You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Peadar Toíbín, Ellen Troy and Emer Tóibín The Journal

Aontú leader dismisses abortion as 'media bubble' issue at party's manifesto launch

The party launched its ‘common sense’ manifesto today in Dublin.

AONTÚ’S MANIFESTO LAUNCH got off to a difficult start earlier today when no copies of the document were available for members of the media to read.

Forty minutes into the press conference, after party leader Peadar Tóibín had delivered his opening remarks and already opened the floor to questions about the manifesto, copies of a photocopied version of the document were passed out. 

The first question was unsurprisingly: “You said it’s a detailed document, where is it?… How are we supposed to ask you questions about this document if we can’t read it?” 

“It’s on the way,” was Tóibín’s response, adding: “I would ask you to ask questions on the issues that we have discussed at the moment.”

During his opening remarks which spanned 20 minutes, the Meath West TD began by saying it is his party’s goal that the “objectives of the proclamation of the Irish Republic are realized in government”.

Tóibín outlined how housing is top of his list of priorities and specifically highlighted the need for the government to bring the over 100,000 vacant homes in the state back into use.

He also spoke about introducing a policy dubbed “Operation Shamrock” which would focus on attracting Irish workers overseas back home and spoke at length about cracking down on waste in government spending. 

One of the core pledges put forward to tackle this was the creation of a junior minister in the Department of the Taoiseach with direct responsibility for ensuring efficiency and preventing waste in the public sector.

The sole TD for the party, which is running a candidate in all 43 constituencies in this election, also highlighted issues in healthcare including GP shortages during his opening address. 

‘Healthier pints’

Toíbín also outlined how his party wants to support publicans, by pushing for a reduction of 10 cents on the unit of alcohol sold in a pub.

“We want to help the local pubs in the country. Irish pubs are well known around the world, but we’re losing Irish pubs currently. 

“To give a reduction in that price of that alcohol would help, obviously, people return to the pubs. It would make those pubs stronger and more viable,” Tóibín said.

He added: 

“And I do believe that a unit of alcohol consumed in the pub is a healthier point.”

Tóibín said this is because of the social dimension of drinking in the pub, compared to drinking at home and the level of supervision in terms of quantities. 

Abortion

Tóibín did not comment on the issue of abortion during his remarks.

Aontú was set up in 2019 by Tóibín who had left Sinn Féin the previous year over its stance on abortion.

The party’s website proclaims it to be a “100% pro-life party” and states that abortion is the “human rights debate of our generation”.

Asked by The Journal, why, given this, it was not an issue he addressed, Tóibín said: 

“Very simply, outside of the media bubble, this is not coming up on the doors at all at the moment.”

“What we want to do is to make sure that every mother in the country has the economic confidence to be able to raise her children.”

After a follow-up question was asked, the party’s Meath East candidate Emer Tóibín interjected and said “can I come in there?” but Peadar Tóibín continued to answer the questions. 

An hour into the press conference, another journalist asked if the three other speakers on stage – Emer Tóibín, Becky Kealy and Ellen Troy -  could be introduced and if one of them could answer a question, Tóibín responded: “Tá brón orm” and introduced the three. 

Included in the party’s manifesto commitments is a pledge to oppose abortions on grounds of gender or disability. Currently, women in Ireland can access abortion in Ireland up to 12 weeks of pregnancy and do not need to disclose any reason. 

The manifesto also pledges to support full freedom of conscience for everyone working in the medical sphere and protect the 3-day wait period.

The party has also pledged to provide children’s allowance for mothers from the fourth month of pregnancy. 

Separately, it was also put to the party that there is no section on climate change or the environment in the manifesto. Tóibín said the issue of the environment is “threaded through the document” and added that Aontú does believe in man-made climate change. 

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin today ruled out Aontú as a coalition partner in any future government. 

Earlier this week, during the 10-way leaders debate on RTÉ, Tóbín ruled out going into government with Fine Gael or the Greens and stated that his preference would be Fianna Fáil. 

“We feel that Fianna Fáil is an empty, hollow husk,” Tóibín said, adding that it would be “easier to direct Fianna Fáil in a government.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

74 Comments
    Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop
    Nov 21st 2024, 3:20 PM

It’s not coming up at the doors because abortion is considered a settled matter by the vast majority of the country, we voted to stop restricting women’s healthcare.

Aontú are really a one-issue party, they were formed purely on the abortion issue and its their number one priority above all else.

One trick party’s are a danger to a country just look at the UK with UKIP and Brexit…they got what they wanted and it hurt people and then they didn’t know what else to do.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Nov 21st 2024, 3:41 PM

@Martin Bishop: No surprise, he ignored Sinn Féin members voting to support legislation for abortion for two years and then left whem he realised that he couldn’t change it so ignoring the consensus of support by the vast majority in the Republic is no great surprise.

Mute brendan hackett
    Favourite brendan hackett
    Nov 21st 2024, 4:47 PM

@William Slevin: If you know of anyone who might have committed a murder, you should be reporting this to the Gardaí.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Nov 21st 2024, 4:48 PM

@William Slevin: Hopefully this country will never take the backward step you wish for. A step which allowed Savita Halappanavar to die needlessly.Your opinion is your opinion but do not force your beliefs onto others. Ireland has had to put up with enough of this clergy enforced rubbish to last an eternity.

Mute FoxyBoiiYT
    Favourite FoxyBoiiYT
    Nov 21st 2024, 4:50 PM

@William Slevin: Don’t trust the electorate to get it right? Typical BS from you. Irish people voted overwhelmingly to allow abortion, ye lost BADLY and never stopped moaning. You love talking down to people, a perfect match to Peadar

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Nov 21st 2024, 4:54 PM

@Martin Bishop: Well it is very evident to me that you are not well read in Dail reports or the happening in the Dail every day. Toibin is the one TD that holds the Government to account every time . He , along with some very good Independents are the real opposition. Toibin is by a mile the best speaker and worker in the Dail.

Mute Nemethon
    Favourite Nemethon
    Nov 21st 2024, 5:23 PM

@William Slevin: William, neither you nor I will ever face the personal decision of whether to have an abortion. That choice belongs solely to the woman. While it takes two to create a pregnancy, it is the woman who bears the physical and emotional weight, and ultimately, the responsibility of deciding what’s best for her.

I am, and always will be, pro-choice because I believe in respecting women’s right to decide for themselves. They have the right to choose whether to continue a pregnancy or seek an abortion, and that decision deserves our respect, even if it differs from our personal

Mute A W
    Favourite A W
    Nov 21st 2024, 6:11 PM

@William Slevin: can we start rising children under trees if can afford cost of feeding them… ..

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Nov 21st 2024, 6:13 PM

@William Slevin: Back in your box little Willy, you are an opinionated Old Testament type, no one wants to hear your warblings you frustrated old melt.

Mute A W
    Favourite A W
    Nov 21st 2024, 6:14 PM

@William Slevin: man’s issues dooo

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 21st 2024, 6:50 PM

@Gerry Lamont: she died of sepsis, it’s officially declared on a HSE report

Mute brendan hackett
    Favourite brendan hackett
    Nov 21st 2024, 8:24 PM

@William Slevin: No matter what you think, abortion is not murder. End of.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Nov 21st 2024, 8:30 PM

@William Slevin: actually 33.4% of the population did NOT vote against abortion, nice attempt to inflate the number though.

Mute Richard Hennessy
    Favourite Richard Hennessy
    Nov 21st 2024, 10:50 PM

@William Slevin: hopefully with modern birth control u might not get pregnant William

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Nov 21st 2024, 11:05 PM

@William Slevin: some man to pontificate over ‘trusting the electorate’ when you are moaning about the will of 68% of the people.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 22nd 2024, 1:32 AM

@Richard Hennessy:
    Nobody should get pregnant these days if they don’t want to. There are numerous options for contraception, abortion shouldn’t be one of them.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 22nd 2024, 1:39 AM

@Paul Fahey:
    It was 33.1%. Do you really think anyone would try to inflate the number by 0.3% ?

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 22nd 2024, 1:41 AM

@brendan hackett:
    100% of aborted babies disagree…

Mute Donal Sweeney
    Favourite Donal Sweeney
    Nov 22nd 2024, 12:25 PM

@Tired Jim: it’s a well documented fact she asked for a termination,was refused,sepsis then set in from which she died

Mute Fiona Wyse
    Favourite Fiona Wyse
    Nov 21st 2024, 3:28 PM

This saddens me, Eimer Tobin does absolutely sterling work in my area on the issue of public transport, with which we are having massive problems. However, I cannot give my vote to her because it just doesn’t align with my own thoughts on abortion. I absolutely do not have the right to tell another woman how many children she should have and, if she should bear a child with a severe physical disability which is going to impact greatly on her life and, the life of her existing children.

Mute K O
    Favourite K O
    Nov 21st 2024, 3:37 PM

@Fiona Wyse: we say how the lady in America as a one trick pony got on.

Mute Adam H2022
    Favourite Adam H2022
    Nov 21st 2024, 9:33 PM

@Fiona Wyse: Sounds like something Hitler would say when you talk about disabled children. The WOKE left in this country are really terrifying at times the way they speak.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 22nd 2024, 1:53 AM

@Fiona Wyse:
    Nobody is telling anyone how many children to have. Have you never heard of contraception?

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 22nd 2024, 9:09 AM

@Adam H2022: Lol! *dont tred on me* but like do what i say

Mute pauley870
    Favourite pauley870
    Nov 22nd 2024, 10:08 AM

@Fiona Wyse: we’ll said Fiona,we now have 20,000 babies exterminations a year,let’s try and increase this to 30.000

Mute marie hynes
    Favourite marie hynes
    Nov 23rd 2024, 7:20 AM

@Adam H2022: there are no disability or respite for families or support for carers on this county. If you want to help disabled children so much or judge woman who v make decisions for their habits, maybe make the life of families with disabled coldhearted bearable and not punish them with means tested carers allowance, no respite or services for their disabled child?

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 21st 2024, 3:13 PM

Oh man, launching the BIG MANIFESTO without actually having said manifesto to hand / printed——– OOCH!!!

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Nov 21st 2024, 3:22 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: a fairly schoolboy error alright. Obviously, Peader was impressive & on the money for those ill thought out badly worded referendums earlier this year & he did well in that ’10 peader’ debate last week but, all in all, shouldn’t every party have their manifesto out there long before 8 days to the polling booth???

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Nov 21st 2024, 3:24 PM

@Kevvy kerrr: ’10 LEADER’ debate, damn predictive text

Mute Chaotic State
    Favourite Chaotic State
    Nov 21st 2024, 4:37 PM

How can Aontu and leader Peadar Tobin
    be trusted on any of the big issues facing the country when they refuse to accept the result of the referendum held in 2018 when the majority of the people voted to amend the constitution on abortion.
    In an Trump like move, Peadar has stated that if elected he will push to introduce amendments to the current legislation on abortion in an effort to undermine the will of the majority of the people.
    Regardless of Aontu policy on all other issues, the very fact that their party aim to overrun the referendum held in 2018 should trigger a warning light in the minds of the electorate.

Mute john salmon
    Favourite john salmon
    Nov 21st 2024, 4:59 PM

@Chaotic State: he doesn’t have to agree with the results of a referendum and is perfectly entitled to try to get his views into law using democratic means. That’s what voting is all about .

Mute Nodon
    Favourite Nodon
    Nov 21st 2024, 5:26 PM

@Chaotic State:The factors that influenced a yes vote in 2018 were the commitment to a three day wait period a twelve week limit. Aren’t those parties and candidates who are now proposing to abolish those also rejecting the will of the people.

Mute Con Cussed
    Favourite Con Cussed
    Nov 21st 2024, 7:54 PM

@William Slevin: You are writing through the rear end of you a_us. Accept the democratic rights of others and move on. You and your Trump crew are the most undemocratic bunch of i__ots!

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 22nd 2024, 1:57 AM

@Con Cussed: Do you respect the fact that Trump won the US presidential election? It sounds like you don’t.

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Nov 21st 2024, 3:18 PM

Another pro-life shinner. Is irony dead?
    1 TD, 8 councillors, no MEPs and 2000 members in the 32 counties. Barely counts as a party yet he is never off the airwaves or the telly. There are bigger groupings in the Dail that get virtually no coverage.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 21st 2024, 3:21 PM

@Dermot Blaine: I see that Aontú’s website refers to ‘the south of Ireland’ and ‘the north of Ireland’ – Peadar must forget that he quit the ‘Republican Movement’ at times.

Mute K O
    Favourite K O
    Nov 21st 2024, 3:36 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Dah! He’s factually correct!

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 21st 2024, 3:37 PM

@K O: Malin Head is in the south?

Mute Sara McSweeney
    Favourite Sara McSweeney
    Nov 21st 2024, 4:20 PM

@K O: it’s Ireland and Northern Ireland

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Nov 21st 2024, 4:22 PM

@Sara McSweeney: Shinners won’t use the term Northern Ireland.

Mute Stanley Marsh
    Favourite Stanley Marsh
    Nov 21st 2024, 4:32 PM

@K O: Yes, always greatly amused me that the furthest part of the ‘south’ that is north is further north that the furthest part of the ‘north’ is north.

Maybe ‘Northern Ireland’ should have been called ‘North Eastern Ireland’ for clarity.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Nov 21st 2024, 4:34 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: but thats what the majority of people of people say Northern Ireland Southern Ireland

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Nov 21st 2024, 4:36 PM

@Sheila McNulty: That’s not what Aontú say.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Nov 21st 2024, 4:54 PM

@Brendan O’Brien: Aontù is a republican party.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Nov 21st 2024, 5:00 PM

@Sara McSweeney: The north of Ireland is part of Ireland.

Mute A W
    Favourite A W
    Nov 21st 2024, 6:21 PM

@Sara McSweeney: will be nord of Ireland’s soo ssoon…
    Becouse
    thushnamies coming from afriko or asia etc…
    Also 7 or 10mill not much diff as
    stiilll we too small toobe divided against orange and apples…by from scenarios of top of 0000.1oldmuney

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Nov 21st 2024, 9:53 PM

@William Slevin: I didn’t say anything to you, I pointed out that Aontu are barely a political party in my comment, not aimed at anyone in particular. Not sure what comment I’m meant to have on copy and paste

Mute Fidgenti
    Favourite Fidgenti
    Nov 22nd 2024, 7:55 AM

@A W: So you failed English in the Leaving Cert I presume. I’ve heard a better standard of English being spoken in tents along the canal than this drivel you’re spewing.

Mute JoeJoe Kilbride
    Favourite JoeJoe Kilbride
    Nov 24th 2024, 11:52 AM

@Sheila McNulty: no, only people from Northern Ireland refer to Ireland as ‘Southern Ireland’

Mute Eileen McGoldrick
    Favourite Eileen McGoldrick
    Nov 21st 2024, 4:39 PM

I raised the abortion stance with him when he called to my door on Tuesday afternoon so I’m disappointed to hear that statement. It is the main reason that I won’t vote for his party.

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Nov 21st 2024, 5:50 PM

Not terrible, but I wish that Toibin would have taken a stronger stance on stopping parties who are running for election like Labour and Fine Gael from introducing abortion up until birth as well as repealing the nasty 12-week legislation. For too long, the Irish people have been tricked into believing that abortions are harmless because the vocabulary has been changed sneakily (unborn child to foetus, partial-birth abortion to late-term abortion etc.) and those who claim to be “pro-choice” don’t want a woman to have the right to know just what they are choosing. FG and FF keep blocking legislation to allow doctors to show women exactly what an abortion looks like. Even still photographs of aborted babies have been banned as well. They want to control the discourse and normalise abortion.

Mute Wolfgang Bonow
    Favourite Wolfgang Bonow
    Nov 21st 2024, 6:30 PM

@Frank O’Hara: Is that you, William?
    Can you provide a source for “introducing abortion up until birth” ?
    A foetus is the medical term for an unborn baby, starting at the 11th week.
    What’s your problem with using a correct, scientific language?
    Unless, you think people are in general too “slow” to know – but, then they shouldn’t be able to vote at all, correct?

Mute Frank O'Hara
    Favourite Frank O'Hara
    Nov 21st 2024, 6:50 PM

@Wolfgang Bonow: William who? Numerous Labour, Social Democrat, Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael politicians have stated that they support legalising abortion up until birth by removing all limits. In fact, Labour and the Social Democrats went a step further and have even openly included it in their manifestos. Life begins at conception, it is an unborn child, not a foetus. That’s why when you murder a pregnant woman, you are charged with double murder. Do you know why doctors don’t remove the baby completely when dismembering the body in a partial-birth abortion? They would be charged with murder if they did because the baby can survive outside the womb. Abortion is barbaric, it involves severing limbs of the unborn child and sucking the baby’s brains out via tubes inserted into the womb.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 22nd 2024, 2:04 AM

@Frank O’Hara:
    Shhhh… Don’t tell people what abortion actually involves, you need to refer to babies as clumps of cells or something also.

Mute Peter O'Muiri
    Favourite Peter O'Muiri
    Nov 21st 2024, 7:31 PM

Abortion is a settled matter for the vast majority of the electorate who voted in a relatively recent referendum to liberalise the law subject to certain safeguards.The so-called review of the legislation, carried out by an abortion advocate and pal of Minister for People Sleeping on the Streets, O Gorman, is DOA, having failed to achieve a consensus of TDs to implement its predictable and one- sided recommendations.

Mute Bertie
    Favourite Bertie
    Nov 21st 2024, 4:46 PM

For this very reason I won’t be voting any of the one trick pony minority parties or independents, we will have a coalition with two of the big three, SF FF FG, take your pick of two of them

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Nov 21st 2024, 3:26 PM

Euthanasia is next thing coming, he should get out ahead of the other parties by being pro euthanasia/right to die

Mute Martin Bishop
    Favourite Martin Bishop
    Nov 21st 2024, 3:27 PM

@P. V. Aglue: nah, he’d rather people suffer against their will I’d say.

LIfe…….at any cost.

Mute Regular John
    Favourite Regular John
    Nov 22nd 2024, 1:49 AM

@Martin Bishop:
    Like a baby being aborted suffers against their will ?

Mute Tired Jim
    Favourite Tired Jim
    Nov 21st 2024, 6:45 PM

Publicans don’t care how smashed out of your head you are, as long as you can stagger up to the bar and open your wallet, they’ll keep pulling the pints, drinking at home is much cheaper and less boring

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Nov 21st 2024, 10:31 PM

It doesn’t come up because if you mention your view to the wrong person you will be looked upon as being right wing reactionary or left wing murderer.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Nov 22nd 2024, 7:49 AM

Toibin believes women in crisis pregnancies choose abortion because they can’t afford to raise the child. Seriously he said that.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Nov 22nd 2024, 9:13 AM

Extract fantasy from logic, palpable overbites in this party, have to be careful with religious zealotry.

Mute Derick R M
    Favourite Derick R M
    Nov 21st 2024, 6:53 PM

The SF vs Aontu arguments here are a great spectator sport. That saying ‘narcissism of small differences’ springs to mind.