You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE DÁIL HAS passed a controversial amendment that allows funds to side-step 10% stamp duty if they lease back houses to the State for social housing.
Last month, the government moved to introduce a new 10% rate of stamp duty on bulk purchases of 10 homes or more last month.
However, the amendment that came before the Dáil this evening will exempt institutional investors from the charge under these circumstances.
Sinn Féin’s Eoin Ó Broin TD was among TDs to criticise the length of the debate, which was given an hour in the Dáil schedule, accusing the government of “not playing by the rules”.
Sinn Féin withdrew a pairing arrangement whereby opposition TDs agree to abstain in a vote if a government TD is forced to be absent from the Dáil due to an unavoidable appointment.
However, the amendment was passed with 74 votes in favour to 59 against.
Speaking during the debate, Minister for Finance Paschal Donohue, who tabled the amendment, said that funds have a role to play in the “provision of rental accommodation which otherwise I believe in many cases would not be built”.
“If we acknowledge we need to build homes at scale, at speed, if we acknowledge that there is a burning urgency and need for the supply of new homes to be quickly accelerated, if we look at what the government is already do with the money that we’re making available… is there a role for the private sector in this?” Donohue said.
The new stamp duty change is aimed at tackling so-called cuckoo funds buying up housing developments from first-time buyers but opposition members have said the new amendment signifies “the white flag of surrender” to cuckoo funds.
Housing Minister Darragh O’Brien has denied these accusations and has accused the opposition of “scaremongering”.
He has argued that the amendment is time-limited and is being brought forward to protect the delivery of social housing for almost 2,500 families by the end of the year.
“In relation to the amendment that we have laid down later this evening, it is to ensure that around 2,400 leases that are currently going through the system, which will be used for social housing and social housing only, would be exempted from the 10% because there would be a risk that some of these would not go ahead,” O’Brien told RTÉ’s Drivetime programme earlier today.
Also speaking on Drivetime, Ó Broin said that “at least 1,000″ of the 2,400 homes referred to already have leases signed, so they are not at risk as the minister claims.
He added that the State should buy the remainder of the homes instead of leasing them from the investors as this would represent better value for money in the long-term.
“If the buyer knows that they’re going to get an exceptionally high rent guaranteed and index-linked over 25 years, that pushes up the cost of that property and then of course the taxpayer has to pay a very hefty bill,” he said.
“If the minister was serious about tackling the housing crisis, he would not only increase the capital expenditure as has been recommended by myself and ESRI by borrowing at virtually zero interest rates, they would get those developments back up and running and they would ensure that on all of those developments that there would be social, affordable rental and affordable purchase homes, instead of lining the pockets of institutional investors at great expense to the taxpayer.”
Stamp duty
Taoiseach Micheál Martin in the Dáil today. Oireachtas.ie
Oireachtas.ie
The new higher rate of stamp duty is the main component of the government’s response to the ongoing controversy surrounding so-called ‘cuckoo funds’ like the one that bought up the majority of the Mullen Park housing estate in Maynooth earlier this year.
In the Dáil earlier today, Taoiseach Micheal Martin was accused of helping so-called cuckoo funds to evade measures aimed at limiting their role in the housing market with this “sneaky amendment”.
Sinn Féin’s Mary Lou McDonald said the Taoiseach has “not reigned in funds” but is actually facilitating their actions and incentivising them to buy up homes, forcing regular buyers to compete with large investment funds.
Related Reads
Donohoe says government's new housing measures will act as 'strong deterrent' to cuckoo funds
Dr Rory Hearne: Investors received a clear message from Government last night - 'keep buying, you're flying'
'I feel constant shame at our situation': Your stories of Ireland's housing crisis
“Don’t pretend this helps people stuck in the rental market,” she said.
“This is about big bucks and funds muscling in with the help of this government, into the property market,” she said.
“Same old Fianna Fáil, same old Fine Gael,” she told the Taoiseach, accusing Leo Varadkar and the Taoiseach of living in a “cosy little bubble”.
The Taoiseach moved to defend the government’s plans, stating they “can’t turn off the tap” immediately.
Martin said direct build is the focus on the government, but that the pandemic has slowed their progress.
“We need more houses and right now we don’t have enough supply,” he admitted.
Yesterday, when questioned over the amendment, Martin said the government’s response was being “distorted” with the Opposition focusing in on one single amendment, “as if that constitutes the entirety of Government policy, which of course it does not”.
- With reporting by Rónán Duffy, Lauren Boland and the Press Association
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
185 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Aleks Ander: not saying I agree with this policy but I assume it’s down to the fact they are so far behind in building houses and with costs going up, building social homes will be even more expensive… It should mean more houses for social in the long run but problem is money leaving Ireland and will the council be responsible for upkeep etc….
@Aleks Ander: I agree . Totally dishonest with the Irish people. They are actually spending hundreds of millions on PR firms to produce lies , spin and manage us as they go. Something has to give because they are destroying our country and everyday lives . They don’t give a toss and most of them are totally incompetent. I do not know the answer and I am very cynical of political parties and politicians.
@Aleks Ander: That govt wld not have leg but for the support of DAIL majority of TD and TD it them u need to lok at and yes the gove is bad but wld not survive and policies but for DAUL SUPPORT YORU TDS See how the amendment goes . U cant hold govt ( exec arm of stae to account electedd by DAIL only TD that make the daul. They are the only one we can hold to account
@Aleks Ander: yes its bad behodent to the eu but that govt (executive arm of state ) wld not survive without the support of DAUL ( Majority of TD ) see how ammendemnt goes .
@Aleks Ander: I hope people remember this at the next election, ff/fg need to be wiped off the map. I always thought nothing could be worse than FF or FG in power, but the two together? Good grief
@Realist: The problem will be young people leaving Ireland, already i am seeing this, Irish , Brazilian, Italians, Spanish etc all working in the IT trade. All looking to leave, companies offering working from home now and in any European country should be a worry for any landlord… There will be nobody left to rent…best fo luck to the landlords.
@Aleks Ander: agreed to a large extent. Playing to the social media outcry and then sneaking in exemptions on the sly. They may as well not have introduced a sham 10% stamp duty because now it doesn’t apply to the very purchases that it should apply to!
@Realist:
You describe it so accurately in a nutshell!
Chickens coming home to roost,given these necessary mad panic Govt decisions to deliver some more homes at any cost, all caused by past Government’s brutal failures in housing policies.
Please don’t blame this Govt alone as this problem has been brewing for over 30 years, given damaging ST boom bust cycles in the sector during that period which has led to current chaos, with no one in the Establishment seemingly with foresight or gumption to call a halt, &take the long-term view through proper planning, looking hard at demographics coming down the tracks.
A failure of Statehood has gotten us here, make no mistake! And an all-party Govt is what’s required now to get us out of the mess, by formulating a 20-yr plan like with China!
So we the tax payer will pay the full value of the houses back In a 20 year lease to an investments fund that bought up the houses preventing tax payers from owning them in the first place. You couldnt make it up. And they are encouraged to do so by getting tax write offs that small landlords don’t get and they now side step the 10% levy.
@Derek Moran: Exactly. Why can’t the government just do what they did years ago, ie just directly pay builders to build houses on public land? The government would then have full control over allocation the amount of houses for rent, cost rental and for sale at cost price.
The FG faithful of Dublin Bay South will still vote FG even with this confirmation that the future of home ownership for everyone,not just those with a wish to buy a city centre apartment,has been abandoned to foreign vulture funds.
@Peter McGlynn: FG candidates in DBS did not get to the quota in the last election, not sure why people think this is a FG constituency.
Wexford is far more a FG constituency , as there is always one , sometimes two FG TDs
They are handing Sinn Fein the next election with this carry on. They are clearly not interested in solving the housing crisis, and instead are content to tinker around the edges to give the appearance of being concerned about it, while really preserving the status quo.
@David Corrigan: The first time in over a century that FF & FG had to form a coalition to get into power because neither of them had enough seats to form a coalition with a junior party. Things are certainly looking bad alright.
@Kevin Finnegan: Well that’s the way it’s been for years. How more run down can it get?? It’s has already been destroyed by corrupt in-ept politicians. At this stage hopefully with something, anything, new the only way could be up.
@Chris Gaffney: Those dangers you describe have manifested already under the current government of Fine Gael/Fianna Fail/Green Party. Generations of citizens from newborns to 25/30 year olds will never be in a position to own their own home. That’s what FF/FG together as one have done to us. It’s Grotesque, Unbelievable, Bizarre & Unprecedented. Two fingers to our beloved nation, a giant leap backwards.
What is it going to take for this country to wake up and realise how much is being robbed from under our noses ? Where are the young people most affected by this housing crisis ? They should be organising protests that put the water movement to shame but just a deafening silence. Silence is consent and nothing will change until FFG are shown the door.
@Declan Doherty: The young will leave, I myself don’t leave any money in this country, currently purchasing land abroad for 10k and will build my own home and hopefully open a business
@Sean Walsh: 2 kids in college, neither have any intention of staying in Ireland, they see it as a country set up to make young people pay as much as possible to pay for those who came before them. As soon as they finish up we like you are out of here, retiring early abroad. And before anybody starts on about their education being paid for by them, we have paid over 50k in stamp duty and property charges alone, never mind all other taxes. My father in law has never paid property tax, never paid more than a couple of grand stamp duty, never paid any college fees despite having three kids educated to that level. Why would anybody stay here to pay for past and present mistakes, hugely overpaid senior public servants, TDs,etc.massive property prices, huge insurance costs, the list goes on and on. Why would any young person stay here.
@WiseUp: Not so, Bertie Ahern and his government was so popular at one stage in the noughties that he almost pulled off an overall all majority for FF in one election, and Jack Lynch was also very popular in the 70′s.
The reason why this lot are so bad and out of touch is, the problem has been identified by them and the solution has also been identified, but they continue to fudge and do whats required, for fear of confronting the narrow vested interests.
@WiseUp: pretty much. I still feel like Bellenda with iphone Joan and AK47 during the Irish Water years was the most obnoxious government ever, or Brian Cowens was the worst government ever for the future. At least those 2 in recent Irish history come to mind. This one is just more of the same shower of muck, so consider it the least progressive one.
@Sean: It’s the same government we’ve ever had, it’s the neverending reign of FF & FG. The only thing that changes is the public becoming more and more aware of who they’re actually serving.
Looks like emigration is becoming more and more necessary to set up any kind of stable life.
It’s hard to be able to really settle down if you can’t as much as hang a picture on a wall and face the possibility of being booted out of rented accommodation at the drop of a hat.
@Damien Leahy: Paschal is already on that task. One of his assistants who we pay over 100K per year to, is on the job. It would suit them better if they got those assistants to work on solutions.
@Alan Wright: their game is old, They can do what they want as long as they have a dig at sf. Hopefully the Irish will wake up before the next election
@Alan Wright: Yes he did – as do FG, they complain that SF as main opposition party shouldn’t be opposed to government policy. You feel they almost wish they were in opposition themselves.
They may scrape through in DBS as its a blue shirt breeding ground, but they shouldn’t get complacent if they pull it off, as the electorate are waiting for them in the long grass.
Yesterdays poll figures on the Journal, probably represents a far more accurate picture of where Irish voters feelings are at right now!
I read a Tweet the other day by UnHerd editor Aris Roussinos that I think is worth sharing. While you may not agree with everything I think it is accurately scathing:
Modern Ireland is the gonzo nightmare image of what Blair-Cameron UK would have become without our sudden, unfinished, still-contested course correction: a pure colony of global capital, housing crisis worse than London, unchallenged neoliberal political consensus.
Their scolds are a thousand times worse than ours, their media more fawning to power, their political culture more technocratic and lifeless: everything wrong with the UK, Ireland has somehow managed to magnify to gigantic proportions all on its own.
@Cillian Lynch: Brexiters still thinking Brexit was some sort of blow to “global capital”. Poor things, imagine beeing st*pid enough to think Bojo is fighting the fight of the ordinary guy.
We’d probably need a semi-state modular home building company at this stage. There probably would have been a housing crisis without covid. But now it must be a housing apocalypse.
@Davey Ohanlon: That’s actually a really good idea, a crowdfund to at least ensure younger people go out and vote or register to vote. Also no harm in a few motorway billboards spelling out the top 10 (of many) cockups of our current leaders who are only looking after themselves and the elite.
This government a tempory little arrangement who haven’t got a mandate to be in power are bouncing their evil ways of each other,to keep out SINN Fein…. That’s why its gotten so bad, it all stems from the boom bust and both were responsible for that, not just FF…… Mick Wallace was warning us about these investment funds but no one was listening to him…. And thers nothing you can do about it…
Favourite inflation is coming... buy physical silver.
Jul 7th 2021, 4:54 PM
Some day the majority of citizens will finally understand that our common enemy is our corrupt banking system and complicit politicians. Both of these organisations depend on debt to have power over the people. People not educated to understand. Remove the ability of banks to create debt and the politicians to deficit spend and our world would be a whole lot better
I know how politics works , I have studied it a long time and this was open deception. I’ve never voted SF and I don’t really want to but I think it’s the only option now at this stage.
This is not the fianna fail or fianna gael that was founded early in the last century. This is a bunch of people mostly school teachers who have only one objective and that is to feather their nests. Don’t have any thoughts for this great country. Shame on them
A family member I know was selling a house recently. Two couples were bidding. An insurance company came in with a higher bid and took it. Will rent it out to the council. Shameful.
@Declan Sweeney: thats right Declan. Quick! Look over there! The government is literally prostituting this country and its citizens to vested interests and has demonstrated it literally doesn’t give a toss about out younger generatios. No health system, no housing, a crumbling judicial system and gross mismanagement of our finances. Your response? Asking if SF will vote on a motion that will pass anyway. If it wasn’t so sad that people like you have your head buried so deep in the sand you dont known.which way is up anymore I’d laugh at you
@Nan: Name them? They’re every single member of the FF/FG/G Dáil. They all voted by the whip. Every one of them is to blame. You get what you vote for.
Govt win 74-59 =133 There is 164 TD’s (I think) in the Dail. 31 didn’t vote or abstained. Wonder why and who they are. I wonder did anyone vote twice or vote for someone else or are they too principled and ethical.
@Barrycelona: I was just going to post the same comment (I thought it was 160). This will be on the Dail record if you look it up in a few days. It’s a disgrace. Good to know we can’t count on the opposition TDs either, whoever abstained or maybe even voted for it
Why is everybody so surprised and why are most people putting the blame at FFG’s door SF have got into hot water by refusing to back some housing projects Where are the left, PBP and most Independents Their silence is deafening. Another by election and 3 of the big boys are top of the charts to win, yet again. We all know we are being dealt empty promises and the people who vote, vote them in because FFG look out for their interests. They can invest in Cuckoo co’s and get big returns. The housing crisis has been going on for over 5 years. Why?? And what about ‘ saving the plant’ FfG are being allowed to get away with stunts like this because the people voting for them have other interests. It is despicable what FFG have done but there is a simple way to stop them. Vote!!!!
@Watchful Axe: think is 20 or 25 years. Then the Cuckoo fund still owns the properties and the council will need to enter a new long-term lease as we can be assured, FF/FG will still not build houses over the next 20 years.
@Mickety Dee: The Council maintains the properties in these type of contracts. So, its cost on top of cost. That’s why it’s much more economical in the medium/long run for councils to build properties as they retain the asset too.
Has everyone noticed how the cost of the National Children’s Hospital is doomed to surpass €1.4 billion. Just take into context the insanity of this spend in European terms. It completely blows every tax source out the plug hole with this bill. Insanity
Its like they’re in a hurry to bring us back to dire times when people lived in substandard homes, because the way things are going that all the average person will be able to afford, sad times
@M Bowe: OK, so I’ll help you out with your maths homework just this once, hope my figures are correct ;-)
The vote was 74-59. There are 159 TDs at the moment. 83 in Government and 76 in opposition. 26 didn’t vote. So if the 76 opposing TDs voted against it they would have beaten the 74 voting for it. That’s assuming all of the opposition would vote against it.
Unfortunately 26 of our elected TDs either didn’t bother turning up, or abstained from the vote. Will be interesting to see the dail records to see if all of the 74 were in government parties or if any independents or others voted for it.
Totally corrupt paying 52 of net income in rent letter in the post yesterday up another 8 percent on the pup for last 18 months never missed a payment be better off to go out and get arrested and already know at over 50 I might as well jump in the Liffey
Remember the outrage from FFG . The promise the vulture companies would be brought to heel. This is the same FFG supported by the Greens whose only objective is to preserve the status quo of big business. Martin the most despicable Taoisach. That says a lot considering what came before him.
So free houses really do exist in this state. For vulture fund investors who buy them and lease back to councils in crazy rental agreements which undertake to reimburse the purchase price plus. Then return these properties ( citizens homes) back as fully owned assets of the vultures.
Who are these investors in such funds and are they making or influencing these crazy decisions????
Justice herself, famed for fair dealing,
by blindness had not lost her feeling;
her left hand, which the scales should hold,
had often dropped them, bribed with gold;
We all really need to get real! Consistantly in recent times whenever Opposition Parties raise an objection to some part of Government policy it makes a headline piece in Journal.ie & some of Social Media!..I know a local Election is on this week, but the Taosaigh is right on this occasion. Opposition for Opposition sake, just noise! A bit of Balance Journal.!
@anne: Seems like you’re not too bothered Anne. Probably think all those moaning youngsters need to buck up and work harder than they already are to buy their first home.
@anne: other countries have a rental system that doesn’t enslave and diminish the standard of living of its citizens.
Consistent tax breaks to banks, corporations, and vulture funds only benefit the elite, at the cost of generations of Irish taxpayers.
Show me an example of these breaks, charitable statuses where they are benefiting Irish society?
Pyramid, ponzi, parasitic, putrid politics. The FFG get rich quick scheme, they’ll be great! Sure you voted for this so I wish them good luck in their conscious free bargain basement devaluation of your pensions and savings. It’s only great crack to see the delusional crowd think that they can remain untouched by this debacle. Mr Magoo politicing.
Council own the land esbjerg belongs to us Irish belongs to us trades in Dublin get the same salaries all over ireland ff@fg say we cannot build the amount of houses needed so the houses have be so expenses cannot understand they can borrow money @zero interest ???????????????????????
Someone in the government or senior civil service is writing this bill in the cold awareness of preserving their income. That or those people should be rooted out and tried for treason.
They are completely blind to the damage they have done to our young generation and to themselves in the next election. I’ll never vote for any of these ever again!!
Generation rent slave, learn to grow potatoes again. Emigration of more young Irish talent.
It’s as if the British landlord model and the Viking slave port of Dublin, never left.
It is definitely time for a “Liberator”, once again in Irish society.
We need Irish Emancipation, from the carpet baggers.
Netanyahu in Budapest in spite of war crimes warrant as Hungary withdraws from the ICC
Updated
21 mins ago
GDPR
Commissioner Michael McGrath says proposals to cut GDPR red tape is ‘forthcoming’
24 mins ago
As it happened
Trump hits EU goods with 20% tariff and rails against foreigners 'pillaging' US
Updated
21 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say