.

• O'Reilly 29/10/12 #

Stephen, glad to hear your against violence. While cheerleading for Gerry Adams…
      On a more serious note, best of luck with the citizens council. That you’re prepared to get out there and do something has to be respected.

• Stephen Murphy
      Ignore these guys . They are indecent and soulless. I am entitled to comment how ever and when ever . I do not hide behind fake names . I can stand over every single word that I say and every single action I make, as I am sure Stephen you can too. Theses guys only purpose is to harass and try to intimidate people with decently held views and attitudes.
      I must be hitting nails square on the heads or these goons would not be spending all their time harassing me.
      I will never be shut up. Do you hear me ? Never .
      They can be seen for what they are . Cowards and bullies that hunt in packs.

• #Eileen- from your last post sounds like your the one who’s feeling it a bit. No one I don’t think is trying to remove your democratic right to speak. We’re just pointing out the hypocrisy of commenting on services you’re not paying for and advising you that anything you do have to say is absolutely undermined by it. By the way, your aggressive tone & demeanour doesn’t help you!

• Eileen

I hear you, they don’t bother me and are spineless little men. I have the courage of my convictions, will achieve what I set out to do and those guys will never amount to much. Keep the faith!

• Vincent
      You have no idea about me . You can type what ever you want and walk away .

You offer no solution , yet query every one else’s motives.

You have never once answered a direct question .

Not just to me but to all of the posters .

Enter into a proper discussion and you may enjoy it.

No I am not aggressive at all, pi**ed off ,broke, tired ,and worried.

People are starving and all you lot can do is sneer. Ah well !

• #Eileen: honestly, I’m sorry your tired, broke and p*ssed off. There are too many like you. When I sneer, I’m sneering those who would sell you a pup-specifically the idea that there’s a quick fix. There’s not. We’re in God awful trouble. Burning bondholders, walking from the EU etc would make us all feel better. It wouldn’t make your life one little bit better. It would make it unimaginably worse. There’s a reason no other country will do it either. The Government has a monumental task in front of it. I’m just tired of reading lazy comments on here deriding decent people trying to do their best for the country, calling them corrupt & incompetent. That’s all.

• No Vincent
      You are not correct . You are doing your job at keeping people like me from saying what is really happening .
      The thing is you are trying to protect your corporate paymasters from having to pay their fair share of the burden share of this God Awful situation we are in . You do not care about people ,you are doing a job .

• #Eileen: who exactly are my corporate paymasters? I ask because by the sounds of it, they owe me a cheque or two?!?!?

• Rich German man says to rich Irish man, “you’re doing a great job keeping down the proles”.

• Who should we thank, FF for bankrupting the Country or FG for the Austerity people are suffering? If Irish citizens stopped their parish pump politics and wiped out these two parties along with Labour and SF? That would be progress, but the Irish being what they are. I hope some day, they’ll wake up but i doubt it?

• Oh boy 29/10/12 #

We are well and truly fugd.

We need to make a pact with Greece Spain and Portugal to leave the EU now THAT would wake them up.

Wouldn’t a revolt like that do the job though?

• What an arrogant patronising comment . Who the hell do theses people think they are talking down to us as if we were imbeciles ? I am sick to the back of my teeth of this patronising double talk. The present government are worthless wimps and the sooner they are gone the better.

• We are imbeciles now sit down & take it like everyone else,not as if your going to do anything about it,

• Shadow75
      Read my comment …” as if we were imbeciles ”. If the cap fits you shadow ,wear it .

For my self and the many many hundreds of thousands of decent people living and working here on this island ,we are NOT imbeciles .

Trust a FG poster to pick a word and twist the life out of it . Tell us who you really are with your name all hidden away Agent Provocateur !

• Gone and replaced with what, though? The only options are FF (who are mostly responsible for creating the problem in the first place) and some sort of hodge-podge of SF and the ULA which if you leave out the elements of their policies that are impossible or illegal you are left with merely the improbable.

I’ve little love for politicians in general but until (and I hope this happens soon) a new party with workable policies and no baggage emerges, I think you need to start qualifying your comments with what you’d like to replace them with.

• Well said Shadow.

• lost lenore

Actually , I do not NEED to do anything . This is a forum to make comments and share ideas . It is not
      here for you to tell me what I need to do .
      Have a nice day and keep up the good work .

• It is like a tag team you lot have going ….
      Ha ha . :)
      Transparency is rife and well in FG.
      Soul less and lacking empathy .

• Let me rephrase that. While you’re perfectly within your rights to make generalised and obviously partisan generic “they’re all useless” comments, I would most humbly suggest that we have surfeit of same and perhaps a more nuanced approach that doesn’t read like a McGeehan article in the late unlamented Irish Star might be a more worthwhile endeavour.

At your discretion of course.

• I do not read the Star . Neither am I given to generalised comments . This government are an absolute disgrace in every sense and meaning of the word from Enda Kenny to Michael Noonan and ALL who support them. Is that specific enough for you .

• #No Eileen-That’s a pretty spectacular ( and ironic) example of exactly what he’s talking about- a lazy, banal generalisation that adds nothing to the debate.

• And you Vincent ! What do ewe add to the debate ?

• Michael 29/10/12 #

IRLANDE DIX POINTS!

• as long as the reich is impressed we should be ok

• Late next year before we can maybe get something done on the bank debt. FFS. Enda told us on June 29th that it would be done in October 2012. They’re all taking the piss. Get this government out now. They’re even more dangerous than that last shower. Either that or default.

• As long as you don’t replace them with the Fianna Failers.

• Godwin’s Law.

• Revolting Peasant
      By using the term Reich in the context of a representative of a Democratically elected Government who are Partners and Colleagues in EU terms you demean yourself and express a belief that the sins of the Father are the responsibility of present day Germans.
      Do you forget what was done in your name by the Republican thugs within this generation all along our Border when they shot the Protestant sons of aged farmers so their land would fall into so called Catholic hands or the blooding of ten young IRA men by the slaughter of that number of Protestant workmen at Kingsmill .
      I don’t blame all Catholics or Nationalists for these atrocities and nor should you blame a people who are two generations removed from the horrors of the Nazi era.
      Much more importantly the EU has strengthened democracy in Europe with the only risk to that in more recent times coming from the Extreme Left who find it amusing to attempt burning uniformed police officers to death in places like Greece and Spain.

• All the usual suspects out with the customary cynical & juvenile negativity.
      So predictable, so boring.

• @garry check your history, the nazis were also democratically elected

• Ireland is special because they will wait nipping at the bait until we ( German paymasters) have had our general election, returned the lovely Angela, who will then instruct Ireland to shut up and pay up.

The banks and pension funds from Germany, France, Netherlands and Finland ARE the unsecured bondholders that heaped cheap money into the building booms that beset Portugal,Ireland and Spain to the tune of over €3Trillion. These countries are insisting on the bondholders being re payed because they would rather see others suffer than take the ignominy of owning up to their failed gamble.
    Furthermore, they take the profits re payed from the gamble and use it in a new “fund” to lend to these countries to “bail them out” again at another profit.
    Of course we are a “special case”…we are complying in silence like the good monks & nuns that we are.
    However, come this Decembers budget I think the coping class here will be knocking down the walls of the monastery and raising their voices in anger to finally say…Enough is Enough. I know I will be.

• Just more of the same old spin.Stalling,buying time,while they rake in the money with expenses,salarys,then ride into the sunset with a massive pension when the shit really hits the fan.Stalling,stalling,whats new.????

• I had a dog, which did tricks, mostly basic ones, but he did them with great gusto and occasionally I rewarded him with a juicy bone. He remained loyal all his life. When I think of Fine Gael, particularly Enda ‘sexy-hair’ Kenny and Michael ‘creepy voice’ Noonan, working on our behalf in Europe I always think of that loyal dog, working like a happy simpleton for that elusive bone. They are a bloody joke in Europe, and this ‘special case’ stuff only reiterates my point. Such a shower of muppets

• We bent over and touched our toes as demanded

• As Vincent Browne says Hal.. jsut tell us what you think instead of writing about horseshite!

• But this is the man that our government only 2 wks ago told us that opinion doesn’t matter…

What he could be saying is you’ve done such a good job I think you can carry the weight of the the debt if they extend the payment period..

I note he said “ease the burden” and not “lift the burden” and that’s the most important thing here..

We are getting screwed slowly.

• Oh, yaay. Look at the crumbs we receive from the German table!

God they just love being in control of everything, don’t they.

• Yep, it’s all the Germans’ fault. We spend money we don’t have for years on end, rack up gargantuan debts under a corrupt and inept government that we voted for. Then the party stops and the Germans who bail us out and require repayment are the bad guys? Everybody else is to blame of course and German taxpayers should write off our debts? I mean they didn’t have the average joe buying 2 or 3 houses and 4×4′s with borrowed money. Why should they not expect us to sort ourselves out and pay back the cash we borrowed?

• The truth hurts Gerard! You really shouldn’t interrupt the ranting on here by reminding people of some home truths.

• The amount of ignorance regarding the facts and truth of the the bank guarantee and bailout by FG quislings is quite astounding as is their reluctance to accept the fact that we, Ireland – are protecting German taxpayers by agreeing to cover their banks losses, It’s common knowledge but has yet to filter through to the feeble minds of the FG trolls here who are quite content to rail against their own country and applaud the sly, cynical moves of the Germans who in fairness have to be lauded for lumbering us with their banks failed gambles to protect their own tax payers but that’s what we get for having a rather stupid intellectually challenged political establishment.

• patronising git

• Greece would be a fine example to follow. An economic mess of a country for the last 80 years. Propped up be Britain before and during the war, then the U.S. to prevent the uber lefties there turning it communist, more recently by the EU. And then here you have people on here urging us to follow their example. Let’s take to the streets, throw petrol bombs at police and achieve nothing whatsoever except looking like fools in front if the entire world.

• A proud people not afraid to stand up to the powerful.

• What’s proud about borrowing all around you, squandering it all and then kicking off when it’s time to pay back what you borrowed? What’s proud about a non-functioning economy that relies on others to prop it up over and over again?

Of course it’s not the Greeks’ fault – oh no, those evil bondholders (pension companies etc. upon which we all rely) are to blame for expecting their loans back.

• Hm, now we have to wait until the end of next year. Jeez, does that mean after the general elections in Germany? Surely that must be a coincidence, I doubt Schaeuble would be screwing us over for his own political gains…

• Hugh we are now in the 6th year of this crisis, Herr schauble seems to think it’s 4 years.

• Fine Gael getting sovereignty back for Ireland for the second time :-)

• With FF policies, no brains of your own?

• @ Ned

You haven’t heard then that Germany is pushing for us and others to lose more of our powers then!

It seems if Herr Merkel is going to get her way (again!), Ireland is going to have to go to another referendum eventually. Yes, yet another one which will be run and re-run till an Irish government get the decision they want!

German Chancellor Angela Merkel is pushing a scheme that would purport to give an unelected official within the increasingly powerful but unpopular European Union the authority to veto the budgets of elected national governments. If approved, the EU would have more power over its formerly sovereign members than even the U.S. federal government has been able to usurp from American states.

Speaking to the German Parliament before an EU summit on October 18, Merkel declared that it was time for the emerging Brussels-based super-state to have even more powers. “We have made good progress on strengthening fiscal discipline with the fiscal pact but we are of the opinion, and I speak for the whole German government on this, that we could go a step further by giving Europe real rights of intervention in national budgets,” she told the Bundestag lower house, drawing swift criticism.

Read the rest here: http://bigginsblog.wordpress.com/2012/10/27/germany-merkel-calls-for-eu-veto-power-over-national-budgets/

• sure we could all be dead by 2014. Wishing our lives away waiting for German Charity.

• Considering the Irish people these guys have met ie. Enda, Bertie, Cowen, and Noonan it is no wonder they think all Irish are people with special needs.

• Does this mean we can all stop perpetuating this “recession” myth yet?

• No chance of that here Dick.
      Far too positive a course of action.

• It’s a actually a Depression we are in (historically they are never called this until history looks back at the situation). We would love to be positive, but when we continue to borrow €50M per day for our overspending and fraudulent bank taxes, with absolutely NO plan to pay off our debts, how are we “on the right track”?

We certainly are on “the right track” for those who are financially enslaving and owning us using the debt trap.

Politicians do not have the courage to confront the demanding electorate and cut spending to balance our budget. We are living off a national credit card that is beyond maxed out.

Dump this fraudulent banking guarantee and banking recapitalisation poison that should have been put to the people in a referendum. Nationalise our central bank and control our own money supply – it is the only solution. Private owners of central banks results in misery for a countries citizens.

• must have passed the ferroro roche out to the kaisers

• Woo Hoo,we’re special!!!

• The progress of Ireland in economic downturn and the fighting spirit in the financial crisis they were facing is very appreciable. Ireland has been increasing various business opportunities as the people can get good options to buy an existing business which will be helpful in enhancing the economic growth for the individual and the country.

• I see all the whingers are out again!

• Another positive endorsement from the Germans. You know, the people who hold the purse strings, make the decisions where Europe is concerned at present? Though you wouldn’t know from most comments on this thread. Greece some say? FFS. Seems many won’t be happy till we do need a 2nd bailout…

• Sounds like the Ireland as we know it has come and gone especially when they set us (Ireland) up at time when the pressure of the EU banking supervisors are in play whilst our sovereignty is in jeopardy due to the inability of this government to finalise a deal or foresee where this country is going!…..next year the legacy debt will be dealt with only if this country agrees with the somewhat BS remarks of Dragi of the ability to say what Irelands future IS especially when it comes to our budgets! A very sad day will come next year because the only person in the EU who cares about our standard of living is the Irish! The “Fighting Irish”..has come and gone..the arena has been packed with big bond holders, bankers, etc..and we the people will be fecked! Time to stand up and vote No! Yeah it may take longer but let Ireland hold the purse strings and use the possible exit veto to our advantage! Ireland cannot be bought systematically by the EU bankers!

• Snivelling crawling spinmeisters. Live horse and you’ll get promises and patronising pats on the head .

• Ireland is special because they will wait nipping at the bait until we ( German paymasters) have had our general election, returned the lovely Angela, who will then instruct Ireland to shut up and pay up.

The banks and pension funds from Germany, France, Netherlands and Finland ARE the unsecured bondholders that heaped cheap money into the building booms that beset Portugal,Ireland and Spain to the tune of over €3Trillion. These countries are insisting on the bondholders being re payed because they would rather see others suffer than take the ignominy of owning up to their failed gamble.
    Furthermore, they take the profits re payed from the gamble and use it in a new “fund” to lend to these countries to “bail them out” again at another profit.
    Of course we are a special case…we are complying in silence like the good monks & nuns that we are.
    However, come this Decembers budget I think the coping class here will be knocking down the walls of the monastery and raising their voices in anger to finally say…Enough is Enough. I know I will be.

• Humans are strange beings. They confuse the thoughts within their minds with the reality outside their minds. Criticising or negatively commenting on other human beings is not action, and so it is completely illogical to expect a reaction in external reality. Perhaps statements of unhappiness and dissatisfaction are simply a part of a social bonding ritual.

Add New Comment